You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A senator thinks seagulls are "losing the run of themselves"... Well. Are they?

Gulls are terrorising the people of Dublin, literally stealing candy from children, and startling women with Chihuahuas — according to Senator Ned O’Sullivan.

MOVIECLIPS / YouTube

SEAGULLS.

Often found lurking around refuse sites, swooping low over picnic tables and ruining the perfectly-groomed hairstyles of innocent 1960s actresses.

In short, they’re awkward, loud and irascible… And they’re not-particularly-great singers either.

But perhaps we should spare a thought for the oft-maligned creatures?

After all — how would you like it if a politician took to the floor of the national parliament to call for a cull of your species?

Well, that’s just what Kerry senator Ned O’Sullivan did this week — firing a warning shot across the bows of the nation’s population of herring gulls before he set off on his holidays.

[TheJournal.ie]

They’ve “lost the run of themselves completely” the Fianna Fáil politician opined, after pointing out (for no apparent reason whatsoever) that had nothing against pigeons (yes, really).

“They’re very raucous, they’re keeping people awake,” he complained — to muffled laughter from his colleagues.

But he wasn’t done.

“I saw that they’re getting so cheeky now that they attack young children and dispossess them of their lollipops and stuff like that,” he continued, citing complaints from listeners on a recent Liveline.

The Senator — who last hit the headlines back in June, when he compared Enda Kenny to Hitler  —-  wants the new Environment Minister Alan Kelly to do something about the issue, he told the chamber.

He then finished his brief contribution on the issue by saying they appeared more interested in eating human waste than looking for fish anyway.

The laughing gull

In fact, it had been a rough week for seagulls by that point anyway.

There was also the story of Jonathan, a well known gull-about-town in Waterford — found dead in the street on Thursday morning.

He had been “laughing” at joggers on the Dunmore Road, we’re told — swooping down at them from his perch atop a lamppost…

The last remains of Jonathan, the laughing seagull? [Karen Doyle/WLR]

The finger of suspicion is now firmly pointed at the South East’s fitness community.

Claims

So — what are we to make of the Senator’s claims?

Are the gulls of Dublin (and he mentioned the capital specifically in the Seanad) presiding over a feathery reign of terror?

And if they are, how do we deal with them?…

O’Sullivan wasn’t around to expand on his claims yesterday (he texted back to say he was abroad) — but speaking to the Indo on Thursday he explained how he felt compelled to speak up after the birds tried to abduct a “startled woman’s pet Chihuahua” (the Chihuahua, we imagine, was also pretty discombobulated).

Fair enough. The birds in question have a certain rep. You can hardly imagine a robin or a brent goose attempting to snatch a tiny dog in its clutches.

But should we tar all seagulls with the same brush?

Not in the least, insists Niall Hatch — a development officer at Birdwatch Ireland (and yes, ‘Mr Hatch’ has heard all the jokes).

In fact, the nation’s population of herring gulls is on the decline.

[Wikimedia Commons]

“People think there’s more of them around because they see them more,” he says, adding that many of them are now moving into urban areas.

In Dublin Bay a lot of islands they would use for nesting are no longer suitable, because you have a lot of rats eating their eggs.

In fact, the population is down by a whopping 90 per cent in the last two decades, according to the organisation.

The herring gull, despite its confident bearing — may simply be putting on a brave face: it’s on the ‘birds of conservation concern’ list in Ireland, though the wider European population is rated as ‘secure’.

But… Let’s not shirk from the truth here — they do swoop down on people, don’t they?… Joggers? Women with tiny dogs? Children with lollipops?

Says Hatch: “I haven’t heard about lollipops. That’s not the kind of food that seagulls would have any interest in”.

“We do get lots of reports of activity around the Grafton Street and Stephen’s Green area though, from people feeding the ducks.”

“It’s never good when wild animals start to associate people with food.”

