You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
A SINN FEIN motion, which states that the party’s only objective should be to form a “broad left-wing government comprising parties and independents of a similar political ideology”, has been amended ahead of the party’s Ard Fheis today.
The original clár published this week shows the original motion was put down by the Templeogue/ Terenure cumman.
However, Pearse Doherty said this week the branch which proposed this motion has agreed to accept an amendment from Ard Comhairle.
The amended motion now merely states that the party should attempt to form a government after the next election.
The change to the motion clearly shows that party headquarters would prefer to keep the door open to talks with other parties – such as Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael – following the next general election.
The Donegal TD said his party want to “go in and lead a progressive government”.
He said they would like to be the largest party in government, but said Sinn Féin is prepared to “step up” and talk to all independents, small parties and large parties.
Getting cosy
In recent months, the new party leader, Mary Lou McDonald has been accused of “cosying up” to Taoiseach Leo Varadkar.
Gone are the days when the pair would heckle one another from across the Dáil chamber. Instead, there are cordial exchanges, even polite remarks and compliments swapped between the two leaders.
Despite, McDonald calling Varadkar “smarmy” in one recent interview, the Dublin TD told this publication recently that she is open to work with anyone.
Even ‘smarmy’ guys?
“Can I work with a ‘smarmy’ guy?” she returns our question.
“I mean can he work with a ‘cranky’ woman – these are all the questions of our time,” she joked, referencing a comment made about her by Leo Varadkar in the Dáil.
“I am going to fight for every vote, every seat we can get and I will talk to everybody. I think that is the right thing to do,” she told TheJournal.ie.
However, despite the motion being amended this weekend to leave the door open to the likes of Fine Gael, Doherty does not have confidence in any of them, it would seem.
No confidence in Fine Gael
“We have no confidence in Eoghan Murphy. We also have no confidence in Simon Harris, we also have no confidence in Leo Varadkar – we are not the party keeping this government in place,” said Doherty, clearly pointing to Fianna Fáil, a party that has categorically ruled out going into government with Sinn Féin in the future.
Another motion to be voted on today notes that other minority partners in government have suffered losses (most recently, the Labour Party, which fell from 15 seats to seven).
It states these parties “abandoned their principles in favour of short-sighted gains”.
This is the what Sinn Féin will be cognisant to avoid in the uncharted territory it might itself in – government formation negotiations.
Since the last election, the party has faced criticism that it would not even entertain the notion of talks with other parties in relation to forming a government. Sinn Féin maintain no one would speak to them.
If they face down that criticism, get down to talks and do enter as a junior government partner, the party will have to strike a balance.
It will have to be seen to fight for its key causes and principles, and not be rolled over by the larger party. However, the party will also have to prove that it is capable of leading – that it won’t pull the whole show down over an arbitrary issue.
It would be a difficult balancing act.
If Mary Lou wants to be “Tánaiste” or “Taoiseach Mary Lou” (which she recently said had a nice ring to it) then her party might be wary of removing lines which reference their “left-wing” ideals.
Sinn Féin will need to ensure its supporters don’t think the idea of the “left” has been totally removed from the party’s ideals – otherwise it could be waiting another five years for an opportunity.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
67 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Given their non existing relationship with the left parties this is just another ploy to stay in opposition and contribute nothing as usual and cream the state for all they can get .
A quick look to Dublin West left in the last GE will show the toxic attitude SF have for other left parties
But work away Mary spout the populist sound bites that the SF spin want out there ;)
@Michael Powell: 100% .They would ruin this country economically to create a welfare state and also ruin our international standing for their own goals
@Nigel Hayden: Nobody here has said they have ?? Just because somebody posts a negative comment about SF it doesn’t automatically make them a fan of FF/FG . Try think outside the box somethimes
@Gordon Hughes: I agee 100% they have no intention of going into power whatsoever. They know all the BS they are spouting is completely unworkable and unrealistic and if they were to get into power they would be founf out.
@Dermot Dinan: They’ve promised free education, free housing, living wages and many more things, the only way they can pay for all of this is to increase taxation, they’ll ruin foreign investment and drive out foreign comapanies . Leaving it all on the workers to pay for . Leaving the workers with even less than we have now . In short SF ate an economic disaster waiting to happen to ireland . Much worse than weve seen already .
