You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Screen Watch: Your guide to the best TV movies this week

Here are our picks of movies on TV this week.

WE’VE BEEN SIFTING through the movie options available to watch on TV and streaming services over the week.

Your Historical Drama Pick

Detroit

• TG4 at 9.30pm today

Movieclips Trailers / YouTube

A raid by a rogue group of police officers in 1967 triggers large-scale riots across the city. Based on real events.

Your Romantic Thriller

Ride or Die

• Netflix from Thursday

Netflix / YouTube

Rei helps the woman she has been in love with for years escape her abusive husband. While on the run, their feelings for each other catch fire.

Your Throwback Action Thriller Pick

In the Line of Fire

• RTÉ 2 at 10pm Friday

Movieclips Classic Trailers / YouTube

Secret Service agent Frank Horrigan was on President Kennedy’s detail when he was shot and is haunted by that day. When he finds out about an assassin’s plan to kill the current president, he is determined not to let history repeat itself.

Your Family Friendly Pick

Cinderella

• RTÉ One at 6.30pm Saturday

Walt Disney Studios / YouTube

When Ella’s father dies, she finds herself at the mercy of her cruel stepmother and two stepsisters. But she sees a spark of hope when the Palace invites all local maidens to attend a ball and a kindly old woman comes to her aid.

Your Irish Drama Pick

Rosie

• RTÉ One at 9.30pm Sunday

Movie Coverage / YouTube

After the landlord sells her family’s rented home, leaving them homeless, Rosie fights to protect her children but is left with impossible choices.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Pauric McKenna
    Favourite Pauric McKenna
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:14 PM

Cringe worthy, self obsessed bull.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:19 PM

A series back slapping exercise at the expense of the licence payers.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:20 PM

Oops serious damn fat fingers.

Mute Lou Tennant
    Favourite Lou Tennant
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:24 PM

Waterford Whispers would be damn proud if they had written this article.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:34 PM

so all the over paid rt… ejets kept their jobs with more c rap shows

Mute Lou Tennant
    Favourite Lou Tennant
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:14 PM

seriously lads, are ye just having a laugh or what?

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Aug 13th 2015, 9:22 PM

Outrageous salaries for little return,the Rte family marches on unchallenged.
    Does anyone under 40 even watch it anymore?

Mute MARK O 'LEARY
    Favourite MARK O 'LEARY
    Aug 13th 2015, 9:38 PM

My refusal to buy even the cheapest Saorview box to receive RTE means I haven’t seen it since the changeover,do programmes still resemble 80′s American community t.v.?.If there’s a Rugby game I can’t see anywhere else I stick the player on the laptop,otherwise no thanks.

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Aug 14th 2015, 12:24 AM

I didn’t realise RTE was still going, hope it doesn’t cost too much

Mute Joe Harbison
    Favourite Joe Harbison
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:17 PM

i’ve learned that I’m not giving up my Netflix subscription.

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:33 PM

And it is literally a crime not to pay for this sh*te !

Mute Carmel Costello
    Favourite Carmel Costello
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:19 PM

RTE stands for Ryan Tubrity Ejitt

Mute Frank Dowling
    Favourite Frank Dowling
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:44 PM

good one!

Mute james moore
    Favourite james moore
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:37 PM

They don’t scrimp on snacks because we the public pay for them.
    Same tired auld presenters sure if the show is not working on Saturday we’ll just move to one of the other days sure go wan pick one there’s 6 more.
    Tubs = messi shows how delusional RTE are he has about as much talent for interviewing people as me and I can barely talk at the best of times

Mute Thomas Hannigan
    Favourite Thomas Hannigan
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:22 PM

Complete Bollox!

Mute Padraig Nolan
    Favourite Padraig Nolan
    Aug 13th 2015, 10:12 PM

Hasn’t Brendan O’Connor suffered enough being replaced by bloody Ray D’Arcy without showing that photo ?

Mute Dan Smith
    Favourite Dan Smith
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:37 PM

Those self-obsessed knob heads above should be put in jail for spewing out such crap instead of us for non-payment of TV license.

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:32 PM

Even RT’s dreams are boring.

Mute Joanna O'Shea
    Favourite Joanna O'Shea
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:43 PM

Looks like D’arcy is giving us the finger as they are laughing about their ridiculous pay checks! Glad I’m abroad and not paying for that crap!