Photocall Ireland... Stephen's Green Photocall Ireland... Stephen's Green

Over in Fingal — just inland from the birds’ habitual Dublin breeding spots on Lambay island and Ireland’s Eye — another Birdwatch Ireland member, James English, adds that anyone foolish enough to stumble into known a breeding ground may have to face the wrath of a swooping gull.

“If there’s a young bird around they’ll take action,” he notes, adding (reassuringly) that nesting season is now “almost over”.

“They tend to nest on roofs of buildings too. They don’t see them as any different than cliffs.

In Skerries, I’ve heard stories of people being swooped upon where they had a nest in their roof, and they had to put wire on their chimneys.

“It’s not a particularly serious issue though.”

The spin

Of course, the Birdwatch people are bound to spin the pro-gull line.

How about an impartial voice?

We put in another call…

“No, it’s not one of the top ten things we’d be concerned about,” says a bemused Richard Guiney of the Dublin City Business Improvement District.

“We’d have reports from businesses of them trying to rip open rubbish bags.”

Right. Maybe we’re on to something.

But it’s not notably worse than it would have been in previous years.

Hmm.

[TheJournal.ie] 

So, it seems no-one’s particularly concerned about — to use another O’Sullivan phrase — the “sky rats” of Dublin.

And even if they were, the Environment Minister wouldn’t be the man to talk to — at least, according to his Department.

“It’s not an issue at all for the Department of the Environment,” a press spokesman explains, pointing us towards the National Parks and Wildlife Service, who deal with “anything about birds and animals”.

So, how about it, National Parks and Wildlife Service?…

We sent in our questions, and got this charmingly gull-friendly response…

Unfortunately, our bird expert is on leave until Monday. We hope that the following general facts will be of some use to you in the interim…

Well that’s nice.

The email continues…

• The Herring Gull is widespread in Ireland but the Irish population has in fact decreased hugely over the last 20 years, probably due to better management of municipal dumps where they once congregated in large numbers to feed.
  • The decrease might come as a surprise to Dubliners, as many herring gulls nest on the roofs of houses, apartments and other buildings in the city and around the county. They make a lot of noise at night during the breeding season, which lasts from mid-June to the end of July, but thereafter they disperse, allowing residents to sleep better.
  • Although they can at times be a nuisance, they are nonetheless a protected species; as stated above, numbers have declined in recent years and the Department does not have any plans to reduce the population. (Note that a licence would be required for any control measures on a protected species.)

So there you have it…

The seagulls of Dublin can rest easy in their beds tonight.

Except, obviously, they won’t — will they?

The feckers.

Read: Waterford is under attack – from a laughing seagull

Read: A senator wants something done about ‘raucous seagulls stealing children’s lollipops’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

64 Comments
    Mute mitch connors
    Favourite mitch connors
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:32 AM

This is absolutely ridiculous .. The Taoiseach and the leader of the sea gulls need to sit down and sort this mess out .

Mute Mary Fitzsimons
    Favourite Mary Fitzsimons
    Jul 19th 2014, 1:17 PM

Some farmer whos accustomed to shooting raptors ;Hen Harriers, kites and white tailed eagles with his shotgun?
    Hes jealous of Dublins fine sEAGLES!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 19th 2014, 9:35 PM

And this year too…. no new election or anything , Hilary’s schedule will be tied up next year and there’s no way we can sort it without America !
    Although Bill might fill the gap ; he has a great way with birds I hear ; like Francis of Assisi;- but somehow different !

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:55 PM

I live in part of Dublin where some of the seagulls have tattoos,

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 19th 2014, 11:07 PM

I’m a seagull
    this is what I do
    I eat your food
    and send you back the poo .

Mute Dermot Meehan
    Favourite Dermot Meehan
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:03 AM

Two points:

1. Most normal Kerry people must cringe anytime their political reps open their mouth

2. Far two long an article just to talk about seagulls (got bored halfway through, bet I missed something important)

Mute Ciaran Ó Fallúin
    Favourite Ciaran Ó Fallúin
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:17 AM

Not sure if I agree with you on point number too.

