You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ireland and Scotland renew their rivalry in Murrayfield on Sunday. Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Where and when to watch Scotland v Ireland and the rest of this weekend’s Six Nations action

Ireland continue their three-in-row bid with a trip to Murrayfield on Sunday afternoon.

Italy (5th) v Wales (6th) – Saturday, 8 February

Kick-off time: 2.15pm

Venue: Stadio Olimpico 

TV Details: Virgin Media 1, coverage starts at 1pm; ITV, coverage starts at 1.30pm

The bottom two sides face off  after opening round defeats last weekend.

Wales fell under the might of a dominant French outfit as they failed to register a single score for the first time in a Test game since 2007, suffering a 43-0 trouncing in the process. The result also marked a record-extending 13th straight Test loss for Wales which puts increasing pressure on head coach Warren Gatland. 

Italy will be hoping that they can  capitalise on wounded Welsh outfit to get their campaign off the ground. A spirited comeback against Scotland in Murrayfield last weekend saw Italy draw level heading into the final quarter before a final push from the Scots condemned them to defeat. 

England (4th) v France (1st) – Saturday, 8 February

Kick-off time: 4.45pm

Venue: Twickenham

TV Details: Virgin Media 1, coverage starts at 4.30pm; ITV, coverage starts at 4.15pm

France have certainly benefitted from the return of scrum-half Antoine Dupont as he played an inspiring role in their win over Wales following his absence from last year’s tournament. Out-half Romain Ntamack also impressed upon his return from injury but will miss Saturday’s trip to Twickenham following his red card last weekend.

England will be eager to exploit that loss in France’s personnel after losing out to Ireland last weekend. Steve Borthwick’s side made life difficult for Ireland in the first half in Dublin but faded as the hosts Ireland upped their performance in the final quarter. Even without Ntamack, France will bring a strong challenge to Twickenham.

Scotland (2nd) v Ireland (3rd) – Sunday, 9 February 

Kick-off time: 3pm

Venue: Murrayfield

TV Details: RTÉ 2, coverage starts at 2pm; BBC One, coverage starts at 2pm

After a shaky start, Simon Easterby’s Ireland launched their Six Nations defence with a win against England. Their bench were particularly instrumental in the win as hooker Dan Sheehan scored a try shortly after his introduction while Jack Conan and Jack Crowley also impressed. Murrayfield could be a tricky journey however, with Tadhg Furlong and Joe McCarthy still unavailable through injury.

Scotland overcame an injury crisis to open their tournament with a bonus-point win against Italy. Gregor Townsend’s outfit held off a late comeback to claim victory thanks to two Huw Jones tries in the final 20 minutes, a result which puts them in a strong position to welcome the Six Nations three-in-a-row chasers this Sunday.

Comments
    Mute C Mc Gyver
    Favourite C Mc Gyver
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:05 AM

The cracks are starting to appear! Stand firm everybody and watch this Irish Water oppression disintegrate.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:13 AM

Bigtime. Prepare for the scare stories on RTE/INM, the thinly veiled threats from government, and IWs spokeswoman all over the TV/radio explaining how the contract you’re refusing to sign isn’t a contract and how IW is the only company in Europe where basic contract law doesn’t apply anyway.

Mute C Mc Gyver
    Favourite C Mc Gyver
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:27 AM

Ireland’s brothers and sisters TOGETHER we can do this. No signing of contracts, no payments! Let them fit their meters away they’ll never be read anyways!

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:29 AM

Don’t you mean dissolve into the “Toxic” water they expect us to drink and then pay for a 3rd time?

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:14 AM

Q – How much dose the raw product cost Irish Waster.
    A – Its Free.

Result – 100% Profit

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:22 AM

I agree, the basic principle of offer and acceptance doesn’t exist in iw, this goes against contract law which has been the rule for God knows how long.how on earth can you be held accountable to a service provider if you don’t want them in the first place. Its just crazy stuff altogehter. You could say that your not happy with iw for whatever reason, I.e. environmental, prices, personal, ethical, whatever, but you have no choice in the matter you have to be a customer anyway. It doesn’t make sense. It’s a farce and is obviously a smokescreen which will end in privatisation, which they deny.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:30 AM

They can deny it all they want. Fro the wording of the water services bill, to the setting up of IW as a private company controlled by shares, its the worst kept secret in Ireland that it is being ripened up for privatisation. And if less than half of customers pay, how much of the pittance they take in will they spend on fixing pipes if they have to keep their balance sheet healthy for prospective buyers?

