You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Lynn Boylan Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

'MEPs are talking out of both sides of their mouths': Sinn Féin hopeful hits out at Hayes and Costello

Lynn Boylan has strong words for her opponents as she looks to win one of three seats in the capital this May.

SINN FÉIN’S CANDIDATE for the European elections in Dublin, Lynn Boylan, has hit out at Fine Gael’s Brian Hayes as the race for the three-seats in the capital heats up.

Boylan, an ecologist, is hoping to capitalise on the growing support for Sinn Féin by taking a seat in the European Parliament that the party’s deputy leader Mary Lou McDonald missed out in in 2009.

“Why I am running is I am damn angry about the situation,” she told TheJournal.ie “I moved back to Dublin in 2010, I am from Tallaght originally. In terms of why I am running for the election is I think we need proper representation.

“MEPs are talking about of both sides of their mouths. They go over there, they talk the good talk here and then they disappear into Brussels and seem to just be happy to rubberstamp everything.”

A long-time member of Sinn Féin, Boylan has no legislative experience and failed to get elected in the 2007 general election or the 2009 local elections in Kerry. But she claims working for Safefood for the past six years has given her experience of dealing with food regulations.

“My background is in environmental management and food safety and a lot of regulation that comes out of Brussels refers to environmental management and food safety,” she claimed.

Hayes and Costello criticism

Hitting out at her opponent in the May 23 elections, Boylan said that Hayes, who announced he is seeking the Fine Gael nomination this week, “represents everything that is wrong with the whole economic crisis”.

“I really believe if people think Brian Hayes is going to go over and champion the cause of Dublin then they just need to look at the constituency he represents,” she said.

“He represents the area where I am from in Dublin, [where there are] huge levels of unemployment and inequality. He doesn’t even have a constituency office in his own area.”

She said she does not see Hayes “is suddenly miraculously going to appear as a knight in shining armour for Dublin”.

She also hit out at Emer Costello, Labour’s candidate and sitting MEP in the capital.

“Take the example of Emer Costello, she talks about championing youth unemployment and yet when she was given the opportunity to vote in favour of increasing the budget on the youth guarantee she voted against it as did Fianna Fáil and as did Fine Gael,” Boylan said.

Lynn Boylan on…

People not caring about what goes on in Europe:

“I think you have to make it relevant to people. You have to be accountable but you also have to be engaging with your electorate… Almost 70 per cent of legislation that effects people every day of their lives comes out of Brussels and I think that’s the message that we have to get across to people, that it is very relevant to them.”

On what she, and Sinn Féin, can offer to Brussels:

“It is vast, it is daunting, I am not going to lie. But the thing is that there are very concrete things that you can do as an MEP such as fighting against the erosion of workers rights which is a big issue at the moment…

“… What Sinn Féin are going to offer is concrete solutions. We’re putting forward documents about creating jobs, using the European Investment Bank to help to do that, to invest in infrastructure, and we think that our proposals are very concrete. They’re not just, you know, soundbites.”

On who will be elected in Dublin:

“Honestly, I don’t know, I’d hope that… I suppose I certainly wouldn’t like to see Brian Hayes elected. I think that I’d like to see what they’re proposing first of all, I haven’t seen their manifestos from the other candidates.”

On serving a full five-year term:

“My intention is to be an MEP for Dublin for the full five years.”

On how many member states are in the EU:

“27″. (It’s 28, including Ireland)

On who is the head of the European Commission:

“Barroso”. (It is Jose Manuel Barroso)

On who is head of the European Council:

“The council, em, that would be the Greek minister at the moment, wouldn’t it? [Pause] Its not Schulz, he’s the president of the European Council. You’ve caught me.”  (It’s Herman van Rompuy)

On the perception that Sinn Féin is anti-EU:

“We’re not an anti-EU party. We believe that Ireland’s place is at the heart of Europe, and in the European Union, but on an equal footing. We believe in each sovereign state having an equal standing and that MEPs and government ministers, when they go over to the European Council, they should be representative of the people who elected them and I think that that’s what’s wrong. People’s level of trust in Europe has dropped dramatically.”

Other candidates currently in the running for the European elections in Dublin include independent Nessa Childers, Mary Fitzpatrick for Fianna Fáil, Brian Hayes for Fine Gael, Emer Costello for Labour, Paul Murphy for the Socialist Party, Eamon Ryan for the Green Party, and Brid Smith for People Before Profit.

