You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Niall Carson/PA

RTÉ proposes 'modest increase in public funding' over next five years

The broadcaster said that this would enable it to significantly improve its service to audiences.

PUBLIC SERVICE BROADCASTER RTÉ has proposed an increase in public funding in order to improve its services over the next five years.

The proposal was made in the broadcaster’s five year strategy, published yesterday.

The strategy said RTÉ has reduced its 2012 cost-base by over €100 million since 2008 and by 2013, its cost base will be 30 per cent lower than five years ago.

We have implemented severe cutbacks across RTÉ including reductions in pay. We have reduced our staffing levels by 20 over cent since 2008.

The range of RTÉ’s content and schedules has suffered and it has lost audience share, according to the strategy which added that this is not sustainable.

It pointed out that the Irish TV licence fee of €160 is “significantly below the European average” and has not increased since 2008.

RTÉ’s public funding has effectively decreased in recent years and will continue to erode due to inflation. In addition the Irish advertising market has shrunk by over 35 per cent from 2008 to 2011.

One option proposed is that the broadcaster keeps spending on programme content over the next five years broadly in line with what is spent this year.

Its second option proposes modest increases in public funding which it said “captures the full scope of RTÉ’s ambition”.

“As well as enabling RTÉ to significantly improve its service to audiences, these changes will also have the potential to offer real benefits to the broader creative digital economy in Ireland,” it continued.

“Without action there will be a decline in both RTÉ’s relevance and commercial viability, not today or tomorrow, but during the lifetime of this strategy.”

Read: RTÉ Radio chief: ‘We’ve looked under every stone to try and make savings>

Read: BAI: ‘There is a risk that Irish-made TV content could become marginalised’>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

130 Comments
    Mute Louise Coffey
    Favourite Louise Coffey
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:17 AM

They can feck right off. When you still have the audacity to pay your so called stars such inflated wages, you have absolutely no right to ask for more money! They don’t live in reality, do they?

Mute Conor O' Runaidh
    Favourite Conor O' Runaidh
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:53 AM

And how many channels do these countries have for the fee? And in HD? And ad breaks?

Mute Declan Conway
    Favourite Declan Conway
    Sep 17th 2013, 1:19 PM

RTÉ proposes ‘modest increase in public funding’ over next five years

Why?….are the BBC raising their prices?

Mute Paul McMahon
    Favourite Paul McMahon
    Sep 17th 2013, 2:15 PM

Too right Louise, they get all the TV licence and they have adverts on both Radio and TV! Ive never needed to go to the RTE webpage but Im sure its full of adverts too. Bloody cheek.

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Sep 17th 2013, 2:46 PM

RTE have to take advertisements because we have such a small population base here, and many other EU countries do the same.

I think there is a need for the government to take a new approach for the way public service TV is handled.

My suggestion is that the public should vote once every few years to award a public service TV contract to only one station. Who ever wins would get the licence fee.

Mute Mary Griffin
    Favourite Mary Griffin
    Sep 17th 2013, 3:09 PM

Agreed Louise. RTE produce sh*te programmes and pay their ‘stars’ inflated salaries. Another hike with the new method of paying licence no doubt. I would rather pay it to BBC or Sky cannels who have stuff I watch.

Mute Mary Griffin
    Favourite Mary Griffin
    Sep 17th 2013, 3:10 PM

‘channels’

Mute Neil Murphy
    Favourite Neil Murphy
    Sep 17th 2013, 3:27 PM

Daniel, or how about this for a quirky system:

People use the money from not paying a broadcast charge and spend it on the television entertainment they actually want to watch.

What is public service TV anyway? Nationwide, Prime Time, the 6.1? They can all be offered by private companies (and more impartially). Oireachtas TV? Can be streamed online.

Sell RTE.

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Sep 17th 2013, 3:54 PM

While you do have a point Neil, you have to realise that the Irish market is too small for any meaningful quality content to be produced and broadcast independently.

RTE do a decent job on home-grown stuff, especially documentaries. All of this tends to be spread-out across the three stations RTE operate. The opposite to this is TV3 who can only afford a few good imports and any in-house stuff they do is very budget and poor.