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    Favourite Lasair Aireáinnach
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:36 AM

C Mc Gyver
    Tis the cracks and leaks inefficiencies that have us in this fiasco in the first place. We already pay for water, our govt. are too inefficient to get it sorted properly. We also already paid for our roads and property, less corruption more people in govt, who actually are proud to serve the Irish people.

Mute rory conway
    Favourite rory conway
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:58 AM

Dot Com. Purification costs piping and delivery. Youre as good as Gerry at the Maths to come up with 100% profit.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:05 PM

Irish Water is it ?…well now let me quote the Mandate supported by my fellow democratic brethren in the last election …
    “Not a red cent more ! “

Mute Petyr Baelish
    Favourite Petyr Baelish
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:23 PM

Yes Dermot

His “not a red cent more” quote goes down in history almost as laughable as….

“It is morally wrong, unjust and unfair to tax a persons home” – Enda Kenny, 1994

Just goes to show what a lying self serving little weasel he is.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:27 PM

A guy I know sent back his application pack …
    He corrected the details to a person that doesn’t exist ….now he is off the datatbase and so is his replacement ..
    Oh the Irish and the games they play !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:30 PM

It must be in the water in the Dail Petyr – which I hear – the bottled type , is sourced North of the Border ….
    If that is true and we have the Irish Army buying N.I. beef then when these shower talk about job creation I smile cynically to myself and think – Long road without a turn on an island such as ours !

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:09 AM

Irish Water, the f**k up that just keeps giving.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Favourite Spiderman_Irish
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:29 PM

I think it is more than that. When we voted for Maastrict, Nice and Lisbon we were given assurances that we wouldn’t be moving towards a United States of Europe, a Banking Union, a unified Armed Forces, Unified Tax System etc etc etc. The reality is that no matter who we have or whether we are in a bailout or not Europe is governing all our policies, legislation/ changes to laws and telling us what to set up and when.

FG/LAB can talk about a return to a place where we can manage our own affairs again but that is nonsense. Irish Water is a long line of things like Money/Oil/Gas/Agriculture/Fishing that has been taken out of our hands and we get a raw deal back in return. Again again again smaller countries like Ireland get hammered by the bigger countries that are sucking up our resources and I think we need to cut through the bs that has been fed to us for the last few years and recognize that Ireland isn’t Ireland anymore and the people that we elect have no power to do anything other than implement European policies. The most this government or any future government can really is smile and blame us for the problem in the hope we don’t cop on that democracy has failed in this part of the world.

Mute Spiderman
    Favourite Spiderman
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:43 PM

We could’ve just said no to Maastricht, Nice, Lisbon…er nvm… :-/

Mute UndercoverGarda
    Favourite UndercoverGarda
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:54 PM

Spiderman, are you a relative of Irish_Spiderman or am I seeing double?

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:59 PM

I am the Irish one he is the American one lol. Thanking the exact same thing!!!

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:44 PM

The one thing if anything that I am unconvinced on is the e100 conservation grant. There is a lot of hustle and bustle about this e100 being given at some point this year to reduce the cost of the e160 or e260 per year. However when you look up the DSP website it doesn’t say that this will reduce your bill. What it says is they are giving this to people to fix the taps and pipes in your home and install water abutments and pressure reducers etc.

Nobody seems to be asking the questions which I think should be asked:

1. Will people have to provide receipts to prove that they spent money upgrading their facilities at home before they get the e100?

2. Will e100 cover all the repairs and upgrades needed to reduce consumption and in the case where someone in need needs a larger amount to upgrade their facilities will the DSP/ IW help them?

3. Will the DSP pay this money to people if they do not carry out such works meaning that they have to in fact pay the e160 and e260 in full as quoted by the government?

