You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Rory McIlroy involved in post-match confrontation as United States fight back in Ryder Cup

Europe need just four points in tomorrow’s singles to reclaim the Cup.

LAST UPDATE | 30 Sep 2023

RORY MCILROY HAD to be restrained after getting involved a heated exchange following the second day’s play at the Ryder Cup in Rome.

The world number two was pushed into a car as Europe team-mate Shane Lowry attempted to defuse what appeared to be an argument outside the clubhouse.

Pictures of the confrontation emerged after a fiery conclusion to Saturday’s fourballs session in which McIlroy and Matt Fitzpatrick were beaten on the final green by American pair Patrick Cantlay and Wyndham Clark.

McIlroy apppeared to take exception at the time to the American team’s celebrations after Cantlay holed a lengthy putt.

Both McIlroy and Fitzpatrick still had putts remaining that could have tied the match.

Arguments reportedly ensued between McIlroy and Cantlay’s caddie Joe LaCava, with the watching Lowry also becoming involved. It is thought McIlroy may have been upset that LaCava stepped across the line of a European putt as he waved his cap in reference to Cantlay’s hatless appearance.

Reports had emerged during the day that Cantlay was not wearing a team hat in protest at not being paid to appear, something he later denied.

After the match McIlroy said the incident would merely add motivation to his desire to succeed on Sunday.

The Northern Irishman said: “Obviously they had a great finish and Patrick made three great putts at the end to seal the deal, so hats off to them.

“They played a great match, yes, a few scenes there on 18 and just fuel for the fire tomorrow.”

It appears the arguments resumed as the players left the course, however, with TV pictures showing McIlroy angrily pointing his finger at somebody out of shot.

Lowry then steps in to usher McIlroy towards a waiting car.

Cantlay was asked about what occurred beside the 18th green after the match but gave little information.

“He is the best,” he said of LaCava. “That is all there is to say.”

Europe will enter the final day leading 10.5-5.5.

Glimmer of hope

The United States gave themselves a glimmer of hope of retaining the Ryder Cup as Patrick Cantlay holed a 30-foot putt on the final green on Saturday to reduce Europe’s lead to 10.5-5.5 ahead of the closing singles.

Cantlay and Wyndham Clark won the last two holes to beat Rory McIlroy and Matthew Fitzpatrick 1-up in the gathering gloom as the Americans grabbed the afternoon fourballs session 3-1.

But the visitors will still need the biggest Sunday comeback in Ryder Cup history to lift the trophy on European soil for the first time since 1993.

“It felt big, just trying to get any momentum we can going into tomorrow,” said Cantlay who competed without a cap, reportedly in a protest over players not being paid.

McIlroy and Fitzpatrick led 1-up with three holes to play and appeared set to secure a record seven-point advantage after two days for Europe when the Northern Irishman drove the 16th green.

But Cantlay made a crucial birdie, before making it three in succession with his monster effort on the 18th.

The majority of the US team were greenside and celebrated wildly as Cantlay roared in delight, evoking memories of Ian Poulter’s famous Saturday heroics before Europe’s comeback from 10-6 behind at the ‘Miracle at Medinah’ in 2012.

That was the last time either side won away from home.

Justin Rose and Robert MacIntyre had earlier fought back to see off Justin Thomas and a struggling Jordan Spieth 3 and 2.

The European pair twice trailed one-down on the front nine but rallied as Spieth misfired badly, Thomas failing to shoulder the burden alone.

MacIntyre had missed a succession of putts over the weekend but made three clutch ones on the back nine.

Rose finished off the job on 16, draining a 19-foot effort for birdie.

Collin Morikawa and Sam Burns gave the USA the shot in the arm they needed in the opening match by racing into a 6-up lead with six to play against Viktor Hovland and Ludvig Aberg.

The Scandinavian duo had thrashed Scottie Scheffler and Brooks Koepka by a foursomes record 9 and 7 in the morning.

But they could not hold off their American opponents who closed out a 4 and 3 success.

