You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Emergency services attend the scene in the aftermath of the August 2015 crash Steve Parsons PA Wire/PA Images

Pilot errors led to crash that killed 11 people at UK air show say investigators

Pilot Andy Hill was not certified to do the stunt in the Hawker Hunter plane.

AIR ACCIDENT INVESTIGATORS have found that errors from the pilot were a key contributory factor to the fatal crash that killed 11 people during the Shoreham Air Show in August 2015.

The Hawker Hunter jet crashed on the A27 road in Sussex on 22 August 2015.

The jet appeared to wobble slightly and lose height at the bottom of its loop before ploughing across the A27, a major road that runs along England’s southeast coast.

While pilot Andy Hill survived the crash, 11 people were killed and 13 were injured.

In their report, the Air Accidents Investigation Branch (AAIB) identified a series of contributory factors that caused the crash.

These included:

• The pilot either did not perceive that an escape manoeuvre was necessary, or did not realise that one was possible at the speed he achieved.
  • The pilot did not have formal training to escape from the accident manoeuvre in a Hawker Hunter and had not had his ability to do so assessed.
  • He had not practised the technique for escaping from the accident manoeuvre, and did not know the minimum speed from which it could be carried out successfully.
  • The manoeuvre took place over a public area over which the flight organisers had no control.

The AAIB said: “The investigation found that the parties involved in the planning, conduct and regulatory oversight of the flying display did not have formal safety management systems in place to identify and manage the hazards and risks.”

Shoreham Airshow crash People attending a memorial service marking the 1-year anniversary of the crash last August Gareth Fuller PA Archive / PA Images Gareth Fuller PA Archive / PA Images / PA Images

The parents of 23-year-old victim Matthew Grimstone told the BBC: “Apart from anything that the pilot may have got wrong, it is very evident the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) and the Shoreham Air Show organisers have got much to answer for.

Rules laid down by the CAA were clearly inadequate and those that there were, in some cases, not fully adhered to by the air show organisers.

Caroline Schilt, whose son Jacob also died in the crash, said that questions would remain unanswered until an inquest is held.

She said: “The AAIB has given us as a very comprehensive and factual report of their investigation… but there are still questions and they are ones for the coroner, and she is still waiting for all the inquiries to finish before she can go further.”

A pre-inquest review is set to take place on 20 June at West Sussex Coroner’s Court.

Read: Nine more bodies could be found in English air show wreckage

Read: Family hail chauffeur killed in Shoreham air disaster as “hero” who saved their lives

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

12 Comments
    Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Favourite Nikolas Koehler
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:33 PM

Very interested to see the reasons the commenters will give to explain to us how this is a terribly bad thing. I’ll stick my neck out and say this is good news…

Mute Colm Flaherty
    Favourite Colm Flaherty
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:35 PM

And you’ll have my support. I’m seeing it in front of me in my day job. The Recovery is On.

Jan 9th 2013, 11:27 PM

Great news only another €62 billion to be recovered. How’s Kenny getting on with his systemic shift? Last I’d heard he was hopefully on progress at some stage…

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:52 PM

@kerry- this second bailout of yours? Still as confident?

Jan 10th 2013, 12:08 AM

€62 billion in hock Vincent. Can you tell me when Enda will show up with his systemic shift? He called it 3 times last year and his latest comment is at some stage. As I mentioned last night unsustainable debt as did Colm McCarthy just doesn’t work. Do the sums and come back to me. Hint search the Irish Independent site and McCrthy’s articles.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 10th 2013, 6:41 AM

@kerry- you keep looking for that magic wand whereby our debt in its entirety disappears overnight. It doesn’t exist. This is how it happens. Bit by bit. Over a long time. So anyway- I was asking you about your absolute assertion that we’d require a second bailout?

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 10th 2013, 9:44 AM

Vincent, only one problem with your assumption there is the debt seems to be going in the wrong direction.

http://www.financedublin.com/debtclock.php
    1st january 2010 the figure was

€ 74,231,851,887 in debt
    its nearly doubled in 3 years. and the link to the debt clock does not include NAMA debt.

Mute voodoo_criminology
    Favourite voodoo_criminology
    Jan 10th 2013, 7:35 PM

Abject lack of transparency and democratic oversight for one thing.

http://namawinelake.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/today-ireland-sold-e1bn-of-state-assets-where-is-the-oversight/

Colm, you haven’t looked at the growth and unemployment figures, then? It’s gotten worse, not better under this government. This is what matters to me, not “market confidence”, not “green shoots” in the financial sector and not the wealthy getting wealthier.