Either way there is huge questions over the wording and the follow through of this promise that many people should ask before they sign up for this utility bill. Not saying don’t sign up. Just don’t be sorry when later on this year the government and IW tell people that they should have read the T&Cs before signning..

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jan 23rd 2015, 4:30 PM

No, no and yes.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Jan 23rd 2015, 5:02 PM

I know great people running the country the people have raised concerns about irish water quango now taxies dont want a fare increase yet the goverments say yes. can Enda an gang get anything right. god it gets worse by the day.

Mute Brendan O Gorman
    Favourite Brendan O Gorman
    Jan 23rd 2015, 6:49 PM

why even bother asking and thereby almost legitimizing this farce with the oxygen of ..attention. lol. You have to SPEND before you are given the allowance or discount or whatever form might come in but theyre not handing it out as cash. Ultimately theyre really giving this money to IrishWater, notthe taxpayer. Either way, so what. DONT SIGN – DONT PAY, starve this corrupt beast until it collapses.

Mute Spiderman
    Favourite Spiderman
    Jan 23rd 2015, 7:51 PM

No relation Guard. ;-)

Mute Spiderman
    Favourite Spiderman
    Jan 23rd 2015, 7:53 PM

I’m Irish last I checked!

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 23rd 2015, 8:55 PM

do you check often?

Mute Spiderman
    Favourite Spiderman
    Jan 23rd 2015, 8:57 PM

At least once a week, you know, just to be on the safe side ;-)

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:08 AM

It’s very simple, if people don’t pay and ignore the bills and letters that come in their doors from Irish Gravy. Then the whole thing fails and they have no choice but to scrap it. We can beat this unjust double tax. All out and march, Jan the 31st.

Mute Juninho
    Favourite Juninho
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:38 AM

See you there

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 9:25 PM

According Dutch Inst. NIbuD avg water use pp is 45m3 per year. So for a family of 4: 4x45x3.7 = €666 per year. Last December Govt. Revised the unit price per m3 (1000L) from €4.88 to €3.70. Notably Holland charges only €1.60/m3 ie. 231% cheaper!

Mute Conn Rogers
    Favourite Conn Rogers

The lads in the Dáil Bar will be busy trying to figure how they’re gonna shaft us another way to appease their Euro masters now. What IW’s plan for when more than half of their “customers” don’t pay them? What does a company do in that situation?
    In fairness, it’s not like they can say they provided any service or product

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:16 AM

May be they’ll give it to Revenue to collect..oh thats right it’s illegal for Revenue to collect funds for a private or semi state company.
    I think the box of threats might be empty this time.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:33 AM

But they moved battle knickers onto the Gardaí …. maybe the Gardaí will collect it !
    Now that would be fun !

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Sean Hyland
    Favourite Sean Hyland
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:34 AM

Broadcast charge.. AKA internet TAX is back on the table.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:40 AM

100 euro conjob i wonder how many will take the bait.We will give them a reminder on the 31 first wake-up time.

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:42 AM

was wondering why they hadnt given it to revenue

Mute Conn Rogers
    Favourite Conn Rogers
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:49 AM

Out of curiosity I just googled “when more than half a company’s customers don’t pay” (without the quotation marks). It doesn’t seem to have ever happened before. Seems they’re about to make history before they become it :)

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:50 AM

Phillip it’s against EU and Irish law to do so,but hasn’t stopped certain commentators on this site trying to claim otherwise.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:09 AM

The Gardai are to busy cancelling penalty points still to be collecting water charges

According to the news today anyway

Mute Spiderman
    Favourite Spiderman
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:46 PM

They’ll just take it out of our wages at source. Didn’t they add those provisions with the legislation that went through the senate recently?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:51 PM

Did they Spider ?
    Ah well if they did that then I’m afraid they’ll al be heading to Dublin Castle for a dressing down !
    They asked and they shall receive kinda thing !

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:51 PM

Spiderman no they didn’t.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:52 PM

There is no provision to take money from your wages by a semi state company.

Mute Spiderman
    Favourite Spiderman
    Jan 23rd 2015, 8:02 PM

Under the Water Services (No. 2) Bill 2013, where a customer fails to pay their charges, Irish Water will have to go to court to enforce payment. The courts have the power to take from source.

