You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA WIRE

Did Star Wars damage the Skellig? Well, a jacket was badly snagged

Someone spilled some paint too.

TWO INCIDENTS HIGHLIGHTED by arts and heritage minister Heather Humphreys in reference to the recent Star Wars filming on Skellig Michael may go some way toward easing the fears of environmentalists over the visit.

Disney-owned Lucasfilm returned to the Skellig for a second bout of Star Wars filming back in September, you’ll recall. 

Permission was granted despite objections from environmental groups like An Taisce. Birdwatch Ireland also raised concerns that the visit could harm the rocky outcrop’s avian population.

In a report published this week, the National Parks and Wildlife Service found that the filming had no adverse impact on seabirds or their habitats.

“The activities were also found to have no implication for the Outstanding Universal Value of the World Heritage Property and no impact on the National Monument,” a statement from the department said.

These are the two incidents, described as ‘minor’ highlighted in the report:

• A crew member snagged their jacket sleeve on the edge of a stone on the entranceway to the ‘Upper Monks’ Garden’. The same section of stone had been displaced by a visitor to the island in mid-June. The opening was immediately propped and repaired by OPW masons.
  • A small amount of diluted water-based paint was spilled on rocks adjacent to the ‘Wailing Woman’. Highly absorbent spill pads were used to immediately mop up the spill. Clean water was also applied. Nests were not compromised in any way.

Humphreys said she was looking forward to the release of the latest instalment of the Star Wars franchise “when international audiences will be greeted with images of one of Ireland’s most stunning natural and historical features”.

(She can find out more about tickets here).

Read: Here’s where you can still get tickets to the first showings of the new Star Wars

Read: Bertie: I’d absolutely nothing to do with the bank guarantee

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

105 Comments
    Mute Tinkers Toenail
    Favourite Tinkers Toenail
    Oct 21st 2015, 8:12 AM

Eh……in other news…..wait, no..that was the only news that’s left, a rock was moved and another was washed..

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 8:19 AM

In other news, all the birds were left wondering why it suddenly went so quiet on the Skellig for a couple of days….

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 10:38 AM

Avina Laaf have you even visited the Skellig rock ?

See 35 more replies ▾
    Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 10:47 AM

Yes, several times. Why?

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 10:53 AM

“Yes, several times.” ??
    Seriously ??
    Then you must have also visited the Blasket Island a lot as well

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 11:16 AM

Yes, I have. Why?

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 11:29 AM

Hmm so you are a island lover ..Was it culture / heritage that interested you ?

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 11:36 AM

Is this leading anywhere??

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 12:04 PM

“Is this leading anywhere??”
    Nope because you are a anon joker who has claimed to have visited The Blasket Islands / Skellig Rock numerous times ..
    and for what purpose ?
    Def not culture / heritage .. maybe to talk to the sheep on the Blaskets ?

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 12:54 PM

Showing your true colours Dingle? Keep it classy…

Mute james boylan
    Favourite james boylan
    Oct 21st 2015, 12:55 PM

@Dingle Holiday, you critisise Avina Laaf for being anonymous, you don’t exactly have your own name & picture up.

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:08 PM

@james boylan go to my Twitter page and follow the links .. quite simple really :)) or visit my Official Twitter page https://twitter.com/yankedoo

@Avina Laaf it is obvious you have not conducted numerous visits to the Skellig Rock or the Blasket Islands …

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:11 PM

Wrong. Why do you think that?

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:15 PM

when was your last visit to the Blasket Island ?
    and why do you keep visiting the place ? ..
    or maybe you just want to get drunk in Krugers Pub :)

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:29 PM

Dingle…seriously…where is it going??

Mute Grigori Rasputin
    Favourite Grigori Rasputin
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:31 PM

Dingle, if you think Avina having or not having visited islands is such a big issue, maybe bring it to the attention of the UN or something, instead of filling the comments with what appears to be paranoid suspicions that have no bearing on anything.

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:31 PM

Quite simple really Avina Laaf with the Pussy Cat is not telling the truth ..

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:40 PM

She seems to be stating plain fact to me? Long story short, there was no negative consequences of the Star wars crew filming on the Island.

