You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Michael and Danny Healy Rae outside Leinster House today. Christina Finn

Healy Raes question SF on election promise funding, saying there's 'no such thing as a free lunch'

Pearse Doherty hit out against Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael for refusing to engage with Sinn Féin.

LAST UPDATE | 19 Feb 2020

KERRY TDS MICHAEL and Danny Healy Rae met with Sinn Féin today in the latest round of government formation talks since the general election. 

Speaking to reporters at Leinster House today, Michael Healy Rae said they had a good meeting with Sinn Féin TDs Pearse Doherty and Matt Carty, but said questions remained about the costings of some of the promises in their manifesto. 

“A lot of the Sinn Féin policies, they sound fine, but it’s who pays for it, where does the money come from? These are very clear questions… what we were trying to do today was get down to the nitty-gritty of it and ask how exactly it will be financed, where will the money come from, there is no such thing as a free lunch,” he said. 

He said these were complicated questions that needed answers, stating that they would meet with Sinn Féin again.

“We got a lot of answers but we have a lot more questions that need to be answered and we are hoping for questions to be answered in the coming weeks,” he added.

Danny Healy-Rae said he felt assured Sinn Fein was interested in rural Ireland and the issues that concern them.

“They appear to be very interested in rural Ireland and got a lot of deputies elected in rural Ireland but there is still a lot of talking to be done and we have a lot of problems to do with Kerry that we would like looked after,” he said.

When asked if either wanted a ministerial role in the next government, Michael Healy Rae said all they want is the “betterment of the people of Kerry”. 

“We are looking for absolutely nothing for the Healy Raes,” he added. 

Michael Healy Rae added that the next government need to “learn from mistakes of past” stating that people felt left behind by those in power the last nine years.

“We want politicians and ministers in the future who will be able to concentrate their minds on the task in hand and not be away with the fairies,” he said, stating that some ministers had “lost touch with reality”.

On the issue of the election of the next Ceann Comhairle, Danny Healy Rae said he will be voting for Fianna Fáil’s Seán Ó Fearghaíl for the job “full stop”, stating that he is experienced in the role. 

The two brothers were also asked if there would be a repeat of the 2016 scenes on the first day of the Dáil sitting, where the Healy Raes held a min-concert outside the gates of Leinster House. 

Neither of the Kerry TD could rule out such festivities taking place tomorrow. 

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Earlier today, Sinn Féin’s Pearse Doherty has said his party is intensifying its discussions with parties and Independents today around forming a government for change.

Over the next day, Doherty and the party’s negotiating team will meet with the Green Party, the Social Democrats, Solidarity-People Before Profit, the Labour Party, Independents4Change, the Rural Independents Group, as well as other Independents. 

Doherty hit out against Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael today for refusing to engage with Sinn Féin, stating that he was fed up with the “shadow-boxing” by the two parties. 

“The people want politicians that have been elected to get on with dealing with serious issues.

“It is not good enough to sit on the sidelines and refuse to engage,” he told reporters. 

He said the party is already in the process of putting together the arrangements for a special Ard Fheis should it be needed to ratify any possible programme for government. 

Meanwhile, Richard Boyd Barrett and Mick Barry and Paul Murphy of Solidarity-People Before Profit have said they are willing to vote for Mary Lou McDonald, “on the condition that our support is used to attempt to assemble a left minority government, and not to facilitate a return to power of either Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael”.

4640 PBP Talks Leah Farrell Leah Farrell

“A genuinely Left Government will need to introduce Left policies such as building 100,000 social and affordable homes within 3 years; introducing a National Health Service bill as an immediate goal and increasing the national minimum wage to €15 an hour this year. These necessities can never be delivered in any government containing Fianna Fáil and/or Fine Gael and so we call on Sinn Féin to rule out categorically any such coalition, which unfortunately they haven’t yet done,” said Mick Barry. 

While parties on the Left continue to discuss government formation, Fianna Fáil is due to hold its second parliamentary party meeting at 6pm today.

