You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Australian Centre for Leadership for Women

Female doctor was told 'learn to suck c**k'

Several women have come forward after Dr Gabrielle McMullin made controversial remarks.

CONTROVERSIAL comments made by an Irish-educated doctor have led to several Australian doctors sharing their experiences of workplace sexual harassment.

Dr Gabrielle McMullin, who was educated at Trinity College, said sexual harassment in Australian hospitals is so rife that female trainees should not to complain, rather go along with it.

During the interview with ABC, McMullin said one neurosurgeon’s career was destroyed after she complained about sexual harassment by a superior.

“Her career was ruined by this one guy asking for sex on this night. And, realistically, she would have been much better to have given him a blow job on that night,” she said.

Her comments were largely criticised, with the President of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons describing them as “appalling”.

If nothing else, the remarks have got people talking the subject.

More than a dozen female doctors have contacted Fairfax Media since McMullin’s interview. The Sydney Morning Herald said the women backed up her assertion that sexual harassment is common in their field, as is a culture of silence.

‘Dumb b*tch’ 

One female surgeon said the problem was particularly bad in surgery because it remains a male-dominated profession.

She said women are advised to “keep quiet about sexual harassment, assault and rape … because there is a long history of such reports being dealt with poorly”.

Another female doctor told the Herald she was subjected to misogynistic insults and explicit sexual harassment while training.

She said surgeons routinely told her she was a “dumb bitch”, and that women were “f***ing useless” and men should be hired instead.
On one occasion, she alleges a consultant surgeon told her to “get some knee pads and learn to suck c**k”, while other colleagues laughed.

She also said she was ostracised after rebuking sexual advances from a senior male colleague.

They think they own you, a lot of these guys. As soon as you stand up, you cop a lot.

Another surgeon claims she was regularly subjected to commentary about her appearance, including how tight her skirt was and whether she had slept her way through the training program.

Dr Saxon Smith, president of the Australian Medical Association in New South Wales, told Radio Australia sexual harassment is not tolerated and that women should speak out.

“For your personal health and welfare but also to ensure that you are able to look after those around you as well because you shouldn’t allow this thing to continue,” he said.

What do you think of McMullin’s comments?

Poll Results:

She made a fair point (4614)
Her advice is inappropriate (3606)
I don't know (857)

Background: Surgeon tells female trainees it’s best for their careers to comply with sexual advances

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

94 Comments
    Mute Chuck Eastwood
    Favourite Chuck Eastwood
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:11 PM

A sexist or racist Australian, surely not. I refuse to belive it. Oh wait, I lived there for three years. It’s commonly accepted is pretty much every sector in oz. We are 20 years ahead of them on that front and I’m afraid to say I’m not joking one little but

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:28 PM

and there’s no sexism in holy catholic Ireland is there ?

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Mar 9th 2015, 9:15 PM

I don’t think anyone said that now. Just that Irish society is less sexist and casually racist than Australian society which I’d be inclined to agree with.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Mar 10th 2015, 2:25 AM

Sexism and racism are on identical levels in Australia and Ireland. The only difference is that with Aussie culture they are loud and brash so it’s up front and in your face and uncomfortable, whereas with Irish culture Irish people will rarely express what they really think, so it’s covert and dangerous.

Mute Terence
    Favourite Terence
    Mar 10th 2015, 9:21 AM

Direct quote from Dr McMullin on the Australian doctor website

“When I was an intern in Ireland I sat in an operating theatre surrounded by men discussing how impossible it would have been for a woman to become a surgeon. It was like I didn’t exist.”

You can get off that high horse now.

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:21 PM

Another big reason for not living in oz

Mute Pedro deluvio
    Favourite Pedro deluvio
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:01 PM

A big reason to train as a consultant though!!

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:07 PM

You reckon this doesbt happen in Ireland

Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:31 PM

Maggie id wager it happens a LOT less in ireland than Australia. Probably a Catholic thing or whatever, but i cant imagine many irish men would have the b*alls to demand this of an Irish woman. Everyone knows someone who knows someone in this country.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:24 PM

Fred you’ve managed to reach a definitive conclusion in the absence of any facts or information. How did you do that ?

Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    Mar 9th 2015, 9:36 PM

Boganity – do you understand the concept of a wager? It implies a probability. Were someone to collect the required data, my wager could then be tested. In the mean time, look at the thumbs up on my comment. Anecdotal evidence. People know im right.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Mar 10th 2015, 2:06 AM

Point taken on betting and I’ll take your bet as I’m guaranteed to win it. With regard to the thumbs up there’s two elements at play there. Firstly your statement is a positive reinforcement of what people believe already. Nobody wants to believe bad things happen in there backyard, look at reaction the comments got in Australia for the same reason. Secondly most people have no concept of the old boys club the surgical fraternity is. It’s a male oriented closed shop operating on rules and procedures that haven’t changed for 200 years so most people have no capability for absorbing that it’s universal issue. Just as they had no capability of absorbing how widespread child sexual abuse was in Ireland, which allowed it to continue unchallenged for decades.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:49 PM

Remind me,
    Symphisiotomy… Our Lady of Lourdes, Neary, Portlaoise… When something is wrong with the medical profession, how long does it take to correct it?
    Prof. McMullin has done all of us a great service by whistleblowing a side of medical practice that should be eradicated.
    Stage 1, as usual, is the denial.

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:15 PM

In the 25-34 age group females make up 57.2% of the workforce
    In 2012, 299 new specialists (43.3%) were female
    The proportion of female doctors was 50% or higher in 16 of the 46 specialties that had new entrants in 2012.

37% of Consultant Surgeons under 45 are female. (in 2012 – probably higher now)

Ireland isn’t Australia.

http://www.medicalcouncil.ie/News-and-Publications/Publications/Annual-Reports-Statistics-/Medical-workforce-intelligence-report-.pdf

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:29 PM

Very quick with information to deflect from the real issue David -

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:16 PM

Well its difficult to say that surgery or medicine is a mysogynist profession if 40%+ of the consultants are female.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 10th 2015, 12:10 AM

That depends on which hospitals and disciplines they’re working in David, Prof, McMullin specifically referred to that.

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Mar 10th 2015, 12:30 AM

I quoted the figure for general surgery – it’s probably amount the lowest. The figures for paediatrics, microbiology would be up at 70-100%.

Mute Katie O'Neill
    Favourite Katie O'Neill
    Mar 10th 2015, 1:40 PM

While I wholeheartedly agree with you that this side of medical practice should be eradicated. I don’t believe the comments made by Dr McMullin can be deemed: ‘whistleblowing’. Urging female doctors to succumb to sexual advances as not to disrupt the status quo or endanger their jobs is a major step backwards.

Mute Oisín O'Connor
    Favourite Oisín O'Connor
    Mar 11th 2015, 8:11 AM

I’m pretty sure she’s taking an “ends justifies the means” approach. By coming out with these comments she’s making people pay attention and think “are things that bad that such extreme comments are necessary?”. Fair play to her for taking a personal, and probably professional, hit for the sake of bringing much needed attention to this issue.

Whatever about the situation in highly paid positions such as doctors, this problem is rife in low-paid jobs and developing countries. Every woman that this happens to is equally a cause for concern, be she a consultant doctor or a coffee bean picker or a receptionist or a truck driver.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:03 PM

It’s sad that in this day and age that I had to vote saying she made a fair point.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:14 PM

In many professions where men have power and authority, women are seen as intruders and need to be put back in “their place”. It’s sad that women are seen to have no more to offer than what’s between their legs.

Mute Ipso Facto
    Favourite Ipso Facto
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:24 PM

its worth noting that there are women who worked in these male dominated work places, who have most probably been subjected to this harrassment, who have subsequently turned the same treatment on innocent male subordinates at a later time.

