You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

woman on phone via Shutterstock

Be careful, scammers are still targeting Irish home phone users

Two mammies of TheJournal.ie staffers have been targeted in the last two weeks alone. Have you received one of these calls?

PEOPLE ACROSS THE country are still being targeted by a scam operating out of India in which hackers pretend to be technical support and convince their victims to allow them remote access to their computer.

The hackers ask them to input their bank details and a sum of money is taken from their accounts. The scam has been in operation for at least two years and a spokesperson for the Data Protection Commissioner’s office said they are still receiving queries about it this year.

Two years ago, the commissioner’s office did investigate the scam because people were reporting that the calls were coming from Irish landline numbers. However they discovered it was actually operating from India.

“They were masking it with lines and as soon as we shut down one line they opened another,” she said. Because it’s being run from outside of the commissioner’s jurisdiction, she said there is little the office can do but warn people about it.

So, how exactly does this scam work?

Yesterday, this TheJournal.ie author had firsthand experience with it. I received a frantic phonecall from my mother who said a man called the family home, saying something about information being compromised. Like a lot of Irish parents, she’s not very computer literate and had no idea what he was talking about but was really worried by it.

“I asked him if it was some kind of warning and he said it was,” she told me. She gave me his name – Daniel Jones – and an Irish landline number and I called him back, just in case it was actually legitimate and she hadn’t understood.

The man who answered pretended he was technical support for a computer company and when I asked to be transferred to the person my mother spoke to, he put me on hold and then came back on the line pretending to be this ‘Daniel Jones’.

A very brief conversation ensued, in which he stressed how urgent it was that I immediately leave work, go to the house and follow his instructions on the laptop if I didn’t want all passwords and personal information to be vulnerable. I politely told him I wouldn’t be doing that and we said our goodbyes.

Calls to the computer and phone companies confirmed all was well with the laptop and nobody’s information was at risk. But about an hour later, poor Mam got another call from a different guy – a ‘Royal Barker’ this time – with the same phone number. He was very pushy over the phone and, again, warned her that personal information would be compromised if she didn’t do as he said straight away.

After talking about it in the office, it turned out that the mammy of another staffer had also been targetted in the last two weeks by the same scam and she was tricked into giving remote access to the hackers. Luckily, she managed to contact her bank before any money was taken from her account as she had given her details.

Advice

Phone operator Eircom said it has still been receiving reports about the scam and would encourage customers to report them to their local garda station or contact Eircom directly.

A spokesperson said the scam “seems to ebb  and flow”.

We do notice spikes in calls at certain times. In February they seemed to be quite prolific and it seems to be back on the radar again now. It seems like when awareness is high they take the foot off the pedal.

According to the Data Protection Commissioner’s office, this scam isn’t going anywhere and while reports of it have reduced since it first started, that may be because more people are aware of it and just tell the fraudsters where to get off.

Their advice is not to engage with them at all, and definitely don’t tell them any personal or bank details over the phone.

Have you ever received one of these calls? Tell us about your experience in the comments below…

Read: Here are the warning signs that will tell you an email is a phishing scam>

Read: Don’t be tempted by app offering to change your Facebook’s colour – it’s a scam>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

76 Comments
    Mute Nydon
    Favourite Nydon
    Aug 23rd 2014, 6:50 PM

They asked me to open up windows. I said I would but it would take a few minutes could they wait. They did and I did. I said done- what now? They asked me what was I looking at. I said rain. I asked can I close the windows now because it’s cold too.
    They said it was my computer they were talking about. I said oh – ok but I’ll have to close the windows first – can they wait. Frustrated yes.
    Now I’m back. Can you open up your computer now? Yes sure – can you wait? Why? I’ll need a screwdriver and its in the garage. Click.

Mute David McDonnell
    Favourite David McDonnell
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:10 PM

Still waiting for my Nigerian lotto winnings

Mute Antonov Merinov
    Favourite Antonov Merinov
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:44 PM

How thick can you get and divulge your bank details to a complete fúcking stranger over the phone❓

Mute Antonov Merinov
    Favourite Antonov Merinov
    Aug 23rd 2014, 6:41 PM

In addition I must say that the banking system in Ireland is geared toward younger people who have a clear understanding of what is going on.
    It clearly leaves the elderly in a vulnerable position.

