You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Site of proposed facility at Custom's House Quay. DCC

Plans for €15 million floating pool on River Liffey near white-water rafting facility in Dublin city centre

It stems from interest by councillors and the public when the controversial white-water rafting facility was announced.

A NEW €15 MILLION heated outdoor pool on the River Liffey, adjacent to the where the new white-water rafting facility will be, has been proposed by Dublin City Council.

The project, according to the Docklands Development Office, stems from interest expressed by council members and the public in developing an outdoor pool in the city centre during discussions around the controversial white-water rafting project at George’s Dock last November. 

That white-water rafting proposal drew criticism from councillors who suggested the €22 million required to fund the project could be better spent in developing housing and infrastructure.

If approved by councillors on Dublin City Council, the sea pool facility would see an outdoor swimming pool around 50 metres long and up to 15 metres wide on a floating platform on the river at Custom’s House Quay. 

It would also include an adjoining building which would host changing rooms, a cafe, yoga rooms, and general meeting rooms. 

“It is also recommended that saunas are a significant feature of this public amenity,” a report from the Docklands Office said. 

Screen Shot 2020-07-09 at 11.45.54 The new attraction will be modelled on the Helsinki facility in Finland.

Dublin City Council expects the cost of developing the project would be covered by “reputable private operators” who would “take on total responsibility for the project” and design, build, operate and fund it in exchange for a 30 year licence. 

When that licence expires, the council suggested it could take over operation of the facility or require the operator to remove the entire infrastructure. 

In its feasibility report, the council pointed to a similar facility in Helsinki, Finland developed in 2014 and which the Dublin council determined to be a “social and economic success”. 

It also pointed to similar facilities in Paris, Berlin, Copenhagen and a proposed facility in New York. 

Screen Shot 2020-07-09 at 13.51.52 Mock up of what the facility might look like. Dublin City Council Dublin City Council

A number of sites in Dublin were identified as possible locations for the attraction but were later shelved, including Spencer Dock which was thought to be “too small”, and the North Quay’s near the 3Arena, which was though to be “too far from the city centre”. 

Docklands Area Manager Derek Kelly said the Custom’s House Quay location was the optimum site for the project.

“This location would develop Custom House Quay into a hub for water based recreational activity in the city and will help to achieve the City Councils ambitions for the animation of the water bodies within the Docklands,” he said.

Labour Cllr Dermot Lacey, who voted in favour of the white-water rafting facility last year, said he would be open to the idea of a floating pool, suggesting waterways around Dublin have been under-utilised.

“I believe that we underuse and under-appreciate our waterways and that we should be identifying new ways of using them and the second point is in general, I’m in favour of big projects and big initiatives.”

Development of the white-water rafting facility in George’s Dock was expected to get underway in the second-half of this year but will likely be delayed as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic. 

white water The white-water rafting facility due to be developed on George's Dock.

The facility in Dublin’s IFSC was given the green light after almost two-thirds of councillors from Dublin City Council threw their support behind it at a meeting in December. 

Dublin City Council said the planned development of the white water rafting facility along with the nearby EPIC Emigration Museum and the Jeanie Johnston attractions, could be combined with the new Sea Pool to draw tourists into the area. 

It expects visitors to number at around 800,000 based on the numbers visiting the Helsinki facility in Finland.  

TheJournal.ie reporter Conor McCrave, Green Party TD Patrick Costello, and kayak slalom champion Samuel Curtis discussed the ins and outs of the white-water rafting project in December – what the facility itself would consist of, its main benefits, how the scope for developing the site in other ways is somewhat limited, as well as the main criticisms it has faced.

The Explainer / SoundCloud

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

103 Comments
    Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Jul 9th 2020, 11:56 AM

I proposed that we turn the M50 into a giant scalextric set. This would not only aid tourism but reduce our carbon footprint- all in favour say AYE!!!!

Mute Tom Harpur Photography
    Favourite Tom Harpur Photography
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:47 PM

@Shane Cormican: i propose we turn the M50 into a carpark all in favour say aye !!!! Wait isn’t that already a carpark

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:01 PM

@Shane Cormican: I thought we had already turned it into a car park!!!