Max Homa and Brian Harman won the USA’s first full point earlier Saturday and backed it up with a 2 and 1 win over Tommy Fleetwood and Nicolai Hojgaard in the second match.

– © AFP 2023

Written by AFP and posted on the42.ie

The Journal publishes the biggest breaking news in Irish and international sport but for all of The 42′s insightful analysis and sharp sportswriting, subscribe here.

View 73 comments
73 Comments
    Mute B6Tr3OgE
    Favourite B6Tr3OgE
    Sep 30th 2023, 7:34 PM

Come on Europe you got this

Mute Ian Cryan
    Favourite Ian Cryan
    Sep 30th 2023, 7:53 PM

@B6Tr3OgE: I sence a tense day 2moro for Europe

Mute CTW
    Favourite CTW
    Oct 1st 2023, 9:38 AM

@B6Tr3OgE: What a boring sport. Right there with bowls and curling.

Mute Barry Evans
    Favourite Barry Evans
    Oct 1st 2023, 10:56 AM

@CTW: fair play to you for taking a few minutes out of your high octane life to comment……

Mute Ian Cryan
    Favourite Ian Cryan
    Sep 30th 2023, 7:47 PM

Poor Rory nobody allowed to celebrate only him. What a plank.

Mute Roddy Wyer
    Favourite Roddy Wyer
    Sep 30th 2023, 10:07 PM

@Ian Cryan: You clearly know nothing about golf. Caddy in his grill while lining up a putt to halve. Out of order by La Cava.

Mute Ian Cryan
    Favourite Ian Cryan
    Sep 30th 2023, 10:15 PM

@Roddy Wyer: I probably forgot more about golf than you ever know. Just look at the amount of likes I have and then weep you plank

See 22 more replies ▾
    Sep 30th 2023, 10:18 PM

@Roddy Wyer: Very few of us are interested in Golf. It astounds me that there are people out there who find it interesting.

Mute Eoghan Ryan
    Favourite Eoghan Ryan
    Sep 30th 2023, 10:36 PM

You were interested enough to comment on a random article all the same, very sad individual!

Mute Jason Memail
    Favourite Jason Memail
    Sep 30th 2023, 10:43 PM

@Ian Cryan: “look at my imaginary internet points”. You say you know about golf, then you’d know that when a hole is still in play, you don’t dance around the other players, unless you’re a knob, which might fit the bill here nicely.

Sep 30th 2023, 10:51 PM

@Eoghan Ryan: To briefly highlight just how dreadful it is. Do keep up, son.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Sep 30th 2023, 10:58 PM

@Ian Cryan: You got loads of likes from the Journal comments section.. must make you right then .. lol. ‘Look at the amount of likes i have’.. lol. Christ on a bike..You’re the plank man.. whilst we’re at it.. do tell us if your golf credentials Ian ? Judging by your comments and grammar, i reckon you’re about 11 .. be interested to know what an 11 yr old knows about golf.. although it’s probably past your bedtime now..

Mute Ian Cryan
    Favourite Ian Cryan
    Sep 30th 2023, 11:21 PM

@Brian: tell me what you would like to know before I have to go to bed. Mongo Brian

Mute Ian Cryan
    Favourite Ian Cryan
    Sep 30th 2023, 11:31 PM

@Brian: now who is the plank

Mute Ian Cryan
    Favourite Ian Cryan
    Sep 30th 2023, 11:33 PM

@Brian: fancy challenging me to 18 holes 100e a hole

Mute Plastic Paddy
    Favourite Plastic Paddy
    Sep 30th 2023, 11:37 PM

@Ian Cryan: Stop cryan. P.S I’ve got a handicap of 2 as a senior and one of the most famous European golfer’s wives used to babysit me back in the 70′s. Even your use of grammar and arrogance shows you up to be a know nothing. Your likes mean nothing because David Ike has got more likes than you…… you plank.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Sep 30th 2023, 11:38 PM

@Ian Cryan: still no credentials then.. more bluster .. sad.. not so many likes now Ian..maybe you’re not as popular as you thought.. bless . Night night

Mute Ian Cryan
    Favourite Ian Cryan
    Sep 30th 2023, 11:41 PM

@Plastic Paddy: so what if you have .know nothing do you fancy a round aswell. Plastic paddy what a name lol

Mute Ian Cryan
    Favourite Ian Cryan
    Sep 30th 2023, 11:42 PM

@Brian: not interested in the challenge

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Oct 1st 2023, 12:05 AM

@Ian Cryan: another drunk Irishman !

