You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

What on earth is Sinn Féin's digital rising?

The party has launched a new online initiative aimed at spreading its message further on social media.

SINN FÉIN HAS launched a new campaign to recruit online activists in a bid to enhance its presence and spread its message on social media.

The party’s Sinn Féin Online Supporter page is asking users to join the campaign to “reshape politics in Ireland and in doing so usher in an era of radical change that puts the interest of our citizens at the heart of all we do”.

Sinn Féin acknowledges the transformative effect that the internet and sites like Facebook and Twitter have had on politics globally and in Ireland.

The page’s logo is particularly striking, encouraging users to ‘be part of the digital rising’:

Screen Shot 2015-09-24 at 18.03.14

“Never before has there been so many ways that you can help influence and make change happen through this global online community we live in. Thousands of people from every walk of life have already signed up from across Ireland and beyond to become Online Supporters for Sinn Féin,” the blurb says.

Those who sign-up are asked to provide an email and their constituency. They are able to link their Facebook and Twitter accounts with Sinn Féin’s and are also invited to share their age, address and other contact details.

They will receive email updates and be encouraged to share the party’s messages on their own social media pages.

A spokesperson explained that those who sign-up would not be full party members but would be classed as ‘online supporters’, saying:

We’re directing it at our support base, the idea is that they would take our social media stuff, our online message, and share it across their platforms and get our message out further and wider.

They added it would also focus on people who would support Sinn Féin but would not have the time to help out canvassing or distributing leaflets.

“They have young families and don’t want to canvass but maybe when they put the kids to bed, they open up their laptop and have a look online and get the message out as far as possible on social media,” the spokesperson added.

Sinn Féin already has a particularly strong presence on social media with its official account having more followers than any other party. Leading figures like Gerry Adams, Mary Lou McDonald and Martin McGuinness are prolific Twitter users.

Adams’s Twitter account, which has nearly three times as many followers as any other party leader, has become particularly famous in recent years.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Party supporters are also among the most active on social media.

Although a recent study found that its supporters are less likely to use Twitter than other party supporters.

But Sinn Féin has also faced criticism for having so-called ‘keyboard warriors’ who have attacked abuse victim Máiria Cahill online.

It’s also had a number of recent controversies on Facebook with one of its councillor’s complaining he was bullied by another member on Facebook. Another councillor was criticised this week for referring to the people who run Irish rugby as ‘West Brits’.

Read: Gerry Adams is winning at Twitter

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

107 Comments
    Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:14 PM

It must be…..Hugh.

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:28 PM

They already have it. It’s called the journal

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:33 PM

I like guessing the author from the headline.Im usually spot on for Hughs.He’s like a little Blueshirt energiser bunny…..I like to think of him as Endas personal Rampaging Rabbit….

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Left, left, stop
    Favourite Left, left, stop
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:37 PM

So reporting that a political party wants to recruit online warriors is what? Wrong???

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:39 PM

Congratulations to “For Connolly” on his/her new initiative.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:46 PM

The Right2Water-Right2Change initiative is citizen led. SF is merely one of the parties who are part of the umbrella group

Mute Pearse McMullen
    Favourite Pearse McMullen
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:53 PM

There is gonna be smoke coming out of your keyboard trying to keep up with all of us now Dermo, LOL – Want to send out for a second pizza tonight, you are gonna be here for a while.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid

A dozen shinnerbots with multiple accounts spamming the comments section of every news website is not “citizen lead”.

Putin would be proud.

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:05 PM

I’d say the FG fraperoom management is bullin’ it didn’t come up with the idea to enlist the public.Although those working there must be breathing a sigh of relief that they’ll still get a paycheck the end of the month.A little advise.. Don’t spend it all in one go, you’re gonna need it once the election is over.

Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:06 PM

I don’t know why For Connolly is on this thread backing Sinn Fein, he even stated he won’t be voting for them.

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:07 PM

I’ve seen it all now, the ultimate troll who sets out to destroy any comment section on this sight relating to its two obsessions of SF and immigration talks about others spamming sites. The monkey must be drunk well tonight!

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:07 PM

*drunk early

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:12 PM

@ James: Please post a link to any comment where I have stated anything other than I would be giving PBP my first and SF my second preference vote…

Ta

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:21 PM

Dermo,SF’s new site is something you can bring up at ukip’s next phone box meeting or have you gone back to the tuv?

Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:21 PM

http://www.thejournal.ie/sinn-fein-cork-east-5-2336066-Sep2015/ There you go FC. You stated you won’t vote for Sinn Fein in the General Election.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:30 PM

FOOTSOLDIERS……..CALLING ALL FOOTSOLDIERS

Comical stuff in fairness….

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:41 PM

Cheers for posting a link backing up my position James. The SF candidate in my constituency will tapdance into the Dail, so my first preference is going to the other excellent public rep running, PBPs Gino Kenny

Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:51 PM

So you are admitting your not giving Sinn Fein your 1st preference vote. I’m glad that’s cleared up.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:57 PM

I don’t need to. Eoin O’Broin is Dailbound, my focus is putting Gino Kenny in there with h, along with other Right2Change friendly candidates.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:41 PM

hmmmm I wonder what hugh boy is attempting to distract and deflect us from today with this click bait? ??