A basic example is the quality of GAA coverage when comparing TV3 and RTE. The soccer is similar. Have TV3 ever broadcast a Rugby game for instance? TV3′s documentaries usually are a mish-mash of youtube clips and their own newsroom re-runs – terrible fare.

If all the quality stuff RTE/TG4 do was condensed into one station (RTE1), cut RTE2 and TG4 loose to find their own way, then you would have one channel that would be worth say €100 fee per year that would deliver good local Irish TV -that I think would be good value for money.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Sep 17th 2013, 4:41 PM

There is a simple solution Daniel. Let those who want RTE pay for it. Make it subscription only. Problem solved.

Mute Jed I. Knight
    Favourite Jed I. Knight
    Sep 17th 2013, 5:57 PM

Could someone more knowledgeable than me answer this, if I have for arguments sake, Sky TV, which also has RTÉ included in one of its packages, so far so good.
    I assume Sky pays RTÉ a fee for the privilege of being able to retransmit their channels, which they then recoup from their customers, and I’d be one.
    So I’m already paying RTÉ, via Sky, regardless of whether I avail of the opportunity of watching any of their channels on my Sky package through any available media or listen to any of the RTÉ radio stations, also available through my Sky TV package.
    If I pay the Broadcasting Charge am I not paying for this opportunity twice? This argument is purely hypothetical as I’m sure UPC and possibly other providers will be in a similar position, I chose Sky as its probably the best known.

Mute Ger Ryan
    Favourite Ger Ryan
    Sep 17th 2013, 7:45 PM

But louise they are obviously not paying inflated wages…. pat kenny bailed to newstalk. He hardly went on reduced wages

Mute Grayham Ó Fallúin
    Favourite Grayham Ó Fallúin
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:33 PM

Tg4 deserves more money then any other. Slán leat RTE!

Mute Zoe Daly
    Favourite Zoe Daly
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:48 PM

true Grayham
    TG4 are the only ones who deserve to be called a ‘public service’ broadcaster.
    This station has done a huge amount for the Irish language, culture & heritage.

RTE in contrast, only serve the interests of the bloated egos of their ‘star’ presenters.
    They seem to call the shots at RTE. Not the ordinary public, who pay their wages.

Mute David Tunney
    Favourite David Tunney
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:15 AM

Only five countries in europe have a higher TV licence
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Television_licence#Europe

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:28 AM

Also I’d like to know how many of the other countries allow their public broadcaster to chase commercial revenues through advertising.

Mute John Cotter
    Favourite John Cotter
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:31 AM

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Goebong
    Favourite Goebong
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:06 AM

After the new Jason Byrne programme last night we should all be getting a rebate on our licence

Mute Leigh Power
    Favourite Leigh Power
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:32 AM

And what about those stunning documentaries, the one were RTE presenter Brian Ormond marries Pippa whosit and the upcoming masterpiece former were RTE Fade St person Vo-Gue tries to get a job on Home and Away.

When they stop producing this tripe then they can.ask for an increase.

Mute Mick Jacobs
    Favourite Mick Jacobs
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:52 AM

Those countries with a higher tv licence fee dont have commercial advertising …of the rest that have advertising only Austria and Switzerland are more expensive with the other 10 cheaper – wonder where they get their statement “significantly below the European average” …..??

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:54 AM

If it wasn’t for the potential hysteria of the blue rinse brigade, the very same ones that watch fair city and the late late show, we’d have a serious chance of privatising RTE and cutting it loose.

Mute Despicable You
    Favourite Despicable You
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:59 AM

I propose a modest increase in my wages…..any takers?

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 17th 2013, 12:01 PM

RTE’s idea of a documentary is to find the most depressing subjects and make them even more depressing – weekly.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Sep 17th 2013, 12:15 PM

What’s the idea of buying things like mad men and broadcasting them in the small hours. Just so tv3 can’t show them at prime time and get some extra revenue?
    Nasty carry on with our money.