Mute anonymous citizen
    Favourite anonymous citizen
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:27 PM

This is great to hear. The sooner we exit the Troika bale-out the better.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM

What does the purchaser of bonds get in return?

Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:35 PM

They get bonds.

Mute Creamy Hamstrings
    Favourite Creamy Hamstrings
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:11 PM

Hmmm makes sense..

Mute Andrew Telford
    Favourite Andrew Telford
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:12 PM

The promise of repayment with interest by a proven credit worthy establishment

Mute little red thumb boy
    Favourite little red thumb boy
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:45 PM

This darn good news just keeps coming.
    What will 50% of the commenters on here do if they have less and less to moan about ??

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:21 PM

Answer:the Irish peoples souls..
    Never fear there is always something to moan about weather seems to be second most popular

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 10th 2013, 9:21 AM

I know everyone say’s the sooner we exit the Troika bale out the better, but did we forget a little thing about the Fiscal treaty compact that we signed up to, that still allows Europe to control our budget and fine us for breaking criteria. . We have basically signed up to never get our sovereignty back again. It’s all a smoke screen. But hey ho profit is profit. Lets hope they can use the monies returned to help stimulate the economy and jobs..

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 10th 2013, 10:02 AM

Simon i pointed that out yesterday,the most thought out response i could equate to was “d’uh?”.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:34 PM

To be fair, there does seem to be sustained momentum behind us. Onwards & upwards.

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:51 PM

Good news
    It’s small but a momentum in the right direction
    In 2009 all the momentum was down
    If everyone gives a little push, the momentum will accelerate
    Lets push people, we will be fine
    We will be fine
    Use it as a mantra and it will happen

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 10th 2013, 10:06 AM

It’ll take more than mantra to start eating away at our debt. which is currently rising at €276 per second

Mute David Murphy
    Favourite David Murphy
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:55 PM

There’s been some great news over the last few weeks and days. Bit by tiny bit it’s starting to turn, can’t wait.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:17 PM

All in the first weeks of our Presidency, amazing.Yet they want a deal on the debt with all this good news why would Europe, more importantly Germany bother?

Mute David Murphy
    Favourite David Murphy
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:22 PM

I think some of this good news will buy us some goodwill. They should be using us a case study; play the game by the rules and be rewarded, and if they don’t? Well we’ll bounce back anyway.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:26 PM

Because, Norman Europe needs a success story- a vindication of the austerity strategy….definitive proof that Europe is turning the corner.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:28 PM

You loan your friend money when hes in trouble,he tells you constantly he will pay back all he owes and is doing so.Also telling you how great things are going for him,then he says by the way will you knock a few “quid” off that money i owe you.I’m curious why would you bother?

Mute David Murphy
    Favourite David Murphy
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:29 PM

because he’s your friend

Mute David Murphy
    Favourite David Murphy
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:32 PM

Plus we’re not saying things are going great, far from it, but they are starting to head in the right direction. It takes time for market good news to filter down into the real economy. The markets started getting very dodgy in late 2006 early 2007 yet it was until late in 2008 that things really started to hurt. Same thing here, but in reverse.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:36 PM

Vincent you are aware of the IMF’s stance in relation to austerity here,also their calling on Europe to honour a debt deal which they have failed to do.Europes paymasters Germany have no desire to bailout a country that they saw as having gone mad on credit.Even though there is no “bailout”just rather profitable loans been made to us.Where did they get the idea we went “mad”.Think back to Enda’s speech in Davos.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:40 PM

David if you are assuming what the ECB done to this country was an act of friendship…..well aren’t we lucky they like us.Imagine what they would have done if they didn’t?

Mute David Murphy
    Favourite David Murphy
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:46 PM

I think it was an act of necessity. I’m betting on an act of friendship from them this year.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:48 PM

David don’t bet more than you can afford,Angela is going for election and its not our votes she wants.

Mute Michael J Collins
    Favourite Michael J Collins
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:54 PM

Norman
    Just stand back and admire the seriously talented handiwork of our Government doing what they were elected to do!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 10th 2013, 12:03 AM

Michael is your stint in the big top over already?is there no late show tonight.

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 10th 2013, 9:25 AM

Michael, the level of sarcasm you used in that last statement was hard to find, but by jove I found it..

Mute voodoo_criminology
    Favourite voodoo_criminology
    Jan 10th 2013, 7:38 PM

Usual Blueshirt apologists are kinda desparate to talk up some very trivial news, for some unknown reason, which would of course by no means be party political.

