You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Washington Street, Cork

A brave woman is calling for a fightback against harassment on Ireland's streets

Laura Duncliffe has spoken out after she was attacked while walking with friends.

A 20-YEAR-OLD WOMAN has spoken out against sexual harassment after she was attacked while on a night out with friends.

Laura Duncliffe was walking along Cork’s Washington Street with friends last weekend when they were verbally harassed by a group of men in their 30s who were standing outside a pizza restaurant.

One of the men then followed the group and lunged at Duncliffe’s skirt, lifting it over her waist before running back to the cheers of his friends and leaving her feeling ‘mortified’.

In the hours following the attack, the brave student took to social media to speak out about the incident and a culture in Ireland which allows these attacks to continue.

“I stood there in genuine shock and disbelief that a man in his thirties would actually do this to a 20-year-old woman who, to be fair, actually looks one or two years younger,” she said.

“Luckily, one of my girlfriends stepped in and gave him a well deserved slap across the face. The appalling fact is I’m sure that a lot of other girls experience the same thing on nights out; whether it be men thinking they have the right to pass little sexual remarks, or they have a right to put a hand on you.

The fact that these little creepy perverts number one think this behaviour is okay, and secondly get away with it, is an absolute disgrace.

“If you have the mentality that a woman is ‘asking for it’ because of the item of clothing she is wearing, you really really need to reevaluate your thinking”.

“If you happen to experience any of this disgusting behaviour in the future off little creeps, please don’t just walk away and let him get away with it, please do something about it.”

Duncliffe received an outpouring of support in the hours after posting about her ordeal online.

Speaking on Today FM’s Anton Savage Show she said:

“The overwhelming support has been unbelievable. It’s the last thing I expected. I’m after getting so many messages from both men and women.

I’m not doing it for me by any means. I’m doing it for people who have experienced similar and who have left comments and sent messages.

Duncliffe has since reported the incident to the Gardaí.

“I went to the Guards to report it and I have to say they were fantastic.

“Not all men have harassed women but nearly all women have been harassed by men in my experience.

“Is it right to brush something like this under the carpet? These people think it is OK and if they get away with it once then they will go on to do it again.”

Opinion: Street harassment influences how women experience the world>

Lisa McInerney: All sexual harassment needs to thrive is for good men to do nothing>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 134 comments
134 Comments
    Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:15 PM

Complete and utter gowl of a man!

Mute Hólec Alfield
    Favourite Hólec Alfield
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:18 PM

“man”

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:19 PM

What part of ‘man’ is confusing you Holec?

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Piotrek Król
    Favourite Piotrek Król
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:29 PM

You undid all your good work there Trevor.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:30 PM

I’m completely lost Piotrek

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:37 PM

I presume he was highlighting the word “man” sort of sarcastically because he ain’t no man, correct me if I’m wrong

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:37 PM

Penny just dropped. My apologies for my complete dimness!!!

Mute Tim Outrage
    Favourite Tim Outrage
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:51 PM

man might be stretching the truth a bit. Him and his mates are nothing more than creepy perverts. Though in relation to her statement that why would a man in his 30′s do that to 20 year old. What difference does her age make? Is she implying that it would be acceptable if she was 30?

Mute Midge Gallagher
    Favourite Midge Gallagher
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:53 PM

He is say man as if to say the person who did this is no man at all.

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:28 PM

The Irish sc^m who behave like this should be whipped. This is what happens when society becomes increasingly sexualised. For example, have a look at the smut on view in any convenience store at toddler eye level. The sexualisation of children has got younger and younger with each year. How many advertisements on TV are outright sexualisation or sexual innuendo. Another example are the feasts of Samhain and Christmas, where it seems they have been also sexualised and women are pushed to dress like prostitutes. When we finally sort this debasement of our people and society it will then be replaced by this:

Sexual Harassment In Belgium – Diversity In Action!
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QDk-CWUswjw

Mute Eric Foley
    Favourite Eric Foley
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:38 PM

He is a man. A gowl of a man after doing this. Whats hard to understand about that?

Mute Eric Foley
    Favourite Eric Foley
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:39 PM

Eire blood feck off with your whipping. Saudi Arabia & ISIS are to the East if you want a society that whips people.

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:52 PM

Saudi chops hands and heads and ISIS beheads, and sets fire to people for offenses of not believing in their cult, wrong comparison Foley. corporal punishment for sexual harassment, people who think they can interfere with women, would go a long way in sending out a message, for sc^m to behave themselves.