TheJournal.ie intends to speak to all European Parliament candidates in the capital and elsewhere in the country before May’s elections.

Emer Costello: Single-party FG government would have implemented Greek-like austerity

Follow our European elections coverage here >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

154 Comments
    Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Favourite Paul Anthony Ward
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:08 PM

This is the first decent bit of publicity Ms Boylan has gotten (to my knowledge) & she mentioned Tallaght twice.
    Anyone else get the impression she’s actually running for the bye-election in Dublin SW & not the Euros…?

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:23 PM

Have we any publicity from FF’s candidate Mary Fitzpatrick, whose old council seat you are going for. Bertie’s babe as she was known locally before she fell out with him over leafleting.

Will Paul Kiely of the CRC being broad on board once more to help her out and her local FF org.

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:29 PM

Cillian your slow out of the traps today, did you nod off on your media watch? Gerry won’t be impressed! SF troll…..

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:35 PM

Jordan.

What a deranged FF troll you and Ink Toner are.

You just summed up everything your party stands for.

Mute finbarr ocormac
    Favourite finbarr ocormac
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:41 PM

Costello was handed her seat by De Rossa and and she will be lucky to poll 10.000 votes …hope the sinn fein girl gets in

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:46 PM

For your info Cillian – I never was a voter or supporter of Ff or FG your a typical shinner that thinks if people don’t agree with SF they must be ff etc!

Mute Jordan Dicaprio Belfort
    Favourite Jordan Dicaprio Belfort

and what do SF stand for

staying quiet while aine adams is raped
    pearse doherty and his ”budget” with no cuts
    mary lou and shane ross (a bank adviser) attacking the gardai

is that your party cillian ?

Feb 1st 2014, 5:48 PM

another sinn fein girl said she wasn’t ”authorised” to condemn a garda being murdered

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:01 PM

Well well a Sinn Fein candidate who doesn’t like talking out of both sides of the mouth , as she has been parachuted in I only suppose she hasn’t met too many of her colleagues , who can do the mouth thing and other parts of the anatomy with aplomb.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:07 PM

One day I might give SF my vote but never with Adams as their leader, pardon the pun, but way too many skeletons in his wardrobe!

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:28 PM

Can you name one of these ‘skeletons’ that you haven’t been spoonfed repeatedly by the bbc, gbc, or FG man denis o’briens independent media, michael?

Feb 1st 2014, 7:05 PM

Michael

you have a brain (and a conscience)

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:31 PM

We’re have you been hiding Jammy? They must have forgotten to press your button!

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Feb 1st 2014, 8:06 PM

were jammin

You are joking aren’t you?

What skeletons could Gerry have in his cupboard?

Jean McConville’s for one.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Feb 1st 2014, 8:40 PM

Have you taken your evidence of his involvement to the Gardai Justin, since the last time you made the same accusation?

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Feb 1st 2014, 9:30 PM

The families of all the disappeared made it all up, you’re the quintessential shinner all right, the murdered themselves to make Sinn Fein look bad.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Feb 1st 2014, 9:41 PM

Are you accusing a member of Sinn Fein of murdering one of the disappeared? If so, which member and which disappeared person?

Mute Seán Marlow
    Favourite Seán Marlow
    Feb 1st 2014, 10:45 PM

FFraud & FFailure. Oh and FFitzy & FFingers ;)

Mute Seán Marlow
    Favourite Seán Marlow
    Feb 1st 2014, 10:48 PM

The families of the Forgotten Massacre won’t forget that FF/FG/Lab collaborated with the murderers of their relatives, as Anne Cadwallader’s excellent book showed.

Mute Brendan Ferron
    Favourite Brendan Ferron
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:36 PM

Absolutely on the money with Brian Hayes failure to represent the people of Tallaght. Lynn will make an excellent candidate for Europe. I look forward to canvassing with her.

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Favourite Jean Paul Valley
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:56 PM

Hope none of the people have any questions for ye. Might be awkward. Looks like you guys need to do some home work on the EU based on the interview above. If you have kids in primary school you could ask them. I’m pretty sure it’s in the curriculum.

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:29 PM

Brendan, why are you canvassing for someone who does not know what she is even applying for? Do tell?

