You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Candidates lodge papers as official campaigning in presidential election set to get under way

We’re just a month out from polling day.

PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATES WENT to the Custom House in Dublin today, to hand in their papers to formally get on the ballot for next month’s election.

Seán Gallagher, Joan Freeman, Gavin Duffy and Peter Casey – who were all nominated by city and county councils throughout the country – were there to present their papers in the capital today with incumbent Michael D Higgins and Sinn Féin candidate Liadh Ní Riada also set to be on the 26 October ballot.

Tweet by @Peter Casey Peter Casey / Twitter Peter Casey / Twitter / Twitter

Speaking after lodging his papers, Gallagher has criticised RTÉ for scheduling the presidential debate between candidates at a time that clashes with Michael D Higgins’ prior commitments.

A debate was due to take place on RTÉ Radio One’s News at One tomorrow, but this was then moved to Thursday; Higgins released a statement saying he was looking forward to “engaging with other candidates”, but said that he was “constrained” this week.

Gallagher had confirmed that he would attend the radio debate, but had previously said that he’d refuse to take part in debates unless the incumbent was also involved.

This morning, while at the Custom House to lodge his presidential papers, he told reporters that there had been much talk about the presidential debate in recent days.

This is not about Seán Gallagher and it is not about Michael D Higgins, it is about three things. It is about respect for the office of the president, it is about respect for the incumbent of that office, and importantly, it is about respect for the electorate.
This situation could have easily been avoided, had RTÉ contacted the office of the president to find out if indeed the president was available on these scheduled dates.

He said that it was clear from the schedules available online that Michael D Higgins was unavailable on the proposed dates for a radio debate.

I would encourage RTÉ to contact the office and to find out the dates the president will be available and then to schedule the debates accordingly.

The official launch of President Michael D Higgins’ presidential election campaign is at 4pm tomorrow at his campaign headquarters on Lord Edward Street, Dublin.

- with reporting from Hayley Halpin, Sean Murray

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

108 Comments
    Mute sixmile
    Favourite sixmile
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:41 AM

Seems like rte are meddling again.

Mute steve white
    Favourite steve white
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:58 AM

@sixmile: RTE screwing up again

Mute Genius 80s+
    Favourite Genius 80s+
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:01 AM

Someone playing the victim card early

Mute Anne Farrell
    Favourite Anne Farrell
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:13 AM

@Genius 80s+: absolutely, moan moan moan !!!!

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Sep 25th 2018, 12:50 PM

@sixmile: UNDER ORDERS FROM LEO

Mute now-now-now
    Favourite now-now-now
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:56 PM

@James Mc Loughlin: Really? What evidence is there of this?

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Sep 25th 2018, 2:06 PM

@James Mc Loughlin: Your caps lock seems stuck

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Sep 25th 2018, 2:26 PM

@Genius 80s+: This man never stops moaning about something his not a good model for the President of Ireland – I won’t be voting for him

Mute Patrick FitzGerald
    Favourite Patrick FitzGerald
    Sep 25th 2018, 4:12 PM

@sixmile: Never attribute to malice, that which can be easily explained by stupidity. ~ Hanlon’s Razor

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Sep 25th 2018, 7:22 PM

@sixmile: They cant run the kip without meddling ,and then the licence payer has to pick up the tab

Mute Judean
    Favourite Judean
    Sep 28th 2018, 1:40 AM

@Genius 80s+:

Playing the victim?! What a strange way of thinking that expecting the incumbent to debate for reelection is somehow playing the victim!

You think we should just have a coronation for Mick Higgins then?

Mute steve white
    Favourite steve white
    Sep 28th 2018, 7:33 PM

@Michael Allen: they could have checked with him and not swap the day at the last minute

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:47 AM

What a joke Higgins puts himself forward but does not participate in the debate. Why does he and rte not fill out the ballots for everyone aswell.
    I will only stay for one term. Judging by the review of spending he might be having to good a time up there

Mute steve white
    Favourite steve white
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:59 AM

@john s: RTE should have asked him first

Mute Joan Ryan
    Favourite Joan Ryan
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:08 AM

@john s:
    The review in spending is no reflection on Michael D’s spending during his time in office. There is no suggestion anywhere that the spending is suspicious in any way. RTÉ reported that his spending has come in below budget for the last few years.

