You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

Want to check-in early for a Ryanair flight? You're going to have to pay for an allocated seat

The new rules come into effect next month.

RYANAIR HAS EMAILED its millions of travellers advising them of changes to its existing check-in policy.

For all flights from 13 June, free online check-in will be available from 48 hours to 2 hours before departure. Passengers previously had four days to do so.

If you decide to choose what seat you want (which usually costs around €4 per journey) – then you will be able to check-in up to two months in advance.

Emails sent to passengers this morning included terms and conditions which allow customers to cancel flights and receive a full refund if they do not wish to agree to the new policy.

The notice reads: “Customers who choose not to reserve their preferred seat, can check in online or on the mobile app free of charge from 48 hours to 2 hours pre-departure and will be randomly allocated a seat.

“All Ryanair customers may buy a reserved seat online, both on the Ryanair.com website and mobile app from the time of booking up to 2 hours pre-departure and these customers can check-in online anytime they so wish between 60 days to 2 hours before the scheduled departure time of their flight.

“Please note – any affected customers flying on or after 13 June who do not wish to accept this check-in policy change have the right to cancel and request a full refund within 5 days of this 14 May notification after which the change will be regarded as implicitly accepted.”

A statement from Ryanair added: “Online check-in (for those customers who don’t choose reserved seats) will be available from 48 hours to 2 hours pre-departure for all flights from Wednesday  13 June. This is more than double the 24 hour check-in period operated by British Airways, Lufthansa, Norwegian and Iberia. This will give reserve seat customers more time to select their preferred seats prior to departure.”

Earlier this year, the Irish budget airline introduced new rules which meant passengers could not take a large cabin bag on board unless they bought priority boarding.

Up until January of this year, Ryanair allowed passengers to carry one cabin bag along with an additional small bag, such as a backpack or shopping bag for free.

However, the airline axed the scheme as “too many customers are availing of Ryanair’s two free carry-on bags service, and with high load factors, there is not enough overhead cabin space for this volume of carry-on bags”.

Customers can still bring two free bags, but those who haven’t purchased priority boarding must place their bag in the hold at the boarding gate, free of charge.

71 Comments
    Mute Dave Collins
    Favourite Dave Collins
    May 15th 2018, 9:12 AM

Well ryanair…i’m going to CHECK OUT and take my business elsewhere!

Mute Graham McGuinness
    Favourite Graham McGuinness
    May 15th 2018, 9:15 AM

@Dave Collins: That’s no problem. Go with Aer Lingus or BA where it will be twice or three times the price. Is €5 really a game changer when your getting the flight for little or nothing.

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    May 15th 2018, 9:23 AM

@Dave Collins: No you won’t

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    May 15th 2018, 9:26 AM

@Graham McGuinness: Anyway, Aerlingus has this policy for ages already, Ryanair is just catching up

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    May 15th 2018, 9:28 AM

@Graham McGuinness: it’s not the money, it’s the da t that every little thing involves a rule or a charge or having to book something or produce something or complying with something or being Jeter through various roped queuing stead depending on what you’ve done.
    . Flying is becoming like a cross between a trip to Lidl on a Saturday afternoon, and trying to get something done at the passport office.

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    May 15th 2018, 9:40 AM

@Dave Collins: I’m sure Michael O’Leary will be crying into his billions of €€€€ now! :-D

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    May 15th 2018, 9:50 AM

@Dave Collins: Fake news

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    May 15th 2018, 10:02 AM

@Bingobango: no it’s not

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    May 15th 2018, 10:03 AM

@Bingobango: no it’s not again

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    May 15th 2018, 10:10 AM

@Neal Ireland Hello.: Passport/I.D, boarding card, don’t take the Pee with your carry on bag, check in on time, present yourself to the boarding gate, couldn’t be more simple or straight forward?

Mute Malachy Guilfoyle
    Favourite Malachy Guilfoyle
    May 15th 2018, 10:14 AM

@Neal Ireland Hello.: Ryanair fly over 100 million passengers every year. Imagine if there were no rules or regulations or organised queues, just a free for all. Every airline has rules that passengers need to obey, and usually higher ticket prices.

Mute Johnny Rielly
    Favourite Johnny Rielly
    May 15th 2018, 12:22 PM

@Graham McGuinness: Not only will it be more expensive.. you will never take off or land on time. I did the Aer Fungus thing for years. They are never on time.. and the staff dont care… they are union.. they don’t have to care.
    Ryanair can turn planes around quickly and efficiently. How they co-ordinate the different parties to do it I don’t know…. but they do it.

