You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

"The addiction of politics is in me... but there's always part of me saying: ‘Do you want it?’"

Dublin’s Lord Mayor Christy Burke talks about Sinn Féin, the coalition, and whether he’d join a new political party.

Video TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Video: Michelle Hennessy/TheJournal.ie

Anybody in politics is probably ready in their mind for government, but whether you can address it and carry out the action when you get it is another thing.

CHRISTY BURKE HAS said he believes Sinn Féin should remain in opposition following the next General Election.

Dublin’s Lord Mayor was a long-time member of the party until he became an independent three days after the local elections in 2009.

Burke told TheJournal.ie that Sinn Féin is “as ready as anybody” to enter government but said, if he was still a member, he wouldn’t favour such a move.

Time will tell and then the people will tell if they are [ready] … If I was a member of Sinn Féin I’d probably say: ‘No, stay in opposition because if you go into government as a junior partner it’s a poisoned chalice and you’re hung out to dry.’

Have a look at the history: PDs, Greens, Labour … the smaller one will take the hit. You go anywhere in the Dublin central constituency, no one mentions ‘Fine Gael are cutting the children’s allowance’, they say Labour cut it.

He said Sinn Féin will need to “tread carefully”, but added: “It’s their call, they’re more than capable … let them at it.”

Sinn Fein. Pictured (LtoR) Deputy Lead Mary Lou McDonald, Gerry Adams and Lynn Boylan (File photo) Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Burke said anyone who described his decision to leave the party so soon after being re-elected as disingenuous had their “head in the clouds”.

I would have got elected on my work record. If there were a few die-hard Shinners in the area who believed they voted me in, I did tell them they were welcome to have their votes back in the next election and I’d prove them wrong – and I did.

“It was time for me to move on. It was time for me to vote with my conscience, not the whip.”

Independent Alliance

Burke is considering running for the Dáil in the next election. He has seven previous failed attempts under his belt, but isn’t put off by that.

He’s considering joining the Independent Alliance being set up by Shane Ross and Michael Fitzmaurice.

The addiction of politics is in me: 92% up there is saying ‘Go’, but there’s 8% saying: ‘Do you want it?’

cb 2

Burke doesn’t have much time for Lucinda Creighton’s new party, describing it as “noise”. He said Fitzmaurice is more likely to set up a successful party despite being “only a wet day in the game”.

As for the current coalition? Burke said he’s “disgusted” with Labour for failing to protect the working class, as they had promised pre-election. He’s no fan of Fine Gael either, saying its handling of issues such as overcrowding in hospitals, medical cards, emigration and the introduction of water charges leaves a lot to be desired.

“They have failed,” he said of the coalition.

‘Shane Ross isn’t THAT right-wing’: Christy Burke’s u-turn on new Independent Alliance

‘Worse now than the heroin epidemic of the 80s’ – Christy Burke on drugs in Dublin

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

67 Comments
    Mute Stephen McGrath
    Favourite Stephen McGrath
    Aug 13th 2018, 9:21 AM

It’s hilarious how they posted “as you the fans we care etc etc”
    When really they have just been caught out and the law has caught up with them.
    What a bunch of dirt bags.

Mute Diarmaid Mac Aonghusa
    Favourite Diarmaid Mac Aonghusa
    Aug 13th 2018, 9:26 AM

@Stephen McGrath: “All we want is you, the fan, to be able to buy tickets to events you love.” ;-)

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Aug 13th 2018, 9:39 AM

@Stephen McGrath:
    We listened, we heard you we ignored you and fleeced you
    government introduce touting law

We listened, we heard you, we have to change by law…but we make out we did it because we love you…

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Aug 13th 2018, 9:56 AM

@Stephen McGrath: Pure spin, like they had a choice

Mute Seamus G
    Favourite Seamus G
    Aug 13th 2018, 12:36 PM

@Stephen McGrath: no in fairness Noel Rock gets the credit here

Mute Delboy79
    Favourite Delboy79
    Aug 13th 2018, 2:22 PM

@Stephen McGrath: spot on Stephen. Ticketmaster are an absolute disgrace and have been facilitating ticket scalpers for years.

Mute SPQH
    Favourite SPQH
    Aug 13th 2018, 2:43 PM

@Diarmaid Mac Aonghusa: I hear ya, and I hear…. all We want is for the fans of events we host to buy the tickets for the money we love ;)

Mute Alexander Grabe
    Favourite Alexander Grabe
    Aug 13th 2018, 2:54 PM

@Seamus G: LOL, see what you did there,

Forgot to have his photo at the bottom though!!!

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally

“weve listened….. and we heard there was a new law we were about to get caught on so were stopping doing this but don’t you worry we will find a new loophole in that law to screw you over with soon”

Mute Dublin Mope
    Favourite Dublin Mope
    Aug 13th 2018, 5:21 PM

@Ian McNally: seatwave owned Ticketmaster owned by live nation owned by MCD who promote gigs, all controlled by Denis Desmond. Ticketmaster obviously hold majority of tickets and sell on seatwave at inflated price. This new site will no doubt charge a nice booking fee! Denis does nothing for the good of his health or that if the fans pocket!