Michael D is not refusing to take part in the debate, he has prior engagements. Even New Knashers Gallagher recognised that in the statement above.

Don’t vote for Michael D if he isn’t your choice, but stop making things up about him.

Mute fintolini
    Favourite fintolini
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:17 AM

@Joan Ryan: spot on. And the review if anything would potentially damage Michael D as he happens to be sitting president. It’s nonsense that it’s happening before election, why didn’t it happen years ago, why can it not wait 1 more week? Someone is playing games, desperate for any measure to swing votes.

On his decision to run now after originally intending not to, most people change their minds a thousand times in 7 years, I think he’s entitled, after all, if public disagree that he should serve again, then he obviously won’t.

People seem to have a real problem with the fact he may walk this and serve again, if it’s what the people want as a majority, I don’t see the issue personally.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:47 AM

@steve white: They probably did.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Sep 25th 2018, 12:03 PM

@john s: what review of spending? It hasn’t been done yet. Jeez there’s some Muppets on the Journal these days.

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Sep 25th 2018, 12:15 PM

@john s: “Judging by the review of spending he might be having to good a time up there”…ah no. There is no suggestion by anybody (connected or who knows anything) that there is any overspend by the President. – He is actually spending below budget. But hey, never let the truth get in the way of a rant.

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Sep 25th 2018, 12:53 PM

@john s: What do you expect from a member of the Labour party get him out

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:34 PM

@john s: so he should have just not done his job and cancelled all of his plans that he has already commited to to take part in a debate?

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:35 PM

@fintolini: A review of spend before he goes for re-election sounds like fairness. Why should all the other candidates have their finances dragged through the mud and Higgins spending as president be ignored nothing to hide nothing to fear. As for budgets they are stupid if u are spending the money incorrectly.

Personally i don’t think it will show up anything negative for Higgins but this is tax payers money and should be reviewed. Annually in my opinion.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:37 PM

@Dermot Lane: exactly no review yet so we don’t know what is or is not going on. But you are right some Muppets on the journal these days

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Sep 25th 2018, 2:57 PM

@john s: the implication in your original post is that the review done and dusted and he has been accused of something. Neither of which is the case.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:08 PM

@Dermot Lane: Not my intent. But any state role that gets our tax to pay for it should be accountable. And bull about the role is above politics should not sit well with any democrat.
    No fan of Higgins and the rest of the candidates are shocking also but a level playing field is needed not the political classes keeping their cosy kartell safe from outsiders.

Mute Ro Molloy
    Favourite Ro Molloy
    Sep 26th 2018, 2:22 PM

@john s: maybe he has work commitments. He is the President!

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:59 AM

While I’m no fan of sean ‘there may have been an envelope’ gallagher, Higgins ran on a pledge to only serve one term, so he needs to explain himself as part of the presidential debates.

Mute fintolini
    Favourite fintolini
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:22 AM

@The Risen: I find it numerous that the sole objection to Higgins being president again, seems to be that he said 7 YEARS AGO that he wouldn’t run for a second term.
    If that’s they only so called flaw, it’s pretty weak. If the majority decide they want him to sit a second term, and he wants to, the majority are supposed to vote someone else in in place of their actual choice, just because he said he would run for a 2nd term.
    Oh and he took my ball too.. he said he’d give it back at lunchtime but I didn’t get it until after dinner.. sniff sniff.

Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Sep 25th 2018, 12:01 PM

@The Risen: What sort of conspiracy explanation are you expecting from him? Any answer will just be some form of “That was 7 years ago, I’ve since changed my mind”.

I’m not his biggest fan but given who he’s up against, we are lucky he’s running.

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Sep 25th 2018, 12:18 PM

@The Risen: Wow he changed his mind, get over it. Really if that’s all you have to whinge about, you are grasping.

Besides life on this island might be better for everybody if certain of our politicians changed their minds and actually did their job, did what they are paid to do.

