You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Analysis
Is Sinn Féin ready to lead the next government?
The party is more popular than ever and has its eye on becoming the senior coalition partner.
5.00pm, 6 Mar 2015
SINN FÉIN HAS never been more popular in the Republic.
The party regularly achieves above 20% in opinion polls – placing it neck-and-neck, or sometimes more popular, than Fine Gael – the largest party in the state and, of course, the senior government partner.
Gerry Adams and co have repeatedly said they’re not necessarily vying for a place in cabinet, but one eye is certainly fixed on becoming an even more dominant player in Leinster House.
Gerry Adams PA Wire / Press Association Images
PA Wire / Press Association Images / Press Association Images
So, is the party ready for its role in the next Dáil – be it in power or opposition?
The ‘broken calculator’
Sinn Féin has repeatedly been criticised for its approach to economics – with Fine Gael, in particular, taking every opportunity they can to poke holes in, and fun at, the party’s mathematical ability.
So @FineGael, did he actually answer any of those questions or did he just keep waffling until he ran out of time à la Leaders Questions?
Pearse Doherty, the party’s finance spokesperson, and others have repeatedly rejected claims that Sinn Féin pre-budget submission doesn’t add up – noting it has been fully costed.
Currently, the Department of Finance costs individual budget measures for opposition parties, but there is no facility for analysing the cumulative effect of budget measures and how they would impact on the economy.
When Doherty spoke to us about how the party would recoup the money lost by abolishing water charges, the Department of the Environment were critical, saying: “Yet again Sinn Féin’s calculator isn’t working.”
In an interview with TheJournal.ie last month, party leader Adams said he didn’t need to be good at maths as he’s “good as politics”.
Opinion polls showed a slight dip in Adams’ popularity following the controversy. However, the party’s support level has remained relatively unscathed.
Sit-in
The day after the abuse debate, the Dáil was adjourned after Mary Lou McDonald staged a four-hour sit-in. Sinn Féin’s deputy leader made the stand (for want of a better phrase) after Joan Burton failed to answer certain questions about Irish Water.
Many labelled the protest a stunt, given its timing – something McDonald was quick to deny.
Deputy McDonalds antics are clearly designed to draw attention away from SF/IRA's disgraceful behaviour re child sex abuse. Nothing more.
Adams’ four-day detention in Antrim by police investigating the IRA abduction and murder of Jean McConville in 1972 was deemed by many in the party as politically-motivated.
Regardless, Sinn Féin had great results in the local and European elections later that month. Speaking following his release, Adams said he was innocent of any involvement in the murder of McConville.
Mary Lou McDonald and Gerry Adams PA Wire / Press Association Images
PA Wire / Press Association Images / Press Association Images
Despite all of the controversy, the party continues to go from strength to strength.
Last summer Eoin Ó Broin, an economic advisor to Sinn Féin and councillor in Clondalkin, said the party was “nowhere near ready” to go into government but added there was time to “get ready” before the next election.
And that’s exactly what they’ve been doing.
Martin McGuinness and Gerry Adams AP / Press Association Images
AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images
This weekend is the party’s opportunity to cement the gains it has made, in what could be its last national conference before the general election. They’ll also have the opportunity to confirm their policy on a number of contentious issues such as abortion.
Speaking on Morning Ireland today, Doherty and several other members of Sinn Féin said the party would not make the same “mistake” as Labour: going in as a junior coalition partner. If in power, they want to be the senior partner – pure and simple.
Otherwise, the plan is to remain a major opposition player.
In January, Adams said the current government is “on its last legs” and Sinn Féin is ready for power – as soon as the public gives it to them.
Is that time now imminent?
Originally published: 6.04am
Follow @orlaryan and @TJ_Politics for updates from the Sinn Féin Ard Fheis in Derry this weekend.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
I honestly dont think Sinn Fein want to be in power. Their increase in popularity is partly down to saying no to everything and basically opposing anything the government does or suggests. Easy to do when you’re sitting on opposition benches. Not so easy to do when you’re running a country and have to balance the books
Beyond the two or three key personalities, Sinn Fein have a serious lack of in depth talent. If they were to take a position in government who would fill the fifteen or so ministerial/junior ministerial roles. O’Snodaigh can barely string a couple of coherent words together and there quite a few like him who aren’t much better there at the moment.
At least SF won’t be hiring professional advisers.
No one with qualifications or experience could convert their hair-brained populist policies into practical actions without causing serious damage to whatever area of responsibility they were hired to advise on.
They have already stated that they would only be in government if they were the largest party. That’s not going to happen after the next general election.
That’s a real fear I have, johngahan. If SF made it to government, it would have to fill those advisors roles with it’s supporters, many of whom would be long term members of SF (I.e. before their recent austerity bounce) & individuals on the fringes of communities. While I could get around to trusting the team around Doherty and even Mary-Lou, the core supporters of Ferris, o’Snodaigh and Adams are a different kettle of fish.
When SF do get into power imagine if they got access to the justice department… would be great fun to see the files they have on themselves i’m sure… ‘oh look i was in the IRA after all’.
Charles, that is such a really ridiculous statement!! And I take serious offence! Rethink your attitude please, what makes you think that we wouldn’t be up at this time, going to a normal job or uni or volunteering or doing whatever any other party’s supporters do!
Hangovers..they’re still in bed… students who vote SF now – will get sense when they are in full-time employment, everyone has been there – radical student to pragmatist usually takes about five years post third level.
Beano… Your comment is at 64 red thumbs and 250 green thumbs (8.50am). Lets see if the stereotype about SF supporters rising later than others is based on truth. Will the red thumbs increase as the day goes on! Check back in about 4 or 5 hours!
Johnny Five – is that all ye have 250 – after the party conference in Castlebar and 250 is all you have for you social media campaign – I smile at such weak armies of untruth and think “chickenfeed “…
Are Labour going to use Tony Blair’s P.R. company and design team from New Labour again ? such similarities and they think we do not see !
I don’t think you are a republican, hermes, by any other definition. Maybe a supporter of a Marxist monarchy state, or maybe some strange pro-nationalist semi-religious cult to overthrow the elected representatives, but, no, I don’t think you understand what a republic is. Answer this question: Ireland is currently a republic, do you want to dismantle this system to one you would prefer? If you answered yes, you are not a republican.
above is why I am never voting Fine Gael again – how can one support such violent thugs ?
Mark – what are you afraid of – the more ideas the closer to the correct solution ….
“At least SF won’t be hiring professional advisers.”
That is exactly what I hope they WOULD do, if we’re going to have them running the country. There’s something to be said for knowing your limitations and taking advice tto fill the gaps.
Alien8 – Ireland is no longer a Republic …..
The first rule of the Republic is that its leaders must not be sell out merchants to maintain the greed of the few !
A Marxist monarchy – there can be no such thing !
A republic is very simple and is defined in Article 1 of the Irish Constitution – this I believe in firmly and will see before I leave this rock !
Wrong again Yates ….and I know you hate being wrong ….but at least now I know you are honest and not accessing I.P. addresses like others on here who fully support the Royalist and very Protestant Fine Gael .
Well met sergeant – I am your General !
And I take it you are happy to be continually shafted by the corrupt and inept politics of the past 50 years. Whipped into obedience and trot off to the polls and vote for more of the same. You make me despair for this country and it’s future.
Who would their junior coalition partner be? FG, FF and Labour all seem pretty dead set against a coalition with SF. It would be pretty humiliating for the outgoing senior partner (FG) to be relegated to junior partner in the space of one election. It would be even more humiliating for the “natural party of government” (FF) to be junior to anyone else.
They could form a government with independent support, but that would be very unstable. At a push, I’d see FG+FF+Lab joining forces.
