You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The RTÉ Guide has made an absolute hames of the Rubberbandits' 1916 documentary

Oh… dear.

Facebook Facebook

THIS CHRISTMAS, THE Rubberbandits are an important part of the RTÉ TV schedule.

The rap duo’s documentary about the Easter Rising – called The Rubberbandits Guide To 1916 - occupies a headline slot on RTE Two on New Year’s Eve.

However, the Rubberbandits posted this image on Facebook last night:

Facebook Facebook

… with the comment:

Fair play to the RTE guide, who not only got the name of our Documentary wrong, but also invented a show that doesn’t exist in the process. Our show is a guide to 1916, it’s a documentary about a load of legends who died for their country 100 years ago. It took us 6 months to make it, and it’s on New Years eve at 11pm on RTE2.

The Rubberbandits’ documentary has been much heralded by RTÉ. It was first announced back in September as a prominent part of the State broadcaster’s commitment to original homegrown shows for their new season.

The Guide To 1916 was also highlighted in press releases announcing the broadcaster’s Christmas lineup, and as an element of the RTÉ 1916 season of programming for the upcoming centenary.

The error appears in the listings pages of the Christmas RTE Guide, although the programme is described correctly in the ‘highlights’ section on a different page.

An RTÉ spokesperson told DailyEdge:

Unfortunately, there seems to have been a mix up on the listings page. However, hopefully our readers will notice the more accurate TV highlight for The Rubber Bandits Guide to 1916 on the previous page and that we also selected it as ’Show Of The Day’ for New Year’s Eve.

(Yes, the Christmas RTE Guide is the one with this on the cover…

… so there.)

Written by Michael Freeman and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2015/12/img2-thejournal-168.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-2515945" class="alignnone" /end]

More: 9 important questions we have about this year’s RTÉ Guide Christmas cover>

More: We asked Marty Whelan to explain this photo>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:12 PM

In all fairness I would have thought that a 1916 documentary from the rubberbandits was a typo. I wonder how many references to yokes and bags of glue they will crowbar in. A stupid idea in the first place. I don’t mind them but this is not the topic for that humour.

Mute Eoin Fleming
    Favourite Eoin Fleming
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:31 PM

These guys are definitely a lot more clever than people give them credit for and i’m sure the show will be a far cry from their usual gags. They have a lot of other work they have done on youtube and channel four which is a lot more thought provoking and i expect the same here.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:34 PM

I would pick rubber bandits over an rte production team anyway. Rubber bandits inform via comedy but they inform just as well as any screenwriter. They worked 6 months on this show so let’s give it a chance

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Owen Slattery
    Favourite Owen Slattery
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:36 PM

I’m fairly sure one of them has lectured history. Their outreach will have far more people watching and learning about 1916, which can only be a good thing.

Mute Tordelback
    Favourite Tordelback
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:38 PM

Why Patrick, too soon?

The Rubberbandits are among the most intelligent and perceptive comedians we’ve ever had in this country. I think you mistake the medium for the message.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:46 PM

You might want to leave the thinking there to the professionals Patrick, you might hurt yourself.

Mute Ben Smith
    Favourite Ben Smith
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:49 PM

Nothing should be off limits to humour. I look forward to their irreverent take on events.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:53 PM

If the Rubber bandits set up a political party I would be first to join. Their logic has always been leaps and bounds above our traditional politicians

Mute Phil Clarke
    Favourite Phil Clarke
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:56 PM

Patrick that’s exactly the sort of attitude that contributes to the brain-drain of talent in this country. People said the same about Father Ted and arguably the best comedy television we’ve produced had to be made by an English production company. The Rubberbandits are incredibly bright and this documentary will reflect that.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Dec 22nd 2015, 1:00 PM

Prudes will be prudes.

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    Dec 22nd 2015, 1:00 PM

A professional thinker?

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    Dec 22nd 2015, 1:16 PM

Pretending to be a chav in order to poke fun at the establishment is all very Ali G. I hope they show what they are capable of rather than the derivative, predictable drivel I’ve seen the few times I gave them a chance.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Dec 22nd 2015, 1:20 PM

http://www.simplyhired.com/k-professional-thinker-jobs.html
    There you go Patrick. You’re learning loads of new things today.

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    Dec 22nd 2015, 1:23 PM

Brilliant. I can go back to just reacting to stimuli so. Someone else can do my thinking for me from now on. Relief.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 22nd 2015, 1:41 PM

Ali G was funny. Sacha baron choen or however you spell it is a great performer & thought provoker.

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    Dec 22nd 2015, 1:43 PM

Was.

Mute BevinArmageddon
    Favourite BevinArmageddon
    Dec 22nd 2015, 2:13 PM

Indeed Patrick you clearly no nothing about the Rubberbandits and what they stand for. Two very intelligent guys.

