You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The remains of Éiriu.

Sculptor behind design destroyed by fire vows to return '50 times' if he has to

Gardaí have launched an investigation after the large wooden sculpture on Waterford’s Greenway route was destroyed by fire.

THE SCULPTOR BEHIND a Waterford project that has been destroyed by fire has vowed to return to the design “another 50 times” if he has to.

Gardaí have launched an investigation after the large wooden sculpture featured on Waterford’s Greenway route was destroyed.

The damage was discovered on Friday morning.

The sculpture was erected earlier in March in collaboration with the South East Technological University as a biodiversity project in tribute to an Irish mythological goddess called ‘Éiriu’.

277172778_3253527814920529_1360676334347352843_n Éiriu before it was destroyed. Special Branch Carvers Special Branch Carvers

But the centre of the sculpture is now a just mound of ash, with only the outstretched hand and feet remaining.

Gardaí are treating it as an incident of criminal damage and are appealing for any witnesses or anyone with information to come forward.

Éiriu was carved by a team led by John Hayes of Special Branch Carvers.

He’s a master wood craftsman who has designed other works including the 23 metre sword lying in Waterford’s Viking Triangle.

Speaking to The Journal, Hayes said the South East Technological University is still “trying to wrap its head around the fact that Éiriu is gone”.

He added that the university is meeting “to see what the solution is”.

However, Hayes said he is trying to put a positive spin on it: “We will come back out and if we have to do it another 50 times, we’ll figure out a way to do it.

“You have to keep going but it’s a pity she is not there today.”

While there is “months and months” of work involved in putting a project like Éiriu together, Hayes says he just wants to go back in and fix it.

However, he adds that he’ll have to consult with those involved to see how to move forward.

Hayes is currently featured on a Discovery Channel programme titled ‘A Cut Above’ that documents chainsaw carvers from around the world turning wooden logs into works of art.

“I had just got a call from the States telling me that the TV show we were after doing had done really well,” said Hayes.

“Then I hang up the phone and I get a call to say that Éiriu has gone. I didn’t believe it to be honest until I went to see it with my own eyes.

“A massive sculpture that has disappeared so quick, it was hard to look at really. I did have a tear I have to say, you just can’t get your head around it.”

Hayes competes in international chainsaw carving championships and says that community has been very supportive since Éiriu’s destruction.

But he adds that this incident has left a “sour taste”.

“We are all saying the same time really. There’s a good thing happening and people are angry to see this.

“Everybody is just trying to take it in and we need to find a way to correct this.”

Hayes said people in the area who “saw the sculpture being made and followed the process” are particularly upset with the destruction.

But Hayes adds that he is determined to see them happy again: “We’ll come up with a solution.

“I still have my hands and we’ll figure out a way to fix it and put a smile on people’s faces.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

12 Comments
    Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Aug 28th 2024, 8:31 AM

Oh the stress of it all, they’ll need therapy after this. Especially when they see the price

Mute Amy Duffin
    Favourite Amy Duffin
    Aug 28th 2024, 9:45 AM

@P. V. Aglue: How much are we talking about

Mute Kevin Dillon
    Favourite Kevin Dillon
    Aug 28th 2024, 10:05 AM

@Amy Duffin: 85 euro. Cheaper than alot of gigs. Wasn’t elton john 120 for cheapest, and stevie nicks even more?

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:01 AM

@Kevin Dillon: if it’s the same as ac/dc there were very few tickets available at that price…they went up pretty steeply after that

Mute Patrice Ahern
    Favourite Patrice Ahern
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:05 AM

@Amy Duffin: FROM €86 + this, + that + the other, which means UP TO €1,000. Or should that be €999.99?

Mute Mike Carson
    Favourite Mike Carson
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:41 AM

@P. V. Aglue: Just wait until the two lads fall out after the first gig and cancel the rest of the tour. Be some stressing then. Not to mention the ridiculous price the hotels in dublin are already looking to charge. €2704 for 3 nights that weekend in one, average, hotel already.

Mute Marie Power
    Favourite Marie Power
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:47 AM

@P. V. Aglue: And the bawling out of dated maudlin ballads.

