You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Minister's message to Irish construction workers abroad: 'Ireland needs you to help us build homes'

The campaign will use advertising targeted at people working in construction overseas.

IRISH CONSTRUCTION WORKERS living abroad are to be encouraged to come home and help build homes. 

Higher Education Minister Simon Harris is rolling out an outreach campaign to workers in cities such as London, New York and Sydney, telling people working in construction that there are well-paid jobs available in Ireland. 

The campaign will use advertising targeted at people working in construction overseas.

“We want to send a message abroad, we want to send a message to the Irish people who may have left because there weren’t jobs in construction in the past, there weren’t jobs when the economy crashed, that Ireland is a very different place now, that Ireland needs you to come home, Ireland needs you to help us build homes,” said Harris.

If you wish to come home, there are jobs here, well-paid, reliable jobs, and huge access to skills and education and training at a level not seen before.

“We need your help. So the purpose of this campaign is to spread the word to Irish people abroad, that if you’re working in construction, there’s huge opportunities here in Ireland and so please consider coming home and helping out,” he added. 

‘We need you’

A report recently commissioned by his department showed that Ireland will need 50,000 more people to work in construction in the next decade.

To reach those sorts of numbers, the minister said there is a need to come at it from all angles.

file-photo-dated-05052023-of-justice-minister-simon-harris-speaking-at-the-official-opening-of-a-new-garda-control-centre-for-the-dublin-metropolitan-region-at-the-national-train-control-centre-at-h Higher Education Minister Simon Harris. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

He said the government is promoting careers in construction in schools. 

A recent report called “Careers in ­Construction” showed that while guidance counsellors were actively giving information about careers in the construction sector, there was still more of a focus on promoting academia to students. 

While the numbers signing up for apprenticeships has increased, there is still a concern at government level at the limited promotion construction industry and trade apprenticeships are receiving at secondary school.

The minister said there were also concerns that parents have conveyed in terms of there being uncertainty with a career in construction.

“We’re getting the facts out there, we saw more people register as apprentices than ever before,” he added. 

The minister made the comments ahead of a trip to Washington DC and Boston, where he will meet with educational and political leaders. 

Harris is accompanied on the trip by representatives from Ireland’s higher education institutions and science agency. 

“We will use this opportunity to embed the strong bonds our two counties share but also how we can expand them to benefit both our economies and societies,” he added. 

Speaking about the outreach plan to construction workers, Tánaiste Micheál Martin said today that the number of trade apprentices has grown exponentially in the last two to three years. 

He added that Ireland is the only country in Europe that has registered an expansion of construction, stating that the government is looking to expand the construction sector workforce. 

Labour Senator Marie Sherlock has hit out against the new announcement by the minister stating that the reality is that many apprentices are forced to leave their training due to financial struggles.

“Let’s not forget that Minister Harris announced last year his intention to seek significant increases in wages for apprenticeships. Yet, where has that promise gone? It’s shocking that the apprentice year one rate is a mere €7.17 an hour, and year two is just €10.75 an hour.

“How can anyone live on such a low rate in today’s economy? This government must prioritise the well-being of our apprentices and ensure that they are compensated fairly for their invaluable contributions to our society,” she said. 

105 Comments
    Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Feb 12th 2024, 2:50 PM

Oh and bring a tent.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:31 PM

@Peter McGlynn: They’re pretending the Housing Crisis is NEW !!! We should have put the call out to builders several years ago, what a joke, Micheal Martin attacked Fine Gael about the Housing Crisis on the Eve of the last General Election and then formed a government with them and made homelessness/Housing even worse. Failures.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:57 PM

@Peter McGlynn: Great that mortgage is cheaper than rent.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:19 PM

@Mr Inbetween: Government do nothing,give out,Government do something,give out.

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:52 PM

@Mr Inbetween: There were calls at the time of the Celtic Tiger crash to create a state construction company for two purposes, firstly to keep the construction workers of a functioning construction industry in employment, and to finish what came to be known as ghost estates.

Because even as the construction boom ground to a halt, we were still facing a national housing shortage and this proposed state construction company, logical would have gone on to build social housing at the lowest cost possible, given it wouldn’t have been driven by turning a profit, but by the need to provide social housing.

