You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda has a new fan ... Wrestler Sheamus is calling on people to pay their water charges

It didn’t go down too well at The Point.

SO, IT APPEARS Sheamus – Cabra native, professional wrestler, sporter of unfeasably Celtic colouring – is a bad guy these days.

How do we know?

He took to the ring of the 3Arena (it’s what they’re calling the Point these days) with a pretty unpopular message: pay your water charges. 

NONSTOPVIDEOS3 / YouTube

The warning didn’t go down to well with fans, as you might imagine…

Fans, apparently, didn’t know who to cheer on as the Dubliner’s match continued.

In case you’re wondering, former WWE champion hasn’t always been a bad guy.

According to some wrestling websites we just looked at, Sheamus returned to action after injury in an episode of Raw last month debuting a new look – a mohawk and braided beard, and staged an attack on two rival wrestlers.

It is, apparently the first time he’s ‘turned heel’ since 2011.

According to Alfred Konuwa at Bleacher Report:

By being that much different than everything else and attacking all that is familiar and beloved, Sheamus is more effective in his role as a heel. He knows fans don’t want to like him. With an over-the-top look that pierces through a bland, transitional roster, they’ll love to hate him.

Professional wrestlers, over their careers, often switch between being ‘faces’ (heroes) and ‘heels’ (bad guys), to liven things up for fans as fictional storylines play out between matches.

Hipnosisv1wrestling / YouTube

With reporting by Ben Blake. 

Read: Ruth Coppinger wouldn’t have called Joan Burton the C-word

Read: Paul Murphy was a bit concerned there wouldn’t be enough bills to bin at his ‘Bin your Bills’ protest

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

134 Comments
    Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Dec 23rd 2017, 9:49 PM

I find it a little amusing that (according to my phone) this article is “supported by Lidl” along with the tag line “Share more this Christmas”

Mute Truckermal
    Favourite Truckermal
    Dec 23rd 2017, 9:57 PM

@Ian Breathnach: I like to Lidl!

Mute Paul McK
    Favourite Paul McK
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:05 PM

@Truckermal: I can’t pass this one by… “A lidl bit of Monica by my side, a lidl bit bit of Erika…”
    I am entirely in support of a regulated sex industry. So apologies for the low brow humour.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:51 PM

@Ian Breathnach: Share more as in kiss and tell or STI’s???

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:55 PM

@Ian Breathnach:

Surely a two for one offer would be better recieved.

Mute MarkSul
    Favourite MarkSul
    Dec 24th 2017, 2:00 AM

@Ian Breathnach: Are they cheaper in Aldi?

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Dec 23rd 2017, 10:04 PM

I don’t use their services, but this is obviously a cry for help from women who don’t have any other source of income. Enough of the snide remarks. You cannot judge someone until you have walked in their footsteps.

Mute nick mullen
    Favourite nick mullen
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:36 PM

@Cal Mooney: they get their social welfare payments just like the rest of the imported free loaders here.

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Dec 24th 2017, 12:16 AM

@oh i dunno: no ta very much would you?

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Dec 24th 2017, 1:00 AM

@Cal Mooney: so find any another source of income…FFS

Mute Michael farrelly
    Favourite Michael farrelly
    Dec 24th 2017, 2:02 AM

@Shoot First: you’re sick

Mute Joey Reilly
    Favourite Joey Reilly
    Dec 24th 2017, 3:06 AM

@Cal Mooney: it is easy to tell all the blasé comments are from users of the sex workers and it’s all a funny joke to these people.

Mute patrick o keeffe
    Favourite patrick o keeffe
    Dec 23rd 2017, 9:53 PM

Some clients slip through the cracks

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 23rd 2017, 10:08 PM

@patrick o keeffe: lol

Mute Franklin Roosevelt
    Favourite Franklin Roosevelt
    Dec 23rd 2017, 9:59 PM

Fun fact: Western states in the US, like Wyoming, were built by prostitutes.

Towns sprang up around work camps, but while the men had money, it was a lonely time.

Then prostitutes came out west, set up brothels, towns boomed, and they became even wealthier than their hard-working male counterparts.

Wyoming was even the first state in the US to allow woman to vote, in 1869.

More than 50 years before the rest of the US allowed women to vote!

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Dec 24th 2017, 1:27 PM

@Franklin Roosevelt: I say this with no judgement whatsoever but isn’t that the industry Donald Trump’s great grandfather worked in when he arrived?

Mute James Wond
    Favourite James Wond
    Dec 23rd 2017, 10:01 PM

Lads if I could make a grand for 3 hours on me back id be all over it.

