You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sec Gen of he Department of Public Expenditure Robert Watt has said creches need to get back open soon so as to ensure people can get back to work. RollingNews.ie

Ambitious emissions targets will cost the taxpayer, says top government official

A 7% reduction in emissions year-on-year is a red line for the Green Party.

EMISSIONS TARGETS SET by the next government which includes the Green Party will be “ambitious” and will involve a cost to the taxpayer,  according to one of the State’s most senior civil servants privately warned.

Robert Watt, Department of Public Expenditure secretary general, said in a webinar with Dublin Chamber yesterday adopting those policies will be “difficult” stating that the key challenge in delivering them is “how do you get there.

He said Ireland has a large agricultural sector, a dispersed population and is highly dependent on car usage.

“How do we change behavior and how do we adopt new technologies” he said, such as moving to hybrid and electric cars, retrofitting homes and decarbonising the electricity supply.

“They’re the policy questions, they’re all there. There are no easy answers to these questions. It is going to require a lot of policy decisions and a lot of delivery and cost for individuals, households, for sectors and for the taxpayer,” he said. 

Yesterday, Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and the Green Party entered into formal talks about a programme for government.

Leader of the Green Party Eamon Ryan has said that a 7% reduction in emissions year-on-year is a red line for his party entering into government.

In the business webinar yesterday, Watt said: 

“We have to embrace this decarbonised future.”

Covid-19

Speaking about the government’s response to the Covid-19 crisis, Watt defended some of the business supports put forward to date, stating that with so many people now unemployed, it is difficult to tailor the response to any one sector. 

He said the government is now focused on getting people back to work, but acknowledged that in order for that to happen creches will have to reopen.

On Wednesday, Children’s Minister Katherine Zappone said it is unlikely that creches will reopen with the same capacity as before the public health emergency.

“A lot people of course depend on childcare,” said Watt, stating;

It has to be the case that the creches at some stage go back. It’s very hard to see how there is a resolution to this which is going to help working parents until we can get childcare facilities back, that’s going to be driven by the public health advice.

He said the government is looking to other countries in this regard. “We need to figure all this out, but clearly, without creches going back, it’s hard to see how there’s a solution for working parents”.

Watt also commented on the wage subsidy scheme, stating that there is a role for scheme “to last a bit longer for some sectors”. 

He added that the government aims to “adjust those supports where we can”. 

Yesterday, the Taoiseach said the pandemic payment and the wage subsidy scheme was not sustainable, but added that it would be extended beyond June. 

On future capital investment in areas such as housing, Watt said the government hopes to continue with the same level of capital investment because “as the economy gets back, we have to build more homes”.

While he disagreed that the pandemic will dramatically change people’s work-life, he said it has shown that the workplace can be a more flexible place. If changes are adopted into the future, it could ease the burden of commuting for a lot of people, said Watt. 

While not for everyone, there could be a mixed blend of working in the office and working at home.

“I think that would improve quality of life,” he said. 

“I think a big aspect of it could be, certainly, how we configure our city centres in the future. I think there will be less demand for office space,” said Watt, adding that there is a need to retain the city for pedestrians, cyclists and public transport.

“This might be the catalyst for us. And we do need to focus more on creating and living cities like Dublin and Cork” that have more of a focus on sustainability.

“I think that this [pandemic] might prompt that because I just don’t think we’re going to have the same level of commuting. The same demand for offices,” said Watt.

He added however:

“I think we need to be very careful about extrapolating where we are now to what the future needs will be when it comes to transport so we’re hopeful that we won’t have to go through that process of cutting back on capital spending. And that really is a function of our ability to meet our other spending demands.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

135 Comments
    Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 9th 2020, 10:24 AM

I always did well in written exams but was a disruptive student and annoyed my tutors incessantly.
    Let’s hope teachers are not too emotionally biased

Mute sally reid
    Favourite sally reid
    May 9th 2020, 12:54 PM

@Paul: totally agree with you. My daughters home ec teacher hated her. She got a h1 in her leaving. But if the teacher had her way she would have failed. I don’t think this is going to work

Mute Euro is Dead
    Favourite Euro is Dead
    May 9th 2020, 1:20 PM

@sally reid: that’s why you should always be nice to teachers , doctors and Gardai. ! Really do you also think that if your doctor doesn’t like you he will withhold your pain medication?