At the time, this suggestion was not only dismissed, it was ridiculed. But if this had only been acted on then, we wouldn’t be in the current much worse housing crisis that we face today.

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:59 PM

@Dvsespaña: good idea but how would it have been paid for as we couldn’t borrow and people were giving out about the level of austerity impossed on them as it was without having even more tax/cuts.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Feb 12th 2024, 7:36 PM

@Dvsespaña: i remember commenting exactly that here, and been told how ridiculous of an idea it was

Mute William Power
    Favourite William Power
    Feb 12th 2024, 8:38 PM

@Peter McGlynn: well said

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    Feb 13th 2024, 12:02 AM

@The next small thing: Between 2008 and 2010 the government continued to borrow tens of billions of euros, but instead of putting that money to work saving construction jobs and addressing the on-going housing crisis, they did what they always do, wrung their hands and waitied for things to just sort themselves out.

Then finally, instead of investing in saving those construction jobs and creating much needed social housing, they bailed out the banks and sold off all distressed property assets to hedgefunds at knocked down prices.

Mute Niall Ryan
    Favourite Niall Ryan
    Feb 12th 2024, 2:56 PM

He asked nurses to come home during Covid too. Most didn’t get jobs and left again.

Mute Temp Stuff
    Favourite Temp Stuff
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:00 PM

Ahem …. because the natives don’t want anyone else but Irish coming to the country to build them

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Feb 13th 2024, 12:12 PM

@Temp Stuff: Skilled legal migrants have always been welcome.
    Many more recent migrants have – Ahem…..tended towards more shady economic activities.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:00 PM

You are on $45 per hour on a construction site in New York. Living in a nice apartment in Astoria. Good nightlife, good prospects and a good future ahead of you.

Incoming distress call from Ireland. “Come on home please! Drive 3 hours per day to your job. Work hard so the government can tax the bejasus out of your €19.25 per hour. Go home every week to astronomical size house bills in a house where you are paying €2000 per month in rent. No way of saving anything. No future”.

Yes, I think Harris might be on to something. Somebody call JFK and warn them of the massive crowds of Irish people who will be decending on the airport clamouring to get a plane home.

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:03 PM

@David Corrigan: that’s a labours wage. No trade worth his salt would be taking 19 euro an hour…. But your 100% right about everything else. I actually make LESS money abroad then I would in Ireland but have far more disposable income at the end of the month

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:09 PM

@Martin Mongan: Correct. I used labours rates. I know all about it. I lived over there for years and know the drill. Found it very difficult to keep money since I moved home. Cost of living is completely and utterly and TOTALLY out of control here.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:26 PM

@David Corrigan: not to mention you hit 40k and bam hello 40% tax. They must be on drugs if they think anyone is gonna come home just to pay through the nose for everything. I’d need to earn 300+ a day to have anywhere near the standard of living I have now

Mute David Owens
    Favourite David Owens
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:33 PM

@David Corrigan: well said David 100% correct on everything. You forgot one thing though the great weather we have to offer

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:45 PM

@David Owens: That’s true David. It can be cold in NY in the winter for sure!

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:46 PM

@Martin Mongan: Correct Martin. I am working on moving back again to be honest. Salaries there are massive compared to here. Cost of living is cheaper.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:49 PM

@David Corrigan: You talk as if there is a one way ticket from Ireland yet 30k Irish immigrants returned home last year, so people do come home and for all sorts of reasons.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Feb 12th 2024, 4:25 PM

@David Corrigan: Well said.

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:20 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: yes they do, and none of them are for financial reasons I can promise you that.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:28 PM

@Martin Mongan: some might do it for financial reasons, depending on their own personal circumstances. But lots weigh up the overall pros and cons, and still decide to come back despite that apoplectic scenario painted by the OP. That’s my point.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:37 PM

@Martin Mongan: got that spelling of apocalyptic wrong!! Haha

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Feb 12th 2024, 6:41 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: I didn’t say that. I’d have no problem moving home in my 60′s when my mortgage is cleared and my 401K is packed to the rafters with American dollars. I’d only have to worry about paying ESB/Gas and keep some grub on the table.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Feb 12th 2024, 7:13 PM

@David Corrigan: but you did say that – you suggested why would anyone move home to Ireland what with taxes, commute, rents, and no future. Your words. Now maybe you would move back home only in your 60’s, but not everyone is like you. As I said, 30k moved back last year, and many of these people are in their 30’s and 40’s. In addition, 26k EU citizens moved here last year. So my point is that lots of people, both Irish and not, choose to move here. Your post basically asked why the fu&k would anyone move here.

