You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Science

Eating porridge for breakfast could be saving your life
An "imaginary meal" pill could help fight obesity
Just how much bacteria is in Ireland's holy water fonts?
Weird Wide Web: Robot lessons, calming apps and a snarky Lindsay Lohan game
Cancer is often down to bad luck, not lifestyle
Here's how many days a person can survive without water...
9 big ideas that could change medicine forever
Ever wonder why traffic jams sometimes happen for no reason?
My 2014: I met the Taoiseach, President Obama, and put spinal injuries on the global agenda
Mark Pollock
This solar flare put on a better show than any Christmas lights
You can now lie in a box and relive what Diana's death smelled like
The Rotunda's fertility clinic has been sold off to an Australian company
Something very shiny in the sky tonight at 5.22pm and 6.58pm
Move over Hadfield, there's a new astronaut in town
How did humans evolve to enjoy drinking alcohol?
PHOTOS: Meet the people who are allergic to almost everything
Want a good night's sleep and to feel healthy these holidays? Then don't do this
Experimental Ebola vaccines may be lifeline for African countries
'A vegan diet won't help cure cancer': Doctors warn against 'bogus' medical claims
Met Éireann plans to start naming storms from next year
Astronomers are getting ready to take the image of the century
Why headlines like this really, really annoy Gerald Fleming
Here's what makes you so stupid and unreasonable
The world's deepest living fish is 'unlike anything scientists have seen before'
Stem cells from human eggs can now be patented
Blizzard may cause some problems for Santa ... But don't worry, it should pass by Christmas Eve
Stereotypes could be holding students back from embracing STEM courses
What are the odds of a white Christmas this year? ... Well, this man ought to know
New UK rules could allow embryos to be created from three people
New York to ban fracking over health fears
Nasa isn't ruling out 'methane burps' as evidence of life on Mars
Alan Kelly thinks a new UN climate deal is a good one, but Mary Robinson doesn't agree
An electric eel shocks its prey like a Taser
Doing the '12 Pubs'? ... Here's what happens to your body after each one of those drinks
The "best shooting star shower of the year" is happening tonight
Scientist offers to be eaten by anaconda, freaks out right before it
The Grand Canyon filled with fog is simply magical looking
Walking on Water: Hikers discover the clearest ice on a frozen lake
Dutch trains are trying out lasers to blast rail debris away
US scientist who sold his Nobel Prize to donate some of his millions to Irish university