QQ there for you Johngahan, what is Gerry qualified in???? And the school of life doesn’t count ? And as for your above comment, did you steal a thesaurus of something? What a load of tripe – that means B.S. by they way save you leafing through those pages.
Too many trolls on this one so I’ll have to do one for all.
My dinner rating for these comments is roast chicken served with carrot, gravy, mash and processed peas, washed down with freshly squeezed orange juice.
Well it would seem on the other article. Interview with enda Kenny . he is not good with maths. Claiming he took a 40% pay cut. When that’s impossible since his salary was €217.184 and it is now €185.350. By anyone’s math that’s not 40%. So it would seem our current taoiseach can’t do maths either.
Charles I have been up since 7.45 but having a full time job I like most people have to get there and actually work. I am not a member of any party nor do I do voluntary work or canvass for any party.
Unlike you and several other goon who haunt this site & only seem to have an opinion on SF or Muslims, (how odd is that obsession). I didn’t get a break this morning so I can only comment now. If I were a paid party official like you and others here seem to be I would be posting at 5.00 every morning. So stop your smug presumptions and pigeon-holing people, Did it ever strike you that about 40% of the population work outside of the 9-5 world. Soldiers, guards, nurses, barmen, the restaurant trade, air traffic controllers, taxi drivers. security, hospital doctors, in fact most people in health care, actors, even journalists, printers, truckers, and on and on and on.
Also we have PR STV in this country so it is possible to be a supporter of several parties and none in one election and change totally in the next. Party support as your bosses are discovering is not like a blood type, it changes. Just like job security. Maybe it is time to dust down the old CV, though I doubt ‘spouting my petty prejudices all day long on-line’ is going to impress bosses in the real world. Maybe Duffy’s or Courtney’s are looking for a clown.
As I have pointed out above, I am not now nor ever was a member of any political party. I do not now nor ever have worked as a volunteer or a canvasser for any political party. Can Real FineGaelBot ,Cuppaun Tae, Tap Solney Charles Clown, Grovel Pratt, Oggie, Beano, Mr Goulhoolie, Itchiesac, O’Reilly,Corporal Clot or Sergeant Yeats and all their other alter egos say this? Don’t get me wrong everyone is entitled to express an opinion party or not. I have one account and say what I think & not act like a puppet master with multiple accounts. Make one wonder what you get up to on election day.
Ground Control to Major Ten, nice identification of the non-SF commenters there. You and I are impartial members of the public with no SF agenda or affiliation to the party.
@yo ten major – remember ur hissy fit? Did you very get over the fact I proved myself right by providing evidence that of all peers – An poblacht was in there. #scoundered for you
You’re not the only one… Resounding sentiment among the professional people who have emigrated is that they won’t be going back if SF get into government.
@critical thought. Agree entirely. As a professional / high earner SF has a target on my forehead… I don’t think ppl realise how damaging their policies would be. High earners, leaders and industrialists would depart. The people who keep the country working would be taxed out of the country.
You’ll be in the company of tens of thousands who have had to emigrate because of the policies of FF/FG/Lab then. And the tens of Bn’s of international capital that flowed out of Ireland under the same lot, that has only partly flowed back in to buy Irish property at Dealz prices.
Wake up CT, all is not as Enda and ‘hali’ Burton would have you believe.
Padraig Mac Lochlainn stated that “anyone earning less than 70,000 has nothing to fear”.
Which means they’re going to tax the bejaysus out of anyone who earns 70k or more.
So, if someone spent twenty years building up a business, or spent seven years in university and a further ten years getting experience, look out!!! They don’t like that sort of thing.
Reg I earn over €100k and and will more than likely be voting Sinn Fein come the next election. It’s about not being greedy, it’s about a better society, yes I work bloody hard for my salary but I assure you there is someone out there on minimum wage who works just as hard as I do and is struggling badly and if it means we have to keep the car a year longer so be it, if it means once less restaurant visit so be it. Nobody likes paying taxes but it’s quite clear the current system is unfair and not working so if paying a small but more may help I’m willing to try. As much as Fine Gael and its supporters believe this ‘Sinn Fein will take all your money’ still works it doesn’t and won’t.
Thomas, you may not mind, but having more than half of what you earn taxed at source above a certain amount is wrong. It will seriously affect attracting high calibre jobs and industry to the country. This government have been right to spread the tax base with water charges and property tax. They may have made a balls of doing it but it was ceryainly the right thing to do. I earn nowhere near 100k by the way.
I honestly don’t think if they do win the election Sinn Fein will come in swinging and tax everyone’s savings investments and ‘high’ salaries in order to abolish water and property tax etc, it will be along the lines of the “not one more red cent” quote they will say these things to be elected but in practise I believe they will simply be reduced over the course of a government lifetime, it may not work, I may change my mind within a week of them being elected but I’m personally at the stage of thinking that what we’re doing is not working, let’s give someone else a chance.
I made a similar comment in vein yesterday and I was told I wouldn’t be missed. Who wants to live in a country where you are penalised because you studied and worked hard to earn your wage???
That’s debatable. Ireland is nothing particularly special.
“12.5% corporate tax rate..those multinationals don’t give a shit who is in power”
Perhaps, but when they start finding it impossible to hire the necessary talent what do you think they are going to do? Already, even in a time of huge unemployment, we have massive skills gaps in the high end tech and finance centre. A combination of a mediocre pubic education system producing a stream of under-qualified graduates who waltz out of college and expect a 30k+ a year job as a given, and taxes which shred to ruins the incomes of those who *are* talented, and have the cheek to earn above the average industrial wage. Sinn Féin’s policies as outlined by SF *themselves* will only make this situation worse.
To answer your question Search Eagle – Ham & Mushroom Vol-au-vent Starter followed by Char-Grilled Fillet Steak 10 oz. served with onions rings and a pepper sauce and to wrap it up with a Real Home-made Apple Pie Served warm with a choice of cream or Ice Cream.
To be fair it’s not really debatable. We are educated and we are willing to work.
Still with a “medicore public education” all these apparently over demanding graduates, the multi-nationals keep rockin up to our doorstep. Because why?…12.5%. Fantastic. It’s important though to keep them in check as they land on our shores as working conditions are taking a serious hammering of late with zero hour contracts and hourly rates dropping due to unpaid overtime.
Sinn feiin are probably the only party to keep these companies in check while they are here. The multinationals are gonna make buckets of cash here. We just have to keep them to a working standard defined by ourselves.
As for taxing the higher earners this only closes the gap a little further between the rich and the poor. Never ever a bad thing.
“As for taxing the higher earners this only closes the gap a little further between the rich and the poor. Never ever a bad thing.”
Unless they leave, in which case our (still narrow) tax base collapses (again). Again high earners are already paying in excess of half their income over €35k in taxes, what more do you want? When will you be happy? I’m not even someone who is against a progressive tax system! I just don’t believe the government, particularly the Irish government with its history of waste and largesse, should be helping itself directly to 60% of anyone’s income.
I have never voted SF but I would be willing to give them a shot for two reasons.
1. The current government doesn’t work and obviously hasn’t got the backing of the majority of people. People don’t like Gerry but they don’t respect Enda.
2. If SF go back on their word then we will know the table is rigged and we are well and truly fooked.
Sinn Fein cannot be taken seriously until they at least explain how they will fund the scrapping of USC, water charges and property tax i.e. over €5billion per year. Repeating the mantra “we’ll tax the rich more” doesn’t wash any longer.
It wont happen. FG will bring in tax cuts, increase social welfare and the pension, give more medical cards etc in October and all will be forgotten. FF got away with give away budgets for years.
