You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Easter Monday in Dublin is set to be a family-friendly 1916 spectacular

RTÉ’s Reflecting the Rising on Monday 28 March will be the “biggest public history and cultural event ever staged in Ireland”.

1110255 Joe Duffy gets into character Ray McManus Ray McManus

EASTER MONDAY IS fast approaching.

On that day 100 years ago the first shots of the Irish Easter Rising were fired in anger.

28 March will be the official kick-off for the centenary of the 1916 Rising. And there are a LOT of things planned for Dublin on that date.

rte RTÉ RTÉ

In fact, it’s set to be the “biggest public history and cultural event ever staged in Ireland” according to RTÉ.

The state broadcaster will be running the whole shebang – titled ‘Reflecting The Rising’ – across the city from morning until evening.

To celebrate the launch, RTÉ presenters across the spectrum have donned period dress to get the public in the mood.

The events on the day will cover talks, exhibitions, live music, guided tours, debates, films and much more, and it’ll all be based around historic buildings and landmarks from the rising itself.

Here’s a taster of what to expect.

map2 Map of events in Dublin, Easter Monday, 28 March 2016 RTÉ RTÉ

Click here to view a larger image

map1 Key to above map RTÉ RTÉ

Click here to view a larger image

The southside

The events of Easter Monday will run from 11am to 6pm. And there really is a lot scheduled.

In the south of the city there will be live music in St Stephen’s Green, with spoken word, trench walks and demonstrations of 1916 professions.

1110263 RTÉ's presenters have donned 1916-era dress to get us in the mood for a day of celebration Ray McManus Ray McManus

There’ll be a massive céilí mór at Earlsfort Terrace and a 1916 children’s play-day at Merrion Square, together with a vintage vehicle collection, a carousel and more live music.

There’ll also be events in buildings across the south inner city, including DIT Aungier Street, the Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland, the Royal Irish Academy, the Gaiety Theatre, the Mansion House, and the Shelbourne Hotel.

gpo9 The GPO, Easter Week 1916 Royal Irish Academy Royal Irish Academy

The city centre

Walking tours will be departing from Barnardo’s Square / City Hall on Dame Street every 15 minutes throughout the day.

Trinity College will be hosting talks and debates on subjects like the trials and executions of the Rising’s leaders, while the Irish Film Institute will be screening RTÉ’s Insurrection  - the original docu-drama broadcast in 1966 to mark the 50th anniversary of the Rising.

The northside

O’Connell Street’s pedestrianised area will be turned into a vintage music hall stage for the day, with performers telling the story of Easter Week 1916 through words and pictures.

In Smithfield, the famed fruit market will be showing silent movies. There’ll also be vintage vehicles, street poets, music and drama.

Meanwhile, indoor events on the northside are many and varied.

1111053 Seán O'Rourke and Miriam O'Callaghan Ray McManus Ray McManus

The Four Courts will approach the Rising from a legal point of view: lawyers in the rising, law and order, looting, the trials of the leaders etc – all subjects will be covered by talks from senior members of the judiciary.

The Abbey Theatre off O’Connell Street will be re-telling Seán O’Casey’s The Plough and the Stars though the eyes of its youngest character.

The Lighthouse Cinema in Smithfield will be showing a range of 1916-themed films, and nearby Collins Barracks will be hosting a series of exhibitions and talks.

Liberty Hall in the city centre meanwhile will host an exhibition surrounding the making of the 1916 proclamation, together with a concert titled songs of Labour and 1916.

Family zones

More than anything, Easter Monday in Dublin this year will be about families.

There will be family-specific zones at St Stephen’s Green, Merrion Square, O’Connell Street, Smithfield Fruit Market and Smithfield Square, while DIT Aungier Street and the Bow Street Academy will open their doors for talks and workshops aimed at children and teens.

1111049 Kathryn Thomas on a 1916-era tram Ray McManus Ray McManus

You can try your hand at the games of 1916 at Merrion Square, have your hair styled, get up closed to vintage vehicles, or spin on historic carousels.

The choice of workshops is huge – so planning a route on the above map isn’t a bad idea, while an “enhanced public transport system” will be in operation for Easter Sunday and Easter Monday to allow everyone to attend the centenary celebrations.