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Feb 12th 2024, 8:02 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: you really just nitpicking at this point. There’s not a single person who thought I’ll go back to Ireland because I’ll be better off financially, most returning either came home for family reasons, their visa expired etc or they just wanted to settle down. I’ll think you’ll find by the nature of this article, which is essentially begging us to come back home, that there is far more who leave and don’t come back. I came home in 2018 because I was sold a dream that construction was paying big money again. After spending 10 months in my mothers house and seeing the dire situation with housing I was gone again.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Feb 12th 2024, 8:27 PM

@Martin Mongan: I’m not nitpicking. There would be some, but few, who would make the decision for financial reasons – eg they may lose their job abroad, or they may get a better offer at home, or they may be coming from an even more expensive country. Most tho do it for all sorts of different reasons, and their comparative financial situation will form part of their decision. So these people who you say do it to settle down – do you not think that they consider the comparative financial situation? Yes lots don’t come back, but lots do and lots of non Irish also choose to live and work here. These decisions are much more nuanced than you’re suggesting.

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Feb 12th 2024, 9:11 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: because a lot of people are homebirds and want to start raising a family but want to do it around friends and family back home. Can you point to a more expensive country as % of wages? So for example, stuff in aus costs twice as much BUT the wages are 2x sometimes 3x what the wages would be, so it’s all relative. We’ve already established the wages are good in Ireland that’s in no doubt, but the cost of l living is also incredibly high. I’m sure there are *some* who are financially better off but they would be few and far between. Which is why every couple of years the government begs people in certain industries to come back. Today it’s builders, a couple of years ago it was nurses, in a couple of years it’ll be someone else

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Feb 12th 2024, 9:14 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: You are twisting words again. The cost of living is too high here. Salaries mean you survive only. That’s not living in my opinion. Read that again. MY OPINION.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Feb 12th 2024, 9:33 PM

@Martin Mongan: yes and despite all of that, 30k returned last year. That’s all I’m saying. Which is the opposite of what the OP said

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Feb 12th 2024, 9:34 PM

@David Corrigan: yes David I know your opinion. But despite that 30k Irish people moved back home last year

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Feb 12th 2024, 9:56 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: About 10.5K of those returning are from one year visa trips. 15K would be people moving back for family reasons but mostly because they are nearing retirement.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Feb 12th 2024, 10:26 PM

@David Corrigan: not too sure nearing retirement move back at all. They have roots and likely children in their host country. And what of the 30k EU citizens, 5k UK? All other economic migrants?

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Feb 12th 2024, 10:32 PM

@David Corrigan: and btw those who move back for family reasons: they need housing, need to commute, need a future…I’m sure they weigh up these factors plus finance yet still come. So the idea that we can’t encourage some construction workers to move back in not correct in my view, tho obviously their personal circumstances are key to the decision.

Mute Barry Woods
    Favourite Barry Woods
    Feb 13th 2024, 7:20 AM

@David Corrigan: and have a few beers in the Irish rover,

Mute ferrett
    Favourite ferrett
    Feb 12th 2024, 2:53 PM

Hahah yeah and to build homes that nobody will be able to afford

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Feb 12th 2024, 2:59 PM

@ferrett: Ah shu’r now wont the government get those vampire funds to buy them all up for us, so that we can rent forever.

