You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov PA

Russia defends itself from criticism over UN Security Council presidency

The presidency of the Security Council confers certain prerogatives in terms of setting the agenda for the body.

RUSSIA HAS TRIED to defend itself against a barrage of criticism over its presidency of the UN Security Council for the month of April, insisting it will not “abuse” the position.

“We do not abuse the prerogatives of the presidency,” said the Russian ambassador to the United Nations, Vassily Nebenzia.

“One thing is the national position. The second thing is the role of the presidency of the Security Council,” he said at a press conference marking Russia’s assumption of the rotating position.

The situation provoked stinging criticism from Ukraine, which called it a “slap in the face to the international community” and from its allies.

“As you know, Russia is assuming its seat as president of the Security Council. Started on April 1. It’s like an April Fool’s joke,” said Linda Thomas-Greenfield, the US ambassador.

“But the truth of the matter is, it’s a rotating seat. We expect that they will behave professionally,” she said.

“But we also expect that they will use their seat to spread disinformation and to promote their own agenda as it relates to Ukraine, and we will stand ready to call them out at every single moment that they attempt to do that,” the ambassador added.

Ukraine and the West have for months been denouncing Russian propaganda over its invasion of Ukraine in February of last year.

Nebenzia said such criticism was in the “vein of the Western narrative” and in turn accused Kyiv’s allies of spreading disinformation in particular about “the situation of Ukrainian children who were allegedly kidnapped from Ukraine and brought to Russia against their will.”

The International Criminal Court has issued an arrest warrant against Russian President Vladimir Putin on charges of war crimes for the illegal deportation of Ukrainian children during the invasion.

The Russian ambassador called the warrant “stupid” and “illegitimate.” He is organising an informal meeting at the UN on Wednesday to address the issue.

The presidency of the Security Council confers certain prerogatives in terms of setting the agenda for the body. As a permanent member, Russia already has the ability to convene emergency meetings when it wants them.

The country holding the presidency also usually organises two or three specific meetings on selected topics.

Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov is due to chair one of them on 24 April on “the defence of the principles of the UN charter.”

“Russia is in no position to talk about international law or the values of the UN,” said deputy British Ambassador James Kariuki.

© AFP 2023

View 15 comments
15 Comments
    Mute Leonard Washington
    Favourite Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 10:55 AM

Is this what it takes for the media to take notice?
    Fair play Sinead RTE will prob say it was a firework or somethin!

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 11:42 AM

Take notice of what? The new government in Italy? It has been well covered. And why would RTE say something like that?

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 11:46 AM

Len as i say on most articles r.t.e is complete rubbish. Just tells the people what government wants them to hear. And sad thing is most people over 50 the six o clock news on r.t.e is there bible. Always watch it they do. And people over that age are the main majority of voters. I personaly didn’t pay for a t.v licence in nearly 3 years. Just never opened me door to anyone . Anyone looking for me will ring me .

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 11:50 AM

No Mick. The protests throughout Europe, does the Irish media only acknowledge these protests when someone only lets shots off?

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 11:53 AM

Dave i know it is sadly, but more and more people are starting to see thru their agenda a lot of the owl lads i work with now turn off the 6 o clock news saying they are sick of being lied to and what they see in the papers they say they are starting to read between the lines.
    The game is nearly up.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:10 PM

Len, you’re sounding everyday more and more like Jim Corr. And you want people to follow you into battle? Nah…

Mute Hugh O Connell
    Favourite Hugh O Connell
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:38 PM

Small portion of !!!!!

