You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Simon Coveney hasn't spoken to US ambassador yet, but says 'it's clear where Irish people stand'

The Tánaiste said that he has a “very good relationship” with the US ambassador, and they “can speak very bluntly to each other”.

TÁNAISTE AND MINISTER for Foreign Affairs Simon Coveney has told the Dáil that although he doesn’t have a call scheduled with Ireland’s US ambassador, that he expects to speak with him this week.

The Tánaiste was responding to questions about whether he had been in touch with US ambassador Edward F Crawford over the US protests against racism and police brutality – and US President Donald Trump’s response to introduce the military to quell protesters.

” I have not spoken to the US ambassador, Mr Crawford,” he replied to a number of TDs who asked. “This does not mean I will not do so, but I have not yet.”

I think it is pretty clear where the Irish people stand on this issue.  I speak to the ambassador, Mr Crawford, quite regularly. I do not have a scheduled call with him but I would not be surprised if I were to speak to him in the next week or so.  

He said that he has a “very good relationship” with the US ambassador, and they “can speak very bluntly to each other”.

“In my view, the US govt are in no doubt about Ireland’s position.”

Two Black Lives Matter protests have taken place in Dublin in response to the death of George Floyd who was killed while being arrested by US police.

Thousands marched in Monday’s protest to the US embassy, where a minute’s silence was held and George Floyd’s name was chanted. 

Another protest is scheduled for this Saturday, 6 June, but strict instructions have been issued to protesters to adhere to public health advice.

The Tánaiste continued:

“The overriding message from the Irish government but also, I think, from Irish people, is a complete rejection of racism and a determination to combat it in all its forms.  We need to focus on ourselves as well as looking critically at others.

“What Irish people want is an appropriate political response to the outrage on the back of this awful killing and the protests that have erupted since. However, they also want to see a country that historically has given a lot of global leadership on democratic values facilitating peaceful protest in an appropriate way.” 

The Tánaiste added that “political and community leadership” was needed “to stand up against racism, and to reassure those who feel victims to it”. 

“It needs to be about clarity of comment,” he said, “So we can move on and learn from the images coming from the US in recent days.” 

The Department of An Taoiseach was asked by TheJournal.ie whether Leo Varadkar had been in touch with the White House administration about the Black Lives Matter protests, and use of police force. It had no comment at the time of publishing.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

67 Comments
    Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Aug 19th 2022, 12:22 AM

As horrific are the other nights attack on the bus was, there is a rise of attacks on everyone. Years of ineffectual policing and government policies has made this.

Mute Longlin
    Favourite Longlin
    Aug 19th 2022, 12:41 AM

@Alan Wright: About to post a very similar thing. Attacks on the gay community is just an example of the general lack of law and order that unfortunately is in abundant in the last few years. Presence of policing is badly needed in most of our towns and cities and when they do get caught, suspended or light sentencing is not a solution unless there is an imposise on rehabilitation.

Mute Jen Mc
    Favourite Jen Mc
    Aug 19th 2022, 12:41 AM

@Alan Wright: While there may be an increase on attacks on everyone, minorities are still much more at risk. To say otherwise is disingenuous.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Aug 19th 2022, 1:09 AM

@Jen Mc: But is that actually the case? Or is it just that an attack on someone from a minority group makes for a bigger media impact, which is why such an attack might gain higher profile level of reporting and online discussion, but a similar attack without a minority victim, is just a regular Saturday..

Unprovoked attacks on anyone are horrendous and if someone is targeted because they are from a minority, or for any other specific reason its awful, but unprovoked attacks are usually just on anyone that looks like an easy victim, that’s the primary selection criteria.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Aug 19th 2022, 7:54 AM

@Jen Mc: I personally feel we need to stop diluting ourselves into minorities and begin to stand together again rather than individually.

Violence has become a huge problem over the last 30 years, manners are out the window, respect is pretty much non-existent. It’s every man/woman for themselves! We all cannot tolerate whats happening. We need to take a very good look at ourselves (old and young). What was changed all those years ago in legislation re discipline has gone to the extreme and now look.