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Birch Barlow
    Favourite Birch Barlow
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:42 PM

I live in Templeogue, Hayes has been a fantastic representative for my area.

Mute Brendan Ferron
    Favourite Brendan Ferron
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:52 PM

Oh she knows quite well. She knows the effects of the European driven austerity agenda and it’s effect on the people of Dublin. She knows the consequences of Frankfurts way rather than Labours way and the debt millstone around the kneck of the Irish people as a result. She is well aware of Michael Noonans spoof on retrospective bank capitalisation. She is a member of a party who told the truth on Lisbon, jobs and prosperity my arse, unemployment and generational debt. She will articulate the anger of the Irish people unlike the spineless anemic MEPS we currently have representing the 26 counties.

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:59 PM

Brendan, she doesn’t even know the basics lad. It’s pitiful that you even try to cover it up. It Prob says more about you. Hilarious stuff lads, keep it up!

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:02 PM

Yes she doesn’t know the name of the President if the Council or how many countries are in the EU.

Mute Brendan Ferron
    Favourite Brendan Ferron
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:15 PM

I has no idea who the president of the council, I am well aware of the austerity they are imposing however, I know we are introducing water charges after a raft of other taxes at thier behest, I know we are about to sell off many of our state companies at thier instruction. I am well aware that Michael Noonan over egged retrospective bank capitalisation. When it comes to the election I doubt people will vote based on a general knowledge quiz, they will vote based on policy. The establishment partys have failed miserably to represent Ireland’s views in Europe. Lynn will do that.

Mute Birch Barlow
    Favourite Birch Barlow
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:18 PM

Not knowing the main people in the parliament is scandalous if running for MEP. It’s like going to an interview with Microsoft and not knowing who Bill Gates is.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Favourite Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:40 PM

“Vote Sinn Feinn… EU parliament elections 2014
    – We’re part of the Communist grouping of MEPs.
    Cos nothing says respectable like communism”.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Feb 1st 2014, 8:07 PM

It’s going to be a long few weeks……….

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Feb 1st 2014, 8:13 PM

Brendan, so you are canvassing for a candidate that has no idea about the basics of the European Parliament and you say that you don’t know the basics either? How is that helping your argument? Dear lord…the blind leading the blind…god old Sinn Fein…they really do pick em!

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Feb 1st 2014, 9:06 PM

Brendan it doesn’t sound good that you are canvassing for an MEP candidate but know nothing about the institution she’s running for.

Mute skoda
    Favourite skoda
    Feb 1st 2014, 9:09 PM

Birch, you are obviously a FG/L man.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Feb 1st 2014, 9:29 PM

Birch just proved his own point as mute … Bill Gates is not CEO of Microsoft anymore.

Mute Seán Marlow
    Favourite Seán Marlow
    Feb 1st 2014, 10:50 PM

Like Idiot Inda knew who Nadiba was?

Mute William O'Shea
    Favourite William O'Shea
    Feb 1st 2014, 11:56 PM

If I’m not mistaken most of that Parliament will have changed when she arrives (if she does).

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Feb 2nd 2014, 2:16 AM

Brendan had the pleasure of canvassing with her last week.
    An honest down to earth individual that will make a fine MEP.

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Feb 2nd 2014, 6:14 AM

A fine MEP??? she doesn’t know the basics! It’s dead Embarrassing for anyone associated with Sinn Fein don’t you think?

Mute Despicable You
    Favourite Despicable You
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:05 PM

Sinn Fein reps have never spoken out of both sides of their mouth….no never ever ever

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:14 PM

I wonder what her views are on fuel laundering at the impact it has on the environment…an ecologists point of view if you will…she have to speak out both sides of her mouth fir that one…

SF/ IRA victims have often had blood coming out both sides of their mouth

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner

Well said Kris!

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:02 PM

Just fair warning to the Readership -5 Troll Twitter Accounts “contributing” to this Blog – are perhaps the same Person !!! – someone who has under several other guises been already barred from Journal .ie
    Now he is ;-
    Jean Paul Valley
    Jeremy Usbourne
    Jordan DeCaprio
    Bluemist
    And Belfort !

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:06 PM

What are you basing that on?

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:09 PM

Look at my other posts on this site you utter thick.

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:10 PM

And I’m a troll because I’m opposed to Sinn Féin?