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:55 PM

A portion of the big “C”… And im not talkin bout cancer ;-)

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:03 PM

People are sick of their governments screwing them and we are going to see a lot more of these events they are wining and dining their selfs while we have to eat crumbs. There will be a revolution throughout Europe if they don’t change their ways

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:10 PM

This what im about to say will offend people . To them people im sorry but the only way we will get this shower of thiefs to stop robbing us is start wrecking the place. Shut down the m50 sure its not even Irish owned occupy banks and start smashing the place up. You may say that will just make things worse. But think back to them orange lads tried matching down o connal street . Loads of scrots destroyed town . But it worked as there is no orange men trying marchs since

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:19 PM

Dave. Instead of “wrecking the place” why not use the legitimate tool you have at your disposel. The ballot box. And if you and so many of your supporters feel that your vote is ineffectual then start your own political party and stand for election. Instead of pissing and moaning and throwing the rattle out of the pram. Put yourself forward to the electorate. If you really want to change things do it from within Leinster House.

See 46 more replies ▾
    Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:27 PM

If Dave did start his own party it would be people such as yourself Mick who would label them the “loonie lefties” or “conspiracy theorists”. Which solves nothing.

Mute Sinabhfuil
    Favourite Sinabhfuil
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:28 PM

Wrecking the place seldom improves it.

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:28 PM

The only thing i can see that would work mick is one leader . A dictated society might say. The way it is now you need to hold the majority of tds to be leader . So they can just keep there monopoly going. if i was to do what you suggest first of i would need money to run my election campaign . So i would need donations of rich business that would want something in return of course or im a little rich boy that grew up privileged and have no idea what its like to be working class.

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:31 PM

But it is inevitable…
    That’s what’s the scary part.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:38 PM

Ahh so you would like a Maoist/Stalinist state like North Korea?

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:50 PM

No i don’t believe i said anything remotely like that.

Apr 28th 2013, 12:56 PM

Problem is Mick we did try the ballot box and look at what we got. We need more/new parties yes but we should follow the Iceland model for removing the current wast of spaces.

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:57 PM

There will never come change from within lenister house, Mao was right Power comes from the barrel of a gun

Mute Thomond Park
    Favourite Thomond Park
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:58 PM

careful, mick is a wannabe cia agent, he reports back to the embassey.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:01 PM

ahhh mick, the guy who believes conspiracy theorists are like creationists.

On a different note, if you oppose the illegal invasion of Syria, please join this FB page:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/651415178206075/

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:06 PM

Did you or did you not say that we need a dictatorship?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:08 PM

Golden I didn’t know Syria was a Democracy. When did that change? In the last few minutes?

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:23 PM

Im not even gonna bnother with ya Mick, as someone pointed out other day you get pedantic and focus on small things to avoid logical discussion, Ciao

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:30 PM

Mick not once did i mention Korea . Not that i agree with the way Korean people are treated America absolutely flattened the north of Korea back 1950s to stop spread of communism to protect so called democracy . So if i was Korean i be pretty much annoyed with u.s.a myself . Hitler was an economic genius and a dictator . He created a major boom in German economy when he refused to pay back loans England and France saddled on Germany. Before you accuse me of supporting what he did with this strong economy i in no agreed with his horrible acts against fellow humans that resulted in deaths and suffering of millions.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:30 PM

Kerry. Just read that the Icelandic population have re-elected the Government that was in power during the crisis. Kind of shoots down that idea.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:34 PM

I am asking what type of dictatorship you would like. Socialist, Facist, Theocratic?

Apr 28th 2013, 1:39 PM

Not really mick was commenting on their actions 2 years ago not their current actions. Mind some would say we were a head of them electing the current bunch of plebs. More of the same…

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:47 PM

I did not mention Korea once in my statement. And if you were to look at the world from a Korean perspective there whole country was flattened by America in 1950s so in there eyes they have to try protect themselves . I in no way agree with the way there people are treated before you accuse me . Hitler was dictator and he turned Germany into a economic power house when he refused to pay England and France back massive loans . I in no way agree with what he did with this economic wealth in causing the deaths and suffering of millions .

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:49 PM

Icelands economy growing faster than u.s.a and Europe . Fact

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:54 PM

Again Dave you avoid the question. What type of Dictatorship do you prefer?