Mute Jack O’Meara
    Favourite Jack O’Meara
    Aug 13th 2018, 9:23 AM

About time

Mute Ciaran Henry
    Favourite Ciaran Henry
    Aug 13th 2018, 1:06 PM

@Jack O’Meara: My heart bleeds for them really… their cartel has gotten one branch smaller. Poor chaps

Mute Thomas Michael Newell
    Favourite Thomas Michael Newell
    Aug 13th 2018, 9:34 AM

It’s like someone who’s after robbing your house coming back to show you the receipt for all the items they stole off ya, and telling you they donated it to a charity shop cos they have seen the error of their ways……lads you couldn’t make that sorta excuse up

Mute Ciaran Forde
    Favourite Ciaran Forde
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:28 AM

We’ve had a great fan to fan site since 2009 (I think) – toutless.ie

So thanks Ticketmaster , no need to facilitate fan to fan at all – we’re grand.

Mute Mark Gaynor
    Favourite Mark Gaynor
    Aug 13th 2018, 12:24 PM

@Ciaran Forde: Yep. Sold 2 tickets to Imagine Dragons on Toutless last year and was happy to sell at face value. Don’t think we need or I’ll be using Ticketmasters version. Too little, too late by them.

Mute Sinead foley
    Favourite Sinead foley
    Aug 13th 2018, 9:50 AM

Ah…so the new name for seatwave is “fan to fan”…aw that’s lovely….the ticket prices will be within the law but it’d be no surprise if there’s not a humongous admin fee to be paid to buyer/seller….load of twaddle

Mute Paraic
    Favourite Paraic
    Aug 13th 2018, 9:58 AM

@Sinead foley: That’s probably what they meant when they said we strongly believe that the new legislation “will be both ineffective and will, in fact, be detrimental to Irish fans”. Why else would they say that?

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:13 AM

@Sinead foley: Fan to fan + 20%

Mute Ciaran Henry
    Favourite Ciaran Henry
    Aug 13th 2018, 1:07 PM

@Cathal: I think thats a launch promotion Cathal. 6 months in and its Fan to fan + 45%

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Aug 13th 2018, 9:27 AM

“Fan to Fan”. I can imagine it more like “Fan from Legal Tout back to Tout”.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:12 AM

Very insulting PR to suggest the reason is because of listening to fans when a law has just been approved to make what they’re doing illegal

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:36 AM

@Rochelle: It’s not insulting at all, it is completely idiotic. Whatever half wit who came out with this spin should be sacked.

Mute Clear And Graphic
    Favourite Clear And Graphic
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:10 AM

“Submissions by Ticketmaster and Seatwave said the companies were unhappy.”
    There’s a shocker – seeing as they were one and the same!

Mute RadioTerry
    Favourite RadioTerry
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:19 AM

The clearest acknowledgment that it was in fact a ticket touting website to begin with! Shame on Ticketmaster.

Mute Pat Cassano
    Favourite Pat Cassano
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:25 AM

Ticketmaster are the touts. 11 euro service charge for buying tickets online and printing them off at home…

Mute Clear And Graphic
    Aug 13th 2018, 9:51 AM

Great news – but what will they come up with next, to get around the law?
    Those profits have to be maintained!

Mute Adam Johnson
    Favourite Adam Johnson
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:41 AM

Good riddance,
    I wish there was a real alternative to Ticketmaster in Ireland for events, they have such a monopoly that they decided to scam fans in the first place with Seatwave, nobody is falling for their spin

Mute Barry Curtin
    Favourite Barry Curtin

Hypocrites

Mute Michael farrelly
    Favourite Michael farrelly
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:34 AM

So delighted that Ticketmaster had to shut down this disgraceful ticket gouging. There needs to be more alternatives to Ticketmaster. It’s far to big of an monopoly

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:39 AM

@Michael farrelly: There are a few, but mysteriously, acts choose to use these scammers.

Mute Peter O Donnell
    Favourite Peter O Donnell
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:22 AM

Ticketmaster should be shut down immediately too for running this scam.

Mute Glen Hanratty
    Favourite Glen Hanratty
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:40 AM

Two tickets for ireland vs New Zealand €1,402.20. What a pack of robbing w*****s. If there was another way I would never use ticketmaster.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 13th 2018, 5:14 PM

@Glen Hanratty: It is extortionate but nobody is forcing you to attend that event.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Aug 13th 2018, 7:50 PM

@Glen Hanratty: did you actually buy them? I would just avoid, show principals and watch the game in a good pub instead

Mute Glen Hanratty
    Favourite Glen Hanratty
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:41 AM

@Dave O’Hanlon: no I didn’t buy them. For that money I could go to a pub in New Zealand to watch the match.