Mute Michael Connolly
    Favourite Michael Connolly
    Aug 23rd 2014, 11:43 PM

Yeah, older people shouldn’t be allowed near computers without a child present.

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Aug 24th 2014, 12:18 AM

I’m utterly terrible with banking, but I won’t do any banking stuff online or over the phone, I prefer to go to the bank itsself and do my business there.
    On the other hand, my mother is excellent at banking, monitoring accounts, and all that stuff. As are many others over a certain age.
    Pass machines, I am okay with. Other things, I am rubbish.
    As for these computer scams, whenever they ring, we just tell them no computers here.

Mute Amelia O'Reilly
    Favourite Amelia O'Reilly
    Aug 24th 2014, 9:45 AM

Ha! ha! You’re time will come! Lol!

Mute Gary Wilson
    Favourite Gary Wilson
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:28 PM

I keep a whistle next to the phone…as soon as I hear a person telling my they are from Microsoft or similar they get an ear full….

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:32 PM

I like that one. Gonna buy me a whistle. Hope my parents don’t ring and mention windows!

Mute Anthony Carroll
    Favourite Anthony Carroll
    Aug 24th 2014, 3:47 AM

You diabolical genius!

Mute Leon Fuddy
    Favourite Leon Fuddy
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:34 PM

We get loads of them and I normally tell them to fu@& off in no uncertain terms once she actually rang me back and gave out to me for being so rude and using such foul language on the phone, had to admire her neck!!!!!

Mute Anne O'Hara
    Favourite Anne O'Hara
    Aug 23rd 2014, 7:18 PM

I did the same once and he called me back to tell me to do something unmentionable involving a bottle of baby oil and a donkey :-)

Mute Martina Lavin
    Favourite Martina Lavin
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:15 PM

My 78 year bundle of fun mother tells anyone she doesn’t know to ‘feck off, you eejit, you’re not getting into my bank a/c”……I’m sure she’ll be telling the right person the above statement any day now……least we know she’ll never be conned.

Aug 23rd 2014, 5:05 PM

They keep calling our line and I keep telling them they have got through to Bill Gates. They hang up after that.

Mute Rebekah Corbett
    Favourite Rebekah Corbett
    Aug 23rd 2014, 6:14 PM

Once they mention windows I tell them I already have double glazing.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:17 PM

Just ask them who their current electricity supplier is, and tell them how you can save them money.

Mess with their heads.

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:16 PM

What about eircom with there annoying sales reps going from door to door once every 2 weeks.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:26 PM

They call you, say they are from Windows (not microsoft, that should be your first clue) then they ask you to download a programme that they can use to scan and remote fix your system
    This is something DELL and Microsoft legit tech guys do so it may confuse some people, but the programme is just a normal registry or temporary internet files cleaner, and when it runs it makes it look like there are loads of viruses and errors that are really only small clutter in your memory.

This alarms you, and you get desperate, the programme might have already stolen your online banking info, but if it has not they will claim to fix the problem and ask for a small VISADEBIT card fee that seems tiny, but they will then use your card number and verification code to steal money or buy stuff on your card.

NO LEGITIMATE TECHNOLOGY FIRM COLD CALLS CUSTOMERS – always remember that.

Mute joan donnellan
    Favourite joan donnellan
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:15 PM

I got caught once by these scammers so the next time I got a call I kept the guy on for ages and ages.. he was getting more frustrated every minute, and this is what should be done to them..

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Aug 23rd 2014, 8:42 PM

Exactly, just think – the longer you spend on the phone to them, the more of their time you waste – meaning you could be saving someone perhaps not as computer savvy as yourself from being scammed :)

Plus, it’s fun to mess with them!

