You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Photocall Ireland

The Rubberbandits say they'll be on ecstasy while talking to Tom Dunne tonight...

This could be interesting.

LIMERICK DUO THE Rubberbandits will be talking to Newstalk host Tom Dunne tonight, while on ecstasy.

Blindboy Boatclub and Mr Chrome will be on air at around 11, having legally consumed ‘yips’ – the group confirmed on Twitter.

The show’s producer also confirmed the comedy hip-hop duo would be on show…

On the question of whether they’d be under the influence during the appearance, Cawley told us “we’ll have to ask them!”.

In case you haven’t been keeping up with the news today, certain drugs – like ecstasy, ketamine and crystal meth – are all legal to possess in Ireland until midnight on Thursday.

A ruling in the Court of Appeal today effectively means that some drugs that had been declared illegal in previous years are currently legal.

Emergency legislation from Health Minister Leo Varadkar is being pushed through the Dáil tonight.

More: Why are ecstasy, magic mushrooms, and other drugs all legal today and tomorrow?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

49 Comments
    Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:47 PM

What?…..you mean they aren’t usually on drugs!

Mute Paul McEvoy
    Favourite Paul McEvoy
    Mar 10th 2015, 10:55 PM

They might usually be on drugs but tonight they will be legally on drugs

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Mar 10th 2015, 9:38 PM

Jaysus wouldn`t if be great if we tuned into the Vincent Browne show tonight, and he had his bottom lip wrapped around his forehead, Whilst giving out free hugs and calling for Enda to come get his.
    would send TV ratings off the Richter scale
    Still time for my wish to come through, seeing as it`s only 9.30 p.m.
    #Vinnyoffhisnut

Mute ProudIrishRepublican
    Favourite ProudIrishRepublican
    Mar 10th 2015, 9:59 PM

Vincent Brown speckled doves!

Mute James Connely
    Favourite James Connely
    Mar 10th 2015, 9:23 PM

Funny the amount of people talking sh*te about the rubberbandits. Clearly you have no idea what they are actually like, just look at them in their plastic bags and make a judgement. If you followed their facebook page or twitter you would see that they are actually very intelligent lads.

Mute PingoPaw
    Favourite PingoPaw
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:37 PM

But they arent funny

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:43 PM

If they are intelligent why are they taking e ?

Mute Colm Cuneen
    Favourite Colm Cuneen
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:56 PM

Harold lighten up man or try an ‘e’ even, things will become clearer for sure.

Mute Paul Debussy
    Favourite Paul Debussy
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:34 PM

Wow, Tom Dunne’s listener will enjoy that.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:36 PM

D!ckheads. Hopefully they’ll forget to put the holes in the plastic bags.

Mute davedunne
    Favourite davedunne
    Mar 10th 2015, 9:14 PM

Them two do be riding each other. The rubber bum bandits

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Mar 10th 2015, 10:21 PM

Nice use of the English language there. I’m impressed.

Mute Joe Reynolds
    Favourite Joe Reynolds
    Mar 10th 2015, 10:45 PM

middle ireland’s anti drug brigade constructing witty, insightful arguments as usual.

Mute Reg Gordon
    Favourite Reg Gordon
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:42 PM

So Tom got the Brains in the dunne family then.

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red

I thought the Rubberbandits 15 mins of so called fame was well and truly over…

Mute O'Flaherty Karl
    Favourite O'Flaherty Karl
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:16 PM

you clearly dont know jack so!

Mute Silver Planet
    Favourite Silver Planet

I think drugs should be legal anyway but there’s a lesson here for legislators; this is what happens when you rush a bill through to keep the Joe Duffy mob happy

Mute Joe Reynolds
    Favourite Joe Reynolds
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:51 PM

i love how angry this makes every right wing c#nt on here!

Why not have a drink to calm yourselves down? you hypocrites.

Oh……….and d’you see this here?
    http://www.economist.com/blogs/dailychart/2010/11/drugs_cause_most_harm
    but i spose those neoropsychopharmacologists ”are only crusties who dont dere head from dere hole”
    You are really, really stupid people if think the war on drugs is a good idea.

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster

I agree Joe, what else would you expect? Rte and Dob propaganda day in day out. Ireland is very conservative in anyway. I recently gave up alcohol after 15 years a drinker. The most enlightening experience I had during them years was the handful of times I took ecstasy and the one time I took mushrooms. Alcohol is one of the biggest scams there is.