Mute Eric Foley
    Favourite Eric Foley
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:58 PM

We got rid of corporal punishment years ago mate. I remember being caned in primary school for crossing a flower bed. You are advocating violence. The sickos would be delighted to get in on state sanctioned torture again I’m sure. The Saudi comparison stands. How do we know you wont be calling for hanging or beheading next? Oh that’s right . Because you’re clearly so caring.

Mute Eric Foley
    Favourite Eric Foley
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:01 PM

What we need to do is educate our sons and make them understand that this crap is unacceptable.

Mute Eric Foley
    Favourite Eric Foley
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:05 PM

ps …I largely agree with you about the increasingly sexualised media. It has an effect for sure in the absence of proper education on these matters.

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:32 PM

Eric, we got rid of corporal punishment yet somehow society is more violent today, tells me corporal punishment had fk all to do with violence. I did not advocate cp to children, I said one specific case of whipping grown adults who think they can lay a finger on a woman or do or say and interfere in any way in a woman’s daily life…flog them. Quit twisting what I said.

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:39 PM

Any source to show whether society is more violent today, eire?

Mute Tordelback
    Favourite Tordelback
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:44 PM

Society is far less violent today than it has ever been, by all objective measures. With the exception of creeps like the d**khead in the article, we’re getting better.

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:45 PM

We all need sources for anything we say, have a look around, read the news, there were not the same type or numbers of drug killings or social misbehaviour as there was decades ago. Read any reports by the Gardai over the years telling how the nature of crime has increased. We also never had this much sexualisation of society as we do now, which psychologists will tell you has an impact on society, I have seen kids in front of their parents in public acting in sexualised ways never seen before in past years. Sources…..fking read the news and open your eyes

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:47 PM

then there is the horrid acts of cruelty to animals you read about, people setting fire to them, piercing them with objects etc, there was just not the same type or number of these incidents in years gone by.

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:50 PM

Eire, simply reading the news isn’t going to show that the world is more violent than it was in the past. It only gives you the impression that it is.

http://www.wanttoknow.info/g/violent_crime_rates_reduction

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 5:05 PM

Reading the news over several years can. Simple observation which is what science is based on can show anyone a pattern that they did not see years before that. Then you go and quote a US FBI source about crime in the US…..I rest my case. This is Ireland Chris.

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 5:09 PM

Ireland becoming more violent place to live, claims acting Garda Commissioner Noirin O’Sullivan
    http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/ireland-becoming-more-violent-place-3838926

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 5:19 PM
    Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:19 PM

ÉireBlood, I am beginning to suspect that you have an S&M fetish. Whippings and I presume the bondage and blood that goes with it despite your loud protestations on the depraved sexualisation of society. You kinky devil you.

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:31 PM

If you suspect that John when someone gives possible solutions to accurate accounts of causes of real problems, then that advertises more about what you have going on in your own mind. It is always suspect when people throw in diversions to genuine discussion

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:37 PM

@ eireblood……..” t is always suspect when people throw in diversions to genuine discussion”, i couldnt put it better myself! exactly what i was trying to say to you regarding your response to my first comment!!!

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:52 PM

And now Ann jumps in with another diversion. My comment to you was on-topic, yet you take this as an opportunity to divert away from the issue, typical

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 10:57 PM

As stated once we have dealt with the problem in Irish society to women, we will be in a situation 10 times worse when the Irish are replaced with this, multicult Europeans saying it is a woman’s fault for getting raped:

“Denmark: Immigrants to Go to Classes Telling Them Not to Rape Women
    “We had some problems in Stavanger because some of the refugees had sexually violent episodes with Norwegian girls in the centre of the town,” she said. “So the police, the immigration department and Hero Norge launched a project to teach refugees about Norwegian behaviour.”
    Hagen explained that men from sexually conservative countries often struggled to understand how to interpret the behaviour of young Scandinavian women.
    “It’s difficult if you come from a country where women never go out,” she said. “When you see a girl with a short skirt dancing at a party late in the evening, what kind of message will it give you?”
    http://www.thelocal.dk/20151028/denmark-to-teach-foreigners-about-sexual-morals

Mute Karl Carroll
    Favourite Karl Carroll
    Oct 31st 2015, 2:29 PM

Yes, because its countries with more liberal and relaxed views on sex and interaction that have the most issues with underage sex, teen pregnancies and like this case, at the least inappropriate behaviour.

Im being sarcastic by the way because its not, you will find countries in Spain, Portugal, Italy, France, Holland and Germany all have far lower cases and thats even with all the dirty smut on the TV before 9pm!

Mute Barry Walsh
    Favourite Barry Walsh
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:18 PM

Should be done for assault and not a fine, Makes me laugh when judges make them pay the victim some compensation, The judge might as well say I think you are a prostitute!
    Do them for assault and lock them up for a few months and they can lose their job and be shamed to everyone who knows them. Idiot

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:22 PM

Utter gobsh!te – if a 5 year old did that in the playground they’d deserve a kick in the arse…..but a so-called mature man? For sure he won’t have the b@lls to step up and apologise either.