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:15 PM

People presume you are a troll because you churn out bland one line posts that do not seem to have any reasoned argument in them.

I would add Ink Toner and Jordan to the list. They often appear together at the same time.

Proxy servers how are you..

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:19 PM

Jean your spot on if you don’t agree with SF your a troll. It’s common knowledge to subscribers to this site that’s its SF who use multiple fake accounts!

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:19 PM

I am not a troll. I am not those other accounts. I can’t speak for the other people but it’s pretty pathetic to blanket anyone who opposes your party as trolls. I can’t stand Sinn Féin. That’s the long and short of it.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:10 PM

Spot on about Hayes, creepy little turd only fools would vote for him.

Mute Birch Barlow
    Favourite Birch Barlow
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:15 PM

Hates has been a great representative for my area. Top man and I know he will win.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:24 PM

“Hates” love it.lol.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:34 PM

I know Jordan that Michael Collin lad was a right s…bAg sending out all them people to kill

Mute Dhakina's Sword
    Favourite Dhakina's Sword
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:12 AM

I’m not takings sides here. Just to mention, that the native Americans had a lovely, eloquent and succinct way to describe people playing both sides against the other. To quote, ” He speaks with forked tongue “. I’ve always loved that quote and I think it still accurately describes most duplicitous politicians today.

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:56 AM

Ask Cllr Tomas Sharkey in Faughart, Co Louth Kris. Who has challenged the fuel launderers for as long as I can remember- oh that’s SF Cllr Tomas Sharkey!

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 2nd 2014, 7:20 AM

Thomas Murphy( Slab) is a good Republican…..quote from Gerry Adams…you can’t circle a square Malachy….speaking from both sides of your mouth, something SF are quite good at.

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:09 PM

Did I read that right? This clown is running as an MEP and didn’t even know how many countries are in the EU??? And didn’t know who the President of the Council is? Greek minister?

Typical Shinner chancer.

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:14 PM

Yep, it’s pretty laughable really. You would say that she would at least have done her homework for an interview…it does not say much about her suitability for the job.

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:16 PM

She sounds as if she knows as much about the EU as Gerry knows about Economics! She may be right they do speak out of both side of their mouths but what end is she speaking out of? Nice to see the Journal giving SF another leg up!

Feb 1st 2014, 5:31 PM

Jean Paul Valley

we all embarrass ourselves at some stage in life
    but we don’t join a party of blood stained paedophile protecting hypocrites

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:26 PM

It’s very embarrassing for the party to put out a candidate that can’t put a few basics together though…the quality of Sinn Fein shines yet again..

Mute Ronan C Gantly
    Favourite Ronan C Gantly
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:49 PM

If you ask me it seems to be all about candidates that are easy on the eye with SF. As with mary lou , until she had the child that time and well…we know the rest. And now this lassie…here we go again.

Feb 1st 2014, 7:08 PM

budgets with no cuts
    not being ”authorised” to condemn murder

since when do SF need to do homework for anything ?
    as long as they sing the populist tune
    angry dumb people will dance to it

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:14 PM

Like me she doesn’t care how many spoofers are in any of the eu quangos gravy train. Nobody cares.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:41 PM

Jordan who has been in power for the last 90plus years ill tell yea ff/FG/labour so cop ur self on it was you boys who protected the pervs in the church and it was dear Enda and eammon who made that lady’s life a misery and who had to go out of her own country to get justice so don’t be trying to rewrite history perv lovers

Feb 1st 2014, 8:39 PM

> David Clarke

it was YOU boys who protected the pervs in the church

you boys ? ?

Mute Joe Dwyer
    Favourite Joe Dwyer
    Feb 1st 2014, 8:48 PM

To be fair “head of the European Council” isn’t as clear as it appears and momentary confusion is more than understandable …
    Herman Van Rompuy is President of the “European Council” – but that in of itself isn’t equivalent to a “head of state” role – he’s rather chairman of the meetings – ‘primus inter pares’ and all that
    Greece is currently head of the “Council of the European Union” sometimes called the “Coucil of Ministers” or just to help with the confusion simply the: “Council”
    However neither of these institutions should be confused with the “Council of Europe” – an entirely separate international organisation with no link to the European Union.
    And the membership mistake can be explained by Croatia only having joined the EU last summer – it had been 27 for 6 years – easy to leap to that answer

Such gotcha questions are redundant – Tony Blair used to spend time learning the prices of grocery products so that he’d never get caught out – showing the pointlessness of such points – such slips are no reflection on how well Lynn Boylan would deliver for the people of Dublin

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Feb 1st 2014, 9:01 PM

I don’t agree with your conclusions but I respect you for your answer. At least you actually gave one.

