You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

'We need to cop on': Harris says government is committed to changing sexual assault laws

Simon Harris will meet with the National Women’s Council’s advisory committee on ending sexual violence later today.

TACKLING SEXUAL ASSAULT and harassment in Irish society will be high on this government’s agenda, the Minister for Further and Higher Education will say today. 

Simon Harris will meet with the National Women’s Council’s advisory committee on tackling sexual harassment and sexual violence in third-level education. 

A survey by the Union of Students in Ireland recently found one third of female students reported having been raped. Two thirds said they had been sexually harassed.

“I didn’t think I lived under a rock but I was stunned by its findings,” Harris will say in his address to the council.

“It is the same shock I experienced when I launched the Dublin Rape Crisis Centre’s annual report last year. Sexual harassment, sexual intimidation, rape, gender-based violence are becoming increasingly common crimes.

Thankfully, many victims are more willing to come forward now but the warning signs in the USI survey should be a cause to action. We shouldn’t presume that the problem begins or ends in our third level institutions.

The minister will say it can start in homes and schools, through toxic cultures in sports clubs, in workplaces and in pubs.

“I want you to be under no illusion about my determination to deal with this epidemic. And I want the third level sector not to be a problem area but a leader. A leader in diversity. In respect. In inclusion. In zero tolerance.

Consent is not an option. It is a requirement. I don’t care what a victim was wearing. I don’t care how many drinks the perpetrator or the victim had. I don’t care if you believed he or she was “up for it” or not. I don’t care if they came home with you.

“Sex without consent is assault and it is a crime. We cannot address these issues unless we confront the uncomfortable reality that this is happening.”

The minister will challenge the council to come up with three concrete proposals to implement within 12 months.

“It is time to cop on. It is time for us to confront this and it is time for us to do something about it. It is a conversation we must have in every household. On every campus.

“I promise you here today that I, alongside my colleague Minister for Justice Helen McEntee, are committed to being the voice for change in this area. To change the laws that must be changed. To advocate and educate.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

24 Comments
    Mute Lotus
    Favourite Lotus
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:33 AM

Simon loves that “cop on” phrase.

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:47 AM

@Lotus: It’s appropriate. People do need to cop on over many things.

Mute Lotus
    Favourite Lotus
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:05 AM

@Ajax Penumbra:
    Simon would want to Cop On to himself also

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:37 AM

@Lotus: As would many of us, in some way or another.

Mute Finger In The Pie
    Favourite Finger In The Pie
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:19 AM

Dear Mr Harris, when you’ve quite recovered from swooning due to your levels of shock and being stunned, one law you could look at changing is the very sexist law that says if a man and a woman are both equally intoxicated and they go somewhere discreet to express some hastily arranged mutual coital fondness, then only the man is guilty of any sort of an assault.

Of course, the National Women’s Council will probably not have time to bring this up with you in today’s meeting, so I just thought I’d give you something to ponder while you have the smelling salts waved under your nose.

Your determination to deal with this epidemic would I’m sure be widely applauded by the grandparents of those involved, except unfortunately many of those grandparents did not survive some very unfortunate decisions you made or stood over during that other “epidemic” you were involved in.

I realise that optics rather than honesty are vital for a man in your position, but please do not focus your attention on silly, intentionally misleading “surveys” when there are actual problems in this area to solve. A difficult personal habit for you to break, I have no doubt, but you owe it to the tiny amount of people who voted for you to do your best for all of us.

Mute Finger In The Pie
    Favourite Finger In The Pie
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:24 AM

@Finger In The Pie:

The link to thejournal’s report on the aforementioned USI “survey” can be found if one were to google:

5128720-Jun2020

Mute HopefulEgalitarian
    Favourite HopefulEgalitarian
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:55 AM

USI survey – “college administrators then
    forwarded the study invite email to all
    students” “Overall, 8.6% of students in 14 USI affiliated HEIs responded to the survey and 4.3%
    completed the entire survey” A very low response rate to the survey with those that had bad experiences more likely to reply than not colouring the survey results. So in conclusion “one third of females of the 8.6% that responded to the survey in third level education feel they have been raped” would be a more accurate statement than the one The Journal went with.

Mute Annmarie Taylor
    Favourite Annmarie Taylor
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:48 AM

@HopefulEgalitarian: “feel they have been raped” is a very questionable phrase. You wouldn’t use the phrase ‘feel that they have been punched in the face” would you?

Mute Breda Claffey
    Favourite Breda Claffey
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:57 AM

@HopefulEgalitarian: Feel like they have been raped? More Rape culture and victim blaming

Mute Carryyourowncanou
    Favourite Carryyourowncanou
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:08 AM

Ah simple Simon

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:33 AM

HE WASN’T FIT FOR HIS OTHER JOB,HARDLY BE FIT FOR THIS ONE.

Mute Fintan O'flaois
    Favourite Fintan O'flaois
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:58 AM

@Pauline Fedigan: In fairness, his experience as a college drop out gives him an understanding why students don’t complete their degrees.

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:40 AM

@Fintan O’flaois: Certainly is an argument that the best way to understand why people fail exams and what effect it has is to fail one yourself.

Mute Charles Alexander
    Favourite Charles Alexander
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:20 AM

‘I want you to be under no illusion about my determination to deal with this epidemic’.
    Harris thinks he’s still Minister for Health where his determination was simply an illusion that delivered very little.

Mute Briscoe Sundara
    Favourite Briscoe Sundara
    Jul 27th 2020, 6:27 AM

One in three female students have been raped? Is this a new phenomenon or has it always been a feature of college life?

Mute M J Flynn
    Favourite M J Flynn
    Jul 27th 2020, 6:42 AM

@Briscoe Sundara: Who do you expect to answer those questions for you?

Mute Dearbhla O Reilly
    Favourite Dearbhla O Reilly
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:27 AM

@Briscoe Sundara: it seems to have always been the case. However reporting has increased in recent decades. The figures are not too far off those of other developed countries.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:32 AM

@Briscoe Sundara: I think there was some questioning of how the questions were phrased and applied definition added afterwards. Not saying it is misleading but it is not as straightforward either.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:38 PM

@Briscoe Sundara: It doesn’t state where they were attacked, or when. It could have happened before they went to college, for all we know. Not that it’s any less disturbing.

Mute Martin O'Reilly
    Favourite Martin O'Reilly
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:50 AM

Yes and why he is at it, he should take a good hard look at what can only be called in your face legalised fraud of paying idle shadow minister’s an extra sixteen thousand a year. This is when the country is in a very critical stage. Stop playing poker with the electorate.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jul 27th 2020, 11:16 AM

With Harris,s track record… this will not work out well.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Jul 27th 2020, 12:59 PM

In 2016 the USI reported that one in twelve female students are victims of rape.
    Now we’re told it’s one in three. That’s a pretty alarming jump in just 4 years. It means female college students are 4 times more likely to get raped in 2020 then in 2016.
    Something doesn’t add up
    It might be worth seeing how the questions were phrased on this latest ‘survey’.
    It might also be worth reminding students that reporting these crimes to the police is the only way they can hope to achieve justice.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:42 PM

@Will: No, it doesn’t? It simply means that people who are currently studying survived rape at some point in their lives. Also that students who were able to say so when surveyed at college felt able to mention it.

Mute Al.Dunne
    Favourite Al.Dunne
    Jul 27th 2020, 2:00 PM

These figures are a joke !