See more here:
    http://www.oireachtas.ie/viewdoc.asp?DocID=24954&&CatID=59

It was even reported here:
    http://www.thejournal.ie/water-charges-meters-1204161-Dec2013/

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 23rd 2015, 8:58 PM

But that is a court order, not the same as IW taking it from your wages, to take someone to court takes a while as usually a load of letters are sent out first. Any utility company can take you to court and then the court decides what happens not the Utility company.

Mute Spiderman
    Favourite Spiderman
    Jan 23rd 2015, 9:03 PM

Can’t the court order the deduction to made from your wages if you refuse to pay? Although if they could one would wonder why they send so many to prison over the TV license…

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:07 AM

Can we start referring to this €100 ‘grant’ for what it is please?

Its a BRIBE, pilfered from the social welfare budget, given to anyone who signs up to a private company INCLUDING people who will not be customers of that company, simply so the numbers can be spun as ‘compliance’.

There will be a tribunal about this in a few years, mark my words. I’m just the EU aren’t falling for their accountancy trick.

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:14 AM

I scrapped all the water charge.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:17 AM

The E.U. and indeed the Irish Government should be more concerned with the discriminatory tariff ..
    If two Gay or lesbian people decide to get married and have no children – they will have to pay 80 euro per head for water when they move into happy married bliss together -
    Children’s referendum my eye !
    Does single adult mean single adult with no children or single adult with five children ?

Mute Frank Nolan
    Favourite Frank Nolan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:05 AM

Yes it is a bribe with your own money.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:37 PM

I’ll be taking the bribe. I assume, however, that all of the people here who are against water charges will not be taking it?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:41 PM

Neal you have to sign up and pay the bill first and then in Nov/Dec you get your bribe.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:02 PM

Now let’s see …
    Is the conservation grant paid out at a flat rate regardless of whether you have paid a single fee or a couple fee ?
    Surely those who pay 60 euro – should only receive 3/8ths – (ratio 60;160) of the 100 euro ..

Hey shinners whatever about Gerry – I am good at maths !
    Hire an actuary you clowns – that is what your enemy is using against you !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:08 PM

That’s 37.50 for the single conservation grant -anything else is illegal discrimination and is open to a Constitutional challenge !
    While I have ye shinners – go straight to the High Court and get an Order to block the sale of A.I..B –
    The first one there is the next Taoiseach of Eire –
    My money is on Fitz and Ross to beat ye to the punch !

Mute BG
    Favourite BG
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:01 AM

What’s a water charge?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:04 AM

It’s like a politician in a suit – just ignore them completely and they go away !

Mute JournalStasi
    Favourite JournalStasi
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:21 AM

Of course this ‘grant’ will be scrapped…because when Irish Water is scrapped this goes too.

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru

500 mil in quantitive easing fund should just about cover the irish water fiasco, meters coming out has now actually passed out the meters in by some calculations !

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:41 AM

It looks like the real Bosses in Europe are emerging again ?
    What a plethora of lies that we have been told about this whole affair by Enda , Hogan and now Kelly , about Irish Water .

This Government tell even more porkies then last one did and that’s some record to maintain surely !

Time to scrap this Government and the Joke that is Irish Water surely ?

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:42 AM

Aye Dermot –
    “Mum, there’s a man at the door with a water bill, says he is the baillif’ !!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:47 AM

On my side of the river Chris we have a wide and varied history of what to do with Bailiffs that are nothing more than foreign oppression …..
    Take a stroll into the National Museum – we’ve been dealing with them since the Iron Age ….
    If you are really really sharp – you will actually see one of Enda’s ancestors – believe it or not !
    Clue – He’s only half a man but that which is plain truth is there for everyone to see .

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:48 AM

Scare tactics have started well done Chris,but you’re wrong as usual.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:03 AM

@ Chris. If a contract cannot exist without the consent of both parties, and you have informed Irish Water that you do not consent to their contract, how can Irish Water take you to court for breach of contract? (their claimed method of pursuing ‘non payment’)

Take your time…..