Give them a chance Thierry and we won’t be long in finding out how bad they actually are. I honestly don’t believe that Sinn Fein want to be in power because as soon as all their flawed economic policies are found out they’d be completely ruined for good and all. It suits them much better to be in opposition in my opinion.
“I have never voted SF but I would be willing to give them a shot for two reasons.”
Are you serious? Whenever I see one of your comments, you’re ferociously defending them. Stop with the “oh well, I’m an unbiased observer” crap when you’re clearly not.
We don’t have to elect them to see their incompetence. Some of them have more prison time than they have time in the Dail. And the crimes were not in relation to abit of fraud around phone expenses. Murder and mayhem in another country. If Brussels doesn’t concede to their views. What will they do. Bomb and shoot them into submission. Kneecap a few MEPs?
Thats what got us in the mess in the first place, FF buying election after election and with our money. .fool me once shame on you….fool me twice shame on me..?
And Paul Carey – How would you scrap them ?
You know well that your Government Parties are going to have to ditch IW to survive anyway and give the service back to Local Councils – where most of The Officials in The Company are employed through anyhow .
@paul Carey, I agree with that, can’t just vote in sf out of anger at FG and ff. they need to put forward they’re plans for going into gov, they can’t just keep saying “you’ve lost your mandate enda” or mudslinging, need to see they’re layout. Opposing iw and usc and property tax isnt a policy, its a stance.
Kerryman, I am not the one proposing the abolition of those taxes, SF are. We can only scrap them when we can afford to do so…a point lost on you and SF.
How can people be sure they will fail if they never get a chance.
And as I have said the other big parties are proven failures who are publicly loathed. Sinn Fein seem a bit of a no brainier or maybe a geansai load of independents
Paul- Why so are we paying twice over for the water services under the present Government ?
2% of the VAT take and 5% VRT & Car Tax , plus the new Bills that IW will be sending out in April ?
Paul Murphy – Please name the majority of SF TD’s , or Senators , who have had more prison time then time served in Dáil Éireann or in An Seanad please ?
Paul you have commented a number of times about sf abolishing USC, where did you get this as the only thing I have heard them say repeatably they will abolish is property tax and water charges, FG repeatably publishing rubbish will not get them any votes, very much the opposite.
Laughable, are Sinn Fein now saying that they never said they would abolish USC?? The U turns begin. God help us.
Kerryman, l am still wait for you to answer my original question… How will Sinn Fein pay for the abolition of USC, water charges and property tax?
Mark. Here is some evidence that SF wants to abolish USC from the Shinners website (if that source can be believed)… http://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/20359
Mr Carey, Gerry denies any knowledge of any thing; and if you have information to the contrary, then you should inform the relevant authorities – if they exist; and if not, then go to the real leader, Mary Lou, because she will bully and intimidate until she gets her way – otherwise she’ll have a sit-in.
I don’t see how they will be different to the other parties. Its more promises they cant keep.
And the promises they do make don’t seem conducive to job growth.
That and the fact they are led by a cult of personality are concerns.
Id say we can expect a lot of hatchet job articles on sf over the next year. Edna was probably strategising the media campaign with journal brass when he called by to give his uninformative evasive interview the other day
The sinn fein supporter persecution complex whinges on. If it’s not about how gerry and friends are going to save the universe, it’s clearly a conspiracy.
Absolutely. How does an article on economic policy incorporate the Mairia Cahill and Jean McConville?
Again J.ie is preaching to the choir of FG zombies
Awkward questions? I see obfuscation when a newspaper with known ties to the Govt starts of with an economic headline and quickly degenerates into unsubstantiated allegations.
The purpose of propaganda is to keep the sheep in the pen Chas.
To be a little more accurate PA – it’s difficult to have respect for that portion of the electorate who will blindly follow a political party whose track record over decades has been abysmal; and equally blindly denigrate another who have a superb record of achievement in NI over the past 20 years.
BTW – I am a floating voter – not affiliated to any party.
I certainly wouldn’t call SF’s work in NI ‘superb’ – the North has a deficit every year of £10 billion, it’s easy to run a country (with the DUP) when you have London writing a big fat cheque every year
Bringing up awkward questions Charles Rex?
Tell me this….with FG articles why are none of the pieces followed by a list of negative like in SF articles.
You know, Lowry, failure to engage with the ECB in a meaningful way for the Irish public, the McNulty affair, Garda commissioner, Kenyian phone calls, calling protesters terrorists, property tax, consultants fees, DOB…etc,ad nauseam
Such is the reality of a plastic, unsustainable, plastic state. All the more reason to dismantle the border.
My point was that blaming SF for budget cuts in the six counties is disingenuous and an accusation made by those who are being either stupid or deliberately misleading, since the budget is handed to the assembly by the tory party (and distributed by a DUP finance minister).
Journalists should stop focusing on SF-PIRA links, kangaroo courts, the murder of Belfast mothers and the relocation of sex abusers to the Free State #Gerry4Taoiseach
Stephen, the assembly has no fiscal powers. SF can only be commended/criticised on how their ministers use their budgets, and to do so is fair game; but to criticise them for budget cuts as some trolls are doing here is disingenuous/stupid, since they have zero control over the budget allocated to them.
“To whom do we owe our allegience today? To whom do we owe our allegience today? To those brave men who fought and died that Roisin live again with pride?
Or the faceless men, who for mark and dollar, betray her to the highest bidder?”
A verse which never fails to remind me of the self serving FG/FF/Lab sleveens and gombeens.
Al Ca, we can add a bit more to it like, 156,000 for 6hrs work a week, Ex HSE excs getting lucrative nursing home untendered contracts, Rehab and Frank Flannery, John Tierney buying water meters while Dublin City manager, and then getting THE job in IW, retired county managers getting big salaries and further pensions in IW, consultants in the “know” Callinan, Shatter, the Ombubsman, whistle blowers, … the list is endless. And FG think people want more of the same, deluded idiots.
I think they should be given a try, if only to give us something different to the three other parties, whom most of us are heartily sick of. If they’re no good they can be kicked out after one term
Speak to shop owners they will tell you different.
My own work has picked up alot. I work as management in medium sized firm and we went from 25 employees in 05 to 16 by 09. Buy back up to 25 again. Things have vastly improved
Charles, pls re-read your own statement. You’re grateful that you are back where you were 10 years ago?
BTW, whatever about your own business, the retail industry as a whole is still in the toilet, as evidenced by the huge amount of service workers still on the dole
Actually charles your employee numbers from 05 to 2015 suggest that after ten years things are at best still the same with the intervening years being worse
How many of that work force at your company are on minimum/ zero hour contracts, minimum wage, job bridge or similar schemes..Ireland under fg/lab have raised Ireland to 2nd place in world ranking of low paid employment. .
When these low paid workers are factored in welfare payments, FIS etc the true figure is 20%+, factor in Forced economical emigration and thr true figure is closer to 30%.
Recovery if any is very defined and not reaching the ordinary men and woman on the street..
It’s not my own company. I just run it. But noone on jobs bridge noone on bare minimum wage. But people starting are not going to earn the same as a skilled employee here for years.
Yes I’m happy to be back to where we were 8 years ago. It was booming then and we are probably going to expand this summer.
All going well some of those temp positions will be full time at end of summer. Sorry folks but economy has come back alot. It’s nice to be able to eat out a couple of times a week, weekends away all stuff we all has to knock on the head. But more money I spend more which employs more.
I know it does not fit the shinner mantra but it is what it is
Ha, ha, ha, ha, ha! Mr Mc Loughlin, YOU’RE slagging off someone else’s spelling mistakes! Brilliant! Egyptian Hieroglyphics are easier to decipher than your comments! #IlliteratesAnonymous
Dermot as hard as it is to get your head around Irish people are by and large smart. We don’t all work minimum wage and wear the job repellent clothes you do.