Mute Borito Encinas
    Favourite Borito Encinas
    Sep 17th 2013, 12:27 PM

The two spanish public channels have been forbidden of any kind of commercial advertising as a “public service” is not to pursue profit. Since then, those two channels have improved massively their content to a point that it is one with the most viewers in Spain.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 17th 2013, 12:34 PM

Technically we have two public stations as well. TG4 is another waste of space IMO. Most people I know watch it for the occasion English speaking film. I wouldn’t know where to find it on the channel selector.

Mute John Miller
    Favourite John Miller
    Sep 17th 2013, 12:38 PM

Upcoming masterpiece former were RTE Fade St person Vogue – I thought if I typed it out I might be able to make some sense of it but no.

Mute dermot meehan
    Favourite dermot meehan
    Sep 17th 2013, 1:21 PM

Lived in Spain for 22 years. TVE 1 & 2 are complete and utter shite stations too, nothing has improved except the party political spin for Mariano Killjoy of the conservative corrupt party.

Mute Leigh Power
    Favourite Leigh Power
    Sep 17th 2013, 1:37 PM

Sorry John, my bad. A combination of a phone, fat fingers and incandescent rage. Although, except for getting the order of ‘were former’ wrong I think it holds up but I’ll parse it for you:

“the” (you left that bit out in your quote) “upcoming masterpiece were former RTE Fade St person Vo-Gue tries to get a job on Home and Away.”

Fade St was a reality program on RTE a few years back and Vo-Gue was a person in it. I refuse to use the word star.

Vo-Gue as opposed to Vogue as that’s phonetically how I pronounce it. No reason why.

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Sep 17th 2013, 1:56 PM

So Rte’s cost base has been reduced by 30% and it has saved 100 million. Why then does my licence still cost so much?? I don’t even watch those bloody channels!!

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Sep 17th 2013, 4:38 PM

A bunch of cocooned parasites.

Mute Shaun Sweeney
    Favourite Shaun Sweeney
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:25 AM

if you cant pay your way then shut down

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Sep 17th 2013, 1:13 PM

And they can’t pay their way. RTE is running a huge deficit every year. Still would be even if they got rid of their overpaid presenters. Guess who’s going to end up paying for that, boys and girls?

Mute Niall Murray
    Favourite Niall Murray

Pat Rabbitte only stated this morning on Newstalk that he was not going to increase the licence fee. I bet he’ll find some way of doing a u-turn.

Mute margaret
    Favourite margaret
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:30 AM

No Way. He would never!!!

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:46 AM

It’s more disgusting that the new broadcasting charge was sold to us as a way raise more money by eliminating the licence evaders to the tune of 30 million extra for RTE . Now why the fcuk do they need to raise it more. This is a huge scam and I can’t wait to see rabbit bold back down that hole.

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:47 AM

Has stated he wont increase licence fee, this is going to be replaced with a broadcast charge. No promises there. Its the usual political spin. “I promised not to increase the fee, I never said anything about the broadcast charge.”

Mute gumbridge
    Favourite gumbridge
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:21 AM

Heard an interview with the Rabitte about 6 weeks ago where he was specifically asked about the UBC, he fluffed it and said he would “do his best” to keep it the same amount.
    I think we all know what that means.

Mute Graham--
    Favourite Graham--
    Sep 17th 2013, 1:43 PM

I’d their getting more people to pay it, then surely the price of it should come down??

Mute Kieran Ryan
    Favourite Kieran Ryan
    Sep 17th 2013, 1:46 PM

Joan Burtons talking about a welfare cap and Pat Rabittes talking about an RTE cap and boy do we need them to hide the haircut we’ve all taken!

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:32 AM

Crap,
    Remove the fee and leave RTE deal with reality, if they can’t compete with TV3 on a level playing field then they need to restructure and drop wages.

Increasing the fee gives them an unfair advantage over other radio and tv company’s and is anti competitive,

Mute Kinder Macado
    Favourite Kinder Macado
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:24 AM

TV3 is just car crash TV, it’s terrible!!! However RTE are not too far behind!!

