You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Provision

Saving money in your 20s and 30s? It CAN be done - and here's how

We talked to successful savers for their tips on squirrelling it away.

This article is part of our Change Generation project, supported by KBC. To read more click here.

EIGHT OUT OF TEN Irish people aged 25-34 say they intend to splurge on a big-ticket item before the end of 2017.

The figures from the most recent Vision-Net Recovery Index (carried out by Amárach Research) show that while a third of people in this cohort are more relaxed about spending now than they were this time last year, the recession is still in the back of their minds and they are saving more because of it.

Almost half of this age group are planning to use those savings to fund a big-ticket purchase – such as a holiday, a car, a wedding or a deposit for a house.

But just how do people manage to save for anything in their 20s and 30s, when all your money seems to be long gone before the next payday is even a twinkle in your eye?

We talked to some people who successfully squirrelled away some cash for something they had set their sights on, and asked them just how they did it.

Share YOUR saving tips in the comments below…

Thirty-one-year-old Sarah McIntyre from Letterkenny, Co Donegal bought a house in Dublin with her boyfriend last year.

She told theJournal.ie that they managed to save up for the deposit by putting a large chunk of their wages into savings and forcing themselves to survive on what was left.

I set up a direct debit to take €250 out of each paycheck. I get paid fortnightly so I was saving €500 a month. It was quite a chunk to come out of my pay, but it was my only option! To get by I mainly just had to cut down on buying clothes/makeup/frivolous stuff. I just had to learn to be a bit more conscious about how I spent my cash.

Sarah McIntyre Source Sarah McIntyre Sarah McIntyre saved €500 a month by cutting back on luxury items Sarah McIntyre Sarah McIntyre

Even if you fall off the wagon it doesn’t mean all is lost, she says.

I would often blow the rest of my paycheck in the first week and then have to scrimp and save the next week, by bringing lunches to work, bringing in a jar of instant coffee – the Nescafe Azera range is the bomb – and then setting myself really strict daily spending limits. It’s really satisfying when you can get through a week barely spending any money. There’s definitely a smugness that you can get from it!

Aaron McKenna in Dublin told TheJournal.ie he also managed to make significant savings by cutting back on things you don’t really think about day-to-day.

“It sounds like one of those ‘for a coffee a day…’ chugger lines, but being more aware of lunch spending can make a big difference. I managed to cut down by making more lunches, bringing in stuff like beverages from supermarket multi-buys, and keeping an eye on where and how often I went to eat out. It added up to a fiver a day, or about a grand over the year.”

Aaron McKenna Twitter Aaron McKenna saved €1,000 in a year by cutting back on lunch spending Aaron McKenna, Twitter Aaron McKenna, Twitter

McKenna says from his experience, even the smallest changes can make a difference.

Any daily spending habits like this can really add up when you make the small efforts.

Thirty-three-year-old Liz Musiol had her first child two years ago and needed to make sure she had enough savings in the bank to take some additional unpaid leave from work after her maternity benefit expired.

Musiol says she was in the fortunate position that her husband could bear the brunt of the rent while she put some serious household budgeting into practice, cutting back on unnecessary spending and putting the bulk of her maternity pay into savings.

225223_10150234816921614_4008470_n Liz Musiol saved for her maternity leave from work Liz Musiol Liz Musiol

“I was at home all the time, so I had time to make dinner and walk into town which did away with some expenses. It also stopped me from mindlessly spending money just because I was bored and wandering around shops with the buggy. We completely stopped doing things like ordering takeaway and getting taxis.”

Musiol’s best tip for a couple who are trying to save money is that instead of splurging on big gifts, go for ‘experience’ presents at Christmas and birthdays.

You can always do without new clothes and the like, but a nice meal out takes the misery out of saving. Also, my very wise friend’s advice about never spending more than 12 cent a nappy has been invaluable!

