You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
RTÉ RECEIVED 450 emails and 500 telephone calls of “feedback” regarding its coverage of the visit of Pope Francis to Ireland, but no official formal complaints.
Negative commentary to the broadcaster included claims that its coverage of the papal visit during the World Meeting of Families was both “anti-Catholic” and “pro-Catholic”.
Information released to TheJournal.ie under the Freedom of Information Act also highlights positive feedback received by RTÉ, including praise for Bryan Dobson being “professional and in charge”.
Figures also released to TheJournal.ie also show that the visit cost RTÉ an additional €136,000 in costs across TV and radio for presenters, guests and crew in studio, construction costs for off-campus sites, travel and the hiring of broadcast equipment.
Host broadcaster
Pope Francis had a packed itinerary during his two-day Irish visit, and many of his appearances were covered live on RTÉ TV and radio over 17 hours of coverage.
This included his arrival into Dublin on the morning of Saturday 25 August, the Festival of Families at Croke Park that evening, and his mass live from the Phoenix Park on Sunday 26 August.
At the same time as the mass in the park, a large-scale demonstration was held in Dublin city centre where participants marched in silence to remember abuse survivors.
Protestors outside a former Magdalene Laundry in Dublin during the visit. Leah Farrell / Rollingnews.ie
Leah Farrell / Rollingnews.ie / Rollingnews.ie
While no formal complaints were made to the broadcaster, nearly 1,000 people got in touch detailing their feedback to the papal visit, with emails and calls complaining about the coverage wide-ranging.
Negative submissions from some said that RTÉ’s coverage was anti-Catholic. Responses included:
“coverage of the papal visit is an absolute disgrace… pure sectarian hatred”
“no body [sic] on the panel who was supporting the church… it was a car crash by RTÉ”
RTÉ “purposely suppressed the opinions of thousands by stifling the commentary with one-sided poor understanding and knowledge of Catholicism”
There was a reference to the “dreadful quality” of the audio during the Pope’s speeches – on a very windy, August day in Dublin – as well as the “lack of knowledge and preparation by presenters”.
Another emailer said the “coverage was inappropriate and too flippant – more like a Eurovision commentary”.
Others accused RTÉ of not showing the protests that took place during the visit.
One said that the broadcaster “purposely avoided catching protesters on camera, who have a right to be seen, and disregarded abuse victims”.
Another wrote to express their “disappointment at RTÉ’s totally biased pro-Catholic coverage of the Pope’s visit”.
Costs
Others who gave feedback to RTÉ were more positive.
Adjectives such as “superb”, “outstanding” and “excellent” were used by a number of people.
Three emailers singled out the presenters in particular for praise, including Dobson who anchored the mass coverage alongside Áine Lawlor.
“Bryan Dobson and his contributors deserve credit,” one wrote. “Bryan Dobson… professional and in charge,” said another.
Aerial view of the crowd at the Phoenix Park Liam McBurney / PA Images
Liam McBurney / PA Images / PA Images
Each person who made contact with the RTÉ Information Office regarding the coverage of the Pope’s visit would have received a response informing them that their comments were welcome and would be circulated to senior management.
In terms of the cost of sending reporters and crew to Dublin and Knock cover the events of the visit, RTÉ hasn’t yet finalised the amount but the best estimate is €16,000, it said.
The additional costs for presenters and guest fees for those working in studio sites amounted to €11,472.
The additional crewing costs for the same events amounted to €76,616.
RTÉ said: “Costs for personal who were involved in the event but who were already assigned to work on those days are not captured here as it is not an additional cost.”
The costs for construction of an off-campus studio was €6,756, while the cost for the hire of broadcast equipment was €15,675.
In relation to radio coverage, across staffing costs, guest fees and travel, the cost to RTÉ was just over €10,000.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
34 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
An Post actually. They get €22.6 million of the overall €27 million tender… not bad for coming 2nd in the tender. Oh one other minor point..An Post won’t be using Eircode!!!
Apparently the post codes are random computer generated like the lottery. Could prove confusing for emergency services to find a location without any reference to a GPS location.
Remember it was the CWU, the union behind Right2Water, who made sure that Eircode is useless for the general public and any competitors to An Post. But as a result of CWU interference Eircode, being database based, is an ideal off the shelf database for Irish Water…Remember that!!!
1. Not supported by Satnavs, so no use getting from A to B
2. Only for letterboxes, so can’t guide emergency services to non dwelling accidents such as RTAs
3. Random code so not routable for delivery companies. Can’t pack a van or truck based on random codes alone that always need to be computer referenced.
