You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Crackdown sees 50 cases launched against illegal hedge cutting this year

Action by National Parks and Wildlife Service this year represents huge increase; only 70 cases were taken across the whole previous decade.

THE NATIONAL PARKS and Wildlife Service (NPWS) has brought almost 50 prosecutions for illegal hedge cutting during the bird nesting season this year alone, data released to Noteworthy reveals.

This represents a huge increase on the period from 2010 to the end of 2019, when only 70 cases in total were taken up by the NPWS across the whole decade.

Hedge cutting should not occur during the bird nesting season and it is an offence under the Wildlife Act to cut hedge vegetation between the start of March and the end of August each year, except in express circumstances for road and safety concerns.  

Hedgerows buffer Ireland’s rural road network and act as natural barriers between farm fields. They are a cultural mainstay of the countryside and play a vital role in maintaining a rich biodiversity tapestry. 

A Noteworthy analysis of hedgerow surveys from over 20 counties shows that hedges help improve water and soil quality, halt soil erosion, provide food for pollinators, and act as nesting spots to birds, as well as being carbon sinks. 

• Click here to check out the findings of Noteworthy’s SHEAR FORCE investigation into hedge cutting on roadsides and farms during the bird-nesting season.

During the prohibited season, the National Parks and Wildlife Service is charged with investigating and taking enforcement action where there are concerns over the impact of cutting on wildlife. 

The service appears to have dramatically ramped up its crackdown on illegal cutting over the past two years, according to data released to Noteworthy.

Significant uptick in cases

Since 2020, it has taken 71 cases to court for illegal hedge removal or destruction of vegetation, including 48 this year alone. In comparison, 70 cases were taken between 2010 and 2019.

Fines, costs and donations to charities totalling €45,700 were paid by the guilty parties this year from 17 cases alone. One case was struck out and a handful of cases are subject to appeal. 

A further 27 cases are still before the Courts or with the Chief State Solicitor’s Office, with rulings in many not expected until 2022. Four cases pending hearing concern the destruction of vegetation or reclamation of land within nature sites protected under Irish or EU law. 

Penalties being doled out by the courts also appear to be on the rise too. The median financial penalty issued in 2021 was €2,000 and is the highest to date, only the forth time since 2007 that the median figure was above €1,000. 

In some cases, those found guilty were ordered to pay up to €2,000 to wildlife charities. In one case in Co Wicklow this year, two guilty individuals were fined a total of €11,000, the highest penalty to date. 

There are currently 81 conservation rangers stationed around the country who deal with a range of enforcement activities on a day-to-today basis. The Department of Housing is in the process of recruiting more rangers and said that numbers will increase in the coming months.

Public leading the charge

In many instances, cases of suspected illegal hedge cutting are brought to their attention by members of the public. Following an AIE request, the agency provided Noteworthy with a sample of complaints received from the public over the past three years.

The majority of complaints, several of which included photos or geolocation data, concerned cutting of hedgerows in rural areas. However, there were also several urban cases reported. 

In May 2018, for example, an individual sent photo evidence of hedges being cut by a business in an industrial estate. “This hedge cutting has caused serious carnage amongst breeding wildlife and I was able to count 11 nests that have been destroyed… Please do something about this,” the email stated. 

In June 2018, an individual said that they were “horrified” to see hedges being cut in a Co Kildare town where the individual estimated that many nests were destroyed. “I feed the wild birds everyday and was devastated to see this happening.”

This article was supported by reader contributions to Noteworthy, The Journal’s community-led investigative platform. If you like this and our other work, consider contributing here

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

18 Comments
    Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:13 AM

At least he had the guts to be interviewed by VB. Something Kenny and Adams both refused to do for the last 5 years.

Mute P C
    Favourite P C
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:29 AM

@Brinster: the interview was a very good move by Leo. The Lefties certainly can’t say he shied away from anything.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:52 AM

@P C: style and substance, Leo played a absolute blinder on VB. You wont see Baron Adams go on VB, why ever not? LOL

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Robert Harris
    Favourite Robert Harris
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:15 AM

@james connolly: i’d like to see Cowan on the show ,yesterday biffo said that he was responsible for the recovery ,degree in BS award

Mute P C
    Favourite P C
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:25 AM

@Robert Harris: Cowan was the worst Taoiseach this country ever had. His brother as a TD isn’t much better. Offaly has a lot to answer for.

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:30 AM

@Brinster: Kenny & Adams prefer the softer option of Dobson.

