You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Quiz: How much do you know about things that rotate?

Rotating is in vogue right now.

IRELAND IS GETTING a new Taoiseach – well, technically an old one is coming back.

As agreed under the Programme for Government, Leo Varadkar is taking over from Micheál Martin to serve out the rest of the government’s time in office.

Unfortunately they will not literally rotate, even if it would make the handover ceremony far more interesting.

You can’t have everything. Take your mind off this missed opportunity with this quiz about other things that rotate.

When did CDs become available to the public?
Alamy

You Spin Me Round (Like a Record) is by which band?
Eurythmics
New Order

The Pogues
Dead or Alive
While using an infrared camera to look into The Simpson's home, Kent Brockman incorrectly identifies a rotating turkey in the oven as Homer. What does Brockman estimate Homer's body temperature to be?
Over 400 degrees
Approaching 400 degrees

Exactly 400 degrees
Significantly above 400 degrees
Where is the biggest Ferris wheel?
Alamy
Las Vegas
Shanghai

Dubai
Navan
Tyres are only black because of a chemical compound added to make them more durable - what colour are they actually?
Alamy
Rosey pink
Milky white

Bright green
Transparent
In what direction would you want a ceiling fan to spin in winter?
Alamy
Clockwise
Counterclockwise
Measured at the equator, what speed is the Earth rotating at?
Alamy
Roughly 1,670 km/h
More than 3,256 km/h

At least 14,500 km/h
69mph
What are the two most common speeds for playing vinyl records?
Alamy
33rpm and 45rpm
30rpm and 40rpm

45rpm and 78rpm
33.3rpm and 45rpm
What song is playing during this scene?
Elvis Presley - Can't Help Falling in Love
Righteous Brothers - Unchained Melody

Johnny Logan - Hold Me Now
Procol Harum - A Whiter Shade of Pale
What is (arguably) the closest galaxy to the Milky Way?
Alamy
Andromeda Galaxy
Southern Pinwheel Galaxy

Whirlpool Galaxy
Canis Major Overdensity
Answer all the questions to see your result!
Alamy
You scored out of !
You are a merry-go-round horse
Share your result:
Alamy
You scored out of !
You are a spinning top
Share your result:
Alamy
You scored out of !
You are a bike wheel
Share your result:
Alamy
You scored out of !
You are a rotisserie chicken
Share your result:
Alamy
You scored out of !
You are the drum of a washing machine
Share your result:

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

7 Comments
    Mute Brian Guilfoyle
    Favourite Brian Guilfoyle
    May 21st 2020, 4:37 PM

Hasn’t she been through enough!?

Mute Matthew O'Kane
    Favourite Matthew O'Kane
    May 21st 2020, 8:14 PM

@Brian Guilfoyle: joe biden?

Mute LFCMAD_94
    Favourite LFCMAD_94
    May 21st 2020, 4:40 PM

There’s a headline I didn’t think I’d see today

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    May 21st 2020, 5:35 PM

@LFCMAD_94:here’s a headline you’ll NEVER see ‘ Jedward quarantining with Oscar winner Tara Reid in L.A.’

Mute jl
    Favourite jl
    May 21st 2020, 7:05 PM

@Wayne Connor: Oscar winner?!

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    May 21st 2020, 11:53 PM

@jl: did you not get the sarcasm ?

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    May 22nd 2020, 12:13 AM

@Wayne Connor: ”grammy award winning” Jedward. Now that’s one you’ll never see

Mute David Linehan
    Favourite David Linehan
    May 21st 2020, 5:13 PM

They got Jedward we got Matt Damon. I’ll take that.

Mute Charles Alexander
    Favourite Charles Alexander
    May 21st 2020, 4:43 PM

God help her.

Mute DeeM
    Favourite DeeM
    May 21st 2020, 4:47 PM

@Charles Alexander: God help her boyfriend!!!

Mute Charles Alexander
    Favourite Charles Alexander
    May 21st 2020, 5:18 PM

@DeeM: patience of a saint.

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    May 21st 2020, 6:18 PM

@DeeM: I wouldn’t say he’s too worried

Mute Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Favourite Ciarán O' Donoghue
    May 21st 2020, 4:39 PM

Sorry, but why is this news??

Mute John Burns
    Favourite John Burns
    May 21st 2020, 7:24 PM

@Ciarán O’ Donoghue: It proves that no matter how bad you think things are, they could always be so much worse. Let’s bow our heads in silent gratitude.

Mute Jake Kelly
    Favourite Jake Kelly
    May 21st 2020, 4:39 PM

That’s a horror movie premise

Mute Happy entertainment
    Favourite Happy entertainment
    May 21st 2020, 4:38 PM

I don’t know who to feel more sorry for her or them either way I can only imagine I’d rather have covid than be stuck with them

Mute Dermot Quinn
    Favourite Dermot Quinn
    May 21st 2020, 4:42 PM

“Siri, how can the covid19 emergency get even worse?”

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    May 21st 2020, 5:59 PM

@Dermot Quinn: Knock, Knock… “Wohooo…Yeaaahhh….It’s us, Jedward………. Grab our suitcases, will ya! “

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    May 21st 2020, 4:47 PM

Donald Trump should make them citizens so they can stay there permanently. Ireland won’t miss them

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    May 21st 2020, 4:58 PM

@Just Some Guy: just so you know, even if he did, it won’t mean that couldn’t travel back here.

Mute KilkennyProud
    Favourite KilkennyProud
    May 21st 2020, 5:08 PM

I predict the Ray D’Arcy Show will be all over this story in the coming weeks.