Ahead of tonight’s meeting, Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin said he will appoint his party’s government formation negotiating team. He said he had written to Mary Lou McDonald to explain why he believed that a coalition between Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin would not be the right thing to do. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

152 Comments
    Mute A2 Poster
    Favourite A2 Poster
    Feb 19th 2020, 1:47 PM

This is officially the darkest timeline

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Feb 19th 2020, 1:55 PM

@A2 Poster: I agree. God help us all.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:00 PM

@A2 Poster: Shinners and the Raes. Christ this is a horror show.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Handsome McWonderful
    Favourite Handsome McWonderful
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:01 PM

@A2 Poster: It’s like an episode of Black Mirror

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:11 PM

@Handsome McWonderful: lol / release the robotic killer dogs /

Mute Matthew O'Kane
    Favourite Matthew O'Kane
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:20 PM

@A2 Poster: their voters like them..

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:01 PM

@Matthew O’Kane: and that’s a scary thought.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:33 PM

@Tommy C: would be better than Mehole and Leo the liar

Mute Maurice
    Favourite Maurice
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:05 PM

@2thFairy:
    Here I made this for you,
    https://imgflip.com/i/3pnqt3

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:23 PM

@A2 Poster: you do know they’ve given confidence and supply to 2 FF governments already. The hypocrisy here is astounding.

Mute SFAnkleTapper
    Favourite SFAnkleTapper
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:25 PM

@Peter McGlynn: tis the lord above that decides theese things…begorrah

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:25 PM

@Peter McGlynn: what 2 FF governments? Danny was only elected in 2016 for the first time.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:46 PM

@A2 Poster: you obviously were born after 2011.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Feb 19th 2020, 6:57 PM

@Handsome McWonderful: Lol!.. we’ve been in one for the last hundred years.

Mute Eoin Byrne
    Favourite Eoin Byrne
    Feb 19th 2020, 8:13 PM

@A2 Poster: should we start growing our evil beards?

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Feb 20th 2020, 10:21 AM

@Peter McGlynn: “ do you known they’ve given confidence and supply to 2 FF governments already “ …”hypocrisy” ,”obviously born after ….”

Peter, engage the brain and get your facts in order

Michael Healy Rae has been a TD since 2011. The brother 2016 . FG were in power since

You are waffling about their father , Jackie . Same but different . Both men you referred to didn’t have that power to vote

Mute Nicky O'Donnell
    Favourite Nicky O'Donnell
    Feb 19th 2020, 1:53 PM

Ah here, SF are walking on dangerous ground now. If they are willing to talk to literally everyone, including the brothers from deliverance, then clearly they willing to abandon any and all election promises in order to be in government.

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:09 PM

@Nicky O’Donnell: that deliverance comment is very unfair – all kinds of images in my head now -ill not eat bacon for tea tonight

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:15 PM

@Nicky O’Donnell: i think we had deliverance in the last government.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:19 PM

@Nicky O’Donnell: It’s their democratic duty to explore ways in which we can have a fully functioning government. That said, Danny Healy-Rae ? I’d appoint him as Minister of Justice and Equality, just for the craic.

Mute Terrence Edwards
    Favourite Terrence Edwards
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:38 PM

@Tommy Roche: Minister for transport surely?

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:16 PM

@Terrence Edwards: As Minister for Transport he’d have to change the laws around drink driving. As Justice minister he could just order the Gardai to turn a blind eye. Keep it simple, it’s the Kerry way, boi.

Mute Patrick O Connell
    Favourite Patrick O Connell
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:21 PM

@Tommy Roche: Danny as minister for the environment and Michael minister for transport and Mary Lou Taoiseach = Larry Curley and Moe come to mind

Mute Nicky O'Donnell
    Favourite Nicky O'Donnell
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:24 PM

@Tommy Roche: What is “Democratic Duty” exactly? That’s a new one on me. I don’t think such a concept exists. The bottom line is If you are a party that will happily form a government with people from both extremes of the political spectrum, then you really don’t have much in the way of principles. At a time when climate change is an important issue on the minds of most of the electorate, they’re now talking to two climate change deniers who believe “Only God controls the weather”.