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Feb 1st 2014, 9:04 PM

Unfortunately it is a bad reflection, if you can’t master the basics then how are you supposed to represent the people in there. It’s quite an embarrassment to be honest.. People incapable of the basics should not be wasting the voters time.

Mute William O'Shea
    Favourite William O'Shea
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:08 AM

And Joe, post election most of these positions will have new occupants. Good post you’ve articulated nicely my thoughts on this nonsense.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:03 PM

Does anybody use their real name when commenting on the journal any more?

Feb 1st 2014, 7:16 PM

@ Dermot Mc Loughlin

when talking about people like Martin Ferris

do you really expect anybody (except ger colleran) to use their real name ?

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:33 PM

Eh…isn’t this about SF’s candidate for Europe?

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:57 PM

Loki , nice new name ..Jordan Dicaprio Belfort .

Feb 1st 2014, 8:29 PM

low key :)

Mute Nicole McCormack
    Favourite Nicole McCormack
    Feb 1st 2014, 9:03 PM

Yes

Mute Brendan Ferron
    Favourite Brendan Ferron
    Feb 1st 2014, 10:01 PM

I do.

Mute Damian O'Brien
    Favourite Damian O'Brien
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:38 PM

Typical, Sinn Fein can’t even get the soundbite right.

Emer Costello does not speak from both sides of her mouth, rather straight out of her arse.

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:16 PM

She might help to find jean McConville

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:20 PM

Im not a sinn fein supporter but thats a cheap shot.

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:24 PM

McConville was found.

You should mention Gerry McCabe. He gets taken for a spin from the grave every time FG or FF are at risk of loosing a few votes.

Dropped like a hot potato once the voting is over.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute hsh
    Favourite hsh
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:25 PM

No, it’s spot on, really.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne

Its a cheap shot….

A cheap, accurate justifiable shot.

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:30 PM

Correct me if I’m wrong but didn’t a Sinn Féin TD pick up Gerry McCabe’s murderers from prison when they were released?

I will never ever ever vote for a party whose members appear to support Garda murderers.

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:32 PM

Ya right Leslie ! Not a SF supporter?

Feb 1st 2014, 5:33 PM

Bluemist

that is a subject that SF and their understandably angry (pathetic stupid) followers want forgotten

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:34 PM

Cillian that’s disgusting and an insult to the mans family, a guy who was slaughtered by thugs just doing his job!

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:41 PM

Ink Toner.

His name is only brought up at election time, same with McConville.

Do you honestly think that anyone in Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael really care about them.

Why do they only ever meet them pre-election.

Work away with it, makes no difference to me but please do not pretend that it isn’t an electoral stunt.

Feb 1st 2014, 5:42 PM

@ Cillian_Durkin

Gerry McCabe is dropped like ”a hot potato ”

go on TV and say that

Mute michael conlon
    Favourite michael conlon
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:50 PM

Bluemist that’s just sick, your a boring tit,

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:51 PM

Cillian what about the fact that regarding Garda Gerry McCabe who was ruthlessly murdered in the line of duty, his murderers were collected from prison by a Sinn Féin TD. As a Shinner yourself would you care to comment ?

What about the fact that your Dublin MEP candidate doesn’t know how many countries are in the EU or who the President of the Council is?

Any comments on that? No?

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:05 PM

Cillian maybe just like the stunts SF pulled during the presidential election?

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin

Is their a prohibition on Ferris collecting people he knew all his life.

Ferris was a Republican activist all his life. I have no problem with Martin Ferris and greatly admire in fact.

The electorate did not have a problem with his actions. He also received very strong transfers from FG voters so they didn’t either. It is nearly 20 years ago since Adare.

So what, nerves got to her and she blanked up.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:07 PM

No. I was a labour supporter. Was being the operative word

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:08 PM

The freling of kenneth is strong from ink toner

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:11 PM

Yes when they knocked your beloved FF man Gallagher out of the water.