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    May 15th 2018, 1:06 PM

@Paul Furey: The revelation that Davey will not take a Ryanair flight again is indeed Fake News.

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    May 15th 2018, 2:59 PM

@Dave Collins: I hope you do.. there rubbish..

Mute Darren McCormack
    Favourite Darren McCormack
    May 15th 2018, 7:56 PM

@Johnny Rielly: This article disagrees with you…. https://www.newstalk.com/Aer-Lingus-flights-more-on-time-than-Ryanair

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    May 15th 2018, 9:48 AM

Ryanair! O’Leary could fly the plane personally, give out free champagne and then carry your (unlimited) baggage to your taxi and some people would still whinge and complain.

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    May 15th 2018, 3:01 PM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: so would I.. having that fool from kanturk flying the plane..

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 15th 2018, 9:33 AM

Just pay the plus ticket price, 20KG bag, Priority boarding, Fast track security, pick any seat on the plane and you can still bring a cabin bag and a small bag.

Mute O'Boyle Darragh
    Favourite O'Boyle Darragh

@Rob Cahill: Very few of my trips require a 20KG bag.

Mute Jennie
    Favourite Jennie
    May 15th 2018, 10:37 AM

@O’Boyle Darragh: you’re lucky. Most of mine do. The joys of travelling with a young family

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 15th 2018, 12:04 PM

@O’Boyle Darragh: Mine don’t either, But you can bring back more than you bring out.

Mute Lad_The
    Favourite Lad_The
    May 15th 2018, 12:23 PM

@Rob Cahill: agree if you’re talking about one person. But if travelling ad a family those extra fivers add up so not such a straight forward decision.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 15th 2018, 11:15 AM

Great news, I booked a flight for the wrong date in August and to change the flight to a different date cost more than the price of the flight. Now instead of forgetting the flight I can just get a refund for it thanks to this! Happy days

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    May 15th 2018, 9:29 AM

Never have or never will use this airline.
    It’s reputation speaks volumes.
    I’m surprised they are not using Maurice Pratt in their advertising “Yellow pack airlines”.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 15th 2018, 9:38 AM

@Trevor Hayden: Presumably you don’t fly very often or pay for your flight. Ryanair save me 4 grand a year and offer a lot of choice of routes and times.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    May 15th 2018, 9:43 AM

@William Grogan: True William, maybe 2-3 times a year but any opinion I’ve received from friends and colleagues have put me off flying with them.
    One even referred to them as “cattle mart” airlines.
    Hoofed on like cattle, dirty planes, and rude staff.
    And hoofed off at your destination.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    May 15th 2018, 10:00 AM

@Dotty Dunleary: Far from it Dotty, but I’d pay a little more for comfort and customer service.

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    May 15th 2018, 10:07 AM

@Trevor Hayden: Unless you fly business class with the likes of Emirates then that’s just not true!

Any of the European airlines I’ve used out of Dublin, Lufthansa, BA, Cityjet, FinnAir, Aer Lingus are no better than Ryanair..
    RA’s aircraft are often newer, the staff younger and more energetic, the flights are on time unless due to Airport issues etc.

Mute Malachy Guilfoyle
    May 15th 2018, 10:08 AM

@Trevor Hayden: I’ve flown with them loads of times, and with their competitors and never had a single problem on Ryanair. I find most people complaining do so after not complying with the airlines rules or regulations.

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    May 15th 2018, 10:12 AM

@Trevor Hayden: So you have no frame of reference then.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    May 15th 2018, 10:21 AM

@Tony Le Blanc: I trust friends and colleagues opinions, it’s a personal choice.

Mute Michael McLoughlin
    Favourite Michael McLoughlin
    May 15th 2018, 10:25 AM

@Trevor Hayden: never used the service but want to tell the world your opinion. Joe Duffy show is run for uninformed people like you.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    May 15th 2018, 10:32 AM

@Michael McLoughlin: Well I do apologise for offending the Ryanair fan club michael, but is this not a Comments area?
    I’ve gave an opinion and that’s all it is, an opinion.

Mute Pat D'Arcy
    Favourite Pat D'Arcy
    May 15th 2018, 10:49 AM

@Michael McLoughlin: Trevor is perfectly entitled to give an ill informed opinion.

I think flying with Ryanair isn’t great, but it’s competing low budget airlines are no better and more expensive. I think it gets a bad wrap as an airline.

Mute Austin hickey
    Favourite Austin hickey
    May 15th 2018, 11:59 AM

@William Grogan: if u had cheaper option would u take it.