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:29 AM

Had the man a Perth accent ,Chris?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:54 AM

Or a former Stasi eastern European accent ?

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:21 PM

Chris every time you post bull we all get a great laugh. Keep it up.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:38 PM

Dermot, “just ignore them and they’ll go away” they’re not Jehovas witnesses.

But by all means, don’t pay the bills, go to the collection agency, get junk credit rating and it might be easier for me to get a loan. Thanks in advance.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:50 PM

JJ has to go to court first to enforce a contract,let’s see how that works out.

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:59 PM

JJ – It has already been stated that it WILL NOT AFFECT a persons credit rating, do your research a bit better mate, before you make a complete dope of yerself.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:00 PM

You’re right JJ – they’re worse !
    By ignore I also meant at the ballot box – then they go away !
    And don’t be worried about your credit rating – Look at all those developers who went broke – no probs accessing finance since – that credit bureau is probably illegal in terms of private data !

Mute Kirk Loco
    Favourite Kirk Loco
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:03 PM

@JJ

As confirmed by the ICB non payment of Water rates will not effect your credit rating!

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:11 PM

We’re very touchy aren’t we? €3 a week that big a deal?

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:27 PM

JJ O €3 now won’t be like that when meters kick in. Now run along and pay your water bill.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

JJ household charge/tax started at €2 a week how much is it now?

Mute CorkBoi
    Favourite CorkBoi
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:33 PM

If you cannot scare them with one piece of tripe then,try another .

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:42 PM

Household charge passed through relatively quietly. 600 patients on trolleys? Nearly forgotten already. Homeless crisis? No notice anymore. But water charges? Storm the cities.

As a nation, our priorities are f#&ked.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:45 PM

Were jammin
    A contract in implied by use of service/product, if your using the water you are in a contract, but don’t worry about it this farce is finished

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:23 PM

JJ O it’s are failed government that’s causing the trollie and homeless problem. Take that up with Enda Kenny. Don’t come in here useing you F. G. Scare tactics. Nobody is buying it.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:26 PM

JJ revenue collects the household/tax that’s why it went through no other reason.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:58 PM

JJ. Do you realise how thick this comment makes you look? Have a think about it for a while.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jan 23rd 2015, 3:21 PM

JJ – It’s your priorities that are assways !
    You are content to defend this awful Government – until it sinks very soon now – and Labour without trace .

Presumably , some of the Fascist Blueshirts / FG , may survive ???

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Jan 23rd 2015, 3:30 PM

Do O2, vodafone, eircom, esb etc take a portion of our taxes? I’m pretty sure they don’t, as apart from VAT they are already paid directly if you are signed up to a contract with them. So with regards water, we already pay for water through our endless list of taxes, so why would anyone be foolish enough to pay again to some random company? The mind boggles. It really highlights what the government think of us, complete simpletons, brain dead sheep. There is no obligation for anyone to sign up to IW. If my taxes paid my phone bill, why would I also pay O2 or vodafone?

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Jan 23rd 2015, 3:36 PM

JJ if you or anyone has an issue with the way this government runs our country, come out and voice it on the 31st jan. the protest is not solely about water, it’s about the mismanagement and disgraceful treat of the people of Ireland. And we have had enough, we can’t pay anymore.

Mute Francid Dooley
    Favourite Francid Dooley
    Jan 23rd 2015, 8:20 PM

Chris Kirk, you are so boring you have never made an interesting comment.

Mute Juninho
    Favourite Juninho
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:07 AM

The EU can fuk right off. It’s got to the stage where every significant decision has to be ran by them before it’s ok.

To hell with the EU. Let’s get out. The main bulk of our trade is UK and US. I think we’ll live without our European dictators.

Mute Mark Lillis
    Favourite Mark Lillis
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:02 AM

IW = Clusterf^*k!

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:08 AM

Irish Water hahaha

Mute Dr'Wesley D Halpin
    Favourite Dr'Wesley D Halpin
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:05 AM

Sounds like they are throwing threats around.