Mute Jeroen Bos
    Favourite Jeroen Bos
    Aug 24th 2014, 8:22 AM

I did the same. Had a brilliant time with putting them forward to my son who acted as my boss and back to the IT department, my wife, only to find out after 45 minutes we didn’t have a windows PC but a a Mac, and then we started it all again…

Mute Laura Crowe
    Favourite Laura Crowe
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:08 PM

An elderly relative gets them several times a year. She just tells them that she’ll have to hang up her phone in order to connect her computer to the internet and promptly hangs up and that’s the end of that.

The scam depends on them speaking to you while you are connected to the internet. My relative is not on dial-up but the thoughts of the frustration they experience with that response works for her :)

Mute Anthony O'Leary
    Favourite Anthony O'Leary
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:23 PM

Every time they call me, I put the phone next to the radio and turn on radio na gaeltachta. They must love it :) Apparently if they hang up they don’t get paid . If you hang up they do (albeit a tiny amount )

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:31 PM

I get these at least twice a week, sometimes twice in a day. I just leave the phone on down and stick the kettle on while their nattering away to themselves

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:40 PM

They’re really nice folk..Very concerned about my windows ..

Mute Sean D
    Favourite Sean D
    Aug 23rd 2014, 6:54 PM

I get them quit a lot. Sometimes I engage them for so long, taking up about 20 mins of their time before saying “Actually I run Linux, not windows”. They promptly hang up. On other occasions I engage them again before launching into a massive tirade of abuse laced with some of the most colourful language to ever pass by somebody’s ear. Then I hang up.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Aug 23rd 2014, 7:15 PM

When i got last call (ive had a few) I pretended to call out to a fictitious child ‘Johnny? Johnny? have you been downloading that pornography again? Johnnnnnny come here……*slam phone against the counter a few times and scream a bit* arrrghhhh
    ‘Oh johnny, I’mmm sorry – say something Johnnnnyyy, Johnnnnnyyyyyyy? Nooooooooooooo!

The line had mysteriously gone dead after that.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan

Pretty sure a scammer closer to home was ringing my mothers phone off the hook , at the start of the month there were more calls a day than I can count on both hands!, witheld number, get lost!

Mute Cassie Oh Dear
    Favourite Cassie Oh Dear
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:29 PM

Referee’s Whistle – works a treat…

Mute Aisling Brady
    Favourite Aisling Brady
    Aug 24th 2014, 8:50 PM

I tried that one many times but they still call back. I tried bad language also and that didn’t work. I also ask them to hold on and leave the phone down for ages until they get tired and hang up just to increase the cost of their calls. But still they call and call and call!!!

Mute Brian Lilly
    Favourite Brian Lilly
    Aug 23rd 2014, 6:24 PM

I’ve had several of these calls, usually just hang up or simply advise them I use a mac, they hang up.

The last time they called, they said they had identified my IP address as insecure etc, I asked what’s my IP address? Again they hung up.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Aug 23rd 2014, 7:37 PM

At this stage if there is a delay at the start of a call and obvious switchboard connection I just hang up. The indian accents are a dead give away as well.

Mute Bernadette Kearney Moloney
    Favourite Bernadette Kearney Moloney
    Aug 24th 2014, 12:51 PM

I got 4 of these calls last week, deffo the wait at the start for them to speak and then the Indian accent gives them away, I told them where to go and hung up. Then again when I rang Eircom recently the guy I spoke to had the same accent!

Mute Shit you not
    Favourite Shit you not
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:26 PM

They rang my mother and my aunty saying they were Microsoft. I managed to answer the phone once as they tried to tell me they were from Microsoft. I had great fun with them. Needless to say the calls stopped after that.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:20 PM

We get regular landline calls, at least once a week. Once I got 2 calls from the same guy within a few hours , and when I asked if that was Sam again , and he replied with surprise” how you know my name ?” He hasn’t called since. They’re a menace . I also know somebody who was duped, but luckily avoided loss by cancelling credit cards, passwords, etc.

Mute Laura Crowe
    Favourite Laura Crowe

She asked them once where they got her number and the response was ‘UPC’.

