You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Irish actress Ruth Negga has made the cover of Vogue magazine

The Limerick raised actress is at the centre of some massive Oscar buzz.

LET’S HEAR IT for the Irish gals.

Actress Ruth Negga has made the cover of January’s US Vogue, and she looks PHENOMENAL doing it.

Negga, who you might recognise as Darren’s ex-girlfriend Rosie in Love/Hate, is hotly tipped to win an Oscar in the new year thanks to her leading role in Loving.

The Ethiopia-born actress (who was raised by her Irish mother in Limerick), plays Mildred Jeter a woman who had to fight for her right to be married to her white husband Richard Loving in 1950′s Virginia.

The movie will reach Ireland in February, but her Mario Testino Vogue shoot is enough to tide us over until then.

In an interview with the fashion bible, they perhaps got some use out of the word ‘craic’ for the first time ever:

Her gift for self-mockery and her appetite for the craic–an Irish expression for fun or gossip or high jinks–are matched only by her levels of propulsion.

dfb56f15c784e5f310f8e04c9c4a6c6e

Negga also talked about her her influences from studying in Trinity College’s Samuel Beckett Centre, and her identity as an Irish Ethiopian:

I’m very  careful to say I’m Irish-Ethiopian because I feel Ethiopian and I look Ethiopian and I am Ethiopian. But there are 81 languages in Ethiopia, and I don’t know any of them.
I become very territorial about my identity because it’s been hijacked by so many people, with their own projections.

Negga got her first taste of Academy life when she appeared in 12-years a Slave, which won an Oscar for Best Picture, and Best Supporting Actress for Lupita Nyong’o (who featured on the same cover mere months ago).

DailyEdge is on Snapchat! Tap the button below to add!

Limerick actress Ruth Negga is getting serious Oscar buzz for her latest performance>

Love/Hate actress Ruth Negga has landed the cover of the Hollywood Reporter>

Written by Nicola Byrne and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2016/12/img2-thejournal-554.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-3126380" class="alignnone" /end]

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

30 Comments
    Mute Joe Joyce
    Favourite Joe Joyce
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:19 PM

She doing well for herself since she left darren

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Dec 7th 2016, 6:54 PM

Why do u call her Ethiopian born Limerick raised? I never saw Ronan O Gara referred to as American born Cork raised, or Dave O Leary as London born Dublin raised….

Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:06 PM

For that exact reason Liam…so someone can make an issue out of it….

Mute Alan Wiley
    Favourite Alan Wiley
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:08 PM

Ronan O’Gara is very often referred to as San Diego born and Cork raised actually.

Mute nialls
    Favourite nialls
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:11 PM

Read the article. She talks about it herself. Obviously proud of her Ethiopian heritage and wants it known

Mute Martin Fahy
    Favourite Martin Fahy
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:35 PM

I’ve actually hear Ronan O’Gara mentioned like that many many times but I get your point.

Mute Ed Magnier
    Favourite Ed Magnier
    Dec 8th 2016, 7:24 AM

@Liam Dunne: Because she makes of a point of highlighting that side of her lineage as being very important to her.

Mute Dunkel Master
    Favourite Dunkel Master
    Dec 7th 2016, 6:49 PM

Good on you..

Dec 7th 2016, 7:28 PM

Good on you Ruth. Hard work, perseverance and talent.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Dec 7th 2016, 9:41 PM

I think she’s a really great actress and makes interesting choices (Breakfast on Pluto, Preacher, Loving) but let’s not lose sight of what a big ride she is

Mute Mark Stanley
    Favourite Mark Stanley
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:50 PM

Airbrushed within an inch of her life

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:06 PM

Who has been hijacking her identity and why?

Mute Cen Sored
    Favourite Cen Sored
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:19 PM

She’s the best Irish actress, easily

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:38 PM

Bollocks. Brian O’Driscoll’s wife, the nation’s sweetheart is.

Mute Kieran C
    Favourite Kieran C
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:34 PM

When the brits claim somebody who is successful,Irish people go mental.When a lovely foreign lady is successful,the rules change.Ah be jaysus be gorrah.

Mute Kieran C
    Favourite Kieran C
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:42 PM

Ethiopia borders Laois and Carlow.

Mute selfsustainable
    Favourite selfsustainable
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:43 PM

Her mother is Irish and she was raised in Ireland, she’s hardly a ‘foreigner’!

Mute Kieran C
    Favourite Kieran C
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:48 PM

@selfsustainable:You are probably correct-it’s the Irish double standards that annoy me.

Mute nialls
    Favourite nialls
    Dec 7th 2016, 8:48 PM

Ibrahim Halawa was born and raised in Ireland but he’s still called a foreigner

Mute Naberius
    Favourite Naberius
    Dec 7th 2016, 9:10 PM

@Kieran C:

You’re more annoyed about your ignorance leading you to say dopey things, I hope!

Mute Naberius
    Favourite Naberius
    Dec 7th 2016, 9:13 PM

@nialls:

I more often see dear Ibrahim being referred to as an Irishman, an Irish teen, an Irish student and so on around these parts.

Certainly, the boy generally appears to be more interested in the Egyptian side of himself.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:28 PM

She was bleedin deadly as Tulip O’Hare in the brilliant Preacher !

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:57 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: Brilliant show!

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Dec 8th 2016, 10:40 AM

@Les Behan:

It was wasn’t it, as far as I know there is a season 2 in the pipeline :-)

Mute John Jones
    Favourite John Jones
    Dec 7th 2016, 7:48 PM

Why can’t an ugly Kant like me be found attractive

Mute Frederick Burden
    Favourite Frederick Burden
    Dec 7th 2016, 9:42 PM

Who?

Mute Anon Ymous
    Favourite Anon Ymous
    Dec 7th 2016, 10:12 PM

Well done Ruth.

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Dec 7th 2016, 10:27 PM

She is lovely

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Dec 8th 2016, 6:35 AM

Dang she’s smokin’ hot!!!❤️❤️❤️

Mute Ed Magnier
    Favourite Ed Magnier
    Dec 8th 2016, 7:19 AM

Such a sexy lady.