Mute Tedser
    Favourite Tedser
    Dec 23rd 2017, 10:05 PM

@James Wond: give it a go so,dont think you’ll earn much on your back though,

Mute Minom Pnnomm
    Favourite Minom Pnnomm

@James Wond: add tax free.

Dec 23rd 2017, 11:18 PM

@Tedser: yeah he would probably have to pay his clients

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:53 PM

@James Wond: Sounds like Jobbbridge to me then?

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Dec 24th 2017, 12:42 AM

@James Wond: Just roll over and the cash is yours James.

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Dec 24th 2017, 12:53 AM

@James Wond: You would have sex with women and men but you won’t be getting that amount to money….

Mute Ciaran Keady
    Favourite Ciaran Keady
    Dec 25th 2017, 8:24 AM

@James Wond: or under it

Mute Tedser
    Favourite Tedser
    Dec 23rd 2017, 9:37 PM

This article is full of contradictions,

Mute Dolph Styles
    Favourite Dolph Styles
    Dec 23rd 2017, 9:39 PM

@Tedser: How is?

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope

@Tedser: such as,?

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:51 PM

@Tedser: contra what?

Mute JJ
    Favourite JJ
    Dec 23rd 2017, 9:50 PM

That candle lit vigil picture is from last year yet you say it is from today?

Mute GizmoIrl
    Favourite GizmoIrl
    Dec 23rd 2017, 10:26 PM

I used to be pro-liberalization of the sex trade until our apartment block was over run with brothels. Venezuelan and Brazilian mainly male, tv and ts sex workers.
    There is absolutely zero protections if a group of sex workers move in beside you. And the landlords loved them rents soared. Gardai had no interest.

Mute oh i dunno
    Favourite oh i dunno
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:05 PM

@GizmoIrl: Lucky git

Mute Minom Pnnomm
    Favourite Minom Pnnomm
    Dec 24th 2017, 12:26 AM

@oh i dunno: they swing a handbag harder than most

Mute jagmerc
    Favourite jagmerc
    Dec 24th 2017, 8:03 AM

@GizmoIrl: where’s this place you speak of…

Mute Mick Tobin
    Favourite Mick Tobin
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:28 PM

Even though little to no people would pick this as a profession, it is not something to be outlawed but regulated. But even in the Netherlands mainstream party politicians are starting to call for criminalizing the buying of sex.

Figures of up to 90% involuntariness have been mentioned in research quoted by some politicians, but critics pointed out that the definition was very broad. Working in the sex trade due to being short of money was included as reason for doing the work involuntarily, but by that argument many jobs can be classified as such.

Banning it doesn’t solve anything, it just makes the job more dangerous. As the article points out, demand is more or less constant. Perhaps in the age of sex droids that pass some form of the Turing test, a ban is sensible, but that era has not quite arrived yet.

Mute Deborah Blacoe
    Favourite Deborah Blacoe
    Dec 24th 2017, 12:03 AM

All the usual people on her commenting on a click bait article. And yet an earlier story about an elderly man losing his life in a house fire has just two comments. Discerning.

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Favourite Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Dec 24th 2017, 12:11 AM

@Deborah Blacoe: in all fairness what more can you say when someone dies other than RIP .

Mute Deborah Blacoe
    Favourite Deborah Blacoe
    Dec 24th 2017, 1:00 AM

@Siobhán Ni Mhurchú: Yes, but even that amount of respect for the tragedy of another old person dying on their own would be appropriate. Click bait articles are fun for a bit of banter. But the realities of our society shouldn’t be ignored.

Mute Fran Lonergan
    Favourite Fran Lonergan
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:27 PM

“Sex workers”

Do they mean prostitutes?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:49 PM

@Fran Lonergan: Yes, the ones who put their backs into it?

Mute David On Tour
    Favourite David On Tour
    Dec 24th 2017, 6:24 PM

@Fran Lonergan: The term sex work includes strippers, cam and phone workers and dominatrixes, so that would be no.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Dec 23rd 2017, 9:51 PM

This is driven by religious nonsense.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 23rd 2017, 10:08 PM

@Jack O’Connell: feminism is a mental illness

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 23rd 2017, 10:20 PM

@Misanthrope:

Are you a psychologist or are you just one of these guys that likes to talk out his arse from time to time

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 23rd 2017, 10:49 PM

@John Cronin:

Have a happy Xmas John and best wishes for the New year

Mute oh i dunno
    Favourite oh i dunno
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:07 PM

@Misanthrope: Feminism is the scourge of the 21st century

Mute Fran Lonergan
    Favourite Fran Lonergan
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:30 PM

@oh i dunno:

No! Third wave feminism is.

