You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Watch: Bernie Sanders booed for telling his supporters to elect Hillary Clinton

The Democratic Convention hasn’t got off to the smoothest of starts.

https://www.facebook.com/bbcnews/videos/10153782009602217/

BERNIE SANDERS SUPPORTERS booed and jeered when the Vermont Senator called on them to support Hillary Clinton at the Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia.

The unrest comes amid a party row over leaked emails that’s disrupting Clinton’s bid to present a united front against Donald Trump.

Speaking to followers ahead of a speech on the convention floor tonight, Sanders slammed the Republican as a “demagogue.”

Clinton will make history on Thursday when she formally accepts the Democratic presidential nomination — the first woman to lead a major party’s White House ticket.

But two new polls showed Trump surging since his confirmation last week as the Republican presidential nominee, with a CNN poll putting him three points ahead of Clinton — a six-point post-convention bump.

“We have got to defeat Donald Trump. We have got to elect Hillary Clinton and Tim Kaine,” Sanders told a gathering hours before the opening of the four-day convention in Philadelphia.

“Trump is a bully and a demagogue,” said the senator from Vermont, whose call to support Clinton was met with loud jeers and chants of “We want Bernie!”

Sanders lost the primary race, but after he endorsed Clinton — and with the party desperate to present a show of unity — he has been offered a prime speaking tonight, along with popular liberal senator Elizabeth Warren.

The Democratic confab was formally opened this evening with chants of ‘Bernie! Bernie!’ heard around the arena as it began.

Even before it began, the party was scrambling to contain the damage caused by thousands of leaked emails that showed its leaders had sought to undermine Sanders during his primary battle with Clinton.

The FBI said it was investigating the “cyber intrusion” at the Democratic National Committee (DNC), which the Clinton campaign blamed on Russian hackers bent on helping Trump.

The agency said in a statement it was “working to determine the nature and scope of the matter.”

DEM 2016 Philadelphia Some Sanders supporters have been protesting at the convention. AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

‘Shame!’

Anti-secrecy website WikiLeaks at the weekend released nearly 20,000 emails from between January 2015 and May 2016, gleaned by hackers who apparently raided the accounts of seven DNC leaders.

At least two of the messages showed senior committee members were keen to undermine the Sanders campaign by seeking to raise questions about his faith and Jewish heritage.

The DNC this evening released an official apology to Sanders saying that the remarks made over email were “inexcusable”.

DNC chairwoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz abruptly announced her resignation on Sunday, effective at the end of the convention.

But frustrations about the crisis boiled this morning when delegates loudly booed her as she addressed a Florida delegation breakfast.

Delegates chanted “Shame!” and held up laser-printed signs that simply read “E-mails.”

Wasserman Schultz, a Florida congresswoman, had stubbornly insisted she would still open and close the convention, but after the reception she got this morning, she reversed course.

MSNBC / YouTube

“I have decided that in the interest of making sure that we can start the Democratic convention on a high note that I am not going to gavel in the convention,” Wasserman Schultz told the Sun Sentinel newspaper.

‘We need to move on’

Her about-face marked the latest effort by Democrats to steady a rocky ship after a hard-fought primary campaign.

The party is seeking to project a more unified message than the Republicans did at their convention last week in Cleveland, where fissures over Trump’s candidacy were laid bare.

“The Democrats are in a total meltdown,” Trump taunted on Twitter.

Trump has long sought to scoop up disaffected voters who feel Sanders — a self-described democratic socialist — was denied a fair shot at the nomination.

First lady takes the podium

Sanders and First Lady Michelle Obama headline the first day of the Democratic convention.

Recently added to Monday’s program is Warren, whose support for Clinton could help convince skeptical left-wing voters to get behind the nominee.

Many in the Sanders camp have also voiced disappointment with Clinton’s choice of centre-left running mate Kaine, a senator from Virginia, instead of a more liberal firebrand like Warren.

Former president Bill Clinton is the star speaker at the convention Tuesday, while President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden take the stage Wednesday.