You can find out more about transport into and out of the city on the days in question here.

The whole day is set to be a party to remember.

For more on the events of 28 March, Easter Monday, in Dublin click here.

Read: The GPO’s flashy new 1916 exhibit is a cross between Rebellion and Call of Duty

Read: Fascinating statistics compare modern-day Ireland to the country in 1916

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

67 Comments
    Mute Tomas J Carroll
    Favourite Tomas J Carroll
    Oct 15th 2012, 9:55 PM

The war has begun……

Mute Mark Dalt
    Favourite Mark Dalt
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:42 PM

Don’t be slaves to Fine Gael style austerity…

Mute Paddy Rodgers
    Favourite Paddy Rodgers
    Oct 16th 2012, 12:19 AM

I think those Labour Party TD’s should read the article before making such I’ll informed comments. As I understand it the eight Fine Gael members talked only about the higher paid Public Servants which would exclude Gardai Nurses and Teachers.

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Oct 16th 2012, 12:39 AM

Don’t forget labour is the party of the public elite , these are largely champagne socialist that will wilfully allow the eviseration of public services rather than cut the pay of higher grade public sector workers

Mute Kevin Carroll
    Favourite Kevin Carroll
    Oct 16th 2012, 7:51 AM

hopefully they’re gone before Feb so they don’t get their full ministerial pensions.

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Oct 16th 2012, 9:08 AM

Sadly Kevin,that is all Gilmore is waiting for.to be eligible for his pension.Expect a Labour fuss to be kicked up after the Feb.

Mute Dermot Purcell
    Favourite Dermot Purcell
    Oct 16th 2012, 10:15 AM

Just listened to howlin on radio and talk about dodging the questions he cant give a straight answer he is starting to sound like the ffs god help us.

Mute Stephen Pluck
    Favourite Stephen Pluck
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:05 PM

No labour… these 8 TD’s are in the real world… paying increments is crazy in this climate. Pay increases just for staying in employment.

Mute Micheal
    Favourite Micheal
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:59 PM

So nobody in the private sector is getting an incremental salary for “staying in work”? Not a single soul?
    The PS in this country are the people who man your A&E’s, your hospitals, schools, emergency services, the ones who put up with your consistent belittling that some of the most qualified, and hard working people in this country might earn a better living than you. Those of us who work for the PS don’t do so for the pay, the quality of life, or heaven forbid the respect of the people they serve diligently, and consistently, they do so for the love of their work and the feeling of doing a good, hard days work.
    You follow a frontline PS worker for 24 hours, and see what you think – if you can stay awake that long.

Mute jumpthecat
    Favourite jumpthecat
    Oct 15th 2012, 11:02 PM

You really are commenting on every medical thing here. Do some work!

Mute Micheal
    Favourite Micheal
    Oct 15th 2012, 11:11 PM

The same could be retorted to yourself. I’m just as entitled to have an evening off every now and again, contrary to the belief of very many people here.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 15th 2012, 11:25 PM

@Michael with the odd exception the vast majority of commentators have questioned the elite of the PS on 80k plus a year,how is that justified when effectively their employer the state is bust.You question the private sector these wages are paid from generated profits not taxes and if a private sector employer is bust their work force joins the dole queue.

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    Oct 15th 2012, 11:58 PM

@micheal….. We’re not paying the private sectors wages……

Mute Dave!
    Favourite Dave!
    Oct 16th 2012, 12:31 AM

Michael I’m with ya all the way but sometimes the more someone jumps on things here the less valid they’re point comes across.

For the other guys I’m gonna try explain myself without fuelling the fires anymore.
    There is an awful lot of blame heaped on the public sector for cash crisis when nobody in the public sector cost anyone a job.
    Jobs were cut due to greed by private banks, developers, insurance companies and some other companies.
    The negative effect of this was doubled as these Newley unemployed Paye workers not only weren’t contributing to the public funds they are now relying on them for support ( which they are one hundred percent entitled to do)
    The popular theory is to slash wages across the whole sector by reason of they’re costs are not my fault and why should I pay tax to support them.
    Well the private sector collapse wasn’t my fault so why should my family get less because of someone else’s greed?
    If the idea was to slash private sector wages to increase cash flow in small and medium companies and allow them to employ more people would it still be so acceptable?
    I’m not looking to have any more arguments but look at your logic as though it was bieng applied to yourself.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Oct 16th 2012, 12:32 AM

Michael no one I know in the private sector get the pay rises which are what the increments are. pay rises/increments in the private sector are either performance related or profit making. the public sector is bankrupt and should be put into receivorship.