Mute Stephen Earle
    Favourite Stephen Earle
    Aug 23rd 2014, 7:33 PM

Just order a curry and rice next time they call

Mute Emma Galvin
    Favourite Emma Galvin
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:13 PM

We always get those! Mam went mad at this lad one day cause they had called twice before that week!

Mute Maura Hannon
    Favourite Maura Hannon
    Aug 23rd 2014, 9:51 PM

Got one of these calls just over a month ago. Same routine my computer was comprised blaa blaa blaa. Thing was i was in a hospital bed having just had minor surgery under general anaesthetic. He had autodialled an ancient landline phone that was attached to the wall of the room. Nurses seemed bemused the phone worked!

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Aug 23rd 2014, 7:34 PM

Whistle is your only man. Minute you know it’s them let em have it. Then see if they stay on the line and repeat . They won’t call again.

Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall o' Sullivan
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:17 PM

My parents get called continuously. I’m convinced they get they keep getting called because the first time, they stayed on the line with them for a few mins. They get called 2 or 3 times a week.

Mute Jack Dexter
    Favourite Jack Dexter
    Aug 23rd 2014, 5:27 PM

I do get some calls but when they hear my Scottish accent they hang up

Mute Rory R
    Favourite Rory R
    Aug 23rd 2014, 11:16 PM

I told them I worked for Microsoft, they hung up before I could finish the sentence!

Mute audrey bolger
    Favourite audrey bolger
    Aug 23rd 2014, 11:42 PM

i get these calls regularly at one stage i got 3 in one day, And it really is a pain!!! they often rang before 7am which is the middle of the night in our house!!!! ive tried everything. I told them I was an IT consultant and that i know for a fact they are talking crap, this didnt work so next time i toledthem that I dont actualy have a computer .. still they kept ringing back…. last time they rang i started speaking irish !….ok so i was mostly using random irish words … but to be fair i did manage to ask their permission to go to the toilet and honestly they hung up and they haven’t rang back since . lucky for me i didnt really want to go ;-)

Mute McGuckin Annette
    Favourite McGuckin Annette
    Aug 23rd 2014, 7:47 PM

Received two of these phone calls recently two days in a row. The first day, she said that she was from Windows and that there was a problem with viruses on my PC, and that it was at risk of shutting down. I promply told her that I wasn’t interested, and hung up the phone. The following day, a man called with a similar line, and the person who took the call told that there was one problem, that he didn’t have Windows, and the caller promptly hung up the phone. If there’s a third call, I won’t be disconnecting the call.

Mute John Looney
    Favourite John Looney
    Aug 23rd 2014, 10:26 PM

Never mind a referees whistle, use a panic alarm at 120db should shut them up.

Mute Carole (Ducky)
    Favourite Carole (Ducky)
    Aug 24th 2014, 2:23 AM

Tried the panic alarm – & he was still there (& my ears were ringing for the rest of the day).

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Aug 23rd 2014, 6:18 PM

anyone who gets caught by this deserves it.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Aug 23rd 2014, 9:06 PM

I got a call two or three weeks ago from a guy with an Indian/Pakistani accent who said he was from microsoft. I asked him for his office address. the address didn’t click with me so I said I’d get the number from the phone book and ring him back. Peace ever since

Mute M-e
    Favourite M-e
    Aug 23rd 2014, 11:59 PM

I’m getting between five and ten calls a day on my home phone and i cant get the number blocked. I have said i dont have a computer, i have hung up or ignored the calls but they just keep coming. Even when i answer and dont talk they just hang up and ring back. Its driving me mad!

Mute Michael Kenrick
    Favourite Michael Kenrick
    Aug 23rd 2014, 11:41 PM

mother in law got those calls , she just asked man to hold while she booted up her laptop, then went off to the shops and left the guy, came home 3 hours later , only cure for them!!!

Mute Tracey Durkin Gallagher
    Favourite Tracey Durkin Gallagher
    Aug 24th 2014, 12:05 AM

Get heaps of these calls, now have fun asking them how do i turn on a pc, etc! The pc has gone on fire, have been told to f*** off, but if you have the time, make them sweat, encouraging them to take advantage of the vulnerable woman who knows nothing, then giving them the sting!!!!

