You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Irish men are the sexiest men*

*According to this (very accurate) survey.

TV-True Detective Richard Shotwell / AP/Press Association Images Richard Shotwell / AP/Press Association Images / AP/Press Association Images

RIGHT. It’s finally settled – Irish men are the sexiest in the world.

A new survey from MissTravel.com gives our buachaillí the top spot in a ranking of the sexiest nationalities.

However, the cailíní don’t get a look in. Irish women failed to make it into the top ten rankings. Kim Kardashian’s influence is clear, with Armenia taking the top spot, followed by a Rihanna-inspired Barbados.

Brazil dramatically and unexpectedly fell from first to seventh place.

The website polled more than 66,000 women and almost 45,000 men in America.

Obviously being a group of rational and sensible people, the females gave Irish males the #1 spot, followed by Australia. Here’s the full listing:

1. Irish
  2. Australian
  3. Pakistani
  4. American
  5. English
  6. Scottish
  7. Italian
  8. Nigerian
  9. Danish
  10. Spanish

Thank you, Jamie Dornan. Here’s the ranking for women:

1. Armenian
  2. Barbadian/Bajan
  3. American
  4. Colombian
  5. English
  6. Australian
  7. Brazilian
  8. Filipina
  9. Bulgarian
  10. Lebanese

Read: Dubliners think they’re really sexy >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 106 comments
106 Comments
    Mute Bill Jones
    Favourite Bill Jones
    May 5th 2015, 6:55 PM

Ahh, all makes perfect sense now. The women don’t want to chat to me on nights out because they are intimated due to my worldly good looks. Bless em.

Mute Bill Jones
    Favourite Bill Jones
    May 5th 2015, 6:57 PM

Intimidated even! Sorry I caught my reflection in the phone screen and got distracted

Mute Jack Dunne
    Favourite Jack Dunne
    May 5th 2015, 7:13 PM

All makes sense now

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 5th 2015, 7:18 PM

Must get me to Armenia – Darwin demands it !

Mute Darwin Security
    Favourite Darwin Security
    May 5th 2015, 9:17 PM

Yes I do.

Mute david yelverton
    Favourite david yelverton
    May 5th 2015, 11:53 PM

If this comment doesn’t deserve its own post i dunno what does… bravo

Mute John O'Shea
    Favourite John O'Shea
    May 6th 2015, 5:08 AM

…..as if we didn’t already know * boom [drops mike - on foot wearing white socks and sandals]

Mute Psychedelic Éire
    Favourite Psychedelic Éire
    May 5th 2015, 7:12 PM

Jaysus, the Yanks will be fumin’ the lost out to Pakistan.

May 5th 2015, 10:21 PM

Nothing few drone strikes can’t fix

Mute Vincenzo Mangini
    Favourite Vincenzo Mangini
    May 5th 2015, 11:49 PM

They will probably send the army to Pakistan now

Mute Sam Walker
    Favourite Sam Walker
    May 7th 2015, 6:42 AM

Nothing new, most of them lose to Pakistanis anyways

Mute Sam Walker
    Favourite Sam Walker
    May 7th 2015, 6:45 AM

Please do tell the world that you are not only ugly and jealous but also extremely stupid .

Mute Imran Khan
    Favourite Imran Khan
    May 8th 2015, 10:21 AM
    Mute Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    Favourite Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    May 5th 2015, 6:52 PM

Sexist or sexiest?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    May 5th 2015, 6:55 PM

Sexiest. Sexiest! Fixed now.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 5th 2015, 6:56 PM

You don’t have to tell us Nicky we already know that we are.

Mute Conchubhair MacLochlainn
    Favourite Conchubhair MacLochlainn
    May 5th 2015, 7:02 PM

My question, which you deleted, stands, Nicky. I see you’ve proof-read the headline, but what about the body?

Mute Shane Kearney
    Favourite Shane Kearney
    May 5th 2015, 7:03 PM

Whats wrong with being sexy?

