You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Blindboy from The Rubberbandits absolutely nailed it on the Late Late last night

Winning over a nation.

blindboy RTÉ RTÉ

LAST NIGHT’S LATE Late Show on RTÉ One was dominated by the final segment’s panel discussion on the centenary celebrations of the 1916 rising.

And it was the late addition to the panel that was getting all the attention:

Yes, BlindboyBoatclub from The Rubberbandits joined Ivan Yates, Martina Devlin and artist Robert Ballagh to discuss the issue of celebrating the 100 year anniversary of the rising

blindboy2 RTÉ RTÉ

Tubs stumbled on his name initially

For some less familiar with the Bandits’ work, Blindboy was a surprising sight on the famed couch

But most people thought he more than held his own when the discussion started

In fact, every time he could get a word in he was as articulate as you would expect

So many people were only delighted to see a voice from the younger generation on stage

Blindboy spoke about the recent Rubberbandits documentary on RTÉ about 1916, and how it was only after school that history can really be appreciated for the younger generation

history RTÉ RTÉ

As well as making points about the political system today

He won over a fair few people with his points

MARRIAGE.

And the nation got Blindboy fever

The term “voice of a generation” was bandied around in the delirium

Let’s just say the public thought he nailed it

paneldisc RTE RTE

For loads of people, it was their first Rubberbandits experience

Others had important questions when it was all said and done

Ah, Ireland

There was one winner here, then

Watch a portion of the discussion here or the full show on the RTÉ Player

The Late Late Show / YouTube

More This woman texts her husband all the gas things he says in his sleep>

More People are tweeting three words that would break up any Irish friendship>

Written by David Elkin and originally posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2016/01/img2-thejournal-214.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-2539344" class="alignnone" /end]

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

123 Comments
    Mute Mr. Rightside
    Favourite Mr. Rightside
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:16 AM

Jesus so many tweets included the journalist barely had to write a word

Mute Orla Murphy
    Favourite Orla Murphy
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:21 AM

As usual

Mute (♐️)Sagiton Games.
    Favourite (♐️)Sagiton Games.
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:52 AM

For once I agree with you there.
    I wouldn’t watch tubridy if they were paying me to.
    So I guess I’ll just have to take the “journalists” word that yer man nailed it.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:35 PM

The rubber bandits are upper middle class lads putting on lower class act. They are very articulate.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:34 PM

Good to see he dressed up for the occasion by wearing his best plastic bag.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Jan 9th 2016, 2:11 PM

Exactly what I thought, so many I gave up reading them….journalists my ass!

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Jan 9th 2016, 3:03 PM

I reckon he got fed up giving Tesco’s free advertising. I don’t recognise the logo on the new bag.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jan 9th 2016, 3:20 PM

Replay it on RTE Player

Mute Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Favourite Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:31 PM

I’m looking forward to reading the tweets about the article on the journal about the tweets in the article on the journal about the tweets.

Mute Very angry sales rep
    Favourite Very angry sales rep
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:22 AM

Only in p.c. Ireland would someone suggest a memorial wall for 1916 to also include enemy soldiers along with Irish heroes, worst idea ever and I hope it never happens.

Mute Eel Knack Mole
    Favourite Eel Knack Mole
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:33 AM

What about the innocent people shot on the street? Who are the enemy, how do we define it and most importantly…

Why do a group of people living off the fame of their great grandparents get to decide what happens??! It is the absolute opposite of what republicanism actually means.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:38 AM

You think so that conflict monuments around the world should be torn down. Go to the beaches of Normandy & see the monuments for an occupying army everywhere. There are heros on all sides. There is 2 sides to every conflict. To deny that is to deny history.

Mute Comexicity
    Favourite Comexicity
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:47 AM

That was blind boy’s point, inclusivity of all perspectives, not one particular grouping hijacking it for their own purposes. Sinn Fein supporter Robert Ballagh came across as an outraged fool at this suggestion.

Also slightly ironic to hear tax exempt artists complaining about equality in society.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:50 AM

Exactly- our war was against the British administration- the British soldiers were the pawns.
    Yes, some of those soldiers would have enjoyed a chance to shoot a few Fenian “sc¥m” (as they may have perceived them).
    But, how many of those soldiers fought and died bravely, as they saw they were protecting the innocent civilians of all persuasions? IMHO , probably most.

