You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

People are complaining about the same rowdy TDs being rowdy in the Dáil every day

The Ceann Comhairle had to give out to deputies again this morning.

Hugh O'Connell / YouTube

CEANN COMHAIRLE SEÁN Barrett says that the same TDs are the subject of complaints about rowdiness in the Dáil chamber every day.

Barrett was speaking during Leaders’ Questions this afternoon after some deputies heckled the Taoiseach Enda Kenny as the issue of water charges was again raised by Fianna Fáil’s Micheál Martin.

“Listen I get complaints into my office,” Barrett said during lively exchanges. ”The same people every day seem to be causing the disturbance.

“Whether you think you’re impressing the public you’re not. They even know who you are, so would you allow people to speak.”

It’s not clear how many complaints are being made or what TDs are the subject of complaints by the public.

Asked to provide details on the number of complaints and those being complained about, a spokesperson for Barrett said that no statistics are kept as most of the complaints are made by telephone.

Read: ‘I’m gonna switch off the microphones’: Ceann Comhairle threatens rowdy TDs

Read: 5 examples of Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett completely losing it with TDs

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

15 Comments
    Mute Petulant mcbarity
    Favourite Petulant mcbarity
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:12 PM

Yes of course. This should have been done weeks ago.

Mute Vonvonic
    Favourite Vonvonic
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:13 PM

I’ve been saying from the get-go that vets are the best vaccinators. I might get a haircut cut too while I’m in there. Happy days.

Mute Mary Walshe
    Favourite Mary Walshe
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:23 PM

@Vonvonic:
    I’ve been working with and injecting animals for over 40 years, I reckon I could do as good as job as any!

Mute Vonvonic
    Favourite Vonvonic
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:25 PM

@Mary Walshe: I wasnt being funny. I meant that. In my experience, vets are the best vaccinators because they vaccinate multiple species. I was joking about the haircut though.

Mute Tom kenny
    Favourite Tom kenny
    Apr 20th 2021, 10:12 PM

@Vonvonic: no sign of Mary to offer you a haircut

Mute Mary Walshe
    Favourite Mary Walshe
    Apr 20th 2021, 11:08 PM

@Tom kenny:
    I’m a dab hand at that too Tom, been keeping the hubby’s hair for the past few months! Otherwise he’d look like Mad Jack from Grizzly Adams!

Mute fintan doyle
    Favourite fintan doyle
    Apr 21st 2021, 10:22 AM

@Mary Walshe: I hope you have good indemnity. Irish lawyers have started advertising for claims about poor vaccinators!

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Apr 21st 2021, 5:07 PM

@Mary Walshe: Fair enough, let us know where d the queue starts? Hire a few shearers – I’ve a head like a Dulux dog!

Mute Ger Browne
    Favourite Ger Browne
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:39 PM

They haven’t even set us (the pharmacists) up yet, should have been done months ago in preparation for ramping up of supply.
    Same old HSE

Mute Cez Miname
    Favourite Cez Miname
    Apr 20th 2021, 10:33 PM

I know a registered practising nurse who applied to be a vaccinator in early Feb (an arduous affair apparently). She attended all training in early March and had done all online training and updates sent since and it still hasn’t been confirmed she will be employed. Just what the he11 is going on in the HSE?

Mute Maria Monaghan
    Favourite Maria Monaghan
    Apr 20th 2021, 10:50 PM

@Cez Miname: I’m in the same boat.

Mute Mary O'leary
    Favourite Mary O'leary
    Apr 21st 2021, 3:48 AM

@Maria Monaghan: me too

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Apr 21st 2021, 5:10 PM

@Cez Miname: Baffled by this. I can understand a pilot rollout to the first pharmacies willing & able to offer them, but surely they should have thousands recruited by now?

Mute Laura McCarthy
    Favourite Laura McCarthy
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:25 PM

OMG, they are going training vets how to give injections! A profession that give injections not only on a daily but probably an hourly basis!

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:41 PM

@Laura McCarthy: well, from what I can remember helping out at my cousin’s farm growing up, when it comes to the style vets use for injections, compared to that of doctors, they tend to be a lil bit rougher, and we complain too much. Besides, most of the training the vets would need is in how to deal with the giving out from mouthy human patients, and to resist the urge to put a muzzle on them, even if they do deserve it.

Mute Sophie
    Favourite Sophie
    Apr 20th 2021, 10:32 PM

@Laura McCarthy: I’d say it’s more training for worst case scenario. What to do if a patient has an allergic reaction to the vaccine, etc.

Mute Cez Miname
    Favourite Cez Miname
    Apr 20th 2021, 10:44 PM

@Sophie: very rare. 1 trained response team is all that’s needed to cover a whole vac centre. Why would they be bothering overskilling everybody, it’s mad and very expensive.

Mute Cez Miname
    Favourite Cez Miname
    Apr 20th 2021, 10:48 PM

@Sophie: very rare. 1 trained response team is all that’s needed to cover a whole vac centre. Why would they be bothering over skilling everybody, it’s just mad and very expensive. They’re Garda Vetting every single vaccinator too as if those guys haven’t enough to do.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Apr 21st 2021, 5:18 PM

@Cez Miname: It’s probably because some nutcase in America took it on himself to leave an expensive batch of doses out of any fridges. Google Steven Brandenburg Wisconsin.

Mute Hugh Mc Donnell
    Favourite Hugh Mc Donnell
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:53 PM

Yes my wife is training as a nurse and giving injections on a daily basis, wouldn’t make sense to employ them for the summer months allow them to earn some money and get on with this roll out. But common sense isn’t very common in government

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Apr 21st 2021, 5:20 PM

@Hugh Mc Donnell: Seems the most logical straightforward approach to me. Meanwhile we hear how overworked and exhausted hospital staff are. They honestly seem determined to employ as few people as possible.