Mute Irving Chubbie
    Favourite Irving Chubbie
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:24 AM

The solution to the seagull scourge seems obvious to me. Local authorities should release flocks of eagles in the affected areas. If they can’t afford eagles, falcons or hawks would do. When these birds of prey have eaten all the seagulls they could be captured and put in the zoo. (Condors might be worth looking into as well).

Mute Lar Moran
    Favourite Lar Moran
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:47 AM

Headline July 2016: “Senator said scourge of Condors are worrying people in Dublin” bring in bald headed eagles to sort them out. We’ll be fine then.

Mute Irving Chubbie
    Favourite Irving Chubbie
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:59 AM

Maybe I didn’t think this eagle thing through. Can I be a senator?

Mute Oisín Ross
    Favourite Oisín Ross
    Jul 19th 2014, 11:53 AM

No let the birds stay free. Why force them into captivity. Releasing hawks would decrease the number of pigeons and seagulls and other big birds and the smaller birds WG Robbins would flourish

Mute Irving Chubbie
    Favourite Irving Chubbie
    Jul 19th 2014, 11:56 AM

Ireland is also suffering from a plague of woodpeckers. Three of my neighbour’s garden sheds vanished last winter. No woodpeckers have been seen in the area since, which is a sure sign of guilt. When, oh when will our government tackle this problem?

Mute Damien Mc Padden
    Favourite Damien Mc Padden
    Jul 19th 2014, 1:46 PM

No need to capture the Eagles, we’ll release Bolivian Tree Lizards.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 19th 2014, 2:27 PM

I hear the Gondolas in Kerry on the lakes are still starving. Kerry County Council never got around to feeding them !

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:05 AM

Seagulls make no effort to hide their greed unlike the senators. The gulls have to forage to feed themselves, the Senators just take the money and perqs and don’t have to do anything except talk …………about the birds!!

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:01 AM

So glad I voted to retain the Seanad. I less moron in Kerry. The Dubs can keep him.

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:01 AM

*One

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Jul 19th 2014, 2:45 PM

Moron is the only way to describe Ned o’Keeffe.

They have “lost the run of themselves completely” he says. As if Seagulls have all of a sudden become anti-social.

Is there old seagulls bemoaning the young gulls of today and their lack of manners or respect.

When you look at stuff like this and so many other things I start to wonder is there the horsepower upstairs or the will to move away from the parish pump in the party. The most passion I seen all month from the opposition bench was over the Garth brooks nonsense,

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 19th 2014, 2:57 PM

Seanie , walk away from Fianna Fail dude ; they are a federalist European party masquerading as a Republican Party ; you have to see that Seanie, if you don’t then your horsepower upstairs needs a few new shoes… no offence but this is the reality of the situation !

Mute Aaron O Connor
    Favourite Aaron O Connor
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:06 AM

scare them away. my god they’re birds, we humans are the apex predator. have these folks nothing better to talk about?

Mute fergalreid
    Favourite fergalreid
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:13 AM

You put FAR too much work into this! Really entertaining read. I like seagulls but they’re too smart for their/my own good. I’ve installed a “scaregull” to stop them tapping on the landing window, looking for food. It’s a large soft toy dog and he kinda hangs halfway out the windowsill, keeping them at bay.

Mute DAVID HEALY
    Favourite DAVID HEALY
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:06 AM

While he’s at it he might take aim at UCD’s population of Magpies. Ask anyone whose lived on campus recently those pesky birds are highly skilled in the art of raiding your apartment for food through open windows on a regular basis. They Like to leave a calling card in your room too in the form of shit on your bed..
    Could be very wrong about them and it was just the Chinese lad in the bedroom next door..

Mute anthony byrne
    Favourite anthony byrne
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:41 AM

This senator is worth every cent he gets from his salary, and of course his well deserved expenses and the nice pension he will get, up there with the Healy Rae’s. High lighting the important issues which keeps us awake at night, we need more of these intellectuals.