Mute John Kavanagh
    Favourite John Kavanagh
    Aug 19th 2022, 9:32 AM

@David Van-Standen: 5 bus drivers attacked last week and nothing about it .. I guess bus drivers are not minority enough for the like of Jen.. No virtue signalling to be gained from that angle

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Aug 19th 2022, 9:37 AM

@Alan Wright: As an example, a few weeks ago I protected a young lady (early 20′s) from a jünķie mugger up by Jervis Street (Dublin 1). During that incident when I fought the guy off, he called me a “gáý fág”. So, I am straight, is that a homophobic attack? Crime on everyone, especially in the city centre is getting way out of control. Look at this link from last week: https://www.newstalk.com/news/georges-dock-luas-attack-up-to-ten-teens-involved-in-serious-assault-1370789

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 19th 2022, 11:00 AM

@Alan Wright: could be worse. This is the Chair of PAC. How are comments from clowns like this helpful in the struggle against homophobia and homophobic attacks? This is potentially the voice of the next government. Can you imagine?

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/sinn-fein-td-brian-stanley-refuses-to-apologise-to-lgbti-community-over-tweet-about-leo-varadkar-39822390.html

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Aug 19th 2022, 11:38 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: Wow, who could’ve seen this coming, GrumpyAylFella taking any opportunity to bash SF. You and that Bri person never add anything to the discussion except “SF are bad”. The grown-ups here are actually talking about the rise in violent attacks (under FF & FG rule btw) and you bring up SF from behind your anonymous account.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Aug 19th 2022, 11:49 AM

@Alan Wright: Alan – So it is clear…you did not suffer a homophobic attack as you are not a homosexual. Sad they use the term to mean a negatitive thing still. But well done helping her, not many would and something needs to be done in Ireland asap for crime (all crime asap).

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 19th 2022, 11:57 AM

@Alan Wright: wow. No Alan, you’re harping on about years of ineffectual government policies and I’m just pointing out what’s in store with the next government. Why are you getting so uptight over somebody pointing out facts and providing links? Here’s another one for you.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/sf-members-quit-amid-allegations-of-homophobic-and-racist-slurs-39827803.html

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Aug 19th 2022, 12:18 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: And your imaginary “what if” scenario continues. Crime and violent crime is on the rise right now (under FF & FG), that is the fact. But you are clearly blinded to the real facts that our government is completely inept.

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Aug 19th 2022, 12:24 PM

@Darren Norris: And that’s my point Darren. It clearly wasn’t homophobic on me but an example of the rampant and open crime in our city against anyone regardless. I pointed out on another article about the girl getting pushed under the DART in Howth Junction and the scrote who did it getting off scott free. Varadker should be talking about crime on everyone as he’s a leader of this country and not segregate. Afterall, it’s his government that’s soft on crime.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 19th 2022, 12:31 PM

@Alan Wright: yes and this article is specifically about attacks on the gay community. How do you think the commentary and views from the largest party in Ireland are likely to influence would be homophobic attackers? If people in positions of authority espouse homophobia then some of their cheerleaders and average citizens are probably likely to do the same. We all know that we need more visible policing and tougher sentencing but that’s not going to stop homophobia.

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Aug 19th 2022, 1:33 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: Yep, and the article is about a “feeling”. Feelings aren’t facts, being you love facts so much. Lets get the real stats, concentrate on the known hot spots for crime and then hold criminals accountable for their crimes, but you dont get any of that from our current hug-a-thug government. Im also surprised you haven’t resorted to calling me a sinner-bot yet!

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Aug 19th 2022, 1:35 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: Christ S.F really are living rent free in your head! Someday you will( or might,) hopefully post a grown up intelligent comment.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 19th 2022, 1:37 PM

@Franny Ando: you got something meaningful to state on facts then do so instead of throwing insults around, the preserve of the unintelligent.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 19th 2022, 1:45 PM

