You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo

'We know it rains in Ireland. It's just not on': Emergency motion on Sandymount bathing ban

A similar bathing ban has been lifted at Dollymount after raw sewage washed up on the beach.

A BATHING BAN introduced on Friday at Dublin’s Sandymount strand remains in place today.

Dublin City Council said the ban came after heavy rainfall led to sewage washing up on the beaches from the River Liffey.

The temporary bathing ban came into place on Friday evening at Dollymount and Sandymount strands but a spokesperson for DCC confirmed the ban remains in place in Sandymount today.

The spokesperson said: “Following laboratory analysis results for the bathing water sample taken on Friday 9 June, the temporary bathing ban will remain in place for Sandymount Strand.

A further example was taken yesterday and another is due to be taken today, as part of this season’s schedule, with results for both rounds of samples being available on Wednesday 14 June.

Local Green Party representative for Clontarf Donna Cooney said that bathers, the local economy and the local environment will suffer if sewage and drainage systems are not updated in the area.

Sinn Féin councillors have tabled an emergency motion at Dublin City Council, and the matter will be debated this evening.

Councillor Chris Andrews told TheJournal.ie that it was urgent to get to the bottom of the matter quickly.

He said: “We need to find out the precise reasons why this happened, beyond just that issues around rainfall and flooding.

We’re in Ireland. We know it rains a lot. It’s not acceptable that these can be closed.

“We need to get more clarification,” Andrews said. “I’m looking for information on what needs to be done to prevent this from happening again.”

Commenting on the continued ban in Sandymount, the Green Party has called for urgent action to address issues with Dublin’s waste water treatment systems.

Its leader TD Eamon Ryan said: “Water quality failures threaten public health, tourism and the environment. Bathers are at risk of skin irritation and illness if exposed to pollution in these areas.

Tourism is a huge driver of the economy in coastal areas, and must be protected.

The Green Party’s Donna Cooney added: “I, like many Dubs, swim regularly in the sea. Warm weather is set to return on Wednesday, and we fear tourism could be negatively affected by these water quality issues.

Flash flooding is becoming more common and unpredictable as the weather associated with the effects of climate change. Our sewage and drainage systems need to be upgraded extensively to deal with this reality.

Read: Going for a dip this weekend? Avoid Dollymount and Sandymount

Read: More remains have been found in the Wicklow Mountains

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

31 Comments
    Mute Gordon Comstock
    Favourite Gordon Comstock
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:13 PM

Why are candles that are white and cylindrical zero-VAT? What a strange exclusion.

Mute lorcmulv
    Favourite lorcmulv
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:20 PM

@Gordon Comstock: exactly – and why are white candles the same price as coloured candles in shops – does this just apply to churches – or are shops overcharging us for white candles

Mute Joe Clery
    Favourite Joe Clery
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:08 PM

@Gordon Comstock: Its a simple old thing – no VAT on the basic item made from basic stock , but something added Value i.e dye, scent, moulding gets Value Added Tax.. It makes scents (ha!) back in the day, but no TD wants to lose his seat over changing it. Now the crime is, that its actually a subsidty to shopkeepers. I dont think simple white candles are any cheaper than same shape pink scented.

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:09 PM

@Gordon Comstock: because household candles were designated as an essential item once upon a time. Coloured ones were considered a luxury. Whether it was also because Churches use them, I’m not so sure.

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Jun 3rd 2020, 9:34 AM

@Gordon Comstock: Religion is a tax-free business.

Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:11 PM

The taxman at the end of his whick

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jun 3rd 2020, 1:56 AM

@Euro McPúnty: ‘Twas a burning question alright!! The Revenue sniffed something amiss.

Mute Motherofthree
    Favourite Motherofthree
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:25 PM

If they didn’t charge VAT then they didn’t gain anything and they’ll be down 400k, which i don’t know the ins and outs of candle companies but I imagine it could put them out of business.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:05 PM

@Motherofthree: because they were treating the candles as zero rated they would have been able to claim VAT back on their vatable expenses meaning they would always be in a VAT refund position, so they would have gained something.

Mute Rmc
    Favourite Rmc
    Jun 2nd 2020, 11:21 PM

@Sam Harms: @Sam Harms: No they wouldn’t. All a vat refund position means is that you spent more vat on purchases than you took in on sales. If your product had a correct zero vat rate then you could always be in a refund position but you never got the sales vat in, so no benefit. Short story is there is no benefit either way on vat, you’re just collecting it for revenue.

Mute The Upside-down Triangle
    Favourite The Upside-down Triangle
    Jun 3rd 2020, 12:12 AM

@Rmc: you have no idea what you are talking about.