4. Postmen & Postwomen not equipped to used them. An Post won’t use Eircode in any meaningful way but the influenced the code design so it is useless for their competitors too
5. For Tourism no use for beauty spots, lay-bys, old ruins, old battle sites, way marked trails etc.
1. Good for Protecting An Post’s monopoly
2. Good for illegally funding An Post
3. Good for garnering 10,000 CWU votes for Labour in the GE
4. Good off the shelf billing database for Irish Water
5. Good for junk mail
6. Good for Sky, UPC, Eircom, Energia, Eirtricity etc. expect many more teatime callers.
Bugger all chief, your better off just adding your business details to Google maps and if you have a website just link it in so that it’ll open up the app on mobile or Google maps on laptop.
Yes. No more ‘go over the hill, down to the bridge and it’s on your left at the top of the big field’ nonsense with clients. This is useful for small businesses in rural areas.
All of this breathless negativity leaves me speechless!
Let’s debunk some of the myths.
1. Not supported by Satnavs, so no use getting from A to B
LOC8 are proprietary and only supported by Garmin satnavs.
The eircode is the new national standard and over time, will be supported by all satnavs.
If you are buying a new sat nav device in 2017 and one supported eircodes and the other didn’t, which one would you choose?
2. Only for letterboxes, so can’t guide emergency services to non dwelling accidents such as RTAs
As stated elsewhere on this very page, the national ambulance service will support them.
3. Random code so not routable for delivery companies. Can’t pack a van or truck based on random codes alone that always need to be computer referenced.
It’s the 21st century with mobile broadband and modern computer systems. I wouldn’t get too worried about this. The entire database probably fits on your iPhone.
4. Postmen & Postwomen not equipped to used them. An Post won’t use Eircode in any meaningful way but the influenced the code design so it is useless for their competitors too
Pure and utter BS.
All state companies in Ireland including An Post are working on supporting eircodes.
5. For Tourism no use for beauty spots, lay-bys, old ruins, old battle sites, way marked trails etc.
Right, because there is so much mail being sent to these places?
Within 5 years what’s the betting that as well as giving your PPS number on forms , this ericode will also be asked. It will be linked in to Social welfare , bin collection charges, the board casting charge , LPT and any new levy they come up with.
And maybe it will prevent the wrong people being cut off from child benefit payments as per yesterday’s story, due to similar names living at non-unique addresses.
It’s unique alright. Why’d it have to be so random? It’s like something preschool kids came up with. If it had been a bit more sequential it’d have been useful for couriers etc.
Nope that’s a lie the DCENR peddled (amongst others) the real reason is a random code can be given every apartment in a block. Eircode is for billing, specifically for Irish Water and TV Licence billing.
The other lie was the “Sequential Postcode Problem” read about that below
@getlost
How do we know you aren’t lying? Posting your own website as proof doesn’t mean much to me.
The fact you are running around post this stuff up everywhere you can seems strange to me. What ever you have a problem with has happened, you lost! What are you getting out of this other than unhappiness? Move on
sorry mr Ipers, no iron in the fire here…as much to gain from a good postcode system as every other citizen or business in Ireland. Want to see good system for our emergency services, citizens, local government and tourists. Eircode is NOT that system.
Eircode has been a sham from start to finish. General public were not paying much attention while it was being developed but now that they see what pile of manure it is they will be looking for answers. So we have alternative answers to DCENR and Ministers Lies and propaganda.
@ get lost
I would like the best system too. That is always the goal but it is done now. Whatever your objective was with your site it failed.
I will say your link doesn’t make you seem reasonable in any manner. To say it is designed for TV licence is laughable as it is about to be done away with. You also failed to grasp that the recommendations from the steering committee were flawed and not legally allowable. You simply refused to believe it. It could not be done the way you want after they checked with legal teams but you apparently know better. Move on it is done
Website was to educate public on the problems with Eircode and counteract DCENR lies and misinformation. TV licence to be changed to household media tax, needs a database for that.
What exactly was flawed in recommendations by postcode working group?
What exactly was not legally allowable?
All of the commercial entities have said they won’t use this as they have a better,cheaper system that they all buy into. So it won’t be of any use for online purchase deliveries or taxis or whatever. The government will probably make this mandatory for setting up new utility or account will finacial institution or for correspondence with a deparmental office. That is about as utilised as it will get.