Mute Daimhín De Naois
    Favourite Daimhín De Naois
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:33 PM

@Nicky O’Donnell: forming government with elected representatives is what its supposed to be about surely? I dont like the healy-raes but theyre voted in by massive numbers generally and you cant ignore an elected official just because you dont like them. If we all did that nobody would work.

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:18 PM

@Nicky O’Donnell: ohhh so the fact SF is trying to form a government and are talking to TDs that recieved s huge mandate in this election means they are about to abandon their policies? Jesus some people will say anything as long as its anti SF.

Mute Jamie O Sullivan
    Favourite Jamie O Sullivan
    Feb 19th 2020, 8:25 PM

@Paul Power: more Brokeback mountain than Deliverance between Mehole & Leo

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    Feb 19th 2020, 8:36 PM

@Nicky O’Donnell: this is the best comment Iv seen in a long time .

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:01 PM

To think we laughed and mocked the Americans with Trump and the U.K. with Boris.

Mute David Garland
    Favourite David Garland
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:07 PM

@2thFairy: So you were fine with Leo and the Posh boys were you?

Mute Ccia
    Favourite Ccia

@David Garland: Yes

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute A2 Poster
    Favourite A2 Poster
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:45 PM

@David Garland: “posh boys”, will you listen to your yourself… Sure wasn’t Mary Lou brought up in Rathgar, sent to a private fee-paying school at Notre Dame in Churchtown, then sent to Trinity College? Pretty damn posh if you ask me,

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:49 PM

@A2 Poster: not forgetting that she also sends her children to “posh” fee paying schools.

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:51 PM

@A2 Poster: and Eoin O Broin went to Blackrock College, a ‘posh’ private school and Queens University Belfast. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

Mute Bitcoin Buddy II
    Favourite Bitcoin Buddy II
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:46 PM

@A2 Poster: Likely better educated than yourself so

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:56 PM

@David Garland: you think it’s bad now David. Wait abit and see how worse it will get

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:11 PM

@A2 Poster: a failed Fianna Failer who turned to Sinn fein when she realised that the castlekock brethren weren’t going to ditch the lenihan group and give her a nomination.
    Yes, Mary Lou can easily adapt to the healy raes.

Mute A2 Poster
    Favourite A2 Poster
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:12 PM

@Bitcoin Buddy II: How rude

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Feb 19th 2020, 8:36 PM

@David Garland: your so witty not !

Mute bryan Flanagan
    Favourite bryan Flanagan
    Feb 19th 2020, 11:46 PM

It was revealed that Healy-Rae had received 3,636 votes, from a phone in Leinster House, at a cost of €2,600 to the Irish taxpayer, the premium-rate calls being charged on a tariff designed to raise money for charity. Speculation that an automated dialler had been employed was discounted by the Irish Independent, which suggested they were made over 31 hours using “redial”. The Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett, described it as “an outrageous abuse of facilities”, while the Taoiseach Enda Kenny, said the money spent on the calls should be paid back. On 29 June 2011, Healy-Rae said that while he was not involved in the calls, he would pay the money back.
    We are only in the Ha’penny place

Mute bryan Flanagan
    Favourite bryan Flanagan
    Feb 19th 2020, 11:47 PM

It was revealed that Healy-Rae had received 3,636 votes, from a phone in Leinster House, at a cost of €2,600 to the Irish taxpayer, the premium-rate calls being charged on a tariff designed to raise money for charity. Speculation that an automated dialler had been employed was discounted by the Irish Independent, which suggested they were made over 31 hours using “redial”. The Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett, described it as “an outrageous abuse of facilities”, while the Taoiseach Enda Kenny, said the money spent on the calls should be paid back. On 29 June 2011, Healy-Rae said that while he was not involved in the calls, he would pay the money back.

