You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sinn Féin's Lynn Boylan. Niall Carson/PA Images

Former MEP Lynn Boylan among seven candidates on Sinn Féin ticket for Seanad elections

Boylan is joined by a councillor, a former mayor of Derry and four sitting senators running for Sinn Féin.

FORMER DUBLIN MEP Lynn Boylan and former Mayor of Derry Elisha McCallion are among seven Sinn Féin nominees for the upcoming Seanad elections.

They join sitting senators Paul Gavan, Máire Devine, Fintan Warfield and Niall Ó Donnghaile in seeking election to the upper house of the Oireachtas.

Mayo councillor Gerry Murray completes the Sinn Féin line-up.

Boylan served as a member of the European Parliament from 2014 to 2019, but lost her seat in last year’s election.

A staunch supporter of the families of victims of the Stardust disaster in recent times, she will run for the Seanad on the Agriculture Panel alongside Murray. 

Gavan and Devine will run on the Labour Panel, Warfield on the Culture and Education Panel and Ó Donnghaile on the Administrative Panel.

McCallion, a former MP for Foyle, is running on the Industrial and Commercial Panel.

Sinn Féin leader Mary Lou McDonald said: “Sinn Féin senators will help to advance the party’s agenda of giving workers and families a break, building homes, reducing and freezing rents, tackling the trolley crisis securing the state pension at 65 years of age and preparing for Irish unity.”

Tomorrow is the deadline for proposals of nomination to the vocational panels for the Seanad elections.

Polling for the vocational panels on the 60-seat Seanad closes on 30 March.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

49 Comments
    Mute Martin Scaldbag
    Favourite Martin Scaldbag
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:38 PM

Shiners buying into the gravy train ethos. Make room at the trough lads.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:19 PM

Sinn Féin leader Mary Lou McDonald said: “Sinn Féin senators will help to advance the party’s agenda of giving workers and families a break, building homes, reducing and freezing rents, tackling the trolley crisis securing the state pension at 65 years of age and using all of this as grist to the mill of their reunification project.”

A special plea: as well as ‘giving workers and families a break’, could you ever give me one too. sick of this pseudo socialist drivel

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:21 PM

@alan: If you earn less than 100 grand their tax policy will give you a break. If you earn over that, do you really need a break ahead of somebody on minimum wage?

Mute Shelly Levine
    Favourite Shelly Levine
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:57 PM

@alan: What exactly is pseudo about it?

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:59 PM

@The Risen: only single earner families over 100k . A two earner family earning 199999 will be better off as long as their both on 99999.50. Very well thought out that one. It won’t be long until the 100k becomes per family though as they will need money to find all the give aways. Nothing about the fact that a 100k person is already paying 40k a year. Those terrible super rich on 100k, how dare they work hard all their lives . They should have said enough is enough and turned down a few promotions and overtime. But I suppose the only good thing out of its is very rich families like the MacDonalds will be paying lots more.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Mar 1st 2020, 6:16 PM

@Shelly Levine: they dont reject free market politics. they just offer more money to heal its ills. all this will ever lead to is more and more compensatory expenditure as the damage will never slack off

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 1st 2020, 6:19 PM

@alan: Properly regulated and taxed capitalism funding socialist policies delivering world class services to citizens. Works fine in other European countries.

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Mar 1st 2020, 6:27 PM

@Shelly Levine: sinn Fein are not socialist by any stretch of the imagination.

Mute Disco Inferno
    Favourite Disco Inferno
    Mar 1st 2020, 6:28 PM

@The Risen: like where? Homelessness, health, housing are international problems. We aren’t unique. Germany has a massive problem with homelessness, as does Spain.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 1st 2020, 6:29 PM

@Connoroconner: Reread my comment please….

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Mar 1st 2020, 6:35 PM

@The Risen: Taxed capitalism. You have to be joking. If that is the future I am not looking forward to it. I woudln’t mind if SF dropped all this socialist pretense. at least it would be honest

Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Mar 1st 2020, 6:38 PM

@The Risen: if you think we don’t have a fair taxation system for individuals you’re deluded.