Mute John king
    Favourite John king
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:58 AM

I propose a modest decrease in RTE ‘s top presenters salaries. A cap at 100 k€ p.a. should be fair. If the likes of Miriam don’t like it, give other talents a chance instead …

Mute John Dobermann
    Favourite John Dobermann

They can’t all go to Newstalk so a cap shouldn’t be a problem.

Mute Stephen Harkin
    Favourite Stephen Harkin
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:18 AM

I’ve said it before and ill say it again:
    Put RTE as a option on any sky or upc package at €160 per year and see how many people subscribe to it.
    Channel is utter shite.

Sep 17th 2013, 10:18 AM

RTE’s relevance has already declined and it’s nothing to do with funding.

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park1
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:34 AM

Scrap the TV license and let RTE sink or swim

Mute linda o neill
    Favourite linda o neill
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:26 AM

RTE delivered the Presidential election for Michael D Higgins and Pat Rabbitte and Labour owe them ….Watch Rabbitte agree to the hike in the license after Christmas and justify it by saying RTE is doing a great public service….

Mute margaret
    Favourite margaret
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:31 AM

Spot on.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:40 AM

Noel Curran should’ve been sacked last year along with half his fellow board members. Pat Rabbitte had a chance to get rid of that diseased lot after the prime time debacle, but completely bottled it. We can’t afford this bunch of reality dodging vermin and the quicker the government deal with them, then the better for the general public.

Mute Zoe Daly
    Favourite Zoe Daly
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:55 AM

spot on Linda,
    The RTE presidential debate fiasco, ensured that Labour got their man as president.
    The questions surrounding ‘tweetgate’ have never been answered by RTE.
    But Pat Rabitte & Co will always be fighting their corner.

RTE have been the architects of their own misfortune.
    The obscene salaries paid to their so called ‘stars’ – Kenny, Duffy, Finucane, Tubridy etc. have almost ruined them financially, & the taxpayer has to pay the price.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:41 AM

Pat rabbitte is just a (for the want of a better word) man that likes to hear himself talk.

Mute Gary.
    Favourite Gary.
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:38 AM

The general public proposes “that RTE should take a long walk on a short pier”.

Mute Mikie Twoshoes
    Favourite Mikie Twoshoes
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:31 AM

RTE is one seriously brutal TV station! Overpaid useless presenters! Politically biased propaganda. Shut it down!!!

Mute Iam D Best
    Favourite Iam D Best
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:40 AM

it is, thats who runs it, them shower. its their little machine to reach out to rural areas, their propaganda, telling all the grannies to vote for them and hiding the facts. Sure we can’t rely on them to use the internet on their laptops and Pay to subscribe to RTE. Its plain to be seen. BURN IT!

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:56 AM

Goodbye RTE we dont want you anymore.

Mute Tim Higgins
    Favourite Tim Higgins
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:28 AM

Shut it down!

Mute John Lavelle
    Favourite John Lavelle
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:48 AM

Let RTE go to the wall! TV3 are proof that you don’t need this massive amount of public money to survive! No to TV licence hike!!!

Mute Tim Dickson
    Favourite Tim Dickson
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:15 AM

Start off by scrapping Fair City!!!

Mute Annette Temple
    Favourite Annette Temple

Or ‘Fairly Shitty’ as it’s commonly known.

Mute Cb2010
    Favourite Cb2010
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:48 AM

Damo and Ivor was brutal.

Mute Jason Preston
    Favourite Jason Preston
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:28 AM

I agree, it really was cringe worthy.

Mute Angela Halpin
    Favourite Angela Halpin
    Sep 17th 2013, 12:00 PM

Yes it was terrible, and as for that Mario Rosenstock – would someone please tell him that he is not funny, in fact cringeworthy is the term I would use.

Mute Michelle Mckenna
    Favourite Michelle Mckenna
    Sep 17th 2013, 12:50 PM

Too true. He is not funny he never was and those insurance ads put me in a bad mood. Get that fool off the tv!!!!

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Sep 18th 2013, 10:49 AM

I wonder linda how he would like it if someone took him off.