And the ridiculed and traitorous alternatives of Enda or Micheal are better – how ?
A leopard doesn’t change its spots and the wolf in sheep’s clothing will be a wolf for as long as Birds of feather – (even american vultures) stick together !
Evict the Irish is it – for Jean Claude Trichet and immigrants to pay rent to NAMA money launderers – No ! – not on my Watch !
Jimmy if you are Irish then in one word – “Schnakes ” …
If you are from my side of the river – “Soooup ”
If you are not Irish then by all means give yourself time to wake up or ask some Irish people these are common sayings to Irish children and are self-explanatory !
or top put it another way – Aitnionn ciarog , ciarog eile ” as we irish so eloquently recognised the universal law of attraction !
Brehon Law recognised Divorce – and then the backward Roman- Backed Norman’s came !
Schnakes and soooup ….. This doesn’t clarify your message for me. Can you summarise what your point is ? I am as Irish as you but I’m not good at deciphering riddles? I prefer when people say what they want to say and not try to hide behind “seafoid” as we say in Irish or rubbish as we say in English
You are not Irish if you don’t like riddles -…… Jones !
You are of course however a very welcome Guest of our Nation …. as long as you play by our rules …
We do not believe in keeping up with your family – we see it as folly and deluded grandeur – we are of course correct across many dimensions in this !
cats and info gatherers – MI5 – How does that suit your pyjamas … Jones !
My first name id Mayhem by the way – given the stars position of course ….. as measured in the ancient circles ….
As I write Jones you move further from Eire as I move back to the west !
You should never have disturbed the keepers ……
Not all my posts are for those who don’t understand them – is that not obvious to you Critical ?
You will understand more in the morning if you are one .
They would wreck allvthsts been achieved over the last few years. Judging from the disaster that is NI they are not capable to govern. Given their lack of any moral fibre, the lack of individuality, the blind faith in an obviously corrupt leadership they are not fit to govern…
SF/IRA is a blight on the face of humanity that relies on fanatics, simpletons and social predators for support. I do not think that there are enough individuals that can be conned into voting for this gang of misfits. Their only appeal might be to those who are driven a nationalistic fanaticism, not unlike the Nazis , or to those who expect to reap rewards from their neighbours’ efforts. A lot of people want to equal with others that have more than themselves but never less, and the latter is easier to achieve.
Jesus, calm down Tap. Take a breath and get your punctuation working again.
SF are only a political party and there’s lots of them out there. They’re not Pandoras box or the Mongol Hordes.
Admittedly they’re not your usual gang of school teachers and solicitors that you’re used to seeing in DE, but you’ll get used to them in time.
Eh, point me to members of fine Gael who are/were members of the blueshirts? Now do the same for sinn fein. Trying to insult them doesn’t block the reality that electing sf to government would empower individuals who were responsible for deciding to kill other Irish people without a mandate.
@AlienThe British Army, various Loyalist groupings, RUC.
Or do you not believe in state sponsored terrorism, military in the case of NI, but financial and social in the case of FF/Green/FG/Lab’s austerity program that caused untold hardship to working class people of this part of Ireland for the past 8 years.
Do you need to be reminded that SF played the pivotal role in bringing a dysfunctional statelet from near societal collapse to a functioning progressive democracy?
They have achieved far more in the past 20 years than the parties here have Alien
That is classic muddying the waters on a simple response to Niall’s insult against fg; they don’t have that baggage, so stop trying to say they are all coming from the same starting position. I am fully aware that it was the people of my generation in northern Ireland that rejected violence and sectarianism that made NI into the place it is today, not SF, DUP or UUP. It was in spite of these parties that things moved on, and they had to adapt to the people, not the other way around. What we are seeing in this article is whether they have caught up with the people in Ireland to achieve the same result here (power), or are they going to use the anti-govt opinion to get in government without changing.
I’m sorry Alien, but if you’re not aware of SF’s PIVOTAL role in the peace process- and right up to this moment – then you are delusional.
And you probably need reminding that they were instrumental in initiating that process, whereas the DUP/UUP etc had to be dragged into it years later.
Thanking Sinn Fein for bringing an end to the ciminality, intimidation and violence they participated in is like thanking a murderer who has stopped murdering.
Yes, Gerry. I am the one with blindfolds/tunnel vision etc… SF in the north have slowly become a smörgåsbord of the SDLP in the 70s, Fianna fail in the 80s with a touch of SF in the 20s for historical importance. They (like the DUP/UUP) had to be dragged kicking and screaming to match the peace that 99% of the people were demanding. Anything other view is just deluded.
What a Woeful article ! … Terrible journalism ! I’m no sinn fein supporter but I can tell a totally one sided hatchet job when I see one ! Looks like it was dictated straight from blueshirt HQ…
Great –
Enda sends forth his P.R. machine like Cardigan sent forth the Light Brigade ……..
Oh joy for those who defend the Republic from all invaders – across all Parties !
Keyboard Warriors who may have missed it –
Mayo County Council have folded in the face of a constitutional challenge to the Property Charge – Enda is finished …….. Nama Can no longer protect the thieves from Paddy’s revenge !
Sinn Fein will offer us fairness they would change society for the better people can feel their national pride again,
I’m voting Sinn Fein they deserve a chance at making this country great ,
I do worry that fhe media would try to bring them down every week were they to get into power
Either way media ate just doing their job which is to search for the truth. Something SF don’t like. Oh if the impossible happened and they won an election which they won’t then yes they would be exposed.
But lookit won’t happen. Lower tax better benifits and few other things in budget as well as the really good growth figures fg will use the tried and trusted ff trick. It’s in the bag already
Phillip -
The failure by all Irish media to report on the H.S.B.C. 350 and Enda with his condescending and traitorous “Paddy likes to know what’s going on ” and “Let’s get on a train to Europe ” and the “Trichet letter is lost ” means that the only p[lace for truth is in the comments section here -
A friend of mine was involved in a court case which he won and then his solicitor said to him ” 1200 to keep it out of the paper if you want !”
The Fine Gael Twitter Trolls are all over this article like flies around manure !! You’d nearly think they knew about this hatchet job article in advance !! Eh Orla ;)
Karl, I have alegence to no party,and I feel sinn fein may one day show some leadership, but gerry Adams track record speaks for itself.
That’s why people are turned off the party.
I appreciate that Neal .. But more balanced reasonable fact based debate would be welcomed .. It really annoys me to see the 1 or 2 line hysterical rant.. And it’s always the usual suspects.. no party on this island is perfect but none are raving monsters either.. Yesterday’s terrorists are today’s political leaders.. Look all around the globe to witness this.. And remember the main parties here emerged after our own needless civil war…
Trevor, your right. Adams track record speaks for itself:
He was the chief instigator in one of the 20th centuries most successful peace processes. Described by the late, great Fr Alec Reid (often titled ‘Chaplain to the peace process’) as “a man sent by God, in other words he was part of God’s providence for peace in Ireland.” And who also said of Adams “I’d say he’s the most capable politician we have and the other politicians mightn’t like that, but I’d say he’s one of the most capable politicians in Europe.”
He brought the republican movement from war to politics with minimal dissent.
He has topped the poll in almost every election he has ever stood in, north and south.
In the six counties, he led his party from being illegal to being within touching distance of becoming the largest party in the assembly.
In the 26 counties, he sent from leading his party from having just one TD only three government terms ago, to being the leading party in the opinion polls today.
He has been consistently polled as the most popular leader in the 26 counties.
His party under his leadership is the biggest party in Ireland (as of the European elections where they returned four out of four successful candidates).
Oh please tir,this is getting old and me and you have had this one before.