© – AFP 2016 with reporting by Rónán Duffy

Read: Democratic National Convention kicks off in Philadelphia with huge protests >

Read: Leaked Bernie Sanders emails a headache for Hillary as convention gets set to kick off >

View 104 comments
104 Comments
    Mute #Nimby1
    Favourite #Nimby1
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:33 AM

It’s very easy to make this guy look bad as he obviously isn’t too nice to begin with but priory hall was a failure on the part of building regulation in this country. If proper regulation existed no bank would have given a mortgage on a property in this development in the first place and this Guy would probably have never developed anything bigger than a kitchen extension.

Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:34 AM

True,
    But its far easier to make this guy look bad when he thinks he’s done nothing wrong to begin with,

Mute tmwtbc
    Favourite tmwtbc
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:39 AM

Granting the mortgages wasn’t the problem, it was the standard of the build to begin with and for this there was and is proper (building) regulations. The problem was that these regulations weren’t enforced.

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:44 AM

Can we expect an interview with the architects who signed off on the building? I doubt it.

Mute #Nimby1
    Favourite #Nimby1
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:49 AM

Yes this is my point Building regulations aren’t enforced which means banks give mortgages on poorly built developments , no cert of compliance , no mortgage , no properties sold , developer goes broke.
    Thing is engineers and architects did sign off on this development why are they not being investigated?

Mute Michael Coughlan
    Favourite Michael Coughlan
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:06 AM

I have always wondered this, he was the developer the money man. I presume he paid out tons to so called professional architects and engineers who failed miserably at their jobs or did he???..also be under no illusion priory hall is probably the tip of the iceberg when you consider the amount of mickey mouse developers that popped up here in a few years on cheap money!!

Mute Tinker Taylor
    Favourite Tinker Taylor
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:13 AM

Priory isnt the only “questionable” developement by his company

Mute Darren Callaghan
    Favourite Darren Callaghan
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:18 AM

Still to this day who signs off on the fire certificates for a new build, yes that’s right the bloody builder himself, I’d say thousands of people are at risk if fire breaks out in a fair few builds in this country ,we need proper regulations now before building on large scale starts again, but in this crazy country you know it will take a fire to sweep through a building killing people for them to get the bloody finger out and pass proper legislation with a building control dept set up and Fire Marshall’s working in conjunction with them, simple eh ! We shall see

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:27 AM

If he was only “the money man” then he is not qualified to say that there is nothing wrong with Priory Hall. He is an utter disgrace. He should apologise personally to each family for the misery he caused them, be it directly or indirectly

Mute Tinker Taylor
    Favourite Tinker Taylor
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:37 AM

There is new leglislation and thats the problem. Architects and Engineers are now responsible for signing off and confirming that the installation was built in accordance with regulations. Now this sound like a good thing until you look at it in detail. Architects and Engineers get no additional fees for this work even though it requires more time on site and unlike the building inspectors in the UK, they dont have the authority to stop construction work until they are happy. Also can you imagine an architect employed by a builder who then tells said builder to cease all activities until a full inspection is carried out…. not in this world. The Irish boyo’s didnt need to reinvent the wheel here, all they needed to do was look to the UK. Statutory building control officers employed by the council visit all sites at all important stages to ensure compliance with regulations. On many occasions they have colsed sites for non-compliance and as a result there is confidence in the system and as a result, the end product….i.e. a safe building.

Mute Raymond mccaul
    Favourite Raymond mccaul
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:51 AM

Hi tinker. What you say is true and architects have no power to stop a building.But what the new regs have done is put the onus solely on the engineers and architects so to ensure compliance. Sure they can sign off all they want on a shoddy build but if something down the line shows up due to non compliance the responsibility and liability for that rests with the person/persons that signed off

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:25 AM

Nimby1, I think you’ll find that a cert of compliance was issued by the architects.

Mute Tony Lenihan
    Favourite Tony Lenihan
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:37 AM

Why should Engineers & architects get paid more money , they were happy enough to just sign (&charge huge money)off buildings with out making sure all regs were met during building stage , so now they actually have to get off their arses and do inspections they want more money, so what were they getting paid for before? Signing off buildings and no responsibility?? Money for jam!!