Mute ferrett
    Favourite ferrett
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:16 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: I live near citywest, they’ve just built about 500 apartments all going straight to the rental market, bought by a vulture fund, can’t make it up

Mute Mike 100
    Favourite Mike 100
    Feb 12th 2024, 4:05 PM

@ferrett: vulture funds can afford them

Mute Derek Moran
    Favourite Derek Moran
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:57 PM

@ferrett: ffs

Mute John Meade
    Favourite John Meade
    Feb 12th 2024, 2:56 PM

This is hilarious, not long ago the government asked nurses to come home to help out and promised them great terms and conditions, only to screw them over on arrival. If the construction workers have any sense they will stay away, this government CANT be trusted on anything they say or promise

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Feb 12th 2024, 2:47 PM

Ye hurry home and sleep on your parents sofa the irony Lol

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:20 PM

@Liam Dunne: They must know it’s not the jobs, it’s the complete ‘Irish package’ that most are looking to escape from, healthcare, housing, transport, and on and on…

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:01 PM

We’ll come back tomorrow if it doesn’t involve spending half our wages on finding somewhere to live. There’s a reason we left in the place. How about sorting that out first?

Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    Feb 12th 2024, 4:38 PM

@Martin Mongan: 52% of everything over 42k, then an extortionate cost of living.. stay abroad, its not worth it.

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:28 PM

@Sean Murphy: no chance would I. There’s thousands upon thousands of irish builders in the uk and they have zero reason to come back

Mute James Carolan
    Favourite James Carolan
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:05 PM

Come home quickly, sleep in your parents house or in the back of a van and build homes for vulture funds to buy and rent back to you for mental money.

Mute plenty of smokey cheap coal coming across the bord
    Favourite plenty of smokey cheap coal coming across the bord
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:44 PM

My son came back with his new wife from Australia, unfortunately because she is not European she needs a stamp 4 visa and this can take up to 18 months. In the meantime she cannot work so both living here on 1 wage. So unless you have a European wife do not come home.

Mute Laois Weather
    Favourite Laois Weather
    Feb 12th 2024, 4:16 PM

Thought all the recent arrivals were to fill much needed jobs in construction and hospitality, etc… yet here we are asking for actual workers!

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:57 PM
    Mute Hugo Martinez
    Favourite Hugo Martinez
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:23 PM

I’m going now. I can’t wait to start building home for private landlord
    What a joke this country

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Feb 12th 2024, 4:24 PM

Stay away lads/ladies. There is no point in coming back here unless you want to go back to parents house. On top of that many stubbies got burnt last crash and weren’t looked after. Developers were able to walk away but the hard working were shafted. Leo gas some cheek.

Mute Eoghan Dowling
    Favourite Eoghan Dowling
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:25 PM

I think the irony is lost on him here

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:44 PM

Simple Simon wants them to come on home,sires that great,I’m sure they’ll be coming home in their droves,with nowhere to live and taxed out of existance,good man Simon your playing a blinder

Mute Carmel Odwyer
    Favourite Carmel Odwyer

The same construction workers you forced emigration upon after you bailed out the banks in 08?

Mute David Owens
    Favourite David Owens
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:36 PM

Is this clown for real ! Why did so many construction workers leave in the first place, yeah that’s right u ran the country off a cliff !

Mute Donal Ronan
    Favourite Donal Ronan
    Feb 12th 2024, 4:24 PM

Isn’t he the Minister with the makey up job. What has this to do with his portfolio. Surely it’s the Minister for Housing that should be doing this?.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:14 PM

I would strongly advise them to stay where they are. They would be working here just to pay bills. I made mistakes in life like everyone else,coming back here is top of the list though.

Mute Stephen Broderick
    Favourite Stephen Broderick
    Feb 12th 2024, 4:18 PM

If its to build homes to house irish people then I welcome them back but if its to build homes for Ukraine or illegal immigrants then the builders should stay where they are

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Feb 13th 2024, 7:50 PM

@Stephen Broderick: Selfishly, I wouldn’t care so long as someone manages to get houses built. It’s the shortage that’s making homes unaffordable here.

Mute Donna-Marie Marshall
    Favourite Donna-Marie Marshall
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:34 PM

There are already tonnes of construction workers in Ireland who got out of the business because they could be let go at a moments notice or had their own business and couldnt make ends meet after the taxman took a huge bite outta their arse. The biggest builder in my county just had a liquidator appointed… madness to invite people home when a living cant be made.