He was in the IRA a terrorist organisation, he denies it but everyone on both sides of the border knows it,then you’ve got the disappeared, gene mcconvilles, his stupid statements about his regrets about the troubles and the poor unfortunate ” casualties ” as he likes to call them.
This is getting old tir.
Too many skeletons and not to be trusted.
That is my opinion.
What’s getting old is your totally inability to live in the 21st century, where most of the rest of society has already arrived.
“He was in the IRA a terrorist organisation, he denies it but everyone on both sides of the border knows it”
I again state two things. I don’t give two fiddlers if he was in the IRA or not. He brought an end to the sectarian orange one party state and delivered a lasting peace in Ireland for the first time in centuries. Who he represented at any stage in that journey matters nil to me, as someone who lived through it; unlike your sanctimonious, judgmental self. All I know for certain is that after four days of questioning on the topic last year by the psni, no evidence was produced and he was released without charge. Did you forget to bring forward whatever evidence you apparently have?
“then you’ve got the disappeared, gene mcconvilles,”
If you genuinely gave a fiddlers about that particular victim beyond using her name to have a pop at SF, you’d at least know how to spell her name. It’s “Jean”; not “Gene”, which is generally a man’s name, short for “Eugene”. Oh and you forgot to mention Jerry McCabe (after all, the average free stater only knows the names of two victims of the forty year long conflict, but yet still feels totally qualified to lecture about on the topic). Do you expect me to justify the disappeared? It was as wrong in the 70′s as it was 50 years earlier when carried out (in staggeringly larger numbers & in a fraction of the time) by the men who won freedom for the free state you live in. Were the Old IRA terrorists and murderers too who ought to be condemned, Trevor?
Are you going to just gloss over the facts I stated in my previous post too yeah?
As I’ve said tir, and sorry for my spelling mistakes, my opinion, I do not trust him and I do not have anything against SF as a party nor do I have alegence to any party but gerry Adams as leader will turn a lot of people from voting for the party.
Have I cleared everything up now?.
No, you’ve just avoided discussing any point/argument I’ve put to you. Long story short, the biggest positive development in Ireland in our lifetimes has been the dismantling of one party unionist misrule and the introduction of relative equality and a stable peace for the first time in centuries. That is thanks chiefly to Gerry Adams. What have FF/FG/Lab achieved that comes close to that? When times were grim in the six counties, and the nationalist people were living under state discrimination and abuse, how did the free state parties and their supporters/voters react? They stuck their fingers in their ears and turned their backs.
Rubbish tir, it was a cross border agreement, gerry Adams is not Jesus Christ as you seem to claim, he did not descend from the sky and bring peace and love,both sides of the border and UK politicians sat down and trashed it out.
Gerry Adams did not do it single handedly tir as you seem to claim.
Again I find myself having to ask if you can you perhaps provide a structured argument against what I’ve actually said, instead of putting words in my mouth and “arguing” against those, Trevor?
I said “chiefly” thanks to Adams. Not “solely” thanks to Adams. Don’t forget, unionism had to be dragged kicking and screaming into powersharing (the UUP collapsed the assembly at every available opportunity, and occasionally with the help of the now disbanded RUC; while the DUP were and still remain, a vehemently anti-Good Friday Agreement party).
Just to remind you tir this topic is about SF ‘s readiness to govern in the Republic of Ireland, nothing about the orange order or how great gerry Adams is or is not.
I gave an opinion on my feelings on the subject and you decided to undermine my opinions, so I don’t think we are going to get anywhere on this subject.
I wish you and your family well and hope each and every one of you all the best in the future.
“Just to remind you tir this topic is about SF ‘s readiness to govern in the Republic of Ireland, nothing about the orange order or how great gerry Adams is or is not.”
This discussion between yourself and myself started when you referred to Adams’ “track record”. I responded by outlining his successes electorally at a personal and party level and outlined the party’s rapid growth under his leadership. That was by way of outlining his leadership qualities which is something I’d have thought would be relevant to his readiness to be Taoiseach. It was your good self who immediately responded by waffling about the IRA and one specific event in the conflict which occurred forty three years ago. Which has precisely NIL to do with how the party is prepared to be in government. So pull the other one.
We’ve already established that, but if you’re happy to be commenting on the specifics of why you don’t like them, then don’t get tetchy when someone tries to discuss the topic further with you.
Tir, you have critised numerous other people on their views on this topic.
What is your dogged determination to defend gerry Adams and sinn fein?
Is no one else on here entitled to an opinion?
Well guess what?
We all have one.
So, Trevor, because I disagree with you, you’re claiming I’m denying your right to have an opinion? This is a comments thread. The point of the reply button under someones comment is to engage in discussion. That you have a problem with me disagreeing with you and with me outlining my reasons for doing so, is not a valid reason for you to claim im refusing your right to hold an opinion. To suggest otherwise is fairly lousy.
Sinn Fein support could convert into maybe 15% of Dail seats after next General Election, based on latest opinion polls, and allowing for pre-election reality checks by current disgruntled supporters of this Government.
This serious chunk of Republic’s electorate deserves full representation at the Cabinet Table.
There is no reason why SF can’t do a good job as future coalition partners to the more established political parties in the Republic, given its NI exposure to and success with Parliamentary Democracy. Practise makes perfect!
Parity of esteem and all of that!
The Irish diaspora in USA and elsewhere would definitely loosen the purse strings there towards major additional Investment in Ireland’s direction should SF be part of a 2016 elected Government in the Republic.
We need a ceasefire on time wasting current inter-party sniping in the Dail and more collaboration on how to formulate economic policies suitable for fast tracking narrowing of those annual €5+ bn budget deficits, which are unsustainable.
Factually spoken Rory. The likelihood is they will be PART of the next Govt, they will have full access to the various dept’s resources and will at least level the playing field toward the non high income earners who (as read on this page) are shi^^ing themselves at the thought of having to pay tax pro rata.
Rory, do you agree with their anti-science policy on Water Fluoridation? They want to rot the teeth of the poor because they can’t tell quackery from science. And what does that say about the level of education of the average Shinner? I don’t want Ireland run by an ex-barman who can’t count.
Cathal, tell that to the expert group set up by the government as to whether or not we should continue to put Fluoride in water. I’m sure your learned opinion will be of much interest to them. They decided it should continue. Just maybe they didn’t think of your profound insight.
Ha ha. My learned opinion? how condescending. i never claimed to be an expert but either way my point is valid. i haven’t done much research but my own toothpaste contains 1450 ppm fluoride. which i presulme is enough.
Why add it to drinking water? if it was mouthwash then you would have a point. i am pro fluoride in mouthwash but not drinking water.
Adding it directly to drinking water means there is not way to control or monitor the level we are taking. it depends on the concentration in the water and the amount if water drank.
That is why most of Europe and the UK do not put fluoride in the water.
Cathal, if your point was valid how is it that it was ignored by the expert group? You’ve obviously not bothered reading the expert groups answers to those questions of yours which are in the links I gave you. Educate yourself and then I’ll stop being condescending.
I think Gerry would be a great . Just look at enda, ex teacher who couldn’t control kids or crying babies,made lots of promises and broke them and cant even debate or write speaches without an overpaid consultant in his ear..
Gerry. Leader of an army ( not gone away ) great controller. Great with kids and great speaches but probably not about the question one asked..Gerry is more human than robot ends..lots of selfies…I think he cant do worse..
These are strange times we live in, where being an ex-teacher is something to be derided and being “leader of an army not gone away”…but “great with kids” and a “human” are considered strong points.