How are we going to solve this trolley crisis when doctors on over 100k won’t come to Ireland?

And no, the answer is not to tax corporates, even Sinn Fein want to keep the 12.5% rate. Once you take off your tinfoil hate you’ll see we have done considerably well from our clever corporate tax policies as a small country and it has been central to our economy.

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Mar 1st 2020, 6:41 PM

@alan: I’m amused that she’s running on the agricultural panel. Will she look after farm workers? 40-hour week, paid holidays, training, minimum wage, safety statement, written contract, protective clothing, sick pay, pension etc? Pigs will fly, if you pardon the pun.

Mute Patrick O Connell
    Favourite Patrick O Connell
    Mar 1st 2020, 6:49 PM

@alan: lynn also voted for water charges in the EU

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:05 PM

@Patrick O Connell: We all know she didn’t Patrick. That spoof got laughed out of the conversation 5 mins after FGHQ put it out there…

Mute James Brady
    Favourite James Brady
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:13 PM

@The Risen: hi Risen, I earn a little over €100k, having set up a business in 2004, which is now doing well and employing 18 people.
    The thing is, things went a bit tits-up in 2011 and I had to remortgage the house to get some cash to keep the business afloat.
    We kept the doors open for three or four years only because of the cash I kept pumping in, and now that we’re back in profit, Of course I have to pay the equivalent of 2 mortgages out of my after-tax earnings.
    I’m not complaining, but I haven’t got an extravagant lifestyle or a lot of disposable income, and I’m kind of at loss as to why you think that I, or many other countless thousands of small businesses owners or risk-takers should be punished with punitive taxes? We already have some of the highest income tax rates in Europe.

Mute James Brady
    Favourite James Brady
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:20 PM

@The Risen:
    So first I pay tax at ~52%, and THEN I pay back the loan on the business.
    So, if you turn that 52% into something mad like 70%, there’s nothing left in the pot. I might as well just sell up.
    You can’t realistically expect to bleed businesses dry, even if it is a vote winner.

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:35 PM

@The Risen: how can they fix the health service if they tax every doctor, specialist and consultants over to canada. 0

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:37 PM

@James Brady: “So first I pay tax at ~52%”

No you don’t. That’s the marginal rate. People pay tax at the EFFECTIVE rate, which is lower. Get back to us when you’re ready to have an honest conversation

Mute James Brady
    Favourite James Brady
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:40 PM

@The Risen: apologies, you are technically correct.
    First, I pay tax at a marginal rate of ~52%

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:47 PM

@James Brady: james , the poor risen account is just a little happy bunny , following his happy little party. It’s a little blip, dont be stressing about it..like SF get best results in the last 100 years, but ultimately not enough to lead, but let them have the little moment. It will blow over and the risen will disappear like scary mary and her disciples. Your better off just agreeing with them. Its easier, dont hurt the little brains they have but dealing with truth

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:49 PM

@James Brady: Marginal is meaningless. Effective is what you actually contribute. Again, a bit of honesty please.

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:55 PM

@alan: yea and there are fairies in Ireland

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:00 PM

@The Risen: why you write so many

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:27 PM

@The Risen: it is. It’s as meaningless as 1st preference votes.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:39 PM

@The Risen: a bit of honesty on your behalf when you are talking about the tax rate . You are quoting a party that 75% of the people did not vote in so I’ll ask you a question. Do you believe those taxes will be the only taxes this left wing party will bring in when the find out they won’t have enough to fill their supersized kitty of give aways?. Also I said earlier that a person on 100k pays 40k which is about right. Lastly.Me. Started work as a labor out at 16. Took 35 years of working very hard to get to where I am, no business owner but a hard worker. Can you tell me in all your wisdom why I should now be punished for that and a two earning family earning 80% more me are not. They should not be by the way. Hard work reaps reward and rightly so.

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:49 PM

@The Risen: I wasn’t replying to your comment

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:51 PM

@Connoroconner: unless you have 2 accounts, of course.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Mar 1st 2020, 9:01 PM

@Connoroconner: the risen is an organisation not an individual. But taxed capitalism..i cant believe that this defeatist attitude is part of their way of thinking. It puts them squarely in the ff fg camp.