Mute (♐️)Sagiton Games.
    Favourite (♐️)Sagiton Games.
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:53 AM

It’s simple.
    Our enemy usually liked to say sh*t like
    “God save the king” and other nonsense.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:55 AM

The bag man was bad but that toe rag Yates was 10 times worse. This is a man who was on about a pluralistic Ireland who can’t get by on ministerial pension. The same man who believes in an all encompassing that fled to The UK for an easier ride when his greed caught up with him. He wants to see the names of British soldiers on a memorial for those who laid down their lives for Ireland’s freedom; I wonder Ivan The Terrible, does that include those who might have been killed after they had formed part of the firing squads?

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:00 PM

The course of history and time, for nearly every Irish person (and many British), has shown the Irish to have been on the side of right, and the British soldiers to have been on the side of wrong.
    However, that makes their deaths even more tragic, not less. Those soldiers were mostly from poor uneducated backgrounds with little independent appreciation of the wider politics or the just cause of the Irish. They were reluctantly following orders and were filled with the British propaganda that the rebels were merely radical terrorists, endangering the lives of innocent civilians

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Favourite Andrew Corcoran
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:24 PM

Alan, that propaganda is still being circulated today by people like John Bruton, a man who surely wishes 1916 and the war of independence had never happened ensuring he never got his knighthood.

Mute Wil van der Putten
    Favourite Wil van der Putten
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:07 PM

Heroes on the Nazi side?? Most French, Belgian and Dutch people would see American, Canadian and British troops as liberating armies, not occupying. You have a warped sense of history my friend.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:16 PM

The British soldiers are already commemorated on Poppy Day over in England, the Irish rebels wouldn’t be considered by the British on that day. JC the new English Labour Party leader suggested something similar in the English Parliament regarding IRA volunteers and there was uproar in the Houses of Parliament, why should we remember theirs who committed atrocities on this island if they aren’t willing to even recognise ours.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:17 PM

Will you obviously have never been to Normandy. I was talking about German armed forces. Book a holiday it’s well worth the history lesson. There were great soldiers & commanders in the German army of ww2 so I’m guessing the same applies for the war in Ireland when it comes to the brits.

Mute Tordelback
    Favourite Tordelback
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:55 PM

@Wil, how many of the German 711th or 716th divisions in Normandy were conscripts, and how many were Nazi ideologues? What about Polish conscripts? How many of the 11 million Wehrmacht casualties (across all for TS)/ were ‘evil’? The war graves in Normandy rightly recognise death in war as a tragedy, not a goodies v. Baddies score sheet.

Our 1916 commemorations should do the same.

Mute Johnneary
    Favourite Johnneary
    Jan 9th 2016, 10:35 PM

Amen VASR
    PC statues of Black and Tans Psychopaths raping Irish Women and Children.
    Sound just like what “Je Suis” the PC Rape Central Germany, Sweden, Belgium, France, UK etc Eurozone has turned into.

Mute Kieron Duffin
    Favourite Kieron Duffin
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:42 AM

Did I read somewhere that Blindboy Boatclub lectured in History over in Limerick ? I could be wrong, I know he’s a very educated man at the very least. Good on him, a voice of a generation.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:30 AM

It’s hilarious when I hear people coming along saying this is a joke, sure he wears a plastic bag over his head so why take him seriously. Yet not 1 person is able to refute the fine and detailed points he made regarding the vision and failures of the rising. If more riled up right wingers would bother to learn about the rising as much as blind boy did the country would be a much more well informed place.

Mute Richard III
    Favourite Richard III
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:40 AM

I’m sure RTE could have got someone else to represent Ireland’s present day youth than ‘bag head’(or whatever he calls himself). Is Ireland’s youth’ self esteem so low that they feel this is adequate representation?

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB

Considering 1/4 of Irelands youth are abroad and the remaining 3/4 didn’t ask blind boy personally to go onto the show I’m not going to answer that non question. I represent myself & but I was more than happy to have blind boy represent my views on 1916 & modern society last night

Mute Richard III
    Favourite Richard III
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:54 AM

“Non question” ? yeah I was being retourical

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:56 AM

If you feel he made any points wrong that would do a diservice to the youth of Ireland then please let us know and stop the trolling

Mute Gearóid Ó Briain
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Briain
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:57 AM

When a man with a bag on his face makes more sense than previously elected politicians, I don’t think the problem lies with our youth.