Mute Scipio
    Favourite Scipio
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:39 PM

You’re incredibly naive if you believe anti-drugs nanny statism is the sole preserve if the ‘right wing’. Plenty of fools on the left like to try and control what we put into are bodies as well.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:38 PM

I can see the whole country running around out of their heads by Thursday, can I suggest the minister for justice declares a state of emergency cos we the citizens can’t control ourselves without the proper legislation in place.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese

And that’s something to boast about? clowns

Mute Stuart Keogh
    Favourite Stuart Keogh

Literally

Mute Joe Reynolds
    Favourite Joe Reynolds
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:58 PM

I imagine they’ll be showing idiots like you how they are NOT raping, murdering, fighting stealing or having a fit on the floor. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Hhmn5VR7DY

Mute Joe Reynolds
    Favourite Joe Reynolds
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:59 PM
    Mute Celticspirit321
    Favourite Celticspirit321
    Mar 10th 2015, 9:22 PM

Someone doesn’t get satire

Mute Red Marauder
    Favourite Red Marauder
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:42 PM

Ireland’s first Purge , everything illegal becomes legal.

Mute Mark Gordon
    Favourite Mark Gordon

Does this mean they’ll still be not funny, just with a higher body temperature?

Mute PingoPaw
    Favourite PingoPaw
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:38 PM

The worst ‘act’ ever to come out of Ireland. They aren’t even funny

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:44 PM

Idiots they shouldn’t be given air time

Mute Donal McWey
    Favourite Donal McWey
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:44 PM

They need it to talk to that plank.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne

horse outside was as their moment in the sun apart from that totally unfunny.

Mute Colm Cuneen
    Favourite Colm Cuneen
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:09 PM

Paul if you find them ‘unfunny’ well and good, I can imagine the barrel of laughs you are. Everyone to their own but horse outside is far from ‘their moment in the sun’ they are far more successful now than they have ever been. 30 nights sold out in the west end in the last year [twice] an Edinburgh fringe award for comedy and 2 sold out month long runs up there also. Finally 3 sold out nights in the Abbey starting in the next few weeks. Hardly gone now are they?

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:44 PM

well Colm that post proves to me there is a lot of easily pleased people about, Mario rosenstock packs them out aswell as he is equally unfunny, but the best of luck to them all the same enjoy your comedy your obviously easy pleased.

Mute Colm Cuneen
    Favourite Colm Cuneen
    Mar 11th 2015, 12:03 AM

Mario Rosenstock is a success in the UK, since when? As for the ‘unfunny’ comment my guess is that you re not smart enough to understand their particular brand of satire but judging by your assertion that horse outside was their moment in the sun, I’d say you know absolutely nothing about their work yet feel knowledgeable enough to critique it. Now what does that say about you ?

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 11th 2015, 12:37 AM

Colm I think they are shite you don’t Goodman as I said enjoy them .

Mute Colm Cuneen
    Favourite Colm Cuneen
    Mar 11th 2015, 9:07 AM

From sweeping general assessment to personal opinion in but a few posts, thank you Paul that s more like it. Enjoy your day :)

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 11th 2015, 9:38 AM

Colm my first post was my personal opinion aswell

Mute Colm Cuneen
    Favourite Colm Cuneen
    Mar 11th 2015, 1:44 PM

Sorry Paul but saying ‘horse outside was their moment in the sun’ is an objective remark albeit misinformed and totally wrong which I’m sure at this stage you have ascertained with a click of a google button. So again ‘From sweeping general assessment to personal opinion in but a few posts, thank you Paul that s more like it.’ But hey rather than view it that you were wrong about your ascertion and therefore experience an unpleasant reaction why not view it as a lesson in not posting when you don’t know what you’re talking about and consequently treat it as a learning experience thus reframing it as a positive experience. :)

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 11th 2015, 1:59 PM

that’s just silly colm.

Mute Colm Cuneen
    Favourite Colm Cuneen
    Mar 11th 2015, 4:04 PM

Another subjective one you re getting the hang of it kid. Goodman x

Mute joanie
    Favourite joanie

another radio station is pulling the same stunt tonight , he is going to take an e tab , under medical supervision of course .

Mute Seán Molloy
    Favourite Seán Molloy
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:27 PM

Bell ends

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Mar 10th 2015, 10:40 PM

Nothing new about that the rolling stones started that fifty year ago

Mute trickytrixster
    Favourite trickytrixster
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:34 PM

Hope there leaving the horse outside

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 11th 2015, 4:49 AM

When these two have fans,no wonder we are where we are in this country