Aaron Hanaphy from Dublin told TheJournal.ie that he saved for an apartment in his early 20s after living like a monk in his parents house.

Let’s just say I was somewhat more disciplined in my early 20s than I am now. Which seems a reverse of the expected behaviour.

As a newly qualified accountant and living with his folks, Hanaphy started a hardcore saving regime and put away 60% of his wages. He cut back on socialising drastically and stopped drinking. In less than two years he had saved a whopping €30,000.

I don’t remember anything too harrowing in terms of life, but it was commented afterwards by the lads that I disappeared!

Tom Church is 26 years old and lives in London. He told TheJournal.ie that he managed to turn around £10,000 (€11,000) worth of his college debt by trying to make saving a fun challenge.

Tom update Tom Church created the '3-30 Money Diet' to turn around a £10,000 debt Tom Church Tom Church

I created a challenge for myself which I called The 3-30 Money Diet. You live on £30 a week, [after rent] for three weeks. Then you have a break, then you do it again.

Church reckons he saved over £1,400 on his daily commute by cycling everywhere, with the added bonus of being in the shape of his life as a result. He stopped shopping in the big name supermarkets, switching to Aldi and Lidl, or buying reduced-to-clear items. He also smartened up on utility bills and got discounts where he could.

I switched energy providers three times reducing bills each time. I used freebie sites, deals and discount sites, and private Facebook groups where people share coupons and voucher codes.

(Church put his experience to good use and wrote a book)

What are your top tips for saving money? Let us know below!

More on spending: What are the biggest expenses for Irish households?>

More on this life stage: BFFs? Probably not – why we shed friends in our late 20s>

56 Comments
    Mute Smidgen Dublin
    Favourite Smidgen Dublin
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:09 AM

Is this a joke? Quotes from the article, such as “…in the fortunate position that her husband could bear the brunt of the rent…”; “…being more aware of lunch spending can make a big difference…”; “…I set up a direct debit to take €250 out of each paycheck. I get paid fortnightly so I was saving €500 a month!” What if you’re only paid €250 a week and can’t afford to do anything else but make your own lunches anyway? As for having a partner who could ‘bear the brunt of the rent’ – anyone interested in bearing the brunt of my €1,000 Dublin rent?

Mute Wurps
    Favourite Wurps
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:46 AM

@Smidgen Dublin: So, you are paid 1000 per month? There are 156 hours in a normal working month.

Are you paid 6 euro an hour?

Minimum wage is €9.15

So, either you are only working part-time (and therefore can increase that either by changing job or by taking on more hours), or you are in a REALLY shit job. Either way, you shouldn’t be living in a 1000 euro a month apartment on 1000 gross wages, but I’m sure you don’t need me to tell you that.

I’m sure there are similar badly paid jobs for you available all over the country, but your accommodation costs would come right down.

Mute Smidgen Dublin
    Favourite Smidgen Dublin
    Oct 12th 2016, 12:13 PM

@Wurps: Thanks for your kind and informed insightful comment. You read my post carefully and responded appropriately. You have really have opened my eyes.

Mute Wurps
    Favourite Wurps
    Oct 12th 2016, 12:23 PM

@Smidgen Dublin: You’re very welcome! I know how much you love a bit of common sense and are never up for a pure moan.

Mute Smidgen Dublin
    Favourite Smidgen Dublin
    Oct 12th 2016, 2:14 PM

@Wurps: You know me so well. You’re a star.

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:43 AM

Not only is this article ridiculous in its “simplicity” its also down right insulting to the majority who it pertains to be target!
    So tell me all ye wonderful superior people in this article, say your, oh I dunno late 30′s. Single income of say 39,000. Supporting a wife and two kids. Wife stays at home with kids due to childcare costs.
    Rent 1000pm
    Car a necessity to travel to work which is 40 miles away so fuel up on 140 euros a fortnight.
    No public transport option
    you have to pay rent, bills, heating, food, look after two kids and all on less than 40k
    And you give me this “put 250 a fortnight away” BS to make me feel better!!!