@Peter Cavey: She talks a good fight but when called to take action within party – she immediately turns the army council for advise and has been aided by RTE journalists to prevaricate when honest answers are required especially re bulling within her party. SF are not left wing as all their TDS and reps are well off.
@Dan: Bearing in mind how a coaition with FG destroyed Labour credibility, SF should rule out any future coalition with FG on the basis of incompatible policies.
@Stephen Kearon: hypothetically, if a coalition was being formed and SF were the majority party, the rest of them would be tripping over themselves to partner up with them. Everyone has a price.
@Stephen Kearon: LOL – fancy seeing YOU of all people on a Sinn Féin article, The Famous Fianna Fáil supporter was a special advisor to Dick Roche, the Same Stephen Kearon who charged way over the odds to run a website for the same party the same fella who had to withdraw from Fianna Fáil internal elections after his terrible twitter actions.
Fianna Fáil has now released a statement distancing the party from the comments.
It said his tweets “do not in any way represent the views” of the party, describing the comments as “totally unacceptable”.
@Stephen Kearon: Hey Stephen Kearon, remember that time you stood for election for FF in Wicklow and got a grand total of 57 votes!! How unpopular can you be when even including family and friends, you can’t even get any more than 57 votes! Must be because you’re such a hate filled little man!
@Tír Eoghain Gael: at least stephen has the balls to to not hide behind an anon account . No fan of FF but he stands behind his beliefs and not hide behind troll accs .
@Clifford Brennan: TEG is probably on these lads/women that has never had a positove contribution to anything he has ever been involved with. Abuse everybody, sling person insults all from the confort of an anon acc . In other words a spineless quisling
@Gordon Hughes: I could muster more than 57 votes all the same! Perhaps is Stephen hasn’t such a history of hate filled views, he could too. And as I’ve said before though, I have no problem telling anyone here my name. In all likelihood you still won’t know me from Adam so not sure what the benefit will be to you. And Stephen Kearons has a history of nasty, hate filled, abusive behaviour, so I don’t give a toss if someone calling him out on it does so under their own name or an anonymous nickname.
@Tír Eoghain Gael: i’ve come across stephen before and read his thoughts amd musings , But lets be honest for every SK the shinnerbots out number him and his bile 10 to 1. Faceless trolls hise their faces and names for a reason.No doubt you are no different .
They should set their terms for coalition as an end to water charges and Irish Water. Show the public that FF could have done so 2 years ago as the cost of propping up FG.
@James Gorman: No we won’t. All the water charges were going to cover was the cost of the issuing the water charges. Our water infrastructure would still be exactly the same as it is now so please don’t peddle that nonsense. Also, the government could easily get people on board with water charges if they blocked off their planned route to privatise it later on, but the grubby little slíbhíns just refuse to give us that referendum.
I’m not going to cave just because the stubborn b@stards won’t. They will again come next election time though.
@Joe Phillips: the entire system needs an upgrade, what we have at the moment is substandard and out dated major pipes bursting all over the country but what we have will be grand cause how says so!
@Joe Phillips: so should we increase taxes to fix the pipes or should we further neglect the housing issue or the health system to pay for upgrades. Typical shinner attitude of getting someone else to pay for it. T
@Michael Powell: We should first ascertain where all our existing taxes are going, Michael. We’re paying a lot of it as it is. The only problem is it’s not being well utilised. Let’s start by looking at TDs’ gold-plated pensions.
Shinners run with the hare hunt with hound Marxist cowboys
Free housing for all, free healthcare, free education, open borders, feck all taxation too they would destroy this country in a flash I used to think that as just a FG FG Kind I’d statement but they are economic illiterate and a toxic brand who love George Soros
@Chris Hop: The country is destroyed as it stands, unless you’re one of the well connected. People are no more than cash cows for the rich under FG’s minority government.
@Dave Doyle: Yeah the rich are really creaming it in this country with marginal tax rates hitting 52%, some of the highest inheritance taxes in the world, business regulations coming out of your eyeballs. Still, look on the bright side, if the South Dublin socialist brigade had their way we’d be Greece right now.
This could be a good move if it plays out OK for Mary and if it does it would be great to see them then finally take seats up north and get on with government business. Who knows maybe even play politics and take seats in WM to fight for their citizens rights as they have been elected to do. I genuinely believe more can be achieved sitting at the table than abstaining and living in the wilderness.
