You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Kieran McCarthy and Melissa Mullane

One month on, Sinn Féin has un-expelled this Cork councillor

An investigation into financial irregularities is ongoing.

SINN FÉIN HAS confirmed it has lifted the expulsion of Cork councillor Kieran McCarthy.

The Cobh-based councillor was expelled last month amid controversy over tensions with Sinn Féin TD Sandra McLellan and loans he took out in the party’s name for the local elections last year.

Mallow-based councillor Melissa Mullane was also suspended for one year following an internal review.

Sinn Féin’s national chairperson Declan Kearney today confirmed that Mullane’s request for an appeal into her suspension has been granted by the party’s Ard Chomhairle.

He also noted that McCarthy’s expulsion has been lifted “in order to allow him a further opportunity to assist the party in its investigation of financial irregularities in the accounts of Cobh Cumann, which is on-going”.

McCarthy denies any wrongdoing and has threatened to sue the party.

There had been tensions in the constituency when both councillors declared interest in running for the Dáil, putting McLellan’s future in doubt.

As the review was taking place, an anonymous blog, ‘An Rebel Óg’, strongly criticised McLellan’s performance as a TD.

Sinn Féin previously said it would not be making details of the review public.

Read: Expelled Sinn Féin councillor could sue the party

Read: What on earth is going on with Sinn Féin in Cork East?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

79 Comments
    Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:56 PM

So a publicly elected representative was expelled for a breach of conduct rules, their party demanded they resign their position (which the public had elected them to), when that was refused a story about an apparent theft/misdirection of charitable funds was leaked, the party then confirmed they had no intention at any point of clarifying why they sacked a public official (apparently not in the public interest), they are now un-sacked and we still have no official comment from the party in question?

Transparency 2015.

Beginning to think we should force every political party in the country formed prior to 2015 to disband and we can then just start again.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:13 PM

Has his wife given a statement yet on social media?

She’ll tell it straight like last time

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:17 PM

Why what did she say last time?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:03 PM

Where’s the transparency? Respect for democracy?

One rule for the Shinners, another rule for everyone else.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:28 PM

Shills for FG, talks about transparency.

Comical.

Mute Peter Grimes
    Favourite Peter Grimes
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:41 PM

A FG MONKEY, talking about transparency, what next.

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Favourite Sunshine on a rainy
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:46 PM

For Connolly, you’re the biggest shill around

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:54 PM

FG have fallen down on transparency on multiple occasions. And deserve to be criticised for such.

Irony is, the resident shinner trolls above never have a bad thing to say about their beloved cult. Double standards. Hypocrites one and all.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 21st 2015, 5:42 PM

‘Shills for FG talk about transparency’

I’m a PBP voter like you chum.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:36 PM

What a shambles

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:54 PM

Lanignas Ball (I stepped in you stepped out again) OR the hokey pokey (In Out In Out shake it all about).

Banana Party for a Banana Republic.

Mute Sam Fallon
    Favourite Sam Fallon
    Jul 21st 2015, 5:47 PM

Concerned parents -they should ask one of their councillors about that

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Jul 21st 2015, 8:58 PM

Flip flop. Flip flop. Flip flop.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:29 PM

Ding, popcorn time!

Have to say lads, watching the minions of the party behind Irish Water, the siteserv shambles, the Nama debacle, botched crony appointments to seanad seats, taking medical cards from children with cancer etc. claim Sinn Fein can’t get anyhing right has provided me with ample sustenance during my lunch break.

Cheers for that!

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:36 PM

Note whatsboutery and changing the subject from ‘we’re jamming’, who isn’t a SF supporter. So he claims.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:37 PM

Jammin – more whataboutery. What about Cork and SF/IRA?

See 30 more replies ▾
    Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:42 PM

Whataboutery? More like chuckling at the political equivalent of Quazimodo telling you that you have bad posture.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:42 PM

don’t mind werejammin. his previous episodes include: article on republican child abusers – werejammin reminds us that the author supports water charges. no, really.

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:44 PM

Were jamming, you lambast people for not sticking to topic.. Anything to deflect. SF, the IRA.. Paedophiles and killers.

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:45 PM

Remind us again why you got banned under your previous name were jamming/Connolly?

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:47 PM

When Jammin’s about
    Honesty heads south

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:48 PM

Always I know I’m doing something right when the minions rally….

Good times

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:49 PM

Jammin – journal.ie record holder for most red thumbs ever for saying it legal to attack the gardai

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:10 PM

Baz, diarmuid, tap, mk hold the journal record for most consistent red thumbs in general. 80% of people never agree with what you say.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:16 PM

“Jammin – journal.ie record holder for most red thumbs ever for saying it legal to attack the gardai”

Can you back that up with a link, or is it another one of your now infamous porkies?