Mute bryan Flanagan
    Favourite bryan Flanagan
    Feb 19th 2020, 11:47 PM

Mute bryan Flanagan
    Favourite bryan Flanagan
    Feb 19th 2020, 11:50 PM

@2thF

At the National Newspapers of Ireland’s Journalism Awards. It was revealed that Healy-Rae had received 3,636 votes, from a phone in Leinster House, at a cost of €2,600 to the Irish taxpayer, the premium-rate calls being charged on a tariff designed to raise money for charity. Only limited information was available as to how the calls were made. Speculation that an automated dialler had been employed was discounted by the Irish Independent, which suggested they were made over 31 hours using “redial”. The Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett, described it as “an outrageous abuse of facilities”, while the Taoiseach Enda Kenny, said the money spent on the calls should be paid back. On 29 June 2011, Healy-Rae said that while he was not involved in the calls, he would pay the money back.

Mute bryan Flanagan
    Favourite bryan Flanagan
    Feb 19th 2020, 11:57 PM

@2thFairy:

At the National Newspapers of Ireland’s Journalism Awards. It was revealed that Healy-Rae had received 3,636 votes, from a phone in Leinster House, at a cost of €2,600 to the Irish taxpayer, the premium-rate calls being charged on a tariff designed to raise money for charity. limited information as to how the calls were made. Speculation that an automated dialler had been employed was discounted by the Irish Independent, which suggested they were made over 31 hours using “redial”. The Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett, described it as “an outrageous abuse of facilities”, while the Taoiseach Enda Kenny, said the money spent on the calls should be paid back. On 29 June 2011, Healy-Rae said that while he was not involved in the calls, he would pay the money back. Ref Wikipedia

Mute bryan Flanagan
    Favourite bryan Flanagan
    Feb 19th 2020, 11:57 PM

@2thFairy:
    At the National Newspapers of Ireland’s Journalism Awards. It was revealed that Healy-Rae had received 3,636 votes, from a phone in Leinster House, at a cost of €2,600 to the Irish taxpayer, the premium-rate calls being charged on a tariff designed to raise money for charity. limited information as to how the calls were made. Speculation that an automated dialler had been employed was discounted by the Irish Independent, which suggested they were made over 31 hours using “redial”. The Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett, described it as “an outrageous abuse of facilities”, while the Taoiseach Enda Kenny, said the money spent on the calls should be paid back. On 29 June 2011, Healy-Rae said that while he was not involved in the calls, he would pay the money back. Ref Wikipedia

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Feb 19th 2020, 1:48 PM

I’d love to be a fly on the wall for that conversation, all the intellect of a muppet show cast!

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:07 PM

@Paul Murphy: would be good to eavesdrop alright. Unfair that intellect comment especially when you dig deeper into the Kerry boys kingdom. They know how to play to their own crowd and us and poor Greta

Mute silentbob2012
    Favourite silentbob2012
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:06 PM

The unspeakables in discussion with the unintelligibles. You couldn’t make it up. I’ll put mt money on the Kerry lads over the D14 girl anytime.

Mute JGD
    Favourite JGD
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:05 PM

@Paul Murphy: don’t underestimate the Healy-Raes, especially Michael, they run a very effective political machine down in Kerry and know how to deliver for their constituents.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 19th 2020, 1:50 PM

Good on them. There’s no harm talking, and it’s the Democratic thing to do

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:00 PM

@The Risen: seriously…???? If you have any idea about politics, and I think you do, you and the dogs in the street know that this is crazy, desperate and dangerous. There are some conversations that don’t need to take place if you know your stuff and this is one of them. Nothing to do with democracy.

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca

@The Risen: Can this coalition form a gov without a majority? Would a minority gov need to pass a vote from all tds?

Mute Tjamr
    Favourite Tjamr
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:18 PM

@2thFairy: FG have had no issues dealing with Michael Lowry who’s been proven to be a corrupt politician. The nature of politics in Ireland is local and in that regard the Healy Raes and Michael Collins are successful in their jobs. This is democracy at work, just because someone has a thick country doesn’t mean they couldn’t do a better job than varadkar or murphy.

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:26 PM

@Tjamr: this is not democracy. It’s desperation. The HRs are the comic relief of Irish politics. Putting them in charge of running a country is a whole other nightmare.

Mute Keith ☘️
    Favourite Keith ☘️
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:27 PM

@The Risen: now I know this risen troll account is definitely a pisstake

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:28 PM

@Tjamr: it has nothing to do with where they’re from, it’s what they stand for. And saying it’s ok cause the others do it too is rubbish. Aren’t SF suppose to be different?