I agree Trevor. All the more reason for voting in a new party. We need change. It has to start next election. Human nature says we don’t like change, but never a better time to implement the wish of the Irish electorate for a fresh start and hopefully take back our sovereignty in some shape or for more. We’ve been fed too many lies by this government led by the troike and stiil feathering there own nests , the cronyism is alive and well, as is the states refusal to accept the grievance of the people that austerity has been carried too far. So yes, in my opinion a vote fora new governance can’t happen too soon.
I will say it again and again. Fg lab cutting fire services ,cut garda ,cut health ,cut wages ,by introducing job bridge cut cut cut cut. They introduced property tax they used our money from motor btax to pay fat wages to create water company( but didn’t fix leaks with it which could have been done with county council easily) and then asked us to pay 3 euro a week for up keep,introduced water charges sit back watch power charges increase,watch homelessness increase, watch cost of living increase,watch people emigrate,die, and give away millions to unqaurenteed bond holders,prop up banks,pay tax avoiding TDs and pay for the queen of England to be in luxury. They live in luxury and don’t close a wink of sleep,cause once their rich buddies and their nest is lined they couldn’t give a toss. They will give back now till after election and then take it away again. Ff helped create this with greens and PDS. They were in that party all of who is now still there remember that. I for one will avoid voting for any of the party’s in power or in previous power. If you trust any of them you’re off your heads. If you haven’t read SF policies then read them. If you don’t understand things ask then to explain. But do not make your vote off this media trash. Look where listening to media got this country! Vote Lisbon vote jobs. Gerry Adams is a great politician and I believe they would lead the country back to stability and growth without sticking a knife in us. If they did they would be out so fast heads would spin. Time for change time for punishment to all politicians who watch our people and country die for the loaded and for their fat wages and leg ups. Time to remind them without us they would have no jobs at all.
SF have unfinished business don’t forget that. They won’t be happy until the president of SF is Taoiseach. They believe themselves to be the legitimate government. That’s no agenda with which to run a modern economy
Do you want to explain why a party that would be elected in a democratic election (you know, with people voting and all) would not be entitled to have such an aspiration Kevin?
Well I feel after LB FG FF .. Have screwd the country .. Think it’s time to give SF a go and I dependants direct democracy would get my vote if the ran also .. Suck of this governments corporate rule .. Banksters walk away for robbing the country of billions while people using there democratic right to protest go to prison . Ireland inc
I can assure you that whatever gripes you have with incumbent parties that are seen to side with corporates or banks a protest vote for Sinn Fein would leave you in a far worse position. You would see socialist policies fail as in France where Hollande promised populism and failed. Or Greece where their pre-election promises to the right wing have not been met as they reach the wall of economic reality.
Everytime the Journal and others one of these the support increases .Sinn Fein people saying their delighted with the out of touch antics by the media in fact they think its a endorsement considering the lack of trust in Irish media. There’s no such thing as bad publicity . Keep up the good work stay in the 00′s the public have moved on and I would say are probably more knowledgeable than our media. Sound
Chicken breast , fresh salad and mayonnaise served inside a toasted pitta bread and a gentle sprinkling of roast sesame seed, washed down with some aldi brand red bull.
Its not just the trolls that are turning this site into a joke, when I read the headline I was expected an analysis of SF related to their readiness for government, such as expected seat numbers based on opinion polls, the calibre of their politicians, how they are doing in SF controlled councils, how they are doing up North etc. Instead we get rubbish such as tweets and comments from government TD’s attacking SF and not much else. No offence Orla but what exactly is this article supposed, because analysis it certainly is not.
They certainly do – but maybe not this election. They are building experience at local and European levels and will surely be a force for years to come – given their huge mandate north and South.
Listen up !
McConville, Cahill, Adams’ ” membership ” et al will NOT be an issue never mind a decisive issue come the Election it will be the “economy stupid” period. Argue all you like the only way pre-election promises can be tested is by trying them out on the electorate (or not as the case may be as it’s not unheard of for politicians to renege on such promises). Either way all the electorate has to lose is the chains that seem to bind them to these post-civil war parties moribund in thought, tribal in blind allegiance but strangely not much different in main policies. If ever there wasn’t small nation in need of a radical overall of its political system post austerity it is Ireland. Notwithstanding how SF perform in the Election or what they do thereafter, there will be surge in elected independent TD’s which tells all. SF are the party of real genuine true change and must align themselves with all independents to at least form a cohesive voting bloc to counter the two party hegemony which is very much the norm and will remain so until the Irish citizenry choose real change. Go for it as you have nothing to lose but your chains !
Something new we haven’t had before. .. A true democracy like in Switzerland ? .. but that might be a stretch of the imagination for the average Irish person. . Imagine the people calling referendums and being allowed to think for themselves for a change,trusting the people of Ireland with there own futures. ,unfortunately all we can do is imagine this scenario because it’s going to be more of the same empty promises unemployment and emigration following bank bailouts and lies. ..
Eh did you forget about Kenny and his declaration that the minimum wage was 30k?
Some selective memory.
Would you be happy to vote for a government and party whose leader is so out of touch with reality that he massively over estimates the lowest wage in the state?
Mr Jones, as I said on a previous thread, Mary lou posts on her FB page when there are any articles/polls about SF/PIRA on this site; so, there is a lot of truth in Shinnerbot’s parodies about the cult minions getting the memo/text.
They killed Gary Sheehan and Gerry McCabe (just 2 name 2). As a former soldier and present Garda I wud never vote 4 them. Imagine they had access 2 pulse and all Garda intelligence. Wud they get rid of new commissioner and put their own in. Sorry. Maybe in 50 yrs when the people involved in terrorism r no longer in d party.
My grandfather was a prominent member of d old IRA Tir. And I’m proud of that. He later was one of d 1st in d free state army wit Collins. But I cannot equate wot d old IRA did wit the murder of Gerry McCabe. A cowardly act shooting him in d back. And was not 4 d freedom of d state or any such high moral. It was robbery and murder 4 personal gain. Can u honestly defend such an action? If Sinn Fein leadership had immediately condemned it and had not been there 2 personally welcome d murderers release I cud take them seriously. But I do not see that change. They will not condemn d rape of Marie Cahill. If they didn’t duck and dodge criminality 2 protect their own I cud look at them differently. I feel they r not in that place yet. When d old guard is gone then maybe.
My own family also fought in the Tan War, Mick. But isn’t it very easy for you to “to draw a distinction” between the men who fought for your own independence and those who fought for mine, but only after yours has already been won?
In this thread of comments, we have already repeatedly head the names of Jean McConville & Jerry McCabe. Does the average freestater not know any other victims names of a forty year long conflict? Could you name two innocent victims of the British Army as quickly? Do you want to? Do you care? I’m not interesting in defending every PIRA action because not every action was defensible. That doesn’t mean their entire campaign was indefensible.
You claim there is a difference between the PIRA and the Old IRA and that you are proud of the Old IRA, since the provos carried out some reprehensible acts. That being the case, how does it make you feel then to know that the Old IRA killed higher proportion of innocent civilians to conflict participants, than the PIRA did? How does it make you feel to know that the Old IRA killed and disappeared almost 200 (mostly innocent people) in just a few short years of the Tan War, compared to the 15 disappeared by the provos in 30 years? Do you condemn the Old IRA too now, then? Or since they succeeded for your county, does that mean you can overlook their brutality and overlook the more disgusting of their actions? Or like me towards the Old & Provisional IRAs, do you support the campaign in general without having to believe that every action they carried out was acceptable?