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:57 PM

A socialist one mick. A fair socialist one were no more brown envelopes no more lies no more selling out our own people . It should be law if you lie in your election campaign you should be sacked and benefits removed. I love this country mick. It has some of the greatest humours people in the world. Im just getting sadder watching what’s happening to this great land.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:02 PM

So like I said Maoist/Stalinist.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:04 PM

And Dave. If it was a Dictatorship there wouldn’t be any elections. That is the whole point of a Dictatorship.

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:08 PM

What about a realist dictatorship Mick,
    Not that im for a dictatorship, Im just throwing it out there.

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:11 PM

Maoist was bit much. He wanted to kill people to get what he wants. Don’t agree with killing . Just will cause more suffering . And yes your right a dictatorship has no voting . Is there a way for to be just one leader that is voted in by the people . And if people don’t like him/her vote a new leader in . The way it is now is now with needing a party majority kind of keeps it in a monopoly .

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:11 PM

Please explain that one to me. Never come across one of them before.

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:15 PM

I didn’t myself . Just saying could work.

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:28 PM

Careful Dave Mick is tryin to label you as a maoist/stalinist supporter.
    When clearly your not.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:29 PM

Dave. Have you heard the saying “Power corrupts. Absolute power corrupts absolutely”. So you give all the power to one man and he surrounds himself with his supporters. Placing them incharge. Of the Security Forces how do you get rid of him if he decides to stay put.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:31 PM

Leonard. I am just asking questions. Should I just follow blindly?

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:44 PM

No you should never follow blindly . It just seems most of the world does. And if you don’t believe we are now living in near enough a fascist dictatorship then your truly blind. This country is being sold on the cheap to rich people . There’s a protest today to try and stop our forests being sold to Chinese investers . Why should a foreign country own our forests . ?

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:49 PM

No not at all Mick, one should never follow blindly, but unfortunately you do.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:14 PM

Because they want to buy them?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:16 PM

But yet Leonard you whine and complain when I do ask questions. Is it the case that I should only ask certain questions that you approve of?

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:25 PM

Why do they want to buy them Mick?

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:28 PM

When have wined about your questions?
    Your the one who avoids answering questions Dave has answered your question many times but yet you still try and twist his words, like always.
    So Mick what “system” of government would you prefer? I won’t expect an honest answer either.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:34 PM

Because they they are for sale. Why does anybody buy something rather than steal it. Because someone else has put it up for sale.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:36 PM

A democratic one. Does that answer your question.

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:40 PM

What model democratic one?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:51 PM

Well you have the American and French model of presidental type or the Parliamentary type that we and most of Europe use. Either one suits me.

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 4:03 PM

Both have lots of flaws.
    What about the swiss model?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 4:11 PM

I would have mo problem with the Swiss system. But its not the Socialist Dictatorship Dave is seeking.

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 4:34 PM

People have become desperate Mick they will turn to what they as a person think is best.
    I think we need a realist democratic government, not a corporate one like the US and Europe is gettin, a proper one with the true meaning Of, By and For the people. The current system we have is only intensifying the problem and further separating the gap between “rich” and “poor” we need a proper system where our leaders are accountable for the decisions they make, we need proper media, not one controlled by a handful of big corporations, we need decent men and women to lead this world regardless of religion, culture, natural resources, we need good people. Not brainwashed puppets who have been manipulated by they very system they try to lead. We need people.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 4:47 PM

Leonard. People are desperate now. But if the boom times return I guarantee you those that are now protesting will stop and go back to their comfortable lives and those of the left calling for “Revolution” will be left swinging in the wind.

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 4:51 PM

Of course they will Mick. People are selfish, people are stupid.
    A person isn’t selfish, a person isn’t stupid

Mute Gearoid Griffin
    Favourite Gearoid Griffin
    Apr 28th 2013, 10:25 PM

Iceland just voted back in the party that ruined them in 2009

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:23 PM

Europe is sowing the seeds of its own destruction by continuing to screw it’s people. This is how Hitler came to power the German people had nothing and history is repeating its self. Something has to give

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:32 PM

Hitler was an economic genius. He won times man of of the year i think it was in 1937. he was a disgusting man tho that responsible for millions of deaths and suffering .