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:28 PM

@Tjamr: ahhh come on now. Maybe god will sort it out for them. These guys have no interest in national politics and any agreement to go into coalition will first and foremost benefit Kerry and not the rest of the country. I know that exists already with the current alliances but these guys bring Parish pump to a whole new pumping station level.

Mute Tjamr
    Favourite Tjamr
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:59 PM

@2thFairy: Compared to the marvellous job done by FG and FF. And as for comic relief do you not remember some of the great jokes told by the housing minister and the health minister.. oh no that wasn’t funny it was fantasy.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Feb 19th 2020, 6:03 PM

@Tjamr: but at least they did not say god would solve anything.

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Feb 19th 2020, 7:17 PM

@2thFairy: the Healy Raes are no fools. They won’t be swindled into any impossible deal. They are querying the figures just as competently as anyone else and they won’t back losers.

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Feb 19th 2020, 8:39 PM

@The Risen: there you are again on your coffee break

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:05 PM

Danny for minister for the environment. Be a bit of craic anyway

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:12 PM

@Brian Dunne: HOW DARE YOU

Mute Ccia
    Favourite Ccia

@Brian Dunne: love if they did.

Mute Kenneth Finnerty
    Favourite Kenneth Finnerty
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:09 PM

Danny doesnt believe in climate change, but he wont upset an environment where there are fairys. Mary Lou believes in fairy tales,,,, actually this could work!

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:21 PM

So Mary Lou is going to sit down with the two guys who have the biggest 2 property portfolios in the Dail. The one with the hat is the biggest landlord, with a personal fortune of 5.4 million euro and 15 buildings broken into private rental & the eejit (far from it) with the beatd is worth about 4 million and about 8 last counting buildings broken up for private rental… well done Mary…… You go in with them you can eff of.

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:38 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: But they never murdered, kneecapped, kidnapped or robbed banks!

Mute Towger
    Favourite Towger
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:08 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: Mary Lou has a fine property herself, so don’t expect any dramatic changes in that area.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:12 PM

@John Mc Donagh: I’m sure they could learn, if that was the price of getting a ministry in the new revolutionary guard.

Mute John Caplis
    Favourite John Caplis
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:57 PM

Just to let you all know the Dep of Education scrapped Civic Social and Political Education as an exam subject for the Junior Cert. Its basically to save them money. The subject isn’t taught properly in schools and often not at all because lots of teachers see it as a doss subject and let kids do homework in the class instead. I should know I’m a History/CSPE teacher who gets laughed at when I tell people what I teach. When young people grow up with no level of knowledge about basic politics in their own country and how it works, in turn you get a general election result like the one we just had.

Mute Ciaran Moore
    Favourite Ciaran Moore
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:14 PM

@John Caplis: What would you have taught them different? How would it have affected the result?

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:30 PM

@Ciaran Moore: I’m not sure if he had taught them differently it would have affected the result, probably not. BUT there were a lot of people on here before the election, ignorant as to how the system works. And I dont mean ignorant in the rude sense, they just didnt properly understand how we vote. There are anecdotal stories (I’m not sure I believe them) about younger voters wondering why Mary Lou wasn’t on their ballot papers, seeming to think we had an american style voting system. So, a little education goes a long way.

Mute Dave Lynch
    Favourite Dave Lynch
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:13 PM

@John Caplis: Completely agree – CSPE or something similar should be a mandatory subject in school, basic political/life knowledge is much more worthwhile than learning your An Mo Coinníollach!

Mute Dave Lynch
    Favourite Dave Lynch
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:15 PM

@Connoroconner: check this out – people were asking at different polling stations ‘how come Mary Lou isn’t on my polling card’ or ‘how come I can’t vote for Mary Lou’ – god almighty!!

