You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

There are going to be A LOT of shooting stars in the sky tonight

There is expected to be more than 20 times the average number of shooting stars.

IF YOU FIND yourself outside and away from the lights of the city this evening, make sure to look skywards.

There is a pretty good chance that you will be able to spot a shooting star.

This is because of something called the ‘Perseids’, a meteor shower that will be happening throughout this week and reaching its maximum on Wednesday night.

Astronomy Ireland is encouraging individuals to participate in a count of the stars as part of an international effort.

What can you expect to see?

The event is expected to create conditions where a shooting star can be seen around once every minute. This compares with an average of around once every 10 minute during an ordinary night.

meteor A photo taken of the shower in Ireland this week Anthony Lynch Anthony Lynch

Peak activity is expected to take place on Wednesday night and with the visible activity continuing until Friday.

For the first time since 2007 the shower is set to coincide with the new moon.

How is this happening?

According to the BBC, the phenomenon happens each year in August the Earth passes through a cloud of debris from Comet Swift-Tuttle.

The debris is made up of ice and dust particles that heat the air around them as they break into the Earth’s atmosphere. This is what creates the streak of light that you see with shooting stars.

meteor102 signed Anthony Lynch Anthony Lynch

The shower is visible from 17 July until 24 August each year, although for much of that period only a small number of meteors are visible. 

Speaking about the event, David Moore, editor of Astronomy Ireland’s magazine, has said that people should “ignore what they hear from other parts of the world about the night of the maximum” and remember that the display will be visible all week.

As there is expected to be a lot of cloud cover in Ireland, it is recommended that sky-gazers keep a look out throughout the week for the best chance of spotting the phenomenon.

Read: Pics: Want to see the Northern Lights? Keep your eyes on the sky over the next few nights

Also: Did you see the massive fireball over Ireland last night?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

15 Comments
    Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:17 PM

Jesus christ. Seriously disturbed sickos out there.

Mute Ger Mulqueen
    Favourite Ger Mulqueen
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:28 PM

Yes, and as long as we have a minister responsible for animal welfare who openly admits to taking part in blood sports for fun, things like this will continue to happen and the criminals who do it will continue to get a slap on the wrist, a 2 week suspended sentence and a €15 fine.

Mute Mags Louth
    Favourite Mags Louth
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:38 PM

It is extremely disturbing to think of the person or persons involved in this. What takes a person to this to such a beautiful defenceless little dog. I believe I am privileged to own dogs that I adore and they adore me. It is a very sick mind that does such an act.
    To the person or persons who did this… what have you achieved?, do you get off on this? why do such an act. You are a danger to society, if you do this to an animal it is only a mater of time (if you have not already done) before you hurt a human. I feel noting only pity for you, you are not normal, you are sick and need help. I would be more than happy to give a lifetime home to this wee girl.

Mute Terry OCallaghan
    Favourite Terry OCallaghan
    Aug 12th 2015, 6:33 PM

I hope someone comes forward and informs the gardai about who did this terrible cruelty to a defenceless animal… I know exactly what I would do if I caught them.

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Aug 12th 2015, 7:25 PM

@ mags louth very well said and such a shocking story . the poor little dog and so glad that he will get a home with some one that will look after him.

Mute DeShawn Jersey
    Favourite DeShawn Jersey
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:17 PM

Jesus Christ that is despicable

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:20 PM

Ba$tards !!! They need stringing up. I hope he finds a home ASAP, he’s a beautiful little fella. So sad for him tho, imagine the pain the poor thing was in, it’s truly sickening that someone could do this.

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:22 PM

Little girl :), apologies my emotions were running high, I’m truly heartbroken for her.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Aug 12th 2015, 7:25 PM

Stephan. The sickos ate red thumbing you. May the meet the same fate.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Aug 12th 2015, 7:26 PM

*Are not ate.*

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:28 PM

This shit just makes my heart sink. When are we gonna do something about our outdated animal welfare laws?

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Aug 12th 2015, 5:47 PM

When our Dail isn’t chock full of farming types who couldn’t care less about animal welfare.

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    Aug 12th 2015, 7:36 PM

Yeah Tom, farmers don’t care about animals… are you for fckin real?? They care more than most.

Mute Leah Burgess
    Favourite Leah Burgess
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:23 PM

To do something like that’s one heartless cruel creature. The animal would have to be held and the person if I can call them that would have had to look into that dogs eyes. If they could do that then they could do anything.