Mute Mick O Callaghan
    Favourite Mick O Callaghan
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:02 PM

Don’t speak about which you know nothing about Richard. You make yourself seem stupid. Are ya stupid Richard. I’d say you are. The rubberbandits are two very well educated and intelligent young men. No better representation if he knows what he is talking about.leave the fact he has a bag on his head out of it. Bagophobic.

Mute Richard III
    Favourite Richard III
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:18 PM

‘Bag head’ spoke very well and brought up a few valid points about present day issues of course. But I feel having a bag on his head (tired of saying this) robbed him of validation and dignity and the people he was representing. Oh, me “trolling”? You are a touchey so and so No.2……..

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:20 PM

So you’ve nothing against what he said, happy days and that’s that. See not being a troll actually allows for better communication.

Mute Richard III
    Favourite Richard III
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:27 PM

No I don’t think I’m stupid Mick, as Wilde once said “Irony is wasted on the stupid”

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Favourite Andrew Corcoran
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:28 PM

Richard’s the sort of person who looked down his nose at punks or people with tattoos or anyone else who doesn’t fit into his view of who should be taken seriously. Talk about judging a book by its cover.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:39 PM

Pretty ironic statement there Richard.

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Jan 9th 2016, 3:04 PM

I betcha Blindboy could spell “rhetorical”

Mute Richard III
    Favourite Richard III
    Jan 9th 2016, 3:49 PM

My bad Joe, auto-type error

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Jan 9th 2016, 10:02 PM

@Richard III they certainly would not be represented well by ignorance such as you have shown in your post. Plus let me tell you this, the younger generation of this country today are removed, thank crunchie, from the stain of civil war politics and the parties their grandfathers voted for, so they can see through the propoganda that somebody wearing a tie is better placed to speak to the people or lead us, far more than someone with a bag on their head!! That misconception , my dear friend is a thing of the past. The younger generation have seen how people in ties and suits have run riot over their generation that has lost them so many of their peers to emigration or worse, suicide.

Mute Dylan Prendergast
    Favourite Dylan Prendergast
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:26 AM

I was a bit sneer like towards Blindboy in the past but listening to him weekly on 2fm with Chris and Ciara has really changed my opinion on him. He says some very intelligent things that I agree with him on.

Mute Pt pat
    Favourite Pt pat
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:22 AM

I wonder what blindboy said that convinced Caoimhe’s da to marry her.

Mute Brendan McLoughlin
    Favourite Brendan McLoughlin
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:30 AM

I know that the heat of studio lights can be grilling. Fair play to Blindboy for lasting the pace with the Spar bag. He made good points.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:43 AM

Blindboy made excellent and hard hitting points, referring to the hard reality of Ireland for most of those in the 15 to 35 age bracket.

My children will leave Ireland for better life, better opportunity and fairer treatment elsewhere.

Ireland is now run for the benefit of a limited number, at the expense of the many. That’s how it is.

Mortgages and rents are unaffordable in Ireland. Health care is inadequate. Access to schools for non Catholics is increasingly difficult. We will get US style taxes and a further diminution in public services. Non income taxes will increase but not in progressive form .

Add LPT, increasing water charges to a private operator, broadcasting charges, increased cost of insurance, services and the basics in life. Ireland is becoming unaffordable. More will descend into poverty. The rich will get much richer. The lower income group will fall into greater and greater social deprivation.

And so it has been decreed by Enda ” US style Taxes” Kenny, backed by DO B.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:10 PM

You write some good posts Fiona but please stop repeating the lie that Irish Water is a “private” company. Yes it is a private limited company which means that the shares are privately owned and cannot be publicly traded. In the case of Irish water, it is fully owned by the state just like many other “private” companies owned by the state.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:23 PM

Reg, I am talking of the near future when water charges are multiplied by a factor of at least 5 and when DO B, if he can get over his difficulties with CAB, will purchase.

I would have a different view if Irish Warer had been established as a dedicated statutory corporation, as was ESB and Bord na Mona for example.

What gave the game away was the initial requirement, later reluctantly rescinded, to provide the PPS number when registering and the lies I received when I sought written answers for this.

By the way, an investment bank was retained to advise on the potential saleability of IW and the range of potential buyers.