Mute John Caplis
    Favourite John Caplis
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:55 PM

@Ciaran Moore: I would encourage them (if they’re interested) to always be wary of voting for a brand/image and instead educate themselves on the history/policies of a party. A lot of kids sing Come Out Ye Black And Tans and Wolf Tone songs that romanticise IRA violence/atrocities during the Troubles, without truly understanding the history behind them.
    Instead I just encourage them to research the facts and then decide for themselves

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:01 PM

@Dave Lynch: I’ve heard that said and referred to it in my comment, I wonder if it’s really true though? In fairness, the SF vote transferred pretty well to candidates of the left after all?

Mute David Brosnan
    Favourite David Brosnan
    Feb 20th 2020, 5:03 PM

@John Caplis: couldn’t agree more. Imagine the impact of €15 an hour on the local economy, the only place to have a shop would be Dublin. It’s just a pity that personal financial planning isn’t brought into the education system

Mute roberto Mankini
    Favourite roberto Mankini
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:32 PM

Increase min wage to €15 this year and build 100,000 houses in 3 years?? Look in the mirror with shame if you voted for these half wits.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:59 PM

@roberto Mankini: We built more than that amount for 12 years straight in the 90s-00s, while you’re on about half wits…

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:42 PM

@roberto Mankini: at least they’ll be spending the taxpayers money properly not lining there pockets with it

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:13 PM

@Margaret Kane: where?

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:29 PM

@Margaret Kane: yes, like when they continued to take a taxpayer funded salary from the Northern Assembly for a number of years while it was suspended? Don’t kid yourself Margaret, they’re no different in that respect to other parties.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:58 PM

@Connoroconner: I think anyone looking for FFFG in government for the next five years are fooling themselves and deserve what they get

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:28 PM

@roberto Mankini: FFs plan is to build 200,000 houses!

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Feb 19th 2020, 6:01 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: SF will be building 100,000 houses in Tralee if they partner with the fairy believers.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Feb 19th 2020, 6:02 PM

@The Risen: and then the local council sold them all to the tenants for next to nothing, who then turfed their family out to look for another house whilst they sold them for a fine profit and moved to the suburbs. Why don’t we just start that cycle again.

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 19th 2020, 7:25 PM

@Margaret Kane: so it’s ok for SF to line their pockets because basically, they’re not FFG? I see what you’re saying now.

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:19 PM

The road to Kilgrvan will be paved with gold

Mute XvSv
    Favourite XvSv
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:35 PM

@Tim: Tim , I would go further , I’m guessing it will be upgraded to a motorway leading all the way to Kilgarvan via Killarney …

Mute Pat Casey
    Favourite Pat Casey
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:24 PM

Up the RAes.

Mute Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh
    Favourite Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:20 PM

@Pat Casey: Sinn Féin/Healy Rae

Mute Gerard Martin
    Favourite Gerard Martin

Tweed caps to be made mandatory dress in the Dail.

Mute Marcus Mac An Bhaird
    Favourite Marcus Mac An Bhaird
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:24 PM

@Gerard Martin: A part of me wants to scream when I see a grown man wearing a flat cap indoors.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:14 PM

@Marcus Mac An Bhaird: he’ll look great in a black beret.

Mute Carsonwasahurler
    Favourite Carsonwasahurler
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:35 PM

Nice combo. Climate change deniers and IRA atrocity deniers. Sure keep singing rebel songs and twil be grand! God help us all!

Mute Sean Fahey
    Favourite Sean Fahey
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:40 PM

Great, Kerry be getting a monorail, an international airport and a tunnel to NewYork by the time the talks are done.

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:22 PM

Will the fairies be invited? Maybe SF can stop the fairies from damaging the roads.

I can see it now – legal drink driving if you live in kerry

Will it be dingle or tralee that they will demand become the capital of Ireland

Stop the planet and let me off

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:31 PM

They’re going to need a universal translator

Mute JGD
    Favourite JGD
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:11 PM

@J: it’s comments like this that make Kerry people give a massive vote to the HRs.

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:59 PM

@J: sometimes when Coveney speaks we could do with one.

Mute Colin McCarthy
    Favourite Colin McCarthy
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:07 PM

People voted for change not climate change deniers and pro drink driving advocates.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:00 PM

Lou & Looper

Mute Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh
    Favourite Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:50 PM

So even the Healy Raes can see that Sinn Féin’s policies are have no economic merit. That saying something.