Mute Micheal
    Favourite Micheal
    Oct 16th 2012, 12:38 AM

The “elite” who earn over 80K are the ones who work an average 80 hour week. They do a days work, cover the night call, followed by a 2nd days work. 36hour shifts. Anyone on the private sector doing them? Or turning up in work to be asked what they are being paid to comfort patients and their families when they are most vulnerable (nurses), or educate our children (teachers), or decide on which RTC victim gets treated on scene first (paramedic), or which window to break to assist escape from a burning building (fireman). Those jobs might very well seem trivial to one and all here, but there isn’t a single day that goes by when those that work for you (as you pay our wages – lest we forget of course that nobody in the PS pays tax), put their lives in severe danger. There are not many in the PS who earn over 100,000 – 6,900 last year, and of them, the majority were consultants and NCHD’s. I don’t need to remind you that we are bleeding these people left, right and centre, along with nurses – who could throw a dart at a map and find better serving employment, with better conditions, better lifestyle, better physical conditions to here. And yet, they stay to be treated like waste washed up on a beach.
    Put the public sector into receivership, certainly – you’ll find out what a real waiting list looks like, Angola’s health system will look positively attractive by comparison.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Oct 16th 2012, 1:59 AM

“It is difficult to get a man to understand something, when his salary depends upon his not understanding it!” Upton Sinclair. No point in discussing anything with Michael, he thinks “public” money falls out of the sky.

Mute Shay O'Reilly
    Favourite Shay O'Reilly
    Oct 16th 2012, 5:30 AM

With increased increments comes increased responsibility, at lest in nursing, taking charge at night and in the evening, assisting junior staff, and staying back, without pay, to hand over the changes to the next shift, not that I’m complaining , that’s what I signed on for, including increments

Mute Micheal
    Favourite Micheal
    Oct 16th 2012, 7:28 AM

Everybody here seems to forget, it’s not just the private sector who pay tax. I pay tax, the majority of people who work for the PS pay tax, and if they don’t, they’re not earning enough to do so – same as the private sector.
    I am fully aware of where “public” money comes from – it comes from taxes, but of course, what do I know about such a thing – a lowly, money grabbing, tax dodging public servant like myself.
    I, and others like me, may well be called a servant to the public, you certainly don’t need to take it literally.

Mute Christopher Gardiner
    Favourite Christopher Gardiner
    Oct 16th 2012, 10:59 AM

@Michael. Are you in the medical section of the PS because those drugs are influencing your judgement. You arguments for the people on massive salaries just shows me you live in wonderland. Talking about so called hard working people on 80k+ a year?????????? I know people earning 25 k a year doing all kinds of long hours and flexibility and they are the real heroes not the over paid cream at the top. Cop on. Its all the one anyway we are all more informed and this little arrangement will eventually be toppled. Ye are basically “Not worth it” to paraphrase Loreal.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:04 PM

Labour TD’s need to grow a set of balls, accept that we can’t afford the PS they feel obliged to protect… step up to the plate – do what’s right for your country, not the party and the unions…

Mute Micheal
    Favourite Micheal
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:45 PM

Oh that’s fine, the PS can go take a hike, yeah?

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Oct 16th 2012, 5:54 AM

No Mike, the PS can become streamlined and efficient like the private sector where everybody – gladly to keep their job – is doing much more for less.
    Over 70% of health budget goes on salaries. There nothing more the gov can do to cut costs other than payroll. Or alternatively, tax the bejasus out of the rest of us so this discriminatory deal can be protected…

Mute Micheal
    Favourite Micheal
    Oct 16th 2012, 7:11 AM

The thing is that those whom you are referring to are already doing much, much more for a lot, lot less.