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:40 PM

He made the comment via a question I put
    “Avina Laaf have you even visited the Skellig rock ?

Avina Laaf 2 hours ago #

Yes, several times. Why?

___
    anyway I put more credence in
    Msgr Pádraig Ó Fiannachta who expressed fears that future generations would associate the island more with the fantasy film than its monastic Christian heritage as a powerhouse of prayer in the early Irish Church.

Describing the Star Wars movies as “silly”, Msgr Ó Fiannachta warned that the filming would diminish the understanding of the island as a place of spirituality. “That is something you cannot restore,” the former Dingle Parish Priest insisted.

Pádraig Ó Fiannachta is a renowned Irish language scholar, poet and priest, born in the Kerry Gaeltacht in 1927. He studied at Maynooth, University College Cork and All Hallows, Clonliffe College. He was ordained a priest in 1953. He spent some time in Wales prior to returning to Maynooth College where he became professor of early Irish in 1960 as well as Welsh Language lecturer. He was made professor of Modern Irish at Maynooth in 1982. He was awarded the Douglas Hyde prize for literature in 1969. He translated and edited an Irish language version of the Bible – An Bíobla Naofa which was published in 1982.

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:43 PM

“there was no negative consequences of the Star wars crew filming on the Island.”
    Read my last comment ..
    and the report is from a govt agency ,,,

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:49 PM

What do Msgr Pádraig Ó Fiannachta’s views on spirituality have to do with whether or not wildlife was negatively affected by filming?
    And why does it feel like you’re stalking me?

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:52 PM

ps. I can assure you that I have visited both the Skellig and the Blaskets on more than a few occasions, although whether or not you choose to believe that is inconsequential to me.

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian

The Last comment regarding Padraig O Fiannachta is it?
    I can’ t agree with him I’m afraid. The star wars franchise will draw visitors who will then learn about the islands once here through the visitor centres, tour guides etc. The film is merely and additional paragraph to add to the already rich history of the islands. Even the wording of his comment (Describing the movies as “silly”) would suggest he is a man set in his ways and not exactly taking a modern approach to his thinking.
    In terms of culture and tourism, it is quite the opposite to what he is suggesting, the additional interest will lead to more and more people learning about the history of the islands and actually enhance and further protect the culture surrounding it.

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday

“And why does it feel like you’re stalking me?”
    You are a pussy cat but I am not a dog :)
    why do Trolls always bring out the red herring ‘stalking me’
    heritage / the native habitat of the wildlife on the Island is all very important but you would that as a frequent visitor to the island :)

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:54 PM

” I have visited both the Skellig and the Blaskets on more than a few occasions, ”
    In your dreams or nightmares

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 2:01 PM

@ Kian
    Come on dude ..
    this Star Wars film is pulp fantasy … (just like Marvel’s New Avengers)
    and the vast majority going to see it HAVE no interest in the heritage of the Rock …
    You should meet Msgr Pádraig Ó Fiannachta .. you would be very surprised :)
    Yep Disney will make 2 billion profit – Hollywood will be happy – some members of the govt will be invited to the premiere – but its legacy in regards to Kerry well will be insignificant ..

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 2:08 PM

Whatever

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Oct 21st 2015, 2:10 PM

But still an incredibly popular franchise with a fanatical following. Fans will be drawn to the film locations and, as I said above, will then learn about the history and culture through tour guides and visitor centres. Sure, they won’t have any interest in that beforehand, but they will be educated about it while there here. If you’re talking monetary terms, the legacy in regards to Kerry will be hundreds of thousands, if not millions, of euros.

A lot of people who come to Ireland have no interest in any of our culture beyond drinking and the pretty scenery. But while they are here they learn about it.

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 2:20 PM

@Kian
    Look first off there is restrictive access to the Island – i.e at present nobody is allowed on the Rock ..
    Secondly it is a bubblegum American corporate Hollywood Blockbuster and seriously the average fan will move on to the next New Avenger film or something like that in a minute ..
    and your comment “the legacy in regards to Kerry will be hundreds of thousands, if not millions, of euros.” is pure speculation – as the Skellig Rock cannot cater for large number of tourists

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Oct 21st 2015, 3:04 PM

Dingle, I’m aware of the restrictive access (good thing imo). But it will still bring in money and over time it will add up to millions. Going by the effect it has had on previous filming locations (tunisia being the most prevalent).
    People do move on to the next film, no doubt, but that does not mean that film locations are not a draw for tourists, even if the movie is years old. New Zealand is still drawing massive amounts of Tourism off the back of the Lord of the Rings franchise, and that is ancient in movie terms now.