Mute Ipso Facto
    Favourite Ipso Facto
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:43 PM

PS. i’ve seen it, here in ireland, first hand, in the last few years…

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    Favourite Antrim/Kurdistan
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:46 PM

There’s just certain places for men and certain places for wemen, if they are in each others roads and causing problems to each other then it’s better to seperate them. You don’t see wemen on building sites, why? Because they’d only be in the road and holding people back. You don’t see men in nail salons, why? Because it’s a wemens environment.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:49 PM

Not sure if serious or a brilliant troll…..

Mute Paul Harte
    Favourite Paul Harte
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:18 PM

Have you a mangina?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:34 PM

Not sure whether you should go back to Antrim or Kurdistan.

Mute Deirdre Forde
    Favourite Deirdre Forde
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:40 PM

Men can give a great manicure. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:52 PM

Welcome to the 21st Century Antrim Kurdistan. It must be pretty bleak in the middle ages.

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:41 PM

Aww don’t get me wrong here now, there’s plenty of wemen work with me, some of them very decent workers. I’m just saying there’s things suited for certain people.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:01 PM

It is disgusting, and obviously those men need putting in their place ie job queue.

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    Mar 10th 2015, 1:08 AM

Men and wemen work in perfect harmony only in the bedroom, it’s the only profession they share equally lol

Mute Colm Kelly
    Favourite Colm Kelly
    Mar 10th 2015, 3:33 AM

Learn to spell

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:03 PM

I think her comments were taken out of context and blown out of the water..

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:58 PM

She was using a powerful argument style called “A Modest Proposal” which is a satirical argument “in favour” of what you’re actually arguing against. It went over a lot of people’s heads, particularly in the media: http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Modest_Proposal

Mute Ipso Facto
    Favourite Ipso Facto
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:10 PM

I wonder is this kind of thing going on in Ireland? maybe we should shine a big bright light on it and find out? I’ve heard stories of simular treatment here, with victime being to not to make a complaint, because complaints can be made “go away”… who knows?

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:31 PM

In my work I have had dealings with many consultants and I’m sorry to say the majority are ‘up their own xxx obnoxious arrogant self opinionated xxxx hxxxs.

They frequently refer to each other as experts despite the fact that they probably only know 10% of what there is to know in their field.

I say most but not all.
    I’m with this lady.

Mute Michele Tobin
    Favourite Michele Tobin
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:04 PM

I’ve worked with a lot of them also. The arrogant pigs usually stand me in the corner and point at my body parts in front of other doctors and students. Its demeaning!!!!

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:03 PM

This should be taken further. Sexual harassment is illegal.

Mute ÉireWarning
    Favourite ÉireWarning
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:53 PM

No woman should take that sht. In these jobs, you need to band together and shout out load about these fkers. Of course another problem is women stabbing other women in the back when this happens and not supporting other women, it’s slave mentality, where one slave uses the misfortune of another to take advantage increase their own position and tries to gain more favour from the abusive master.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:00 PM

but why should support against such behavior be divided on gender lines?

Mute Elias Khoury
    Favourite Elias Khoury
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:33 PM

Run along now, Little Eire. The grownups are talking.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:04 PM

Well said.

Mute GrandDame
    Favourite GrandDame
    Mar 9th 2015, 9:30 PM

When my friend was an intern and hoping to move into surgical training she was invited up to “assist” one day in theatre. Something interns can hope for on rare occasions the wards aren’t too busy. She was delighted to get the call, raced off to theatre, changed into scrubs, scrubbed in and was ready to assist…..only to be laughed at by all the men who proceeded to give her their tea/coffee order to get from the canteen. Of course she did, after getting changed again. Definitely wouldn’t have happened to a guy. This was in a Dublin teaching hospital.

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:20 PM

When was that? Sounds like a load of horsecrap. Surgeons can be w@nkers, but i’ve never heard of anyone making tea or coffee for anyone in theatre.

Mute GrandDame
    Favourite GrandDame
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:33 PM

David not horse shit. It was in 2004 in a teaching hospital affiliated with Trinity. She didn’t have to make tea, just take the money and go down to the canteen and bring the regs and consultants back coffees and a bun. True story, I was there that day, not in theatre but on the wards.

Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:21 PM

Her “advice” that young trainees should go along with it is an absolute disgrace. She seems to be advocating that these women should literally prostitute themselves in order to further their career. Typically clinical approach from a doctor, but very dangerous advice to be giving impressionable young women. Better advice would be to say no and threaten to speak out to HR, the police, the board, the wife etc. That will make the perpetrator think twice. Unbelievabe. Next she’ll be saying women should be asking for money generally for sex if they’re strapped for cash.

Mute Ian Michaels
    Favourite Ian Michaels
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:43 PM

Yea she’s making a joke of the subject she’s encouraging sexual harrassment of women in the work place.
    No one is going to take it seriously if she makes a joke about it.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Mar 10th 2015, 9:12 PM

For most people her comments took a bit of skin off their scalp, but not you Fred. They went that far over your head they had vapour trails.

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:24 PM

Just because a proffession is male dominated, doesn’t mean they are all misogynistic pigs, these women are clearly educated and should promptly report these case of sexual harassment with the work place.

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:48 PM

Perhaps Sean but you know the way industries work. One may soon find life becoming very difficult.
    Look at the 2 Garda whistle blowers here and how the system turned against them until they were finally exonerated.

Mute C Dav
    Favourite C Dav
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:44 PM

Good to see this story given attention here, but seriously is that the best headline you could come up with? Not really classy journalism in action there..

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:58 PM

On the other hand, its probably what drew me to read the article.

Mute BroadSideSkid
    Favourite BroadSideSkid
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:24 PM

A Headline is meant to grab your attention …

Mute C Dav
    Favourite C Dav
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:58 PM

Yeah. Sure. ‘Gotcha’.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:40 PM

This happens everywhere, every country, every profession…some people with so called ‘power’ take it to the limit…however her remarks are disgusting…I remember my first job, back in the early 80′s, administration…the big boys used to try to get us to make their tea….I said I’m not the tea maker, perhaps you could make your own…they stopped, I don’t have a problem making tea for anyone, it was the assumption that because I was female that was my role, made me mad!

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:17 PM

Cup of tea so please Joan.
    White with 2.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Mar 9th 2015, 9:19 PM

Any chance of a cuppa now Joan love , I’m parched with the drought .

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:40 PM

With friends like Dr. McMullin women don’t need enemies

Mute Ipso Facto
    Favourite Ipso Facto
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:19 PM

are you sure she didn’t phrase her statement in a way that didn’t leave her open to legal action? i’m sure she is a smart lady… lets wait and see gow this shakes out before judging her i say….

Mute Luke D
    Favourite Luke D
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:04 PM

Are we really expected to believe that the situation in the medical profession in Australia is as vulgar as the picture painted in this article?

Maybe some female doctors and nurses who have worked in Australia might chip in because I doubt you’d get that behaviour in Saud Arabia.

Mute Middle Class Cork
    Favourite Middle Class Cork
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:12 PM

Probably because a woman wouldn’t be allowed to hold a professional qualification in Saudi Arabia. Plus if a woman complained about sexual harassment from someone prominent in Saudi Arabia, she might find herself in chop chop square.

Mute Ipso Facto
    Favourite Ipso Facto
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:12 PM

in Saud Arabia, where teenagers are raped, the victim usually gets 100 lashes for adultery, and victims have been known to be forced to marry their attacker.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:26 PM

Not being believed is a huge problem. It discourages women from male dominated careers.

Mute Luke D
    Favourite Luke D
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:31 PM

Thanks for the info guys but I clearly knew that already so you kind of wasted your time commenting

Mute Emily O Conor
    Favourite Emily O Conor
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:35 PM

Luke, it’s a lack of belief adding to and continuing the problem methinks, no mention of other ozzie medics refuting the claim.