When all the dragons have been slain, the third wavers have to find new ones.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:37 PM

@Casper: what about me? lol

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 24th 2017, 12:12 AM

@Misanthrope:

Happy Xmas to you too my old buddy

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 24th 2017, 12:13 AM

@John Cronin:

Nighty night John

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 24th 2017, 12:17 AM

@Casper: likewise.

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:32 PM

no mention of where to go if someone was looking

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Favourite Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:49 PM

@Christy Pop: seek and you shall find ..

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Dec 24th 2017, 12:35 AM

@Siobhán Ni Mhurchú: coffee?

Mute WJH
    Favourite WJH
    Dec 24th 2017, 12:52 AM

I am only commenting so as to be the 70th comment. The 69 didn’t sit well with me. Left a bad taste in my mouth….

Mute lapsy pa
    Favourite lapsy pa
    Dec 24th 2017, 12:31 AM

its not illegal to be a prostitute , its illegal to buy sex , pimp or run a brothel . so an independent escort can in fact ring gardai . The involuntary prostitute has been put in more danger by this law .

Mute Fran Lonergan
    Favourite Fran Lonergan
    Dec 24th 2017, 1:24 AM

@lapsy pa:

In the case of drugs, selling is the greater crime.

In paternalist Ireland, that’s turned on its head, buying sex is the greater misdemeanour.

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Dec 24th 2017, 10:17 AM

As the disclaimer reads “XXXX charges for time and companionship only, anything else that takes place is coincidental between two consenting adults.” So whether you are getting your rocks off, discussing Brexit or trying to explain how your wife doesn’t really understand you, it’s €160 – €200 per hour. As the punter is now criminalised in these transactions, it would be interesting to see how a judge would view a defendant claiming he was only paying for a sympathetic and understanding ear. He had NO intention of availing of any of her other orifices. It’s amazing really, after all this time that we can’t better regulate man’s (and woman’s) need for a bit o’ casual sex and the other party’s willingness to consent to it for currency. Not every man is a demon, not every escort is a victim.

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Dec 24th 2017, 11:50 AM

@Paul Jennings: unless the escort is an XR3I of course. They are ALL victims – of demons. Driving.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 23rd 2017, 11:48 PM

Santa baby… Whoops, wrong story… Is this not illegal now?

Mute oh i dunno
    Favourite oh i dunno
    Dec 23rd 2017, 10:56 PM

eh, maybe some of us find that modern women are generally obnoxious self absorbed pigs and sometimes we just want to have sex without all the complications.

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Dec 24th 2017, 12:36 AM

@oh i dunno: depends where you are looking for these women. You might have up your game love..

Mute helen walsh
    Favourite helen walsh
    Dec 24th 2017, 5:00 AM

Are you all squawking about the oldest profession?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Dec 24th 2017, 7:15 AM

@helen walsh: They should try working in it. Not an easy life at all. These women provide an essential service for many, they need protection and regulation to make the job safer.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Dec 24th 2017, 2:04 PM

@John Cronin: There’s many men who for whatever reason cannot form a proper relationship with women, but don’t want to live celibate lives.

Mute No One Important
    Favourite No One Important
    Dec 24th 2017, 4:00 PM

Legalise and regulate, having safeguards and security in a designated area (red light district) Mandatory self defense lessons and health check ups. I don’t care if it triggers radical feminists or religious people, but there are women who go into this line of work by their own choice! I’ve no problem with a woman choosing this line of work. Wish a merry Christmas to sex workers

Mute Alan McCartney
    Favourite Alan McCartney
    Dec 24th 2017, 9:15 AM

Cheers girls much appreciated

Mute Dean Burroughs
    Favourite Dean Burroughs
    Dec 24th 2017, 12:40 PM

Under these laws can a prostitute openly say they are selling sex legally but the man that pays them is the one commiting the crime?? That’s messed up , female drug dealers should also be exempt from prosecution.

Mute Francis O Toole Art
    Favourite Francis O Toole Art
    Dec 25th 2018, 8:01 PM

Short film, titled: ‘We want to save you! And if you Don’t appreciate it you will be punished!.
    A Swedish Sexworker on the criminalization of clients

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7D7nOh57-I8

Mute KAN YOU STOP :3
    Favourite KAN YOU STOP :3
    Dec 24th 2017, 9:43 PM

they need to be helped not used even more give these women housing ask the government to give them money for food you can afford to help these women get them back in the community they could be great assist .