You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Police and paramedics at the scene of the shooting at school No. 88 in Izhevsk, Russia. AP/PA Images

Death toll rises to 17 in school shooting in Russia as survivors hospitalised in Moscow

The gunman killed himself after he opened fire, officials said.

LAST UPDATE | 27 Sep 2022

MORE THAN A dozen people wounded in a school shooting in central Russia will be taken to Moscow for further treatment, authorities said, a day after a gunman killed 17 people and wounded 24 others.

Health minister Mikhail Murashko said a medical evacuation is planned for 13 children and two adults. He said three are in critical condition.

The shooting yesterday took place at School No 88 in Izhevsk, a city 600 miles east of Moscow in the Udmurtia region.

The gunman, a 34-year-old former pupil of the school, killed himself after the attack.

Russia’s Investigative Committee identified him as Artyom Kazantsev and said he was wearing a black T-shirt bearing “Nazi symbols”.

No details about his motives have been released, and an investigation is under way, but local officials said he was registered as a patient at a psychiatric facility.

The government of Udmurtia said 17 people, including 11 children, were killed in the shooting. According to the Investigative Committee, 24 other people, including 22 children, were wounded.

Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov described the shooting as “a terrorist act” and said President Vladimir Putin has given all the necessary orders to the relevant authorities.

Russia’s National Guard said Kazantsev used two non-lethal handguns adapted to fire real bullets. The guns were not registered with authorities.

Izhevsk, a city of 640,000, is west of the Ural mountains in central Russia.

School shootings are not common in Russia, but have become more frequent in recent years.

A gunman killed six people in a university in Perm a year ago, and months before that, another attacker opened fire at a school in the city of Kazan, killing seven students and two teachers with a registered weapon.

A student at a college in the Russia-annexed Crimean peninsula killed 20 students and himself in 2018.

Russian authorities last year sought to tighten gun regulations after the shootings.

33 Comments
    Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:02 PM

The press release main photo shows pure disrepect. If your going to shake another mans hand, especially a soldiers. Get off your a$$ man. Standing position required.

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:06 PM

@The Viking: Well said

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:07 PM

@The Viking: good and valid point

Dec 22nd 2017, 10:49 PM

@The Viking: good point. Even his multimillion euro image unit missed that.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Dec 23rd 2017, 12:08 AM

@The Viking: I was thinking the exact same thing. The only way that photo is acceptable is if he was actually eating with them and the soldier stuck out a hand while standing to leave even at that it’s still not great.

Mute Abe Brennan
    Favourite Abe Brennan
    Dec 23rd 2017, 4:39 AM

@The Viking: you beat me to it, well said.

Mute David Quigley
    Favourite David Quigley
    Dec 23rd 2017, 10:57 AM

@The Viking: Very fair point. It might be unfortunate timing, however doesn’t Leo have an entire communications team? If they can’t get this right then they really aren’t doing their job.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:04 PM

The comments on here are embarrassing. The sheep just bleat the same anti government rhetoric all the time. The sooner we invest more in education the better as we are desperately in need of it, it may take a generation or two but it will be worth it

Dec 22nd 2017, 10:08 PM

@Nick Allen: its the gov propaganda that’s embarrassing!

Dec 22nd 2017, 10:11 PM

@Nick Allen: on the rte news tonight, record numbers collecting food parcels from the charities. Leo ain’t sitting down to eat dinner with them. Not good for his image!

Mute Rand Al Thor
    Favourite Rand Al Thor
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:52 PM

@Nick Allen: Nick Education doesn’t teach you respect and manners that’s something you learn at home I know I did.

Mute Skinnerbot
    Favourite Skinnerbot
    Dec 22nd 2017, 9:49 PM

I’m sure they’re just as thrilled you snuck them in the back door of a European Army

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:14 PM

@Skinnerbot: Hasn’t Ireland participated in EU Battlegroups for more than a decade?