Mute George Beckett
    Favourite George Beckett
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:36 AM

@P C: clearly not when you take in the likes of Bertie and haughy. You can criticise him as minister for his role in causing the recession but to call him the worst is downright ridiculous.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:57 AM

VB should invite paul murphy on, that would be some roasting

Mute P C
    Favourite P C
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:59 AM

@George Beckett: no it’s not. Far for me to defend Haughey or Bertie, but both achieved something. Cowan achieved nothing and assigned billions to Anglo Irish. €27 billion we will never get back.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:21 AM

@P C: Yeah he pushed you minimum wage earners up to middle class just like that.. You must really love him now.

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:49 AM

Skin crawling stuff… And by that I mean all the usual suspects accounts agreeing with ‘each other’.

On the interview, overall Leo did well, although Vincent did go relatively easy on him. The big gaff of course was Leo not knowing what the median income was and stating that the minimum wage was middle class… Showed some classic right wing FG stripes there.

He did okay but I saw nothing to suggest that things might improve or new thinking may be brought to the table. Steady as she goes Leo, ain’t going to work anymore!

And there’ll be no vote from me for empty promises this time!!

Mute Tomás O'Loughlin
    Favourite Tomás O'Loughlin
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:49 AM

@Brinster: I am absolutely delighted that talentless, miserable, sorry excuse for a ‘journalist’ is retiring. Gutter journalism at it’s finest.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:26 AM

@Brinster: leo has no idea how social class is calculated. He should probably ask the lads at the CSO

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:28 AM

@Brinster: Kenny had good reason not to be interviewed, Browne was an insilting bully at times.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:58 AM

@Brinster: While true I think it’s a sad day for our country when we’re commending the “bravery” of a politician willing to answer questions from an unbiased journalist.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:01 AM

@james connolly: It’s obvious you don’t watch the show much, Paul Murphy has been on the show countless times. Stick to what your good at James trolling.

Mute hallelujah
    Favourite hallelujah
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:05 AM

@P C: Liam Cosgrave was t he worst Taoiseach in my opinion. Back in the early 70′s.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:27 AM

@P C: it’s a lot more than 27 billion by the time that bill is paid. FF of course didn’t convert it to national debt. We will be borrowing another billion this year for that. Noonan was the one who threw away his negotiating chip on a late night session.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Favourite Stephen Coveney
    Jul 27th 2017, 12:24 PM

@Derek Poutch:
    It’s obvious that you have an anti establishment agenda. Nothing the government will do will ever be good for you.

Your Facebook page declares solidarity with Joe Doocey who in his own words is a victim of ‘prejudice, malice, collusion and conspiracy’ who ran over a guard and then fled the county when charged.

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Jul 27th 2017, 2:07 PM

@Brinster: I did not see anything challenging in this interview ,brown was not at his best and leo gave the same political rhetorical answers we have been hearing for years .but at least he showed up .To be honest leo came across as a kind of run of the mill middle class muppet determined not to get caught out .a safe pair of hands to protect the higher echelons of irish corporate society .We have chosen another weak leader for our country .

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jul 27th 2017, 2:50 PM

@Stephen Coveney: Yes Stephen I am 100% anti ff/fg/lab and proud of it along with many others.They have destroyed Ireland with their cronyism, corruption, lies and inequality. You on the other hand seem ok with this and will keep voting for the scam. I believe in a country were you get a honest days pay for a honest days work, a proper health system (not 2 tier) affordable housing, were people are held to account for wasting billions.I will continue to call them out on their bullshit everywhere I see it and believe me they have giving us plenty of ammunition.As regards Joe Doocey it obvious you are either ignorant or unaware of the full story so I suggest you get the facts before you comment on it. Its my hope Stephen that you too will eventually see the light

Mute Irene Uhlemann
    Favourite Irene Uhlemann
    Jul 27th 2017, 5:45 PM

@P C: yes we can; we can say anything we like so there.

Mute Turlough O' Connor
    Favourite Turlough O' Connor
    Jul 27th 2017, 6:55 PM

@Tomás O’Loughlin:
    Let me guess which party you support…

Mute WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Favourite WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:17 PM

@Robert Harris: is like to see biffo try to live in this house here . One thing is for sure he be darn skinny .

Jul 27th 2017, 7:18 AM

I’d imagine a lot of people would have to get up early in the morning to commute long distances to work because they simply can’t afford to live near work, and they don’t give a damn who Leo thinks he represents, cause he certainly doesn’t represent a lot of them!