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 3:10 PM

we live in the year 2015 .. the age of the Internet etc
    an American corporate Hollywood blockbuster has no longer the major influence in making people decide what country / place they are going to visit..
    Indeed how many people watching the film be they from Kansas / China / child / teenager /adult will actually know or care where Luke Skywalker mediates in the film or the location

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Oct 21st 2015, 3:14 PM

It’s still a major draw in 2015, as in the case of New Zealand. It’s not usually the sole reason people will visit a place (aside from the fanatics) but it adds to the overall appeal of a location. Even places which already have massive tourist numbers, for example New York City, people make a mint from Sex and the City or Gossip Girl tours. There’s also the Harry potter experience in London, movies and tourism go hand in hand.

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 3:20 PM

Let leave ‘s it at that ..
    I do not like corporate Hollywood .. it seems you are okay with it ..
    I visited NYC many times – nothing to do with Hollywood ..
    How many people I wonder visit Limerick because of Angela Ashes ?
    “New York City, people make a mint from Sex and the City or Gossip Girl tours. ” Probably fellow Americans :)
    Anyway have a nice day

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Oct 21st 2015, 3:57 PM

Ah sure, to each his own! :)
    Mostly americans yes, but domestic tourism helps too

Mute Johnny
    Favourite Johnny
    Oct 21st 2015, 4:10 PM

Yes but can you smell what The Rock is cooking?

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 4:31 PM

@Dingle
    “Look first off there is restrictive access to the Island – i.e at present nobody is allowed on the Rock ..”
    That is absolutely untrue – weather permitting there are still regular boats running out to the Skellig and access to the rock is completely unrestricted.

Mute David Jackman
    Favourite David Jackman
    Oct 21st 2015, 5:23 PM

this is gas. its like watching a couple break up in public

Mute SteoG
    Favourite SteoG
    Oct 21st 2015, 8:07 PM

Do you not see the connections between Skellig, Star Wars and the Monastic settlement ? And the connection is fantasy fiction.

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Oct 21st 2015, 8:11 AM

They must never be left on the island again, imagine snagging a jacket sleeve on a stone and then topping that by spilling a drop of waterbased paint! What next, destroy the island with phasor blasts……………………………

Now I think I will have a cup of tea and a lie down after that rant!

Mute Joe Traynor
    Favourite Joe Traynor
    Oct 21st 2015, 8:46 AM

Phasers are star trek Blasters are Starwars, a Phaserblaster is just wrong.

Mute David Carino
    Favourite David Carino
    Oct 21st 2015, 8:51 AM

Joe you’ve Stunned him now !

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Oct 21st 2015, 9:27 AM

Watch “Perhaps you think you are being treated unfairly?” on YouTube https://youtu.be/OXyH1XkQo44

Mute UrbexJunkie
    Favourite UrbexJunkie
    Oct 21st 2015, 8:22 AM

That Stone was about to be upgraded to a Class II Relic after is Lured the film makers there, or was Cured..

Mute L-Plate
    Favourite L-Plate
    Oct 21st 2015, 8:28 AM

“Highly absorbent pads were applied”…”Where’s the fecking sponges?!”

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Oct 21st 2015, 8:21 AM

Yer man Kenobe should be given the freedom of Dingle

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Oct 21st 2015, 9:02 AM

Or portmagee…since the islands are off the coast there :P

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 9:39 AM

Your geography is not very good

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Oct 21st 2015, 11:01 AM

Port Magee sounds dirty

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Oct 21st 2015, 11:45 AM

@ Dingle: ‘Good your geography is not’ would be far more apt.

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 12:06 PM

excellent observation ..
    How is the campaign against the Iona Institute going ?

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Oct 21st 2015, 12:12 PM

Quite at the moment, I’ve been trying to convert them to the force

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 12:14 PM

Not_Rod_Ten© LOL :)

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Oct 21st 2015, 8:30 AM

Jaysus, enough with this pointless story…..