Mute Ian Cryan
    Favourite Ian Cryan
    Oct 1st 2023, 12:08 AM

@Brendan: funny I don’t drink

Mute Kevin Dillon
    Favourite Kevin Dillon
    Oct 1st 2023, 12:33 AM

@Ian Cryan: oh its now based on likes. You commented first, you have more likes than me. I guess that makes you right so. What a PLANK.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Oct 1st 2023, 12:55 AM

@Ian Cryan: you don’t like him but surely you cant see how out of order the caddy was?

Mute Lance Taylor
    Favourite Lance Taylor
    Oct 1st 2023, 7:44 AM

@Ian Cryan: I honestly can’t believe you think you’re right because of journal likes, jaysus wept, only a child would say that

Mute Bryan Smyth
    Favourite Bryan Smyth
    Oct 1st 2023, 8:07 AM

@Ian Cryan: Ohh jaysus, no excuse so

Mute Donal h
    Favourite Donal h
    Oct 1st 2023, 8:26 AM

@Ian Cryan: you should start, another few thousand dead brain cells won’t make much of a difference.

Mute Jane Waters
    Favourite Jane Waters
    Oct 1st 2023, 9:39 AM

Some people think they know everything. Don’t bother going down the road to argue with him

Mute James Acaster
    Favourite James Acaster
    Oct 1st 2023, 10:03 AM

@Ian Cryan: I’d like to know if you have figured out that you are the slow fella here?

Mute UK Hurling Bloke
    Favourite UK Hurling Bloke
    Oct 1st 2023, 3:12 PM

@Ian Cryan: slack jawed dimwit! – “look at my likes” ! you’re hugely outnumbered now if “likes” is how you measure yourself

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sep 30th 2023, 8:03 PM

The Yanks are rattled. They can always comfort themselves that they the best in the world at sports where they don’t have to play the rest of the world.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Sep 30th 2023, 9:51 PM

@Louis Jacob: except for women’s football, basketball, tennis, athletics, swimming, skiing etc

Mute The Kenn
    Favourite The Kenn
    Oct 1st 2023, 1:08 AM

@Alan: School shootings

Mute Brian Heffernan
    Favourite Brian Heffernan
    Sep 30th 2023, 8:56 PM

I think someone on the US team called him Irish.

Sep 30th 2023, 9:44 PM

@Brian Heffernan:
    Well he’s better than that crowd in France
    Afraid to sing there there anthem

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Oct 1st 2023, 10:41 AM

Your spelling of the word their says a lot about you

Sep 30th 2023, 8:05 PM

Mcllroy showing his true colors that’s why he’s not liked

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Sep 30th 2023, 8:57 PM

@: He seems like a sound bloke to me. Handled the LIV thing very well.

Mute lWOk0fWf
    Favourite lWOk0fWf
    Sep 30th 2023, 9:08 PM

@: nah. He’s very much liked.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Sep 30th 2023, 9:22 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: I hear he doesn’t think cycle lanes are a good idea.

Mute EVAN MEADE
    Favourite EVAN MEADE
    Sep 30th 2023, 9:25 PM

How wrong are you?

Mute Elvis
    Favourite Elvis
    Sep 30th 2023, 10:11 PM

@: Paul McGinley likes him….

Mute Elvis
    Favourite Elvis
    Sep 30th 2023, 10:13 PM

@Elvis: Shane Lowry too !!