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Jul 9th 2020, 2:18 PM

@Tom Harpur Photography: original joke was gas Tom. Yours…….. not so much

Mute deisecelt
    Favourite deisecelt
    Jul 9th 2020, 2:24 PM

@Shane Cormican:

Mute Florin Strango
    Favourite Florin Strango
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:13 PM

LOOK AT OCONNEL STREET….DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT…PLEASE AND THANK YOU

Mute Lingwood
    Favourite Lingwood
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:20 PM

@Florin Strango: absolutely! Let’s fix what already exists first before establishing this verruca farm lol

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Jul 9th 2020, 11:58 AM

Nothing like building a second unnecessary attraction to serve all the tourists we won’t have for the next few years, even when the first one hasn’t gotten off the ground.

Mute Rúraíocht
    Favourite Rúraíocht
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:11 PM

@Paul Cunningham: it’s a feasibility study. Will take 30 years to complete.

Mute David Bourke
    Favourite David Bourke
    Jul 9th 2020, 2:04 PM

@Paul Cunningham:

Frankly, I think Dublin had too many tourists to begin with. “But the JOBBBS it CREATES” don’t care, it’s a tiny % of our GDP but has massive impact on rents, prices, traffic, and livability. Dublin is cramped, if we want tourism, send them to the west where the money could make a difference.

Mute Sean Foley
    Favourite Sean Foley
    Jul 9th 2020, 11:58 AM

Another complete waste of money. Anyone remember the Dublin Corporation Dockland Beach ?

Mute Fionn Condren
    Favourite Fionn Condren
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:35 PM

@Sean Foley: What part is a waste of money if it is funded, set up and managed by private operators… as per the article

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:48 PM

@Sean Foley: I remember hearing that the millennium clock got washed away due to high tides. In addition the IFSC area of the Liffey has a greater chance of flooding. If it looks like a white elephant ………?

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:54 PM

@Daniel Kelly: it didn’t get washed away they took it out and it is sitting in a warehouse. Never know the docklands to flood either. Did you hear all of this down the pub?

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly

@Craic_a_tower: Went to college down that way and have seen the Liffey very close to breaching it’s walls after heavy rains before. Thanks for asking!

On the millennium clock I will admit it was something I was told that may/may not be accurate?

Mute Seán O'Loughlin
    Favourite Seán O'Loughlin
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:05 PM

@Daniel Kelly: Nah the millennium clock just became useless due to the slime (algae?) getting on it so it was taken out.

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:28 PM

@Fionn Condren: if you brlieve that spin you are dim.

Mute Johnny Monaghan
    Favourite Johnny Monaghan

It will only be another area for the lovely locals in the area to congregate in

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:16 PM

@Johnny Monaghan: Must be lovely living in ivory towers where locals don’t congregate. Do you by any chance go to the quays in dublin when the tall ships are in or at New Years when the fireworks ate let off? Makes me sick the way people think they are above others because of where they come from. You do realise good and bad come in all shapes and sizes?

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:53 PM

@Johnny Monaghan: and what is wrong with the locals ? Absolutely nothing.

Mute Johnny Monaghan
    Favourite Johnny Monaghan
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:26 PM

@Olivia Smith: the next time I leave my ivory tower il park my BMW near mayor street, il go for a stroll with my phone in my hand and see how long the car lasts without being smashed up or how long before my phone is robbed by a passer by on a bicycle, and no I don’t go to the quays tall ships or firework displays, I had the displeasure of working in Dublin 1 for 10 years, and I know well what I saw, so on seconds thoughts as you put it, il stay in my ivory tower

Mute Shimmy Shammy
    Favourite Shimmy Shammy
    Jul 9th 2020, 3:29 PM

@Olivia Smith: Classy lady Olivia.

Mute cryptodon
    Favourite cryptodon
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:00 PM

We dont have the weather for that sort of thing.

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:01 PM

@cryptodon: why? They might get wet?

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:09 PM

@cryptodon: “We dont have the weather for that sort of thing.”

We cannot have it any worse than Helsinki Finland, Paris, Berlin, Copenhagen and New York – that have one similar or are getting same.

Mute Ryan O'Rourke
    Favourite Ryan O'Rourke

@Anthony Clark: have you been to New York or Berlin during August?