Mute mark daly
    Favourite mark daly
    Aug 28th 2024, 12:00 PM

@Mike Carson: had a look there on booking.com. 500 for the Saturday night only is the average on 24 hotels. Cheapest is 370 in the lansdowne hotel.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Aug 28th 2024, 12:10 PM

@Mike Carson: I’ve no horse in this race. But let people have their fun and excitement for a few mins! I think the money will focus minds in a big way. Also the backlash would be too huge for them to risk their legacy like that. If there’s one thing that matters to them it’s that public love. Even if they row I can’t see them cancelling. They’ve far more on the line now than they did 15 years ago.

Mute Ian Cryan
    Favourite Ian Cryan
    Aug 28th 2024, 1:11 PM

@Marie Power: take it you don’t like them but plenty do like myself and classic anthems they sing

Mute Mary Kelly
    Favourite Mary Kelly
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:38 AM

Can we put an age restriction on tickets…must be over 35 and have listened to definitely maybe on a cassette!

Mute Mike Carson
    Favourite Mike Carson
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:53 AM

@Mary Kelly: Gate keep much? Stupid opinion and comment. While I’m not a fan, I wouldn’t begrudge any one of any age a ticket to see them. I’m in my late 30s,should i not of been allowed go see the rolling stones or bruce springsteen because they started before i was born? It’s perhaps more important for the younger generation to experience this type of cultural music, especially given that most music nowadays is mass-produced with no deep significance or feeling or made by machines and AI. That said, I will be pleasantly surprised if the two boys can stay cordial enough to make it through the shows.

Mute Mary Kelly
    Favourite Mary Kelly
    Aug 28th 2024, 1:06 PM

@Mike Carson: jaysus….its a joke love…calm down!

Mute Ian Cryan
    Favourite Ian Cryan
    Aug 28th 2024, 1:14 PM

@Mike Carson: now who is getting stressed out ..

Chill pill time
    Calm down

Mute Austin Mc Cann
    Favourite Austin Mc Cann
    Aug 28th 2024, 7:31 PM

@Mike Carson: It was a joke ye spanner!!!

Mute Pink Freud
    Favourite Pink Freud
    Aug 29th 2024, 5:25 PM

@Mary Kelly: I wasn’t certain if I was recalling correctly – did I remember buying an Oasis album (or was it a single) on CD while cassettes were still available in the shop? And, in fact, was it possible that that when buying one Oasis CD in particular, I did also buy 2 cassette tapes of…..was it, Alanis maybe? Or am I imagining Cassettes and CDs coexisting in the same retail space in the 90s?

What I definitely have never forgotten (or forgiven) is that nost bands constantly skipped over Dublin on their “European” and “World” tours.

Mute Chaotic State
    Favourite Chaotic State
    Aug 28th 2024, 8:12 AM

If you can’t get tickets, then
    Don’t look back in Anger.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Aug 28th 2024, 8:35 AM

@Chaotic State: 8 more months of these jokes. It’s going to be a long winter

Mute Shirley Mccloskey
    Favourite Shirley Mccloskey
    Aug 28th 2024, 8:48 AM

@Freda Peeple: you gotta roll with it

Mute Richard Cullen
    Favourite Richard Cullen
    Aug 28th 2024, 9:01 AM

@Chaotic State: please stop please just stop

Mute Chaotic State
    Favourite Chaotic State
    Aug 28th 2024, 9:06 AM

@Freda Peeple: Hopefully when they play in Dublin – I will be Half a World Away.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Aug 28th 2024, 9:08 AM

@Shirley Mccloskey: I can’t Acquiesce

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Aug 28th 2024, 9:13 AM

@Chaotic State: Why?