No number on my house, no house name, no road name.
All I’ve ever needed was…….my name, general area and county…………not once has any mail or parcel from An Post or any private delivery company ever failed to reach me.
It’s been live for exactly 10 hours and you’re complaining that Google haven’t updated their map already? Or are you complaining that they didn’t employ their psychic powers to guess the post codes in advance? Or do you think that if we copied the UKs post codes that somehow Google would know how they relate to Irish addresses.
I looked up my grandmother’s one, the townload is spelt differently to all the spellings on any signs or landmarks, and unsurprisingly doesn’t pick up anything but the local (closed) school and church. Not too helpful!
Yep , just as I suspected , typed in my full address and was informed that I dont live in that town but in a town 4 miles away. (how much did this cost ,, consultants ????)
The address they return is the one an post use, which includes your local sorting office, which may be in a different town or county. That’s one of the benefits of the system – the address you use may be different to what an post uses and could result in delays.
This way, you can continue using the geographically correct address and stick on the Eircode at the end and then it will route it to the correct sorting office. Should improve delivery times.
If you’ve got something being delivered by a courier – if they choose to use the code, they just need to enter it into their system and it will give them the co ordinates and plot the route for them (nightline have said that they’ll be using them for this)
For the people who think their town are now wrong you maybe wrong in what you think. The postal address are based on your postal sorting office so geographically you maybe in one place but for the postal system you are considered to be elsewhere.
Someone in a sorting office will take the letter, punch the Eircode into a computer and write the address on the envelope. Postmen will have no way of reading an Eircode on the go.
Just checked my code. They apparently have given myself and my neighbours all new addresses. Added bonus: we have terraced housing and they have given us all the same address (ex. 5 Parnell Street) with different apartment numbers. (ex. Apartment 2 Parnell Street, Apartment 3 Parnell Street). Who came up with this idea?
Actually that’s not completely correct. The ambulance, fire brigade and other emergency services will be updating their software later this year and if you give your Eircode, they’ll get right to your door. I think as with all new technology and change – we should give it a chance to bed in and work. We seem all to be very quick to jump to dismissing it
That’s a fair point in relation to cities and towns, but if you have a breakdown or RTA with no houses around Eircode is utterly useless, so your back to the current system of giving directions to the emergency services.
Refusing to use the code will make no difference, especially since the codes are useless anyway. An Post won’t be using these codes, so why should we??
i could have designed one better. well at least the post codes would be actuall postcodes that would be useful to all services and not just a random number on a house.
If An Post and other courier services don’t benefit from this what was the point ?
One government dept wasting taxpayers money to make other government dept jobs easier.
I will remain skeptical until I can see how this saves money.
Ok so, I’ve done a poll of various addresses I know around Cork and from what I’ve seen so far the entire south city is T12 + 4 alphanumeric characters.
That does seem a little odd to me. Useful for uniquely identifying houses but no better than a well informed satnav for finding one.
I had assumed that there’d be some level of drill down, at least to split an area like the south city in Cork into a few blocks.
I’m comfortable enough with the idea of a proprietary encoding and licensed database, but I did think that at least a basic one man and a van business would be able to plan 10 deliveries based on a glance at the codes.
And herein is the problem, everybody assumed the DCENR had our interests at heart.
Nothing could be further than the truth, An Post, CWU, DCENR & Labour (specifically Rabbitte & White) conspired to introduce a code who’s main aims were….
1. Protect An Post from competition, especially in the growing parcel market by making Eircode expensive & useless
2. Create an off the shelf billing database for Irish Water and TV Licence. Govt realised with property tax that they didn’t know exactly how many taxable properties in Ireland.
3. Illegally fund An Post to the tune of €22.6 million euro, Eircode purchasing GeoDirectory was the cover, extra funding keeps rural post offices open and keeps rural TDs on side, this is why FG let Labour away with this fook up.
So in the eyes of An Post, CWU, DCENR & Labour EIRCODE IS ALREADY A ROARING SUCCESS….and if Irish people don’t use it well we “just weren’t ready for postcodes”.
In Ireland mediocrity prevails when good people do nothing.
Spot on! But why not just a map and the number of the house; It was only a matter of time before we became a series of numbers.I am getting a robot outfit lol.
Moan moan moan!! Bloody hell. Will ye just cop on and accept that we need postcodes. Give it a couple of months and we’ll wonder how we managed without them
i dont think the issue is with needing postcodes.. i think its more to do with the unfinished and underdeveloped system they are launching. seems a lot of postcodes are incorrect.