He couldn’t remember who he had collected cheques from for FF.

He must had more brown envelopes than the postman.

It was his past in FF and what they had him do, to bind him to them that collapsed his vote.

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:25 PM

Cillian I actually feel sorry for you? You could not be that blinkered , you twist turn wriggle and never reply to questions – pure SF deflection

Mute Niall Binead
    Favourite Niall Binead
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:45 PM

Why don’t you get your facts right before you spout the usual drivel you post! To use Jean McConville, yet again, to bash SF with, says more about your humanity than those you attack!

Feb 1st 2014, 7:12 PM

Cillian_Durkin

you greatly admire martin ferris ?

the McCabe murder ..whitey bulger etc

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 1st 2014, 8:23 PM

No shit ,Sherlock ..!

Feb 1st 2014, 8:51 PM

” they knocked Gallagher out of the water ”

was that before or after martin mcguinness threatened Miriam O’Callaghan ? ? ? ? ? ?

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Feb 2nd 2014, 2:10 AM

That’s right, the great Martin Ferris.. A legend of the struggle!

Mute michael conlon
    Favourite michael conlon
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:29 PM

The venom showing here by extremist posts just goes to show how hard It Is to Move the peace process along In the North of Ireland. Always at election time a cohort of anti SF bloggers Posters broadcasters print media come to the surface Blaming this or that who said what and where,
    Until all this self thought Hate Is eradicated First of all In the South The Norths Peace Process Hasn’t a Ghost of a chance,

Feb 1st 2014, 7:14 PM

the peace process is like the catholic church

let’s all move forward

tell the victims to FO and ”move forward”

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Feb 1st 2014, 8:15 PM

It never ceases to amaze me how calling SF to account is portrayed as hate & extremism & hindering the Peace Process.

This is nothing more than an attempt to stifle free speech & a disgrace coming from any political party.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Feb 1st 2014, 8:44 PM

Justin, you’re always all about calling SF to account, but never present any evidence about what they are to be called to account for.

Have you found some yet?

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:13 PM

Have there been any EU parliament opinion polls?

Does anyone think SF will take one of the seats this time?

Mute Mark Moloney
    Favourite Mark Moloney
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:18 PM

Paddy Power, who generally use polling companies to set their odds, have Brian Hayes (FG), Lynn Boylan (SF) and Mary Fitzpatrick (FF) as the three to take seats in Dublin.

Brian Hayes (FG) -1/20

Lynn Boylan (SF) – 2/5

Mary Fitzpatrick (FF) – 5/4

Eamon Ryan (Green) – 13/8

Emer Costello (Lab) – 11/4

Nessa Childers (Ind) – 7/2

Paul Murphy (Soc) – 8/1

Brid Smith (Ind) – 12/1

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:20 PM

Cheers for that.

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:27 PM

Brian Hayes to walk in easily.

Then Boylan, with good first preferences but lots of votes from ind. and Soc. elimination.

I think that Lab. might get last seat. Lot of people will still be slow to vote for Bertie’s babe Mary Fitzpatrick.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:33 PM

Its going to be tough for any SF MEP.

Being grouped in the Communist block with approx 40 MEPs, it will be harder than normal to have a voice.

Best of luck her I suppose.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:21 PM

Sinn Fein support us not on the rise. It peaked. It’s now in decline. As you’d expect in an improving economy….

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:09 PM

Reilly…you’re full of shite.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:28 PM

Dermott, you’re an awful Muppet

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:30 PM

Lol…what’s the craic lad?

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:40 PM

Same shit, different day Dermott. How’s the battle against the “elite” these days?

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:48 PM

Aww shur I’m not really battling them, just keeping them relevant so people know when they hear how a wealthy man understands budgeting between heating and food it’s normally bullplop.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Feb 1st 2014, 8:06 PM

Keep at it Dermot. It’ll keep you off the streets…

Mute Patrick Coffey
    Favourite Patrick Coffey
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:59 PM

Somebody running for a seat in the European parliament should, at the very least, know some basic facts about European institutions. Boylan is just another example of Sinn Féin trotting out candidates who don’t have a basic grasp of the facts and have nothing to offer but populism.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:53 PM

A reason they won’t win as many seats as their poll % justifies.