@Alan Wright: I don’t call names Alan. Again you are off point and off the topic of the article that concerns homophobic attacks. You’re harping on about the governments “hug a thug” policies but you don’t comment on SF’s homophobic comments. Why not? We are talking about homophobia here. This is the next government. Are you condoning their homophobia? Attempting to disband the SCC, attending terrorist funerals and having councillors up in front of the SCC on charges of organised crime doesn’t do much to suggest that SF wouldn’t have a “hug a thug” policy so I don’t know where you’re going with that. ALL parties/politicians need to their utmost to kill-off homophobia and not promote it so while kicking the govt might get you thumbs it’s not addressing the point.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Aug 19th 2022, 1:53 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: Ah grumpy insults where? When you can reasonably respond to comments or posts on The Journal without dragging S.F into you might be taken more seriously. Your never ending S.F bashing comments truly are the preserve of the unintelligent.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Aug 19th 2022, 2:01 PM

@Alan Wright: 31 Garda stations closed in 2012 due to recession to save a lousy few quid.

Mute Dermot N Killian
    Favourite Dermot N Killian
    Aug 19th 2022, 2:06 PM

@Longlin: and the rehab will consist of….?

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 19th 2022, 3:02 PM

@Franny Ando: aw are you offended by facts being posted about SF Franny? Sorry I’ll make up some fiction about how great they are just to keep you happy. I seem to remember commenting on your Covid anti vaccine posts during the pandemic without mentioning SF. Perhaps you missed those ones. Somebody mentioned ineffectual govt policies in relation to the topic. I agree but I just referenced the alternative government’s record on the topic supported by links for some balance. Totally relevant I would have thought.

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Aug 19th 2022, 3:20 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: Jesus man. There is no “alternative government”. SF are not in power they are an opposition party. You’re basing your opinion of a record that’s never even existed (I.e. SF have not been in government). Thats the fact for you there friend. There is only the coalition of FF/FG/G. Your hatred of SF blinds you to all the folly of the actual government.

Mute Al Fresco
    Favourite Al Fresco
    Aug 19th 2022, 12:25 AM

Yeah but let’s just concentrate on making this all about Leo, OK?

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Aug 19th 2022, 12:54 AM

@Al Fresco: how did you come to that conclusion?

Mute James Kerins
    Favourite James Kerins
    Aug 19th 2022, 6:45 AM

@Al Fresco: huh?

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Aug 19th 2022, 7:05 AM

@Al Fresco: any chance for a sound bite he is there

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Aug 19th 2022, 12:26 AM

I’ve been targeted in a similar attack on a bus a couple years ago, though fortunately wasn’t badly injured. I don’t think we can look at these attacks in isolation, yes they are motivated by homophobia but the people who do it more often than not also engage in petty crime and all kinds of antisocial behaviour. There’s a deeper issue behind it and needs to be addressed. Varadkar and his buddies have done sweet f all to address those issues, though. Legislation is good but won’t fix everything, the causes of this behaviour need to be addressed

Mute Alan Richard Scott Jr.
    Favourite Alan Richard Scott Jr.
    Aug 19th 2022, 6:42 AM

@Rui Firmino: not the government’s fault. It’s the little scrotes parents. Blame the government. The government is not the daddy, go to any social housing estate and this is common behaviour. It’s the little darlings parents you need to target

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Aug 19th 2022, 6:48 AM

@Alan Richard Scott Jr.: It is the government’s fault letting whole sections of society be uneducated and unemployed and free to engage in petty crime without consequence.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Aug 19th 2022, 7:00 AM

@Rui Firmino: the government is not responsible. If the parents stop procreating vermin we might get somewhere. the govt have zero obligation to tell these youths how to act. The government are not youth club leaders ffs

Aug 19th 2022, 7:05 AM

@Rui Firmino: and people choose to not be uneducated and not working. the law says otherwise but these youths decide not to do these things.

Aug 19th 2022, 7:07 AM

@Rui Firmino: I’m sorry you where targeted by these people. In this day and age it should never happen.

Mute Christine Hanway
    Favourite Christine Hanway
    Aug 19th 2022, 8:24 AM

@Rui Firmino: your absolutely spot on. People fail to realise when blaming the parents, for many, the parents are jst as bad and don’t actually care what their kids are at, so relying on them to bring change is useless. Kids need intervention and education and people just have to admit that a major part of that comes from government services, ones they refuse to provide. So if we want our society to change on a whole it needs to be a collective effort and not looking to parents who have the same attitude as their kids to fix this. I think your point is 100% correct.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Aug 19th 2022, 9:31 AM

@Christine Hanway: Thanks, glad I’m not alone on this.