Resistance to someone getting a cash cow whilst leaving another unusable mess to be fixed later. This one doesn’t even pretend to be anything else and why would it.
Unrelenting negativity from Journal.ie posters as always.
Have any of you worked on a project at work where you didn’t encounter significant initial teething problems?
of course i have.. every day as a developer… and if i was asked to develop this system i would have refused and put forward a system that would actually work for everyone.
does anyone know if this system was designed by an Irish company, or was it outsourced to yet another non-irish agency? would explain the complete lack of knowledge of irish addresses.
Supplied by British multinational Capita PLC. They are active in all the shiiitholes, Afghanistan, Iraq, Birmingham and now Ireland. Irish companies were told, while tender was still running, “they could tender but would not be successful”
had a feeling it couldnt have been an irish company… same happened with ireland.com, some company from UK choosen when loads of irish tallent put in for the tender. That website cost hundreds of thousands and could have been coded by an amature. it was another disaster by not hiring great irish tallent who would have been proud to design and develop a website to represent ireland and would have cost less that a quater what they paid a uk company.
Read about the tender below…see where the money went. One of the Eircode consortium member companies already won another tender to deliver Irish Water Conservation Grant.
Yes Capita employ people to look after the bad loans purchased by the likes of Cerberus so right now they are hounding small business people with gusto
Capita subbed the Eircode project to smaller Irish companies like AutoAddress. Make no mistake all Capita added to Eircode was margin and bureaucracy!!!
For such a tiny country that has got along fine without postcodes I do wonder why the new postcodes have to be so complicated. Wouldn’t a simple digit code have done fine?
I think its a good system, then again moaners will find any reason at all to moan.. Its what we do best in this country! Countless times courier services have had to contact me to get exact details. Now with this, all they need to do is put in my Eircode into the Eircode website and get the directions! I don’t see the problem?
not so simple for others.. my address shows as westmeath instead of roscommon which straight away would send my parcels to the wrong depot and be devilered a day late.
@MarkMurph1 if you read up on Eircode you won’t like it.
Corrupt tender, code released is not what was tendered for, not compliant with postcode act, useless for non dwelling emergencies. Simply put Eircode was designed to be useless to protect An Post’s parcel business and to develop a billing database that could be purchased off the shelf for Irish Water.
yea well only 1 courier have publically said they will use it, Nightline the people who deliver to Parcel Motels.
Eircode is simply too expensive and too cumbersome for couriers as you can’t eyeball the code and manually sort parcels using it. Requires a huge IT and licensing investment.
This system is probably ok for state services ,e.g. Revenue in that every property and address now has a unique identifier. However, It’s clearly something that was spat out by a computer. Galway City, for example (H91) has a hodge-podge of ‘identifiers’ consisting of formats AB12, AB1C, ABC1, A123.
They mean nothing to citizens.
What good is all of this if I or delivery or emergency services cannot input a code into a Sat Nav in the expectation that it will guide to where one needs to go?What was wrong with a system as used in other European countries – a four- or five- digit numeric system that ‘s simple and is fit for purpose.as a postcode, it’s a total farce; my postman delivers without fail, and within a day or two, all mail sent to me from within the State.Ordering on- line, I have got great mileage from G-0005 as a fictitious code and will continue to use it.
I regret to say that I see here a repeat of the discarded electronic voting system and Irish Water.
Eircodes are, for the general public, a total waste of public money and a show, again, a shocking deficit of leadership from the Government.
I, for one, will refuse to use such a daft, expensive, and meaningless system.
Eamonn the mergency services will be able to use the code to locate your home very precisely. For goodness sake give the system a chance everyone. Talk about begrudgery.
John, R what about all the bloody emergencies that don’t occur in dwellings. Eircode useless for this. Don’t worry though 112/999 take Loc8 codes for these.
Hi John, of course they will be able to reach me because, and only because I live in a numbered house in a 40- yr old estate in a city. Eircode is useless in enabling me to find a rural address. Read the blogs. It’s an absolute farce.
Well so far not impressed, they have managed to change our postal address to one different to everyone else in our locality… it seems our postal address has moved 4 miles away.
