You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Incumbents Rónán Mullen, Alice Mary Higgins and Michael McDowell were re-elected at NUI. NUI on X

Seanad election: Full recount requested for Trinity as three NUI incumbents retain seats

Michael McDowell, Rónán Mullen and Alice Mary Higgins were all re-elected.

LAST UPDATE | 30 Jan

GREEN PARTY CANDIDATE Hazel Chu has requested a full recount in Trinity College’s Seanad constituency.

Polls for the vocational panels in the Seanad elections closed and counting got underway this morning at Leinster House. It is the second day of the count after polls for the university panels closed yesterday.

Senators and would-be senators have been canvassing TDs, councillors and graduates from the National University of Ireland and Trinity College of Dublin since early December to earn one of the 49 seats up for grabs.

Elected TDs, councillors and outgoing senators vote for candidates to fill 43 seats on five vocational panels. Ballots were cast at Leinster House, in the Members’ Restaurant, for the last month and polls closed this morning.

After the 15th count for the Trinity College constituency this evening, the distribution of Hugo MacNeill’s votes put independent candidate Aubrey McCarthy on 3747 and Hazel Chu on 3710. 

The request for a recount will be reviewed tomorrow at 9.30am.

IMG_1226 Ballots being sorted in Leinster House earlier today. Jane Matthews Jane Matthews

It is the third and final seat on the Trinity College panel. Earlier today, Independent senators Lynn Ruane and Tom Clonan retained their seats on the panel.

Ruane was reelected on the 11th count, followed by Tom Clonan on the 13th count. 

Meanwhile, all three incumbent senators on the National University of Ireland (NUI) panel were re-elected. 

Michael McDowell become the first candidate to be elected to the new Seanad just before midnight last night, followed by Rónán Mullen and Alice Mary Higgins. All three are independents.

All seats are set to be filled by Monday or Tuesday, depending on the length of the count.

Following the elections, the Taoiseach Micheál Martin will get the opportunity to appoint 11 senators to the upper house. This is done to ensure that the government has a majority in the Dáil and the Seanad.

Depending on the outcome of the election, Martin may choose to appoint someone outside of both coalition parties. Previous Taoisigh have chosen to appoint people from groups not adequately represented in the Oireachtas.

Vocational panels

The five vocational panels are being counted consecutively in Leinster House, beginning with the Cultural and Educational panel.

Only one senator has been elected so far. Sinn Féin’s Pauline Tully reached the quota of 190,834 votes on the sixth count.

It is expected that the full results of this panel will be returned tomorrow and then counting will begin on the other panels. 

Counting will continue through the weekend and the full results of the vocational panels are expected to be returned on Monday. 

Includes reporting from Jane Matthews

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

70 Comments
    Mute Patrick Westman
    Favourite Patrick Westman
    Jan 30th 2025, 12:08 PM

The Seanad is a Club for the Connected, Rejected and Unelected.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 30th 2025, 12:24 PM

@Patrick Westman: You would have a wonderful time in Venezuela where they desperately nee people to criticise politicians. “Venezuela, with a history of on-again, off-again democracy, held elections. Maduro claimed he had been re-elected, but in a bold act of defiance, the opposition produced voting machine tallies proving that Edmundo González had actually won the presidency, by better than a 2-to-1 margin. Impartial election observers agreed”

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 30th 2025, 12:30 PM

@thomas molloy: The main function of the Seanad is to debate legislation proposed by the Government. The Seanad can amend a Bill that has been passed by the Dáil and delay, but not stop, it becoming law. Senators can also introduce their own Bills, which are debated in the Seanad and, if passed, are then debated in the Dáil. Although the Government has no constitutional responsibility to Seanad Éireann, a Minister or Minister of State attends the Seanad when it is dealing with Bills or debating Government policy.

Mute 087 bed
    Favourite 087 bed
    Jan 30th 2025, 1:29 PM

@thomas molloy: Government Shill ALERT.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 30th 2025, 2:40 PM

@087 bed: He is explaining how the Seanad works, which the cast majority of people commenting here on it, have no idea of what it does or how it works!

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Jan 30th 2025, 4:37 PM

@Patrick Westman: And a teeny bit of the Vatican.