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    May 5th 2015, 6:50 PM

That’s why I get wolf whistled every where I travel .

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 5th 2015, 6:52 PM

Yeah but do the woman ever show an interest.

Mute paperboy
    Favourite paperboy
    May 5th 2015, 6:57 PM

Can’t believe irish women didn’t make the list… I know theirs a lot of howlers out there but theirs some serious meat feasts!!

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    May 5th 2015, 7:19 PM

@Paperboy – you’ve obviously never travelled east of the British Isles!

Mute Con Manne
    Favourite Con Manne
    May 5th 2015, 9:52 PM

Just showed the wife the article. If there’s an antidote to convulsive laughter, I’d appreciate a heads up.

Mute ohaimhirghin
    Favourite ohaimhirghin
    May 5th 2015, 10:55 PM

Theirs ?

Mute Pol O Misteal
    Favourite Pol O Misteal
    May 6th 2015, 12:22 PM

He doesn’t live in The British isles dude. If you insist on an appellation “The Atlantic Archipelago” fits much more accurately.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    May 6th 2015, 3:22 PM

@Pol – in the context of paper boy’s comment, to which I was replying, and assuming he lives on these islands – my reply make total sense in that I was referring to females on the European mainland. Regards.

Mute John Cross
    Favourite John Cross
    May 5th 2015, 8:00 PM

Always knew I was a ride, my red hair and black CIE glasses have proven to be irresistible

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 5th 2015, 8:05 PM

Do u read books?

Mute Foghorn Leghorn
    Favourite Foghorn Leghorn
    May 5th 2015, 8:04 PM

Not being funny but how did the Pakistani lads shnake number 3.

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 5th 2015, 8:08 PM

I think it’s a typo. They meant Italian

Mute Foghorn Leghorn
    Favourite Foghorn Leghorn
    May 5th 2015, 8:12 PM

The wops are already there at number 7, one ahead of the beauts from Nigeria

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 5th 2015, 8:18 PM

I’m amazed the aborigines didn’t get an honourable mention

Mute Sam Walker
    Favourite Sam Walker
    May 7th 2015, 6:50 AM

You are not being funny at all Foghorn , Just plain stupid and dumb jealous racist. that’s all.

Mute Sam Walker
    Favourite Sam Walker
    May 7th 2015, 6:52 AM

Actually it was done in your mothers bedroom where she was enjoying with her Pakistani boy friend.

Mute Imran Khan
    Favourite Imran Khan
    May 8th 2015, 10:20 AM
    Mute Dennis Meredith
    Favourite Dennis Meredith
    May 5th 2015, 7:00 PM

It’s the way we say 3 and tree.. Gets them every time

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 5th 2015, 7:11 PM

Saying 33 1/3 drives them absolutely insane. I often stroll around London shouting it at the top of my voice just to watch the knickers falling off

Mute Robert Mc Avinue
    Favourite Robert Mc Avinue
    May 5th 2015, 7:43 PM

As someone who lives in the states now for the past 5 years I can vouch for this. Birds are on me like flies around shite.

Mute Diarmaid O'Fionnachta
    Favourite Diarmaid O'Fionnachta
    May 5th 2015, 7:50 PM

Good lad Robert.

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    May 5th 2015, 8:55 PM

At least your honest

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 5th 2015, 9:18 PM

Well we only have his word on that really ,

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    May 6th 2015, 12:25 AM

Well that`s the birds taken care of Robert,
    How do the Girls treat ya? ;-)

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    May 5th 2015, 6:53 PM

They are right about Irish girls….they let themselves go once they settle down!

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 5th 2015, 7:10 PM

There’s no food more fattening than wedding cake

Mute See My Vest
    Favourite See My Vest
    May 5th 2015, 7:18 PM

I hear it kills the female libido too.