What a load bullplop! There’s no need for these codes they aren’t even easily remembered at least make them some way near in resemblance of the areas they cover!
the driver of the delivery is still going to have to take time to look it up on a system which is not allowing commercial use. so if that drive has more than 15 deliveries (and they will) they can no longer use the system. if the postcodes were in some sort of order (like they are in EVERY OTHER COUNTRY) then he/she would be able to find locations a lot quicker simply be looking at the postcode.
In fairness it was well overdue that we got a postal code system, I do believe that we were the only country in the EU that didn’t have them, with the UK having introduced them as far back as 1959. However as is typical of this country, instead of adopting say a similar system to the UK, we have gone off on our own little tangent, and made a mess of something that should have been quite straightforward.
Aging Lothario, it is a system which precisely identifies each and every physical address. So in one sense it is ahead of other similar post code systems which only identify group of addresses.
If the Ambulance service gets good use out of this, then all the whinging above is moot. In my mind it’s worth the bellyaching if one life gets saved because the ambulance pulled up at the right house instead of peering at the house numbers & bins trying to find the right number.
wouldnt it need to be working on a satnav system first? i dont thing the ambulace service has the kind of money it would cost to develop one.. sticking with local knowledge is probably safer.
No use for RTAs Other systems such as http://www.loc8code.com perfect for non dwelling emergencies. Eircode 100% USELESS FOR ANY ACCIDENT NOT AT A DWELLING
John you’re wrong. The website says “The National Ambulance Service will be using Eircodes once their new dispatch system goes live, which is planned for September this year. The Fire service and An Garda Síochána plan to use Eircodes and may do so as their dispatch systems are upgraded over the coming years. An Eircode will be used as an addition to the address and not as a replacement, so all emergency services will always ask for the address.” Over time all emergency services will use the system as will other services.
@John R how will NAS use Eircode for non dwelling emergencies which are a sizeable number of call outs every day. Why was billing of apartments and maintaining vanity addresses in Dublin prioritised over saving citizens lives especially in rural areas?
Why did we never hear from NAS themselves only second hand through DCENR and RTE
Why did we as a state not give emergency services everything they needed to ensure rapid access to casualties?
It’ll more time and cost expensive to go after harder cases – e.g. newly built one-off houses, so they grab as much easy data as they can and launch. They’ll bring the rest on board over time, no sense swelling their numbers to chase after the leftovers in a big mad hurry. Once they have the major cities and towns signed up, they’ll have a majority of dwelling and will give less than a fook about the rest, bringing them on board slowly over a period of time.
All you naysayer are overlooking the most important benefit of this wonderful system:
Criminals will love it and use it and that keeps the law enforcement industry happy which is great news as it creates job security in the civil/public sector.
Sure it’s because most idiots on twitter don’t understand that posting their eircode and that they are on holidays might signal an invitation to criminals but hey…
And obviously the department of social protection, revenue and other snooping government organization are going to love it and use it, a real stop into a population register when you combine it with the TV License, Property Tax, Revenue and other database. Soon your PPS will be linked to your Eircode and it will be tattooed onto your arm.
I’ve never heard such nonsense. Do you not think that the state authorities don’t know where you live already? We all have a thing called an address and amazingly we can find each other, including on Google Maps. My current old fashioned address may as well be tattooed on my arm!
Maybe I’m liking this new post code. All I need to do is stick the post code on a letter and post it.. This saves me time writing name and address on the envelope.
About time we got a postcode system in place in this country. I do a lot of Radom deliveries around Ireland as for some of the addresses your given and expected too find. In particular country address,whether they be business or private addresses. Done plenty of work up north and across the water and the post code works pretty well on the sat nav. You’d be surprised how much more you can get done in your days work and how much time and fuel you save by not having too drive around lookking for a place with a bad address. Can’t understand have they are making mistakes with the issuing of codes. That can’t be that hard of a job.
And the consequence of this is my Kenwood satnav identified a crash in Maynooth as Naas and tried to re-route me. How can you trust TMC with notifications like this? (Traffic Message Channel)
ha. Just checked my address. they have got it wrong. it seems eircode mixed up my address with my next door neighbour! should have got denis o brien on the case, his water meter mafia found my house no probs!!!
Typical Irish. Liking to whinge and moan about everything new. It had to come in at some point or another to bring this country into the 21st century. Deal with it. Whinging and moaning is all this country ever does. Never prepared to get up off our backsides and actually do something constructive.
A simple adjustment to the format in the early stages could have avoided the criticism from the FTAI, etc., and secured its adoption.