Mute Eoghan Ryan
    Favourite Eoghan Ryan
    Sep 30th 2023, 10:22 PM

Literally the most liked player amongst fellow players, hence his position as Chair of the players Council and role as a director on the PGA board. Only unliked by begrudgery filled neanderthals.

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Sep 30th 2023, 10:48 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: obsessed with liv

Mute Journal Commenter
    Favourite Journal Commenter
    Oct 1st 2023, 12:41 PM

@: he’s not liked because of Irish begrudgery and the fact he doesn’t have tiocfaidh at la tattooed across his forehead. Let’s be real here! He is actually a great ambassador for the game, is a really nice fella and always takes time out for fans etc. I have met Rory a couple of times and he actually is an absolute gentleman. He played for Ireland at the Olympic so you can drop that shite too. Too much politics in sport as it is.

Mute Paul A Kane
    Favourite Paul A Kane
    Sep 30th 2023, 7:41 PM

Up the Dubs .

Mute Dermot
    Favourite Dermot
    Sep 30th 2023, 7:58 PM

Storm in a Teecup.

Sep 30th 2023, 7:41 PM

Leo for taoiseach lads. #3inarow

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Sep 30th 2023, 7:51 PM

You seriously need to get a hobby if this is how you get your kicks on a Saturday night. Seriously.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Sep 30th 2023, 8:06 PM

Im reading some articles, not making homophopic remarks looking for reactions. Get a hobby lad, you’ll be glad of it.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Sep 30th 2023, 8:19 PM

Homophobic comment deleted. But you got my reaction so kudos to you.

Mute David O' Mahoney
    Favourite David O' Mahoney
    Sep 30th 2023, 9:12 PM

All this adulation of McIlroy. About time he actually won something again.

Mute Eoghan Ryan
    Favourite Eoghan Ryan
    Sep 30th 2023, 10:24 PM

@David O’ Mahoney: lol do keep up, who has won more?

Mute Jason Memail
    Favourite Jason Memail
    Sep 30th 2023, 10:46 PM

@David O’ Mahoney: Just the 24 PGA tour wins, with the most recent in July this year.

Mute Pat Barden
    Favourite Pat Barden
    Sep 30th 2023, 8:04 PM

Yanks trying to start another war well well well lol

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sep 30th 2023, 8:23 PM

As an old man in west cork one time: Them aul yanks are awful hoors with their aul shake hands.

Mute Brian CF
    Favourite Brian CF
    Sep 30th 2023, 8:01 PM

Hand bags.

Sep 30th 2023, 9:36 PM

He really frightened that poor yank pointing his finger at him like that

Mute Journal Factchecker
    Favourite Journal Factchecker
    Oct 1st 2023, 6:59 AM

Cantlaya caddy was being a ahole. He shouldn’t habe been up in his grill swinging his cap after Cantlay held his putt. A caddys job is to carry the bag and clean the clubs. They shouldn’t be allowed on rhe greens full stop. Rory was right to be pissed, well at the time anyway. Doesn’t surprise me it was Cantlays caddy either. The pleb is apparently causing issies in the in the US camp looking to be payed to play Ryder Cup…

Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Sep 30th 2023, 9:46 PM

I always knew that Rory is a GAA man at heart. Taking no excreta.

Mute Coc Caled
    Favourite Coc Caled
    Sep 30th 2023, 11:48 PM

Mcilroy showing is true colours red white and yellow of his native flag.

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Sep 30th 2023, 9:51 PM

Very basic characters, these golfers.

Mute Eoghan Ryan
    Favourite Eoghan Ryan
    Sep 30th 2023, 10:23 PM

@smatrix mantra: sweeping statement alert!!

Mute Robert Bradshaw
    Favourite Robert Bradshaw
    Oct 1st 2023, 7:46 AM

He’s a mouthpiece. When you google incidents he’s been involved in, there’s a pretty big list to choose from.

Oct 1st 2023, 2:02 PM

He’s lucky the fight was stopped the caddie lad would have beaten him