You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

'This company has simply treated passengers abysmally': Ryanair criticised in EU Parliament

The airline was criticised it on numerous fronts for its treatment of its workers and passengers.

RYANAIR CAME IN for strong criticism from members of the European Parliament yesterday following weeks of turmoil at the airline.

MEPs held a special debate yesterday evening over the issues with the low-cost airline, which has cancelled thousands of flights between September and March.

The airline cancelled 2,100 flights between September and October and a further 18,000 between November and March, as a result of what it said is a rostering issue.

Those present in the European Parliament tore into Ryanair, criticising it on numerous fronts for its treatment of its workers and passengers.

Sinn Féin MEP Matt Carthy said that the airline had “deliberately misled” customers concerning their rights as passengers under EU regulations.

“They refused to disclose correct information on compensation rights until its hand was forced,” said Carthy.

He was referring to last week’s ultimatum from the UK’s Civil Aviation Authority for the airline to correct its compensation policy for passengers or face sanctions.

Carthy took aim at Ryanair for its treatment of workers.

“Ryanair refuses to negotiate with trade unions, it forbids its workers on many basis from organising,” he said.

And remember, this debacle of cancelled flights is a direct result of pilots and other workers fleeing Ryanair.

Carthy was referring to numerous reports which point towards hundreds of Ryanair pilots leaving the airline over the past year.

Ryanair has flatly denied that this is the cause of the flight cancellations, saying instead it is down to the airline having to roster a large number of holiday time for its workers.

“The episode demonstrates the promoting of so-called competitiveness to the detriment of workers’ rights cannot and will not succeed,” said Carthy.

“Ears burning”

Also addressing the issue, Irish MEP Mairead McGuinness said that Ryanair CEO Michael O’Leary’s ear would be burning if he was listening to the statements.

“Ryanair has work to do. On connecting with passengers they have work to do,” she said.

Other MEPs also took aim at the airline over the issue.

French MEP Karima Delli said that the widespread cancellations of flights was “another provocation by this low-cost airline”.

“400,000 passengers have been penalised because of bad management, bad planning. It’s a joke,” she said.

This company has simply treated passengers abysmally… It’s not low cost it’s zero service.

She called on the European Commission to ensure the airline lives up to European legislation when it comes to passengers rights.

“But at the same time we have to think about sanctions,” she said.

The European Commissioner for transport Violeta Bulc was also among the speakers. She said it was the responsibility of Irish authorities to oversee the airline.

Ryanair has come under strong political pressure to ensure customers are properly compensated for the cancellations.

It has also come under consumer pressure, with its share price dropping since the incident.

Read: EasyJet is likely to be the major winner from Ryanair and Monarch Airline’s woes

Read: Ryanair drops from top 100 Irish brands list after seating-allocation storm

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

43 Comments
    Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Oct 4th 2017, 9:40 AM

I think I must be the only person in Europe who’s never had a single problem traveling with Ryanair.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Oct 4th 2017, 9:58 AM

@O Swetenham:

I may be number 2

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Oct 4th 2017, 10:00 AM

@O Swetenham: in my own experience Ryanair get more passengers to destinations than any other European airline and their staff are professional in what they do and always have been. It is grossly unfair for an Irish MEP to try and put the boot in when it is clear that the airline is doing all that it can to overcome its present staffing difficulties.
    Matt Carthy should cop himself on.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Oct 4th 2017, 10:06 AM

@Chris Kirk: typical Sinn Fein

Mute Brian Costigan
    Favourite Brian Costigan
    Oct 4th 2017, 10:10 AM

@Chris Kirk: How long have you worked for them?

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    Oct 4th 2017, 10:25 AM

@Chris Kirk: A WHOLE debate tool place in the EU Parliament…. seek out what others have said as well. Your gripe and others is clearly just to have a go at Sinn Fein. Grow the fk up.
    As someone who works in the travel industry, Ryanair has mishandled this whole saga disgracefully. The fault lies soley with Ryanair and the criticism is fair and correct. Nothing of what Matt and lots of others have said is wrong. Ryanair are in the wrong but don’t let the facts stop you on your little man tirade.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Oct 4th 2017, 11:50 AM

@Brian Costigan: Cop yourself on, I have never worked for an airline but have relied upon them to continue in business. Ryanair are champions for getting small business operators into UK markets.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Oct 4th 2017, 11:55 AM

@Ian Walsh: My gripe is to congratulate Ryanair in giving Irish business operators a path into Europe and the UK over the past coulple of decades.
    The bitterness you show against Ryanair shows you up as an idiot if you can’t see the good they do. Why don’t ye feck off to Cuba and bring Matt Carthy wiith you.