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    May 15th 2018, 3:01 PM

@Trevor Hayden: couldn’t agree more

Mute O'Boyle Darragh
    May 15th 2018, 10:17 AM

I’ve no problem with this, the app makes check in very quick and simple. If you’re from outside the EU and need to do the visa check then you need to print out the boarding pass for it to be stamped so in that case it could be a bit of pain if you’re going anywhere for more than one night, there aren’t too many internet cafés anymore to print your pass.

I kind of like the new policy of only people in the priority queue bringing on their cabin bags, it avoids the rush in the non-priority queue as everyone knows that their bags will be put in the hold. Personally I don’t mind that as more often than not they are already on the belt by the time you get through security.

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    May 15th 2018, 10:22 AM

@O’Boyle Darragh: Priority boarding is fantastic, being able to get on board without the mad rush…
    Having said that if i’m on a longer flight it’s nice not to have to worry about carrying a bag on and off the aircraft…

Mute James Reilly
    Favourite James Reilly
    May 15th 2018, 9:39 AM

There was always a charge to reserve a seat

Mute Maurice Heaphy
    Favourite Maurice Heaphy
    May 15th 2018, 9:58 AM

@James Reilly: No matter what seat you are Allocated, the plane is only going one way, you are going to get there at the same time!

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    May 15th 2018, 12:22 PM

@James Reilly:

However, before, when your group, as most didn’t, pay to reserve seats, they would always be sat together, even if you couldn’t choose where on the plane.
    Now, if you don’t pay, your group is deliberately split up, by what appears to be a programmed policy of minimum 5 rows apart.

So, yet again, this disgusting company, which has a monopoly on most routes out of Ireland, has deliberately created a problem and then charges you for fixing it.

I think O’Leary’s ‘management’ policy is to see just how many customers, staff and airport authorities he can irritate to the maximum, having got monopoly control of routes and time slots.

If I have any choice at all, I won’t fly Ryanair.

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    May 15th 2018, 3:10 PM

@Maurice Heaphy: ha ha ..so right.. dumb passengers

Mute Sílvia Rodrigues
    Favourite Sílvia Rodrigues
    May 15th 2018, 7:20 PM

@Mike Hall: who Cares about not seating together? Most ryanair flights are no longer that 3 hours. I think that most of the people that complaint just go once or twice a year to Benidorm and don’t appreciate an airline that is cost effective and on time. Because aerlingus and British airways just to name a few are most of the times late and the service is not that good. I find it great that my bag can go free of charge on the handling and I don’t have to carry it inside the aircraft and I couldn’t care less about where I m seated.

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    May 15th 2018, 9:41 PM

@Mike Hall: There is plenty of choice thing is that you most likely cant afford it. And if you cant afford to pay for group seating then you get what you pay for. Funny entitlement attitude will never get you anywhere.

Mute Murf
    Favourite Murf
    May 16th 2018, 2:01 AM

@Mike Hall: O Leary is simply a NUT CASE,

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man

I have no problem with that, bearing in mind, Aer Lingus charge more to reserve a seat, and have less leg room that the new ryan air aircraft from 2016 onwards.

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    May 15th 2018, 9:55 AM

Fair dues to Michael O Leary he would make a three card trick man at Puck Fair appear honest and honourable.?

Mute Malachy Guilfoyle

@Charles Williams: What’s not honest about this. The airline is bringing in this new option, telling everyone about it and offering a refund if it doesn’t suit you. Seems straight forward to me

Mute Stephen clancy
    Favourite Stephen clancy
    May 15th 2018, 12:00 PM

My last flight with ryanair to budapest was with my wife and daughter 13.
    seat numbers 9b 19b and 23b. And we checked in as early as possible. Unless blind all can see what they are doing .
    Also they know what age the children are when booking. Why centre seats for all three of us? Yes split as many families and friends up as possible. No need for this approach at all.
    Hence the bad bame some people brand them with.
    I will of course use them again but try be more reasonable when childs welfare is involved.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    May 15th 2018, 3:06 PM

@Stephen clancy: So, you didn’t want to pay to sit togethet. And then you complain that you are not sitting together? They main reason you are not sitting together is that othets DID pay. Once about half the rows have 2 or more assigned seats then the odds in favour of other people being assigned adjacent seats diminish rapidly.

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    May 15th 2018, 3:11 PM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: shut up ..!!

Mute Boksburg Girl
    Favourite Boksburg Girl
    May 15th 2018, 3:36 PM

I really don’t get why some people feel obsessed with sitting next to the person that they’re going on holiday with. You’ll see them when you get to your destination and you might squeeze in a power nap in peace. I am also not one of those tools that need to queue first – the plane is not going anywhere until the last person gets on.