Mute The Ghost of Dublin
    Favourite The Ghost of Dublin
    Aug 19th 2022, 9:34 AM

@Alan Richard Scott Jr.: free abortion on demand! No one should be forced to give birth.

Aug 19th 2022, 10:37 AM

@Christine Hanway: that is the left wing approach. Reeducation my hoxe. We need extreme right wing policies to deal with these scrotes. my nephew came home black and blue after a few grey tracksuits decided to attack him. he spend nearly a week in hospital. What did the judge do?? F ALL. All they got was community service. There should be a law for scrotes procreating scrotes. And their usual yup Tallaght when they get away with it.

boot camp is what’s needed, like the majority of the EU. Ireland and it’s liberal approach to anti social behaviour is embarrassing actually.

Aug 19th 2022, 10:40 AM

@The Ghost of Dublin: absolutely nothing got to do with abortion. Abortion is not to be used because it’s a inconvenience.

Mute Christine Hanway
    Favourite Christine Hanway
    Aug 19th 2022, 10:56 AM

@Alan Richard Scott Jr.: I dont disagree with you, my point it they need intervention and as you say, the right discipline and sentencing but you jst said the problem isnt the government, the parents arent going to overhaul the justice system or set up bootcamps.. Im not interested in the left/right wing… the government is where what your requesting be implemented so how are they not responsible for fixing it. And ur right to, our anti social behaviour esp in Dublin is an absolute embarrassment

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Aug 19th 2022, 11:31 AM

@Alan Richard Scott Jr.: blame the justice system that lets them walk free with 300 previous convictions. As for the parents……

Aug 19th 2022, 1:22 PM

@Paul Shepherd: the parents created them. the justice system has lot got to with it also. But parenting starts at home not the courthouse

Mute Dermot N Killian
    Favourite Dermot N Killian
    Aug 19th 2022, 2:17 PM

@Rui Firmino: yeah, it’s always the government’s fault. How convenient. How about the inconvenient persuasive evidence that both genetic and environmental factors contribute to antisocial behavior? Maybe CRISPR technology is the answer to converting those wanton thugs into angels? In the meantime threw them in jail.

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Aug 19th 2022, 4:05 PM

@Rui Firmino: u think ur right just some sxxm looking for an easy Target sorry that happened to u

Mute Dave Wave
    Favourite Dave Wave
    Aug 19th 2022, 4:41 AM

One of the contributing factors in the increase of unmeditated or spontaneous violent crime is the lack of social accountability. Ireland is now a country of communities where a person can commit an offence and never have to face the social backlash that would have followed him/her for life. Everybody doesn’t know everybody anymore.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Aug 19th 2022, 9:33 AM

@Dave Wave: I tend to agree – while the JLO scheme tries to keep youths without a record we also need to consider things like 7 day custody orders for repeat offenders… We need to use the tools available and not have people in court on their 59th offence. Not liking the US model of three strikes – but there must be consequences for antisocial and violent crimes as they are an assault on everyone’s feeling of safety and security and not just the victims.

Mute Greachán Ó Ceallaigh
    Favourite Greachán Ó Ceallaigh
    Aug 19th 2022, 8:11 AM

Ask him about his defense of Robert Troy. Another crooked profiteering Government minister exploiting his position in Government to take advantage of the housing to exploit those caught in the rent trap in order to enrich himself…. oh wait? Are we not supposed to pay attention to that?

Mute Jim Casey
    Favourite Jim Casey
    Aug 19th 2022, 7:13 AM

Society has become more dangerous for everyone it’s not a safe little country for old, young, gay, straight. Attacks murders drugs all everyday news now.

Aug 19th 2022, 11:15 AM

@Jim Casey: this is a fact, heterosexual people like myself are never attacked for being straight.

Maybe I misinterpreted your comment. I think what you meant is everyone regardless of their sexuality is attacked and I agree, it happens.