Hey Journal…..F**k OFF!

Mute Shirley
    Favourite Shirley
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:35 AM

Live at home, no rent and save like crazy… Prob the only realistic way…

Mute KT
    Favourite KT
    Oct 13th 2016, 3:59 AM

What if you don’t have family home to live in?!

Mute Potatoe-man
    Favourite Potatoe-man
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:14 AM

“The Nescafe Azera range is the bomb”……utter lies!!

Mute Karen Forde
    Favourite Karen Forde
    Oct 12th 2016, 6:07 PM

And who can afford Azera anyway? Lol

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Oct 12th 2016, 12:10 PM

is that Aaron McKenna the journal contributor who is always on about cutting the minimum wage and PS pay ??
    I mean are ye for fecking real here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Do u not see the irony here!!

Mute Rob Morgan
    Favourite Rob Morgan
    Oct 12th 2016, 12:26 PM

@Liam Dunne: Indeed it is. He’s pretty much Ireland’s Katie Hopkins, no?

Mute Brent Weaver
    Favourite Brent Weaver
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:09 AM

@Liam Dunne: Wont even by himself a lunch the hungry fecker!

Mute Graham Harkness
    Favourite Graham Harkness
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:34 AM

If KBC would give me a “mates-rate” interest free loan that would help.

Mute dublinlad
    Favourite dublinlad
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:27 AM

Cut out the drinking. I read a stat some years back that 50% of Irish disposable income is spent on alcohol. This is where Irish people can save.

Mute Eucrid
    Favourite Eucrid
    Oct 12th 2016, 1:36 PM

@dublinlad: no

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Oct 12th 2016, 12:05 PM

There’s a solution that myself and thousands of other people have used and it works a charm. It’s called emigration. I save 50% of my wages and still get to live a normal life.

Mute JustMade Ireland
    Favourite JustMade Ireland
    Oct 12th 2016, 12:27 PM

What I like to see is how my grand parents on one wage bought a house, raised 5 kids on what is now called free ranged and organic, had one basic car,

I know we have wifi, phones, cars etc… but even with this we are relay unpaid these days if my grand parents both worked they be very well off, not like most Irish couples just about surviving these days,

Our whole system needs major change.

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Oct 12th 2016, 12:08 PM

In my current situation, my girlfriend and I commute from Westmeath to south Dublin every day. We work within 1km, as we are able to share the commute, and diesel costs. We both have cars. The commute takes around 80mins each way, depending on traffic. I used to live in south Dublin, but moved out in 2014. I Just looked on daft a few mins ago, and compared the rents from my current house, to a similar house where I used to live, there was exactly 1k per month in the difference. The diesel costs are around €250 between the 2 of us, that leaves roughly a saving of €750 a month. We both have cars, and still would have them if we lived in dublin, so the tax/insurance costs are the same as when I lived in Dublin. I must say, its not easy, Leaving the house at 6:30am, returning home usually around 7pm. We have very little free time, and we are usually exhausted when we get home. However, in our view its worth it, as we are able to put away 750 a month.
    I know this will not work for everyone, especially anybody with kids.

Mute Do the Bort man
    Oct 12th 2016, 12:11 PM

*The diesel costs are around €250 per month

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Oct 12th 2016, 2:09 PM

your commute is costing you €12.5/hour, this is the fiscal costs of your time driving in and out and because your time is a resource, this what you need to earn in overtime for the same time. Therefore, if you earned after tax €20/hour instead of commuting this would be savings. it is a waste of everyone’s time not having proper infrastructure, and as visible above, it is lost revenue for spending and saving.

Mute Do the Bort man
    Oct 12th 2016, 3:37 PM

I see where you get the figures from. However, I am on the high rate of tax, so its the same as me being on €25/hour before tax. As you say, my time is a resource, however it depends on what you decide to do with that time. Sit in traffic and save €12.50 per hour, or rent in dublin, and and save nothing.