Mute Mike 100
    Favourite Mike 100
    Feb 12th 2024, 4:06 PM

@Donna-Marie Marshall: so they work for cash now,no taxman involved.

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Favourite Modern Irish Dad
    Feb 12th 2024, 2:46 PM

If you get a chance as well could you look at my sink. Thanks

Mute Kevin McCormack
    Favourite Kevin McCormack
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:04 PM

Same government who told them all to pi55 off in 2009,all the while looking after the big boys, some neck

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Feb 13th 2024, 7:52 PM

@Kevin McCormack: They must want extensions built onto their own places.

Mute Anthony Corbett
    Favourite Anthony Corbett
    Feb 12th 2024, 6:31 PM

Ha ha stay over there lads, ye be back a wet week and be done with the place again. Nothing has changed, all the same frustrations, annoyances, and costs. Everything is too expensive, can’t even have a good session any more because it costs €160 quid conservatively, a meal out probably about €100. The cinema is about€50, Can’t buy a house, can’t build a house, rent is mental if you can find a place to rent. They reduced the tax but increase the pension deductions, still paying USC, Still paying ASC. Health insurance is going up again, hundreds of thousands on health waiting lists, thousands on trolleys, it’s been raining since time immemorial, tens of thousands homeless, it’s the same auld broken country. But hey come back and help build some hedge funds investment houses !!!

Mute Melanie Keane
    Favourite Melanie Keane
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:02 PM

How embarrassing. In an ideal world a politician should at the very least take a mental aptitude test. How can someone so high up be so incredibly clueless.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty

@Melanie Keane: A made up job for him & he is so in tune with that, he has to stick his nose into every other department because Our Simon is so well educated he knows it all

Mute John doe
    Favourite John doe
    Feb 12th 2024, 4:21 PM

Omg will they ever learn, throwing good money after bad.
    They should be asking why skilled people left in the first place!
    For all the deductions taken from our weekly wage we get nothing in return for it. Go after the big tax evaders and you’ll get more respect from the middle class/Lower paid people of Ireland and you’d have a better chance of people returning home. Hopefully it’ll they’ll be better treated than the previous Irelands call for COVID medical skills with lesser obstacles or hoops to jump through

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Feb 13th 2024, 7:48 PM

@John doe: Yes, exactly. If they’re living independently in an affordable place of their own, I don’t know why they’d want to come back here to be treated like children.

Mute David Reilly
    Favourite David Reilly
    Feb 12th 2024, 2:53 PM

Temporary work visas for the people arriving into the country and benefit from the labor and tax before they find their forever home.

Mute Mary M
    Favourite Mary M
    Feb 12th 2024, 4:26 PM

Some neck!

Mute John Hendrick
    Favourite John Hendrick
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:42 PM

Our politicians are hilarious

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:03 PM

If yous are gone stay where you are

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Feb 12th 2024, 4:02 PM

Now the first thing ya do when ya get here is build your own house. Otherwise where ya gonna stay, mate? Now’s the time for women to show their true grit and equality and get in there with the digger and the muck! ‘CEO that trench!’

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:32 PM

I want one of those houses in Daley that they show in the previous Daft article.

Mute Patrice Ahern
    Favourite Patrice Ahern
    Feb 12th 2024, 7:34 PM

I try to be positive and there are certain things that should work out for those who might return. Keep in mind though that your car insurance will have gone beyond a joke because you have not driven here in recent times. The term “rip-off” continues to come mind.

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Feb 12th 2024, 6:40 PM

… but we don’t have any homes you’ll be able to afford, and the homes you’ll be building will only be affordable to a tiny percentage of the population…

Mute marklars81
    Favourite marklars81
    Feb 12th 2024, 4:06 PM

Sometimes the grass is greener.

Mute Paul Kavanagh
    Favourite Paul Kavanagh
    Feb 12th 2024, 3:48 PM

Pathetic. Stay where ye are folks.

Mute Mark Gaffney
    Favourite Mark Gaffney
    Feb 12th 2024, 7:52 PM

Anyone with sense will stay well away. Dubai are having a similar drive for construction workers. Ireland has no chance of getting the construction workers it drove away 15-16 years ago

Mute Jenny Brandon
    Favourite Jenny Brandon
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:45 PM

What planet is Simon Harris and the rest of his cronies living on? Come home if they pay you and vote these as’holes out and go back to where you have a good living. Mammy & Daddy have reared you to be independent, not to come home to sleep on their sofa. If they are building houses for Irish homeless, I’ll sign up myself!