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    Aug 24th 2014, 10:04 AM

I would be more concerned as to where these alleged scammers are getting their contact lists / names addresses/ Broadband provider etc can’t be just the phone book ?

Mute Catherine Black
    Favourite Catherine Black
    Aug 24th 2014, 12:18 AM

I had been getting these calls so often once I heard them say they were from Microsoft I would ask them to hold on ,then I would bring the phone over to the radio,turn on speaker on phone and let them listen to radio until they decided to hang up

Mute Michael Monahan
    Favourite Michael Monahan
    Aug 24th 2014, 2:13 AM

Guy told me my computer had a virus, told him I was delighted he had called, had caught the virus and was sick. Would he help me? Repeated that my computer was infected. I repeated that I had caught the virus, was ill and needed help immediately. This went on for a while as he tried to explain that the Computer was infected! I kept up the gratitude and requests for help with my infection. He eventually hung up

Mute Michael Monahan
    Favourite Michael Monahan
    Aug 24th 2014, 2:18 AM

Another call said there was a problem with windows. I said that the line was bad and would he spell everything out. After about three rounds of this I had a sudden understanding and told him that my house already had enough windows, newly double glazed d and that we did not want anymore. He tried to explain that it was something to do with a computer while I kept repeating that we already had windows. He angrily hung up

Mute Brian O'Mahony
    Favourite Brian O'Mahony
    Aug 23rd 2014, 11:02 PM

Well if your stupid enough to give your details so be it

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Aug 23rd 2014, 11:25 PM

I was called twice on the last 3 weeks. This has happened since joining UPC. They had my name and address when I asked them.

Mute William Lankstead
    Favourite William Lankstead
    Aug 23rd 2014, 11:59 PM

I pretend that the phone is breaking up by leaving words out of my sentences. I then keep ssking if they can hear me? Can you hear me? Can you hear me? etc etc. You get the picture!

Mute David Fitzgerald
    Favourite David Fitzgerald
    Aug 24th 2014, 2:10 AM

Do what I do, keep them on long enough for them to feel comfy and then break the air and say you are the police and we are on too you haha they hang up like mad, but you don’t just put the phone down on the side come back to it in an hour bet there still on it drives them nuts so you get your own back on them cost them loads hehe……….

Mute Maria G. Olia
    Favourite Maria G. Olia
    Aug 23rd 2014, 11:33 PM

i have 2 tricks one
    llet a no national person reply to this call saying I’m corean

for exaple) i don’t understand what you want do no call me again i don’t understand english…

(it works pretty well with telesales agents as well)

two: my reply is whaaaaat? what you want? so sooooooorry your voice comes and goes i can’t hear your voice properly must be something wrong with satelite- Pleeeeeease call me later. Byyyyyyyyye

Mute Sean O Coiléan
    Favourite Sean O Coiléan
    Aug 24th 2014, 8:48 AM

Just hold the line please .. Play Daniel .. Put kettle on .. So sorry for holding just 2 minutes .. More Daniel .. Enjoy your tea .. Are you still there .. Oh yea .. So sorry thank you for holding your call in nb to me .. More Daniel .. Go to Lidl .. Are you still there ? Ya are ” more power ta ya” .. More Daniel .. Iiiiiii

Mute Wayne O'Callaghan
    Favourite Wayne O'Callaghan
    Aug 24th 2014, 8:57 AM

I usually do one of 2 things. Them them to f**k off. Or if I have a bit of spare time I let them go on and think they have me on the hook and then just say oh I just remembered I actually have an apple not a windows PC. Drives them nuts !

Mute Alan Clegg
    Favourite Alan Clegg
    Aug 24th 2014, 9:17 AM

HI

I live in South Africa and these calls are a regular part of life out there. Just hang up and move on, even if I didn’t have a computer they would still come.