Mute Willy Mc Caul
    Favourite Willy Mc Caul
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:03 PM

@The Risen: Some will say he changed his mind others given his background as a Liebour TD will say he lied….

Mute Samhain Repealed Rae-Nua
    Favourite Samhain Repealed Rae-Nua
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:12 PM

@The Risen: simple explanation – Miggeldy had a look at who the replacements might be – reality TV “stars” looking to build their profile, a conspiracy theorist and… well, whatever Sarah Mulligan is – and said “Jaysus!”

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Sep 25th 2018, 3:15 PM

@The Risen: I can explain for him: he changed his mind. Like people do. Like Mary Lou has done 3 times this year already (though it’s more likely she had her mind changed for her by the Army Council) And it’s up to the people to decide if they are happy or not with this change of mind of his. He can’t choose whether or not to do a second term he can only choose whether or not to run a second time. And if elected by the public vote, then so be it. In my opinion the presidency should be abolished altogether, it’s a waste of money.

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:37 PM

@Samhain Repealed Rae-Nua:
    He actually intimated last year to Sean O’Rourke at the ploughing championship that there was a possibility that he might renege on his promise to only serve one term. He then only confirmed that he would run again very late in the day, presumably in the hope that others wouldn’t get nominations. There’s a well known phrase for that type of behaviour, the first word of which is cute

Mute Tadhg Kelleher
    Favourite Tadhg Kelleher
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:52 AM

there is absolutely zero chance of anyone beating Michael D. People are just not that bothered. It is just a profile raising stunt for businessmen with enough money and influence.

Mute Anne O'Hara
    Favourite Anne O'Hara
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:58 PM

@Tadhg Kelleher: Yeah but if nobody thinks MDH can’t br beaten, nobody will vote. There’s the key!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:41 AM

Galligan seems to want to set his own conditions in the presidential race.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:46 AM

@Chris Kirk: the condition that he doesn’t turn up for a debate to argue with himself. Seems reasonable to me.

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:47 AM

@Chris Kirk:
    Who is Galligan ?

Mute Gordon Larney
    Favourite Gordon Larney
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:01 AM

@Chris Kirk: it will be a cold day in hell before Gallagher gets my vote for president , but he is right to point this out about RTE,, why was the debate set up when the sitting president who is seeking re-election is not available to attend,, either a schoolboy error by someone at RTE or done on purpose, either way it’s an absolute farce….

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:11 AM

@Mary King: I know Mary, not a friend of mine….??

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:53 AM

@Chris Kirk:
    ??

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Sep 25th 2018, 12:24 PM

@Mary King: He means bagman.

Mute James O'Brien
    Favourite James O'Brien
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:05 AM

RTE defending the champion that can’t defend his title fairly like anyone else would you couldn’t make it up.

Mute Joan Ryan
    Favourite Joan Ryan
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:11 AM

@James O’Brien:
    Genuine questionsJames ,
    Who are RTE defending?( in your opinion )
    Who can’t defend his title fairly ? ( in your opinion ) .

What conspiracy are you suggesting is taking place ?

Mute James O'Brien
    Favourite James O'Brien
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:28 AM

@Joan Ryan: are you really that thick it’s a presidential debate all should be present couldn’t be any simpler.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan

@James O’Brien: 1) It’s not mandatory…RTE aren’t running this election you know and 2) They should have checked with candidates BEFORE announcing it. RTE seem to think they’re the only show in town..

Mute Joan Ryan
    Favourite Joan Ryan
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:54 AM

@James O’Brien:
    I agree, all candidates should be present.

As I still don’t know who RTE are supposed to be defending in your opinion ( I suspect the decision to have the debate on a date Michael D was unavailable was pure incompetence on RTEs behalf , but if there was a sinister /conspiratorial reason, then please tell me what it is, and who are RTE seeking to benefit? )

Who is prejudiced/ injured/ prevented by this RTE debate date, from defending themselves in your opinion?

What conspiracy is there that you are alluding to ?

I would also say resorting to calling somebody thick doesn’t strengthen your argument in any way. Explaining our position clearly would be more helpful. You obviously care about the presidential vote, as do I, and I am trying to understand all the candidates and their positions .