They lack the candidates of merit to sway a dubious voter.

Taking my own constituency (Wicklow).

Cllr Brady of SF was pipped last time by Donnelly.
    You’d think he’d stroll to a seat next time, but SF will more than likely miss out again, despite a good 1st preference.

Mute Brendan Ferron
    Favourite Brendan Ferron
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:35 PM

How did Dick Roache get on last time out lol.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:41 PM

He didn’t run.

…. Lol??

Feb 1st 2014, 8:40 PM

their poll

think about it

THEIR poll

Mute Brendan Ferron
    Favourite Brendan Ferron
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:13 AM

He did, and got destroyed,5%. And I hear his bigoted assistant ended up getting fecked out of Fianna Fail. Funny stuff.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 2nd 2014, 9:33 AM

Jeez… Your right.

Talk about a forgettable result!

Mute Martin Fealy
    Favourite Martin Fealy

I would not trust them there would be way more than ink cartridges going missing if they get in

Mute Brian Flynn
    Favourite Brian Flynn
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:37 PM

That is easily the weakest bunch of useless moron nobodies ever to appear on any ballot paper.

Not one of them has a bit of spark!

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 1st 2014, 8:08 PM

Loki Cumberbatch , Benedick Cumberbatch , howzatname ,Jordan Di Caprio Belfort ,etc

Mute Tom O Shaughnessy
    Favourite Tom O Shaughnessy
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:44 PM

It’s a good opportunity for a bit of publicity, ask her will she be supporting dublin or kerry tonight? She has been on the kerryman and radio kerry a lot. Was she not a candidate in kerry recently? welcome to Dublin. If you need a map to get around the tourist office supply them ha

Mute Brendan Ferron
    Favourite Brendan Ferron
    Feb 1st 2014, 5:59 PM

She is a Dublin season ticket holder and attended every league and championship game last year. You are barking up the wrong tree on that regard.

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner

A Dublin season ticket holder….right

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:09 PM

5 years ago she ran in Killarney for the councils when she lived there for a few years.

Who are you Father Time? 5 years is not recent. :)

She is born and reared in Dublin.

Mute Brendan Ferron
    Favourite Brendan Ferron
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:23 PM

Not a great start for the Dubs btw

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Feb 2nd 2014, 2:20 AM

She is actually!

Mute ShinnerbotArgo
    Favourite ShinnerbotArgo

Love the excuse giving, apologetic even (28, including Ireland)

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:20 PM

How is the canvassing going Paul. Awful night for it tonight.

Mute ShinnerbotArgo
    Favourite ShinnerbotArgo
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:48 PM

I’ve told you 100 times before, it’s called painting and the thing you paint on is called a canvass.
    It’s going well, I have this big stone structure called a house to protect me from the weather so it doesn’t really affect me in what I do inside it.

It’s handy as I can use it to do things that interest me, like say reading books about things that interest me, so that when I’m asked about things that I’m apparently interested in, I have some working knowledge as to whats going on in that area, beyond the front page of an advertisement.

Mute David Smyth
    Favourite David Smyth
    Feb 2nd 2014, 4:59 PM

What a shame that so many people choose to ignore the realities facing everyone on a daily basis in the Ireland of 2014. The article at the top of this page is actually about the Sinn Féin EU candidate for Dublin, and the future, not the past!

People who come out with unsubstantiated bile about Sinn Féin murdering people are so obviously either a) very uninformed individuals who think the Irish and British media are honest and unbiased!!!! or b) supporters or members of the establishment political parties who fear the continuous and very welcome growth of Sinn Féin all over this island.

How does any of this trolling help a single struggling small business, family rearing children for export or mortgage holder worrying about the future? IT DOESN’T. Try reading some SF policy & listening to what is being said when SF representatives speak, then maybe you can make an informed choice.

As a voter, I can highly recommend making it your business to inform yourself and take a hard look at the misery inflicted on so many by the establishment parties. It’s damn well time that we all stood together and asked the questions Sinn Féin are asking every day. We need answers, we need accountability and we need integrity in our politicians at all levels.

Be it local, national or European, I for one hope to see and hear Sinn Féin people in huge numbers standing up for us all and campaigning against all that is “cosy” but WRONG in this country.

I say this proudly, as a father, husband and small business owner.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 1st 2014, 6:54 PM

Sinn Fein have this election in the bag.