Mute Cathal S Byrne
    Favourite Cathal S Byrne
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:37 PM

@Reg: not the same thing….PESCO puts a target on Ireland where none existed before

Mute Brendan Walsh
    Favourite Brendan Walsh
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:45 PM

@Cathal S Byrne: I think you will find Ireland is already a target for cyber terrorism, drugs and human trafficking, some of the things we signed up to cooperate on with our European neighbours. Have you seen proof to date we don’t need help there?

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:51 PM

@Cathal S Byrne: I remember we were a target in the cold war of the 70s and 80s. We all survived!

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan

@Cathal S Byrne: no it doesn’t Irish troops from NI have been deploying into combat zones since WW2 . Recent deployments has been Iraq 3 tours and Afghan 4 tours . 700 troops have recently return from Kabul from a 8 month tour .

Mute Eddie Nugent
    Favourite Eddie Nugent
    Dec 23rd 2017, 12:42 AM

@Tommy Whelan: you mean British troops

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Dec 23rd 2017, 12:47 AM

@Eddie Nugent: no I mean Irish troops in Irish units from the island of Ireland .

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Dec 23rd 2017, 7:53 AM

@Tommy Whelan: … in the British Army.

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:05 PM

Sitting down whilst shaking someone’s hand.How disrespectful

Mute Thosj Carroll
    Favourite Thosj Carroll
    Dec 23rd 2017, 12:46 AM

@Liam: Really? Perhaps Leo has no time to stand up while eating when being offered a hand shake from a young soldier…..just saying!

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Dec 23rd 2017, 6:31 AM

@Liam: And questioning them as to how proud they are. You ‘should be’ proud.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Dec 22nd 2017, 9:51 PM

Let them just not ask for a pay rise.

Dec 22nd 2017, 10:01 PM

@Tom Burke: ha! I’d say they we’re probably briefed on “proper protocol” before the photo shoot!

Mute Rand Al Thor
    Favourite Rand Al Thor
    Dec 22nd 2017, 11:01 PM

@Tom Burke: Another one when their is some emergency or crappy job to be done will shout where is the army,I’d like to see you on the front line on these treacherous borders put your life on the line for less than a living wage and minimum resources.I hope one day some of you have to fight to defend this country,God help us.

Mute kjholt
    Favourite kjholt
    Dec 23rd 2017, 7:51 AM

@Rand Al Thor: on a seperate note, whatever happened at the end of “Wheel of Time”, gave up after about 12 books…

Dec 22nd 2017, 9:55 PM

Fair play taoiseach. Risking your life to go there. Plenty photo opps of dinner with the troops on the frontline. Like we’re at war with???

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:01 PM

@Adrian: risk his life ? Really

Dec 22nd 2017, 10:04 PM

@bmul: Yeah. Our Brexit saviour and now directing the troops on the front line with our bloody war with ??????

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:15 PM

@Adrian: I agree with your sentiments but your last sentence “Like we’re at war with??…Idiotic remark,..You dont have to be at war in order to get killed. Most of these troops dont want to be there but are compelled due to contracts. Peacekeeping Troops are sometimes the enemy of the defender and always the enemy of the oppresser.

Dec 22nd 2017, 10:22 PM

@Paul Culligan: apologies. Nobody likes war and Irish troops risking their lives. There’s a certain deliberate comparison between US presidents sitting down with the troops at war where thousands of Americans get killed, and Leo with his, what’s basically a photo shoot opportunity for a very vain taoiseach. That’s where I’m coming from.

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:42 PM

Not a pleasant greeting when you sit down to
    Meet some one who’s is there representing the Irish flag of Ireland Leo very disrespectful of your visit .

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:48 PM

@Kevin: yes I was thinking that myself ,if I done that the better half would lash into me

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:53 PM

If he was standing people would complain that it doesn’t matter because it’s all staged anyway… A photo is a single split-second in time and no one ever stands up to brutal analysis of every single photo ever taken of them. To me it looks almost certainly like he’s in the process of standing up in any case.