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:31 PM

“Can you back that up with a link, or is it another one of your now infamous porkies?”

Bahahahaha, now what do you think? :-)

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:48 PM

Jammin is shitting his pants since the social democrats were formed, who will split the vote with Sinn Fein and leave both with only a few seats each!

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:01 PM
    Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:04 PM

Good boy diarmuid, now post the relevant sentence so people can see how dishonest yourself and baz are being…

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:12 PM

2280 people (impressive) disagreed with you advocating the breaking of the law. Maith an buachaill Jamsy.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:17 PM

@ pepper : “Jammin is shitting his pants since the social democrats were formed”

http://www.thejournal.ie/profile/380833/stephen-donnelly-best-td-dailcatherine-murphy-best-public-4011691/

For Connolly
    Thu 10:08 AM #
    Stephen Donnelly – Best TD in the Dail
    Catherine Murphy – Best public representative in the Dail
    Roisin Shortall – One of the most principled and genuine TDs in the Dail
    Damn right I’d vote for them. It will be interesting to see who they run in my constituency.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:21 PM

I’ll try again diarmuid, which sentence agrees with bazs claim of ‘Jammin – journal.ie record holder for most red thumbs ever for saying it legal to attack the gardai’

Whers the statement that ‘its legal to attack the gardai’?

Take your time…..

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:22 PM

Diarmuid would you consider yourself a support of any particular party?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:35 PM

@FC your statement was pretty repulsive. Gardaí protect us from law breakers. People can (and have) made up their mind on your statement.

@charlie Not really, don’t support a particular party like a cult/soccer team. Plenty of good people scattered across the centrist parties. Fewer on the extremes. Certainly not a fan of a certain political wing of a terrorist organisation. But people have figured out as much at this stage!

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc

Monkey man are you losing the plot have you got files on everyone who comments on this site? It really is time you got a life boy.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:42 PM

So you have a link to the relevant comment diarmuid, or will we stick you on the pile with baz?

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:48 PM

@ Diarmuid

Cheers for the reply.

Mute the militant toker
    Favourite the militant toker
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:50 PM

diarmuid,baz,sunshine etc. do you work for the journal.ie? all you ever do is deflect, what do you think about the TTIP agreement?. Dear journal.ie why don’t you ever mention TTIP and it’s consequences for the the Irish citizens????

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:55 PM

TTIP for Liam McCarthy.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 21st 2015, 5:59 PM

@jammin 2,283 red thumbs can’t be wrong chum. You are trying to rewrite history like the shinners.

Congrats on the record again bud

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 21st 2015, 7:12 PM

Caught spoofing again baz

Baz
    4 hours ago # 44 51
    Jammin – journal.ie record holder for most red thumbs ever for saying it legal to attack the gardai

Again, back up your claim with the post claiming that its ‘legal to attack the gardai’

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 21st 2015, 7:31 PM

Diarmuid gave it to you. It’s all there in all its glory.

The red thumbs have even been added to as well chum. Your record will take some beating bud

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 21st 2015, 7:43 PM

Post the sentence which backs up your claim.

Neither of you spoofers have been able to do so.

I’ll be bookmarking this thread as yet more evidence of your dishonesty.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jul 21st 2015, 8:35 PM

run forest, run…..

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 21st 2015, 9:05 PM

Jammin, you having difficulty reading what you said chum? – read your first line ya tool. You’re having a hissy fit

It’s something you should be proud of – the record is a great achievement for you. You must be happy to have achieved this honorable record and recognition for the low life standards you exude on a daily basis mo chara

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 22nd 2015, 12:25 AM

Your claim:
    “Jammin – journal.ie record holder for most red thumbs ever for saying it legal to attack the gardai”

First & second sentence (for context):

“They do actually, as long as they’re willing to be removed/arrested and possibly be done for trespassing. You are free to break any law as long as you are willing to take the consequences under the law.”

No mention of anyone stating its legal to attack Gardai.

Caught spoofing again baz. You should run for FG in the election.

Mute Shinnér Ó Bót
    Favourite Shinnér Ó Bót
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:36 PM

Welcome back to the Struggle comrade.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:43 PM

Due process must be adhered to maybe.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:14 PM

Kangaroo court returned a verdict of not guilty

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:15 PM

Sinn Fein. The party of forgiveness.

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:15 PM

Not so long ago expulsion would have meant a bullet and an unmarked grave, no 2nd chances.

SF have now ‘moved on’ and when a mistake is made their is a chance of a reprieve.

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Jul 22nd 2015, 1:43 AM

SF are very quiet about the current “plantation” of Ireland AKA the Government Resettlement (forget asylum) plan which we have been going through for the last 20 odd years! Strange that!!!!