Mute Ruth Rogers-Corbally
    Favourite Ruth Rogers-Corbally
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:27 PM

The “men” that do things like this are never on their own. And usually it’s only one or two of them who think they’re hilarious or having a bit of banter. What really annoys me is the group of guys standing behind their mates laughing away. Odds are they know what the others are doing is wrong and wouldn’t dream of doing it themselves but they don’t do anything which is giving the idiots permission to act like this towards women.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:24 PM

I hope these guys were found on cctv they should be publicly “exposed” and humiliated for their unmanly actions and reactions. Since they like to play to the gallery then put them in the gallery, let their families see their actions. People should be able to socialise without being subjected to animalistic harassment.

Mute Leanne
    Favourite Leanne
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:25 PM

Great to see this getting the attention and support it deserves. Absolutely sick of these ar$eh*oles who think they can get away with a disgusting comment or even a grope! I could count on one hand the amount of times myself and friends have had a creep-free night out, it’s sad.

Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:12 PM

Did you ever get jumped on by a random group of lads while you were out and end up in hospital? Yeah you girls have it terrible.

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:19 PM

@ reading your comments david g , i think i might understand why this might happen!! of course its not right that you or any young man should be jumped both sexes should be able to walk from A to B without any harassment ……you are totally missing the point and making this into something it is not!
    to feel safe is everyones right and your anger should be directed to those that have taken that freedom away from you, me and everyone in our communities

Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:26 PM

I’ve seen my mates get their faces kick in infront of 10 people and nothing is done.Just told to suck it up. If the young girls of Ireland were subjected to the same levels of random violence as the boys society would have a meltdown. You have to ask the question why?

Mute Eric Foley
    Favourite Eric Foley
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:28 PM

I have David ……. But that’s called justifying one evil by pointing to a bigger one. Serves no useful purpose and is actually unhelpful.

Mute Eric Foley
    Favourite Eric Foley
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:29 PM

Not to mention the frightening rape figures. Women have every right to shine light on this behaviour.

Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:30 PM

I’m not justifying any thing. I’m just questioning why we show so much concern for one group when we completely ignore the personal safety of another(equally vulnerable group)

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:37 PM

David, getting hammered by a group does not excuse any other bad behaviour. You are saying that simply because one bad behaviour happened to you that therefore it makes another bad behaviour not something to oppose.

How about we oppose what happened to you AND what happens with women. Men in general and it is true, do not have to fear half of the population. Everytime a woman goes out, she has to have in mind her safety in being raped or having to put her head down staring at the footpath in fear some male takes it as a flirt or come-on. Men in general do not have that restriction on their freedom, note I said in general.

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Oct 29th 2015, 5:38 PM

@ david g….nobody has suggested that any group be “completely ignored”. safety is a right for all and all sections of society are vulnerable. your anger is mis-directed and for some reason you seem to be angry that this poor girls plight has been highlighted in the first place.

why not get involved in your local community to try and assist in the safety of people and the young men that you have seen get their ” faces kicked in”.

Mute Orela Krawczyk
    Favourite Orela Krawczyk
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:06 PM

That’s a completely different and equally horrible thing. Why is getting hit any worse than getting sexual assaulted????

Mute Leanne
    Favourite Leanne
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:24 PM

@David G just for the record I don’t condone sexual or physical violence of any kind..against any gender.

Mute BevinArmageddon
    Favourite BevinArmageddon
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:48 PM

David things like this have been a regular occurrence for years actually and haven’t been reported. I had a guy put his hand up my skirt as I was walking by him in a stair well of pub one night years ago. I gave him a very well deserved belt across the face. I would take a guess that most women have experience sort some of unwanted attention like this at some point in their lives. My point is, more people are speaking up about this kind of disgusting behaviour than before. What you’re talking about is a horrible thing to happen to anyone. But it has nothing to do with this story and bring it up is just bizarre really.

Mute ian110664
    Favourite ian110664
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:29 PM

A good kick in the nuts would soon soften his cough

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:14 PM

was in traffic a few days back , students leaving one of the colleges here in the city. as some of the young females were walking along an absolute muppet in a van was leaning out the window whistling and shouting things to the young women…he drove his van at a snails pace and the girls walked along the pavement….he eventually focused on one particular young woman and drove so slow it was frightening to watch. we took the number plate of van and reported same….we live in a society where many feel they can do what they want and making some one feel uncomfortable is only a laugh to them…..