As people familiar with myself here in the comments will know, I’m quite conservative in my views.

Saying that I will always stand up for members of the LGBTQ* movement.

Love is love,

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Aug 19th 2022, 1:36 PM

@Alan Richard Scott Jr.: No, straight people aren’t attacked for being straight, but the scrotes just use something else, your clothes, your accent etc. These violent criminals just use anything as an excuse to attack.

Mute Stuart Doherty
    Favourite Stuart Doherty
    Aug 19th 2022, 8:24 AM

This is cultural and has been allowed to happen through a complete breakdown of law and order over the last 20 years. Whilst great strides have been made in many areas there is a generation whose thug and yob element (and every gen had one) are behaving as they please with no fear whatsoever of any consequence.. it’s been allowed to happen (not just here but in many other countries also, look at the UK..) by a lack of balance and discipline and pandering to a snowflake mindset… a lot of this happened on your watch , Leo…

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Aug 19th 2022, 9:37 AM

@Stuart Doherty: I was in agreement with you until you tried to blame Leo’s watch. This is happening, by your own words, in many countries and it must therefore be something beyond just Leo’s control. It probabipy would be happening no matter who was in the dail.

Mute Stuart Doherty
    Favourite Stuart Doherty
    Aug 19th 2022, 11:50 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: I’m absolutely not blaming Leo at all… it’s just they were in charge for some of this timeframe and he’s back in the hot seat soon enough… he has the ability to at least get the ball rolling if he wants to tackle anti social behaviour and violence

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Aug 19th 2022, 5:16 PM

@Stuart Doherty: stop encouraging dead beat parents to have kids by financially supporting them. Parents who never worked a day in their lives getting tax payers money to support as many kids as they want is a joke. Just encourages exponential growth in free loading drop kicks

Mute Mark Tallon
    Favourite Mark Tallon
    Aug 19th 2022, 8:40 AM

Get rid of Drew Harris and invest money in the force. New uniforms should be way down on the “must have” list. 22 million euros would be better spent on man hours.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Aug 19th 2022, 4:53 PM

@Mark Tallon: I don’t agree I think we should be able to do both / improve level of front line policing and be sure that the police are properly equipped and appropriately supplied suitable clothing and uniforms and equipment / always envious of most other countries where when police do show up they at the very least appear like they can command authority and get control of situation / showing up in skirts or shirt and ties and formal hats are not fit for purpose in this day and age / maybe stop obsessing about road policing and bloody tax discs and get the force much more focussed on in the harder stuff / try driving without an up to date tax disc and you come across nothing but police but if you’re getting hassled by scrotes police can’t be found for love or money

Mute Greachán Ó Ceallaigh
    Favourite Greachán Ó Ceallaigh
    Aug 19th 2022, 8:13 AM

P.S.
    Leo Varadkar voted against gay marriage, even giving am impassioned speech as to why.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Aug 19th 2022, 4:54 PM

@Greachán Ó Ceallaigh: what ?

Mute Christopher Byrne
    Favourite Christopher Byrne
    Aug 19th 2022, 7:58 AM

‘Feelings’ are irrelevant. What are the stats?

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Aug 19th 2022, 1:30 AM

One, perhaps even both, of two things are true:
    There ARE more attacks.
    There are more attacks bring reported in the news.

I think it’s likely both, but either one alone could cause people to feel less safe.

I’m definitely reading more reports about such attacks.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Aug 19th 2022, 6:21 AM

@Todd Hebert: Some hard. Facts would help here. Many people think and feel lots of things, doesn’t necessarily make them true.

Mute Ron Collins
    Favourite Ron Collins
    Aug 19th 2022, 9:14 AM

@Justin Gillespie: how about the fact that two men were killed and mutilated in Sligo earlier this year.

Mute Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Favourite Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Aug 19th 2022, 9:35 AM

@Ron Collins: That is likely an extremist from a particular religious background who’s not from Ireland. I think that’s a different type of issue than dealing with ongoing homophobic attacks, if you get me.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Aug 19th 2022, 10:42 AM

@Ron Collins: Terrible an all as that was it doesn’t tell us whether attacks are on the rise across the board.