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:53 AM

@Adrian: Leo the legend represents all of us, he is our leader whether you like it or not

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:02 AM

@james connolly: and I for one welcome our insect overlord

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute David Huston
    Favourite David Huston
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:10 AM

Another fine example of if only there was something someone could do. No substance just aspirations and platitudes of an interview, I am underwhelmed.

Jul 27th 2017, 8:20 AM

@james connolly: you are delusional if you think this

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:58 AM

@Gus Sheridan: Are you suggesting that Leo is not te leader of this country? there is delusion and then there is shinner delusion LOL

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:16 AM

@james connolly: Not my “leader” you have to lead, I am up before him in the morning and have a far better and more meaningful life than the likes of that walking cliche. As for a legend Setanta was a legend and most would agree he was not real – either.

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:50 AM

@Adrian: nailed it there!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:31 AM

@Adrian: He doesn’t represent the people who can’t sleep at night for worry of how they will make ends meet.

Mute hallelujah
    Favourite hallelujah
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:07 AM

@james connolly: Yes he is personable and articulate. What do you think of his “alternative lifestyle” Is that good for Irish families? Also Fine Gael is the party of entitlement- entitlement of people like Leo and his friends to the fruits of our Irish sucess story.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:17 AM

@hallelujah: ‘alternative lifestyle’ why dont you just say you dont like that he is gay. Knuckle draggers like you belong in a zoo.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:19 AM

@Austin Rock: he is 100% your leader and you are just ging to have to get used to it. Failing you best move to a dictatorship as democracy aint for you

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:29 AM

@james connolly: well Leo will be going to the country in the next year or two – at the moment he hasn’t won an election

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:43 AM

@james connolly: In a democracy, the person who wins a vote 65% to 35% becomes leader. FG blinkers are making you look stupid.

Mute John Mullin
    Favourite John Mullin
    Jul 27th 2017, 12:47 PM

@james connolly: he doesn’t represent me and he is definately not a leader. Your anti Sinn Féin and licking Leo attitude is tiresome and boring at this stage. Change the subject!

Mute Murf
    Favourite Murf
    Jul 27th 2017, 12:58 PM

@james connolly: I am my own leader believe it or not, whatever I decide to do I’ll do it & varadkar or any of his cronies or licks if you like won’t tell me what to do, grow a pair if you can

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:18 PM

@james connolly:
    Leo is just another tool of the Corporate world elite. They say jump, Leo says how high and never mind the socks!

Mute WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Favourite WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:21 PM

@Adrian: true that . Some of us if and when there’s work we have to stay there till there’s enough to justify the petrol to go home that’s some two three days living off er.. your good old car . Where you got to carry all the stuff you need . And so on

Mute Bairéid Rísteard
    Favourite Bairéid Rísteard
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:33 AM

So he represents the working people. If thats the case, why doesn’t he do things like tackle insurance companies, remove USC, make healthcare affordable, introduce reasonable labour laws to prevent workers being exploited. Full of bluff, like the previous figureheads before him.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:01 AM

@Bairéid Rísteard: USC is not the problem. Paying 49% on anything you earn over 34k is the killer.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:04 AM

@Bairéid Rísteard: how long is in the job again? #clown

See 14 more replies ▾
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:22 AM

@Reg: why would any emigrants want to return to a country that screws them on tax? Give me one reason…

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:38 AM

@james connolly: You’re the clown if you think he’s going to make a discernable difference to the lives of the majority of people in this country. The status quo will remain.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:41 AM

@Cindy Crawford: he already has. The lefties are rattled and its absolutely hilarious

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:48 AM

@james connolly: Take your meds & go back to sleep love.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:59 AM

@Cindy Crawford: the smell of desperation is notable LOL

Mute Noel
    Favourite Noel
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:22 AM

@Reg: Hazarding a guess I would say that at least 50% of the country or more do not earn €34k a year to be hit by that tax bracket.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:31 AM

@Noel: Those earning below 34k are not screwed by income taxes generally. Someone on 30k pays a total of about 15% in income tax, USC and PRSI. Someone on 18 pays less than 3%. It’s hardly draconian.

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:36 AM

@james connolly: Yes i can smell you from here.

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:39 AM

@Reg: But they are screwed by stealth taxes which affects a disproportionate amount of their income.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:42 AM

@Good Early: I’m not arguing that. But to argue that people are being screwed by income taxes up to 30k is nonsense. Paying 49% on anything you earn over 34k is dranconian though. The threshold needs to be pushed up over the next few years.