Mute Sean Spillane
    Favourite Sean Spillane
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:04 AM

The end is nigh for IW…

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton

What part of “No” do these people not understand.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:25 AM

I say ‘Yes’ to the free €100 and ‘No’ to water services that I can’t access being paid for out of my taxes (I have a private well)

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:31 AM

Pump costs
    Filter costs
    UV lamp costs
    Upcoming well & septic tank charges…
    Reckon the *free* €100 will buy you over !!!!.
    Dream on.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito

I’ve been paying for all of those things for years as well as paying for other people’s water through my taxes.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:37 PM

And I pay commercial rates on a premises with no running water or toilet (harvested water and a portaloo) plus I pay my taxes that pays for others so your point is what exactly ?

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Jan 23rd 2015, 3:44 PM

I meant to add,the articles I mentioned above are if you have an existing well.
    There is a huge cost for site investigation and drilling as well.

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:19 AM

The irish people won’t be happy till this scam tax is totally scrapped roll on 31st jan .

Mute Desmodromic
    Favourite Desmodromic
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:26 AM

That €100 ‘grant’ is money I paid in tax being given back to me so that I acknowledge the rights of Irish Water over my private well that I paid for with my own money. So I won’t be applying for the ‘grant’ thank you very much.

Mute Patricia McCarthy
    Favourite Patricia McCarthy
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:28 AM

Irish Water is just another rich mans Gravy Train, similar to Anglo Irish Banksters. Ignore the threats. Enda and DOBBY are living it up in Davis, asking their masters what they should do next to ensure compliance. Local community’s must take charge of their own water supply. Boycott the irrelevant Quango of Irish Water.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:30 AM

I’d hate to be Davis with those Pr*ks smooching around !

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:37 AM

@Patricia McCarthy:
    Is that Derek Davis?

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:27 AM

They can do just what they like…… I will not give Irish Water my money

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:30 AM

Turn out and be there on the 31st to show this so called government what they can do with their water charges!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:26 AM

Don’t sign any contract with E.U. Eire – I signed a Reps contract and it was reduced mid-term with no consultation with the other Party – i.e. – me !
    This is total and flagrant breach of the very basic principles of Contract Law .
    These people cannot be trusted to uphold the Law.

Mute Declan Burtenshaw
    Favourite Declan Burtenshaw

Still not registering, still not paying.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:50 AM

Still waters run deep !

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy

Stand tough people, mass non payment will sink this bloated, thieving super quango.

It gets better almost hourly at this stage, clusterf**k is the only word for it…..Encase you haven’t see it :
    “Irish Water to add €4,000 to new home builds ”
    http://connachttribune.ie/irish-water-to-add-e4000-to-new-home-builds-444/

Mute Mark Sheridan
    Favourite Mark Sheridan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:28 AM

According to the government it is never going to be self funding that they will be putting monies in to run it along with any they get off us. According to this it will never be self funding by 2018 because of the price freeze. I can’t remember the exact figures off had but was in not something like 800 euro per house is the cost to rin water but the government pay a subsidy so it’s not 800. Looks like that’s what our puppets masters want us to pay by 2018!!!

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:31 AM

The sums they will need to charge for every cubic meter of water in 2018 (to recover from the partial capitulation and carrots dangled before the donkeys during the previous four years) will be so high that even the 50% who have registered will join the boycott.
    http://i61.tinypic.com/2s9zor6.jpg

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan

With the impending election underway One wonders how many of the Irish Troika Parties – FF, FG and LAB will be prepared to take the “Irish Water Bucket Challenge ” …

All you have to do is ring on a doorbell and declare the Party you are representing – There will be a bucket full of water (ice optional to the houseowner) with your name on it – all you have to do is stand there and take it – you know like you what you think Paddy exists for – standing there and taking it that is !

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 4:40 PM

I can imagine that in areas with a boil water notice.Straight from the cooker hob and over the feckers.

Mute John Wheelwright
    Favourite John Wheelwright
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:41 AM

Unfortunately, too many ignorant people rushed out in their millions to get that all “important” vote in to join the EU?.
    It’s nothing more than a fascist dictatorship, can’t people see that?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:51 AM

John what people voted for in ’71 is completely different from what the EU is now.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher

The real question has becone what’s the exit strategy. When this shambles fails, and it will fail, what will happen to its staff? Obviously the ex council works will return to their previous jobs but what about other employees Not working long enough to be entitled to a redundancy payment?
    How much of our money has been wasted and can any be recouped, and lastly how much can we get for 3rd hand water metres?