Mute Mumble Mumble
    Favourite Mumble Mumble
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:38 AM

Architect’s are entitled to instruct a builder to suspend or open up work until they are satisfied that it is done in accordance with the contracts. They are also entitled to instruct the builder to demolish and re-build anything not done correctly. It’s no excuse that an Architect wouldn’t stand up to a developer becaue the developer is paying his bill. In that case the Architect needs to grow a pair.

Regarding fees, when bidding for projects consultant should reflect the level of supervision required in their fees. Simple as.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:49 AM

@Ciaran. I would start with the lending institutions that gave out the money and never checked if they bought a pup or a home ! How were they to get their investment back if it went tits up ? They in my opinion should take a bigger percentage of the hit.

Mute Animal
    Favourite Animal
    Feb 25th 2014, 11:14 AM

From the size of that lad it’s been a while since he was last on hunger strike….!

Mute Nicola Kean
    Favourite Nicola Kean
    Feb 25th 2014, 11:56 AM

He has a face you would never get tired of punching!

Mute Joe Conway
    Favourite Joe Conway
    Feb 25th 2014, 12:12 PM

Allow the building industry to self regulate? That’s the root of the problem. Now we have an opportunity to start again and put in place a proper regulatory regime – but will we do it?

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Feb 25th 2014, 4:47 PM

How many houses have you come across we’re the pipes are insulated? None but yet the house has a triple A rating!

Mute dominic
    Favourite dominic
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:45 AM

McFeely’s creation: Ugly and Dangerous

Feb 26th 2014, 10:07 AM

Low life, evil character

Mute Birch Barlow
    Favourite Birch Barlow
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:27 AM

I would love to see this chaps teeth kicked down his throat. A horrible person and IRA man to boot.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:40 AM

And certainly brings ‘deluded’ to a whole new level with these comments…

Actually scratch that – what I should have said was that he must be as delusional as Bertie to have made these comments.

Mute Jonathan Barr
    Favourite Jonathan Barr
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:54 AM

Why didn’t you just erase the first comment and leave the second?

Mute Rúairí O’ Sullivan
    Favourite Rúairí O’ Sullivan
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:49 AM

He’s been coached by Bertie

Mute GATHERINGYOURMONEY14
    Favourite GATHERINGYOURMONEY14
    Feb 25th 2014, 11:27 AM

“I don’t think Priory Hall is a shoddy building”
    The state Engineers seemed to have agreed with you on that one.

Compared to the rest of the sh1te that was thrown together and signed off on during the boom?
    You’re probably right Mr McFeely.
    The same cowboy’s worked and signed off on all the sites around Dublin.

Mute Úibh Fàile Ór
    Favourite Úibh Fàile Ór
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:31 AM

Pat Mustard??

Mute Salvage Guy
    Favourite Salvage Guy
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:54 AM

Lol

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:33 AM

Were Jammin, Ruairi, Mike etc etc etc etc etc????

Mute Sean Flanagan
    Favourite Sean Flanagan
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:35 AM

There’s a lot of hairy babies on this island…

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:47 AM

Yet another sleveen swipe from sh1t stirring *st*ink toner the coward.

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:38 AM

No comment Mike? Ha Ha Ha. Corrupt politicians how are ya , like who can we trust now??? P/S Mike I’m only doing what you spend your time at, slagging & sniping at everyone that has a different view than you & your buddies!

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:55 AM

Seriously *st*ink toner, is that the best you can come up with ?.
    I would have thought a mouthpiece wannabe could do better.

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 25th 2014, 11:12 AM

Mike you can dish it but you just can’t take it! The true sign of a bully! Grow up there’s a good lad !

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 25th 2014, 12:12 PM

Spoken like a true cowardly party mouthpiece.

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 25th 2014, 1:59 PM

Just like yourself Mick……..

Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:31 AM

He’s a twisted little man,

He didn’t care about the blood on his hands because of his involvement in the IRA and he doesn’t care about the blood on his hands through his dealings with priory hall.

He only cares about himself,

Mute Steve Bang
    Favourite Steve Bang

Worst hunger strike ever

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:57 AM

Never finishes what he started…the warning signs were there.