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Aug 28th 2024, 10:41 AM

@Chaotic State: Don’t go away

Mute Mike Carson
    Favourite Mike Carson
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:42 AM

@Chaotic State: Ii doubt they will still be together by the time the dublin gig comes around.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:45 AM

@Freda Peeple: not to mention 8 months of dreary overhyped songs.
    (I couldn’t use the term music)

Mute gordon o loughlin
    Favourite gordon o loughlin
    Aug 28th 2024, 3:22 PM

@Freda Peeple: definitely maybe

Mute Neil Reilly
    Favourite Neil Reilly
    Aug 28th 2024, 8:32 AM

The Ticketmaster plan

Mute Trevor Hoyden
    Favourite Trevor Hoyden
    Aug 28th 2024, 9:29 AM

3 chord musicians.
    Followed by ” so called hardmen” with dodgy haircuts.
    Don’t understand the following.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Aug 28th 2024, 10:02 AM

@Trevor Hoyden: Many of the world’s greatest songs have only three chords (and many of Oasis’ have more than that).

Mute Trevor Hoyden
    Favourite Trevor Hoyden
    Aug 28th 2024, 10:27 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: Personal choice I suppose, I just don’t get the hype, anytime you’re in Dublin especially Grafton Street some busker is whaling it .
    Wonderwall, with his three chords or a drunk in karaoke.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Aug 28th 2024, 10:45 AM

@Trevor Hoyden: Ah you’re one of them, “hey look at me I play the mandolin, look at these working class oafs with their three chords, how dare they, what and they are giving joy to people.” Nobody cares what you think.

Mute Jonny Miller
    Favourite Jonny Miller
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:03 AM

@Trevor Hoyden: wonderwall is 4 chords..

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:04 AM

@Trevor Hoyden: nothing wrong with 3 chords! Some of the best music ever made has 3 chords only, from Blues to Punk, and many others

Mute Trevor Hoyden
    Favourite Trevor Hoyden
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:13 AM

@orb7eckn: Touchy, merely an opinion.

Mute Dave c
    Favourite Dave c
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:21 AM

@Trevor Hoyden: another attention seeking muppet. Get a life.

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:59 AM

@Trevor Hoyden: I think you meant to say Touché

Mute Trevor Hoyden
    Favourite Trevor Hoyden
    Aug 28th 2024, 12:04 PM

@orb7eckn: no , Touchy as in easily offended by someone else’s opinion.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Aug 28th 2024, 12:05 PM

@orb7eckn: I think we’re well on our way to 90s arguments revisited! Just need a big row over whether electronic music is ‘real music’ and the last few decades won’t have happened! Anyone for some Radiohead? None of the catchy stuff though. Avant b-sides about being ashamed of your success in the middle of a crushing dystopia only! ;)

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Aug 28th 2024, 12:23 PM

@SerotoninWars: haha very much so, like some music offends my ears but I don’t go into relevant articles giving it the big one. Some are just charmless men

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Aug 28th 2024, 12:30 PM

@orb7eckn: This is true! I can’t pretend I’ve ever been a big fan and was definitely in one of the other tribes back then (not the Blur v Oasis thing!). But I get that they mean so much to so many and our youth was decades ago and we’re hopefully all grown up now, Their sense of humour about some of the silliness of their bolshy drugged up youth has really taken the edge off things too. I’ve far too many 3 or 4 chord songs I love to start wading in on that front too!

Mute Ian Cryan
    Favourite Ian Cryan
    Aug 28th 2024, 1:18 PM

@Trevor Hoyden: maybe your jealous.
    3 chords songs classics
    Probably don’t even know how to play the guitar and if you do if properly you who knows 3 chords G C and F

Mute Trevor Hoyden
    Favourite Trevor Hoyden
    Aug 28th 2024, 1:28 PM

@Ian Cryan: Very true I don’t know how to play the guitar, doesn’t mean I can’t have an opinion on wether I like their music or not.
    What exactly is your point?

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Aug 28th 2024, 2:26 PM

@Trevor Hoyden: Everyone is allowed their opinion for sure. This isn’t really a reply wading into the Oasis debate, more something I learned repeatedly over the years. It’s always a bit of an inspiration when you see how democratic music and lots of creative areas are. You give several people the same basic tools and a small number can spin gold. Same with technical ability. Of course it counts but you can have borderline genius musicians moving all over the fretboard but can’t connect emotionally. There’s mega-budget cinema that feels completely soulless and then someone with no budget but something powerful to say, that knocks you off your feet. It’s great that these things still possess that ability to surprise and give people outlets and avenues to express themselves and connect!