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:45 PM
    Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2015, 9:17 PM
    Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:23 PM

Well why not.. Social media seems to be the only way to get your message across seeing as how manipulate, bias, cynical established media outlets can be in this country

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:32 PM

Correct SN. The anti-water charge movement would not have happened to the scale it did without social media

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:45 PM

Social media is one thing. The followers of one party spamming the comments sections of news sites is another.

Can the shinnerbots just a elect one spokesperson to give us our daily dose of deflection and lies?

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:46 PM

LOL….that’s hilarious Diarmuid….coming from you!

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:49 PM

Is that like turning every article relating to the governments sleveenism and ineptitude into a ‘noun-verb-SF’ fest??

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:51 PM

Oh diarmuid, your antishinner hat is slipping again.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:52 PM

Nah… I say good and bad things about the government.

Unlike you shinnertrolls, I don’t support a political party like it’s a cult / soccer team.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova

What’s two plus two??? SINN FEIN!!!

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:55 PM

5…. according to Sinn Féin. Lols!

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:59 PM

TBH Diarmuid…I’ve never seen you post anything bad about the FG.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:24 PM

To be fair to dermo he did post that he doesn’t believe inda aobut sacking the Garda commissioner.

However, that also means he’s fine with the law being broken, depending on who he thinks broke it.

Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:56 PM

FC don’t make me laugh. You once said it’s a person’s right to break the law. Remember that?

Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:01 PM

Just in case you forgot For Connolly/Were Jammin. http://www.thejournal.ie/dublin-says-no-woman-face-injured-2045930-Apr2015/

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:03 PM

Linky linky spoofer….

I said that people can break the law as long as they are prepared to accept the consequences. Happens all the time, hence the need for prisons.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:05 PM

Apologies, link didn’t show properly for me.

Please read the link guys. MLK broke the law and was willing to face the consequences as that law was unjust.

Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:07 PM

Ah so you are Were Jammin. Should you not be banned from this site then?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:16 PM

I’m also Batman, the Sugar Puffs honey monster and the water fairy.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Sep 24th 2015, 11:09 PM

And you won’t give SF your first vote Jammin….

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:14 PM

Well why not, yfg,yl,and yff already have their fair share of keyboard warriors. I would like to see these (all sides) posters having the conviction to post under their real names.

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:18 PM

I know, it annoys me that people haven’t the courage of their convictions to comment with their real name. It’s just a licence to post any old shite without accountability

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:21 PM

Yeah it’s truly shocking, we should take ‘em out back and kneecap them.

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:31 PM

Some of us want to keep our cushy well-paid jobs and be able to walk down the street without getting knickers thrown at us, Stephen.

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:36 PM

I love the danger of commenting under my real name, Uncle Monty. It’s the most exxcitement I get, knowing every comment I send is a potential pathway to disgrace

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:37 PM

Mike, please bear in mind that there are commented on here who for a myriad of reasons cannot use their real names. There are guards, soldiers, civil servants etc. providing useful input and information who would be effectively ending their careers if they used their real names.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:41 PM

…. then there are disingenuous anonymous shinnertrolls…

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

Well Stephen, as children will do what you do and not what you say, I teach my children to be safe online….so I practice what I preach. Just saying. I only have the one FB account anyway.

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:42 PM

Jesus no. Add some stimulants and I would be out of a job in a week. I would feel like a bird whose wings have been clipped if I had to post under my real name…

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton

Hahaha… coming from you diarmuid,that is pure classic.

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:59 PM

You’re my favourite anonymous poster, Uncle Monty

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:06 PM

And some day you WILL play the Dane, I can feel it

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:09 PM

*blushes*

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:31 PM

And then there’s the abuse, the profile stalking, vulgar messages you know.

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:11 PM

Oh dear, we already have a Shinner army of journal commenters, will there be even more now?

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:55 PM

Lol… Just…lol, lol, lol……

Mute Ken Fallon
    Favourite Ken Fallon
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:19 PM

Can the Shinners do ANYTHING without having to refer to the rising? Even the hand holding the phone in the poster looks like it could be a grenade about to be thrown. They really are the gift that keeps on giving.

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:27 PM

The saps are rising

Sep 24th 2015, 11:12 PM

Above is four reasons to be proactive.

Sep 24th 2015, 11:14 PM

*are.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:16 PM

Will be banned if Labour have their greedy way.

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:18 PM

They need to be audited before letting them loose.

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:08 PM

Whist, don’t be mentioning auditing on comments relating to Labour… you could scare them into prematurely shreading documents.