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Oct 21st 2015, 8:51 AM

No wonder the Woman was wailing, stuck on an island with a colony of Monks!!!

Mute martina
    Favourite martina
    Oct 21st 2015, 8:27 AM

I was listening to the radio a few weeks back and there was a man on chatting about this and he was saying that when the helicopters were coming in to land that the wind from the blades of the helicopters were blowing fledgling little birds out of their nests and they were falling down cliffs. Sorry I can’t remember who!

Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    Oct 21st 2015, 8:39 AM

Does that ever happen normally? Would imagine wind occurs on the island every now and again.

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Oct 21st 2015, 9:03 AM

Wind? Out in the famously calm and warm Atlantic ocean?

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 9:12 AM

They live in burrows, not nests, and they’re all gone by September, so his story stinks of bull if he claims to have witnessed it.

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Oct 21st 2015, 10:02 AM

Avina, wrong. Two species of rare birds nest on skelligs up until october. Helicopters have severe downward drafts unlike wind, which is horizontal. Birdwatch Ireland have released a statement about the fledglings being killed. Don’t try and claim you know more about birds and nesting seasons than they do

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 10:20 AM

Ross, here’s where Birdwatch Ireland state that the birds you refer to nest in “burrows and crevices”, and also acknowledge that the vast majority of young birds have already fledged by September. At no point do they refer to fledglings being blown from cliffs by helicopters. Perhaps you can link to it if you were referring to a different statement?
    http://www.birdwatchireland.ie/Publications/eWings/eWingsIssue71August2015/StarWarsfilmingactivityonSkelligMichael/tabid/1479/Default.aspx

Either way, full-time professional wildlife rangers were on the Skellig throughout the filming with the specific role of monitoring the impact, and with the power to call a halt to it if required. They didn’t report any instances of young birds being blown from cliffs, so are you suggesting that Birdwatch Ireland (who weren’t even there) know more about it than the wildlife rangers who oversaw the entire operation?

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 10:27 AM

“. Don’t try and claim you know more about birds and nesting seasons than they do”
    LOL but he will :(
    PS the wildlife rangers are employed by who ?
    and have the authority to shut down a film production ?
    LOL

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Oct 21st 2015, 12:12 PM

Your comment “They live in burrows, not nests, and they’re all gone by September” suddenly changes to ” the vast majority of young birds have already fledged by September”..
    This is what they say…
    “Thousands of European Storm Petrel chicks, as well as a significant number of Manx Shearwater chicks, are still in their nesting burrows and cavities in the island’s walls and beehive huts, however.”
    Want to backtrack any further?

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:03 PM

If you want to start being selective Ross, how about:

“At this time of year, the majority of the diurnal seabirds e.g. Puffin, Kittiwake, Guillemot and Razorbill will have finished their breeding season.”
    or
    ” A second nocturnal species, the Manx Shearwater, may also be attending young in burrows though in this case the proportion of the nesting population involved will be much smaller at this time.”

ie. my general point is correct.

Either way, the point is that there is zero evidence – absolutely none – that young birds have been blown from the cliffs by helicopters. Not even Birdwatch Ireland are suggesting that.

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:14 PM

“Either way, the point is that there is zero evidence – absolutely none – that young birds have been blown from the cliffs by helicopters.”
    —-
    Is that why you visit the Rock regularly to study the birds ?
    Are you a Star Wars fan as well ?

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Oct 21st 2015, 2:39 PM

Not being selective at all Avina – my original post mentioned two rare bird species still nesting at Skellig during the filming, while you satated that they were ‘all gone’..
    “the presence then of 9,994 breeding pairs of European Storm Petrels (10% of the national population) and 738 breeding pairs of Manx Shearwaters.”
    Also Birdwatch and other non government agencies were PROHIBITED from observing any damage during filming – only NPWS (government) were allowed to be present. That’s why there’s no evidence

Mute martina
    Favourite martina
    Oct 21st 2015, 4:02 PM

Just repeating what he said, I’m not saying it’s fact.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 4:21 PM

Well it seems a bit pedantic Ross, but if it makes you happier I’ll revise my original statement to:
    “They live in burrows, not nests (*apart from a small number that live in crevices*), and (*all the diurnal birds that this man claims to have seen being blown from the cliffs*) are gone by September, so his story stinks of bull if he claims to have witnessed it.”