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:40 PM

You say “we”, If you had a male in the van why did you not both get out and make a physical presence felt, tell the guy to fk off, or even just ask if the girl was alright? More physical interaction in these types of scenarios are needed, I am sure had you seen what you call “racist” abuse you would have been out of the car quicktime, recording it on your racism-cam

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Oct 29th 2015, 5:32 PM

@ eireblood….”if i had a male……” i didnt have a male in my car, i had 2 elderly patients in the car and was stuck in traffic in the opposite direction….making that call was the best i could do immediately in the situation i was in. as regards ” more physical interaction” i somewhat agree with you but again not always the best way to deal with nutters/physcos etc!……

where in my comment did i mention anything “racist”….in fact the muppet is a local “pest” that is well known to the gardai as it turns out! dont know what your agenda is , maybe you have your threads mixed up!!

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 5:48 PM

Ann, hence the word “if”. However I am quite sure there are many people who just watch and do fk all about things, there are instances nowadays where people have taken out their mobile phones and recorded people dying in the street

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:03 PM

@ eireblood “if” i were you i wouldnt make unfounded assumptions ….i have no idea if this incident was recorded by people in cars…..to be fair i dont think many people do “fk” all as you say….its not as simple as “jumping in” . too many muppets out there with all sorts of weapons and only too willing to use them on anyone. certainly anyone i know would report incidents and look out for people especially the elderly.

Mute Sarah O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sarah O'Sullivan
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:22 PM

we dont need more physical interaction we need the idiots to cop on and see it’s unacceptable.

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:23 PM

What was the unfounded “assumption” Ann? No definitive statement was made, I prefaced a question with the word “if” and then proceeded with that question…..ASKING, you see that Ann, I ASKED “why did you not both get out and make a physical presence felt”. However it is true in other cases on the issue of racism that people are very quick to record and interact, that juxtaposition was made. You have taken up the comment incorrectly.

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:26 PM

Sarah actually you do, physical interaction can simply take the form of people making their presence felt, and that is what is needed, right now jerks and miscreants do what they do, because everyone is keeping their heads down, when that happens, it emboldens more dysfunctional behaviour

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:33 PM

@ eireblood, didnt take your comment up incorrectly….i am just amazed you jumped from the issue to include “racism”…….i also find it curious as to why you would ask if some one intervened , surely , would you agree , jumping in is not always the best thing to do in fact it is not advised by the gardai to put yourself in danger ( in these situation, i am not talking about life saving situations)..

i have read through your comments and much of what you say i agree with “IF” it comes from the heart

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:50 PM

Ann, I mentioned racism, because I am critical of many who will ignore abuses to women while usually will be all out displaying no problem intervening recording and being in the face of so-called “racists”. Yes, you took my comment incorrectly, I never said to jump in, I said to make your physical presence felt, that can mean anything from physically being near the girl to confronting the abuser. Again, you have taken that up wrong too.

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Oct 29th 2015, 7:26 PM

@ eireblood, nope, didnt take your comment incorrectly….i used the term” jump in” purely to quantify any sort of intervention, that needs to be done safely for the person that is being abused/attacked and the person trying to help…safely….most times this means making a call to the gardai….but hey! lets agree to disagree….

Mute Karl Carroll
    Favourite Karl Carroll
    Oct 31st 2015, 2:30 PM

I dont agree with Eireblood in general but its true, people will record acts for youtube before intervening to offer assistance

Mute Andrea Gruber
    Favourite Andrea Gruber
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:05 PM

So if a man wears tight jeans, it it ok to touch his dick?
    As this is your argument.

Mute lotto blotto
    Favourite lotto blotto
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:18 PM

I don’t think so @andrea. the direct comparison there would be ‘if a woman wore tight jeans would it be ok to touch her fanny?’ I don’t believe anyone here is saying either of those things

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:49 PM

I wore an incredibly tight pair of jeans out one night. Left nothing to the imagination and not even one woman touched my dick. I was absolutely disgusted.

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:11 PM

They might have had trouble finding it, jason…

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Oct 29th 2015, 11:24 PM

Good point Chris.. I’m gonna return those ‘wonderpants’ in the morning.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:20 PM

Absolutely not acceptable but I would also question the slapping friend as acceptable. I have seen women slap men a number of times over being offended by a comment or action.
    Sure it can seem ‘justified’ but often not and it can escalate matters and draw others into a brawl. Women also are quick to throw drinks too. Just my experience from working in nightclubs where many are drunk.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:11 PM

A lot of them aren’t shy about groping either

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:52 PM

Heard the radio interview.
    Not sure if the incident could be described as an ‘attack’ though. ‘an aggressive and violent act against a person or place’
    More stupid high jinks in my opinion.
    Why does anything with a feminist slant have to be reported in such a sensationalist manner?