Ever since the infamous 1977 Lynch giveaway election manifesto, this country has been steadily drifting to the left to the point that we now have a defacto centre left national government. No wonder Labour have been destroyed electorally – FG and FF have essentially taken their lefty policies! And now, Comrade McDonald, the Trinners radical who has managed to afford a mansion in Cabra(all on the average industrial wage), is telling us we need to go even further to the left into the lunatic socialist realm. What a crazy country – a centre left national government with the lunatic left as a political opposition.
If you’re still thinking of voting SF why not do some research on what socialism does to a country – how about starting with Venezuela? how about starting with Venezuela? https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/14/world/americas/venezuela-oil-economy.html
@Brian Deane: Her husband works in Bord Gais, first as a gas control superintendent, then moved into the emergency dispatch division, He earns a very decent wage,
So your idea of her somehow getting this “Mansion” in any other way than how everyone else pays for a mortgage is simply you trying to muddy the waters and make something out of nothing.
PLUS the US sanctions on Venezuela is what is crippling their economy as they are frozen out of everywhere the US has it`s tentacles.
But keep floating your lies and innuendo like the slimy little FG lapdog that you are
I’m not sure this is the right move for SF. I just hope Mary Lou isn’t so desperate to get into power for power’s sake, become a mud guard for FG like the Labour party did.
If the intention is to fight hard to push SF policies, and she succeeds, then it might be worth it.
@Dave Doyle: I’d be less concerned about McDonald’s precious ego and a lot more concerned for the people of this country if people are subjected socialist slogan policies that have failed abysmally everywhere they have tried. See above link on Venezuela, oil rich country and victim of Chavez and Maduro socialist policies.
@Brian Deane: Venezuela are victims of the US sanctions policy , but that narrative doesn`t suit you at all does it?
Trump’s Sanctions Make Economic Recovery in Venezuela Nearly Impossible
The new financial embargo will worsen shortages, inflict suffering, and restrict Venezuela’s policy options.
@Pearse Mc Mullen: But isn’t the US the great Satan. Why would the great Bolivarian revolution need to borrow money or sell assets in the US. These very limited sanctions haven’t even been applied yet. The crack pot socialists Chavez/Maduro and his cronies are responsible for the starvation and ruin that has been wrought on Venezuela. Shame on you.
There isn’t a single success story for parties entering government as minority partners in a coalition. There never will be. The minority partner takes the blame for everything that goes wrong and gets wiped out while the majority partner gets the all clear within one election cycle in the worst case.
The sinn fein leadership are chomping at the bit to go into power with fine gael, after all both party leaders are so similar its uncanny. Both middle class private school educated who havent a clue what ordinary working class Republicans have went through and go through on a daily basis.
@Patrick O Connell: they are doing what the nationalists in the north want an end to the loyalist dectectatorship. The will go back into power when foster and co realise they can’t continue to ignore the rights of the nationalists. As for taking their seats in Westminster they got voted in on their promise not to. Doing something a lot of parties forget about when they get into government.
@Patrick O Connell: we know why they pulled the plug and their voters support it. Equal rights for all what’s so wrong with that. Pressure should be put on the DUP to cop on and stop being dectators.
Surely another step in the developing friendship with the Blueshirts, they will come together to make a Government, Leo the Fool will do anything to stay in the limelight, but he may not be as popular as he thinks. The decent people of Ireland won’t forget his performance for all out abortion.
Prediction – SF won’t do any better next time out. Their momentum was for change – no change being part of an established order who have left this county in debt to the tune of 200 billions and many social ills. Lost a lot of support by agreeing to be the junior party in any potential coalition.
Fears Irish jobs may be at risk as Intel global quarterly earnings set to be released later
Andrew Walsh
reports from Leixlip
24 mins ago
European Citizens Initiative
Over 1.2 million people sign petition to EU calling for financial support for abortions
35 mins ago
Courts
Trial underway for Dublin man charged with murder of girlfriend while on holiday in Spain
20 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 175 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 117 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 155 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 121 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 87 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 88 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 42 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 143 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 67 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 83 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 90 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 52 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 28 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 107 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 76 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 57 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 96 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 77 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say