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:16 AM

I have no doubt that the staff will have a contract which guarantees them a job even if their job ceases to exist..
    The taxpayer will pay dearly for this fiasco one way or another..

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:04 PM

Unfortunately I agree with you Sean
    These meters are going to end up sitting in a warehouse beside the e voting machines..

Mute Chris Walsh
    Favourite Chris Walsh
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:22 AM

How much work on the water system would already have been completed if hundreds of millions of Euros hadn’t been wasted trying to set up this cash grab shambles. Just bloody shut it down and use the money we already pay towards water for it’s correct purpose.

Mute Kanye East
    Favourite Kanye East
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:54 AM

Not even self funding? So we will end up not only paying for water services through tax firstly, then pay again with our bills, then the tax payer will pay AGAIN to fund what’s left? Never ending incompetency, and the scary thing is that they haven’t even sent out a bill yet.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:09 AM

Didn’t iw say it would cost around 2.4 billion over 6 years! But the revenue it would take from our taxes is in the region of 7.2billion ( over 6 years) so what are they planning to do with the balance? They are a joke & should be done away with NOW!

Mute David Crowley
    Favourite David Crowley
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:58 AM

Maybe the €4k they’re planning on raking in from new homes will help them out…

connachttribune.ie/irish-water-to-add-e4000-to-new-home-builds-444/

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:12 AM

It used to be 1000 euro connection fee .
    400% – Inflation or wha ?

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:13 AM

“Irish Water was the wrong model, implemented disastrously. Hundreds of millions, which should have been invested in infrastructure, has been poured into this fiasco.”
    Lol
    The first true and honest statement ever to issue from the Fianna Fail Party.?
    Can we now expect them to abolish it, if they go into government with Fine Gael.?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:25 AM

This is when things are going to start getting dangerous. The government all along the 100 euro bribe was a non-runner, just a carrot on a stick. Like the Trokia was held to blame for all the cuts by the government, now the EU will be held to blame for removing the carrot of 100 euro. As IW will be unsustainable in its present form, there will be no choice left but to sell it off to private investors. The agenda is being played out.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:26 AM

* knew all along*

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:57 AM

Who would invest in a company with half the customers not paying except a financier who is on a big bonus to move a large section of Hedge fund – regardless of future performance .

Mute Philip Kenna
    Favourite Philip Kenna
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:59 AM

They can shove their grant where the sun don’t shine! Enda Kenny, not a penny!!

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:02 PM

Makes no sense- a water conservation grant you get regardless of whether you actually conserved any water or not?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan

Sense and blatant greed are never found on the same path….

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Jan 23rd 2015, 11:24 AM

The Fuhrer himself has expressed concerns about the Government’s revised water charges package:
    There may be lots of Cryptosporidium in irish water but this video is going viral:
    http://youtu.be/c2P5_7y1ubc

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:04 PM

Quality – have 100 internet green thumbs Mr. Mac Diarmada…..
    There’s a dinger like that to be done with Maggie Thatcher doing Enda’s “you are not to blame ” speech !

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:13 PM

Haha, good video there, Bertie says “wasn’t me, it was Noonan and Kenny” classic stuff haha.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:36 PM

Excellent

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:52 PM

Dear Friends, despite all the crap which is being promoted by this Government, I urge you to stay strong. A determined campaign of civil disobedience – non-payment – will defeat the plan to push proper State expenditure onto the taxpayer in addition to the burdens already imposed. Thus, the bondholders who are being paid off with our 1.2 billion tax already paid for water services on an annual basis will either receive their money – or not;. Similarly Veolia, Centrica, Nestle and our own beloved Denis will have to wait a considerable time before they get their greedy hands on our national water resources. Keep the faith, lads. OPPOSE, OBSTRUCT, DEFY. We can win this you know, if we maintain solidarity.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:08 PM

Time for this shambles to end now . How many pipes could have been repaired by now. Contractors ripping up roads leaving towns a disgrace. BiRR in offaly being one .