Mute Fix Ireland
    Favourite Fix Ireland
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:39 AM

I heard yesterday that they may not show Season 4 of Love/Hate until later because apparently it does not make enough money to cover its cost. If they can’t make money out of the most popular Irish tv show since the Late Late then there is something seriously wrong with that company.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:50 AM

Sure you have home and away sic

Mute Francis Stokes
    Favourite Francis Stokes
    Sep 17th 2013, 4:00 PM

It was announced that the new series will go out on first of October.They were bringing it Forward from the Original planned time in later winter.

Mute Sean Mckevitt
    Favourite Sean Mckevitt
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:15 AM

The taxpayers of ireland propose that rte fkk right off.

How can you pay some a 6 figure salary to talksh!te hour after hour.

Mute rotund jocularity
    Favourite rotund jocularity

Bolleaux

Mute Annette Temple
    Favourite Annette Temple
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:46 AM

I have a sky freeview card that cost 25 euro. I have no Irish channels at all for the last five years. Have I missed it? I can genuinely say the ONLY programme I missed was the Late Late Toy Show as it has been a tradition to put up the tree and watch it to herald in the Christmas season. (I link up the tv to the laptop and watch it on the iPlayer). Last year though, even the kids thought it was crap.

I still pay my license fee as I have a tv but I refuse to pay more! If they increase the fee, I will stop paying what I am currently paying and they can take me to court.

Mute Shane Donnelly
    Favourite Shane Donnelly
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:34 AM

They will eventually bring in a licence to cycle a Bicycle. The government will suck everything they can out of us like the parasites they are.

Mute Fix Ireland
    Favourite Fix Ireland

In all fairness, some cyclists have no business being out in public.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:25 AM

Thought I was seeing things. Modest INcrease? It’s not April 1st is it?

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:49 AM

Can we have a referendum on the 2 choices. I bet everyone would go for the first choice.

Mute Morticia
    Favourite Morticia
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:52 AM

Time to bury RTE, we need closure on this ;-)

Mute Francis Stokes
    Favourite Francis Stokes
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:33 AM

I saw that yesterday it would make your blood boil. I think RTE. should be like any other channel and go on a pay per view. I am sure that very few people in Ireland actually watch it. Rte is very much spread out with Internet news also trying to keep a few radio services going If it cannot afford to keep them going they should Improvise and only run two stations one Television Channel and radio. People have more of a choice now and are not depending on RTE alone.I think the TV licence is more than enough for them. 160 euros is a lot of money out of a family s budget. They sat that other countries are paying more but they may have three or four channel’s run by the same company.RTE are available on sky but you have to be on a package to get it .

Mute Cian O Donnell
    Favourite Cian O Donnell
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:43 AM

“captures the full scope of RTÉ’s ambition”-haha, I did chuckle at this.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh

That’s why it’s a “modest” incease: in line with “scope of ambition” which is modest at best.

Mute Wolfgang Hanratty
    Favourite Wolfgang Hanratty
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:11 AM

They should blow that place up!

Mute Iam D Best
    Favourite Iam D Best
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:37 AM

can we have broadband free to air signal with that broadcasting fee then please? i mean, it is digital isn’t it? it can be broadcast can’t it? this fee is to improve the digital service isn’t it? or wait, its just TV? just TV?? i’ve no TV, so i to have a licence for my computer? and pay to get internet? wow.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:46 AM

Modest increase, love that turn of phrase.

Mute MKUltra
    Favourite MKUltra
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:46 AM

it took rte almost 50 years to have hit love/hate so when L/H finishes up so should rte.

Mute Anthony Moran
    Favourite Anthony Moran
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:39 AM

What’s next, dog licence increase…

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 17th 2013, 12:36 PM

No bloody way will I pay any increase.
    I will happily load up my tv and radio into the car and drive Montrose and f*** them through their window.
    Let rte sell the vast prime site to cover their costs .

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Sep 17th 2013, 12:50 PM

I’d rather pay less TV license than get more RTE.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins

How many programmes do we have to watch over and over cut the wages of the high earners its obscene. Them people have nothing in common with ordinary people pay them tv3 wages.