Dec 22nd 2017, 11:08 PM

@Gerard: ah, no not really. The photo also doesn’t show the make up artists that were probably there, and the professional photographer, and the dozen supposedly expert, overpaid gov advisors who didn’t spot this glaring error.

Mute Jack O'neill
    Favourite Jack O'neill
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:26 PM

Well Leo pay them a living wage,I’m sure they would prefer that instead of you’re false praise.

Mute Hello DAVE!
    Favourite Hello DAVE!
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:59 PM

Wheres the camo socks?

Mute Pat Farrelly
    Favourite Pat Farrelly
    Dec 23rd 2017, 1:49 AM

@Hello DAVE!: Or his Family Income Supplement socks. However the citizenry will be relieved to know that he does have his blue shirt on. The soldier probably did not have his vote for Fine Gael socks on thus leading to the faux pas.

Mute Rex Banner
    Favourite Rex Banner
    Dec 23rd 2017, 1:43 AM

As someone who spent Christmas in South Lebanon away from my kids I just want to say this: I was often dragged from bed because some important f###er or another turned up at the gate and expected everyone to stand on ceremony for them, many times having only got to bed an hour or so before hand. I can assure you nobody is interested in a politician that nobody voted for interrupting their sleep for a handshake. And no the irony is not lost on me. I realise Leo is away from his family too but from the troops point of view they would rather use their frew time skyping their families

Mute Pat Farrelly
    Favourite Pat Farrelly
    Dec 23rd 2017, 2:17 AM

@Rex Banner: Spot on, you would not mind if the Taoieach was there to try to make improvements. But that is not so, a free dinner and the photo ops are all that matter. Watch how soldiers pay and conditions and their right to negotiate for their futures (even Ryanair have given in) are continually ignored by our government. It is an utter shame on the Irish State that public servants, Irish soldiers, in full time jobs have to apply for FIS in order to survive. Shame on the Dept. of Defence, Shame on the Oireachtas and shame on Leo Vradkar.

Mute Tony O Neill
    Favourite Tony O Neill
    Dec 22nd 2017, 11:59 PM

Our proud soldiers deserve to be paid a decent wage. Not treated the way they are by Leo’s government.

Mute Robert Harris
    Favourite Robert Harris
    Dec 23rd 2017, 8:53 AM

@Tony O Neill: SF used to shoot them

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:57 PM

And here’s to PESCO, the end of Irish neutrality?

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine

Leave him alone. Can’t you see the man was atin’ his dinner. How could he stand up ffs.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 22nd 2017, 11:51 PM
    Mute John Connor
    Favourite John Connor
    Dec 23rd 2017, 12:49 AM

Our troops doing a good job, i wish them all the best, must be hard to be away from their families this time of the year, alot of people forgot how many we have serving this Christmas. seems the commenters prefer to slag off leo and talk about whether he’s standing or sitting instead of praising our brave men and women. First thoughts are why is he sitting, staged photo op, socks,brexit and homeless, unbelievable. Good on these brave people.

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Dec 22nd 2017, 11:57 PM

I wonder if the half track is still in 6-22 Bayt Yahoun.

Mute Tony Cronin
    Favourite Tony Cronin
    Dec 23rd 2017, 5:57 PM

That’s my son who’s shaking his hand! I’m very proud of him following in both mine and his grandfathers footsteps with service overseas! As a retired veteran with trips to south Lebanon I know the people are grateful that the Irish are stationed there

Mute Tom Phelan
    Favourite Tom Phelan
    Dec 23rd 2017, 6:59 AM

America orchestrates it, Britain supplies the weapons, Ireland sends aid.

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Dec 23rd 2017, 6:25 AM

The photo shoot kid. Photos of photographers. And the distant look of Enda Kenny off him.

Mute tony galvin
    Favourite tony galvin
    Dec 23rd 2017, 10:02 AM

PR team asleep at the wheel here, the main photograph gives a sense of laziness and disrespect. For the love of god man stand up and shake our brave troops hands man to man plenty of time to sit in your ass on the flight home!!