Mute Paul Gurney
    Favourite Paul Gurney
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:42 AM

@Bairéid Rísteard: Agreed completely..a bluffer of the highest order who to date has achieved NOTHING…analyse the answer”its a standard statistic”……WHAT????like where did you get your figures from….answer “its standard statistic”
    is there like a book of STANDARD STATISTICS available or what.Also no action on the Garda Commish….he had the perfect oppurtunity to act and show leadership but chose not to so its Enda continued im afraid..this man is all picture no substance

Mute Steve B
    Favourite Steve B
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:02 AM

@Gus Sheridan: Mammies

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Jul 27th 2017, 12:47 PM

@Gus Sheridan:
    From the european anti poverty network

~Ireland’s tax revenue is low by European Union and Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) standards; in fact Ireland has one of the lowest tax burdens in the industrialised world

You have no idea what you’re talking about but love to moan.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:23 PM

@Gus Sheridan:
    To fight the gangster govt’ on all fronts, of course, please pay attention, Gus.

Mute Noel James Doherty
    Favourite Noel James Doherty
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:17 AM

“well, they’re middle Ireland then”. That’s a good one. Is that near middle England? Maybe middle earth..? I’m confused!

Mute Bairéid Rísteard
    Favourite Bairéid Rísteard
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:22 AM

@Noel James Doherty: I didnt understand that either..Does he mean the low paid are middle Ireland?

Mute Noel James Doherty
    Favourite Noel James Doherty

@Bairèid Rísteard such silliness really Bairèid really, why bother going with the class card

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:33 AM

Nice to know i’m middle class or am i middle Ireland? I’m confused. I don’t know where or what i am anymore.

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:18 AM

@Noel James Doherty: Middle Earth he meant to say he is a big fan of that political bible called the “Lord of the Rings”. I drove through middle Ireland yesterday and a lot of derelict properties I don’t think he is talking about that either. Typical smart ass playing footsie with the stats!

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:19 AM

@Austin Rock: you ok hun?

Mute Felicity Rawson
    Favourite Felicity Rawson
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:28 AM

Leo has previously stated he considers carers to be good enough to be classed as “Getting up early” (we certainly do, I’m up at 5.30am every morning). I thought that showed brass neck. Now he’ saying that we’re ‘Middle Ireland’? He himself got up in the Dail and admitted that carers and those for whom we care are the poorest people in this nation (omitting the point that his party and his FF counterparts keep us that way as a matter of policy) – because he was using our situation to get at pensioners. Middle Ireland?! I’d like to show him my middle finger!

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:44 AM

@Felicity Rawson: Lol. We’d all like to show him our middle finger except for Matt Connolly who would like to show him something else.

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:45 AM

@Cindy Crawford: Apologies. James Connolly.

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:20 AM

@Cindy Crawford: James Connolly word has it is Leo’s friend, maybe even Leo himself which is why he gets up early to troll the Journal.

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:40 AM

@Felicity Rawson: He’s even more delusional than that Edna fella!

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:20 AM

@Cindy Crawford: apology accepted

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Jul 27th 2017, 1:34 PM

@james connolly: I wasn’t apologising to you. You’re not too bright.

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:32 AM

Leo is so committed to his sound bites he will not let them go, he just adapts them to suit any situation or audience, 70% of people in Ireland are middle class, as I said 60% of people in Ireland are middle class, that is to say that 60% of people live in middle Ireland and it’s class by which I mean the 60% who get up in the mornings, in other words, eight out of ten cats love whiskers!
    :-)

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:15 AM

At least he is being realistic about being able to solve problems that are the result of many years of neglect

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:23 AM

Mr Browne went very easy on Mr Varadkar last night, maybe he’s looking for one of Leo’s favours like an appointment to a quango or an appointment on the bench.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:57 AM

@Paul Mc: Best not to judge people by your own low standards

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:05 AM

@Paul Mc: Leo is good at optics and PR to be fair to him

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:36 AM

@Paul Mc: He’s sees Leo as a fellow liberal. He always goes easy on them.

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:58 AM

@james connolly: I’d say standards couldn’t get lower than yours.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:23 AM

@Cindy Crawford: all that anger and hatred is eating you up. You are good to laugh at though

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:19 AM

What about people who work through the night? Or insomniacs? Or people who are constantly asleep e.g. in a coma. Is Leo turning his back on them?

Mute P C
    Favourite P C

@The Guru: is it not obvious that he was taking about those who couldn’t be bothered working as a life Style choice. Far too many of them in Ireland.