Feb 25th 2014, 10:16 AM

Needs to go to Weight watchers

Mute bob®
    Favourite bob®

Let him live there then

Mute Ferg Breen
    Favourite Ferg Breen

“What would I apologise for?”
    It’s hard to believe someone could have an attitude like this. Hideous. He shouldn’t get airtime or space on a page. His words will only cause distress to those he has caused so much hurt and pain to.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly

I see a future in politics for him.

Mute Orela Krawczyk
    Favourite Orela Krawczyk

Vile excuse for a human

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major

The guilty will always rationalize their behaviour or actions. As time goes on Mr. McFeely will rewrite history and try to convince the world that he was the victim.

Mute Steve Bang
    Favourite Steve Bang
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:08 AM

He should get a job in Parnell Square so

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:32 AM

He should of gotten in to politics. He would feel at hone in the Dail with the rest of the chancers.

Mute James Comiskey
    Favourite James Comiskey
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:01 AM

He would be ideal and bound to be popular with the Sinn Fein grass roots . Could be a future Sinn Fein president

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:36 AM

He should name the other building which are as bad as Priory Hall. If they are that bad then they need to be condemned too.

Mute Debbie Keegan
    Favourite Debbie Keegan
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:41 AM

Beggars belief that he is being given air time. The Priory Hall residents have finally been given a financial settlement. For one family the horror of Priory Hall will never be over. Let them attempt to move on and rebuild shattered lives without this sc*mbag adding more hurt

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:49 AM

if he never had any problem with being involved with an organisation that murdered women and children out shopping I think Ill pass on any judgements he has to make

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:39 AM

He is actually a very high quality developer, only using the very best of materials.

For maximum insulation, he wraps bathroom plumbing with several layers of €50 notes, they say.

Mute Rahim Nazarali
    Favourite Rahim Nazarali
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:44 AM

This guy is so arrogant this development looks hidious and not to mention all the stress those residents went through e

Mute Salvage Guy
    Favourite Salvage Guy
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:55 AM

Fine belly on him .

Mute Noel Hogan
    Favourite Noel Hogan
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:50 AM

No doubt someone on here will hold him up as a great businessman done down by the media.

Dirty swine!

Mute BroadSideSkid
    Favourite BroadSideSkid
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:59 AM

“Cowboys, Ted! They’re all a bunch of Cowboys!”

Mute Paddy Lyons
    Favourite Paddy Lyons
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:26 AM

SF/IRA-type thugs live on a different planet.

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:42 AM

Just another SF/IRA terrorist making peoples lives miserable, it never changes, what a vile organisation

Mute Jorge Thompson
    Favourite Jorge Thompson
    Feb 25th 2014, 11:09 AM

Now there is a true Irish Republican – when it suits him he goes crawling to England to get his bankruptcy done rather than in Ireland. A real true Republican

Mute Ken Dunleavy
    Favourite Ken Dunleavy
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:15 AM

I wouldn’t mind knowing where he got all his money from to start with. Didn’t think the Ira paid big wages

Mute Steve Bang
    Favourite Steve Bang
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:19 AM

Their retirement plan includes a TD or MLA pension though.

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman

Just another SF/IRA terrorist making peoples lives miserable, it never changes, what a vile organisation

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:23 AM

Former hunger striker? Jesus, he has recovered well.

Mute michael finucane
    Favourite michael finucane
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:15 AM

Anyone who thinks Priory Hall is a one off event has their head in the sand. There’s many a timber frame development that will fall apart in 40-50 years. Many mortgages will outlive the houses they pay for. It’s a ticking bomb…

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton

Spoken like a true coward that chooses to mouth off from behind a false account.
    Why not come out from behind your many accounts.. (I think we all know the answer to that)
    Just as an aside, I personally think this man behaved in a disgraceful and despicable manner and he and his family should be made live in the apartments.
    I will however watch the report on tv and make my own mind up.
    After all, our government and senior Garda wouldn’t set anyone up, would they ?