Mute SFAnkleTapper
    Favourite SFAnkleTapper
    Mar 1st 2020, 10:22 PM

@The Risen: the Boylan/OBroin household will be pulling in well over 100k.

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Favourite For Goodness Sake
    Mar 2nd 2020, 12:00 AM

@The Risen: ″Mr President, I just have said to the Tabling Committee that we want to put forward an oral amendment for paragraph 92 and the amendment is;
    calls on the Member States to introduce, in accordance with World Health Organisation guidelines, a pricing policy by the application of a progressive charge that safeguards people’s right to access a minimum quantity of water for living and reduces waste.″

Lynn Boylan – Sept 2015

Try laughing that out of the conversation. You are telling porkies again.

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:46 PM

Wow. A failed politician shop. SF want to send their failed politicians there, to the exact place they always slagged off as being a place for failed politicians. Love to see how their sheep reconcile this.

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:09 PM

@Bernard Sweeney: hahah, exactly! But dont worry they will spin it somehow and the little sheep will believe them.

Mute D
    Favourite D
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:01 PM

A tidy income for the O’Broin/ Boylan household.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:27 PM

@D: Blackrock College educated Little Lord Fontelroy would hardly need a raise in income

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:59 PM

@D: I never knew they were partners wow

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:57 PM

send the losers in there . same as everyone else

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Mar 1st 2020, 6:43 PM

@ed w: SF wanted to abolish it. The public decided to keep it. Maybe it’s the public you should be giving out to.
    SF is a growing party – do you want them to put forward Oige members?

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:57 PM

@Peter McGlynn: no FG and Labour wanted to abolish Seanad

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Mar 2nd 2020, 11:03 AM

@Peter McGlynn: why not it would go with their comedy magic money tree politics

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:50 PM

A former mayor of Derry? Being teed up for a job in our Seanad?
    Wtf are they playing at?

Mute Joe Nolan
    Favourite Joe Nolan
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:29 PM

@John Mulligan:
    What are you blathering on about? Ian Marshall – a unionist farmer – was appointed by the government, with SF support, to the Seanad in 2018 and is widely accepted to have made a successful contribution to political life in this State.
    There is a long tradition of appointing eminent northern politicians and non-politicians to the Seanad including John Robb, Seamus Mallon and Gordon Wilson. I’m sure Miss McCallion will add to this list in a positive way. It doesn’t matter whether these appointees are unionist or nationalist, they all represent a particular stand of Irish society and are welcome in our Seanad.

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Mar 2nd 2020, 9:25 AM

@John Mulligan: Not as mad as an RUC cover up specialist leading An Garda

Mute Brian Purcell
    Favourite Brian Purcell
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:20 PM

I don’t understand all this resentment against a different platform to deliver our Country as a leader in socio economics for the rest of tbe world to follow- why are Irish people quick to rubbish an alternative – the past hasn’t worked so time to move on – that’s the end game- park up and move forward

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:46 PM

@Brian Purcell: the rest of the world follow Ireland? Give us a break? Very few countries in the world will want a party with their own private army in power. Usually when that happens it’s called a junta not a democracy.

Mute Ro-your-nan
    Favourite Ro-your-nan
    Mar 1st 2020, 10:35 PM

@Brian Purcell: full employment, fastest growth in Europe, working quite well? Don’t through the baby out with the bath water. Of course loads to improve but the change lads have no plan.

Mute Nigel Barlow
    Favourite Nigel Barlow
    Mar 1st 2020, 11:10 PM

Once on the gravy train ……..

Mute Barry Teehan
    Favourite Barry Teehan
    Mar 2nd 2020, 5:04 AM

This hoisting an elected candidate lark and bouncing them is embarrassing.

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Mar 2nd 2020, 11:17 AM

@Barry Teehan: I agree. Quite triumphalist. These people we elect are there to serve us but so many see it as a ticket to power and wealth. That’s what the hoisting lark by the supporters is all about… we made it into the inner cabal… let the good times roll…