Mute Derek Byrne
    Favourite Derek Byrne
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:23 AM

He’s one strong politician.
    Bet the people who voted for him are delighted with mandate.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:41 AM

and the idiots voted to save these plebs jobs just to give the government a bloody nose we reap what we sow beacuce we are idiots in the polling booth

Mute logical Thinking
    Favourite logical Thinking
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:55 AM

Magpies, crows and seagulls are the bullies of the skies and the noisiest f*#kers going. If you have magpies near your house they wake you up nice and early to that fantastic noise they make.
    That and they have been savaging all the small birds in area. Cull??

Mute Reuben Cummins
    Favourite Reuben Cummins
    Jul 19th 2014, 11:02 AM

Did you actually read the article?

Mute logical Thinking
    Favourite logical Thinking
    Jul 19th 2014, 12:05 PM

Sky rats were mentioned and I thought it a bit racist to only mention seagulls..

Mute luke daly
    Favourite luke daly
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:10 AM

I haven’t seen anything of this scourge….maybe it’s because I’m busy, in work.

Mute John Lifebooks
    Favourite John Lifebooks
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:00 AM

“While most bird species are in decline, urban gull numbers have grown due to human apathetic attitudes towards litter with overstuffed wheelie-bins and take-away scraps left lying in the streets. The urban gull population is surging; most of them die from old age.”
    Extract from the novel Dazzle Eagles which is on a free offer on Amazon: July 17 to 21. http://www.amazon.com/Dazzle-Eagles-John-Life-ebook/dp/B00KG8FEDE

Mute Brian Keelty
    Favourite Brian Keelty
    Jul 19th 2014, 11:10 AM

Living proof that a nation truly gets the politicians it deserves. …. what a twit

Mute Oisín Ross
    Favourite Oisín Ross
    Jul 19th 2014, 11:47 AM

The ones around St Flannans College in Ennis are mad. They definitely aim their poop.At least 3 students are splattered every day

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 19th 2014, 2:58 PM

Umbrellas at dawn Oisin …that will sort it !

Mute SEAN LYNCH
    Favourite SEAN LYNCH
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:15 AM

They should do a seagull count,….With shotguns.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Jul 19th 2014, 12:17 PM

Right so seagulls in Dublin are a menace but open drug dealers are ok?

So if we gets the druggies to dress up in chicken suits will they finally sort out the drug dealing and intimidation on the street?
    More likely – they’ll designate Aston Quay a druggie bird sanctuary…

Mute Darren Keogh
    Favourite Darren Keogh
    Jul 19th 2014, 1:21 PM

Well if they had have let Garth Brooks play is 5 gigs I’m pretty sure the seagulls would have packed their shit up and left voluntarily after the 3rd night of achy fcukin breaky heart!

Mute Catherine Hayward
    Favourite Catherine Hayward
    Jul 19th 2014, 3:31 PM

A seagull made a nest on the roof of a house in our estate, never seen that before, have to say the mammy never left the two babies day or night till they could fly, and daddy visited every night amazing…

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:43 AM

“They’ve “lost the run of themselves completely” the Fianna Fáil politician opined”

Really, well the law off the Universe is that nature reflects humanity.

So is it that the Senator sees himself in the seagulls.?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 20th 2014, 12:38 AM

I like that Catherine ; are the seagulls a reflection of the Vulture funds … if so then the solution is dogs ; cuchulainn and all that …or slings perhaps !

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    Jul 20th 2014, 11:15 PM

What the f*** are you on about? Each of your comments is dafter than the last.

Mute Elaine Cassin
    Favourite Elaine Cassin
    Jul 19th 2014, 11:50 AM

Pellet gun!!!!
    Problem solved

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Jul 19th 2014, 2:21 PM

Black widow catapult and a bag of marbles.