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 4:22 PM

Understood Martina – my comment was directed at the guy making the claim, not at you.

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Oct 21st 2015, 4:49 PM

Avina, all of the birds nest – as in they have nests on ledges, in burrows or in crevices. A nest doesn’t necessarily mean the round formation of twigs garden birds make in trees. Storm petrels and Manx shearwaters have nests on Skelligs that may be burrows or crevices with or without grasses or other material.. but it’s still a nest. And yes those nests may be in burrows or crevices close to the sheer slopes of Skellig Mhichíl – you cannot claim that the guy’s story is BS. Petrel or shearwater fledglings could easily have been blown out of crevices or burrows by helicopter downdraughts.
    Anyway it’s pointless arguing about this – what’s done is done and someone like Humphries couldn’t care less if all the birds on Skellig were killed – she’ll do it all over again if she wants to.

Mute Crom Cruach
    Favourite Crom Cruach
    Oct 21st 2015, 5:35 PM

I remember hearing a man tell me that the moon was made of cheese. Sorry, can’t remember who.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 6:11 PM

As I said Ross, there’s zero evidence that this has actually happened, and you yourself seem to have rolled back from your earlier claim that Birdwatch Ireland released a statement about fledglings being killed.

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Oct 21st 2015, 6:39 PM

AFAIK, the statement was from Dr. Stephen Newton from Birdwatch Ireland – I read it 2 weeks ago and I will try and find it now.. It’s not on BWIs site at present..

Mute Jon Berry
    Favourite Jon Berry
    Oct 21st 2015, 8:42 AM

#anarchy skywalker

Mute Peter Slattery
    Favourite Peter Slattery
    Oct 21st 2015, 9:47 AM

Fintan O’Toole will be apoplectic.

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 9:43 AM

Dr Stephen Newton from Birdwatch Ireland said that, despite assurances that there was no impact on seabirds, the shooting took place during breeding season.

He said the nests of storm petrel and manx shearwater seabirds on the island would have been filled with eggs and the birds’ young in early September, adding that the optimum time for filming would have been between November and March, outside of breeding time.

“I get worried when they say there was no impact, we can’t see what’s happening to their eggs or young,” said Dr Newton, adding that storm petrel nests are hidden in monastery walls and under steps.

“The impact of this sort of work, which had gone on for two years, is long-term. Disney film company should be funding the long-term monitoring of the island.”

Dr Newton said he would welcome a more open discussion regarding filming on the island, saying the consultation “was all very cloak and dagger”.

Mute james boylan
    Favourite james boylan
    Oct 21st 2015, 10:31 AM

It’s not like they were flying helicopters inside the National Museum where everything is delicate, the Skelligs get battered by the gales every year, one storm there would do more damage than a few years of filming. I don’t think it’s necessary to stop a filming job somewhere in case one or two birds get killed by mistake, the same thing could happen at any film location anywhere.

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 10:36 AM

The Skellig Rock is no normal location ….

Mute Owen Foley
    Favourite Owen Foley
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:54 PM

“Disney film company should be funding the long-term monitoring of the island.”….Yep…That’s what this has always been about…they caught the whiff of Star Wars cash and thought “ME TOO!”

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 2:08 PM

The film is a cash purpose business venture .. def not art ..
    will make in excess of 2 billion in profit ..
    Disney had free use of Irish navel ships etc ..
    I could go on but ….

Mute Owen Foley
    Favourite Owen Foley
    Oct 21st 2015, 2:32 PM

Last year BWI said it would be better if they filmed in September. They did that this year and you get ‘ehhh we meant November. Yeah. November is good.’ http://www.theguardian.com/film/2014/jul/29/star-wars-vii-skellig-michael-filming-bird-population-breeding Finally you get the line I’ve been waiting to see…they should fund monitoring….Chi ching!

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Oct 21st 2015, 3:18 PM

BWI said september would be preferable to July as there would be less birds nesting. So Lucasfilms decided to film in September AND July.. what a compromise!