Mute James O'Brien
    Favourite James O'Brien
    Sep 25th 2018, 9:06 PM

@Joan Ryan: nope Michael will dodge questions like a bullet now he’s be in the news again today. Just watch. Like I said any debate where all people are nominated should be present end of nothing to do with RTE either. Higgins just showed he’d rather go for a tea party or cut another rope rather than fight his position.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:45 AM

Higgins never intended to debate. He doesn’t want to be asked any awkward questions.

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:29 PM

@marg fitzgerald: Irish media are again scared anyone who understands economics gets elected, last time they pushed Norris until …… and then McGuinness until TweetGate and then O’Higgins. Their behavior is transparent and disgusting

Sep 25th 2018, 11:32 AM

Higgins employing the usual tactics, thinking he’s so far ahead in the polls he doesn’t need to debate.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Sep 25th 2018, 8:47 PM

@Adrian: do you expect his prior commitments to be cancelled because RTE decided on a date without checking if he was available?

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Sep 25th 2018, 8:50 PM

@Adrian: Ffs He’s the president of Ireland, if that had somehow alluded you, where he hadn’t time during the course of his presidential duties to turn up to a RTE debate show. Boo hoo! Seeing that he is the current president, with a busy schedule, would it not have made more sense for RTE to correspond first with all candidates to find a suitable time instead of dictating when the President of the country should turn up and face off a bunch of wannabe dragons and ego stroker? You’d swear he’s boycotting it on purpose the way some people who don’t seem to fully grasp reality, only get swept up in the pitchfork raising crowd out for blood from a suggestive title and bias article. It saddens me so many are like this vote, knowing how easy it is to lead ye.

Mute Desmond Lyons
    Favourite Desmond Lyons
    Sep 26th 2018, 3:05 AM

@Derek: somehow alluded you???? What is that supposed to mean?

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:02 AM

He has a point and I get a real sense Michael D doesn’t give a toss about this election, it’s as if he is showing utter distain for the notion he actually has to campaign. This said, the list of wannabe opponents is beyond silly, it appears these people have a sense of entitlement for perhaps doing something nice in the past, but the award of absurdity must go to Casey, listened to his train wreck of an interview on drive time last week, Mary Wilson along with anyone listening was left scratching their heads

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Sep 25th 2018, 4:17 PM

@Joseph Dempsey: Tried to find that interview with Casey, doesn’t seem to be in the programme archive, wonder why?

Mute David Quigley
    Favourite David Quigley
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:56 AM

GET LOST Gallagher

Mute Samhain Repealed Rae-Nua
    Favourite Samhain Repealed Rae-Nua
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:07 PM

I wonder will one important question be asked of Seán Gallagher – given his concern for various social issues, prompting him to run for the Áras, what, specifically, has he done about these issues for the past seven years?

I mean, maybe it’s just me, but I’ve not heard a dicky-bird from or about him since 2011 – except for when he sued RTÉ. That’s despite several referendums, a housing and homelessness crisis, Brexit… I mean, it’s almost like he wasn’t all that interested in society’s big issues…

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Sep 25th 2018, 3:35 PM

@Samhain Repealed Rae-Nua: He is not a Darling of the Media so they have ignored/concealed his activities. Fake Media use various tactics being careful to hide truth which is a form of false reporting.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Sep 25th 2018, 3:44 PM

@Tom Molloy: ah will you give over.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Sep 25th 2018, 8:49 PM

@Tom Molloy: so perhaps you’d share with us what he’s been up to since the media is refusing to do so?

Mute Connachtabu
    Favourite Connachtabu
    Sep 25th 2018, 12:55 PM

First question for Sean in the debate. “Since the 2011 presidential election, what have you done by way of public service to Ireland. We are going to elect you for your looks only, you know!