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 5th 2015, 7:22 PM

It sure does, it’s in the icing

Mute Dave Tett
    Favourite Dave Tett
    May 5th 2015, 7:58 PM

Nearly choked on me cup of tea reading this one haha. Had the “oh, I wouldn’t go there” face when I read it. Comments under this article are throughly entertaining. Good stuff.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 5th 2015, 8:39 PM

And men don’t let themselves let themselves go once they’ve got married ?

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 5th 2015, 8:42 PM

Spot on suzie, u got that one right.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 5th 2015, 8:52 PM

Lol !

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 5th 2015, 9:00 PM

I heard a comedian one time saying that he lost his virginity at the age of 17 and found it again when he got married !

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 5th 2015, 9:36 PM

A wise man no doubt

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 5th 2015, 10:48 PM

They always laugh at the wise ones ….

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 5th 2015, 10:48 PM

..only joking …

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 5th 2015, 6:49 PM

Yes, we are.

Mute Ian Graydon
    Favourite Ian Graydon
    May 5th 2015, 7:27 PM

I’m pretty sure there’s a lot more to life than being really, really, ridiculously good looking…

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 5th 2015, 9:27 PM

I don’t go on looks, if a guy can make me smile or laugh that’s good enough for me. Mind you, they are few and far.. But hey hoo I’ll keep trying.
    I have to say though, I like the banter on this site.

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 5th 2015, 9:52 PM

Gwan ouwa that jenni, I bet a big old chiseled chin and a brand new pair of wellys would make you swoon too

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 5th 2015, 11:12 PM

Now you mentioned wellies… Ah Al go on

Mute Tallaght two
    Favourite Tallaght two
    May 6th 2015, 7:02 AM

This report is rubbish. Filipina’s before Thai or Chinese? Seriously!!!!

I am a masterpiece mind…

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    May 5th 2015, 7:20 PM

No wonder I was snapped up by the missus.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    May 5th 2015, 6:56 PM

Irish women are beautiful and sexy.

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall

Self praise is no praise Chris.

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    May 5th 2015, 7:20 PM

I wonder are the red thumbs Chris got, from the women or the men?

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    May 5th 2015, 6:51 PM

Now I know why I’m forever fighting of the ladies….calm down girls I’m trying to type here

Mute Odran
    Favourite Odran
    May 5th 2015, 7:24 PM

Irish women not even listed? I guess there are people in the world who don’t understood how lucky we Irish men are.

Mute Kool Tiger
    Favourite Kool Tiger
    May 5th 2015, 7:15 PM

Number 5 should be top of the list and number 1 should be number 2, how Ozzie’s even made it onto the list is a joke, the one that confuses me the most is number 3 how on earth did Pakistani men get 3rd place

Mute Sam Walker
    Favourite Sam Walker
    May 7th 2015, 6:55 AM

Pakistani made it to number #3 just as easily as he made his way through your Mom’s bedroom

Mute Imran Khan
    Favourite Imran Khan
    May 8th 2015, 10:23 AM
    Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    May 5th 2015, 7:33 PM

I wouldn’t have a problem with how Irish girls look if their personalities weren’t a little bit better.

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater
    May 5th 2015, 7:30 PM

Better to be a handsome Irishman, then been sexiest, as for the Irish ladies wouldn’t be without one.

Mute Lolo
    Favourite Lolo
    May 5th 2015, 8:33 PM

It’s the white sport socks with black shoes/open toe sandles. No man is sexier like that than an Irish man. *Drools*

Mute John O'Shea
    Favourite John O'Shea
    May 6th 2015, 2:03 AM

Can’t wait to go on holidays …. where was this poll taken again ? I suppose Ryan Air stop there ! They’ll probably charge us a fookin beauty tax now !

Mute why?
    Favourite why?
    May 5th 2015, 8:40 PM

“Kim Kardashian’s influence is clear, with Armenia taking the top spot, followed by a Rihanna-inspired Barbados.”

not saying they don’t deserve the 1-2 (never visited either), but can nobody form their own friggin’ opinion these days without the need to be told who’s sexy?