IW is ideally positioned, from a corporate legal perspective, to be sold off in a market sale.

As an interesting exercise, assume 1.5 million fully paying households in Ireland and then take the full sist of expensive water provision in Ireland, the total annual budget in Ireland, even after the supposed slim down and yiu will get an average and astonishing price her household.

Fresh water supply is a very expensive instrastructural investment and very expensive to maintain.

The more that water is conserved, the higher cost per unit of water since most of IWs costs are of a fixed nature.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:32 PM

Many of your points are true but I have asked this question many, many times and nobody has ever answered. Who will sell it?

No party is advocating the sale of Irish Water and there will be no requirement to consider it as the state finance stabilise. With the mistakes made in the UK by state privatisations it is now realised that core state assets should be retained is state ownership. Despite the deep recession we have just experienced, no significant core assets were sold.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:41 PM

An FG dominated Government will sell IW on a market sale. FG Christian Democrat ideology favours privitisation of utilities despite the previous bad experience in the UK and in Ireland.

It would required very simple legislation, a maximum of 2 weeks work in the Parliamentary Draftsman’s office, to prepare a simple Bill to establish IW as a statutory corporation. I know of 2 TDs who offered the heads of legislation privately to Government but we’re decisively rebuffed.

We actually don’t need a Constitutional Referendum on this, merely primary legislation placing IW on a long term statutory footing, but that will not happen. DO B would not permit it. DO B is keen to replenish his coffers.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:48 PM

I agree that we don’t need to put these kinds of things in the constitution. However FG will never be in government on their own and even if they were the public outcry and pressure would be overwelming. It won’t be sold despite your constant references to DOB.

Then look at the purchaser, who on their right mind would buy it? It won’t be self-financing for many, many years. There would be large scale public opposition to paying a real private company for water. They’d be off their heads to buy it!

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:03 PM

Labour would have no difficulty supporting the market sale of Irish Water. SF would agree to get into power. FF is expedient. Renua would be strongly supportive and FG would dress it up as sold to reduce the National debt.

Once the level of water charges is increased to break even, there would be massive interest. Getting hands on a large customer base, the entire households of the country, is a strategic play. It is of massive cross sales value. The customer database is worth a fortune even without the revenues from the water charges but the water charges revenues will help to pay for the customer database.

I mention DO B because he has already started to ring fence the support area do for IW in the same way that he actually acquitted the Mast sites for the GSM masts even before he bid for the 2nd GSm Licence in August 1995.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jan 9th 2016, 2:21 PM

Reg, if you think it hasn’t already been sold you are being naive. At the very least memoranda of understanding will have been signed. What remains is to get the infrastructure up to scratch AT PUBLIC EXPENSE prior to sale. I note that the fact that Paris, Berlin and a number of other places had to re-municipalize water subsequent to privatisation because of public revolt over it. Strange that ;-)

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jan 9th 2016, 2:23 PM

Is never mentioned

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Favourite SickOfCorruption
    Jan 9th 2016, 7:39 PM

Grrr…. Journal… Do some testing… It is impossible to post.
    IW was set up for one reason and one reason only, to privati$e our nations water supply. To think otherwise is either, naive or purposeful self delusion.

We could have a referendum on voting age but not the future ownership of our water supply, that could be signed away by 2 signatures… Don’t make me laugh.

IW is the greatest betr@yal of our nation in 100 years!…..
    Testing….

Mute Hugh G. Johnson
    Favourite Hugh G. Johnson

Even with a plastic bag on his head he is more aesthetically pleasing then Ryan Tubridy.

Mute John Joe Collins
    Favourite John Joe Collins
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:20 AM

Is this for real they are trying to have a serious conversation about irish history and theres a fella sitting there with a plastic bag on his face. Gay byrne must be delighted with how his show has ended up

Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Favourite Armin Tamzarian
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:25 AM

I’d rather listen to that guy with a bag on his face than the rest of the guests and presenter with a rod up their @rse….

Mute Mr. Rightside
    Favourite Mr. Rightside
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:29 AM

The Journal and daily edge journalist first to scoff at successful billionaire Donald Trump hold a pavee in a plastic bag up as some intellectual inspiration.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:34 AM

The self made billion that got handed 1 million dollars off daddy when he wanted to start a business after 20 years of privilege? Ah right yea… success isn’t valued with digits it’s valued with sustainability, harmony and happiness.