Mute Mark Lillis
    Favourite Mark Lillis
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:52 AM

Will they not be getting a substantial increase in funding now that all households will be forced to pay? But they are only looking for a modest increase in funding. Ergo, Broadcasting Charge should be lower that the current rate for TV Licence. Win!

Mute Marshall Jones
    Favourite Marshall Jones
    Sep 17th 2013, 10:38 AM

If Fair City employs Jon Hamm then I’ll gladly pay their ransom. Don Draper could really shake up Carrigstown.

Mute COOM
    Favourite COOM
    Sep 17th 2013, 1:28 PM

Make RTE pay per view. Ends all messing about.

Mute Iam D Best
    Favourite Iam D Best
    Sep 17th 2013, 2:16 PM

They don’t have the confidence as they know numbers will drop further. Its the Governments TV show, they’ll make you pay for it, more than likely now bully you with Revenue threats and force you to watch RTE. Thats basically it. Where in the world. Its unreal. “Sorry, we have to cut your dole/wages this week as you need to watch RTE, compulsory viewing”

Mute Paul Rafferty
    Favourite Paul Rafferty
    Sep 17th 2013, 12:56 PM

I’m not sure I buy into the whole “every country needs a properly functioning public broadcaster” argument. Why do we need one? There are lots of perfectly fine countries out there that don’t have one (US, Portugal, Finland, New Zealand to name just a few).

Could we not just get by with a good broadcasting regulator who insists that all media (newspapers, radio, tv, etc.) includes some minimum level of public services content (news, sports, arts, irish language content, etc.).

Mute John Horan
    Favourite John Horan
    Sep 17th 2013, 1:21 PM

If RTE were funded directly by the government instead of by the TV license, then they would have had to deal with cutbacks like every other government body (I know they are a semi-state company; but as statutory body which we are forced to be customers of, I don’t see a huge distinction there.). They would have had to justify their cost to the exchequer versus the value they deliver to the country. At the very least they would be forced to be as efficient as possible in order to reduce their costs. It seems incredible that we are cutting back on essential services like health, policing and education, and yet our funding for RTE only ever increases.

If they were funded via subscription or exclusively via advertising, then their income would be related to how many customers, and therefore based on the quality of their programming versus the amount of disposable income people have.

Because they are funded by the TV licence, there is no relation between their value for money and the amount they charge. They aren’t really subject to tightening budgets as the government can’t reallocate their funding elsewhere and the people can’t avoid being their customers. Whenever they feel like they want more money, they just ask the minister in charge, and he is usually happy to comply because the negative reaction doesn’t really affect the government (where as having RTE angry at you probably would). I probably wouldn’t choose to be a customer of RTE, as I never watch it, but I don’t have a massive objection to a public funded broadcaster, I do thing it is a service worth having available. I just wish they were funded in such a way that they were answerable to their customers.

Mute Hilary McDuffy
    Favourite Hilary McDuffy
    Sep 17th 2013, 1:44 PM

What’s a modest increase ?
    If I’m earning 250k annually then ‘d say €500 is modest, if I’m unemployed mortgaged up to the hilt kids to put through school or college pay all the levies introduced over the last 6 years then 20 Cent is too much, “Am I been just to modest ?

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Sep 17th 2013, 1:32 PM

RTE should be sold off! Privatise them!’

Mute BadDrivingIreland
    Favourite BadDrivingIreland
    Sep 17th 2013, 3:14 PM

RTE can kiss my ass, TV 3 manage without funding, Mr Curran needs a slap of the wake up stick and cut the salaries more and get rid of the likes of Tubridy.

Mute Ron Chords
    Favourite Ron Chords
    Sep 17th 2013, 12:39 PM

Well well well. BBC lite.

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Sep 17th 2013, 4:27 PM

Pay up fools. Joe Duffys cavier won’t pay for itself.

Mute Martin Buckley
    Favourite Martin Buckley
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:57 AM

Bullshit

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Sep 17th 2013, 3:29 PM

RTE is too big that’s why it needs license increase.
    Best to sell off 2FM Dept of Gaeltacht could get TnaG
    RTE guide should be sold off and the website is unfair competition should also be sold.
    Then no licence increase needed for 25 years.