Mute Ucanthandlethetruth
    Favourite Ucanthandlethetruth
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:30 PM

Hitler’s ideas haven’t gone away you know.

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:45 PM

No they are alive and strong. Just hidden from public knowledge

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Apr 28th 2013, 11:53 AM

Was this shooting carried out by a angry Italian citizen ,could ,if is was, be something that’s growing in the thought’s of the European citizens ,that lives in the fiscally effected areas

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 11:57 AM

More than likely flop, same thing happened in Greece a couple of months back a lad sprayed shots out of an AK into parliament buildings.
    Can the IMF/EU not see what is becoming of the people they are supposedly there to “help”

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:07 PM

Leonard. Protests have become so common across Europe that they are non news now. So unless you get an event like this nobody cares. Do I care if somebody protests in Athens, Paris or Rome? No I couldn’t care less. If people protest in Dublin do you think people in London, Berlin or Lisbon care. You can bet they don’t. And this is why the protests themselves are non news.

See 44 more replies ▾
    Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:16 PM

But you seem to care a lot about American wars and occupations in other countries Mick, what does that tell me?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:21 PM

No Leonard. What I care about is debunking myths and fairy tales.

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:25 PM

Then why have you a soldier as your profile picture wearing a gas mask?
    Do you condone the use of chemical weapons?

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:41 PM

Come on mick anything about america and your always object it.are you American or what’s the story.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:41 PM

Leonard look again. How many “Soldiers” wear riot helmets.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:42 PM

No Shane born and raised right here.

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:45 PM

Then why so serious about america.can you understand why alot of people and countries don’t like the good old USA

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:48 PM

And what of those that support America?

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Apr 28th 2013, 12:57 PM

Yea there’s a few but I’m sure they have interests in supporting america usually in the form of dollars.do you not think that some of Americas policys are creating more terrorists that they are stopping.how can they back “freedom fighters” in syria but fight the same crowd in Afghanistan both fight under the al quieda flag.

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:04 PM

Don’t get me wrong either I know that America has done good things like kicking Iraq out of Kuwait and intervening in the conflict in bosnia aswell I think.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:05 PM

Please join this page, STOP INVASION for SYRIA if you oppose tyranny

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:14 PM

And Golden what about the tyranny of the present Syrian government? When was the last time they held multi party democratic elections? When was the last time people could demonstrate against the government of Syria and not get shot?

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:52 PM

Mick one more thing .most weapons in war torn African countrys and middle east are American made weapons. Hmmmmmm .

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 1:57 PM

Democratic elections have been offered up once this false rebellion has ended, and its funny that most of those demonstrators have now turned to show solidarity with Assad as the country is been attacked by US backed al-Qaeda factions, the very reason the US invaded Afghanistan was to rid it of Al-Qaeda was it not? See the pattern developing now Mick, the US does wat it wants when it wants to suit itself

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:14 PM

Actually you will find that they are eastern block. You really should check before making statements like that.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:19 PM

Eastern block? who?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:21 PM

If America wants to invade why wait so long. Why not give the rebels air cover, Why not give them Main Battle Tanks, why not give them Heavy Artillery? Why not launch missiles from off shore? And as for the Rebels there are several different factions. The Al Nursa Front is only one of them. The FSA make up the bulk of the fighters but you and others choose to ignore that and concentrate on one group.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:35 PM

This should clear things up for you Mick

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:36 PM
    Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:38 PM

They don’t want to invade there hoping the rebels will get rid of assad for them.how many of these freedom fighters will be radicalised in this war and then go on to train and brain wash more men to attack the west.how can they be sure there “aid” doesn’t get into the hands of al queda.

Mute dave dunn
    Favourite dave dunn
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:47 PM

No mick there mainly American. Even the i.r.a used mainly American made weapons bought of gadaffi .