Mute Mr. Rightside
    Favourite Mr. Rightside

Ye maybe to you hippies on the commune.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:39 AM

I work for a large multinational in dublin 4, if you wish to imply dublin 4 is a commune then by all means keep waffling

Mute Mr. Rightside
    Favourite Mr. Rightside
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:42 AM

#sellout

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:52 AM

Humans adapt pretty well Mr rightside, some even learn to distinguish between the country you want to see and the country you currently live in.

Mute Johnneary
    Favourite Johnneary
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:47 PM

Maybe Trump will put an end to Tax inversion, repatriate trillions of US money and rid our country of tax dodging “multitaxionals” and their cardboard cutout Latte slugging “workers” in their decoy drone “factories” and “offices”??
    We wouldn’t have to put up with so many featherbrained geeks loike, morto.

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Jan 9th 2016, 3:09 PM

What’s “tax inversion”?

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Jan 9th 2016, 6:05 PM

very ignorant remarks from many adults who never learned not to judge a book by its cover. Blindboy is more eloquent and historically informed than the lot of em. He spoke the harsh truth and thats just a shame for those who can’t take it, can’t accept the still very real oppression going on in this so called republic.

Mute Johnneary
    Favourite Johnneary
    Jan 9th 2016, 10:28 PM
    Mute robert ludden
    Favourite robert ludden
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:41 AM

Sick of “journalism” that is just copy and paste from Twitter these days, happening to much. Write a bloody story will you

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:23 PM

Hope you didn’t read Mc Kennas tripe a few articles down,now that was something I wish I had not read.He told a story it might even be considered as a fairy tale.

Mute Might Oak
    Favourite Might Oak
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:28 PM

The rubberbandits are a group that does satire. They are upper middle class lads from the well to do part of limerick who rip the p1ss out of what they see in there city. Why is everyone so surprised that they can hold a serious conversation?

Mute Johnny
    Favourite Johnny
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:24 PM

Actually their act is to reflect Irish people’s perception of Limerick people…using material suitable for that purpose, it is very clever and delivered by two boys with real talent.

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Jan 9th 2016, 3:30 PM

He nailed it when he said that all his generation do is emigrate or jump in rivers.The reason for this of course was the decision of the FF Green Government tto bail out the banks and bondholders, the policy continued by FG, Labour Government. The decision to put the interests of bankers and bondholders before the Irish people must be the biggest betrayal in the course of Irish history.We make elect a Government but others outside interests control that Government.

Mute Simon Williamson
    Favourite Simon Williamson
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:26 AM

1916 me hole

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:31 AM

Your hole is free thanks to the events of that year, show some respect arse cheeks

Mute knowing it all!
    Favourite knowing it all!
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:43 AM

Typical irish all we do is dwell on the past. The only one of the 4 that spoke any sense war the Rubberbandit. Why was the Robert Ballachulish there for? So what if a lot of the people in 1916 Artists or Poets, in 1916 they fought for a political reasons and that was for a free Ireland not for being able to write poetry or create more art. Why did he bring up the memorial wall I Washington about the Vietnam war? ?? That wall is for the 1000s of American soldiers sent 1000s of miles away to fight a war that basically had nothing to do with them. Not one alive today knows what really went on in 1916 and there is a saying g the paper never refused ink, so we can only go by what others wrote about it and accept their views if we want. And you can bet your bottom dolor the for all of those irish people who wanted freedom from England there also thise irish who didn’t want it as well. So if the day we gained our independence from the English is so important why don’t we celebrate it every year like a national holiday like the Americans celebrate their 4th of July ??????

Mute Fintan C Hennessy
    Favourite Fintan C Hennessy
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:49 AM

What?

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:49 AM

Robert Ballagh in his country tweeds is some pain in the hole. Doesn’t have a good word t say about our country.

Mute Coles
    Favourite Coles
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:10 PM

Probably because he understands his history. He knows how the ideals of the Rising was undermined by the Right Wing conservative forces that became Fine Gael.

Read ‘The Irish Counter Revolution 1921-1936′ by John Regan.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:13 PM

Affectionate, passionate and frustrated criticism from an artist living and working in Ireland favourably contrasts with the mindless and vacuous “all is good news” flogged by parties in Government.