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    May 5th 2015, 9:33 PM

If you posted it by city rather than by country Dublin and Belfast would come in as the least handsome.
    The pirate queen Grace O’Malley from Connemara described Dubliners all of four centuries ago : “Ugly dwarfs”.

Mute The Man With No Name
    Favourite The Man With No Name

Irish women on the other hand….

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    May 5th 2015, 7:39 PM

Niall, I’m a bloke.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    May 5th 2015, 7:48 PM

Ah sure everyone’s claiming that now.
    Nice try.

Mute mick h
    Favourite mick h
    May 5th 2015, 10:08 PM

It depends on what poll you read.
    According to this one – Irish women are at the top and Irish men are yet third ugliest in the world.
    Pretty hard to take if your a fella I guess but at least if you’re half decent you’d stand out from the crowd so there’s always a silver lining!!!

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/irish-women-voted-among-the-hottest-in-the-world-while-irish-lads-are-the-ugliest-206091771-237789471.html

Mute Travis Bickle
    Favourite Travis Bickle
    May 5th 2015, 8:34 PM

I go weak at the knee’s at the sight of a male Abbey St Junkie! Dreamboats all of them.

Mute Al Toto
    Favourite Al Toto
    May 5th 2015, 8:21 PM

You are more delusional than I thought. What’s next? I be reading that Irish folks are the most sober in the world right?’

Mute Wayne Kerr
    Favourite Wayne Kerr
    May 6th 2015, 12:02 AM

Shouldn’t you be out bustin’ caps in asses instead of commenting here?

Mute Ben Redline
    Favourite Ben Redline
    May 5th 2015, 7:49 PM

Is the list upside-down?

Mute Colleen McGovern
    Favourite Colleen McGovern
    May 5th 2015, 9:11 PM

Good going on making the top ten for the sexiest but I doubt it if it would make the top 50 for faithfulness, whereas that’s where the irish woman would top it. That’s what counts in the long run.

Mute N Dempsey
    Favourite N Dempsey
    May 6th 2015, 12:58 AM

It’s also Irish Men’s sense of humour too that’s very attractive and the lovely Irish brogue.

Mute Frank Kelly
    Favourite Frank Kelly
    May 6th 2015, 12:30 AM

What happened to the French men. I thought they were always regarded as numéro un.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 5th 2015, 10:47 PM

Mmmm. Standing a little taller, bit more pep in the strut! ;-)

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    May 5th 2015, 11:10 PM

I’m to sexy for my shirt

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    May 5th 2015, 11:11 PM

To sexy for my shirt

Mute cosmological
    Favourite cosmological
    May 5th 2015, 6:51 PM

Aw that’s a bit harsh, my female friends don’t expect anything less.

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 6th 2015, 7:01 AM

Well I think most Irish men are cute. But maybe a bit on the hairy side.

Mute Paul Freeman
    Favourite Paul Freeman
    May 6th 2015, 12:43 PM

The survey was done on a gay men dating website.

Mute Maire Ui Riain
    Favourite Maire Ui Riain
    May 6th 2015, 1:39 AM

That’s cause they don’t understand u!

Mute XSéamus Mac Craith
    Favourite XSéamus Mac Craith
    May 6th 2015, 1:23 AM

this is appearing as sexist on a share on facebook

Mute XSéamus Mac Craith
    Favourite XSéamus Mac Craith
    May 6th 2015, 1:21 AM

sexist or sexiest.. think there is a typo

Mute John O'Shea
    Favourite John O'Shea
    May 6th 2015, 2:05 AM

Can’t wait to go on holidays …. where was this poll taken again ? I suppose Ryan Air stop there ! They’ll probably tax us more now !

Mute Marjorie Magee
    Favourite Marjorie Magee
    May 5th 2015, 10:37 PM

And modest with it !