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Oct 29th 2015, 2:55 PM

Actually, it could be easily classed as section 2 assault for a start.

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:01 PM

Technically..of course.
    But on the scale of assault lifting someone’s skirt for a prank doesn’t register very highly.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:07 PM

Not technically – actually. If they identify him, the girl in question pursues charges and there is at least 1 witness he WILL be charged.

2.—(1) A person shall be guilty of the offence of assault who, without lawful excuse, intentionally or recklessly—
    (a) directly or indirectly applies force to or causes an impact on the body of another, or
    (b) causes another to believe on reasonable grounds that he or she is likely immediately to be subjected to any such force or impact,
    without the consent of the other.
    [..] (3) No such offence is committed if the force or impact, not being intended or likely to cause injury, is in the circumstances such as is generally acceptable in the ordinary conduct of daily life and the defendant does not know or believe that it is in fact unacceptable to the other person.
    (4) A person guilty of an offence under this section shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding £1,500 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months or to both.

Mute Abbi Cranky
    Favourite Abbi Cranky
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:08 PM

Yeah you’re right Tommy.

But let’s see someone pull your pants down on a public street and see how you feel about it.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:10 PM

yep, pulling clothes to expose someone is definitely an assault on someone, but is at the low end. if this does go further, there might also be repercussions for her friend who actually physically assaulted the individual as well, especially as he had retreated and it could no longer be considered self defence. the best outcome here is public shaming of the bloke, as I don’t see this (lifting girls skirts) as common place (unlike cat calls etc…). Any repeat offences should be treated as sex offences though, and that way, it would be seen as serious for potential “Benny hill” style perverts.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:12 PM

Her dignity and personal space was under attack but to say she was attacked on the streets is being way too sensationalist. I mean there are people attacked and killed on the streets around the world every day.

Mute Niall O' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall O' Sullivan
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:19 PM

@Matt. When her friend gave him a slap in the face after the fact, that was probably an assault too. I would have done the same thing myself under the circumstances, but had she had him arrested on the night, he may well have had her friend arrested too and used it as leverage to get out of any possible charges.

I agree with Tommy on one point he made, and that’s the sensationalism that goes with stories like this. Using “brave” in the headline is sensationalistic and silly IMO.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:19 PM

What happens elsewhere is not a defence. Even being pragmatic about it, this gobsh!te committed an offence, and if identified should be charged. It’s in our laws – black and white all that’s needed is proof beyond a reasonable doubt.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:22 PM

I’d be confident any court would see that as self-defence (which does not apply only to one’s self – other persons or property too)

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:27 PM

Look, the guy was stupid. I’m sure in the cold light of day he now realises that.
    Doubt very much if he would do the same thing when sober.
    Alcohol played a n important role once again as is the norm on our weekend streets.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:37 PM

I’m certain you could say that for over 50% of the people up before the CCJ today.

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:07 PM

She’d be laughed at by the authorities in other countries

Mute Tordelback
    Favourite Tordelback
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:46 PM

Good job we don’t live there, so.

Mute Orela Krawczyk
    Favourite Orela Krawczyk
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:07 PM

He walked up behind her and pulled her skirt up exposing her for all to see how is that not an attack on her personal safety

Mute Orela Krawczyk
    Favourite Orela Krawczyk
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:08 PM

Oh he was drunk that makes it ok then

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:28 PM

To be fair, if a woman pulled Tommy’s pants down (and his mate slapped her across the face) and he complained about it on Facebook I don’t think national media outlets would be rushing to tell us how brave he was

Mute icaniwont
    Favourite icaniwont
    Oct 29th 2015, 5:37 PM

I was on a night out in Kilkenny the weekend and the level of aggression from men we faced (group of girls) was something I had never experienced before – completely different level. In one instance, this guy grabbed me from behind, wrapped his hands around me and then proceeded to try & drop the hand for a quick grope. I was completely stunned. I had never seen him before. I had not spoken to him previously. I had not made eye contact with him. What makes him think that behaviour is okay? I’ve often been on nights out and you have the full on guys (same applies for girls being full onto guys) who don’t take no for an answer but what I experienced last weekend in KK was intense almost frightening. The lack of respect for us was something to behold but even more disturbing was the fact guys thought this was a) okay b) pestering/creeping/assaulting are attractive characteristics.