Mute Ipso Facto
    Favourite Ipso Facto
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:35 PM

well you didn’t sound like you did luke… nevermind.. feel free not to waste any more of your time either …

Mute joanie
    Favourite joanie
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:48 PM

Really Luke ? Then why use that country as an example then ?

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:09 PM

Only know a nurse lit, and doctors have always been cheeky to nurses, but know they can only flirt for they always need the nurse to stop there full time as they do not.

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:09 PM

Not tryin be awful but lot.doctors in oz have Muslim.background

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:23 PM

? What crap. There’s more doctors from cork working over there than muslim.

The problem in australia is that surgeons come from expensive private boys schools in sydney or melbourne – and as such are more prone to be arrogant mysogynists

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Mar 10th 2015, 12:49 AM

You work in a hospital in Australia David ?

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Mar 10th 2015, 2:10 AM

Maggie for someone “not trying to be awful” you’re doing a remarkably good job at it.

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:17 PM

I can’t help but wonder what the reaction would be if this advice was given by a man instead…..?

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:43 PM

It wasn’t advise, men took her literally and missed her point, whilst women didn’t and understood clearly what she meant.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:06 PM

Screaming fir public hanging or some such….. Get rid of them.

Mute Brian Gormley
    Favourite Brian Gormley
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:26 PM

The Aussie are well know and in some places admired for their chat up lines “get yourself some knee pads” brilliant

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:44 PM

Can Pay — Won’t pay. Whoops,sorry, wrong thread.

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Mar 9th 2015, 11:58 PM

Ahhh Doctors, they don the white coat and become someone else.
    Too much power and authority over the little people.
    Send them off to train in Cuba where Doctors are as common as taxi drivers and see how they get on.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:38 PM

Did she follow her own advice ?

Mute Colm Kelly
    Favourite Colm Kelly
    Mar 10th 2015, 3:43 AM

Either she is Jonathan Swift or one nasty piece of work.. A clue is…it wasn’t funny….

Mute www90
    Favourite www90
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:48 PM

So did she use her knee pads often

Mute David Walls
    Favourite David Walls
    Mar 10th 2015, 12:41 PM

The behaviour of many doctors, both male and female, has largely been deplorable for ever and a day.

Give them 35 grand a year and see how long they hang around, many are not in any way fit to do the job, which

requires them to “care” for others!! And yes, unfortunately , I have direct experience of this “care”.

Mute Tim Stephen Hendy
    Favourite Tim Stephen Hendy
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:19 PM

I’m sure a doctor who spends 11 years training to make 35k a year will really be keen to give you the best possible “care” available….
    Didn’t think that one through did you?

Mute Tim Stephen Hendy
    Favourite Tim Stephen Hendy
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:17 PM

Surgeons have a reputation among doctors for being unpleasant, but this takes the mickey. It’s shameful that things like she describes still go on and I’ve heard some awful stories. The irony is, though, the women that do crash through that glass ceiling are on top of their game and end up heads of department and are a force to be reckoned with.
    Men who are so insecure they can’t cope with a woman having the same job as them can end up opening up a whole lot of trouble for themselves.

Mute trickytrixster
    Favourite trickytrixster
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:18 PM

She could be the minister for health,neither of them object to sucking to get ahead

Mute Elias Khoury
    Favourite Elias Khoury
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:37 PM

Sure the night wouldn’t be complete without a dirty little schoolboy comment.

Mute Neil Carroll
    Favourite Neil Carroll
    Mar 10th 2015, 12:30 AM

Surgeons and their sharp remarks ha ha

Mute Paul Freeman
    Favourite Paul Freeman
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:59 AM

Doctor Kneelgood?

Mute Ian Michaels
    Favourite Ian Michaels
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:27 PM

As well as being ompletely ignorant she’s completely making a joke out of the subject. If she’s a spokeswoman for sexually harrassed women and she’s telling everyone to treat it as a joke then everyone’s going to treat it as a joke.

Mute Gordon Gekko
    Favourite Gordon Gekko
    Mar 10th 2015, 2:30 PM

Sounds like she is exaggerating quiet a lot.