Mute Paul Quirke
    Favourite Paul Quirke

@Anthony Clark: Paris and Berlin get real summers

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:48 PM

@cryptodon: it’s heated. And wet.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 9th 2020, 6:41 PM

@cryptodon: Yup, I’m trying to figure out how the water stays warm while it’s raining.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jul 9th 2020, 7:55 PM

@cryptodon: Correct, never be able to keep the water temperature at the standard 28c even in Ireland’s summertime. It will be like an ice skating rink in winter time.

Mute Mattress Dick
    Favourite Mattress Dick
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:00 PM

Is it April fools Day?

Mute FightorFlight Movie
    Favourite FightorFlight Movie
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:57 PM

@Mattress Dick: No it’s the 9th of July

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Jul 9th 2020, 11:59 AM

So who will build this? Private money? Or the taxpayer who will then get scammed by the preferred bidder?

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs

@Patrick Agnew: it’s in the article “Dublin City Council expects the cost of developing the project would be covered by “reputable private operators” who would “take on total responsibility for the project” and design, build, operate and fund it in exchange for a 30 year licence.”

Mute Paul Edward Kilcullen
    Favourite Paul Edward Kilcullen
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:41 PM

@Patrick Agnew: Maybe take some reading lessons? Or is that wasted money.. probably

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:12 PM

@Paul Edward Kilcullen: the word is expects… not they will do take some reading lessons yourself

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:19 PM

@Patrick Agnew: We will, then more than likely hand it off to a private buddy of government to profit from…

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:34 PM

@MickN: exactly. Ireland’s track record isn’t good in this regard.

Mute TW
    Favourite TW
    Jul 9th 2020, 11:56 AM

But the homeless…..

Mute Aidan Byrne
    Favourite Aidan Byrne
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:21 PM

@TW: At least they will be able to have a warm bath.

Mute tuco
    Favourite tuco
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:01 PM

Let’s cram more people into dublin while it’s bursting at the seems.meanwhile regions in Ireland are dying a slow death.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:51 PM

@tuco: I live a 45 minute walk from Stephens green. It’s not bursting at the seems. We’re mostly grand most of the time. The reason the region’s are dying is because everyone wants everything everywhere and that’s not possible.

Mute Simon Connolly
    Favourite Simon Connolly

@David Clements: No the reason the regions are dying is because everything is centralised in Dublin. There’s an argument that they have the majority of the population lving in Dublin but both go hand in hand, people will go to where the money and jobs are..

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:11 PM

@Simon Connolly: Did you all not read the part about DCC proposing this venture? The clue is in the name. It’s up to other councils to do things for their areas.

Mute Simon Connolly
    Favourite Simon Connolly
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:55 PM

@Olivia Smith: Did you not read the comments thread, I’m replying directly to the commenter above me…get of your high horse and join the debate instead of trying to troll other people’s conversations! Or you could just jog on!

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Jul 9th 2020, 2:32 PM

@Simon Connolly: I won’t jog on since I have been part of this thread since it was published earlier. Moaning about looking for stuff outside Dublin when the article is about dublin makes FB me wonder if the mentality of some. It’s a public forum and people can comment on what they like. So unless you are not ok with they JOG ON.

Mute Simon Connolly
    Favourite Simon Connolly
    Jul 9th 2020, 2:37 PM

@Olivia Smith: You come in on this specific comment thread and taken everything that myself and the other two people have been talking about completely out of context and attempted to swing the conversation to something that we (the 3 other people) weren’t referring to…may I suggest that you just refrain from commenting at the minute before you amke yourself look even more of an eejit! The only person moaning is you!

Mute tuco
    Favourite tuco
    Jul 9th 2020, 4:56 PM

@David Clements: over half of Ireland’s GDP comes from dublin.its totally unsustainable as a city and the government should be ashamed for letting this happen.meanehile our 4 other regional cities are in the dump trying to play catch up and getting crumbs off the government table.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:09 PM

I’m all for swimming pools but not one of epic proportions on a floating platform in the middle of the city centre and the traffic on the quays. A beach would be best suited as a location or even more amenities on the beach.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:45 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: I think beaches already have swimming facilities called the sea

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:53 PM

@David Clements: Haha, can’t believe people are still interacting with her. She has shown over the past couple of days that she dosent listen to common sense. Iv muted her and its ace.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:59 PM

@David Clements: not everybody can swim in the sea and feels more comfortable in the pool and there are many beaches that have swimming pools in it , but ok , maybe in a local park, say Phoenix Park, it would be a nicer option due to nicer surroundings than a city centre busy road.