Mute Rmc
    Favourite Rmc
    Jun 3rd 2020, 12:33 AM

@The Upside-down Triangle: 25 years as an accountant wasted so! If all your sales products were zero rated you’re still allowed claim back the vat on trade purchases.,so you’d get a refund. If they had charged the vat correctly the customers would have paid it and it would have been passed on to revenue. They didn’t so revenue are out of pocket.

Mute Sven Gilmore
    Favourite Sven Gilmore
    Jun 3rd 2020, 6:27 AM

@Motherofthree: Very possible that this could result in a business closure. Makes no scents at all. Maybe the High Court will overturn the decision – there could be light at the end of the tunnel yet.

Mute Odie Odie
    Favourite Odie Odie
    Jun 3rd 2020, 9:08 PM

@The Upside-down Triangle: Clear as muck now, figures either way, we’ll never know, the posts will keep moving, I think you nailed it though.

Mute Misty Eyed Mutton
    Favourite Misty Eyed Mutton
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:44 PM

It seemed to me that you lived your life
    Like a candle in the wind,
    Never bothering about VAT returns
    When the sales rolled in.
    I woulda liked to know you
    But I was just a kid
    Your tapered candle burnt out long before
    Your repayments ever will…

Mute Daff. Myers
    Favourite Daff. Myers
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:00 AM

@Misty Eyed Mutton: very good

Mute Andrew Mc Garry
    Favourite Andrew Mc Garry
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:39 PM

Reveune need to lighten up

Mute Ronan Dunne
    Favourite Ronan Dunne
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:12 PM

@Andrew Mc Garry: and you need to learn how to spell !

Mute FecklessBear
    Favourite FecklessBear
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:02 PM

@Ronan Dunne: flute

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:16 PM

Maybe they should appeal to Wax Appeals Commission

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jun 3rd 2020, 7:56 AM

@Larry Betts:
    That would be an ecumenical matter.

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Jun 3rd 2020, 9:11 AM

@Larry Betts: You’re beginning to wax lyrical about this.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Jun 3rd 2020, 10:49 AM

@Garreth Byrne: it’s a wicked wacky wax tax,whacked on wicked wax.Which they must pay,without delay,in fact for being lax.

Mute Aidan Mitchell
    Favourite Aidan Mitchell
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:35 PM

Holy smokes!

Mute Janis Lazdans
    Favourite Janis Lazdans
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:20 PM

Since this company collects VAT on behalf of the government, this bill should be paid by the end client, namely, church :D

Mute Aidan Mitchell
    Favourite Aidan Mitchell
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:33 PM

@Janis Lazdans: you do know this makes zero sense.

If they were quoted €100 for candles…. And they paid €100 for the candles… They can’t go back 4 years later and go oh you owe us another €21 because we forgot to add the vat on.

Now I know your comment was merely because it was the church but your argument was weak a.f.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:49 PM

@Aidan Mitchell:

Janis has a point!
    A few mistakes made. Maybe a misunderstanding, given it involved ⛪️- a Charity, doing great work in community – not subject to vat, t/fore not able to claim back any chgd by supplier. There probably was a time, when CC was at peak of its powers in

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Jun 3rd 2020, 4:57 AM

@Aidan Mitchell: fork handles you say

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:45 PM

Were they apple or garlic shaped?

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:06 PM

Would it not be an idea to sell cylindrical candles accompanied by a tapering kit similar to a pencil sharpener?

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Jun 2nd 2020, 11:32 PM

And this is why people regard the Revenue as useless spongers, who tax you at every opportunity and then when you sell your business, that you’ve given years of your life to, and had sleepless nights about, they take 33% of your sakle gain, for doing absolutely nothing!

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Jun 3rd 2020, 6:31 AM

@Ian McDonald: I presume you understand that the useless sponger Revenue are collecting tax used to build roads, run schools, pay Garda and, to keep it topical, pay the nurses and doctors working in hospitals with covid.

Mute John Meany
    Favourite John Meany
    Jun 3rd 2020, 9:13 AM

@Conall: and pay their political bosses their massive salaries and hugh pensions

Mute Barry Brady
    Favourite Barry Brady
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:35 PM

That’s bound to get on their wick!!!

Mute Stan Kowalskis
    Favourite Stan Kowalskis
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:39 PM

@Barry Brady: bit late to the party there baz.

Mute Sean Callan
    Favourite Sean Callan
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:43 PM

@Barry Brady:
    I’ll bet they won’t be waxing lyrical on this decision??