Tir…. U make a good argument. I accept that some of d actions of d old IRA were reprehensible as were d actions of d PIRA and also some of d actions of d British forces and Unionists. I find murder unacceptable. D distinction I’m drawing is that d murder of Garda McCabe was not part of d conflict. It was just a criminal act and therefore shud not have been in d same category.It shud have been condemned by d leadership. All d historic atrocities can be explained and understood partially in d times and circumstances they were living in. In short I will not support Sinn Fein until I believe that they are purely peaceful and political. That doubt remains with me. I also understand that I have little or no idea what it was/is like 2 live in d North and the hatred that is endemic there on both sides. I believe Gerry Adams was a member of d PIRA as much as he denies it and I think most people think d same. When d younger members of Sinn Fein take over I will consider them as a political party I cud vote 4 if I agree wit their policies at that time. Until then I just don’t trust them.
Mick. You base your entire argument for the distain for the PIRA campaign on one single action. Yet when confronted with the multiple similar (and worse) actions of the Old IRA, and with the facts which show just how much worse their actions regularly were, you excuse them for it and dismiss them as just a few bad actions in a justifiable fight. With the greatest of respect, do you not see the inherent hypocrisy in that? Was an organisation which used the same means fighting for my freedom, and killed a lower proportion of civilians than the organisation which won your freedom, not as justified as the other? I and countless others like me grew up under infinitely ….
… discrimination and oppression and state harassment than the people who made up the Old IRA. So why the contrast in attitudes?
There has been a successful, lasting peace process here for many years now. People in the six counties are moving on from it and it’s sad that this is not the case for people in the 26 counties who didn’t even live through it and yet still accuse SF of still being violent and throw the “SF/IRA” name nonsense at them (a phrase even the most neanderthalic of loyalist bigots barely use anymore). The IRA haven’t existed in ten years now. Gerry Adams’ membership has zilch to do with Irish politics today, much as Hugh O’Connell or Dennis O’brien would have you believe. There are justice procedures in place. Adams was questioned on the topic for four days last year. No evidence was produced an and he was released without charge. Life goes on. Adams has spent most of his life working towards taking the gun out of irish politics and history is showing that this has been achieved for the first time in generations, and he was one of, if not the key player in making it so.
Tir I can see how u wud view it as hypocrisy and maybe it is. Perhaps it’s because d fight 4 independence was 100yrs ago. Rose tinted glasses. I don’t use d term sf/ira. I also stated that I didn’t grow up in d North and didn’t experience d oppression etc. I know it was bad. From what I have read not what I have lived so u obviously know about that better than I. I am glad ye r moving on from them times and hope u r wrong that d 26 r slower. That being said because of ur history there is still a distrust of authority in ur community 2 a certain extent. Correct me if I am wrong on that. The murder of Garda Adrian Donohue is recent and his killers were hidden and protected until they cud flee across d water. I don’t believe that wud have been d case in d republic. What is ur feeling on d continuity IRA, d real IRA etc?
Mick there may be a distrust of authority but that does not translate as a lack of cooperation with authorities. A distrust of them is hardly surprising coming of the back of living through the state which was lived through. Most nationalists cooperate with the psni now for instance. However the memory is still fresh of the RUC. My home was raided at gunpoint by the combined forces of the RUC and British Army more times than I could ever count, for living in a nationalist area. They used to come in, sometimes fiercely aggresively, sometimes laughing and sneering, but they would always thrash the house under the pretense of “a search”, before walking out and going to the next house on the road. Often, by means of psychological torture, they would walk around the house drawing a sketch of the layout and marking out bedrooms and walk out. Why was this a form of torture? Because in many cases of collusion at that time, such a raid, where the RUC would sketch a map, would be followed weeks later by a loyalist attack, where the gunmen would walk into a house at night and go straight to the room of the intended victim and kill him. It became a widely known practice. And because it became known, as I say, the RUC used to make drawing such ‘maps’ a form of sick harassment or nationalists. So while a mild distrust of authority is inevitable these years later, the fact is people are moving on. Garda O’Donaghue’s killing was nothing to do with republicanism. It was simply a gang of…
…murderous thieves. Those responsible for that are the same sort of lowlifes that can come from any side of the border. Or anywhere on earth for that matter. As for my opinion of the Real IRA/Continuity IRA etc, I have no hesitation in denouncing both (or any dissident armed group) as deplorable organisations. There was an opportunity for peace which was hard won by the PIRA. Violence can only be justified when no alternative exists. There was no alternative in 1969. There is now. And thanks to men like Adams, we have stability, relative peace and relative equality in Ireland and an opportunity to finally deliver Irish Independence by peaceful means for the first time in centuries. Dissidents would be a threat to all that and their wrecklessness and stupid actions caused the death of a friend of mine in one incident and, almost the same to members of my family in Omagh in 1998. Long story short, my family lived through a level of british state abuse many times worse than lived through by the likes of Michael Collins or Tom Barry and I have nothing but seething distain for the argument that it was morally right for brave men like those to fight for your freedom but unacceptable for brave people to fight back for mine.
Adams says accusations of a cover up of sexual abuse scurrilous. Then goes on to provide Gardai with names of sex offenders he distributed and covered up. A warped kind and logic…
A truly magnificent man is Gerry and his truly magnificent party will be getting my number 1 :)
I was a Fine Gael voter until I saw the nastiness of their online shills :(
My biggest fear with Sinn Fein getting into power, is that they would literally lose the run of themselves, and instead of concentrating on jobs, the economy etc, issues that affect people’s daily lives, that they would instead start poring all of their energies into the so called ‘national question’. Now while a United Ireland is a noble and genuine aspiration, I would hazard a guess that it would be pretty low down the ladder of most people in this part of the Island. Also would our relationship with the UK be badly affected by having Adams in power, at the end of the day Sinn Fein are anti British and wouldn’t exactly be lovers of our Protestant brethren, so would Sinn Fein in power be a return to the dark old days of a cold war between Ireland and the UK? Economically their policies are also bankrupt, Sinn Fein are anti anything that will garner them votes, so we are all still waiting to see how Sinn Fein would make up the huge deficit caused by getting rid of the Property Tax, Water Charges and the USC.
Your post contains nothing but evidence a tendency to buy into the lazy propaganda. If Sinn Féin were anti-British, would Martin McGuinness have been to Windsor Castle last year? Would the speaker of the Assembly, Sinn Féin’s Mitchell McLoughlan have this week accepted a British Commonwealth position/title in a show of cross-community respect? If they were anti-Protestant, would they have done those same things? Would they have been on the radio in recent weeks arguing that if Stormont is lit up green for St Patrick’s day, that it should also be lit orange on the 12th July? Would they have invited a Loyalist Band to their Árd Fhéis in Derry this weekend if they were anti-Protestant?
Tir Eoghain did your beloved leader not describe all Unionists as ‘bast**ds’ in a speech in Enniskillen on the 24th of November last year? Did Martin Mc Guinness not describe the Dublin media as ‘West Brits during the 2011 Presidential election. Fact of the matter is that scratch the surface and Sinn Fein’s old hostilities are never too far away, they haven’t gone away and never will. However I will say that Martin Mc Guinness despite his inglorious past, has made major moves to reach out to the ‘other side’, and in my opinion he would be a far better leader than the lying, incompetent, incongruous, narcissistic individual that Adams is.
What about every Orange Marching season the sectarian hatred that is worn like a badge against Catholics living in their own homes, what do you call that but sectarian hatred?
“Tir Eoghain did your beloved leader not describe all Unionists as ‘bast**ds’ in a speech in Enniskillen on the 24th of November last year?”
No. He referred to “bigots, homophobes and racists” as bast**ds. If you are associating that with unionism, then you need to take a look at yourself, not Adams.
“Did Martin Mc Guinness not describe the Dublin media as ‘West Brits during the 2011 Presidential election.”
Yes he did. Quite rightly too. That’s not an anti-British comment. More a comment on the anti-Irish attitude of many Irish journalists.