Mute Owen Foley
    Favourite Owen Foley
    Oct 21st 2015, 4:00 PM

What are ya on about? They filmed in July 2014. BWI said it would have been better if they had filmed in September. This year they did just that. And BWI said October/November would be better. A nice donation from Disney and they won’t say boo. ;)

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Oct 21st 2015, 4:36 PM

conjecture. You presume everyone can be bought off, obviously.

Mute Owen Foley
    Favourite Owen Foley
    Oct 21st 2015, 4:43 PM

Nope. Can just spot the chancers. I’m a birder. You’re not. I can tell when you call manx shearwaters and storm petrels “rare”… I wouldn’t let BWI consult on where to put a portapotty let alone film a movie.

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Oct 21st 2015, 5:20 PM

You got me – I was only going on Birdwatch Irelands press release – They stated both species were vulnerable, though looking at Birdlife.org they seem to have a healthy population though it is in decline.

Mute Crom Cruach
    Favourite Crom Cruach
    Oct 21st 2015, 5:37 PM

I would despair indeed, Dingle, if I thought for one second that you had even the vaguest clue as to what ‘is’ or ‘is not’ Art. Clearly, however, you do not.

Mute lez ferguson
    Favourite lez ferguson
    Oct 21st 2015, 10:13 AM

more sh*#e journalism

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 9:58 AM

“Humphreys said she was looking forward to the release of the latest instalment of the Star Wars franchise “when international audiences will be greeted with images of one of Ireland’s most stunning natural and historical features”.”

Hmm Miss Humphreys no appearance of the Skellig Rock in the official trailer of the film released this week and no appearance of the Rock in the poster :

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Oct 21st 2015, 11:11 AM

That’s because it’s a trailer

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 11:15 AM

“That’s because it’s a trailer”
    LOL and ?

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 21st 2015, 11:21 AM

and??
    And trailers by definition can only show a small selection of what appears in the final movie – otherwise the trailer itself would be a couple of hours long!

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 11:30 AM

Never guess that ..
    you are a genius

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Oct 21st 2015, 12:27 PM

But if your point is that the Skelligs or Ireland isn’t getting any extra coverage because of the Skelligs shoots, then think about how much speculation there is online among Star Wars fans. I’ve seen it come up a few times. That’s good coverage among a demographic that might not see the traditional Bord Fáilte ads.

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:19 PM

I was an avid fan of the first Star Wars film .. and nope I never visited Tunisia

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:39 PM

Ok. Maybe that has more to do with Tunisia than Star Wars. But what point are you trying to make? That Ireland isn’t getting any additional exposure – which I’m arguing it is – or that being in a Star Wars film doesn’t increase tourism numbers? Because if it’s the latter you’re now making a different argument than your original comment.

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Oct 21st 2015, 11:12 AM

Hamanamawnamaw- Hamanamawnamaw- Hamanamawnamaw-

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 11:16 AM

Hamanamawnamaw ????

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Oct 21st 2015, 12:29 PM

http://youtu.be/hX1pw1cn7fI This ad is on constantly. Whenever I see a photo of the Skelligs I hear this tune in my head.

Mute Dingle Holiday
    Favourite Dingle Holiday
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:17 PM

Okay I get it :)

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Oct 21st 2015, 1:34 PM

Tune is catchy as fook

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Oct 21st 2015, 2:02 PM

Does it sound to anyone else like they’re chanting “header the ball” in that ad?

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Oct 21st 2015, 11:22 AM

Should never have been allowed.
    A fistfull of dollars won’t replace our heritage.

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Oct 21st 2015, 12:32 PM

And a few days shooting a film hasn’t destroyed it. Cheer up. Our country is in f@$#ing Star Wars!!!

Mute Patrick O Shea
    Favourite Patrick O Shea
    Oct 21st 2015, 3:36 PM

Dingle can’t send boats out to the Skelligs they have no licenses to do so, its about time the Iveragh peninsula and Portmagee/Cahersiveen made a few quid as Dingle/ Killarney/Tralee usually takes the majority of tourism through the short season.

Mute David Jackman
    Favourite David Jackman
    Oct 21st 2015, 5:21 PM

that hash tag is some push haha