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:01 PM

The same Gaddaffi who funded Sarkozys election campaign, the same Gaddaffi who was going to bloke golden the lid on the funding, the same one who’s country was picked apart by NATO, but mainly French precision airstrikes, the same one who was pulled from a car and riddled with bullets, before he got to speak.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:15 PM

Join the page lads this invasion has to be stopped, spread the word and we’ll get protests going hopefully before its too late

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:27 PM

Russian and Chinese for the most part Golden. You should know that considering that you are so politically “enlightened”. Have a look at any video of conflict in Africa and what are the most predominant weapons being used? AK 47′s, RPG 7′S, PKM’S and the list goes on.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:29 PM

Again Dave wrong. Most of the IRA. Weaponry was also eastern block. You really should do some checking of facts.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:38 PM

Since when has Armalite been eastern block? You fool

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:40 PM

Ooh so the Russians and Chinese are funding these Al-Qaeda factions now are they? news to me and everyone else, please show me some evidence..

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:46 PM

Golden the vast majority of the weapons destroyed during the peace process were Russian and Chinese made AK 47′s, Semtex explosives, RPG 7 Rocket launchers and PKM machine guns. You really are making yourself look stupid you know.

Mute Leonard Washington
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:47 PM

Boom was waiting on that!

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 3:48 PM

Where did I say the Russians and Chinese were funding Al Queda?

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 4:02 PM

Read back up on your own posts and mine

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 4:20 PM

Golden. I would suggest you read the entire thread. I first spoke of Russia and China in relation to the majority of weapons being used in conflicts across Africa. And no where did I mention Al Queda and Finance. So if you are intent on making things up a least make them plausible.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 4:42 PM

Ok my mistake on that you replied after one of my posts about eastern block, anyway the majority of Assault rifles came from the US, the Armalite was the main rifle used

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 4:54 PM

Golden. The most widely used assault rifle around the world is the AK 47. And if you look at any video posted by PIRA the vast majority of their weaponry is AK47′s. And who makes the AK 47? Mainly Russia and China.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 4:54 PM

Anyways the USA is backing the FSA/Muslim Brotherhood/Al-Qaeda for their own agenda not for the majority of Syrians who by the way are fully behind Assad and his government

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 4:58 PM

Roughly 2,500 Armalite rifles imported by America, Gaddafi’s shipments were only really significant for the amount of Semtex he sent over.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 5:00 PM

The western allies are backing the FSA they are not backing the other factions. The fact that they fight a common enemy doesn’t make them same.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 5:24 PM

According to Garda and other intelligence sources at least 2 shiploads of weapons and explosives were landed from Libyia before the third shipload was intercepted.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 5:35 PM

Please, The FSA is a sham, its foreign islamic jihadists backed by the CIA just like in Afghanistan in the 70′s, Bin Laden was a “rebel” there when they needed him to be.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2RCN1w5J80E&feature=player_embedded

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 5:49 PM

So the 70,000 or so fighters in the FSA are foreigners?

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 5:59 PM

Lol there ye go again, nit picking instead a lookin at the big picture, lemme ask you again coz ye ignored it last time Do you not think the CIA is involved in conspiracy?
    And look at the video there it might open your eyes to whats goin on..

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 28th 2013, 6:41 PM

Are the CIA assisting with training and logistics to the FSA? Sure. Even they won’t deny that.
    And 70,000 fighters is one very big nit to pick.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 10:43 PM

Yes Mick, the very same Army that is holding towns to siege, with tens of thousands on the brink of death from starvation, and if anyone dare come and ask them for food are beheaded and they bodies held for ransom, you’ve really no idea how bad the FSA is for Syria, but hey lets keep supporting them because the US says they the Good guys…

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Apr 28th 2013, 11:42 PM

This article kind of sihts all over your argument pal

http://landdestroyer.blogspot.ie/2013/04/nyt-nowhere-in-rebel-controlled-syria.html