Mute Jean Spain
    Favourite Jean Spain
    Aug 24th 2014, 10:10 AM

We are getting these calls once a week sometimes there is nobody on the line but if u leave it for a minute somesome answers its always a starts with it ur name how do they get this anyway we always just put the phone down

Mute jim lenihan
    Favourite jim lenihan
    Aug 24th 2014, 11:42 AM

whats new our government are screwing us sure the rest think were easy targets fair play /irish sheep

Mute Mary Morrissey
    Favourite Mary Morrissey
    Aug 24th 2014, 8:06 AM

i really like the ones about opening the windows in the house, and catching the virus haha
    we’re an unlisted number and got one recently, doing a “survey”, english accent said ringing from london, computer generated the number randomly….! havent had the one about bank details though, dont get that far involved in conversation.

Mute Carole (Ducky)
    Favourite Carole (Ducky)
    Aug 24th 2014, 2:18 AM

Depending upon my mood, I’ve messed with their heads; told them to take a long walk off a short pier; told them where to go in slightly more colourful language; picked up the phone & stayed silent until they hung up; blown a whistle (& nearly defended myself) or slammed the phone down. Yep, I get a lot of ‘Microsoft Man/Woman’ calls. One time I blew the whistle, checked & he was still on the line, blew it again & he was still there. I asked him if he’d not got the hint. ‘No’ says he. I hung up – I needed a drink at that stage.

Mute Caroline aMarie
    Favourite Caroline aMarie
    Aug 25th 2014, 12:01 AM

I have received several calls during the past few years from ‘Microsoft’.They knew my name.Everytime it was a very heavily accented voice I could hardly understand.

Mute Linda Hughes
    Favourite Linda Hughes
    Aug 24th 2014, 8:38 AM

I got one of the calls I did get the numbers but if I report it to the police I don’t think they could do anything about it. I did challenge the people by telling them I was a guard /police and they hung up. I rang directory inquiry and they told me that the number is from the United States. And it was a scam. As I have said I still have their phone numbers

Mute Amelia O'Reilly
    Favourite Amelia O'Reilly
    Aug 24th 2014, 9:44 AM

I get these frequently! My reply is always the same……” I’m sorry but I don’t have a computer” they argue that every house has a computer but I say I don’t! Eventually in frustration they hang up! Works for me!

Mute Brian Browne
    Favourite Brian Browne
    Aug 25th 2014, 10:38 AM

As pointed out in the article, this is a problem that will be with us for a long time to come. As the perpetrators are based in countries where nobody gives a monkeys, all we can do is look out for the less technically able. But what we CAN do is stop using the word ‘hacker’ when we mean ‘criminal’. It makes the Journal look like a red-top rag. These people are not hackers in any sense of the word. They’re not even ‘cyber-crooks’. They are low-level criminal scammers following a script, using freely available and easy to use software to extort money from ‘easy marks’. Calling them hackers only feeds the fear that leads people to fall into their traps. Stop it now, please.

Mute Mike Watters
    Favourite Mike Watters
    Jul 5th 2016, 9:49 AM

just tell them you just painted your windows and you cant open them because they are stuck shut

Mute Diane
    Favourite Diane
    Aug 23rd 2014, 6:32 PM

My mother gets these calls frequently. Her way of dealing with them now is to blow a whistle down the line at them. Gets rid of them immediately!!

Mute Paul Boland
    Favourite Paul Boland
    Aug 24th 2014, 12:21 PM

I was getting those calls a lot a few months ago

Once I said my windows are fine I looking out my window now I can see the police car I go get them

Another time I kept saying sorry don’t understand you speak English please I kept repeating this

Now I don’t bother answering the calls as they are all international numbers easy to spot

Most of these scams are run from the UK they use software to make as if the call is from abroad so even if you report the number it’s a waste of time as the number you see the call is from is fake
    I guy who set this up in UK was sent to jail but others have just taken over his operation
    They only catch them when money trail can be seen from people who fall for the scam

Just ignore the calls don’t even answer them they will stop calling your number when they see no one will answer

Mute Mark Egan
    Favourite Mark Egan
    Aug 24th 2014, 9:27 PM

I simply tell them the bill payer is speaking with someone outside and to hold on the line, every now n then I come back and tell them he’ll be in in a minute, guy once waited 18minutes before hanging up