Like the BNP in the UK, anti-establishment parties can do very well in impoverished constituencies.

Sadly the constituents never benefit from electing the candidate who feign’s being champion of the underdog.

Hayes sounds like he as been disconnected with the area anyway, so he is doomed.

I’m sure the Shinner candidate has been heavily trained by Mary Lou to try to ingratiate herself as one of the people, sitting on your couch drinking tea. Obviously she doesn’t give a flying F about Tallaght, but she’ll make a good charade on the doorstep.

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Feb 1st 2014, 7:23 PM

You obviously have not an idea about the election in Dublin if you think Hayes is doomed.

Elected first count is the near unanimous opinion in political circles.

Do you even know where she is running or for what election.

You are hiding it well, if so.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 1st 2014, 8:05 PM

I gather my statistics on the Journal. Overwhelmingly people are Sinn Fein supporter. Very popular too are people who have never voted Sinn Fein before due to their bloody criminal deceitful past, but are going to do so in future to let them ‘have a chance’.
    Based on this research, scaling the level of support for Sinn Fein onto the constituency population, it would appear Sinn Fein will easily win the seat.

It’s hardly that there is simply a peculiarly active handful of Sinn Fein supporters heavily policing the Journal to incessantly make pro-Sinn Fein comments or post cosy pictures of Gerry Adams in a fluffy jumper with his teddy bear.

Feb 1st 2014, 8:46 PM

in the bag

in the ground

SF are a disturbing skid mark either way

Mute Clarkey
    Favourite Clarkey
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:02 AM

This buffoon has a Brit plant reeking off of him.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:11 AM

Ha brit plant. Are you still playing wargames Walter?

Mute Joe Duggan
    Favourite Joe Duggan
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:41 PM

Fair play to you Lynn the only reason Hayes is running is because he knows he won’t win his seat back in the general election in 2016 tour right so run now come on lynn

Mute Ed Walsh
    Favourite Ed Walsh
    Feb 2nd 2014, 8:57 AM

If they are talking out of both sides of their mouths.

Are you talking out of your arse?

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Feb 1st 2014, 11:30 PM

She looks like a western world Jesus. I know it’s blasphemous but she does a bit. Go on, have another look

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:47 AM

Imagine a slight bit of facial hair and the music from Robert Powell’s ‘Jesus of Nazerath’ subtlety playing in the background

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:17 AM

and she says of her outstretched palms “yes it is blood, but not my own. I am a member of Sinn Fein and all our hands have such stains”

Mute Hibernicus Exule
    Favourite Hibernicus Exule
    Feb 1st 2014, 11:18 PM

both sides of their mouth and both ends of their body !!!

Mute Adam Hurley
    Favourite Adam Hurley
    Feb 2nd 2014, 10:56 PM

Oh she really did make herself look stupid.

Mute Michael Garett
    Favourite Michael Garett
    Feb 2nd 2014, 3:28 PM

How many sinn fein members have criminal records and done jail time? These people are allowed become public representatives. Holy crap.

Mute Marcais
    Favourite Marcais
    Feb 2nd 2014, 6:00 PM

Tell us Michael Garett “How many sinn fein members have criminal records and done jail time?” ?! Then tell us why you have an issue with the democratic mandate of 100,000s of voters? Well Fascist?

And then, tell us how many of the scores of councillors convicted of corruption were Sinn Fein members? That’s easy, it was ZERO! Almost all convictions for corruption were Fianna Fail and Fine Gael and they were the parties who colluded in the abuse of and cover ups of the abuse of women and kids in Ireland for decades. This is PROVEN, not the right wing hearsay and smear levelled against Sinn Féin. Fine Gael Labour and Fianna Fail ALL have paramilitary backgrounds.

This country needs people who are interested in change for the betterment of the country like Sinn Fein, not people interested in more of the same and self enrichment: Fine Gael Labour and Fianna Fail.

Anyone with sense can see through the establishment efforts at damaging Sinn Fein, as the only party who will actually threaten the cosy status quo and offer equity and equality.

Mute Eamonn Óg Ó Gallachóir
    Favourite Eamonn Óg Ó Gallachóir
    Feb 2nd 2014, 5:22 PM

She’s not a celebrity get me out of here fine gael fianna fail politician so best wishes