Regards..

Mute Kevin Rooney
    Favourite Kevin Rooney
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:12 AM

RTE deserves every cent it gets! A modest rise is fine. Comparing RTE to TV3 is like comparing budget and first class flights! No contest. Admittedly TV3 is beginning to improve after 16 years on air but RTE still wins by a country mile. Every country needs a fully functioning public service broadcaster.

Mute Gareth Walker-Ayers
    Favourite Gareth Walker-Ayers
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:33 AM

No we really don’t. Back in the days when it was all you could get on the ariel on the top of the telly RTE was a necessity. Now it’s carried by larger companies like UPC and SKY who deliver channels that RTE simply cannot compete with. They would have died long ago without the unwilling support of a public who have no interest in watching their programming.

Mute Francis Stokes
    Favourite Francis Stokes

That is grand if you have a free TV. Licence. Excluding that One has to be realistic there is real competition out there and RTE are just like everyone else they have to compete.AS I said 160 Euros is a lot from a family to ask with all the other utility Bills they have to pay.

Mute Robin Pickering
    Favourite Robin Pickering
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:41 AM

I clicked on your name thinking for sure that you work for RTE. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that you live in Downpatrick!! You don’t even pay the TV license! People like you – preaching about what a great service it is, worth every penny, etc, when you don’t have to pay for it – sicken me.

Presumably, you’re getting RTE for free? If you think it’s so great you can send me a cheque for the €160 you’re not paying.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:47 AM

Your right Kevin the question isn’t a contest , tv3 is independent not funded by taxpayer and operate with around 150 people , Rte is funded by taxpayers ,permitted to sell ads ( tax funded operators are not always permitted to do so ) have over 2000 people in the operation and should be forced to cut their cloth accordingly , buying in rubbish repeats for rte2 that can be seen on other channels is an obvious waste of money but there are plenty of ways to cut their cloth and become more efficient without having to tap the taxpayer again , 2000 staff , anybody who knows how media operations work can tell you that’s bloated for a start.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:47 AM

Kevin are you working for rte

Mute Zoe Daly
    Favourite Zoe Daly
    Sep 17th 2013, 12:10 PM

Kevin,
    the problem is that RTE no longer seems to be a ‘public service’ broadcaster.
    It seems to exist, just to inflate the already obscene salaries (and egos) of their ‘star’ presenters.
    They are totally out of touch with the ordinary people.
    They are a wealthy & influential elite, who live in their own bubble of pampered privilege.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Sep 17th 2013, 12:27 PM

Kevin I don’t know weather to agree with you or not. You’re right every country dose need a properly functioning public broadcaster. The problem is RTE is not properly functioning. They have no real reason for their cost over run’s or poor programming. As for the highly inflated wages they pay their so called stars. ( D List at best). Its unacceptable.
    As for the comparisons with TV3 there really is not that much of a difference. Its not so much apples and oranges as it is apples and papples. The channel that is worth its salt TG4. I don’t even speak Irish.

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Sep 17th 2013, 4:10 PM

RTE has not earned this.

Mute Kevin Thornton
    Favourite Kevin Thornton
    Sep 17th 2013, 4:56 PM

more money. would rather close rte down pure rubbish on it anyways

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Sep 17th 2013, 4:58 PM

Just shut it down! There’s no point to Rte. Make it one news channel and forget the rest of it. It’s July pointless

Mute John King
    Favourite John King
    Sep 17th 2013, 5:52 PM

NOOOOO !!!!!!!

Mute chalk8down
    Favourite chalk8down
    Sep 17th 2013, 2:57 PM

This comment section, in my opinion, is full of unnecessary hyerpole demanding RTE to be shut down. Without doubt there should be significant cost reductions, such as selling off 2fm, capping ‘star presenters’ salaries etc.