Mute sam o brien
    Favourite sam o brien
    Feb 12th 2024, 7:58 PM

Where will all these workers suppose to live in overpopulated ireland?

Mute Clau O'Riordan
    Favourite Clau O'Riordan
    Feb 12th 2024, 4:40 PM

He gonna give this people where to live

Mute sam o brien
    Favourite sam o brien
    Feb 12th 2024, 7:55 PM

Where will all these workers live in overpopulated ireland?

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2024, 11:12 PM

@sam o brien: You can say that again !

Mute RoDoe
    Favourite RoDoe
    Feb 12th 2024, 8:34 PM

Do something about the mess that it is for people to move back home and then people may consider it.
    Well documented on the many Irish expats groups on Facebook.
    Revenue on the ports are a law onto themselves – seizing used tools etc by returning tradespeople (even garden tools)
    Car insurance – you have no Irish history over the past 10 years so top rates apply
    Among many other things made ridiculously difficult eg bank accounts, proof of address,
    Many of us were turfed out during the gfc where only alternative to leaving was to become a dole drain on the taxpayer. Now that many want to return, due to various reasons (my own being family), it’s apparent that all the cogs in the system want you returning with cap in hand only, almost a punishment for leaving in the first place

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Feb 12th 2024, 7:30 PM

They would have come home move back to mam s that the main reason left as could not get place own . Time for change definitely this government had failed so much

Mute William Rymer
    Favourite William Rymer
    Feb 12th 2024, 5:10 PM

Pay them to return.

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Feb 12th 2024, 8:18 PM

Please Come home to vote FFG frauds out

Mute G
    Favourite G
    Feb 12th 2024, 8:18 PM

Come back lads. You can build your own gaf..actually no wait you won’t get planning permission for that! Just come back it’ll be grand.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Feb 12th 2024, 7:24 PM

What are people whining about we have plenty of fields to use with tents temporarily like the one in stradbally which was temporary and still in use of course,nothing thought out no forward planning. No long term trajectory, everything done without long term planning, country is finished they made a right balls of it.

Mute ethan gannon
    Favourite ethan gannon
    Feb 12th 2024, 9:58 PM

Come build houses that you’ll never be able to afford please and thanks

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Feb 12th 2024, 9:48 PM

Where will they live???

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Feb 12th 2024, 7:28 PM

. Not going come home wages way better and cost leaving more affordable.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2024, 11:20 PM

Imagine asking people to return home to build houses that they themselves could never afford. The same houses that very likely will be sold to a vulture fund.
    How about this for a suggestion regarding housing in this country. In order to buy a house you must have a PPS number. One number one house.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Feb 13th 2024, 7:45 PM

@John Smith: I’d suggest also getting rid of property tax and keeping it for people with a few houses.

Mute Nickb
    Favourite Nickb
    Feb 12th 2024, 8:54 PM

We have too many ‘white hard hats’ and not enough ‘yellow hard hats’ !

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Feb 13th 2024, 7:32 AM

Irish builders to come home and build houses but not for the Irish.

Mute Liam Lynch
    Favourite Liam Lynch
    Feb 13th 2024, 3:20 AM

I worked back home for a year and I’m still paying tax for it , not a hope of returning to pay more than 50% in tax, never want to work back in Ireland again its a joke,

Mute Watchtower #61
    Favourite Watchtower #61
    Feb 12th 2024, 10:26 PM

Catch22 for Simon and the Groupthinktanking FFG.
    Perhaps he could take the mike (..the other mike) before the Wales match for his special rendition of Ireland’s Call.

Mute Dave Geraghty
    Favourite Dave Geraghty
    Feb 13th 2024, 7:29 AM

We need you to build homes and then our policies will inevitably make you leave again

Mute Shivers
    Favourite Shivers
    Feb 13th 2024, 6:32 AM

Plenty of mica house to be rebuilt in Donegal.