You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Huskycorporation/YouTube

Robotic petrol pumps could be arriving sooner than you think

Combine this with self-driving cars and there’ll be no reason to do anything while you’re on the road.

WITH MORE SMART cars being worked on and self-driving cars slowly becoming a reality, someone has decided that petrol stations require the same treatment.

The Huskey Corporation, based in the US, has created a robotic fuel pump that will open up your fuel door and begin filling up your car automatically.

Infrared lights and cameras locate the door before a nozzle is extended into the fuel tank, before it starts filling up.

The company has partnered with Swedish company, Fuelmatics Systems, to create the robotic pump. The idea is that consumers will pay and make fuel choice selections on a drive-up screen or through their smartphone.

The pumps will cost $50,000 each, not including installation, which may put some stations off, but the makers say that the system increases delivery speed and is 30 per cent faster than normal pumps.

For those unsure how it will work, here’s the robot in action.

(Video: Huskycorporation/YouTube)

Read: Here’s what happens when you’re arrested on suspicion of drink-driving… >

Read: Google envisions self-driving cars being used as ad-powered taxis >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

32 Comments
    Mute Niall B.
    Favourite Niall B.
    Jan 28th 2014, 7:57 PM

Don’t bend over!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jan 28th 2014, 8:02 PM

I wonder can the infrared distinguish haha

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Jan 28th 2014, 7:38 PM

“The pumps will cost $50,000 each, not including installation, which may put some stations off, but the makers say that the system increases delivery speed and is 30 per cent faster than normal pumps”

Never gonna take off here. There’s something about the Irish psyche when it comes to getting petrol. I’ve honestly never seen anyone get visibly pissed off because they’ve had to wait a while to fill their car up. Opposed to the US where someone would nearly pull a gun on you if they thought you were dawdling at the pump.

We’re far too laid back for this carry on

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jan 28th 2014, 7:50 PM

Laid back? I work at a petrol station and I can safely say your wrong. Dismissing new technology based on finance is a joke. Supply and demand will sort that one out

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Jan 28th 2014, 8:33 PM

God, Kevin.. you’re such a expert on markets. Your talents are truly wasted behind the till at Topaz.

You think Irish petrol stations would be interested in this, when most of them rely on sales of other kinds to operate? Where’s the incentive for the company to set up an office here dedicated to installation and maintenance?

I’m not ‘dismissing’ new technologies due to costs. I’m stating that such technologies are neither required nor worth investing in here, at this time. Convince your boss to have one of these installed and I’ll reconsider my opinion!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jan 28th 2014, 9:06 PM

Not interested in this model but certainly the tech. The future is the future don’t let old trends hold it back

Mute Dermot O Dwyer
    Favourite Dermot O Dwyer
    Jan 28th 2014, 7:45 PM

A robotic fuel pump that will open up your fuel door and begin filling up your car automatically.
    What happens if you only pull in to the garage for the paper and milk???

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jan 28th 2014, 7:48 PM

Don’t park at a pump

Mute Foxys Bicycle
    Favourite Foxys Bicycle
    Jan 28th 2014, 7:48 PM

Ahhhh so your on of them persons who parks at the pump to go in the shop

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jan 28th 2014, 7:52 PM

Or park with fuel door on opposite side

Tony
    Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Jan 28th 2014, 9:18 PM

You will still get fuel!

Mute Peter May
    Favourite Peter May
    Jan 28th 2014, 8:26 PM

What about the woman with all the kids in the car that goes in and wants 5 ninety nines and a cappuccino.. Can they speed her up 2?

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Favourite Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Jan 28th 2014, 8:44 PM

We’ll be waiting…

Mute Greg Ward
    Favourite Greg Ward
    Jan 28th 2014, 7:49 PM

Ah c’mon….. It took me about 5 years to get used to the “Pay at pump”> <" Pay in kiosk" option at Tesco.

Mute tax slave
    Favourite tax slave
    Jan 28th 2014, 9:35 PM

Nothing worst than the Muppet that Parks at the pump and dose the weekly shop. Inconsiderate Yankers

Mute Foxys Bicycle
    Favourite Foxys Bicycle
    Jan 28th 2014, 7:34 PM

And I’m sure it will have an impact on your wallet

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Jan 28th 2014, 8:21 PM

Robotic petrol pumps and self driving cars, soon there won’t be any need for people

Mute 1 Human Being
    Favourite 1 Human Being
    Jan 28th 2014, 10:27 PM

For the on coming zombie apocalypse when you don’t want to get out of your car because of the carnage. Jaysus the Americans can come up with some shite so they don’t have to get off there arses. Prefer to fill up meself. Down with robots. They are taking are jobs.

Mute Hugh Jarse
    Favourite Hugh Jarse
    Jan 28th 2014, 11:17 PM

This would do away with any impulse buys in the shop. Why would a business person pay 50 grand for something that will cost him sales?

Mute Mike O'Neill
    Favourite Mike O'Neill
    Jan 28th 2014, 11:27 PM

Yet another invention so the average American doesn’t have to get off their fat, lazy arse.

Mute Liam Jackson
    Favourite Liam Jackson
    Jan 28th 2014, 8:53 PM

A major problem will be the fuel flaps which are not standardised . Totally impractical

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jan 28th 2014, 9:08 PM

It’s the first of many innovations. Whole this may be impractical future models may fix these issues.

Mute Liam Jackson
    Favourite Liam Jackson
    Jan 28th 2014, 9:15 PM

As a former garage forecourt operative , designer and car enthusiast i would be inclined to disagree . Car manufacturers dont have standard system even across their own ranges . Whilst it would be possible to design a standard filling system , would it be adopted….? No way . Is it really that much of a hardship to fill a car with fuel ? No its not. So not worth the effort

Mute Catherine McMahon
    Favourite Catherine McMahon
    Jan 28th 2014, 9:30 PM

Great idea, but it’ll add to the already increasing sedentary population!

Mute Richard Chapman
    Favourite Richard Chapman
    Jan 28th 2014, 9:56 PM

New technologies? Why don’t we just start with the basics first, like new fuels, instead of the sh!t fuels available here.

Mute Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Favourite Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Jan 28th 2014, 9:09 PM

Well that’s going to fk up part-time jobs, kids earning extra pocket money over the weekend and during school holidays… Oh, forgot… Don’t do this here.

Mute Gavin Donovan
    Favourite Gavin Donovan
    Jan 28th 2014, 8:29 PM

I take it the sums have been done and the speed and quantity of cars coming through the station with these automatic pumps outweighs the profits made off the shop.

Similar to Michael O’Leary’s vision for airports, or lack thereof i.e. the need for smaller airports to process a larger number of passengers, this could reduce the need for large petrol stations.

Mute Marc Creighton
    Favourite Marc Creighton
    Jan 29th 2014, 1:21 PM

A solution to a problem that doesn’t exist?

cpak
    Mute cpak
    Favourite cpak
    Jan 29th 2014, 2:20 AM

Anything that takes people out of the equation has to be welcomed

Mute Ronan O'donnell
    Favourite Ronan O'donnell
    Jan 30th 2014, 12:31 AM

“Open up your fuel door” in my car that requires pulling a lever by the driver’s seat…..hows it gunna work that one out?

Mute Tony Mcintyre
    Favourite Tony Mcintyre
    Jan 29th 2014, 9:32 AM

What does it do if my fuel cap has a key lock?? Hmmmm

Mute Alan Quinn
    Favourite Alan Quinn
    Jan 29th 2014, 10:23 AM

How would it open a screwy on cap without doing it yourself ha nice try think of something better