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:49 AM

He is by definition an opportunist. He has no real policies and follow a business line based on corporation communication and mediatic experience.
    The benefit for him is to be president as another line in a cv or at worst to have compete for presidency which is an alternative on a cv. It just look good.
    Now when we know that the president nominate the judges it scares me !
    He is like a stamp : in front he smiles but you ever put your hand on his back it would stick …

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:56 AM

@Dominic Leleu: The President does NOT nominate judges – please read the Constitution before making any more false statements. The President appoints judges based on the binding advise of the Government who in turn act on the (non-binding) names supplied the Judicial Appointments Advisory Board.

Mute Johnny Mason
    Favourite Johnny Mason
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:16 AM

@Tom Purcell: And the Names and who the Advisory Board are connected too are ?

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:40 AM

@Tom Purcell: so there is a difference between nominate and appointing. Fine. Still he can choose who is getting the job and that still scare me if the job is given to an opportunist.

Mute Johnny Mason
    Favourite Johnny Mason
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:44 AM

@Dominic Leleu: They appointed a Judge a few’s years back that had been altering clients wills to her siblings == some advisory Board but maybe it comes with the Job !

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Sep 25th 2018, 12:02 PM

@Dominic Leleu: No he does not, He is given a BINDING name by the Minister and told to appoint that person, the president has NO say in who gets the job.

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Sep 25th 2018, 12:06 PM

@Johnny Mason: Have a look at the JAAB.ie website, it gives the names. It is all in the public domain, and subject to the FOI Act.

Mute Johnny Mason
    Favourite Johnny Mason
    Sep 25th 2018, 2:24 PM

@Tom Purcell: Okay Tom everything is above board in Civil Servant Land !

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Sep 25th 2018, 3:05 PM

@Johnny Mason: I wouldn’t go that far. The process is in place, but there are Irish civil servants involved so I would expect the usual professional standards…

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:50 PM

Higgins in 14 years time would still get my vote over these dragons et cetera.
    Waste of time and money.

Mute brendan H
    Favourite brendan H
    Sep 25th 2018, 11:45 AM

The last few weeks should have had alot of free dates coming up to an election, its like it was done on purpose, if your going for election or reelection you have to be available to do live debates. Its like I’m the president ill do a debate when I feel like it and under my terms, cop on mr Micheal D.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:47 PM

@brendan H: I doubt in reality if he has any say at all in the organisation of his diary that was set out months ago.

Mute brendan H
    Favourite brendan H
    Sep 25th 2018, 3:09 PM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: Come on seriously, its the same thing, they know an election might happen around then.

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Sep 25th 2018, 9:38 PM

@brendan H: showing how very little you know or understand of role of the President.

https://president.ie/en/diary/
    is the presidents weekly diary, as you can see he had three engagements today, one in Dublin this morning and two were in Cork this afternoon, which has been planned for the last month or so. Do you think it’s OK for anyone to then return to Dublin to stand among a shower of wannabes TV celebs and crackpots and have any meaningful dialogue? Why didn’t RTE act in a professional manner and schedule their pointless debate at a more suitable time? How much notice did they give Higgins staff? A week or few days? The world doesn’t revolve around RTE’s scheduling but sure what would you have to gripe about then eh!

Mute Niamh
    Favourite Niamh

Nobody should be available until all persons are available so

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:39 PM

The President should have kept his diary clear once nomination papers were lodged. And he left it to the last minute deliberately to shorten the campaign. He should only do essential engagements or preferably none once the race was off.
    Is it essential that he visit Cork today to pay a courtesy visit to the lord Mayor and attend the testimonial match or to open a DCU student centre Thurs morning and to go to Clare for a 50th anniversary of Clarecare in the evening on thurs.
    Why are there no other engagements listed into next week and beyond.
    Five pensions,quarter mil salary,multiple property owner Micky D at 77 an expert in cute hoor

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Sep 25th 2018, 3:32 PM

@David Glynn: Agree. Been a free loader since he was in then UCG

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Sep 25th 2018, 9:27 PM

@David Glynn: how much advanced notice did RTE give his assistants and planners so he could cancel his dignitary duties to please RTE scheduling?