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:11 PM

That behaviour is not ok, either for or to, men or women. Our society is being increasingly sexualised, this sort of thing is a fallout of years of a debauched culture, music, images on TV, magazines, violent computer games with rape culture, increased sexualisation throught glamorisation of hip/hop rap music and culture which has a prominant rape, gun and drug element. This is a long time in the incubation, it is going to get worse. This sort of thing is never ok, women must never be allowed to think it is, or to accept blame. Whoever acted like that is responsible for his own actions, he is to blame, nothing else.

It is time men and women started treating each other with respect, promoting normal healthy relationships that take time to get to know and bond, decent people who can talk normally to, confide in, be loyal and supportive to and have some fun with. It is that simple and we must create a society and culture that nurtures healthy relating.

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:10 PM

She should have rang the gardai straight away and brought them to the scene.

Mute Karl Carroll
    Favourite Karl Carroll
    Oct 31st 2015, 2:35 PM

I was just going to say that. Why go home and Facebook it? Does she think the Gardai were going to swoop in as a result?

When theres a crime call the police, I thought we all learnt that as children but no, now its homeward bound for a bit of social networking about it and maybe an online petition that will make not one jot of difference to anyone.

Call the Gardai, go through with a complaint and make the statement, Maybe he gets arrested, maybe be gets summoned but at least its visible seen to have happened and put some manners on him. Imagine his wife finding out he was arrested for groping a stranger on the street??

Mute Tom Callaghan
    Favourite Tom Callaghan
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:17 PM

Fair enough its a shit thing to happen and if it was my Girlfriend I’d freak.
    But the thing I wonder is how on earth does a Facebook status make the news now?
    I’ve been out many weekends in town and never see this behavior.
    One bloody Facebook status from a nobody and the whole country is talking about it.
    JESUS FRICKING CHRIST!!
    WE HAVE A HARASSMENT PROBLEM IN IRELAND!!!

Mute Simon Williamson
    Favourite Simon Williamson
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:21 PM

Because it’s the Journal Tom, they trawl loser – book for non stories like this one and think it’s news. Facebook crap, Sinn Fein, Irish Water and someone kicking a dog must make up a large percentage of their stories…

Mute Deirdre Forde
    Favourite Deirdre Forde
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:42 PM

It doesn’t affect you, Tom, fair enough. But you’d be hard pushed to find a woman who hasn’t experienced something like this at least once. I won’t bore you with mine.

Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:11 PM

Young Lads get jumped on and battered randomly every week and it only ends up on the journal if they are killed. I guess violence towards young men is just more socially acceptable.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:12 PM

You’ll never see those stories with #misandry or #violenceagainstmen. The Journal will likely get a chance to prove me wrong within the next fortnight, unfortunately. But they won’t.

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:36 PM

It is not acceptable to me at all. Why does there have to be a competition about it? I want violence to men and women stopped. I want this sexual harassment to women stopped, which is more prevalent to women than it is to men btw.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Oct 29th 2015, 7:10 PM

Is this the balance you’re looking for David & Lorem?
    “A woman with a personality disorder who made a false rape allegation against a man she was angry with has been given a suspended sentence.

At the end of a brief relationship Sarah Eastwood (34) had told the man: “You messed with the wrong person, I will get you sorted out.” She later alleged he raped her in a city centre pub toilet.

The man was never arrested but was interviewed by gardaí during an extensive investigation. He had not been in the city that night and recovery of large amount of CCTV disproved the allegation.”
    credit – courtsnewsireland.ie

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Nov 2nd 2015, 9:46 AM

What are you talking about? Where did I call for balance? And if I did, how would your copy & paste from another site qualify as the journal providing balance?

Mute Orela Krawczyk
    Favourite Orela Krawczyk
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:04 PM

I had something similar happen a few yes back. Walking with 2-3 friends to the club walking past 3-4 lads by the old cinema when one shouted something at us. We ignored them and about 5 secs later I heard someone run up behind me , pick me up and try and put his hand into my underwear, without being too graphic he actually grabbed me. I elbowed him and he dropped me. Thankfully I swung around and hit him across the face with my Very heavy bag. He stumbled off calling me a slut/ bitch. I was so scared we all just went home.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe

A girl pinched my arse one time, her group of friends cheered her on. I was mortified.

Mute skullduggery
    Favourite skullduggery
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:17 PM

Same thing happen a friend of mine (girl) in Limerick a few yrs back, a group of men around their 30s too….

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Oct 29th 2015, 5:13 PM

@naomi
    Your lack of experience from a male perspective and dismissal of it even as possible is prejudicial.
    Men get unwanted attention from woman and touched inappropriately. There is then lack of support from both men and women unlike the support women get
    . I doubt a group of men have walked up to you and asked for your underwear. Yet when a hen party did this to me I am meant to accept it and when I refused they grabbed at me and started yanking. Barman and bouncer laughing but came running when I pushed them off me.