Mute Dietrich Död
    Favourite Dietrich Död
    Oct 16th 2012, 8:46 AM

I work in the public sector (higher education) , work morning, noon, and night for less than the industrial average and have zero job security, please show me how to be more efficient so I can spend time with my family

Mute Aidan Geraghty
    Favourite Aidan Geraghty
    Oct 15th 2012, 9:56 PM

Tensions seem to be increasing in the coalition!!!

Mute Mark Dalt
    Favourite Mark Dalt
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:43 PM

They will still put a positive spin on things.

Mute Jay funk
    Favourite Jay funk
    Oct 15th 2012, 11:52 PM

They have to wait a few months more to get their pensions, can’t see them lasting another year.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Oct 16th 2012, 7:51 AM

Labour aren’t just heading down the same path the Greens went…they’re at the end of it already. When they lied their way into office the publics expectations of what they and FG were going to do were immense. Therefore when they showed themselves for what they are they did to their party what it took the Greens 3 years to do. They’re looking at decimation in the next election and it’s their own fault.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:15 PM

All defenders of Croke Park always trot out the line Gardai,Nurses and Teachers,yet commentators everywhere even here mention the elite.Those earning 80 to a 100k plus.

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Oct 16th 2012, 7:30 AM

i think that’s not at all apparent from comments when such a story comes up.

This story appears to be one of the first where the correct people in the PS are implied.

I can’t understand why people continuously refer to the answer as being to run the public sector like the private sector. It’s like comparing chalk and cheese and shows that there is a serious lack of understanding out there.

The anecdotes that people pull out are all but useless also, given they usually are used to turn a discussion a certain direction over the experiences (usually extreme) of one person.

Even the term “productivity” being used to describe higher work load in the public service is a bit of a joke and highlights a significant chunk of the difference. Private sector is generally producing product; the public sector is providing services. It’s a lot easier to measure a product than a service (or at least, more difficult to put balanced measures on a service)

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Oct 16th 2012, 8:33 AM

Tony, the private sector is flexible and can adobt to changes in enviorment, the public sector staff go up in arms over a slight change in duties. they can’t adopt. this is where a lot of the hostility comes from.
    the fact is an increment is a pay rise, the people of Ireland were told that there was a pay freeze on because the public sectors employers are broke, smashed, borrowing money to pay wages. etc.
    the world and its mother knows an increment is a pay rise. so the people of Ireland have been blatantly lied to but the public sector kerp denying it.

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Oct 16th 2012, 9:33 AM

Brian, to a large extent I would agree however, I would point out that once again your comment suggests that this is true throughout the public service. If we were to ask people to comment on their experience as a frontline worker I’m sure 2 things would happen:
    Frontline worker states the major changes that have occurred followed by…..
    Several private sector people saying “yeah right”.

I know the distinction between frontline and pencil pusher staff is implied a lot in the comments here but personally I think it should be stated explicitly.

In terms of change (or rather resistance to it) I can give an example of where public and private have been pitted against each other. If it wasn’t so devious, you could describe it as artful…..
    The Junior Cert reforms have been publicly seen as a great move forward. In my opinion they are overall a positive change however the unions have voiced opposition to the changes. In this case it is not a case of opposition for the sake of it. There really is a massive question around the integrity of results, whether you see that as teachers not being trustworthy or as a parent who is within their right to wonder – it’s a massive question which could undermine the worth of the JC in its entirety.

Now, I’ll be honest, I’m a teacher (currently subbing by the way and expect to be doing so for years). I earned more in the private service before redundancy and going back to college. Now I don’t have job certainty in any way (I had a permanent contract when in private sector).

My point is that as a new entrant to public service it irks me (and I’m sure many like me) to listen to blanket public v private discussions. And certainly, going from private unionised work to public unionised work I see both the benefits and pitfalls of unions. I am in no way a big fan of them simply because they stand up for everything and anything which completely devalues the support or criticism of truly important issues when they do come up.

I agree though, there are always improvements to be made in any organisation and they should be flexible enough to move with what is needed. The difference though between public and private should be recognised.