Mute Rachael Nicholson
    Favourite Rachael Nicholson
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:29 PM

What the f*** makes someone want to do this! It’s a real pity animal cruelty laws aren’t tougher in Ireland. I’d pay to see someone hanged for things like this.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Aug 12th 2015, 5:13 PM

Seems to me plenty of psychopaths for our future criminal elements in Ireland these days. Be it whether family reasons or missing the emphatic side of the brain. Its scary to know they are there and missed by the radar or molly coddled. Kids like these need to be spotted and helped or locked up. If an adult like the lunatic who killed his own dog tagged as a threat to society.
    Poor dog :( Wish i could give all the unwanted mistreated animals a home.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Aug 12th 2015, 5:51 PM

And I’d pay to have them revived afterwards so they could be hung again.

Mute John James
    Favourite John James
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:33 PM

For the idiots that did this…yas need to seek medical attention straight away… There’s something seriously wrong with your heads!!!!!!

Mute Piotrek Król
    Favourite Piotrek Król
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:45 PM

John James, I don’t think there is any medical treatment for pure evil. That is what this despicable act is.

Rather than focusing on marketing ARAN at the Puck Fair, maybe John Carmody might concentrate on pushing for more severe punishment for the savages that carry out atrocities like this. Its all too common now.

Mute Grigori Rasputin
    Favourite Grigori Rasputin
    Aug 12th 2015, 5:47 PM

In fairness it ARAN, it’s not their fault that their campaign against the treatment of the goat at Puck Fair got a lot more exposure than all their other work. They campaign on a daily basis for better animal protection laws, and better education on animal welfare. Some people seem to think the Puck Fair thing was at the expense of other issues, which isn’t the case at all.

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:34 PM

The absolute s(umbags. How could anybody do this to a defenceless animal. Why has there been a recent surge in very disturbing forms of animal cruelty here? If anyone knows anything about this please report the s(umbags involved. Hope the sweetheart finds an amazing home to care for her.

Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:52 PM

Everybody including myself is guilty of pouring our anger out on these articles but unfortunately moving on the next story and not doing much else. Recently i volunteered with the CSPCA and there’s something that EVERYBODY can do. You can walk dogs or groom animals with your kids, as an adult you can clean shelters, donate or become permanently involved.
    Shelters are coming under increasing pressure and the small bits count far more than you could think. Giving the support to allow an animal to live for another few days could be the difference in it finding its home or being put down. A few spare hours for you got be a lifetime for a animal!

Mute John Stenson
    Favourite John Stenson
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:38 PM

Cop on journal would you.. I tried posting the word “sc.um” twice to describe the sad individuals who done this, only to be told by message on screen my comment used offensive language.. what would the journal call them then if sc.um is offensive???

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Aug 12th 2015, 6:06 PM

The Journal’s offensive language policy is a load of me fvckin b0ll0ck s.

Mute G.W.
    Favourite G.W.
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:39 PM

I’d nearly give up my job just to look after the little fella! Hope he gets a good home & gets lots of love for the rest of his days.

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:40 PM

Really do not know what to say about this, I feel numb that someone could actually do this.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:46 PM

If the demons who did this would like to come forward I would love to tell you to your face what I think of you. I am am sick to my stomach. Why on earth but I can promise you if you ever do something like that to one of my dogs I promise you I would do something that would ensure that I would burn in hell alongside you.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Aug 12th 2015, 5:49 PM

Ditto. I’d do time for dishing out what these knuckle-dragged deserve if it ever happened to one of mine.

Mute Caroline Mangan-Reid
    Favourite Caroline Mangan-Reid
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:53 PM

On my god that poor wee dog. Pure evil who ever did that to him! Hope they get what’s coming to them

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Aug 12th 2015, 5:10 PM

Disturbing to read I must say I love dogs/animals and to think a somebody is capable of causing this harm to a dog makes me feel sick .

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Aug 12th 2015, 5:46 PM

How long before the psychos behind this cruel act try it on a human? Sorry, but our gene pool would be better off if the scrotes who do these heartless things were never born. I know one thing. If there was no penalty to pay, I’d make sure they would never do it again.

Mute Jane Black
    Favourite Jane Black
    Aug 12th 2015, 5:58 PM

Poor little fecker. Hard labour for the sickos who did it. They must be literally capable of anything if they can do that to a beautiful creature.

Mute keith Ryan
    Favourite keith Ryan
    Aug 12th 2015, 6:43 PM

This type of thing has been going on for years.What has the minister for animal welfare to say about this?Why are there not tougher laws for animal torture?Why doesn’t the dail bring in tough legislation for this?They don’t care and couldn’t be bothered is my guess.

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Aug 12th 2015, 6:00 PM

Psychopaths!