Something like:
A01 GN2 B5
A01 = Routing Key
GN2 = Locale (rural and commercial) / Estate (or subset of an estate if it’s quite a large one, like numbers 1-40, 41 – 80)
B5 = Unique Identifier
Maybe I’m wrong but I think just adding another character to it would have solved all the issues because as it stands, having a 4-character unique identifier is a waste of characters! You could probably get away with having one less, due to the amount of houses per routing key, even in Dublin, probably not exceeding every possible combination of permitted numbers and letters.
If you think about it, the suggestion above, while is merely of first draft quality and would require a lot of further consideration, would also be future-proof based on the fact that you can have similar combinations in the locate and unique identifier sections by just having more routing keys / postal districts as the need arises. Or you can just throw in another character for good measure to accomplish the same thing. At least freight companies could use it for delivery route planning and all the other things that the critics of the current system say is missing.
It doesn’t take a genius to come up with something like this. It also doesn’t take a lot of time. So I’m seriously baffled as to why Capita and everyone else involved in the format decision making process didn’t come up with it, or adapt something similar to Loc8. Pity that the government couldn’t have just awarded the tender to Loc8 from the start based on merit instead of annual turnover, but that’s a different debate for a different occasion.
DCENR actively denied Loc8 the opportunity to tender. They also asked all large courier companies not to support Loc8 and promised something better and state backed. An Post also denied Loc8 a licence for geodirectory when asked in 2009. Difficult to thrive when government dept, semi state and unions are protecting their turf. Loc8 deserves to succeed and deserves the Irish publics support on merit alone!
I just can’t get over all the negativity on this site about eircodes.
Anyone who has ever got groceries delivered with Tesco online etc. knows that their postal address as An Post deliver it can be different to their actual address. Nothing new here, no conspiracy.
The use of an eircode system actually makes this problem go away.
An Post uses Tallaght as your delivery office and you prefer to use Whitehall?
No problem. Just give your address as Whitehall and use the eircode.
Or even just use John Murphy plus the eircode. End of story.
Has no one on this site ever tried to get goods delivered from the EU or America, outside of the big players like Amazon? No one has ever had to make up a postcode because the ordering system requires one?
DUB 001 anyone?
No one in a rural location here ever suffered from lost or delayed parcel delivery?
Eircodes are a GOOD THING, folks.
And yes, it cost money, like any new system of this scale.
It’s odd that you would think that An Post are going to automatically use Eircodes – they are not.
If Eircodes were ‘a good thing’ you could use them to tell your location in a hurry to an Ambulance or Fire Brigade – you can’t and you won’t because it only identifies houses – (tax payers)
And no, it should not have cost as much – there are 2 known alternatives.
Loc8 which is already in common usage and https://map.what3words.com/
which gives everywhere on the planet an address not just tax paying households
Eircode is useless for Tesco as routing keys are not defined, overlap and even have pockets of one key in other key. Eg D24 sandwiched between 2 x D22… simply unworkable.
Don’t know what you’re all complaining about. Even if your address does not show up, you can use the map and go to the general area and find your own house. If it has a little red dot on it , you are found!!! Why can’t emergency services use it? If I give them my house code, they can look at the map and find it no bother.
In fact, I can use the map to pinpoint the address and postcode of a random house and send post to that house. Wait, that is not a good thing!!! I could be driving somewhere and pick a random house along the way and send a letter saying ‘ Hey, I don’t like that god awfull colour you have painted your house in. What were you thinking? And your grass looks like it hasn’t seen a mower in 20 years!!!” oooh, not so good :/
btw a neighbours house has no red dot on in and immediatly my tinfoil hat came on. Those neighbours are members of the Gardai ??? Is it just an error or is it something more sinister… *hitchcock music
Pointless comment. You can pick any random house in Dublin now and grab the address from the street name and send them a letter which they will ignore.
Well Mike,in case you haven’t noticed, Dublin isn’t the only place on the map! And if you didn’t have your head so far up your own backside you would stop to think on that and then you might finally realise that lots of people live in places that don’t have street names, or road names, or house numbers for that matter. Without those details, who could you send a letter to? I can do that with this map! So go off now and ponder on that, and while your at it, go say something nice for somebody for a change. It will do wonders for you!
Apple's Irish subsidiary incurs $25 billion corporation tax charge as pre-tax profits hit $76 billion
35 mins ago
evening fix
Here's What Happened Today: Friday
58 mins ago
arctic reception
JD Vance says US take over of Greenland ‘makes sense’ during scaled back visit
Updated
1 hr ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say