Mute Pierce2020
    Favourite Pierce2020
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:06 PM

I’m asking santa for a Christmas election this year

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:17 PM

Pierce your a clever guy what bunch of muppets do you see waiting to take over from the present incumbants

Mute Sneaksnote
    Favourite Sneaksnote
    Oct 15th 2012, 11:00 PM

As much as I dislike this current mob an election would be disaster for this country at the moment -an expensive way to vote in another group of numbskull’s who would continue with the same relentless policies that are crucifying ordinary people but making sure the rich stay rich

Mute Mattie the man
    Favourite Mattie the man
    Oct 15th 2012, 11:16 PM

An election box

Mute Ryan Allen
    Favourite Ryan Allen
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:20 PM

And yet the eight TD’s said they only wanted this to apply to those public servants on €80,000 or more. I don’t think many guards, nurses and teachers would be in that category.

Also no mention by Nash and Nolan regarding two Labour TD’s and one MEP who made their own statement today.

Mute Eric Nolan
    Favourite Eric Nolan
    Oct 15th 2012, 11:06 PM

Increments are not pay rises. They are set out scales based on experience. People are underplayed for their job until they reach a certain level of experience. Stopping increments would only effect the younger lower paid, as the higher paid older staff already have all their increments. Cutting increments is not a fair way to make cuts. The highest paid should pay more, not less!!

Mute Bunny Johnson
    Favourite Bunny Johnson
    Oct 15th 2012, 11:52 PM

I disagree with the notion it’s only Junior staff who gets increments as only this week the government said they were not going to stop increments going to staff on more than 100k.
    An increment (and I used to get them in a previous company – not PS) is a payrise. The amount of remuneration received increased, how can it not be?
    I was lucky enough to not have had a payrise in the last 5 years so haven’t had a pay cut, so far but of course I have as inflation has eaten into my salary not to mention all the other factors diesel, food, etc. My employer is still paying me and I would happily take a cut to keep that going. The fact that the government can’t lay off any of the PS staff makes their complaining -to me at least- unreasonable. As other commentators have said its the 80k+ mob most of us are aggrieved at but if the employer hasn’t got any money then they have to makes cuts to their spending.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Oct 16th 2012, 2:02 AM

Increments are a nonsense, especially now. When you’re in a hole, stop digging.

Mute Seán Glennon
    Favourite Seán Glennon
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:36 PM

Fair play to Labour TDs on this one. With Fine Gael’s anti-public service agenda, they’ll use the excuse of going after the high earners… but most increments are paid to low to middle income earners!

If they were serious about going after high earners they’d introduce a third rate of income tax as Labour TDs are proposing along with a Wealth and Financial Transaction Tax… go after all high incomes, not just those in the public sector! Would generate a lot more money too…

Mute blandina
    Favourite blandina
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:16 PM

They should cut their salaries as a precedent first

Mute Not Mary Coughlan
    Favourite Not Mary Coughlan
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:11 PM

Ye see! Should have voted Fianna Fail.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:37 PM

Bye bye fg and lab… You can sit in hell and swap stories with ff/greens and pd’s.
    You think the last shower got a kicking… ya aint seen nothing yet.

Mute Paddy Rodgers
    Favourite Paddy Rodgers
    Oct 16th 2012, 12:24 AM

Clinton if you think the next Government will include Sinn Fein or anyone from the La La Party..sorry ULA you need to stop smoking that stuff before it does you real harm.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Oct 16th 2012, 12:41 AM

Rodgers,I never mentioned either of those parties did I ??.
    Maybe you should kick whatever you are putting into your complan.

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Oct 16th 2012, 7:32 AM

Anarchy it is so….

Oct 16th 2012, 11:08 AM

@Paddy get used to it. Sinn Fein will get into power and the likes of you will have to grin and bear it. They will do a hell of a lot more positive work than the shower of losers in power now. Bye bye gael and labour. You can meet the greens and set up a support group for useless former td’s.

Oct 16th 2012, 11:09 AM

well said Mike. I for one can’t wait to see them ejected.