Mute Noel Huston
    Favourite Noel Huston
    Jun 2nd 2020, 11:42 PM

@Sean Callan: or they were burning the candle at both ends

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:55 PM

Utter horse sh€t, I mean is this actually real!!!!

Mute Odie Odie
    Favourite Odie Odie
    Jun 3rd 2020, 1:36 PM

@Jun Stone: Yeah right, putting VAT on value added processes, only in Ireland eh ? Oh wait….

Mute Ulick Stafford
    Favourite Ulick Stafford
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:36 PM

More amazing silly stuff from our government – court and revenue. Safe slightly conical candles are a luxury. Less safe cylindrical ones are zero rated. Perhaps it’s a cunning plot to burn down churches?

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:12 PM

@Ulick Stafford: It’s a wacky tax that’s whacked on wax

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:55 PM

The church getting yet another tax break

Mute Joe Clery
    Favourite Joe Clery
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:15 PM

@Barry: No – same break is there for everyone, in fact its tax break to shops .. No shop sells white candles any less.

Mute Kevin Davy
    Favourite Kevin Davy
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:18 PM

Money up in smoke

Mute Barry Lynch
    Favourite Barry Lynch
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:56 PM

Revenue would get on your wick.

Mute Barry Lynch
    Favourite Barry Lynch
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:57 PM

Should have read comments first. I thought I was a genius there.

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:33 PM

The executive’s in that company won’t be burning the candle at both ends this year no doubt

Mute Misty Eyed Mutton
    Favourite Misty Eyed Mutton
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:38 PM

Those candles were just resting on account of the tapered shape, your honour.

Mute Kevin Byrne
    Favourite Kevin Byrne
    Jun 3rd 2020, 12:24 AM

These people have been operating tax free for years on a loophole in the law where colourless candles are exempt from vat because not everybody had electricity back when It has to have been very unfair on there competitors .

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:13 PM

Such utter tripe

Mute Danny O' Mahony
    Favourite Danny O' Mahony
    Jun 3rd 2020, 3:39 AM

Fair play to the Journal for shining a light on this case

Mute Pat O'Gorman
    Favourite Pat O'Gorman
    Jun 3rd 2020, 7:00 AM

There’s a case for WRC if straight white are being treated different than shapely, scented coloured.

Mute Margaret Doyle
    Favourite Margaret Doyle
    Jun 3rd 2020, 12:44 AM

Should’ve been a baker instead of a candle maker.

Mute Odie Odie
    Favourite Odie Odie
    Jun 3rd 2020, 1:41 PM

@Margaret Doyle: You mean candle stick maker ? Vat chance :)

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman
    Jun 3rd 2020, 8:50 AM

The Irish tax systems do like to make life complicated

Mute Odie Odie
    Favourite Odie Odie
    Jun 3rd 2020, 1:39 PM

@Geoff Bateman: Yep, putting VAT on value added processes is really complicated stuff, ask any accountant, oh wait…

Mute Kieran Henry
    Favourite Kieran Henry
    Jun 3rd 2020, 10:40 AM

Sorry I clicking wrong item. I was looking for fork handles.

Mute Alan Redmond
    Favourite Alan Redmond
    Jun 3rd 2020, 1:47 PM

If they were all supplied to a church (which I presume is considered a business and VAT registered) then the church would have been able to claim the VAT back if applied. So Revenue would be in the same position either way and wouldn’t have lost out, or am I missing something?

Mute Odie Odie
    Favourite Odie Odie
    Jun 3rd 2020, 1:31 PM

Shower of melts the whole lot of them, melts, burned out melts.

Mute Ciaran Daly
    Favourite Ciaran Daly
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:54 AM

I was in the retail candle business for years.
    All Church candles were VAT free
    All coloured or ball shaped candles were 23% VAT.

I asked once about the reason to a manufacturer. Answer was simple.
    No VAT to be charged to The Church!
    A little known tax break made many moons ago.
    Any other candle of any type full VAT.
    In the old days we had a different key on the cash register for non VAT Church candles.

It was fully acknowledged it was all down to the Bishops telling some tax department you will make our candles tax free!

Mute Val Ruscheniko
    Favourite Val Ruscheniko
    Jun 4th 2020, 5:45 AM

The manufacturer is indeed trying to burn the candle at both ends!

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jun 3rd 2020, 9:22 AM

Did he collect the Vat though? Was it on his invoices.

Mute Odie Odie
    Favourite Odie Odie
    Jun 3rd 2020, 1:33 PM

@Shawn O’Ceallaghan: Are you serious ?

Mute Anthony Spillane
    Favourite Anthony Spillane
    Jun 3rd 2020, 7:27 PM

Value Added Wax !