Mute Melina Roberts
    Favourite Melina Roberts
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:28 PM

Omg the Healy Raes! Give me strength, do they really have a position in politics in 2020? These guys don’t have the wherewithal to think beyond the few surrounding fields they root from. If change is on the table, these are not your guys, If Sinn Fein needs to chat to the Healy raes about anything it’s a poor sign of what’s to come.

Mute JGD
    Favourite JGD
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:13 PM

@Melina Roberts: the”surrounding fields”? How about the whole of Kerry?

Mute Rodger 6
    Favourite Rodger 6
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:58 PM

A particularly terrifying headline.

Mute Anyone But Cork
    Favourite Anyone But Cork
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:37 PM

The Healy Raes are good for their locality, they’ll do no harm. The same cannot be said for Sinn Fein.

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:21 PM

I personally do not want the Healy -Raes in government . It’s embarrassing enough that they are in the Dail .

Mute Joe Vlogs
    Favourite Joe Vlogs
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:17 PM

The whiff of leather seats from the ministerial cars has gotten to them.

Mute Tony Shaw
    Favourite Tony Shaw
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:31 PM

The problem with Socialism is you eventually run out of other peoples money …… M Thatcher

Mute classic
    Favourite classic
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:37 PM

Politicians are all the same no matter who gets in

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:05 PM

Pbp on a hiding to nothing with this approach. Of course sf will offer them what they want. The ‘reunification project’ uses whatever means necessary to achieve its ends. If the quid pro quo was to be pbp in housing or social welfare with changes to take effect immediately i wonder how keen sf would be then. I voted pbp. But sf will make short work of them if they continue with this approach

Mute Ccia
    Favourite Ccia
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:14 PM

@alan: and right too.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:22 PM

@alan: that’s an interesting take on it.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:44 PM

@Jane: for me, the best position for pbp to take is to continue building, improve dail performances in opposition and link with sympathetic groups outside the dail, nationally and locally. it has been shown to work. they dont need sf or the larger context in which sf are operating.

Mute Keith O Hanlon
    Favourite Keith O Hanlon
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:26 PM

Is Shane Ross still looking to go to North Korea to talk missiles LOL

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:40 PM

@Keith O Hanlon: can you imagine Shane sitting down with Kim talking about missiles ffs.. It’d be like Simon Harris and Danny healy sitting down in a pub in kerry drinking pints

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:15 PM

Clearly, addition was never a strong point with either mary lou or the healy caps.

Mute Longlin
    Favourite Longlin
    Feb 19th 2020, 6:03 PM

Shows you how bonkers Sinn Fein’s economic manifesto is when it doesn’t fool Danny Healy Rea.

Mute Ciaran Tuomey
    Favourite Ciaran Tuomey
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:35 PM

Interesting to see what they could possibly agree on

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:38 PM

Isn’t it amazing who gets into bed with who just for recognition.

Mute Jean Farrelly
    Favourite Jean Farrelly
    Feb 19th 2020, 6:49 PM

“There’s no such thing as a free lunch” WELL THE Healy RAES and the rest of the bleeders in the Dail have had plenty of Free Lunches off the backs of the tax payer. They are terrified of change for fear that the full extent of their corruption will be exposed.

Mute Jim Monaghan
    Favourite Jim Monaghan
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:38 PM

We could afford (be made to) pay billions for a bank bailout but we cannot afford spending on much needed services and infrastructure.

Mute XvSv
    Favourite XvSv
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:53 PM

This is a master stroke by Mary Lou and Pearse Doherty , with this announcement that they sitting down with Mattie McGrath & the Healy-Raes , this is the fastest way to flush the Reada Cronin story out of the news cycle..

Sinn Fein have learned well from Donald Trump’s playbook …..feed the Media new Shark bait …..

Michael & Leo hope you are paying attention … because FF and FG could learn a lot …….

It only becomes an issue if she actually has to promise to build a motorway all the way to Kilgarvan via Carrick-an-suir & Clonmel….. not likely but perhaps it will give the Soc Dems and PBP the proverbial kick in the ass they need also..