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Aug 12th 2015, 6:36 PM

Culprits.
    Eye speculum.
    Bottle of Parazone.
    Iron filings.
    Job done.

Aug 12th 2015, 7:06 PM

These gits start on animals and then they start on people, how many animals have they done similar things to?
    Many of the infamous U.S. murderers started on animals first, all you have to do is google “u.s. murderer killed gay men started on animals first” to see their names…

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3194110/We-beat-2-death-lol-Sickening-note-left-Fox-Pomeranian-dead-10-cracked-ribs-broken-spine-missing-teeth-distraught-owners.html

Mute Martin Gallagher
    Favourite Martin Gallagher
    Aug 12th 2015, 5:53 PM

@Kal Ipers. I’m inclined to agree with you about the reaction of twisted perverts on the harm they cause. Hopefully Karma will cause them or their family to suffer for their evil actions.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:56 PM

Don’t post outrage people like this no doubt enjoy hearing peoples’ outrage

Mute Shane Honan
    Favourite Shane Honan
    Aug 12th 2015, 8:13 PM

What the hell. That poor dog. Jesus. Please find the sick, twisted, vile sub-human who did this.

Mute Sticky Micky
    Favourite Sticky Micky
    Aug 12th 2015, 7:31 PM

I’d have no objection to seeing the same being done to them

Mute Conor Fennessy
    Favourite Conor Fennessy
    Aug 12th 2015, 8:18 PM

I’d seriously love to meet up with these f@#taRds and show them a real bad time

Mute North Korean General
    Favourite North Korean General
    Aug 12th 2015, 7:58 PM

The sc¥m that done this should be burned at the stake…. Evil bast@rds to hurt a poor dog

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Aug 12th 2015, 5:12 PM

Its a horrible situation but surely it would make more sense to euthanise the dog?

Mute Sarah O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sarah O'Sullivan
    Aug 12th 2015, 5:37 PM

He can still live a full and happy life with a caring family as long as he isnt in pain.

Aug 12th 2015, 7:08 PM

Could lead to eugenics?

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Aug 12th 2015, 7:23 PM

My God . There are some sick people in this World, the poor dog.
    WHY

Mute Fred Coloe
    Favourite Fred Coloe
    Aug 12th 2015, 7:34 PM

If the perpetrators are found….do the same to them…and broadcast it on TV. I genuinely believe that people who hurt animals are capable of doing it to humans!!!!!!!

Mute Karen Cahill
    Favourite Karen Cahill
    Aug 12th 2015, 10:45 PM

This poor defenceless animal. Sick f*ckers who can do this. Im so bloody sick and tired of hearing of animals being abused. What the hell is wrong with people. Id love to burn the eyes out of the person who did this cruel act. Try to donate guys . These places do amazing work and need any few bob they can get.

Mute Greg McGarry
    Favourite Greg McGarry
    Aug 12th 2015, 9:05 PM

Jesus H! If I had the people who did that in a room… be nice to see how they fair out with some of Fido here’s more fearsome peers Mr Rott Weiler & Mr Japane S Etosa!

Mute Karen Cahill
    Favourite Karen Cahill
    Aug 12th 2015, 10:39 PM

sick sick fckers. donate if you can guys all these places need a few bob to keep them going.

Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    Aug 12th 2015, 11:37 PM

I have two little dogs myself, pure cruel if they could do that to a defenceless little animal isn’t it frightening to wonder what they could do to a human

Mute logs byrne
    Favourite logs byrne
    Aug 12th 2015, 4:33 PM

rip Cilla black

Mute Orla Murphy
    Favourite Orla Murphy
    Aug 12th 2015, 11:15 PM

Sickening. Whoever is responsible needs to be removed from society forever.

Mute John Carmody
    Favourite John Carmody
    Aug 15th 2015, 12:37 PM

Join the national march and rally on Sunday, September 27 in Dublin to ‘MAKE CRUELTY TO ANIMALS HISTORY’. Full details are on ARAN’s Facebook page. Walk with us or this cruelty will go on and on and on. Tears mean nothing, actions are everything.

Mute Nicola Lawless
    Favourite Nicola Lawless
    Aug 13th 2015, 1:02 AM

2 minutes with the horrible b!@#ard that did this. that’s all I would need…….

Mute 芮铭达
    Favourite 芮铭达
    Aug 13th 2015, 11:06 AM

Jesus crazy!

Mute funkybuscuits
    Favourite funkybuscuits
    Aug 24th 2015, 11:08 PM

Anyone that thinks that’s funny or cool to do to a defenseless animal,I’ll burn your eyes out,pathetic *untz