Mute Liam Fogarty
    Favourite Liam Fogarty
    Apr 20th 2021, 10:12 PM

They were training these exact people in the UK in September last year. Irish government aren’t reinventing the wheel they are dragging it instead. Absolute joke.

Mute Brendan Harlowe
    Favourite Brendan Harlowe
    Apr 20th 2021, 10:25 PM

@Liam Fogarty: oh stop with the constant complaining. We’ve over 10% of the population vaccinated. We are fully on course with and ahead of many of counterparts. UK and USA are far ahead fair enough. Everyone has a great idea of what we should do. But when the company doesn’t or can’t provide it’s not the Govts. Fault. Secondly giving an IM is one thing, being trained to already have an understanding of what you are being educated on to give , and be able to advise others is another thing.

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Apr 20th 2021, 11:05 PM

@Brendan Harlowe: 10% of the population fully vaccinated? Nope. We are also behind most EU countries now. Fair enough we got less than what was expected but we are months behind on recruitment. It basically says it here. We have also left loopholes all over the system, double booked people for vaccines and left it very late to tell GPs about non delivery etc. We have know for over 6 months vaccines were imminent and are still scrambling to hire vaccinations, with a ridiculous application process that is taking months. People complaining because our Government made an absolute mess of handling the pandemic and they appear to be on course to do the same with vaccinations. EMA basically said J&J is mostly safe today. Netherlands starting rollout tomorrow. What are we doing?

Mute Niall O
    Favourite Niall O
    Apr 21st 2021, 6:45 AM

@Brendan Harlowe: Your population stats are out of date. We have nearly 5m people living in Ireland so 7% of people fully vaccinated

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Apr 21st 2021, 5:22 PM

@Niall O: But that’s counting everyone from newborns up. We’re only offering vaccines to people over 16 – I don’t know how many that is, although obviously plenty of people will be 17 before they get a text to go to a centre!

Mute Liam Fogarty
    Favourite Liam Fogarty
    Apr 22nd 2021, 11:12 PM

@Brendan Harlowe: By IM do you mean intra muscular? Vaccinators don’t have to educate or advise the recipients they just have to give them the jab. It’s really that simple. Once they’ve had it they can wait the 15 minutes in case of an adverse reaction and on they go. A trained doctor/nurse can mind 10-20 patients at a time like they do in hospitals then get the next group in. They can give them literature explaining the jab and that’s it. Like I said it’s not reinventing the wheel. This process is tried and tested all around the world even prior to covid

Mute Rowan Fitzgerald
    Favourite Rowan Fitzgerald
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:15 PM

Vets? The Pharmacist don’t have it yet..

Mute Margaret Deacon
    Favourite Margaret Deacon
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:23 PM

Hard enough to get a vet appointment as it is , where would they find time to vaccinate

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:21 PM

how would the vet explain John getting the kennel cough, and Rex getting the Covid jab. Hmmm

Mute Damien Cahill
    Favourite Damien Cahill
    Apr 20th 2021, 10:56 PM

At this stage i’d stand outside with my black bin next Monday morning for the bin men to give me the jab.

Mute Cez Miname
    Favourite Cez Miname
    Apr 20th 2021, 11:22 PM

@Damien Cahill: an you might have better luck.

Mute Theportobello
    Favourite Theportobello
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:20 PM

Matt from Busted is horsing them out in the U.K. it’s really not that difficult!

Mute SmidgenDublin
    Favourite SmidgenDublin
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:12 PM

Is the application process to be become an official vaccinator accessible to those who are eligible?

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:32 PM

@SmidgenDublin: Yep it’s being done through CPL I know someone who applied for the job back in February and only started this week.

Mute John O
    Favourite John O
    Apr 21st 2021, 1:03 AM

What about the milkman

Mute Coady Connor
    Favourite Coady Connor
    Apr 20th 2021, 9:14 PM

Ha the conspiracy theorists will have a field day twisting this headline

Mute Helena O Riordan
    Favourite Helena O Riordan
    Apr 21st 2021, 1:03 AM

When ?
    Not sure about the rest but vets are flat out

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran
    Apr 21st 2021, 8:34 AM

It doesn’t matter who is recruited to give the jab if the vaccine isn’t there. Once again AstraZeneca has let us down on supply, and proved themselves once again to be a cowboy company. Time to release the Johnson and Johnson vaccine if we are to be vaccinated at all this year.

Mute John O
    Favourite John O
    Apr 21st 2021, 1:01 AM

It’s not rocket science

Mute Fred Conlan
    Favourite Fred Conlan
    Apr 21st 2021, 12:07 AM

Another well thought out strategie!

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Apr 21st 2021, 8:51 AM

Next thing the heroin addict will be brought in. When the pharmacies started giving the flu jabs I commented to my GP how good it was. His reply, “you think”.
    It is he said but I’m seeing a lot of those that were given the jab here. Reasons being, not injecting into the muscle, injecting to near bone.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Apr 21st 2021, 9:10 AM

I know a few guys in the local good at darts they’d be sure to chip in ! ha

Mute Sharon Walsh
    Favourite Sharon Walsh
    Apr 21st 2021, 10:49 AM

Sure I may as well get sterilised while I’m there. Shame to waste an opportunity.

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Apr 21st 2021, 11:14 AM

A lota of Journal posters would benefit from a visit to the vet!

Mute Liam Hunter
    Favourite Liam Hunter
    Apr 22nd 2021, 6:52 AM

A trained monkey could give that jab…its a skin pop to the top of the arm for God’s sake, not an iv injection.

Mute Sean Lucas
    Favourite Sean Lucas
    Apr 21st 2021, 2:53 PM

In the states the military do it. Train the Defences forces here also