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:36 AM

The simplest is don’t buy a car. Or if you are a couple, share a car. Between depreciation, tax and insurance, you are looking at more than €3,000 per year before you even put a drop of petrol into it.

I know it’s not practical for people living outside the large cities, but that’s where most 20-something’s live nowadays anyway.

Walking, cycling, using public transport and getting a GoCar/hire car when you need it works out a lot cheaper.

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Oct 12th 2016, 12:16 PM

@Chris Mansfield:

Kids cost more!!!

Mute Ken Donegan
    Favourite Ken Donegan
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:15 AM

Give us more money and we will be able to save simple

Mute Do the Bort man
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:44 AM

@Ken Donegan: who will give the money?

Mute Markonline
    Favourite Markonline
    Oct 12th 2016, 12:03 PM

KBC bank of course…is there any such thing as bad publicity because KBC are doing a pretty good job at it on here daily with their patronising financial advice.

Mute Niall McCauley
    Favourite Niall McCauley
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:55 AM

Instant coffee? I’m afraid that doesn’t agree with all my notions.

Mute Hugo McCann
    Favourite Hugo McCann
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:39 AM

Utter Twaddle !

Mute Teresa O'Meara
    Favourite Teresa O'Meara
    Oct 12th 2016, 1:16 PM

Im in my 30s dont have a family home where i can live rent free.. so pay rent pay for car pay weekly & monthly bills ect tbh id rather live like this and enjoy my free time my takeaway once a week my nights out than sit in saving every penny…. we are all going to end up in the same box in the ground regardless of how much money saved!!! But maybe thats just me!!!

Mute Rob Morgan
    Favourite Rob Morgan
    Oct 12th 2016, 12:33 PM

I’ll say this, it is possible to save money / get yourself out of debt, but the one thing you really need (especially if you’re already under a mountain of debt) is luck or someone who can protect you from your creditors.

It’s all well and good spouting waffle about Nescafe Azera or your hubby bailing you out, but when you’re left with €15 or €30 a week after rent and bills (but before transport or groceries); that’s of no use to you. If you can get even one of your creditors (lets say a credit card company) to leave you alone for 6 months, it could be the makings of your salvation. Similarly, an unexpected tax rebate or PPI refund could wipe out an outstanding balance.

Perhaps KBC would like to give people a few interest free loans with a 3, 6 or 12 month interest free period to get people back on their feet?

No, didn’t think so.

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:57 AM

Learn to be self sufficient. Instead of paying for your car to be serviced, buy some simple tools and DIY. Paint your own house. It’s far too easy to always pay someone else to do things you can easily do yourself. It goes back to the old proverb “give a man a fish and he’ll eat for a day, teach him to fish and he’ll eat forever” Also treat savings as someone else’s money, don’t touch it until you NEED to.

Mute Eucrid
    Favourite Eucrid
    Oct 12th 2016, 1:40 PM

@Emachine: this is supposed to be for people who don’t own their own home, what are they painting? If its rented accommodation don’t even buy the paint and do it yourself, thats the landlords responsibility.

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Oct 12th 2016, 6:50 PM

In fact it is about people in their 20s and 30s who are successful savers. The intro doesn’t mention home ownership. That is an assumption on your part. There are more things in life to save for than a house deposit, you will find that out if you ever own a house. Saving doesn’t stop when you sign a mortgage contract. My examples were exactly that… examples.

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Oct 12th 2016, 1:24 PM

Life is not all about buying a house ! It’s a craze in this country Owning a house. Living a life. Being a slave to a bank for 30 years is crazy.

Mute colin
    Favourite colin
    Oct 12th 2016, 7:42 PM

I think it’s because when renting you have no security at all. I would have no problem renting for my entire life if I knew that the house I live in will be available for me for as long as I need/want without the fear of random rent homes and/or sudden eviction. Also if I could modify the house as I see fit.