But to actually countenance the ridding totally of a state broadcaster is totally OTT and lacking foresight. What commercial entities would carry Irish language output for instance? Irish made documentaries, comedies, short films, current affairs… Fair enough let’s continue to slag off Fair City, Damo & Ivor and whatever else one deems to be tripe. But in this globalised village of ours, let’s not advocate a significant decrease in Irish t.v. output in part due to the malcontents, that populate forums, such as this one…

Mute Evan Murphy
    Favourite Evan Murphy
    Sep 17th 2013, 6:57 PM

An increase in the broadcasting charge… F#*^ off!!!

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Sep 17th 2013, 7:31 PM

“It pointed out that the Irish TV licence fee of €160 is “significantly below the European average” and has not increased since 2008.”

LYING SACKS OF SHITE!!
    Do they think we are complete idiots and morons who will belive them
    A quick google of this gave me the following for EU prices.
    Switzerland the most expensive @ 385 euros followed by Norway,Sweden,Austria,Germany,Denmark, Ireland,France Italy.Cheapest is Albania at a fiver!!
    Plenty of EU countries have abolished it or dont bother collecting it . We are in the top ten most expensive in the EU.
    goes to show you cant belive anything RTE produces or says either.;

Mute John Mckenna
    Favourite John Mckenna
    Sep 17th 2013, 6:57 PM

why do everybody call it a tv licence as far as i can see it should be called by its real name a RTE licence ,an the rte also means REPEAT TELEAFIOUS EIREANN

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Sep 17th 2013, 4:17 PM

A few facts people. RTE does not have over 2000 people working for it, there are approx 1,200 working for it and that’s right across the organisation, so in Donnybrook, region studios, concert hall, orchestras etc.
    It does not get all the licence fee money, some of it goes to independent stations(TV3 etc) and some of it goes into the national broadcasting fund, independent program and film makers etc can then get a grant from the fund.

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Sep 17th 2013, 3:16 PM

Even if RTE was shut down it wouldn’t do anything to your TV license, you would still have to get one. Your licence is so you can watch your TV as a whole and not just RTE.

Mute Seamus Ryan
    Favourite Seamus Ryan
    Sep 17th 2013, 4:36 PM

That’s the stupid situation in 2013 Ireland. We pay for the privilege of having a telly in the house. I pay Sky who carry RTE but if I cancel my Sky subscription then I also loose RTE unless I buy a saorview box. I also have to pay the TV licence fee even if I cant get RTE.

Mute Kevin Rooney
    Favourite Kevin Rooney
    Sep 17th 2013, 1:22 PM

I don’t work for RTE. I just think it’s a valuable service and works well as an All Ireland broadcaster.

Mute 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Favourite 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Sep 17th 2013, 1:59 PM

All Ireland?? Im pretty sure they block some sports events in the north.take your head out of your hole

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 17th 2013, 2:01 PM

Kevin.
    I admire and respect your views but don’t share the sentiment.
    Personally I think rte is a biased broadcaster based around a bunch of dinosaurs.
    Let them sell Montrose and use the money to support themselves.

Mute Robin Pickering
    Favourite Robin Pickering
    Sep 17th 2013, 3:53 PM

Yeah, great all-Ireland broadcaster. Pity that all-Ireland isn’t paying for it then.

Mute Francis Stokes
    Favourite Francis Stokes
    Sep 17th 2013, 4:04 PM

RTE is showing a lot of British Program’s like Cornation Street Eastenders to name but a few. I do not watch those programs. Also most of their program’s have already been shown on Channel 5 and others.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 17th 2013, 4:16 PM

But not all Ireland wants it.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Sep 17th 2013, 11:15 PM

Is this to pay for the Fair City cast getting their souls back?

Mute Pat Dodd
    Favourite Pat Dodd
    Dec 18th 2014, 12:17 PM

you are losing the audience because very few people watch rte they have no interest in rte you should be self funding instead of public funding i do not watch rte and i know of many who do not watch it yet we are forced to pay for it and on top of that those at rte are over paid people are having to pay twice for everything in this country they pay through the sky or other providers to get the stations they want to watch why don’t you do a pay per view funny is it not that people are forced to pay for something they do not use

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Sep 18th 2013, 10:51 AM

Rte loves jerry adams