Mute Dec O'Farrell
    Favourite Dec O'Farrell
    Aug 13th 2015, 9:19 PM

Turgidy is too bland for words, no idea how he came to be the highest-paid ‘artist’ on taxpayer TV – as for the rest of it…..ugh. Just ugh! Actually it’s all ugh, just Turgidy is ughier, if that is possible.

Mute Dennis
    Favourite Dennis
    Aug 13th 2015, 9:00 PM

Tubridy is more like Falcao. Paid extravagant amounts to embarrass himself on a weekly basis.

Mute Seth Mcguinness
    Favourite Seth Mcguinness
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:22 PM

We’ve never learned anything important.

Mute Ripper Murphy
    Favourite Ripper Murphy
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:30 PM

i learned how to do a handstand before. dat was improtant.

Mute Seth Mcguinness
    Favourite Seth Mcguinness
    Aug 13th 2015, 10:02 PM

I’ll give you this, even though I don’t know you, and, generally, handstands are not that important, your achievement is much more important than what we’ve learned from RTE.

Mute Hung So Gud
    Favourite Hung So Gud
    Aug 13th 2015, 9:23 PM

Just the same old sh*te churned out in another crap version of the same format fronted by the same talentless gimps. Only there because of nepotism and despite no talent have a job for life. Meanwhile to see anything worth watching we all subscribe to sky yet are force to pay the rte tax that is the tv licence. Just scrap the institution altogether and let the publuc vote with their feet.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Aug 13th 2015, 9:18 PM

Ha did they post a pic of pre-diet Brendan o’Connor on purpose? :)

Mute Ken Fallon
    Favourite Ken Fallon
    Aug 13th 2015, 9:20 PM

Depressing stuff, the whole thing. And we all have to pay for it.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Aug 13th 2015, 10:05 PM

Ah now I see the urgency in sending people to prison over not paying their TV licence – the RTE branded Cookies!!! This bunch of saps can’t be left without their RTE treats!

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Aug 13th 2015, 9:23 PM

If you seen any of the 50 reruns of every program ever shown by RTE…fear not!…..you can now be bored out of your tree on the internet too with RTE Player….again and again!

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Aug 13th 2015, 10:37 PM

All in all every single one of them are nothing more than cringey rte puppets

They are all so full of themselves and to think the wages some them are on is outrageous, not only the licence fee but tax payers money as well

Begs the question who watches such tripe to keep them in jobs in the first place

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:40 PM

Well the nature programmes are good on RTE TV without the BBC budget Apart from that ? Just as well RTE talent never look at the journal

Mute Martin Gallagher
    Favourite Martin Gallagher
    Aug 13th 2015, 11:24 PM

No 3 “….Ryan Tubridy is our very own Lionel Messi”. More like a cross between Peter Crouch and a ladder, I think?

Mute Franco
    Favourite Franco
    Aug 13th 2015, 10:24 PM

as soon as ray d’arsy comes on in afternoon i switch!

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Aug 13th 2015, 11:44 PM

That man makes me cringe.His disgusting laugh and horrible Kildare accent…..and he’s paid massively for it.Disgusting!!

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Aug 13th 2015, 9:44 PM

Who (I’ll use the word wrote) wrote this article, are we to believe that it is just drivel about more drivel? There are people who could have written this properly for ye, pointed out the pros and cons, oh I know they are not really pros but they are extremely well overpaid, the cons have also been spotted by previous contributors

Mute Ripper Murphy
    Favourite Ripper Murphy
    Aug 13th 2015, 8:25 PM

bascally if ders no kardashans ders no point. rte is no e! and i find it sad da way it tinks it is!

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Aug 13th 2015, 11:40 PM

Any judge on planet earth would excuse me but paying my TV licence.In fact maybe I could sue.Repulsive,RTE!!

Mute Kathleen Kavanagh
    Favourite Kathleen Kavanagh
    Aug 13th 2015, 11:57 PM

Looking good Guys – Good Luck !

Mute Integra-Ted
    Favourite Integra-Ted
    Aug 14th 2015, 10:27 AM

I hearby refuse to pay my T.V licence renewal and henceforth accept 10 years hard labour at Spike Island prison, but please do not make me pay for the likes of this shower of talentless wasters!