Mute Tammylee Murphy
    Favourite Tammylee Murphy
    Oct 12th 2016, 1:51 PM

You will get used to living frugally and it’s worth it in the end. Luckily my parents live in the Dublin area so I could move back home. I was able to save €750 a month or 40% of my income for a long time and eventually had enough for a deposit. I bought my cheap banger of a car for cash a few years ago. All my direct debits ( eg health and car insurance, phone bill etc) are set up to leave my account the day after pay day. I cut down on going out expenses by not drinking much and avoiding taxis where possible. Groupon is your friend for essential but luxury things like getting your hair done or eating out. Most of my wardrobe is from Penneys. I continue to use my debit card and avoid cash so that I can monitor my expenditure better. I identified what I could cut down on for example I used to grab a take away coffee every morning but that was setting me back 65 euro a month so I cut that out. It’s not easy but unless you’ve a rich partner or parents, you need to be careful with what you spend if you want to save for what you want.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:39 AM

Why would anyone want to save money today in a negative yielding interest rate environment for deposits!!!??? Doesnt make any sense in the most litteral sense

Mute Declan McCabe
    Favourite Declan McCabe
    Oct 12th 2016, 2:20 PM

Regardless of interest, it is common sense to try and put some money away for a rainy day if your circumstances allow you to do so. I wouldn’t let the interest rates put me off putting something away. You never know when life will drop a bill on your lap, so it is nice to have something behind you.

Mute Gash
    Favourite Gash
    Oct 12th 2016, 12:32 PM

The wife spends mine

Mute Lovely weather
    Favourite Lovely weather
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:48 AM

YNAB (You need a budget) .com.

A commentator on the journal.ie referred to YNAB approx 2 years ago.

It’s a software program downloadable for your PC/Mac with an accompanying smart-phone app.

I have used it daily since on my iPhone to record purchases and I cannot recommend it highly enough for helping you save money by changing your mind-set towards your spending habits.

There’s a month’s free trial and following that period, you can sign up if you so wish. I think it costs approx €50 per annum. (I signed up when there was a once-off charge but they’ve since changed it to a subscription based model).

Plenty of info on their website as well as tutorials on YouTube along with numerous very positive reviews.

Well worth a try. Stick with it everyday for the month’s trial and see how you view money differently. There are videos on YouTube, along with free-to join live online tutorials to help you understand the software as there is a learning curve involved to make full use of it.

Also google Dave Ramsey (Another US based financial advice guy with his own version of the software).

Mute Lukey
    Favourite Lukey
    Oct 12th 2016, 4:17 PM

saving 500 euro a month. that’s 6,000 euro a year. only 10 years to save up a 10% deposit on a 600k house so

Mute Congress Tart
    Favourite Congress Tart
    Oct 12th 2016, 6:35 PM

@Lukey: its not that complicated. I took out & paid back 2 x €10k Credit Union loans over 2 years so I had a good loan record with them. Then I borrowed €10k from my sister, lodged it into my shares, and got a loan of €55k (3 x share balance). Gave her back her €10k, and still had my 8% deposit and stamp duty sorted.

You just need a bit of aptitude and resourcefulness. I had zero savings and still managed to sort it out. A Credit Union loan doesn’t come up in your credit check for a mortgage. Needs to be declared voluntarily.

Mute JFN
    Favourite JFN
    Oct 12th 2016, 6:38 PM

Limit the damage on nights out, leave the card at home and bring out a set amount. Also, avoid getting sick in taxis (that ones from personal experience)

Mute Finn Bar Regany
    Favourite Finn Bar Regany
    Oct 12th 2016, 1:16 PM

It can be done ,,(save money) ,, be positive and set yourself goals

Mute John Madden
    Favourite John Madden
    Oct 12th 2016, 10:21 PM

No mention of what they earn, or how much their basic living expenses amount to

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Oct 12th 2016, 2:00 PM

… a commentator tried to follow mr.church’s savings tips in Dublin and ended up with hospital bills of €180k after being ploughed of his bicycle in the city centre by an uninsured taxi driver. he await the judgement by the Irish insurance fund for damages to the driver.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Oct 12th 2016, 5:53 PM

“Don’t Report it!” Mick told me that when the partner’s credit card was stolen, he didnt bother to report it, because the thief was spending less.