Mute Mary Brady
    Favourite Mary Brady
    Oct 4th 2017, 4:26 PM

@Nick Allen: I must be number 3.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Oct 4th 2017, 9:37 AM

They made flying cheap. No customer service is how they save, so stuck it up.

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Oct 4th 2017, 11:45 AM

@prop joe: the European national carriers have the eu in their pocket. They’re making hay now, but laughing comes to crying. When this is over Ryanair will have to go on a savage price war to get customers back onside and everybody in the industry will feel some pain. Some won’t survive. They cancelled the buyout of Alitalia so the have the war chest. I hope it doesn’t get too dirty, we could do less monopolies and more choices.

Mute Colin Morris
    Favourite Colin Morris
    Oct 4th 2017, 12:32 PM

@prop joe:

Fred Laker made flying cheap.

Mute Fionn Cahill
    Favourite Fionn Cahill
    Oct 4th 2017, 9:52 AM

Never had a problem with them. follow the rules, check in on time, bring a small light bag, walk on and walk off. Also fresh planes and good coffee. There is no better way to travel on short flights unless you can afford 1st class.

Mute David Knight
    Favourite David Knight
    Oct 4th 2017, 9:49 AM

If Europe is depending on Ryanair to be sorted because they think it is the “responsibility of Irish authorities to oversee the airline”, they can think again. It will NEVER happen.

Mute Jed I. Knight
    Favourite Jed I. Knight
    Oct 4th 2017, 2:48 PM

@David Knight: Agreed. Ryanair exists only because of draconian Irish labour laws, if they tried the same business model in almost any other European country they’d fail – and they know it.
    If Irish politicians grew a pair and dragged our labour laws into the 21st century Ryanair’s business model would be placed in serious jeopardy, both they and the Irish government know this and don’t want it discussed openly.

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur

Sinn Fein: Ryanair exploits its pilots, so they’re leaving en masse when the opportunity arose to take their skills to another airline.

Also Sinn Fein: Let’s increase taxes on the sort of high earners who can take their skills to another country. Nothing bad could possibly happen.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Oct 4th 2017, 10:18 AM

@Ben McArthur: haven’t hundreds of thousands of our skilled workers already left to find employment abroad.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 4th 2017, 11:54 AM

@Ben McArthur: how many Ryanair pilots and crew are employed under Irish contracts. They used low cost ‘ hubs’ and local wage structures and agencies to keep wages low. This is why companies like Norwegian Air are able to poach so many pilots and likely other staff as well.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Oct 4th 2017, 9:44 AM

Ryanair have always been the bad boys of the aviation industry. People don’t care at the end of the day. Trip advisor ratings don’t include the airline experience. Whatever is cheapest, the destination rather than the means to get there will always be what people really care about. They’ll sail through this controversy finally and everyone will continue to love hating them. As Michael O Leary said himself – sure I’ve planes packed with people that hate me.

Mute Jimmy Ireland
    Favourite Jimmy Ireland

Pioneered cheap flights. History of being obnoxious to customers. Shamelessly ruthless is all aspects of business. In a few months this will be long forgotten when it comes to the great unwashed booking their week in torremolinos with their bag of yokes next July.

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    Oct 4th 2017, 9:49 AM

@Jimmy Ireland: True.Some dopes never learn. Air fares for the simple.

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    Oct 4th 2017, 10:27 AM

@Jimmy Ireland: Ryanair didn’t pioneer cheap flights. They emulated Southwest Airlines in the USA.

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Oct 4th 2017, 10:49 AM

@Jimmy Ireland: we were even more “unwashed” in the middle 1980s when the roundtrip flight between England and Ireland was just under £200.00. The alternatives were either the coffin ships, sorry, cattle ferries, or you swam.

Mute Lottie Skinner
    Favourite Lottie Skinner
    Oct 4th 2017, 1:18 PM

People have such short memories. When I first started commuting from Dub to the UK in the 70′s my return ticket varied between £186.00 / £218.00.The three airlines ,Aer Lingus, British Airways,and British Midland all charged the same amount. It was the most expensive per mile route in the world !. Ryanair started at £99.00.Over the last 12 months my return trips have averaged less than £50.00 the vast majority of which were on time and with out problems. The Pilots freely joined this company knowing their terms of employment so what has changed,other than their expectations.If they can do better elsewhere go for it.
    Ryanair has upset the cosy cartels which controlled the aviation industry for generations.The MEP’s should stop show boating and ensure that the consumer gets the best deal possible in the long term

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Oct 4th 2017, 9:36 AM

What do they care? They all fly flag-carrier at our expense.