Funny! more are arriving VIA the UK now that back in the origional plantations!

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:55 PM

Did SF get something wrong what a surprise

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:08 PM

And if they didn’t do anything and hid it. Like the tax dodging shower in certain parties you would have said liars or cheats or something stupid. And as for likes of diarmuid etc.. crawl back under your rock

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:18 PM

can’t wait to see what spin the shinner fleas here will put on this.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:20 PM

I usually support their policy and actions, this however is disappointing. The issue sounds resolved for the party but not for the people they represent

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:23 PM

Kevin you don’t qualify as a shinner flea. you seem capable of independent thinking. please move along now…

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:53 PM

More twists then a Fabian Delph football transfer.

Mute Kaz Kork
    Favourite Kaz Kork
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:07 PM

Thank God he stayed with us.

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:34 PM

More twists then a Fine Gael heave.I’d say

Mute Infidel
    Favourite Infidel

More twists than Paul Murphy’s support for Syriza.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:13 PM

Majority in the Dail?

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahabababahahabahabahahahahahahahahabaa.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:19 PM

Very likely they will be largest opposition party in the state as fianna fail / fine gael coalition most likely. unless a socialist party, social democrats or renua have a sudden massive expansion

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:27 PM

So you’ve went from lambasting SF over party secrecy – then ask me what his wife said – then say SF will most likely have a majority and then say they’ll be a majority behind FG & FF.

You do realise SF have last over 30% of their polling vote in last 2 months

No offense – but if I need a clown ill text ya

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:07 PM

Alan are you looking forward to fgs votes being slashed in half practically come general election? Water anyone? #irbc #irishwater #siteserv #dob

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:10 PM

As much as I want to promote sinn fein policy this structural issue of secrecy in the party is seriously concerning and something they would want to solve before they take a majority in the dail

Mute Declan McCabe
    Favourite Declan McCabe
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:59 PM

Don’t worry Kevin. SF will have plenty of time to sort that issue out before they have a majority of seats.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:42 PM

Would the word for such circumstance perhaps be “impelled “?

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:54 PM

Terrible stench of burnt tyres,burnt tricolours burnt Catholic school uniforms wafting from the long term unemployed Est Belfast bigot.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke

I seem to recall Councillor McCarthy threatened legal action because of the expulsion and related matters. I wonder if that had anything to do with his reinstatement?

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:37 PM

Ta Bron orm, should have read, Ard Comhairle

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:41 PM

Was this decided by a kangaroo?

Mute the militant toker
    Favourite the militant toker
    Jul 21st 2015, 4:52 PM

tap. go back to the bonfire Ye dopey billy

Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:54 PM

Sinn fein can control what he says in public now as he is back under their protective wing. Seems he was going to let the cats out out of the bag. Nothing to see here, move along.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Jul 21st 2015, 5:12 PM

Hurleys with nails needed?

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:36 PM

Kevin, I think Fianna Fail policy is to not join with Fine Gael in government, they will, probably have an Are Fheis just before the next election but, I’d half expect Martin and his cronies will have enough to do keeping their internal party roles to worry about persuading FF to potentially enter government with their sworn enemies.
    I might be wrong but I suspect another rainbow of FG, ILP and some indo’s next time out with we ourselves being main opposition and FF the new Greens.
    Good to see some semblance of democracy in the party once ruled by Gerry and his Connelly house cabinet, although Connelly himself is probably dizzy spinning in Arbour Hill, not SF spin.
    Their Address Comhairle have taken the wisest choice and will see the councillor assigned a new constituency for the forthcoming election, what the core of the dispute was in the first place.

Mute kevinhunt101
    Favourite kevinhunt101
    Jul 21st 2015, 6:39 PM

“The money was just resting in my account”

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Jul 23rd 2015, 11:01 AM

MEDIA RELEASE

McCarthy Rejects Cynical Sinn Fein Offer
    22-7-15

Former Sinn Fein Councillor Kieran McCarthy has decided to not engage with Sinn Fein in its current ‘out – in’ excercise around his recent expulsion from the party.

“ In attempting to rescind my expulsion, Sinn Fein are acknowledging that their original decision was unfair and unlawful. Due to the manner with which I have been treated by the party, I do not intend to engage with them any further.”

“I have no faith or confidence in receiving justice through the party’s questionable internal structures and procedures.”

“After further consultation with my legal advisors MJ.O’Connor’s this evening, I am now strongly considering issuing legal proceedings against Sinn Fein.” End.

Mute Simon Monk
    Favourite Simon Monk
    Jul 21st 2015, 8:33 PM

I think FF have maybe served their time. They’ve been destoyed by the last election and have some dynamic new blood in the party that might help as part of a new coalition government