Mute William O Brien
    Favourite William O Brien
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:14 PM

If Mr. Nash is so concerned about the effects an un-ravelling of the CPA will have on the public sector, then why hasn’t he come out and said anything about the emergence of a two-tier sector which is a result of that same Agreement, This disparity will most certainly have an un-ravelling effect on the CPA reform agenda once new entrants to the public sector form a unified grouping.

Mute Stephen Downey
    Favourite Stephen Downey
    Oct 15th 2012, 11:08 PM

I think it’s time everyone earning under €50,000 demanded a pay rise!

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park1
    Oct 16th 2012, 12:13 AM

The PS unions don’t give a shiny shite about lower paid PS. They only need them to march to protect the higher paid. How could those union bosses justify their own 100k + salaries if there werent a myriad of PS fat cats on the same or higher wages

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Oct 16th 2012, 7:35 AM

Get a real login!

Mute Davy Soup
    Favourite Davy Soup
    Oct 15th 2012, 11:42 PM

Well done Ged Nash. That’s exactly what you got elected to do. Support the backbone of our society, the hardworking public servants who are taking all the flack and will be there in our citizens time of crisis.

Mute Eamonn Colfer
    Favourite Eamonn Colfer
    Oct 16th 2012, 12:45 AM

One third of public spending goes on public sector pay,and another one third on social welfare. 80% of health spending goes on pay. So those who defend the status quo while bemoaning their opponents as pro-austerity are the truth austerites, because by fencing off pay from the solution to the deficit they force the govt tocut back on services.

Mute Arbitrasure
    Favourite Arbitrasure
    Oct 16th 2012, 12:03 AM

Labour is out of sync with the electorate. CPA is not a sacred cow.

Anyone who knows the Public Sector knows the massive amount of directionless highly paid pencil pushers with lofty titles needing to be culled. Most particularly in the HSE.

Have to respect FG on this one. Putting the CPA sacred cow on the butcher’s table; meanwhile, gutlessly, Labour whines, trying to appease all voters at once.

Funny how Shortall chickened out rather than stay in office through tough cuts and a budget. Labour really are softbellied cowards when times are tough.

Oct 16th 2012, 11:14 AM

Roisin went on Principle. Big difference between “chickened out” and principles.

Oct 15th 2012, 11:42 PM

Someone should tell Gerald Nash the only people in danger of becoming caricatures belong to the labour party. Vote yes to everything and watch one of your own resign on a matter of principle with no comment. What a clown you are Gerald. Interesting to note I’d never heard of him before not surprising really,

Mute Enda Curtin
    Favourite Enda Curtin
    Oct 15th 2012, 11:58 PM

After seeing the accompanying image with the article I’m thinking that all those two clowns need are bowler hats and they could head to a fancy dress party as Laurel & Hardy

Mute Eddie Munster
    Favourite Eddie Munster
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:25 PM

Bullyingdon club ha more like there in the bilderburg group,it’s worth looking up this illegal secret group

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Oct 15th 2012, 10:36 PM

Its not an illegal group…

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Oct 16th 2012, 9:00 AM

I’ve always found it pathetic that in the US you cannot criticise anything the US Military does without being rounded on as ‘unpatriotic’ or ‘un-American’

It seems that we have the exact same thing going on here. You cannot criticise the CPA without being accused of attacking “teachers, nurses and Gardai” – they just roll off the tongue of Rabbit and his cabal.

Pathetic…..

Oct 16th 2012, 11:19 AM

Excellent point. Even those here in favour of CP keep rolling out the same trintiy. Its because they are trying to obscure the real issue. Nobody wants to get rid of guards Nurses of teachers. Its about the high earners not labels. If you are a high earner over 80k ( I think everyone will agree ) then regardless of whether you are a Guard a Teacher or a Nurse then your pay and increments have to be looked at.

Mute Tommy Hornblower
    Favourite Tommy Hornblower
    Oct 16th 2012, 12:31 AM

Let’s sticks to our guns… These guys are the best we have, let’s not turn against them when the times are gettin tough.. Who else is there to do a better job in all reality?

Mute Dhakina's Sword
    Favourite Dhakina's Sword
    Oct 16th 2012, 1:54 AM

Stephen Donnelly?. A qualified economist . Actually able for the job.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Oct 16th 2012, 2:03 AM

A monkey could do a better job.