Mute Jack Schitte
    Favourite Jack Schitte
    Jan 30th 2025, 5:30 PM

@Patrick Westman: And the unhinged…

Mute Mark Reville
    Favourite Mark Reville
    Jan 30th 2025, 7:26 PM

@thomas molloy: The Senate should not have the power to amend any bill passed by the Dail nor should Senators receive a salary funded by the exchequer.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 30th 2025, 10:23 PM

@thomas molloy: what the feck are you going on about???

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 30th 2025, 10:28 PM

@Gary Kearney: copy and paste job from Tommy ,
    The rejects club , waiting in line to see what they can get

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jan 30th 2025, 11:56 AM

I voted to retain the Seanad in the referendum. The reason was that Fine Geal were cynical in claiming the Seanad couldn’t be reformed. FG’s motive was to rid themselves of any possible oversight by the Seanad. I’m not claiming the Seanad is fit for purpose. I didn’t vote with any enthusiasm to retain it. But I refused to remove one part of the Oireachtas just to further FG’s (and by extension any serving government’s) self-serving motivations.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 30th 2025, 12:07 PM

@Numinous20111: It was a very close result. Something like 52-48. It needs to be reformed badly.

Mute The facts
    Favourite The facts
    Jan 30th 2025, 12:16 PM

@Numinous20111: you do know that the Seanad has only one rejected something and that was back in 1963 and was a mistake on their part. The Seanad is not a bulwark against the government.
    In fact it further legitimises it. That’s why Martin can pick 11 senators so the government always has the majority;
    It’s people like you who don’t understand what the Seanad actually is and then try to explain it as something positive when in fact it makes you more ridiculous.

Mute Luke Littler
    Favourite Luke Littler
    Jan 30th 2025, 1:26 PM

@Numinous20111: you are completely wrong and do not understand the process or functionality at all.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jan 30th 2025, 2:04 PM

@Luke Littler: Of course! That’s why you made a sweeping dismissive generalisation, while presenting not a single word to justify your argument.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 30th 2025, 2:41 PM

@The facts: Funny as you like to think you have “The facts” but you do not.

Mute Michael Dineen
    Favourite Michael Dineen
    Jan 30th 2025, 7:40 PM

@Numinous20111: FG did not really want it abolished, hence their wishy washy half hearted token weak campaign on the referendum. They made a promise to run it so they did, but never really backed their own campaign. Needs urgent reform.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 30th 2025, 10:29 PM

@Numinous20111: clueless

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 30th 2025, 4:03 PM

This man spoke the truth about the Constitution Amendment referendums, when everyone else, bar Peadar Toibin , were telling us lies!

Mute timothy o connor
    Favourite timothy o connor
    Jan 30th 2025, 5:43 PM

Consecutive sentancing for that absolute sc_mbag in Limerick. Zero justice.

Mute Toyo Ke
    Favourite Toyo Ke
    Jan 30th 2025, 7:59 PM

@timothy o connor: Something very wrong with sentencing. Utter sc_m, will be out in a few years, and back to making others lives a misery. My heart goes out to the victims family, they deserved more and were truly let down down today.

Mute Sean McGarr
    Favourite Sean McGarr
    Jan 30th 2025, 8:30 PM

@timothy o connor: agreed. That’s one of the worst sentences I’ve seen in a long time. The guy has about 50 offences to his name. Utter dregs. The judge should be ashamed. Concurrent sentences need to be banned

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Jan 31st 2025, 12:06 AM

@Sean McGarr: Also the judge who let the criminal out on bail should hang his / her head in shame.

Mute Eileen Hennessy
    Favourite Eileen Hennessy
    Jan 31st 2025, 12:25 AM

@timothy o connor: I presume you meant concurrent

Mute Patrice Ahern
    Favourite Patrice Ahern
    Jan 30th 2025, 6:46 PM

Did anyone read the article (above) regarding the death of Mr Drennan in Limk & the F&#+ng pointless sentence imposed upon the criminal who killed him? The influence of that clown, judge tom o’donnell, has left another victim’s family wondering what’s the point anymore. So angry.