Mute Iain MacLaren
    Favourite Iain MacLaren
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:52 AM

@P C: I know. sitting their on their designer sofas, avoiding tax, living off our rents and debts and spending the day playing golf or sailing on their yachts.

Mute Dante Marquinhos
    Favourite Dante Marquinhos
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:36 AM

@Iain MacLaren: Leo got called on his statement that he only represented a certain section of society. He backtracked and tried to change the meaning of what he said.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:14 AM

@P C: If there is far to many of them why according to fg are the unemployment figures down to 6%. They wouldn’t be lying would they?

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:22 AM

@Dante Marquinhos: I suppose SF/IRA represent the entire community? Have you looked north lately? PMSL

Mute Dante Marquinhos
    Jul 27th 2017, 12:25 PM

@james connolly: I couldn’t care what Sinn Fein do, as I keep telling you, you braindead moron.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:32 PM

@Derek Poutch:
    They are Derek. That fact was exposed by the recent census which put the real figure nearer 12%. It also highlighted the existance of dozens of unemployment blackspots all over Ireland. Lies, Damn lies etc., All govt,. dept’s are stuffed with spin doctors and marketing people to deceive the public. So sad.

Mute Dean Burroughs
    Favourite Dean Burroughs
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:14 AM

He could be getting a 6am visit from the gards,framed under or the road traffic act, labeled a pedophile or stopped at the airport after this… isn’t it an amazing country today when that actually wouldn’t shock us.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Jul 27th 2017, 12:59 PM

@Dean Burroughs:
    this is an amazing country. Just because you want to equate isolated incidents to the status quo without any evidence doesn’t change that.

Mute Turlough O' Connor
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:03 PM

@Stephen Coveney:
    One million isolated incidents?

Mute James Reilly
    Favourite James Reilly
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:37 AM

Paint it anyway you like Leo .. but your masters are corporations your only a servant to them .. you couldn’t give a toss about middle or lower class Ireland ..

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:58 AM

@James Reilly: Leo is the man of the people, thats why he is the most popular leaders or the most popular party. #suckitup

Jul 27th 2017, 8:29 AM

@james connolly: you are mental.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:43 AM

@Gus Sheridan: you bots are rattled and it is absolutely hilarious

Mute Murf
    Favourite Murf
    Jul 27th 2017, 1:03 PM

@james connolly: Leo is being paid by tax payers money therefore he is a servant of the people of Ireland get that into your head & suck that up lick hole

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Jul 27th 2017, 1:53 PM

@Murf:
    i am being paid by my employer, am i a servant to them? You have a twisted logic which serves just to provide you with something to moan about

Mute George Roche
    Favourite George Roche
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:22 AM

Absolutely not a FG supporter, and personally find Varadkar a complete dose, but fair play to him for going on. What a coward and a weakling Kenny was.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:35 AM

@George Roche: And Adams. He wouldn’t go on either. Pathetic from both.

Mute P C
    Favourite P C
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:50 AM

@Brinster: a novice interviewer could destroy Adams. Mary Loo won’t be much better when she takes over in October.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Gary Nugent
    Favourite Gary Nugent
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:58 AM

@P C: Not a fan of his but they assembled a large panel to do so on the late late and he made a laughing stock of them.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:03 AM

@P C: guess you are too young to remember Adams on Late Late show many years ago. Gay Byrne and the whole audience didn’t ruffle him.

It’s the obsession some of you have to bring SF into every conversation even though SF are really serious contenders to lead a government.

Seems it’s more than FG leadership that is all talk

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:09 AM

@lavbeer: 13% can lead a government, and you wonder why everyone laughs at you clowns PMSL

SF/IRA are an afterthought is this great republic, their only purpose is for laughing at LOL

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:17 AM

@james connolly: will you go and get a life. Your obsession with all things SF is embarrassing. You add nothing to any conversation here. I don’t hide you as you are a constant reminder of the mental health issues that face us all

Mute P C
    Favourite P C
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:18 AM

@lavbeer: well if you have to go back to an interview by Gay Byrne decades ago, it says it all really. Sean O’Rourke embarrassed Jerry during last years election on a tax issue.

Jul 27th 2017, 8:24 AM

@P C: you are a sad person

Mute P C
    Favourite P C
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:28 AM

@Gus Sheridan: truth hurts Gus. Lol

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:42 AM

@lavbeer: 13%, suck it up shinnerbot. You lot are irrelevant and always will be LOL

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:03 AM

@P C: didn’t hear that one. He is a regular contributor on LMFM and Michael Reade tears into him and he gives as as good as he gets. But be warned Helen McEntee and Regina Doherty regularly show themselves up. Tune in

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:43 AM

@Gus Sheridan: They (or he) did it again Gus. Anything negative about Fianna Gael, they turn the attention to Sinn Fein.