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:13 PM

@Olivia Smith: Can’t hear you! Wasting your time replying to me :D

Mute Shimmy Shammy
    Favourite Shimmy Shammy
    Jul 9th 2020, 3:32 PM

@Olivia Smith: But she didn’t reply to you.

Mute Fearghal
    Favourite Fearghal
    Jul 9th 2020, 11:57 AM

What a load of horse shy-tea!

Mute Anita Fleming
    Favourite Anita Fleming
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:32 PM

Can we please start building attractions, amenities outside of fecking Dublin !! I work in Dublin and have to commute 1hr 30mins on a good day ! This is only going to make traffic worse. We need to start branching outside the capital. How about rural Ireland? Driving through towns and villages and see a lot of abandon shops and maybe even a playground.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:46 PM

@Anita Fleming: no one is stopping you having attractions outside Dublin. This was an idea of our elected members. Talk to yours if you want sonething

Mute Lughnasa Healy-Rae-Nua
    Favourite Lughnasa Healy-Rae-Nua
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:39 PM

@Anita Fleming: How about rural Ireland? Well… how about Cork or Galway or Kilkenny or wherever County Council could propose something for their respective areas, then?

Nothing to stop them. At all. Literally all they have to do is grant themselves the necessary planning permissions and run a competition. If private investors think it’s a runner, away they go and build it.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 9th 2020, 6:43 PM

@Anita Fleming: Good idea – talk to your local council. Remind them how much they’ve saved on travel since Paddy’s Day. It would be great if they could give something back to their community.

Mute Ciaran Forde
    Favourite Ciaran Forde
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:20 PM

the pool in Helskini is class, really nice ammenity

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:56 PM

Look at the Board walk , perfect example of a failed project because it’s not managed/policed

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:36 PM

Can we please get the names of all the the advocates & supporters of this project.
    Will the Journal run a poll to test this propaganda that people favour this along with the white water thing?
    Ask the question which priority the citizens want, housing or IFSC paddling pool/ Liffey swimming pool.
    Don’t forget the kids have already commandeered the Spencer dock for a swim, so why not just operate it as such officially?

Mute Dean
    Favourite Dean

Seems this non-essential luxury is to be privatised, then fine, once they get NO funding from our taxes.

If it’s funded by taxes, then it should not be sold off.

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:57 PM

@Dean: Taxpayer takes the risk if it fails and pick up the tab. The private investor’s will borrow to build this white elephant and the lending bank/customer/taxpayer take the risk on through increased charges/interest rates if the white elephant fails. Investor’s always borrow for high risk investment’s and receive a huge ROI if successful/let taxpayer’s ultimately take the hit if unsuccessful.

Mute Dean
    Favourite Dean
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:06 PM

If it fails, how would the taxpayer pick up the tab? Bailout?

It’s almost as if there’s no point in capitalism/privatisation.

Taxes though, they should only be used on essential necessities—housing, water…

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Jul 9th 2020, 2:20 PM

@Dean: Customer’s of bank’s are taxpayer’s. Therefore, if white elephant fails the Investor’s wind up the company and stick the bank with loss on loan that won’t be repaid. The bank has an obligation to it’s shareholder’s to try and make a profit also has to keep a certain ratio of cash to loans. Thus, the bank pass on the bad loan to customer’s as low deposit interest, increased loan interest and increased bank charges.

Our past centre right government have already shown they won’t let bad bank’s fail. Since that is the only type of government for 100 year’s it is likely to continue. Taxpayer takes on the real risk. The investor Gamble’s to achieve the highest ROI possible. That is modern capitalism in action…..

Mute Niall K
    Favourite Niall K
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:35 PM

How about building a community pool in the locality or is the land around there too expensive now .
    If you upgraded the facilities in the area there would be less trouble . I personally think this a pipe dream and probably will never get off the ground. They’d need to put a roof on it …. I do have to somewhat agree with the first poster .I think it is not the ideal place to have it ….it will attract the wrong clientele …. Only my opinion .