Mute Trevor Hoyden
    Favourite Trevor Hoyden
    Aug 28th 2024, 6:14 PM

@Andrew Clavin: Name calling the height of Intelligence, if you’re not willing to accept other people’s opinions, your the one that needs to examine themselves.
    Oh and I’ve never listened to lyric FM, I believe the last time I listened to radio was Radio Nova, unless you have an opinion on that as well.

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Aug 28th 2024, 8:19 AM

Ticket to hide? (Getting in a kind of Beatles reference there…? Yes?)

Mute reg morrisey
    Favourite reg morrisey
    Aug 28th 2024, 8:42 AM

@Keth Tgi: thanks for the explanation

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Aug 28th 2024, 8:49 AM

@reg morrisey: Every little helps! (Tesco’s quote there, I think. More an Aldi/Lidl guy these days).

Mute Harry Callahan
    Favourite Harry Callahan
    Aug 28th 2024, 9:41 AM

Little to worry them. The whole thing will probably degenerate into rows and fisticuffs before those muppets even take to the stage.

Mute Barry Murphy
    Favourite Barry Murphy
    Aug 28th 2024, 10:42 AM

@Harry Callahan: Blur fan? :)

Mute NoelDublin
    Favourite NoelDublin
    Aug 28th 2024, 10:56 AM

So much fuss over a Beatles tribute band.

Mute Gavin Gray
    Favourite Gavin Gray
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:58 AM

anyone under 18 should not be allowed to go, real fans need tickets 1st

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Aug 28th 2024, 1:21 PM

@Gavin Gray: The thing is Oasis’ music is designed for 15-20 year olds. Most go on to find decent music or something less middle of the road as they get older.

Mute Hector turtlehead
    Favourite Hector turtlehead
    Aug 28th 2024, 9:34 AM

Definitely get a confirmation.
    Maybe not.

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Aug 28th 2024, 10:45 AM

Is the rumour that Damon Albarn bought up all the tickets already true?

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Aug 28th 2024, 1:23 PM

@Padraig O’Brien: No! Albarn went on to be one of musics pioneers and deep thinkers so he has nothing to be nervous about. What he achieved post Blur should be an inspiration to the brothers Grim, instead both are stuck in the past.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Aug 28th 2024, 12:27 PM

What odds would Paddy Power offer on it not going ahead ,every chance Liam will throw the toys outa the cot you know.

Mute den
    Favourite den
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:28 AM

Overrated band much, listen to most of their lyrics! Sounds like they were off their faces tripping and skipping down the road writing them!! Pure muck

Mute Gavin Gray
    Favourite Gavin Gray
    Aug 28th 2024, 11:59 AM

@den: just write on better song and we can talk :)

Mute Niall Gilmartin
    Favourite Niall Gilmartin
    Aug 28th 2024, 1:09 PM

@den: Well at least we won’t have to worry about wasting a ticket on you then.

Mute Ian Cryan
    Favourite Ian Cryan
    Aug 28th 2024, 1:12 PM

@den: your view but I bet my house on it many including myself disagree with you.

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Aug 28th 2024, 5:55 PM

@den: Obviously your band failed.

Mute James Hanley
    Favourite James Hanley
    Aug 28th 2024, 5:15 PM

A waste of time and money for a band that was always overrated and overhyped. They tried hard to be like the Beatles but failed miserably. Some of Noel Gallagher’s solo material was a shade better.

Mute Pink Freud
    Favourite Pink Freud
    Aug 29th 2024, 5:07 PM

Oasis:
    “There will be no pre-sale nonsense”.

Also Oasis:
    “Announcement: Pre-sale happening!!!”

I dunno about you.
    But I think they should have gone FULL old school on the ticket sales:

- No online sales
    - *dedicated* overnight queueing and camping outside your nearest Ticketmaster Counter will be required (if any still exist, anywhere…because we all know, HMV and Music Shops definitely dont exist anymore..but they could have popped up some faux record shops for the craic! Just for the sellin’ XD)

Jeez…. remember the days when people had manners and knew how to queue respectfully?
    Yehhh, I really miss twenty…….NINETEEN (2019)