Personally, I’m looking at the unemployment, growth and child poverty figures as my yardstick of progress, and these speak for themselves – there is no recovery.

Mute Donal Lynch
    Favourite Donal Lynch
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:27 PM

Such bull looking for a clap on the back , wonder what will they spend the 10 million someone’s pension .

Mute Colm Flaherty
    Favourite Colm Flaherty
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:34 PM

Ah sure why bother with this whole markets thing anyway? Let’s cut ourselves off from the world. Ground the planes, impound the ships, cut the cables, kill the bankers & businessmen and live off the land. Works great for them Nart Koreans lads.

Mute Paul Smith
    Favourite Paul Smith
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:40 PM

Couldn’t of put it better :-)

Mute Jay Thompson
    Favourite Jay Thompson
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:14 PM

You clearly dont know how the world of economics worse ur best off posting on the call card article and leave the political economic commenting to people who see the good in this

Mute Peter Noack
    Favourite Peter Noack

We seem to be making a lot of steps but are getting no where.
    The only people that seem to be sitting pretty are the Politicians and the Bankers.

Mute chucky.arla
    Favourite chucky.arla
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:42 PM

10 million profit? Whoop whoop! Does Noonan not know how much interest we are paying daily to service his debt?

Mute Kevin Connolly
    Favourite Kevin Connolly
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:08 PM

Worth noting – Bank of Ireland were charged 10% for this money as well.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:29 PM

You seem to have not spotted the €1b figure there, boys.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:24 PM

10% of 1 billion is 100million

Mute Petra Mac Evilly
    Favourite Petra Mac Evilly
    Jan 11th 2013, 8:49 AM

The pat Kenny show yesterday had an interview with an economist who stated that this transaction was done at a loss of income of €67 million per year to the taxpayer. So much for the good news.

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park1
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:42 PM

I’d love to believe this is good news but sale of Boi coco, 2.5 billion bond at 3.35% all in the first real week of the EU Presidency while HVR is here.

All while were still borrowing 15b a year and fully loaded with an unsustainable debt.

On same day all other PIGS yields go up.

If its too good to be true it’s probably not true. I’m thinking Maple10 but sincerely hope I am wrong

And I’m an optimist….

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:51 PM

Anyone know where this money goes? Do we as a nation see any of it?

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:38 PM

More green shoots guff

Mute Alan Murphy
    Favourite Alan Murphy
    Jan 9th 2013, 9:49 PM

That €10M should pay for all the audis

Mute Jay Thompson
    Favourite Jay Thompson

The audis were given to the free from audi they can jus wire the 10 mill t me ill look after it

Mute Scrap Croke Park1

Fascinating article on France’s impending implosion. But wait. The worst is over right?

http://finance.fortune.cnn.com/2013/01/09/france-economy-crisis/

Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:23 PM

The worst is over for Ireland, I truly believe. Now it’ll be a slow crawl upwards for us. The worst isn’t here yet for the core economies of the EU. But I’m not gloating; what’s bad for them is in no way good for us.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:24 PM

@scrap- nothing personal, but don’t you ever tire of the cynicism and the naysaying?

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:43 PM

Vincent u shud quit with the cookie clearing and red/green thumbing to promote ur point of view. Try to stand on ur arguments alone

As for nay-saying, u have me wrong there. I’m only looking for the truth. This whole back to the markets is a set up. A ponzi scheme. It will be proven to be so although I wish it were not. Who in their right mind wud lend money to a country already crippled with an unsustainable debt and who is running a massive, massive deficit?

Even if we owed nothing at all we’d be in serious doodoo in 5 years because of the deficit

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:44 PM

Vincent he veiws himself as a realist,you veiw him as a naysayer.One of ye is correct,only time will tell which.

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:46 PM

Correct Norman. Having said that I enjoy Vincent’s company and online sparring immensely. He’s an intelligent (if misled) individual. I don’t agree with most of what he says but I’d die for his right to express himself

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:52 PM

Through Scrap at least Vincent stays away low brow insulting attacks.

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:23 PM

Norman, I have the figures written on a bettin slip in front of me. @950 and @951 views (2seconds apart) here’s the thumb figures:
    #mins means mins since comment made

Green thumb
    950 #mins. 951. Contributer
    28. 18. 42. NK
    20. 16. 33. CF
    32. 25. 38. ac
    23. 18. 33. VD

Red thumb
    950 #mins. 951. Contributer
    0. 4. 10. AM
    26. 25. 38. DL
    17. 21. 25. PN

I’ve noticed this trend a lot when VD is on a roll. His viewpoint gets “magic” green thumbs and his opposing view point gets magic red thumbs.