Mute Billy Horan
    Favourite Billy Horan
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:17 AM
    Mute Billy Horan
    Favourite Billy Horan
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:37 AM

What do you call a man with seagull on his head? Cliff

Jul 19th 2014, 4:00 PM

Did you hear the one about the Kerry Senator? ..no wonder they make jokes about Kerry people!

Mute ragnar daneskold
    Favourite ragnar daneskold
    Jul 19th 2014, 12:53 PM

And we voted to keep these people in a job in running this country???SHEESSSHHH!

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jul 19th 2014, 5:24 PM

Is there something in the water in Kerry ? First we had Jackie Healy Rae with his “who will feed the feckin gondolas” and neddy boy and seagulls “losing the run of themselves”.
    You couldn’t make it up.

Mute Richard Tobin
    Favourite Richard Tobin
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:09 AM

Anyone remember Neddy Seagull from the Goons…..

Mute Julienne De Brede
    Favourite Julienne De Brede
    Jul 19th 2014, 11:18 AM

I do!’ Love the goons

Mute Eanna Brophy
    Favourite Eanna Brophy
    Jul 19th 2014, 5:22 PM

Seagoon actually!

Mute Brian Johnson
    Favourite Brian Johnson
    Jul 19th 2014, 2:32 PM

Well this man is a borderline simpleton so best leave him alone for now..just remember him come election time.

Mute Tom Mc Manus
    Favourite Tom Mc Manus
    Jul 19th 2014, 2:42 PM

On a recent visit to St Stephen’s Green I couldn’t find any ducks to feed. Have the gulls bullied them from the ponds?

The gulls are a significant problem at the Omni Shopping Centre in Santry. They make a lot of noise during the breeding season and they can’t be touched during this period as they are a protected species.

I would support the Senator in his campaign and I would include Magpies and Crows.

For information:- When I went looking for the swallows at Capistrano I was advised that they don’t come back there anymore – they go to the Mall instead.

Mute Maurice Maguire
    Favourite Maurice Maguire
    Jul 19th 2014, 1:16 PM

This is a good idea for a modern day B-Movie set in Dublin …or Cork !

Mute Fergal Mohan
    Favourite Fergal Mohan
    Jul 19th 2014, 1:30 PM

Ban Garth Brooks, not Seagulls. show your support for our feathery friends…like this page https://m.facebook.com/standupforseagulls

Mute Anton de Buitlear
    Favourite Anton de Buitlear
    Jul 19th 2014, 12:14 PM

Just like pigeons are vermin for six months of the year , and game for the other six months of the year, with the gulls we could do the same ,

Mute ragnar daneskold
    Favourite ragnar daneskold
    Jul 19th 2014, 12:52 PM

Trouble is wood piegons are tasty to eat.Seagulls on the other hand taste like a combination of fish meal and straw baler twine.I know,I shot one once and tried him out for dinner.Now,young crows are pretty good and used to be a staple food in the UK once.

Mute Kevin Larkin
    Favourite Kevin Larkin
    Jul 19th 2014, 12:34 PM

I think Ned might be losing the run of himself!

Mute Kevin Doyle
    Favourite Kevin Doyle
    Jul 19th 2014, 11:46 PM

the only cull needed and badly needed is Leinster house im voting for seagulls in the next elections

Mute Kevin Doyle
    Favourite Kevin Doyle
    Jul 19th 2014, 11:51 PM

jonathon livingston seagull for taoiseach
    and a magpie for tanaiste

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Jul 19th 2014, 11:06 PM

There’s no doubt about it, they really are the pr1cks of the bird world, but I think the senator has lost the run of himself – not the gulls.

Mute Munsterite60
    Favourite Munsterite60
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:12 AM

A magpie

Mute Máire Nic Dhiarmada
    Favourite Máire Nic Dhiarmada
    Jul 19th 2014, 10:34 PM

That fat eegit needs to shut his pie hole.

Mute Éanna McClean
    Favourite Éanna McClean
    Jul 20th 2014, 1:06 AM

Send the all the hawks in the dail to meet the seagulls in cloud cuckoo land, that , might solve the problem.