What do they have to debate about? It’s a dignitary role, so far all we have heard is fool’s making promises as if going for local election who apparently lack any understanding of the very limited powers of the office.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Sep 25th 2018, 9:38 PM

@Derek: no problem debating 7 years ago.Apart from lying about a second term, he did the exact same as Mc Aleese did in delaying nomination to last minute, something he vociferously criticised back then.
    Seeing as he refused to comment on his 30 k pension flrom UCG, which he takes, a debate would force him to comment on this and other issues. Did he stay in the Geneva hotel at 3 k a night as reported.
    Its a dignatory role that costs millions. He refuses FOI. Explain that.

Mute Oliver Francis
    Favourite Oliver Francis
    Sep 25th 2018, 12:34 PM

Sean G = pain in the hole

Mute Seamus Harte
    Favourite Seamus Harte
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:23 PM

Complain all they want but if it wasn’t for RTE no one would have known who these reality television “Dragons” were the first place. They are not exactly on any Rich List.

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:08 PM

All the hopefuls should boycott RTE,its only a mouthpiece for the government

Mute Phillip O'Brien
    Favourite Phillip O'Brien
    Sep 25th 2018, 2:38 PM

Higgins doesn’t need to debate. He’s guaranteed reelection. It would be a waste of his time.

Mute brian
    Favourite brian
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:11 PM

Ah this is boring! Who cares?
    It’s Michael D. Or your pick out of a collection of Dragons and other oddballs.

Mute J. Reid
    Favourite J. Reid
    Sep 25th 2018, 3:47 PM

What a bizarre decision by RTE, who are supposed to be politically impartial. Although their move makes sense if the RTE canteen want Michael D. Higgins re-elected.

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy

What a plonker
    He knows Higgins has nothing fear about his challengers.

Mute Colm Naylor
    Favourite Colm Naylor
    Sep 25th 2018, 2:18 PM

It’s a shame that there is no other viable candidate in the eyes of most people (apart from Michael D). He said he would only take one term so you have to wonder what’s behind his motivation for another 7 years. There were questions raised about his age in 2011, nevermind now.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Sep 25th 2018, 8:52 PM

@Colm Naylor: have you never changed your mind over a seven-year period? Perhaps he though he wouldn’t be up for the job but now realises he will be.

Mute Willy Mc Caul
    Favourite Willy Mc Caul
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:19 PM

@EillieEs: Some would call it a change of mind whilst others, a blatant lie.
    Given his Liebour background, I’m a believer in the latter…

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Sep 25th 2018, 5:08 PM

Was there an envelope?

Mute Kevin O'Shea
    Favourite Kevin O'Shea
    Sep 25th 2018, 1:31 PM

Where’s the poll asking if we want to put a cancer warning label on Gallagher?

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Sep 25th 2018, 3:29 PM

Gallagher’s reason for running again and his opportunity for revenge gone astray ?!

Mute Pj Berry
    Favourite Pj Berry
    Sep 25th 2018, 10:54 PM

How come you are giving so much coverage to Gallagher? Seems biased to me.

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Sep 25th 2018, 7:19 PM

All those going forward should refuse RTE and keep well away from that station,You saw in the last election they tried to blacken one of the people going forward,and had to pay dearly for their gaff,let this election go without any whiff of back biting,

Mute Margate
    Favourite Margate
    Sep 25th 2018, 9:53 PM

For crying out loud! Gallagher isn’t out of the traps yet and he is whinging and whining already! Unreal! Poor me again. And again…..and again….Micheal D should put him into a nice warm Cosy Cot in the Aras, with his soother.

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Sep 26th 2018, 7:39 AM

Total bunch of wasters

Mute Hello DAVE!
    Favourite Hello DAVE!
    Sep 25th 2018, 12:48 PM

Hail Thanos!

Mute Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Favourite Dáithí O Raghailaigh

Stop being a whiny little #itch

Mute John Blessing
    Favourite John Blessing
    Sep 26th 2018, 4:04 PM

Ladies and gentlemen, it’s the muppet show!

Mute Róisín O'Reilly
    Favourite Róisín O'Reilly
    Sep 26th 2018, 4:35 PM

How about we get rid of the president altogether! Complete waste of money in my opinion!! Country as small as Ireland does not need 2 heads of state!