Leo makes an arse of himself….Quick…Look over there..Gerry Adams…Gerry Adams!…

Mute hallelujah
    Favourite hallelujah
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:09 AM

@james connolly: Are you Gay?

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:21 AM

@hallelujah: the homophobes are out now….

what has anyone sexuality got to do with anything? You belong in a zoo LOL

Mute Murf
    Favourite Murf
    Jul 27th 2017, 1:36 PM

@P C: I wouldn’t bet in any interviewer destroying Adams, you got it wrong way round,

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:27 AM

Thanks for the heads up Leo, I’ve never claimed to be middle class.

But I’m confused, I’m on low pay, my husband earns 3 times as much as me, it was 5 times more than me before he was made redundant.

What does that make our kids?

At the end of the day, we are all but dust, it is better not to have a class divide and see people for who they are and what they do?

Front line workers are the back bone of society, nurses, paramedics, doctors, guards, army, firefighters.

All different levels of pay, yet a necessity for everyday life.

If shop keepers didn’t exist where would I get my food? Do you judge the sales assistant for being ‘lower class’ when buying food? Or do you treat him/her like an equal?

Without refuse collectors imagine the state of the place! We need them!

Mute Paul O Riordan
    Favourite Paul O Riordan

I’m going to miss Vincent

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:56 AM

@Paul O Riordan: Baron Adams is pleading for him to go… why ever would that be

Mute Mark Ibbotson
    Favourite Mark Ibbotson
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:15 AM

@james connolly: Who are you man? Do you work for the government or something?

Mute hallelujah
    Favourite hallelujah
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:11 AM

@james connolly: Are you Leo Varadker by any chance?

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:49 AM

@Mark Ibbotson: He’s a FG sockpuppet and a bad one, He can’t go 2 comments without mentioning SF whether the conversation is about them or not.

Mute Mark Ibbotson
    Favourite Mark Ibbotson
    Jul 27th 2017, 2:44 PM

@Rob Cahill: Its incredible isn’t it? He must spend most of his time reading through the comments section. Can’t get my head around it at. He also keeps calling people shinnerbots thinking he is being funny. He isn’t. I also hope his real name is James Connolly because if it’s homage to 1916s James Connolly he clearly doesn’t realise that he was a hardcore socialist.

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:37 AM

Vincent was extremely tame. Leo delighted ….

Mute dick dastardly
    Favourite dick dastardly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:07 AM

Leo sounded like a parrot,kept repeating all the sounbites over and over again.pure waffles

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:34 AM

@dick dastardly: Its. like the generation game and Leo wins the cuddly toy

Mute Theunpopularpopulist
    Favourite Theunpopularpopulist
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:45 AM

@dick dastardly: well he has that with the left in common then.

All we ever seem to hear parroted over and over again is “no way we won’t pay” for anything apparently.

Must be great to never pay your own way in life.

Mute Seymour business
    Favourite Seymour business
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:13 AM

A really good political commentator in his day, but lately he was beginning to become a parody of himself. Time to leave it to the young guns like Sean o Rourke and Pat Kenny????? FFS..

Mute Mark Trudgeon
    Favourite Mark Trudgeon
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:23 AM

So if you earn anything over 35k you are upper class now is it?!?

Mute Dante Marquinhos
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:16 AM

Soundbites and platitudes, all socks and no substance. The “middle class” turned into “middle Irelan” when Leo was questioned on something he quite clearly knows nothing about. Car crash interview exposed Leo as the empty vessel he really is.

Well done Vincent for exposing this charlatan.

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:06 AM

Varadkar getting credit for being interviewed?
    What have we come to?

Mute kieran kelly
    Favourite kieran kelly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:07 AM

Attacks from the left were going to come no matter what the man says. He did a fantastic job, god help Ireland if the left ever gets into power. Socialist gobshits have nothing better to do but complain

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:17 AM

@kieran kelly: what fantastic job? Anyone (except Edna) can keep to script and repeat the mantra.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:09 AM

@kieran kelly: what achievement had he in health? Reilly can point to Fair Deal and his UHI idea has merit except for funding. Leo? All that I can remember is forcing me to buy health insurance by adding penalties. Help me here to remember

All talk. All PR

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:46 AM

@lavbeer: UHI was a Labour initiative not a FG one.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:33 AM

@Darren Bates: it was a FG minister no? It was a bad idea so maybe they had a hand. Health insurance should be completely removed imho.