Mute Owen Slattery
    Favourite Owen Slattery
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:21 PM

Labour, FF and FG appear to have keyboard warriors battling on comments sections and forums. While they don’t blatantly have a party logo in their profile pictures (*ahem* AAA), their affiliation is usually obvious. Ironically, they are usually the ones claiming somebody is a ‘shinnerbot’.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:28 PM
    Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:31 PM

FG have 30 full time staff for their online activities http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/03/07/fine-gaels-frape-room/

Mute Ben Smith
    Favourite Ben Smith

Party drones can be irksome, but Shinners are especially belligerent.

Sep 24th 2015, 10:51 PM

I find most of the vicious, hate filled comments emanate from those who despise SF. Always a made up account.

Mute E F Fanning
    Favourite E F Fanning
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:19 PM

Deary me. This merits an article?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:27 PM

Well….it is interesting don’t you think for a party to ask outright for ‘keyboard warriors’.
    It’ll give the FG Frape room a run for it’s money…. http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/03/07/fine-gaels-frape-room/

Mute Stephen O'Rourke
    Favourite Stephen O'Rourke
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:12 PM

More Shinnerbots just what we need.

Mute ROS123
    Favourite ROS123
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:22 PM

I can see from the red v green hands, Shinnerbots are already 2:1 and they are looking for more.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:22 PM

Or maybe ROS….that’s public opinion atm.

Mute Stephen O'Rourke
    Favourite Stephen O'Rourke
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:28 PM

Al I know they are doing well but at 2:1 that means they are 66% in the polls, that’s not the number I heard on the news this evening.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:53 PM

Well Stephen…..would that be RTE?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:29 PM

From now to the election I’ll be promoting the new Right2Water-Right2Change mass movement. Hugely exciting while at the same time promoting the parties involved in the movement, namely PBP-AAA-SF, think that SD are also on board, plus out brilliant left leaning independents. But best of luck to SF, they’re doing some brilliant work on the ground

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:34 PM

A nation holds it breath :)

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:42 PM

Probably not a good idea to refer to the Social Democrats as the SD…. FG probably hold the copyright….

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:43 PM

Thank you for the Public Broadcast Shinnerbot.

Nobody cares.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:20 PM

SD on board too? Didn’t realise that,

Mute Brian O' Connor
    Favourite Brian O' Connor
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:38 PM

It will be interesting to see if their online spear carriers will be as insulting and abusive as are the government on-line warriors who employ gratuitous insults and derogatory labelling as a matter of course.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:43 PM

You mean like FG warriors calling water protesters s(um?

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:13 PM

Middle digit rising.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen

Great idea,the most progressive party in the country takes another step forward.We’ve tried all the others,Sinn Fein and s.d’s are the only way forward for this country.Admitted they have a few bogies in their ranks but couldn’t possibly outmatch f/g labour in terms of corruption and lack of empathy with the people they claim to represent.Big shock coming in the G.e if the German maiden calls it early.

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:15 PM

The Scientology of Irish politics is at it again.

Mute Ben Smith
    Favourite Ben Smith

Shinnerism will be declared a religion so they can claim tax exempt status.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:31 PM

Maybe they can move to Malta and avoi…..

Sorry, wrong party.

Sep 24th 2015, 11:17 PM

There’s a wave to be rode. Guess who owns the surfboard?

Mute Type17
    Favourite Type17
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:15 PM

**Turns off “Show Comments” option in Journal app**

Mute tippittytoppittytupp
    Favourite tippittytoppittytupp
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:24 PM

Funny wee maaan is our gerry!

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey

He certainly gets Joans knickers in a twist.

Mute Garáiste Ó Churáinn-Seisean
    Favourite Garáiste Ó Churáinn-Seisean
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:29 PM

Let them tidy up their own house first before trying to sort out the rest of the country – the former will take a generation

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater

share their age, address and other contact details. nice covert way of gathering Intel, I would not give sf the time of day.

Mute Niall B.
    Favourite Niall B.
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:52 PM

is it where we hit the British with a DDOS attack?

Mute Mick
    Favourite Mick
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:20 PM

Progressive, I like.

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:57 PM

I find this CHILLING

Mute Chris O Neill Cabra
    Favourite Chris O Neill Cabra

They are only doing this now?

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:26 PM

21st century version of the bar stool republican.

Mute Liam Mac Uidhir
    Favourite Liam Mac Uidhir
    Sep 25th 2015, 1:23 PM

More people to throw insults at Mairia Cahill.

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:50 PM

Some brainwave from MI5.

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    Sep 25th 2015, 8:36 AM

Thier new iBomb app is top of iTunes at present.

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    Sep 25th 2015, 8:37 AM

*Their

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Sep 24th 2015, 9:28 PM

On line Sufferers more likely

Mute Paul Dwyer
    Favourite Paul Dwyer
    Sep 24th 2015, 10:28 PM

Its great to see,10 years time they be in power,maybe less,must sign up,tal

Mute mark power
    Favourite mark power
    Sep 25th 2015, 6:47 PM

Will they be tutored how to engage properly in social media or will they just be more on line abusers like Brian former FF