I don’t mind. Alls fair in love and war. Am just on to it ;-). Journal should consult their access logs to confirm its the same IP address

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:32 PM

Scrap thumbs regardless of colour mean nothing to me.But there is a pattern on all articles where “good news” is being put forward.As my son says”whatever floats your boat”.I could care less.I read and comment here for fun,i would not trust any Irish based news media to give me the “real” news,outside are always objective no agenda or party to pander to.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:35 PM

I don’t see how this drop in the ocean is giving people hope even after they sell the other 8billion that’s only 900mllion including this,thats nearly 1/15 of what we borrow every year..
    Not even enough to pay the 166 td’s wages for a year

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:44 PM

It’s actually quite funny how some people on here equate the number of green or red thumbs with the validity of their argument. It usually goes along the lines of “well judging by the number of red thumbs you got, it seems you’re wrong”…

Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:44 PM

Not to weigh in on either side here, but “all’s fair in love and war”? There isn’t any war at all, as far as I can see. It’s a couple of lads egging each other on for the fun of it because they enjoy the scrap ( no pun intended ). It’s not bullying and it’s not really that much related to the topic of the article. Nothing wrong with that, but I’d imagine that you’re all well aware of what you’re doing, so there’s not much point claiming that you’re shocked and offended by it all.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:47 PM

@Scrap- By the way- I don’t quite understand what I’m being accused of above. But I would suggest that since you have that betting slip out you should tip down to Paddy Powers in the morning with it and put a score on Enda Kenny remaining Taoiseach after the next election.

Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:55 PM

@MVM – A man could say that an ocean is nothing but a drop and another drop and another drop… It all adds up. Very slowly of course, but it does add up.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:56 PM

Also cookie clearing. No idea what that is. And unless you can do it with an iPhone, not guilty……

Mute Michael J Collins
    Favourite Michael J Collins
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:58 PM

Scrap
    Hey Scrap you really show how little you know . You wanta see how much profit my pension took in the past four months by ignoring you silly advice. We grew by twenty three per cent and got out without looking too greedy!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 10th 2013, 12:00 AM

Vincent even a bondholder wouldn’t give you odds on that one,too many young turks.

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Jan 10th 2013, 12:00 AM

I fully retract the accusation of cookie clearing Vincent. I have no hard proof and therefore should not have mentioned it.

I could also be entirely wrong.

My apologies Mr. Dolan.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 10th 2013, 12:01 AM

@croke iv clashed with Vincent a few times having a little quarrel here and there but I don’t think he is at that iv had more green thumbs than him at Times maybe his view on certain topics are the same as the majority reading hence green..

Mute Joe Power
    Favourite Joe Power
    Jan 10th 2013, 12:03 AM

If true it will be good but what exactly are your facts based on ?

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 10th 2013, 12:10 AM

Seriously. What’s cookie clearing? My understanding of cookies is that they’re the signature you leave behind as you surf the web and its used for advertisers, for example to track you? What that has to do with red or green thumbs, I’ve no idea.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 10th 2013, 12:13 AM

@norman- if Enda holds this coalition together until the next scheduled election he will be untouchable. The Coveneys and Varadkars can wait.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 10th 2013, 12:18 AM

Vincent you are a clever guy,i’m sure if you apply yourself you can figure out the point of deleting cookies on this site.

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Jan 10th 2013, 12:33 AM

@vincent. Methinks the lady doth protest too much

Hopefully ur all right and everything’s heading rosy direction. Personally I don’t buy it but I’ll be the first to hold my hand up if I’m wrong.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 10th 2013, 12:47 AM

No. Dog with a bone now. If you delete your cookies, your signature is cleared and you can tick a thumb again & again? 1). No idea how to delete cookies. 2). Could give a flying **** how many red or green thumbs I get. Most of the time I’m accused of being a troll. My contributions tend not to be the work of a man courting popularity. Anyway. Enough.

Mute John Conniffe
    Favourite John Conniffe
    Jan 10th 2013, 1:09 AM

@ SCP1 You can’t manually clear the tracking history on the iPhone/iPad journal.ie app unless you (a) delete the app and re-install it, or (b) log out of the Facebook/Twitter account and log back in under another account. Both seem too much hassle to be worth doing. The only other option on an iPhone is to view journal.ie through a web browser rather tan through the app, and that way it would be possible to clear cookies via the web browser settings. I’m not saying that VD is doing this, I’m only saying how it would be possible to do what you’re suggesting on an iPhone. Maybe people agree with him.