Mute Turlough O' Connor
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:09 PM

@kieran kelly:
    God didn’t help Ireland when our right wing neo liberal govt bancrupted the country…mupp&t!!

Mute Arvind Miller
    Favourite Arvind Miller
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:08 AM

Fearless!

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:05 AM

It bring me such joy that we have such a fantastic leader like Leo. His roast of Paul Murphy has elevated him to legend status.

Jul 27th 2017, 8:30 AM

@james connolly: legend in your delusional mind…

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:44 AM

@Gus Sheridan: i would be angry too if i was wallowing on 13% with no hope LOL

Mute hallelujah
    Favourite hallelujah
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:12 AM

@james connolly: I thought Fine Gael were blue -Is your favourite colour pink by any chance.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:50 AM

@hallelujah: Battling his low intelligence with homophobia doesn’t help anything. Grow up.

Mute hallelujah
    Favourite hallelujah
    Jul 27th 2017, 3:11 PM

@Rob Cahill: Sorry. I hate homophobia too. It is not nice.

Mute Milton Ryan
    Favourite Milton Ryan
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:27 AM

This is troubling both from Browne and especially the Taoiseach.

The middle class, on an income basis, will start at the median level of income(the 50 percentile). I’m not sure why an economist or Taoieach wouldn’t recognize that.

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:56 AM

I don’t like his out of date politics or the right wing party he represent but at least he had the balls to appear unlike that Kenny muppet.

Overall he did well but he sure is out of touch with how well to do people think they are. Id guess 50% of the population are a few pay cheques or an illness away from disaster.

Mute James Nellie
    Favourite James Nellie
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:38 AM

Don’t be fooled by Vincent, he applied to join Fianna Gael but was turned down!

He holds a grudge ever since.

In 1994, Vincent browne sought a nomination for theFine Gael party in that year’s European elections or the possible general election of that year (it was thought a general election might follow the collapse of the Albert Reynolds’ government). He was rebuffed by the leader of Fine Gael and future Taoiseach,John Bruton. He then became a vocal critic of the party.[17]

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:05 AM

@James Nellie: Wikipedia?

Mute Turlough O' Connor
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:29 PM

@James Nellie:
    Err… I think you’ll find that Brutonapproached Browne and Browne refused…,but don’t let that get in the way of popular myth…

Mute Mark Costello
    Favourite Mark Costello
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:02 AM

can never understand how people fall for this clowns’ soundbites.cannot stand him

Mute P C
    Favourite P C
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:06 AM

@Mark Costello: he has the lefties rattled alright.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:06 AM

@Mark Costello: style and substance its no wonder everyone loves Leo

Mute Mark Costello
    Favourite Mark Costello
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:57 AM

@jame8s connolly: stylishly dressed i will give him that, but the substance is what one would call bull crap

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:51 AM

@james connolly: yet only 35% of his own party wanted him as leader..

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:37 AM

I often wondered who the middle classes were in a third world like country run by gombeens.

Mute Dermot McCabe
    Favourite Dermot McCabe
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:17 AM

@Chris Kirk: To call Ireland a third world country is a gross exaggeration. It’s a cliche that people use to express their anger but is very far from being factually correct. There are lots of things wrong with the country but there are lots of things that make it a very good place to live in. The idea of class is quite complex. A lot of young people who are highly educated and and come from reasonably well off homes may be on very low pay or on social welfare but live at home or get some support from parents and would still consider themselves middle class. So pay is not the determining factor. We need to stop thinking in slogans and cliches.

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:23 PM
    Mute Metempsychosis
    Favourite Metempsychosis
    Jul 27th 2017, 1:32 PM

Leo let slip the reason for his pledge to represent the ‘people who get up early in the morning ‘, and the middle class. He believes that 60% or 70% of people will think he’s referring to them. In reality, its vague and ill-defined. He refused to be pinned down to specifics.

Mute Bernard Kavanagh
    Favourite Bernard Kavanagh
    Jul 27th 2017, 1:42 PM

As expected nothing of substance from this FAR RIGHT politician from FAR RIGHT political party!

Mute Teresa Scanlon
    Favourite Teresa Scanlon
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:23 AM

Leo, best we’ve had for years

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:52 AM

@Teresa Scanlon: Best what exactly?

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    Jul 27th 2017, 3:39 PM

Maybe Varakar would like to define the expression ‘ getting up early in the morning’. Getting up on what?