Mute lmesmcn
    Favourite lmesmcn
    May 9th 2020, 1:34 PM

@sally reid: but your daughter would have to option to take the actual home economics exam !

Mute DeeM
    Favourite DeeM
    May 9th 2020, 2:32 PM

@sally reid: That’s why there’s the 4 levels of assessment and an appeals process and the student can sit the exam if necessary.

Mute Lisa Rowe
    Favourite Lisa Rowe
    May 9th 2020, 6:24 PM

@DeeM: exactly. why are people obsessed with inventing these made up scenarios where entire schools are out to get students? It’s not a roman collosseum thumbs up/down from an individual teacher decides your fate, it was clearly laid out during the announcement

Mute Alan McArdle
    Favourite Alan McArdle
    May 9th 2020, 6:45 PM

@Lisa Rowe: exactly. There are several layers.

Mute Sam Bingham
    Favourite Sam Bingham
    May 10th 2020, 6:11 AM

@Lisa Rowe: The people who make up these scenarios are jsut doing it to make up excuses for how their child is doing in school. It’s easier for these sort of pare ts to say ‘c teacher doesn’t like my Johnny’ as opposed to ‘my Johnny is a lazy so and so and won’t put the work in’. They’re probably the sort of people that hated school themselves too.

Mute Gary O CONNOR
    Favourite Gary O CONNOR
    May 9th 2020, 10:28 AM

Mandatory. People can still fly into Ireland and ignore REQUESTS by FFG to self isolate. Filling in their swanky new form isn’t even mandatory.
    We will definitely never beat this virus at this rate. As an island we should be clear at this stage. FFG continue to balls it up..

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    May 9th 2020, 1:14 PM

@Gary O CONNOR: and you continue to moan

Mute Dave Nomates
    Favourite Dave Nomates
    May 9th 2020, 1:37 PM

@Tony Lyons:
    Ah,The old FG “Mandatory but not Compulsory” Ploy.

Mute Gary O CONNOR
    Favourite Gary O CONNOR
    May 9th 2020, 1:37 PM

@Tony Lyons: Good man Tiny, said like a true Blueshirt.
    Maybe we should say nothing critical of you beloved FFG…

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    May 9th 2020, 4:38 PM

@Gary O CONNOR: SFDUP not stopping flights from London to Belfast. In fact extra flights being put on. Disgusting

Mute tribesman
    Favourite tribesman
    May 9th 2020, 6:53 PM

@Gary O CONNOR: take the summer off from canvassing will ya – am sure ye will be called to arms within 12 months with the coalation falls – given that I am delighted we not in the north of Ireland where their leadership not stunningly brillant, nor the US, nor Italy, nor spain, nor belgium, nor russia, nor germany – New Zealand aside not too many coming out of this scenario with an A grade. Perhaps we doing our best.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    May 9th 2020, 9:00 PM

@Gary O CONNOR: what is FFG

Mute Gary O CONNOR
    Favourite Gary O CONNOR
    May 10th 2020, 8:22 AM

@Daniel Roche:
    Fianna Fail Gael.
    The coalescing of Lieos gang and Meholes , not that they always were 1…

Mute Eoin Kernan
    Favourite Eoin Kernan
    May 9th 2020, 11:37 AM

Dying and grieving in isolation is one of the cruelest aspects of life right now.

For those who have lost someone close recently, I’m offering a simple gesture. I’ll create a video memoir which can be shared privately among family and friends, maybe helping you to grieve collectively. No charge. All the details can be found here https://twitter.com/eoinkernan/status/1247901328069689346?s=21

Mute Colm Mac Suibhne
    Favourite Colm Mac Suibhne
    May 9th 2020, 10:25 AM

Is it not more likely that the UK will export cases, rather than import them at this stage. Maybe its just a excuse to keep the Brexit negotiators out

Mute PeterC
    Favourite PeterC
    May 9th 2020, 11:33 AM

If nothing more, this has shone a light on just how inept the Department of Education is. It needs to be reformed.