Mute Diogenes Cat
    Favourite Diogenes Cat
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:38 PM

Sinn Fein should be very careful they don’t end up with Michael as Taoiseach and Danny as Tànaiste. The lads will run rings around the representatives of the politburo.

Mute Catherine Gaffney
    Favourite Catherine Gaffney
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:54 PM

The lunatics are taking over the asylum. I’m sorry but…..

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Feb 19th 2020, 6:00 PM

@Catherine Gaffney: they’ve been there for years.

Mute Sea Graham
    Favourite Sea Graham
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:40 PM

The Healy Raes have been getting fired lunch for years. Sure don’t they own the chipper van’s in Kerry?

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:51 PM

They want to bring in “big dinner” driving laws.

Mute Ivan Assache
    Favourite Ivan Assache
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:18 PM

Well that’s the country F oo k ed then. The Healy-Raes are amadáns.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Feb 19th 2020, 6:11 PM

Vote for Change? The Raes are more Fianna Fail than Fianna Fail. Free GP services and 100,000 affordable houses for Tralee will be their opening pitch.

Mute TMcMahon
    Favourite TMcMahon
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:33 PM

Past a joke, we can’t let the lunatics, take over the asylum. No government is far better than this.

Feb 19th 2020, 2:32 PM

‘Mon Mary Lou!

Mute Ccia
    Favourite Ccia
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:12 PM

Good

Mute colin weafer
    Favourite colin weafer
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:45 PM
    Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Feb 19th 2020, 7:22 PM

If these pair of clowns hold the balance of power in gov then we are no longer allowed to pass judgement on the Boris or Donald

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 19th 2020, 8:40 PM

@Derek Lyster: nah, we’ve already jumped that shark.

Mute Marianne
    Favourite Marianne
    Feb 19th 2020, 10:13 PM

That’s mad because you and your brother have been having free lunches on the Tax payers for a very long time

Mute Owwwwnnnn
    Favourite Owwwwnnnn
    Feb 19th 2020, 6:26 PM

It’s well known they were in bed with FF before a vote was cast!

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:37 PM

All the amazing key board politicians here writing shit amuse me

Mute Matt Rogers
    Favourite Matt Rogers
    Feb 19th 2020, 7:01 PM

Having to stitch together 44 votes to gain a ‘leftist’ majority of 1 in the Dàil ?.
    Suicide as Irelands 17 billionaires will take it in turns to easily buy off your majority and FFG will vote in block against everything you propose and then claim you can’t govern.

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:56 PM

A Healy-Rae had something come out of his mouth that wasn’t completely bonkers? =o
    We must be in the end times indeed!

Mute Ccia
    Favourite Ccia
    Feb 19th 2020, 2:13 PM

Let’s government sorted.

Mute patrick malone
    Favourite patrick malone
    Feb 19th 2020, 1:52 PM

It’s usually the other way around

Mute Joseph Duggan
    Favourite Joseph Duggan
    Feb 20th 2020, 2:58 PM

Healey rays want nó change as they would be in bracket for higher tax

Mute Davis Payne
    Favourite Davis Payne
    Feb 19th 2020, 5:44 PM

Looks like a bunch of politicians don’t want to pay for another campaign

Mute SkylineSi
    Favourite SkylineSi
    Feb 19th 2020, 3:25 PM

bahahaha

Mute William Mcgee
    Favourite William Mcgee
    Feb 20th 2020, 7:39 PM

Do the people not remember FF. Destroying the country and then FG . destroying the lives of the people with their cuts and more taxes .

Mute Ixtrix Net
    Favourite Ixtrix Net
    Feb 19th 2020, 6:16 PM

Tanstaafl

Mute Christopher Byrne
    Favourite Christopher Byrne
    Feb 23rd 2020, 1:05 PM

‘He fixed the road’

Mute bryan Flanagan
    Favourite bryan Flanagan
    Feb 20th 2020, 12:00 AM

Internet gone mat for me

Mute bryan Flanagan
    Favourite bryan Flanagan
    Feb 19th 2020, 11:59 PM

Internet gone mat for me