Mute GP
    Favourite GP
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:20 PM

Already scrapped my own water charges by choosing to scrap my own water charges.

Mute Scottie Delaney
    Favourite Scottie Delaney
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:41 PM

In any other profession if you have been found to have wasted thousands of euros and misappropriated funds, chances are, you lose your job and credibility….waste millions of euros in taxpayers money in Ireland and you get to remain in a job, still have your seat on the gravy train and still somehow have the ability to garner support from a corner of society…..its farcical. Michael D, what ever it is you do, do this….call a GE!!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:56 PM

Michael D. signed the bill to close the bogs – That’s all you need to know about Michael D. !

Mute michael kerrigan
    Favourite michael kerrigan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:11 PM

Destroy all parties next election

Mute Willie Holmes
    Favourite Willie Holmes
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:22 PM

god, I hope we don’t get it all at once, we might go mad with that kind of mony

Mute Cillan32
    Favourite Cillan32
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:40 PM

Not paying again … Take me to court all they want … Send me to jail … Need a break :-)

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:07 PM

I am sure that the powers that be are looking at the rival bid for this utility service company – the advertising of same and how closely Competition was adhered to in the lead in to the awarding of the contract !
    Who was the rival bidder again ?

Mute Paul Bennison
    Favourite Paul Bennison

That’s it keep dangling the carrot some of us may bite, you would have to be fool not to realise once the cap has ended and Irish water can set their own prices, we will be at the mercy of yet another quango and another of a long list of taxes that we have to pay Enough is enough.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:40 PM

‘The carrot or the stick’ is outdated these days, it needs modernisation, maybe ‘the roast dinner or the baseball bat’ would be more fitting.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy

test

Mute Paul O Mahony
    Favourite Paul O Mahony
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:43 PM

There is a tide in the affairs of men, Which taken at the flood, leads on to fortune. Omitted, all the voyage of their life is bound in shallows and in miseries. On such a full sea are we now afloat. And we must take the current when it serves, or lose our ventures.

Mute Catherine Hayward
    Favourite Catherine Hayward
    Jan 23rd 2015, 4:08 PM

Im so pleased to hear so many not giving in , we will win this fight no money for I.W. we have paid enough ..

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 5:42 PM

How many have signed up for the 30 pieces of silver ?.

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jan 23rd 2015, 4:53 PM

if our german master tells enda to drop the €100 it will be dropped like a brick…Personally i am waiting for the media and opposition to get onto the no chance of any debt relief as kenny and gilmore lied to us 2 years ago when they ran about crowing about seismic shitt etc etc etc and our eu and imf masters have shot that kite down in pieces.Yet not a peep from opposition or media.

Mute David Nolan
    Favourite David Nolan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 5:42 PM

Ive a feeling that they will somehow link none payment of property charges to penalty points, yes if your car is manky or your hubcaps are not glistening, or the dashboard is not up to scratch, it 3 points for every offence and an on the spot € 60 fine.
    If you think this is not possible, you can get 3 points and an on the spot fine for not having a valid nct disc, Even if you have it booked.

Mute Dermot O Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O Reilly
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:57 PM

The Government has set up a NEW QUANGO which will cost €1 Billion Per Annum in costs and Overheads?

It may have an income of €500 million PA.

Crazy loss making Quango!

This company was totally unnecessary.

All the Government had to do was charge €50 per house to invest in the water infrastructure.

A crazy Government decision!

Fine Gael undertook to get rid of Quangos.

Jan 23rd 2015, 9:01 PM

What is new…
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0122/674778-labour-charter/
    “Breaches include the fact that the committee found the reduced national minimum wage applicable to adult workers on their first employment or following a course of studies was not sufficient to ensure a decent standard of living.”

What gets me about this is that the E.U. said to Ireland that they did not have to charge for water but the IMF wanted Ireland to charge for water and now that this government has. The “EUROPEAN COMMISSION has expressed concerns about the Government’s revised water charges package.” But why have they if it was ok not to charge for water here, confusing???