If we love our country, despite its faults, we have a duty to criticise what is bad and to seek its improvement and reform, even at the risk of antagonising FG fascist types.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:26 PM

I have no problem with affectionate, passionate and frustrated criticism. However I am sick to the back teeth of Robert Ballagh’s constant moaning. We have achieved a lot in 100 years, it’s not perfect and we could do much better and that should be acknowledged also,

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:51 PM

The IMF rescue was not a dream. Poverty, homelessness and extreme inequality are real. Social deprivation exists.

Passivity, servility and placidity will ensure that the Governance of this country is not reformed and improved. We need a fairer, more just society, a more inclusive society and a society in which all have the opportunity, if they so desire, not merely to survive but to thrive and to excel.

Already, US corporations are decrying our failure in our educational system to produce innovative, free thinking, lateral thinking and problem solving type students. We produce plenty of lawyers, accountants, bureaucrats and such like.

We are too conventional, conformist and complacent.

Young Scientist shows what can be achieved.

Mute Comexicity
    Favourite Comexicity
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:57 PM

Robert Ballagh was strangely a huge supporter of CJH in the 1980′s. Here’s Ballagh’s most known piece of art.

http://www.rhagallery.ie/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/ballagh3.jpg

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:02 PM

Yes those things exist and more should be done to eradicate it. However when you look back at the poverty and equality of 100 years ago we have come a very long way.

Totally agree with you about our education system which is lacking in so many areas. I have been critical of it and the church’s continued domination of the school system in many topics here.

Hoping to go to Young Scientist today with the kids!

Mute Wil van der Putten
    Favourite Wil van der Putten
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:12 PM

Obviously you didn’t pay attention in history classes in school. Apart from a few small interludes, it was FF governments that were in charge.

Mute Patrick Finnerty
    Favourite Patrick Finnerty
    Jan 9th 2016, 5:49 PM

Ballagh comes across as a cantankerous old bore. Didn’t want to listen to or agree with anyone. Seems to be outraged that the 1916 rising didn’t result in Utopia.

Mute Louise Aíne Finnegan
    Favourite Louise Aíne Finnegan
    Jan 9th 2016, 2:57 PM

I was in the audience last night and blindboy was easily the best one on the 1916 pannel. Ivan yates came accross as very conceited and arrogant and dont get me started on the other guy that was there.

Jan 9th 2016, 11:27 PM

Did you get a pressie?

Mute Kirsha Sova
    Favourite Kirsha Sova
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:17 PM

Sometimes it’s not the lad with the plastic bag on his head who’s the fool ,but the lad in the suit .

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:41 AM

I am so going out to get a plastic bag on my head. Finally maybe people will take me serious

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:55 AM

Plastic bag is neither here nor there, the substance is in the message

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:44 PM

Bit if a sense if humour wouldn’t go amiss either it would seem

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:02 PM

Rubberbandits are a great laugh, they do actual jokes worth laughing for

Mute Richard III
    Favourite Richard III
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:32 AM

If he wants to make a serious point on a serious subject then take the f***in bag off your head!

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:35 AM

The bag is irrelevant, it’s an easy cop out for people who cannot refute his points anyway

Mute Richard III
    Favourite Richard III
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:44 AM

The bag is relevant, ‘look there’s some bloke with a shopping bag on his head’

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:53 AM

And look here’s some bloke with nothing to say about the brilliant points made by blindboy

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Jan 9th 2016, 5:59 PM

Ivan Yates looks like my fundamentalist religious aunt. Spitting image. Out of th two I’d say its more to the pity for Ivan. Blindboy was on the way to playin a blinder!

Mute Michaelcaffrey
    Favourite Michaelcaffrey
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:31 PM

It’s sad to witness all of the intolerance and bitter undertones in many of these blog exchanges these days. I honestly believe that an Ireland that refuses to accept everyone from it’s heroes to the seemingly insignificant, will never really be free. Alas we seem so far from the values of the Proclamation today.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:54 PM

We truly have travelled far away from the values and ideals of the Proclamation.

In fairness, we Irish do dissonance and hyprocrisy superbly well. We can extol the Proclamation and do the opposite with no difficulty.

We can celebrate the Proclamation and be determined to ensure that it is never realised.