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 5:44 PM

Kal Ipers, While any harassment on men is wrong and I would not laugh at your own incident. It is by no means a reality that men have the same potential fear from one whole other half of the populace that women potentially do. It does not describe the overwhelming reality. Physically women are weaker, while not true in every case, it is generally true that men are biologically designed to be the seeker of sex, the hunter and are in general more predatory about it. Women are biologically designed to be the ones who are chased. Men are physically in most cases, even when older, stronger than women. The overwhelming numbers of rapes and threats of rape are by men on women. Women know this and when going out have this knowledge in their heads, they cannot just simply walk down any street in any area, day or night, but must always be mindful that any man she sees walking up ahead or behind may pose a threat, while there are times when men feel this, it is never comparable to the instances a woman must take this into consideration, how many times do men consider they have to cross the road in order to avoid potential trouble rfom passing females or a lone female walking behind them or coming towards them? How many times must men look down , avoiding the gaze of of leery women as they go about their daily business, in order not to give a wrong impression, or dress a certain way which is then thrown back in their faces as – they were asking for it?

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:37 PM

The “overwhelming reality”, as you put it, is that our streets are far more dangerous for men than women

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 7:00 PM

Far more dangerous to criminal men, perhaps, as in they get shot by other criminals.

Women face violence from other women and must be alert to threats from ANY man, whereas men face violence from a certain male element in society, not all men. Men in general do not have to fear all other men and do not have to fear the vast majority of women. Your comment says nothing about the reality of the threat women must face on a daily basis, which simply is not there for men, all described in my original comment, which you conveniently ignored.

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    Oct 29th 2015, 8:30 PM

Right, so men who get assisted are criminals? Pathetic.

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 11:06 PM

Way to take a whole comment on just focus on what you want. Just completely ignore the whole argument painstakingly gone into detail about how the situation for men and women is different. That is what is pathetic.

Tell me, do you feel you have to avert your gaze, and look down when passing women or even a lone female? Do you feel threatened when walking home alone when you see a woman coming towards you or walking behind you?

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 11:10 PM

Do you know what else is pathetic Le Tigre, coming onto an article that is specifically highlighting a specific cause of threat, crime and stress to women, and moaning….what about men. Why don’t you actually come out and condemn spineless whelps who carry on like this making our society more degenerate? By coming out and equivocating and trying to say, but what about us, and complaining that women are just complainers, you are part of the problem of our society being sh^t. That is what is really pathetic. To compare the situation for men and women being the same is cowardly and makes our society open to the kind of society islam wants.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:09 PM

who remembers lapgate, unfortunately this behavior is endemic across all sections of our society, but when you have politions drunk in the dail pulling woman onto them, “for a bit of crack” this sends a signal that it’s ok to behave like that. I wonder if the guards would be as keen to follow up on that case or would it go to the dpp and then dismissed.

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:35 PM

That’s completely different. That was very slightly bawdy behaviour between two people who know each other and appear to have a friendly relationship. Totally different to a stranger perpetrating a low-level sexual assault in a deliberate attempt to embarrass someone

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 7:10 PM

Le Tigre, I saw that video, I don’t care if you think it some sort of “lesser” behaviour. It was totally inappropriate, for several reasons.
    1. The woman looked very uncomfortable
    2. Such actions should not happen to any woman, it is simply offensive and disrespectful
    3. Such actions would never happen to a man in the Dáil
    4. If a man was overpowered even playfully, but was manhandled and forced into a position of submission, he would feel somewhat humiliated, you would then denounce it
    5. This is the highest office in the country it also disrespects the office of the Dáil
    6. For the general public watching, who may or may not know what relationship the 2 have, it simply says, you can treat women any way you want, look, even female T.D’s are sexual objects, are the object of fun
    7. it sends the message that women never have to taken seriously, even if elected to the highest offices of representation
    8. It says only men are worth taking seriously

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 7:14 PM

9. It also sends out the message to sexual harassers and rapists – that it is all ok, to treat women as your sexual object, if this is how the people who are supposed to represent the best practice of what it means to be an upstanding national of Ireland treats a woman, then those with lesser morals find sustenance in treating women with abuse, in the way they do.

Examples of bad leadership trickling down to a dysfunctional society are many. For society to be good, it’s leaders must also be good.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Oct 29th 2015, 7:15 PM

sorry but this type of work place horse play is obviously wrong, I can tell you my boss wouldn’t be to pleased if I carried on like that, these people are meant to lead by example, and the night that was in it, a vote on abortion, a subject that brings a lot of heartbreak to meny people was belittled. goes to show how serious they take woman’s rights, the lot of them drunk out of their faces and molesting each other.