Mute JG
    Favourite JG
    Aug 19th 2022, 9:49 AM

Gardai on the streets and highly mobile, on scooters, bicycles, scrambler bikes and not so much in cars doing laps. Ohh and more Gardai on the streets with some more Gardai on the streets.. And I guess more Gardai on the streets.
    With that add in proper sentences for any type of physical assault or hate related verbal abuse and absolutely no bail for anyone with previous conviction. See how simple it is when you put your mind to it.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 19th 2022, 11:09 AM

@JG: the GRA would have to allow that first. They’re already complaining about new rosters and want more pay. Imagine asking them to get out of their cars and from behind a desk to walk the beat. Blue Covid would ensue.

Mute JG
    Favourite JG
    Aug 19th 2022, 11:14 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: more pay and rosters that work are all part of a proper people management system. People who do 12 hour shifts are usually at the peak of their fatigue levels by hour 8…its the job of GRA to shout for its members but its the government job to look after the needs of the population This is not the point of this thread anyhow.. But has some relevance.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 19th 2022, 12:06 PM

@JG: good people management is one thing pandering to their every whim under constant threat of strike and blackmail is another. Anyway we need high visibility boots on the ground in urban areas. There’s a great video on Youtube of two guys beating the living cr@p out of each other at Dr Quirkeys in O’Connell and a guy calling the police. 20m later and the lads are stilling beating each other up in broad daylight on the country’s main though fare. Eventual two gards turn up. The caller asks them what kept and one says “we were busy”. O’Connell St should have at least 2 foot patrols on it 24/7 with car patrol support from the immediate area. Policing in the city centre is shocking.

Mute Jason Mcginn
    Favourite Jason Mcginn
    Aug 19th 2022, 12:29 PM

The closing of Garda stations and the decimation for Garda numbers by your party the past 15 years is a huge contributory factor to that Varadkar. But sure let’s not let the truth get in the way of another publicity opportunity.

Mute Tom Mullally
    Favourite Tom Mullally
    Aug 19th 2022, 11:59 AM

Although the Catholic church is far from perfect, its greatest commandments are to love God and love your neighbour whether you like or disagree with them. The more the church is taken out of society, the more criminal behaviour you will get

Mute Stephen Deegan
    Favourite Stephen Deegan
    Aug 19th 2022, 6:51 PM

@Tom Mullally: Well said. They’re great friends of the LGBT community, them Catholics. And as for a woman’s right to choose…

Mute Barrycelona
    Favourite Barrycelona
    Aug 19th 2022, 2:02 PM

How often do you think a mugger says to themselves, ‘ Oh there is a gay person, I must attack them’. My point is that, although it may happen on rare occasions, it is highly unlikely that, that is the real/ main reason. It is more likely to do with money, so they can get their next fix. Any attack on any individual is disgusting, regardless of their background and while the media sensationalise attacks on minority groups, to the detriment of the general population, which we are ALL part of, we all end up getting tagged as being a homophobic society, which we are not. Gay groups, who are ‘looking for equality’ who use the media to highlight these issues, do so at the expense of similar problems the rest of us suffer. The Gardai will never have enough resources to fully tackle this problem but the courts, by handing out longer sentences, without remission, may start to solve it. ‘ It’ being anti social behaviour, that we ALL experience.

Mute Redseat92
    Favourite Redseat92
    Aug 20th 2022, 11:35 AM

I know lots of straight people who have received an unprovoked random kicking after a night out…Has any one ever that these attacks might just be random and the victims just happen to be Gay…?

Mute Stephen Deegan
    Favourite Stephen Deegan
    Aug 19th 2022, 6:48 PM

Is this a problem in towns and cities outside of Dublin or is it just in the capital? I use public transport outside of Dublin regularly and see absolutely no hassle or trouble at all. There’s a lot about this in the media at the moment, as is right and proper, but I’ve never seen anti social behavior on my local transport, but I’ve seen plenty of it in Dublin.

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Aug 19th 2022, 4:04 PM

How would he know last I heard he lives Mike’s from the gay community