Mute Oliver Morgan
    Favourite Oliver Morgan
    May 22nd 2020, 12:26 PM

@KilkennyProud: let’s hope Darcy goes over to interview them & then stays there.

Mute Shanners
    Favourite Shanners
    May 21st 2020, 4:50 PM

The universe is great. I love this.

Mute Lisa #TeamJedward #VoiceOfARebel
    Favourite Lisa #TeamJedward #VoiceOfARebel
    May 21st 2020, 5:23 PM

John and Edward have been friends with Tara for 8 years and have been on holiday together many times.

Mute KilkennyProud
    Favourite KilkennyProud
    May 21st 2020, 5:33 PM

I’d say they’ll have to pay for their own holidays in future.

Mute Lisa #TeamJedward #VoiceOfARebel
    Favourite Lisa #TeamJedward #VoiceOfARebel
    May 21st 2020, 11:01 PM

@KilkennyProud: they pay for their own holidays now!

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    May 21st 2020, 4:55 PM

Poor Tara Reid will need lots of therapy after those two…

Mute Billy Davies
    Favourite Billy Davies
    May 21st 2020, 6:20 PM

@Damien: ive a feeling they’d be more into her fella

Mute Juliet ☯️ #Voice Of A Rebel
    Favourite Juliet ☯️ #Voice Of A Rebel
    May 21st 2020, 5:43 PM

Its good to know they’re together and working on future projects together at this time. They have such a lovely, genuine friendship, something that’s always nice to see.

Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin
    May 21st 2020, 5:25 PM

Jedward are still alive?

Mute Simon Fitzgerald
    Favourite Simon Fitzgerald
    May 21st 2020, 4:58 PM

What?!? Wait….. What?

Mute Brendan Walsh
    Favourite Brendan Walsh
    May 21st 2020, 6:02 PM

I think the media write these stories to make us all feel better about ourselves during the pandemic. No matter how bad you have it, it could be worse, you could be holed up in a small apartment with Jedward.

Mute Dennis Farrelly
    Favourite Dennis Farrelly
    May 21st 2020, 4:50 PM

The Journal will call any old rubbish news

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    May 21st 2020, 4:59 PM

@Dennis Farrelly: The Journal calls any old rubbish news. There ya go, fixed it.

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    May 21st 2020, 5:32 PM

Ok so I “stumped up” to support the journal as it’s my go to for news every single day. This isn’t news nor a newsworthy story.

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    May 22nd 2020, 12:25 AM

@Thomas Meaney: sucker

Mute Jack O Brien
    Favourite Jack O Brien
    May 21st 2020, 7:24 PM

I’d rather live with two Chinese bats

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley

Slow news day obviously.

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    May 21st 2020, 6:01 PM

Have some folk never heard of ‘if you got nothing good to say …… say nothing”.
    Have refugees from Liveline fetched up here?

Mute J Flood
    Favourite J Flood
    May 21st 2020, 8:23 PM

And here I’m trying to keep my sanity. After reading this, I’m grand, no problems…

Mute Ray McNamara
    Favourite Ray McNamara
    May 21st 2020, 7:21 PM

Thought you’d got rid of The Daily Edge?

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    May 21st 2020, 7:43 PM

Don’t let them know when the lockdown is over, leave them quarantined.

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner

That poor girl, she must have been a horrible person in a previous life to deserve this.

Mute Mike Reynolds
    Favourite Mike Reynolds
    May 21st 2020, 6:46 PM

Who cares. Has the JOURNAL not got better news to report

Mute Chris Marsh
    Favourite Chris Marsh
    May 21st 2020, 5:52 PM

I love Edward

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    May 21st 2020, 5:55 PM

@Chris Marsh: Which one is she?

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    May 21st 2020, 6:49 PM

Are they still around

Mute Orla Kiely
    Favourite Orla Kiely
    May 21st 2020, 10:51 PM

Jaysus imagine the state of their hair after 10 weeks of lockdown! Thought I was bad, feel better now!

Mute Liam Mc Meel
    Favourite Liam Mc Meel
    May 21st 2020, 10:20 PM

Ah poor Tara Reid what did she do to deserve that my heart goes out to her. Being driven mad by two headcases from lucan

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    May 22nd 2020, 12:10 AM

When Jedward were at the height of it the majority of Lucan started to use the clondalkin post code as thier home address. The trend has only recently been reversed

Mute Paul Carew
    Favourite Paul Carew
    May 21st 2020, 6:37 PM

Do they know the difference between jam and marmalade

Mute Lee Lindsay
    Favourite Lee Lindsay
    May 21st 2020, 8:26 PM

She probably kidnapped herself…

Mute biggybald
    Favourite biggybald
    May 21st 2020, 7:16 PM

Why did you delete my comment Conor? They are gob$#!+€$

Mute Gary Connolly
    Favourite Gary Connolly
    May 21st 2020, 6:35 PM

Who Care’sssssssss.

Mute Joe Dixon
    Favourite Joe Dixon
    May 22nd 2020, 4:43 PM

Who actually cares about this pair of talentless people

Mute Stephen Bender
    Favourite Stephen Bender
    May 22nd 2020, 6:35 AM

Poor Tara

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    May 22nd 2020, 9:42 AM

3 nobodies. Who really cares what they do?

Mute Dan Black
    Favourite Dan Black
    May 21st 2020, 7:35 PM

Does anybody really give a flying f**k??

Mute Michael Hanley
    Favourite Michael Hanley
    May 22nd 2020, 2:00 AM

Wonder if they will be Deported if they OVERSTAY the 90 day visa,,,

Mute Daithi Mac An TSionnaigh
    Favourite Daithi Mac An TSionnaigh
    May 22nd 2020, 4:09 AM

That poor woman