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 25th 2014, 11:19 AM

He is a shinner what else would you expect of him

Mute Paddy Lyons
    Favourite Paddy Lyons
    Feb 25th 2014, 11:30 AM

SF need deluded simpletons like Mike to support them.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 25th 2014, 12:19 PM

Speaking of deluded simpletons, I see paddy lyons has reared its pig ugly head along with the rest of the hacks.

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 25th 2014, 4:03 PM

Typical abuse from the Shinnerbots

Mute Alan Doyle
    Favourite Alan Doyle
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:34 AM

Plain and simple a f…king lowlife only looking out for himself …sure what else would one expect from a Sinn Fein / Ira member

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:36 AM

At least he is being honest – i.e. He’d build this sort of poor quality using shoddy materials again if I had the chance.

Once built it is near impossible for a surveyor or architect to determine pyritic blocks have been used in internal structures beneath plaster. That should be a builder’s liability to do correctly.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:40 AM

All relative. Priory hall is a palace compared to his excrement wall papered walls in his cell in H Block. Compared to his latest home Priory hall is H Block.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:41 AM

All These type of cowboy builders should be forced to live in there shoddy buildings untill all the problems with the buildings are solved.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:30 AM

if you saw this guys photo would you buy an apartment off him

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:50 AM

Lower than a pregnant snakes belly !

Mute chris
    Favourite chris
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:30 AM

Pay mustard lives

Mute Frank Lyspeak
    Favourite Frank Lyspeak

It’s a disgrace. Obviously he cut some corners to save a buck so how can he say that there’s nothing shoddy about the building.
    On the other hand we can’t blame the architects. They only signed the thing off because they were assured that the developer built according to the plans. The plans were approved by Bord Planala which means they were good. An architect can’t be there all the time to make sure everything is being built correctly, and by the time he does a site inspection the walls are up. What is he supposed to do? Take all down to see what’s under?
    It’s like going to the Chemist and asking for medicine. He doesn’t know what’s in those pills. He trusts the maker who wrote everything on the label. If the stuff you take is not good it’s not the chemist’s fault, it’s the manufacturer. If you have a bad reaction to the medication again it’s not his fault, it’s yours. If you told him and he gave you the thing anyway then yes. If you asked you about allergies or stuff and you said no and take the pills he can’t be blamed. How was he supposed to know if you didn’t tell him?
    The same with architects. How are they supposed to know there was no insulation? They can’t see through walls. They asked, they were told and they signed it off.
    Just like we can’t blame the banks for giving out mortgages. Now tell me how were they to know that those houses weren’t fit for living in?
    In conclusion…it’s the builder. The rules were there, the plans were approved and marked as adhering to the rules but the execution was faulty.
    I could go on and on…think about the cars being recalled. It’s not the retailers fault the breaks aren’t working, it’s the manufacture’s, that’s why they call them back to fix them.

Mute Raymond mccaul
    Favourite Raymond mccaul
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:04 AM

Frank.That why the new building regulations which come into force this week are there for.They are not a complete fix but they are an improvement on what was there

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:30 AM

“On the other hand we can’t blame the architects. ”

Are you serious Frank? The architects signed off that the building was compliant, if they couldn’t be bothered checking that’s their problem.

Do you seriously think that they had no-one on site during construction works? A development of this size would have a rep. from the architects on site at least 3 days a week.

The local authority don’t come out of this smelling of roses either.

The sad part is this………….. nothing has changed.

Mute Mumble Mumble
    Favourite Mumble Mumble
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:48 AM

“and by the time he [the Architect] does a site inspection the walls are up”. You must be joking Frank! Ciaran’s right, the Architect (and Engineer) should have been on site as often as was necessary to verify that works were done correctly.

“What is he supposed to do? Take all down to see what’s under?”. Yes, that’s exactly what he is meant to do. Most building contracts specifically include clauses for opening up work for inspection to verify it is done correctly. It is a common part of construction contracts, especially large developments like Priory Hall.

Absolutely McFeeley is the main culprit here and rightly so. But the professionals, consultants and local authorities that were meant to be overseeing the works also have questions to answer.