Mute Glen Hanratty
    Favourite Glen Hanratty
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:45 AM

@Sean: unfortunately the New Zealand game never went on general sale so I never got a chance to buy them. But to see them on sale for that kind of money is ridiculous.

Mute Chris Hammond
    Favourite Chris Hammond
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:18 AM

Nice little earner for Ticketmaster, good it has been taken away from them. They’ll just have to content themselves with the €6+ booking fee on each ticket they sell. Thieves.

Mute Tadhg Lehane
    Favourite Tadhg Lehane
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:34 AM

I presume they’ll be planning on bringing in the “dynamic pricing” they’ve been on about in the past where the quicker tickets are selling the dearer their own site sells them.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:54 AM

I wonder where they took that photo of a crowd with no phones in it??

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:03 AM

@Rob Cahill: the 90′s

Mute Christine Gleeson
    Favourite Christine Gleeson
    Aug 13th 2018, 1:31 PM

Can’t understand how those bastrds were able to get away with that for so long

Mute Ciaran Maher
    Favourite Ciaran Maher
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:36 AM

Ha, ye didn’t have a choice, ye shower of robbers. Good enough for you.

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    Aug 13th 2018, 9:41 AM

These companies are so full of sh*te

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Aug 13th 2018, 3:49 PM

Now we need the Competition and Consumer Protection Commission to insist that events over for over 5000 people should have more than one company distributing tickets.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:16 AM

A confession essentially

Mute Barney r
    Favourite Barney r
    Aug 13th 2018, 4:38 PM

I placed a ban on buying any ticketmaster events, they have a monopoly, I am reduced to National concert hall and small pay at door gigs. For any big events buy the bands Dvd with wine and sit at home with friends.

Mute Colm Walsh
    Favourite Colm Walsh
    Aug 13th 2018, 2:45 PM

Ticketmaster are a shower of gangsters. Have been for years. Worse than Ryanair for adding on additional costs that amount to no value for the customer.

Mute Seamus G
    Favourite Seamus G
    Aug 13th 2018, 12:37 PM

Hayley can you not credit Noel Rock in the article for his efforts here?

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:23 AM

Can someone enlighten me as to how it seems an Irish law has shut down this entire system? Am I reading it wrong and it’s only seatwave.ie that’s affected?

Mute Susan O'flaherty
    Favourite Susan O'flaherty
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:27 AM

@David Clements: as per the article it is seat wave they are closing down.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Aug 13th 2018, 10:56 AM

@Susan O’flaherty: yeh but seatwave doesn’t just operate here. Are they shutting it down in it’s entirety because of an Irish law?

Mute Clear And Graphic
    Aug 13th 2018, 1:54 PM

@David Clements: It’s not only Seatwave that’s affected – but Seatwave has been closed down officially – unlike others still out there. The likes of Ebay.ie or Done Deal, etc, also are still open for this overpricing racket to be tried continue besides other official business doing the same thing (as Seatwave/Ticketmaster did).

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Aug 13th 2018, 8:46 PM

While I get it on principle I bought tickets before with viagogo that got me in to a gig that had sold out before I could get in …glad to see there’ll be a fairer resell website launched so there are options for those of us whove miss out.

Mute Eddie O'Neill
    Favourite Eddie O'Neill
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:51 AM

Another example of the great rip of us sheep, we should get a big jar of government issued Vaseline. One of the most expensive in Europe for tickets, mortgages, broadband, mobile phones, alcohol (+ soft drinks), hotels, car insurance, petrol, electricity, gas, rent, private healthcare, cable TV and lots, lots more. Not sure how to counteract this except to give some time to the notion of voting for some sort of change in the next General Election and break the stranglehold of FFG. Otherwise it’s as you were.

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Aug 13th 2018, 1:22 PM

Well done Noel Rock .Sorry to see the shinners are taking down your posters

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Aug 13th 2018, 1:51 PM

@David Grey: Shame Noel wouldn’t do the same when he’s finished with them… He’s been convicted for not removing them..

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Aug 13th 2018, 1:26 PM

Haley . Do you not know who pushed this legislation or is it that you just don’t want to say.

Mute Stewart O Neill
    Favourite Stewart O Neill
    Aug 13th 2018, 8:58 PM

Now they need to get rid of viaGoGo.

Biggest scammers of all

Mute Mick Campbell
    Favourite Mick Campbell
    Aug 15th 2018, 8:13 AM

Ticketmaster would turn your stomach. Reading their comments, anyone would think they are doing us all a favor by changing their ways for our good. They have finally been found out and now have to toe the line. however, as long as they keep charging more than one fee for multiple tickets, I will never purchase from them again.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Aug 15th 2018, 9:33 AM

thats a jike –ticket master are the biggest ‘touts’ of all ! most of the tickets available on these ‘secondary’ sites come direct from ticket master -everyone knows it — ticket master operates as a monopoly -especially here in ireland the ticket market should be opened up instead of one company having control over every gig ,show and concert in the country .

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Aug 13th 2018, 5:38 PM

It’s kind of a shame though, I did make hundreds on seatwave