Mute patrick o keeffe
    Favourite patrick o keeffe
    May 15th 2018, 10:47 AM

So it’s gone from a week to 4 days and now 2 days for the free online check in.Nailed on to eventually no free online check in ie you have to buy a designated seat at check in.

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    May 15th 2018, 10:15 AM

Queue outrage and threats of ‘never flying Ryanair again’ from the misinformed. Check out the online check in policy of EI and see what you learn. Want a super cheap flight then accept that you will not be treated like a rock star when you board, failing that you could always f*ck off and walk.

Mute tom houlihan
    Favourite tom houlihan
    May 15th 2018, 2:47 PM

10,000,000 passengers a month is proof to me this is a good Irish service provider .Some people need to cop on .A great Irish success story .Play by the rules and everything will be fine .

Mute Austin hickey
    Favourite Austin hickey
    May 15th 2018, 11:22 AM

Flight cancelled to pisa last tuesday 12 hours notice got flights to rome 5 hundred euros hired car drove five hours lost a day just checked in for return flight home i got aisle 10 my wife aisle 20 as mater of princaple i would not pay the extra they dont give a dam about you or me but i have got to fly home with them ps. If its not cancelled that is.

Mute Damien Ahuir
    Favourite Damien Ahuir
    May 15th 2018, 3:29 PM

I fly every month with them never an issue, the only airline that got me through the winter storms, great staff and cheap. I don’t care since I always book priority and a seat.

For the price all considered great airline.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    May 15th 2018, 11:15 AM

Depressed as I had to fly ryanair to poland as no one else does direct flights from ireland any more.

Mute O'Boyle Darragh
    May 15th 2018, 11:57 AM

@ed w: The first time I went to Warsaw I had to go/return via England with British Midland, no one did direct flights then so count yourself lucky.

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood
    May 15th 2018, 12:07 PM

@ed w: Poor baby. In the mid-nineties, to visit my girlfriend once every two months, I used fly to London and take a 24 hour bus to Torun. Couldn’t afford any other way.

Mute Negan Lucille
    Favourite Negan Lucille
    May 15th 2018, 12:18 PM

@Martin Flood: Torun?

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    May 15th 2018, 12:30 PM

@Negan Lucille: first time visiting family was bus from London to poznan . 3 days. Rammed in Uncles car (syrena God he was proud of getting that car in the 70′s ) poznan to gdansk suppose I should be thankful

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood
    May 15th 2018, 12:40 PM

@Negan Lucille: Yes, Torun.

Mute Brian Rouse
    Favourite Brian Rouse
    May 15th 2018, 12:25 PM

Have been on their website most of last evening attempting to cancel a flight affected by this policy change. Its impossible…… I give up! Even the support team claim to know nothing about it. Drop down menus are limited to certain issues only.

Mute Alex Carroll
    Favourite Alex Carroll
    May 15th 2018, 10:52 AM

Fight back. Disrupt. Buy a sachet of brown sauce on next visit to supermarket. After take off make a beeline for the jacks and smear it all over the seat. Scatter plenty oy rubbish around your seat just before landing. If you have kids, encourage them to run up and down the plane. during in-flight service. More suggestions welcome.

Mute Ohhh_reeally
    Favourite Ohhh_reeally
    May 15th 2018, 12:32 PM

@Alex Carroll: wow you’re a complete rebel.

Mute Seamus Ryan
    Favourite Seamus Ryan
    May 15th 2018, 1:29 PM

@Ohhh_reeally: complete D1ckhead is the word you’re looking for

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    May 15th 2018, 10:01 PM

@Alex Carroll: Unbelievable. In order to save 5 euro you would create havoc on a plane and make poor flight attendants hard work even harder. There is no word to describe people like you.

Mute Stephen clancy
    Favourite Stephen clancy
    May 15th 2018, 12:08 PM

Try explain this one so guys.
    I booked a weekend away in Budapest and travelled with ryanair. My wife and 13 year old daughter and myself. checked in at the earliest time available and wasnt to bothered once someone is near my child. Seats allocated were 9b 19b and 23b.
    Now any fool can see what they are doing splitting everybody up at as early as stage as possible so people have got to pay to sit next or close to family ot siblings.
    They also know the adults from the children when booking but still so not take child welfare into consideration.

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily

You still have to pay for seats for adults when flyers My with children under 12.

Mute Stewart O Neill
    Favourite Stewart O Neill
    May 15th 2018, 3:17 PM

Whats new c–ts