Mute Stephen Deegan
    Favourite Stephen Deegan
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:36 AM

I think it’s a bit of a pity that the only person that RTE could get to represent the new generation is a guy with a bag on his head. Now, don’t get me wrong, Blindboy is a legend, and his word is truth, but I just think his anonymity takes from his wisdom a little.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB

Funny I always kind thought it adds to the wisdom as once we know the person we then start to look into the personality, the history and the connections etc which generally muddies the waters of our perception towards them.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:08 PM

No 2 FF/FG/LAB – so true and such an excellent point so well made. Thank you.

Mute Coles
    Favourite Coles
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:22 PM

Well said.

I would expect RTE and the Independent News and Media Group to make it a priority to unmask the Blindboy.

Mute Stephen Deegan
    Favourite Stephen Deegan
    Jan 9th 2016, 4:43 PM

Well said. I didn’t think of that.
    Opinion: Changed.

Mute orla
    Favourite orla
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:48 PM

We received our freedom in the 26 counties, but successive governments gave it away to E.U. We are not a free people because blue shirts, don’t want to build Ireland from scratch, the E.U. is a Gravy Train for them, they sold us down the swanny.I don’t know 1 political party who will stand beside the people, most want to stay in the EU.Enda going on about how Brexit by Uk, would destroy our economy, well why don’t we join them, lets start afresh! Starting with the Punt.

Mute Sean O'Riordan
    Favourite Sean O'Riordan
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:55 PM

What people need to realise is that the Irish revolution was mostly a load of bull.The British did not hand over rule without thinking of what effect it would have on its empire.Today we are a separate entity but we still speak English,we still use the Roman/British legal system.The Irish education is supplied by a pre-revolution company Gill and Macmillan.Hence why the truth about Irish famine is kept from Irish society because real statistics are hidden.Today Irish people follow British football teams,British music and watch British tv immersing themselves in British culture.So who really won the war?Also note that we are no longer Irish in any case due to the fact we are dictated by the European union for God’s sake.If you believe that we were independent and I don’t think we were,then we certainly are not since we joined the European union.All in all we are not whom we think we are.The Irish are a paradox,a people who truly are not sure of their true origins.Are identity is usually somewhere between Guinness(created by British man)a shamrock and gaa(also pushed by British to create tribalism in the land and divide up counties.Now let’s celebrate this utter non sense.http://www.historyireland.com/18th-19th-century-history/keeping-the-lid-on-an-irish-revolution-the-gosselin-balfour-correspondence/

Mute Tomás Ó'Murchú
    Favourite Tomás Ó'Murchú
    Jan 9th 2016, 6:21 PM

‘At a boy, Blindboy.

Mute Sean O'Riordan
    Favourite Sean O'Riordan
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:59 PM

Our true origins are pagon mystical beings…not Christian!….The land of the druids…whom were plundered by Roman Christians spreading another myth.

Mute John maghuire
    Favourite John maghuire
    Jan 9th 2016, 7:56 PM

Blind boy nailed it on the head, our new enemy is the 3% with 50% of the wealth…..

Mute royston T justice
    Favourite royston T justice
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:05 PM

Fock me where is the story in here?

Mute Simon Quinn
    Favourite Simon Quinn
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:44 AM

Did he say more than what is in the YouTube video attached? Because he just talks b*llox in that video..

Mute Quango
    Favourite Quango
    Jan 9th 2016, 11:59 AM

What points of his would you contest? How would you retort?

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:44 PM

What a joke. Some idiot with a plastic bag over his head makes it onto the late late show. FFS.

Jan 9th 2016, 9:50 PM

Celebrating the past and not knowing what we are celebrating as the E.U. and bankers are doing to us what was being done in 1916 by the English and whom those involved in the Rising was fighting against?
    If they were alive today those in that Rising would have another one against the Troika, E.U. and MERKEL, a FACT.

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Jan 9th 2016, 3:08 PM

The Journal should introduce a limit on the word count of comments, its not a forum for ego trippers.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 9th 2016, 5:56 PM

Dump down the content of the comments by imposing a 140 character limit.

Mute Sean O'Riordan
    Favourite Sean O'Riordan
    Jan 9th 2016, 9:19 PM

Joe I’m gonnaa cut your Jacobs off!

Mute Neil Holland
    Favourite Neil Holland
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:56 PM

“Incvlusivity” – eh, I think you meant Inclusiveness.