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Jan 10th 2013, 1:19 AM

@john. Easy to do on a PC
    @vincent. I accept fully I was wrong to accuse u of cookie clearing as I’ve no evidence. I’ll add another heartfelt apology to the one above. Goodnight sir. Looking forward to tomorrow

Mute John Conniffe
    Favourite John Conniffe
    Jan 10th 2013, 1:35 AM

@ SCP1 Yes, very easy to do on a PC but he says above that he uses an iPhone to view TheJournal. All I wrote was how it would be possible to give multiple thumbs on an iPhone. Maybe VB is lying and is secretly using a PC. Maybe he’s lying and is an excellent hacker who’s hacked the iPhone app to allow him to give multiple thumbs. Maybe he’s an alien. Some things you just have to take at face value. I’m interested in the technical side of what you suggested, but I’m not really interested in the “lover’s tiff” angle of what’s going on between you two.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 10th 2013, 6:45 AM

I think we’re losing sight here gentlemen of the core question: why would one be bothered doing it? Anywho…

Mute Al
    Favourite Al
    Jan 9th 2013, 10:43 PM

That mean taxpayers get money back then?

Mute Joe Power
    Favourite Joe Power
    Jan 10th 2013, 12:05 AM

Nope , good business deal , isn’t it

Mute DB
    Favourite DB
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:55 PM

It should be extremely worrying France is in trouble because if the EU states do crap it will have a huge impact on us making any ground we have made eroded quickly.

Unfortunately we are far from been out of the woods more like still trying to find the centre before we can find a way out.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Jan 10th 2013, 12:06 AM

The bond market is all about people with lots of money getting rich at taxpayers expense. This system sucks.

Mute Popcorn
    Favourite Popcorn
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:43 PM

All we need to do now is sell our Children into slavery and we’ll be Quids in.
    Sorry I forgot – we already have .

Mute Popcorn
    Favourite Popcorn
    Jan 10th 2013, 12:05 AM

How can yee give me red thumbs for that. Our Children will be paying for for this till the year 2040 – Without a doubt.

Mute Joe Power
    Favourite Joe Power
    Jan 10th 2013, 7:49 AM

Truth is hard to swallow for some

Mute Stephen Church
    Favourite Stephen Church
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:11 PM

So when all this is paid back do we get lovely tax cuts ? Rebates ?

Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:18 PM

Probably not. Hopefully this money goes to aid stability and sustainability, which is more I portent in the long-term, in my opinion. Recovery will mean quite a few hard years for us, but that doesn’t make the recovery any less real.

Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:21 PM

Important. Apologies for the typing.

Mute Richard Byrne
    Favourite Richard Byrne
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:03 PM

If love to know where the other €90M went so.

€1B = 1,000,000,000
    10% of €1B = €100M

Government made €10M profit..
    Do the maths folks, that’s 1% not 10%

Mute Brendan Cahill
    Favourite Brendan Cahill
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:37 PM

10m profit from the sale today, also 10% annual return on the bond while the state held it..

Mute Colm Durkan
    Favourite Colm Durkan
    Jan 9th 2013, 11:38 PM

10% per year on the initial outlay investment in 2011, €10m profit on sale. The 2 aren’t related.

Mute Bill66
    Favourite Bill66
    Jan 10th 2013, 10:21 AM

Sorry your maths is backwards a bond is a loan , we pay 10%.

Mute Al S Macthomais
    Favourite Al S Macthomais
    Jan 10th 2013, 1:53 AM

These bonds are bought by the same groups of people who have already speculated against Ireland going bust and made massive profits. These same groups will make ever more money with the interest charged on the bonds when maturity kicks in and a win win for such people.

Mute Bill66
    Favourite Bill66
    Jan 10th 2013, 10:17 AM

Jesus 10 percent if I had anything I’d buy them as they are guaranteed by ecb. Could have got it at 3.3 percent on the market it’s all pr to make bank look good. It was subscribed 7 times as it was a huge bonus for bond holders ……again.

Mute Rob Cunningham
    Favourite Rob Cunningham
    Jan 10th 2013, 9:59 AM

10% return for the Irish tax payer, I doubt any of us will ever see a cent of that! Especially as we’re all paying more than twice that in additional taxes since 2008.