Mute MaryLoonyMcDonald
    Favourite MaryLoonyMcDonald
    Oct 4th 2017, 9:43 AM

@Ben McArthur: fat pigs at the trough complaining about a budget airline. Europe wastes billions of tax payers money.

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Oct 4th 2017, 10:34 AM

Sinn Fein would have us paying €300 to fly to London on a national carrier as in the past.
    Pure ideological posturing.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Oct 4th 2017, 11:44 AM

Ryanair …. freed the Irish … certainly not Aer Lingus.
    Ryanair …. does what it says on the tin.
    Ryanair Ranters … take a jump.

Mute Colin Morris
    Favourite Colin Morris
    Oct 4th 2017, 12:40 PM

@Neuville-Kepler62F:

Neglects passengers? Yes
    Neglects pilots? Yes
    Neglects safety and maintenance staff? Yes

As a result it may not be safe to fly Ryanair.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Oct 4th 2017, 9:56 AM

Never had a problem with Ryanair till last weekend, delayed an hour each way and absolutely zero customer service. Asked one of their “representatives” at their departure gate and he juat said “ah it will be here soon” when we dared to ask him for any updates on how long will be or where the plane is etc.

Mute Tony Mcgrath
    Favourite Tony Mcgrath
    Oct 4th 2017, 10:17 AM

@Dave Murray: that sums it up dave Murray fine until u have a problem.

Mute JJ Sharkey
    Favourite JJ Sharkey
    Oct 4th 2017, 9:43 AM

And that’s on a good day !

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Oct 4th 2017, 10:05 AM

If Matt Carthy ever flew Aer Lingus to San Francisco he would know what crap airline service is.

Oct 4th 2017, 10:45 AM

Same could be said of the EU in certain circumstances. Just one comes to mind is Trichet’s ultimatum to cowan a few years back.

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    Oct 4th 2017, 9:38 AM

And their staff.
    Hense the mess

Mute Colman gan
    Favourite Colman gan
    Oct 4th 2017, 10:44 AM

What a joke-it’s taken this long for the EU parliament to comment on Ryanairs problems

Mute Colin Morris
    Favourite Colin Morris
    Oct 4th 2017, 12:35 PM

it’s wonderful to see the free market in operation.

Ryanairs treats its staff appalling who the moment a rival airline opens, abandon Ryanair en masse.

I guess the maintenance staff are also abandoning Ryanair en masse for better conditions.

I suspect there will soon be Ryanair plane crashes due to it being no longer able to do necessary safety checks.

There are alternatives to Ryanair.

It needs to go bust before lives are lost.

Mute Aoife Keegan Twomey
    Favourite Aoife Keegan Twomey
    Oct 4th 2017, 11:55 AM

Why is everyone shocked by Ryanair. Their business model is founded and built on no customer awareness or service. It’s been this way always.

Mute Colin Morris
    Favourite Colin Morris
    Oct 4th 2017, 12:36 PM

@Aoife Keegan Twomey: And mistreatment of staff.

If pilots are abandoning Ryanair en masse for Norwegian air, then so are aircraft maintenance staff.

It is no longer certain whether it is safe to fly with Ryanair.

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Oct 4th 2017, 10:26 AM

O’Deary it’s the O’Leary discussion again, He is a Boring ass who wallows in this kind of pig muck and controversy,
    His “Look at me, I really and truly am great,” attitude is akin to a monkey after discovering how to peel and eat a Banana, Masterful !

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Oct 4th 2017, 11:47 AM

@James Keogh: what’s killing people like you is that you know deep down inside that anyone who creates an empire is truly great especially one that produces €1.23bn profit last year.
    He rubs it in your face he is a resident in Ireland and pays his personal income tax here unlike your other unsung heroes DoB and DD.
    He has forgotten more than you and the dopes you voted into parliament will ever know and that’s why he can afford to be law unto himself. It’s all happening outside the box mate.

Mute Colin Morris
    Favourite Colin Morris
    Oct 4th 2017, 12:38 PM

@Gareth Cooney:

But if pilots are abandoning Ryanair en masse for Norwegian air, then it is safe to assume that the aircraft maintenance people are doing the same.

Ryanair is now a dodgy brand in all regards.

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Oct 4th 2017, 1:25 PM

@Colin Morris: airlines are going out of business by the hour, Norwegian airline won’t sustain the dog eat dog industry past five years. Ryanair will become Europes only low cost airline within 10 years.
    The Pilots have to work for their money in Ryanair together with all other staff. It’s called fair days work for fair days pay. Unlike their poor relation in Aer Lingus who has a lot less work and better conditions for bigger salaries, hence the reason the tax payer has had to prop it up for many years.

Mute Keith Murray
    Favourite Keith Murray
    Oct 5th 2017, 1:14 PM

Ha