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    May 9th 2020, 1:15 PM

@PeterC: suggested reforms would be??

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    May 9th 2020, 1:58 PM

@Tony Lyons: moving towards more classroom based assessments would be a start. It’s being very gradually introduced for JC.
    Teachers have resisted this for years, it’s a pity, it would have enormously this year.

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    May 9th 2020, 2:11 PM

@EvieXVI: *helped enormously*

Mute Barry Evans
    Favourite Barry Evans
    May 9th 2020, 7:12 PM

Mandatory rules for returning to work? Are they anything like the “mandatory” stay at home rules and only exercise within 5km of your home all the while the coast is jammers with cars and the beaches are like Benidorm? Paddy doesn’t do mandatory very well……

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    May 9th 2020, 9:05 PM

@Barry Evans: don’t live on the coast so can’t comment on that , live in limerick City, still the same, maybe a few families having bbq’s about it.

Mute Tiktok
    Favourite Tiktok
    May 10th 2020, 11:22 AM

@Barry Evans: mandatory – rolling out the blackmail. You can only go back to normal if you do this.

Mute Greg
    Favourite Greg
    May 9th 2020, 3:23 PM

The leaving cert system needs to be changed it’s out dated , students should be marked or sit exams over the 5th&6th year in exam halls , I sure it would take the pressure of students and keep their interest in school over the two years

Mute Lisa Rowe
    Favourite Lisa Rowe
    May 9th 2020, 6:26 PM

@Greg: honestly the constant stress of cbas around the corner all the time would have made my leaving cert unbearable. i was just in 3rd year when they started introducing cbas and i only had it for english and involved speaking on camera etc. which was terrible with literally everyone watching me!

Mute Luke Redmond
    Favourite Luke Redmond
    May 9th 2020, 6:02 PM

Vaccines are on the way im confident by winter there will be one
    Oxford university and Pfizer seem to be leading the way so fingers crossed

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    May 9th 2020, 6:07 PM

@Luke Redmond: Add 12-24 months to produce enough to provide to the entire world

Mute Luke Redmond
    Favourite Luke Redmond
    May 9th 2020, 6:49 PM

@NotMyIreland: 3 billion swine flu vaccine were produced in under 6 months
    Yes it wasn’t exactly comparable but given the scale of that versus covid 19 im confident production will be rapid

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    May 9th 2020, 7:37 PM

@Luke Redmond: I love your optimism. Although as the people who will be producing it, in the Oxford case, have laid out that sort of timeframe it may be misplaced. They said they would hope to have all healthcare workers worldwide vaccinated in the first 12 months, with others after. Pfizer may get one out quicker. Also to note 6 months for 3 billion would be 16 months for the 8 billion needed, so within that 12-24 months.

Mute Luke Redmond
    Favourite Luke Redmond
    May 9th 2020, 7:42 PM

@NotMyIreland: And I’ll maintain the optimism
    Only thing getting me through

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    May 9th 2020, 7:53 PM

@Luke Redmond: Your right. I hope I’m eating my words for Christmas dinner!

Mute Niall Dargan
    Favourite Niall Dargan
    May 9th 2020, 8:42 PM

@Luke Redmond: Pfizer. Who give us centrum. Which is about as useful to the body as covid.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    May 10th 2020, 4:45 PM

@Luke Redmond: To be fair, that’s short term thinking. Doesn’t it realistically take more than nine months to assess major side effects in new medications? (At least in people of child-bearing age.)

Mute Jerry Siakasiya
    Favourite Jerry Siakasiya
    May 9th 2020, 1:48 PM

How low shall we pretend the emperor is clothed?

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    May 9th 2020, 1:14 PM

Silly Journal, now we all know where the invisible man is hanging out ..

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    May 9th 2020, 8:46 PM

Obama just eloquently described Trump’s pandemic response as a schittshow in a dumpster fire !