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith

@Niall K: There are community pools in the area. So are you saying you wouldn’t go because of the type of people it will attract? Do you go the the aquatic center in blanch?

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:43 PM

@Niall K: see above re Spencer dock, already in community use, so just needs official maintenance & oversight.Someone in the City bunkers is pushing their own agenda, so let some good journalism ferret out who & what for.

Mute tirnanog1979
    Favourite tirnanog1979
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:47 PM

Great plans. That is really going to cut into the 10,000 homeless figure

Mute willow moon
    Favourite willow moon
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:50 PM

Humans are a strange species. To build a pool on a perfectly fine body of water not containing dangerous wildlife like sharks or box jellyfish.

Mute Mach1
    Favourite Mach1
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:34 PM

What in the name of all that’s good and holy are they up to? Let’s get through covit first. Yes we need to help the economy but not with a floating pool

Mute Christopher Byrne
    Favourite Christopher Byrne
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:30 PM

Perfect, just whats needed with 15 big ones. Who needs 15 million worth of housing for homeless etc when you can have a floating pool? And thats an ‘Irish’ 15 mil which = 127mil when built…

Mute Edel Quinn
    Favourite Edel Quinn
    Jul 9th 2020, 2:11 PM

This money should spent on a complete upgrade of O’Connell St – it’s an embarrassment to the city at this stage!

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:26 PM

“it’s stems from interest from the public” pretty sure the only interest the public had was wanting to know why they were building a bloody white water rafting centre.

Mute jason prendergast
    Favourite jason prendergast
    Jul 9th 2020, 2:23 PM

They already built a swimming pool in Clontarf that wasn’t very successful why waste another €15million on a project that u know is going to fail

Mute Johnny 5
    Favourite Johnny 5
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:43 PM

So people will pay to swim on a platform that floats in the free to swim Dublin Bay? Fools and their money…..

Mute Michael Cunningham
    Favourite Michael Cunningham
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:14 PM

@Johnny 5:
    Yes. This is evident from similar previous projects elsewhere.

Mute Johnny 5
    Favourite Johnny 5
    Jul 9th 2020, 1:43 PM

@Michael Cunningham: Wonderful. I might apply for a pitch close by to sell jars of Dublin Bay air. This time next year Rodney…..

Mute Brendan Deegan
    Favourite Brendan Deegan
    Jul 9th 2020, 4:22 PM

More Crazy Stuff
    A sign of a good society is how it looks after its poor and needy
    I think we need to concentrate on housing first before these crazy projects
    A Home For all First .
    Should be every single politicians Mantra

Mute Rochey77
    Favourite Rochey77
    Jul 9th 2020, 4:00 PM

It should be put somewhere like Malahide or Howth or Blackrock or Dun Laoghaire. That part of the Liffey is already well served by bailing off rusty bridges in Aldi special wetsuits, no?

Mute Maalouf
    Favourite Maalouf
    Jul 9th 2020, 2:34 PM

De durtburds will be out showing the glutes for da gram

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Jul 9th 2020, 12:40 PM

DCC were always great on ‘sustainable’ development.

Mute Michael Byrne
    Favourite Michael Byrne
    Jul 9th 2020, 2:49 PM

cue a ” fact finding mission to City’s that have an outdoor pool, and ours will have to be heated by all the hot air piped straight from the council chambers

Mute Patrick FitzGerald
    Favourite Patrick FitzGerald
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:22 PM

But we have no money as a state to fund the extensive social housing program necessary to remove young people from the grip of landlords. Gotcha.

If anyone was in any doubt that the sacrificing of the young to the housing crisis was anything other than an intentional policy exploitation, this kind of story should remove it entirely. There is nothing accidental about it. The ruling parties are happy for people to be bled dry so that they and their target demographic can continue to receive passive income while the young are forced to effectively pay both their own bills and those of the property speculator class.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jul 10th 2020, 8:29 AM

…to achieve the ambitions of the City Council for the animation of the waterbodies within the docklands”

Sounds like negotiations are already underway with Fungi, for a transfer!