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    Dec 22nd 2015, 2:33 PM

Explain for me so, please. I see two intelligent grown men pretending to be two stupid young men in order to make mildly incisive social commentary and a load of jokes about yokes and drugs. The thing is, I think that part of their appeal lies exactly with those they pretend to send up. In a way they glamorise the lifestyle they are trying to send up. I follow them on Facebook and none of their stuff is not high art. They are not Monty Python surrealists. They are, at best, dated and not fit to luck the boots of Tommy Tiernan or Dylan Moran. But what do I know? I’m too stupid to make my own mind up. When they become too mainstream the rest of the hipsters like my fan above will jump ship and find the next subculture to worship.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Dec 22nd 2015, 2:51 PM

Patrick, apparently Eamon Gilmore is the “European Thinker of the Year”……..nuff said.

Mute Kevin Denny
    Favourite Kevin Denny
    Dec 23rd 2015, 6:35 AM

Yes they are both history professors at Oxbridge, wherever that is.

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Dec 24th 2015, 3:35 AM

Patrick, I don’t think you’re too stupid to make your mind up. I, however, am way too stupid to believe.

Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:14 PM

The same #Christmasrteguide that announced Morgan Freeman is in Sherlock on new years day, Martin Freeman is looking a bit bewildered though

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:57 PM

Maybe I’m getting old and grumpy !! Don’t answer that !!! But who thought these two would be a good idea for telly ffs Tesco bags over their heads .. Leave them out with their horse

Mute Frank Higgins
    Favourite Frank Higgins
    Dec 22nd 2015, 3:45 PM

Totally agree with you Shane

Mute Éamonn Mac Eochaidh
    Favourite Éamonn Mac Eochaidh
    Dec 22nd 2015, 4:52 PM

The same RTÉ Guide has given a whopping 2 stars to RTÉ1′s evening movie on Christmas Day – Mrs Brown’s Boys. Sounds about right.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:40 PM

‘Unfortunately there has been a mix up but hopefully’
    Yeah right.

Unfortunately I’ve forgotten to buy my TV liscence but hopefully ……..

Mute Foghorn Leghorn
    Favourite Foghorn Leghorn
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:28 PM

Surely they’re not gonna be givin us a history lesson with bags on their heads and exaggerated accent. Nothin against the lads at all, but this is like dustin doing a piece on the holocaust

Mute Warren Collier
    Favourite Warren Collier
    Dec 22nd 2015, 2:53 PM

Who the fcuk buys the RTE guide in 2016?!! Honestly

Mute Codology
    Favourite Codology
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:14 PM

I might actually watch it. They can be funny. At least they have been when I’ve seen them on UK stations or youtube.

Is there a way to completely remove RTE from my sky channel listings? Haven;t watched it in 12 years, the day I left home, and it even annoys me seeing its name on the damn sky list.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Dec 22nd 2015, 1:01 PM

Put all the stations you use in a Favourites list. That way you can avoid RTE and any station that shows the Kardashians

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:33 PM

the rubberbandits are a pair of clowns just like jedward.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:46 PM

I didn’t mean to hurt them, I’m just some jealous guy…

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 22nd 2015, 12:53 PM

I’m assuming the two accounts above are one troll. Amateur

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    Dec 22nd 2015, 1:24 PM

I won’t b keeping rte entertaind in my house this Christmas ,1,I can’t watch rte with their logo constantly stuck in your face 2 I feel rte abandoned its tv licence payers again this year with offering old movie which we paid for with our tv licence fee years ago I hope they will loose that licence fee when we elect a new government early next year lets c how they would like been robbed

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Dec 22nd 2015, 2:15 PM

I haven’t watched TV in years, since getting Netflix. I haven’t read the RTE guide even longer than that. I’m surprised either is still around.

I’m sure the editor was like, who cares? The six elderly folks who actually buy this won’t know the difference because they will be in bed before the water shed anyway.

Mute the phantom
    Favourite the phantom
    Dec 22nd 2015, 2:00 PM

Rubber bandits are seriously boring – I predict this will be the same roaring success as that hardy bucks tripe RTE picked up. I’m sure that are “actually really smart guys” but that doesn’t change the fact they are actually really boring after 15 minutes

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Dec 22nd 2015, 1:43 PM

Typo errors. Secretary in a rush to cash her bonus cheque.

What’s all the fuss like !

Dec 22nd 2015, 7:47 PM

The price of the TV license and for what?

Mute Ciarán Ó Duifinn
    Favourite Ciarán Ó Duifinn
    Dec 22nd 2015, 2:26 PM

They should have had it on NY’s day instead of eve of their so excited for the last six months about it.

Dec 22nd 2015, 7:44 PM

“THIS CHRISTMAS, THE Rubberbandits are an important part of the RTÉ TV schedule.”
    And the question is… WHY?

These 2 seem freaky to me in a bad way…

Dec 22nd 2015, 7:38 PM

It is not Vincent Brown and Noonan again, is it lol.