You can talk about scratching the surface all you want, but you just casually ignored some of the example I provided earlier here. And as for who the better leader would be, I’d have no doubt McGuinness would be a good leader; but I’m also content that Adams is a genuinely great leader. I say that not out of bias, but from looking at his track record and where he has brought both the republican population, and where he has brought the party, under his watch. As I’ve said somewhere above, he was the chief instigator in one of the 20th centuries most successful peace processes. He brought the republican movement from war to politics with minimal dissent. He has topped the poll in almost every election he has ever stood in, north and south. In the six counties, he led his party from being illegal to being within touching distance of becoming the largest party in the assembly. In the 26 counties, he went from leading his party from having just one TD only three government terms ago, to being the leading party in the opinion polls today. He has been consistently polled as the most popular leader in the 26 counties. His party under his leadership is the biggest party in Ireland (as of the European elections where they returned four out of four successful candidates). You may not like him, but it’s simply laughable to suggest he is not a outstanding leader.
Beautifully written anti Sinn Fein piece with just sufficient veneer of middle ground to shade the very clearly anti SF bias. Orla deserves the DOB award for Investigative Journalism. The truth will set you free but not in Irish Journalism.
Another butthurt shinner lamenting uncomfortable questions. Grow up young scamp, not everyone in this country is a nodding donkey suckling from the teat of revisionist boobies.
Jacinta, whatever about other parties, all SF representatives, by party rules, are only allowed to earn the average industrial wage. It’s by way of ensuring that people do not join SF if they are just motivated by their own financial gain.
Nach bhfuil sé cruthaithe acu sna 6 chontae? Beidh siad i gcumhacht ar dhá thaobh na teorann i 2016. Nach iontach an comóradh é sin. Bheadh Trevor Ó Clochartaigh an tAire Gaeltachta is fearr dá raibh riamh ann.Éire Gaelach, Aontaithe agus Rathúil.
I’m not a Fine Gael supporter but I think they are doing ok. Tough decisions needed to me made and there is no easy way. When I hear people say I’ll vote SF because I’m sick of everybody else, I despair. That’s the worst reason in the world.
SF economic policy is off the wall.
Tax the rich and give to the poor?
Yes, that will work, right.
Yes by the way tax the rich but you can’t punish entrepreneurship or ingenuity I agree with having tighter controls so we don’t have developers milking us or solicitors pulling another gorse hill. But for the company man or inventor I’m all for them making money from their idea . I’m all for state support by the dole class sf supports think smart and rich are bad. No need to work high paid jobs we can all work as teamsters or nor at all and get everything for nothing.
What choice have we, they deserve a go because when people vote for the 3 main parties they are voting for the same E.U. Hymn sheet, where the E.U. and plutocrates mean more the Irish citizen, plutocracy is the name of their game with bankers and bondholders their masters. We need a chance, we could have more of the same or upset the apple cart by voting for S.F. to show the other parties that they are not in total control. I would give S.F. one chance as they could never be as bad as the 3 main parties I believe.
SF .. Will be the next government and independents .. The rest can disappear they’ve shown & proved where there loyalties lay .. Corporate government owned by banksters & Denis o Brien
Whichever party reduces all politicians wages by more than 25% and abolishes their ridiculous pensions will be the party I vote for. Over the years we have constantly accepted reductions in wages and social welfare payments while these greedy politicians have sat on their greedy arses and milked us for every last penny. So Gerry Adams its time to put your money where your mouth is and let this be a major factor in your fight for leader of our next government.
Jacinta, whatever about other parties, all SF representatives, by party rules, are only allowed to earn the average industrial wage. It’s by way of ensuring that people do not join SF if they are just motivated by their own financial gain.
Tir Eoghain. If that is the case they will have my vote. Im so sick of our so called leaders and lackeys lording it over us mere mortals with their outrageous salaries and pensions.
It’s been their party policy for many years now alright, Jacinta.
http://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/16407
“I, like all Sinn Fein elected representatives and workers, am paid the average industrial wage from my salary, after which a small amount goes back the party and the remainder to provide improved constituency services. This is a principle I am immensely proud of. Sinn Fein is not in politics for monetary gain, we are in it to bring about progressive political change.” (Mary Lou McDonald)
I reckon Hugh O’Connell wrote this and asked Orla to put her name to it because he knew there would be uproar after such patent bias. That or the Journals Dept of Click Bait said write something controversial to get them all riled up. The more hits the more it helps with the advertising.
Mick. You base your entire argument for the distain for the PIRA campaign on one single action. Yet when confronted with the multiple similar (and worse) actions of the Old IRA, and with the facts which show just how much worse their actions regularly were, you excuse them for it and dismiss them as just a few bad actions in a justifiable fight. With the greatest of respect, do you not see the inherent hypocrisy in that? Was an organisation which used the same means fighting for my freedom, and killed a lower proportion of civilians than the organisation which won your freedom, not as justified as the other? I and countless others like me grew up under infinitely worse discrimination and oppression and state harassment than the people who made up the Old IRA. So why the contrast in attitudes?
There has been a successful, lasting peace process here for many years now. People in the six counties are moving on from it and it’s sad that this is not the case for people in the 26 counties who didn’t even live through it and yet still accuse SF of still being violent and throw the “SF/IRA” name nonsense at them (a phrase even the most neanderthalic of loyalist bigots barely use anymore). The IRA haven’t existed in ten years now. Gerry Adams’ membership has zilch to do with Irish politics today, much as Hugh O’Connell or Dennis O’brien would have you believe. There are justice procedures in place. Adams was questioned on the topic for four days last year. No evidence was produced and he was released without charge. Life goes on. Adams has spent most of his life working towards taking the gun out of Irish politics and history is showing that this has been achieved for the first time in generations, and he was one of, if not the key player in making it so.
There is no hard evidence he’s too clever for that, forever the master strategist.
It is a known fact that the usually cautious Adams encouraged the landing of the Eksund when others suggested landing a smaller load first , it is also a known fact that McGuinness informed the Executive about the impending shipment arriving knowing that the Executive may be compromised.
Who had the most to gain ?
The benefits to Gerry in giving up the Eksund were threefold.
Firstly it was a show of good faith to the British with whom he was in talks with that he was serious about peace.
Secondly, when the Eksund was seized and the size and extent of its cargo discovered, it would soon become apparent that previous sizeable shipments had already been successfully landed by PIRA , this would give Him huge leverage in his negotiations with the British.
In order for him to gain this huge leverage it was imperative that the boat and its load be captured intact, so the scuttling device wired onboard was sabotaged after the boat left Libya presumably by an Adams loyalist onboard.
Thirdly, with the element of surprise lost the impending TET offensive planned by PIRA would then have to be scaled down , making it easier for the Adams strategy.
Winning the next election: Fair, equitable and moderate taxes.
- Scrap the LPT on Family Homes … double it for second and more homes …..
- Scrap the current annual Road Tax. Load those who can afford to pay: NEW CAR Owners. Progressive tax.
- Introduce Bank Tax: FTT (Financial Transaction Tax) like Germany, France etc recently implemented.
(FTT would raise same amount as the LPT €550 Million)
It’s a matter of the haves vs the have nots, and despite our ‘recovery’ that gap widens every day, the rich get richer, the poor get poorer and middle class is slowing becoming the working poor.
I would never ever have voted sinn fein, but now I’m all for them. They want change, and most importantly they want to disrupt the cosy little circle of privilege the rich currently enjoy. FG wants more of the same. And for the ever growing number of have nots that’s just not good enough.
Death toll from Israel's war in Gaza surpasses 50,000, says territory's health ministry
Updated
4 hrs ago
the vatican
'Thank you, everyone': Pope Francis greets crowds after release from hospital
Updated
4 hrs ago
Poll
Where do you buy most of your groceries?
5 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say