Mute Toyo Ke
    Favourite Toyo Ke
    Jan 30th 2025, 8:04 PM

@Patrice Ahern: The sc_m bag is sitting in his cell laughing now, and that lads family most likely grieving even harder now knowing justice was not delivered for their son. Totally upside down wrong.

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Jan 30th 2025, 8:18 PM

@Patrice Ahern: Agree with you 100% except one important point. It wasn’t Tom ODonnell, thankfully he’s retired. New judge just as bad it seems

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Jan 30th 2025, 4:11 PM

Why is it certain people get to vote in this un-democratic election?? Surely the whole country should be allowed to pick their Senator instead of the Green Brigade

This is why people are at loggerheads with National politics, Seanad Eireann is unaccountable and they won’t challenge the Government on their policies because the Taoiseach of the day has power to his/her buddies into a lucrative job of talking $hire most of the time.

Mute Tasty k
    Favourite Tasty k
    Jan 30th 2025, 4:17 PM

@Tommy: Green Brigade?

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Jan 30th 2025, 5:39 PM

@Tasty k: them Greedy Greens who destroyed the place (Ireland) from 2020 to November 2024

Mute Jason Memail
    Favourite Jason Memail
    Jan 30th 2025, 6:34 PM

@Tommy: But why would the “green brigade” have more of a say in electing senators than, as you put it, the rest of the country?

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Jan 30th 2025, 7:41 PM

@Tommy: Not a single green elected by Trinity but it’s the Greens nevertheless? Are these “Greens” in the room with you now? Blink twice if you can’t talk

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Jan 31st 2025, 12:12 AM

@Tommy: time you went back to Civics Class 101

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Jan 31st 2025, 12:20 AM

@Johnny Wilson: it’s time you stopped following my comments and watching what I write on forums like this.

Mute David Linehan
    Favourite David Linehan
    Jan 30th 2025, 7:04 PM

Mullen is a plâgúe. Religious zealots shouldn’t be near government or a functioning society. Religion full stop.

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Jan 30th 2025, 7:37 PM

@David Linehan: Religious zealots are part of the population, like it or not. Why shouldn’t they be represented?

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Jan 30th 2025, 7:44 PM

@David Linehan: This is horrendous that the same three people can be shoehorned in once more to enjoy the Salary and Expenses year in year out, Term after Term. There is obviously a name for this Continual reinstatement, No wonder Deirdre was Sorry !

Mute David Linehan
    Favourite David Linehan
    Jan 30th 2025, 9:21 PM

@Athena: so are racists, múrderérs, páedòs etc. doesn’t mean they should be represented.

Mute Niall Walsh
    Favourite Niall Walsh
    Jan 30th 2025, 6:01 PM

Congratulations Lynn Ruane

Mute Rian O’Callaghan
    Favourite Rian O’Callaghan
    Jan 30th 2025, 3:40 PM

Even though I am happy to cast my vote I did vote to get rid of it in the referendum

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Jan 30th 2025, 7:48 PM

Well done to everyone that got their ticket on the Gravy train. Your bank managers and partners will be happy, and all that jazz.

Mute Ray Grogan
    Favourite Ray Grogan
    Jan 30th 2025, 7:49 PM

Noses back in the trough.

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Jan 30th 2025, 8:45 PM

Seanad reform? What TD or Party will want to create a chamber of rivals for themselves? You’d have more luck asking turkeys to vote for Christmas.
    We’re stuck with this useless bunch for the next hundred years.

Mute Anthony Mulligan
    Favourite Anthony Mulligan
    Jan 30th 2025, 10:18 PM

Why can I not comment on the tragic death of the young man

Mute Dannster
    Favourite Dannster
    Jan 30th 2025, 3:42 PM

Rigged trump is a witness

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Jan 31st 2025, 9:32 AM

Chu had her chance but blew it.
    Time to bow out.

Mute Thomas O'Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O'Donnell
    Jan 30th 2025, 10:52 PM

Now that the intelligent people have been elected its time to bring in the sod busters and country bumkins

Mute Philip Thompson
    Favourite Philip Thompson
    Jan 31st 2025, 7:49 AM

Congratulations Aubrey McCarthy. It is good to see a man who is making a difference on the front line, poised to be elected to a position where you can contribute towards changing the rules. I doubt a recount will overcome 37 votes.