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:59 AM

Raymond, the new building regulations make the person who signs off responsible. The old building regulations did exactly the same thing.
    So, I appoint myself as an authorised signatory, take out my pi insurance and sign away. If i goof up, you have to sue me.
    The new regulations put everything back on to the property owner if things go wrong, meanwhile the local authorities have even less responsibility than they previously had and the various ministers responsible (environment, local authorities, planning) are off scot free.

Mute Raymond mccaul
    Favourite Raymond mccaul
    Feb 25th 2014, 12:09 PM

I hear what your saying ciaran and by all means correct me if I’m wrong but what you are saying is fine for one off builds of domestic dwellings etc But in this case where it’s a large scale multiple units was it not very cloudy of who was responsible ie. Mcfeely or the architects with one blaming the other.My understanding of the new regs is that they clearly put the blame should anything go wrong on the person who signed off ie. Professionally qualified etc I am talking here solely in cases like priory hall where the developer became the contractor etc

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    Feb 25th 2014, 1:51 PM

Why is this man not arrested and tried for bad building practice?

It’s a strange Country we live in!

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:23 AM

This gangster puts a whole new meaning to the word “cowboy”.

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman

Can never trust anyone from SF/IRA gangsters the lot of them

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 25th 2014, 12:14 PM

Never trust a cowardly mouthpiece that needs to hide behind a number of false identities.

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 25th 2014, 1:17 PM

Never trust a shinner

Mute Helen Dwyer
    Favourite Helen Dwyer
    Feb 25th 2014, 3:27 PM

I lived in priory hall, you could look straight on at the doors and could see the architrave wasn’t even straight to the wall, it didn’t have any 90 degree angle corners which made it very hard to move furniture anywhere, and is he arguing with fire marshalls?? someone let an architect loose and then got it built as cheap as possible

Mute BroadSideSkid
    Favourite BroadSideSkid
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:06 AM

Modern ‘Culture’ will eat itself.
    The Pap/Tabloid thing is fed by the Kardashian/ X Factor thing.
    People like S Ni B just get caught in the crossfire. She’s blonde & beautiful so she’s ‘Fair Game’.
    “She wouldn’t be in the red tops if she she had a face like a welders bench, now would she?”

Mute Joe Curran
    Favourite Joe Curran
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:19 AM

i agree but whats that got to do with tom McFeely?

Mute Frances Faller
    Favourite Frances Faller
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:35 AM

Joe, you need to read the papers and watch the news or better still speak to the priory hall residents.

Mute Joe Curran
    Favourite Joe Curran
    Feb 25th 2014, 11:01 AM

Frances Read my Comment its a “REPLY” to BroadSide Skid s comment …. your sense of humour bypass operation must have been a complete success ….

Mute Frances Faller
    Favourite Frances Faller
    Feb 25th 2014, 2:37 PM

I dont think its a joke, and I wouldn’t think the Priory hall former residents see the joke either.

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Feb 25th 2014, 12:04 PM

Are the Shinners in the Dail this morning calling for “A Commision of Enquiry” into Priory Hall, the money in his bathroom, how the Northern Bank money got to Cork etc. I doubt it.

Mute Lm group
    Favourite Lm group
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:06 PM

Mc feely was only a front, google tom mc feely and his partners, especially the judge, nice reading indeed

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    Feb 26th 2014, 12:59 PM

Are there any Building Regulations in Ireland?

If so, why are corrupt builders not prosecuted?

Do Architects have to inspect new buildings and certify them to be properly built and in compliance with Planning Laws?

If not why not?

Strange Country!

We need proper standards for the future!

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:39 PM

Try as I may to resist, I keep feeling that a little IRA style violence would not go amiss but I understand that the man is protected by Sinn Fein. Ironic.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Feb 25th 2014, 4:31 PM

I heard he is running for election next time out.

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Feb 25th 2014, 4:45 PM

They should enforce regulations to stop builders employing dozens of apprentices. There should only be 2 apprentices per 1 fully qualified worker. Construction company directors and owners should also be qualified to a min fetac level 5. This should help stop the “bob the builder” times