Mute Lukey
    Favourite Lukey
    Oct 12th 2016, 4:21 PM

hard paying rent and still trying to save as much as possible it’ll take me 20 years or more to save any significant amount well so be it

Mute garb yakob
    Favourite garb yakob
    Oct 12th 2016, 10:41 PM

I saved loads of money after i emigrated. Reasonable rents, insurance rates, food and drink etc. Easy really once you get on a plane

Mute Thomas Carty
    Favourite Thomas Carty
    Oct 12th 2016, 10:09 PM

Money can be saved: but the government and bosses use thst as a brick to slash pay and raise taxes while the bail out the rich. The money we were able to save is then gone…

Mute Carol C.
    Favourite Carol C.
    Oct 13th 2016, 11:49 AM

I’ve never been on a holiday, I’ve never been to a concert, I shop in Lidl & Aldi, I’m very responsible money-wise…yet I have barely anything left over at the end of the month because I rent in Dublin and I don’t have a salary. So no, it’s not our fault that we can’t save up. Stop with all this ‘you can’t save because you’re irresponsible with your money or you’re splurging’ rubbish.

Mute Carol C.
    Favourite Carol C.
    Oct 13th 2016, 11:50 AM

Add to that I only go out max 5 times a year…don’t buy alcohol etc. I sound like I have an awful miserable life now :D :D :D

Mute Reg Abare
    Favourite Reg Abare
    Oct 30th 2016, 3:14 PM

WHEN ALL HOPE IS LOST IN WINNING THE LOTTERY MEGA MILLION AND DEEPLY SWIMMING IN UNPAYABLE DEBTS, LOOSING YOUR FAMILY AND THE ONES YOU LOVE AROUND YOU TO AN ABJECT POVERTY CONTACT THE VOODOO SPELL CASTER FOR LOTTERY SPELL,CASINO GAMBLING SPELLS,WIN LOTTERY JACKPOT,EURO MILLION JACKPOT, WIN YOUR CASINO GAMBLING GAMES WITH THE HELP OF A SPELL CASTER DR.OGUDU

My name is REG ABARE from ENGLAND before i meet DR OGUDU i have been in frustrating debts for about 6 years i have did everything possible to pay my debts and live a normal happy life with my family and friends but to no avail, I have played lottery for more than 9 years but never win big always been mock about spending my little earns on tickets that does not yield result but i was very determined and never give up on myself with hopes of earning a better life with the mega million games, The situation continued like this for about 8 years until i saw i heart touching testimonies of some many lottery winners who give all there vote of thanks and appreciation to DR OGUDU the lottery spell caster namely where BRYON STEWART, MARIE HOLMES, JULIE LEACK and more more others who he heard help in winning the lottery so i got his email and website online after deliberate thinking i decided to give him a try by contacting him through his email address and website behold after my encounter with DR.OGUDU my first winning tickets after he gave me some numbers to see his powers on lottery spell i won FIVE MILLION POUNDS[5.000.000] My life have totally changed for good and many more which he have done for me too numerous to mention if you have tried winning the lottery but no results contact DR OGUDU for life changing tickets and lottery numbers now VIA EMAIL [OGUDUSPELLTEMPLE@YAHOO.COM] WHATS-APP NUMBER +2348106058254″”WEBSITE_ http://oguduspelltemple.wixsite.com/drogudu

Mute Lukey
    Favourite Lukey
    Oct 12th 2016, 4:34 PM