Mute Ben Moore
    Favourite Ben Moore
    Jul 27th 2017, 12:05 PM

I hate to defend Leo on such a contentious point, but I think a lot of people on minimum wage would still consider themselves middle-class depending on their upbringing, social background, the type of house and area they grew up in etc., as opposed to your social status being entirely determined by your income.

Mute Jimmy Ireland
    Favourite Jimmy Ireland
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:57 AM

It’s great to at least hear a leader of the country talking about the working majority silenty going about their business for once instead of pandering to the social class making all the noise.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 27th 2017, 12:06 PM

@Jimmy Ireland: When the working people start benefiting from all the tax we pay then I’ll believe he’s got our interests at heart.. But it won’t happen. Greedy F@~kers.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:19 AM

Leo always has been and always will be an empty vessel spouting sh*t. Only one thing he’s interested in that’s himself and his career.

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    Jul 27th 2017, 3:13 PM

Varadkar is a second generation migrant from India who wants all migrants to return to where they came from ! He squandered the best part of a million euros on a divisive bus advertising campaign inferring that welfare recipients and members of the ‘working class’ were idle, shiftless wasters to appeal to a narrow minded ultra right wing section of a political party whose origins are in 1930′s fascism. Now, he contends that 70 per cent of Irish people are ‘middle class’, appealing to the inbred snobbery of the Irish character. He is clearly a hypocrite, an idiot and basically an annoying little snob. Having him as the ‘leader’ of this corrupt banana republic is an embarrassment. Kenny was bad, but this fella is something else.

Mute Bhiniáimin Ó Beith
    Favourite Bhiniáimin Ó Beith
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:43 AM

What a joke of a man people on middle wage are middle class hahahaha. Seriously delusional people on minimum wage are being squeezed because of sky rocketing costs of renting a home they can certainly never be in a position to buy not in the next 5 years at least. Different man same trousers varadkar will do nothing for this county just as FG have never done anything for this country. Corrupt, useless, privileged few varadkar knows nothing of equality. Can’t believe so many people are lapping up the crap coming from this idiot.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:51 AM

In general the middle class pay a lot of tax 50% on any overtime for instance…..Get very little in return for it….Have to pay again for many government services….Middle class should really stop complaining and pay more tax as Vincent would argue….

Mute P C
    Favourite P C
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:51 AM

@Bhiniáimin Ó Beith: what corruption was Leo Varadkar involved in? That’s quite a groundless accusation.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 7:59 AM

@P C: ah its best to just laugh at the idiots an their hate filled agenda. Roaring corruption but never can produce any semblance of proof

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan

@P C: isn’t he backing Noirin,the commissioner who crashes from one crisis to the next one so, either Leo, tells her to go or else be tarnished as corrupt simples.

Mute P C
    Favourite P C
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:22 AM

@Martin Ryan: that’s not corruption.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:39 AM

@P C: what is it then? what happened in Templemore is corrupt and continues to be so. what happened to Maurice McCabe, is corrupt also and leo, hasn’t the guts to tell her to go so he that makes him just as bad.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:45 AM

@Martin Ryan: please look up what corruption is… #clown

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:52 AM

@Bhiniàimin Ò Beith: I seriously hope you meant to put a comma after the word Seriously.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jul 27th 2017, 9:41 AM

@Martin Ryan: think if it from a PR perspective. When Leo starts getting heat he needs to deflect. Noirin is an asset this way.

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Jul 27th 2017, 11:14 AM

@Cindy Crawford: I meant to say comma after seriously delusional.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:00 AM

Why doesn’t Baron Adams go on VB? Too cowardly?

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Jul 27th 2017, 2:11 PM

Leo preaching for the class society ,pull up your socks leo

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    Jul 27th 2017, 2:56 PM

This guy is a profound idiot if he thinks 70 percent of Irish people are middle class!. But, then what do you expect from a guy who was ‘elected’ by a minority of the Fine Gael party while the majority who did vote were ignored. The term working class is just associated with those who live in social housing/corporation estates in Dublin and elsewhere. It’s Irish snobbery at it’s worst. Most people have to work for a living and most people are just scraping by apart from those involved with the government, like Varadkar, who have fiddled the system and caused immense hardship due to austerity.The guy is a pain in the arse.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Jul 27th 2017, 8:11 PM

Browne is such a pussycat, all eyes blazing and drama, but little substance behind it, an establishment Taoiseachs dream.

Mute Pavlov's dog
    Favourite Pavlov's dog
    Jul 27th 2017, 10:55 AM

….