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    Oct 29th 2015, 8:29 PM

You lose all credibility when you pretend that “the lot of them [were] drunk off their faces and molesting each other”. That’s obviously untrue. You wouldn’t need such wild exaggerations if the two events were genuinely equivalent

There’s no need for me to bother with Éire Calling’s list because it’s not even relevant to what I said

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 11:02 PM

Whose Éire Calling?

It is entirely relevant to what you said, it addresses every premise in your comment. It addresses how it is inappropriate, how making light of it, by describing it as “slightly bawdy behaviour between 2 friends” is completely wrong. It shows why it is wrong giving 9 reasons as to why. The answer completely addresses the point you raised.

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:36 AM

I’m not reading your tripe. Feel free to blame that on “the multi-cults”

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:05 PM

@Dave. I’m not insinuating that the woman wore a short skirt or high heels and even if she did that doesn’t for one minute excuse the lads appalling behaviour. I was using this story to raise other points such as why women wear tarty or slutty clothes even though they know this can bring unwanted attention

Mute Sarah O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sarah O'Sullivan

“tarty or slutty clothes”??? Do you go around with a ruler measuring the length of peoples skirts! Women can wear what they want. The impropriety is on behalf of the person giving the unwanted attention.

Mute Deirdre Forde
    Favourite Deirdre Forde
    Oct 29th 2015, 5:00 PM

Is this guy for real?

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:00 PM

Beano, yes the reality is that there are some men who take it as a message that if a woman dresses a certain way, then she is open to certain behaviours from the male.
    However this is not, and I am sure you do not advocate, how we want the citizens of our nation to behave, that is, to make assumptions about another person based on what clothing they wear or indeed do not wear.

We should strive, should we not, to teach the people of our nation, that it matters not what a woman wears or does not wear, that even in the most extreme example of a woman being completely naked in the street, that this country has produced a nation of men who would never assume anything about that, least of all that it is a licence to have some sort of inappropriate interaction with said female.

We should be creating a society where the culture and the members finds certain acts or assumptions offensive, especially for example interfering with any person inappropriately on account of their dress or undress. To do otherwise and make assumptions is to go down the road akin to islam which says women must cover up, because otherwise they are to blame for making men rape them. Western society is supposed to be the opposite of that, and toerags who interfere like the sc^m above, would have been censured and slapped in a decent society of strong western males, at least in certain times in our history they would have.

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Oct 29th 2015, 6:52 PM

Cop on Sarah !

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Oct 29th 2015, 8:53 PM

Eugene, if this happened to your daughter, mother or sister would you be so blasé?

Mute Catherine Ryman
    Favourite Catherine Ryman
    Oct 30th 2015, 11:11 AM

There seems to be an attitude in certain offending men who think that putting a hand on a woman is acceptable no matter what. I recently exited a bathroom downstairs in a club and without even seeing my face as i was walking away he grabbed my behind and squeezed it. Needless to say when I turned around I challenged him and he actually squared up to me and told me I had a problem! Why do men think it’s okay to do this, it happens frequently as well.

Mute Mark Scott
    Favourite Mark Scott
    Oct 29th 2015, 4:10 PM

Yes. So brave.

Mute Sean Wong
    Favourite Sean Wong
    Oct 29th 2015, 11:32 PM

But, girls, a piece of advice, put more cloth on please.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 29th 2015, 11:52 PM

Table cloth, face cloth? Be more pacific.

Mute fiachra29
    Favourite fiachra29
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:03 PM

gortroe90

Mute Michael Kennefick
    Favourite Michael Kennefick
    Dec 11th 2015, 3:12 PM

This thug and fellow perverts must face justice. Have they been arrested? It is a disgrace that law abiding people cannot walk the streets of Cork in the evening without having to face this type of savagery. I would give them 10 years hard labour and also name and shame them with photos and home addresses on front page of local and national press.

Mute Emma Watson-Peel
    Favourite Emma Watson-Peel
    Oct 29th 2015, 5:17 PM

I think the age thing was brought up cause she could easily have been much younger and then we are in sexual abuse of a minor territory.

Recently an Asian workmate(in his 20′s) mentioned in an open discussion about sex and how women perceive sexual abuse as opposed to the male perception of same, said he quite enjoyed rape. Not one single person responded to this comment. Many ppl when asked, claimed not to have heard this comment at all, hard to believe as he was the only one speaking at the time. When asked why he made this statement in mixed company he said he didn’t see the problem with it as it was true. Scary stuff when you consider the high incidences of sexual assault in and carried out by asians through out the world.

This is the kind of thinking that we need to tackle before incidences like this girl’s experience gets much much more serious.