You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/xtrekx

Ban on sale of smoky coal to extend countrywide in Autumn 2018

A ban on the sale of smoky coal was first introduced in Dublin in 1990.

THE BAN ON the sale of smoky coal, which has been in place in Ireland’s major cities for a number of years, will be extended nationwide from Autumn 2018.

Minister Denis Naughten is to brief the Cabinet this morning on the timeline of the introduction of the nationwide ban.

A ban on the sale of smoky coal was first introduced in Dublin in 1990 and research has shown this move resulted in 350 fewer deaths per year throughout the city.

The Environmental Protection Agency has repeatedly highlighted that air quality is significantly worse in smaller towns during the winter months because large quantities of solid fuel are being burned.

Ireland was required to consult with the European Commission to give effect to the ban to ensure the measures are compatible with EU legislation.

Naughten is expected to announce that the negotiations with Member States have ended successfully, leading to the next stage of the process that will see the countrywide ban come into effect from next year.

The ban will be introduced incrementally, beginning in the heating season – Autumn 2018.

It’s not proposed to introduce an immediate ban on the sale and distribution of smoky coal at that point but to allow a 12 month period for the industry to “wash through” existing stock.

A full ban will come into effect from Autumn 2019.

“Today is a key milestone in the process that will see a nationwide ban on smoky coal,” Naughten said.

Four people a day in this country are dying as a direct result of complications from poor air quality and one in five children in Ireland suffer from asthma.

“The final stage of the process involving the residential fuel industry, agencies and the general public is now underway that will ensure a smooth transition to the nationwide ban.”

Naughten will also inform Cabinet on new measures be is introducing for families that avail of Government funded home energy upgrades.

Read: Gardaí investigating after Kildare school closed over ‘security concern’

More: ‘It’s a big mistake’ … ‘It’s great news’: Cork councillors divided as new city boundary deal agreed

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

59 Comments
    Mute Peter Brophy
    Favourite Peter Brophy
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:06 PM

Only a matter of time until some do-gooder bans fires altogether

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:13 PM

@Peter Brophy: Make your home and your car electric and they could wipe you out with one click.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:22 PM

@cortisola: you do know that electricity is almost entirely generated by fossil fuels – it’s our mass burning of peat that feeds industries and the cause of our massive footprint.

Mute Thomas McGuire
    Favourite Thomas McGuire
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:26 PM

@Peter Brophy: It should be, there’s better ways to heat a home now.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:39 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: a ban on peat burning has to be next

Mute Kevin Kilcoyne
    Favourite Kevin Kilcoyne
    Dec 5th 2017, 1:10 PM

@Thomas McGuire: Burning timber in an open fire is a renewable and carbon neutral heat source.

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Dec 5th 2017, 1:13 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: that’s a bold faced lie. There’s only 3 peat powered stations in the country out of roughly 30 and makes up only 350MW in power,Edenderry, Lough Ree and West Offaly. Wind makes up over 3000MW and Gas approx 4200MW, the next would be coal at around 855MW. It’s not that hard to verify facts but by looking at the likes on your comment too many here seem to lap any nonsense up if it fits their narrow view point. Maybe I should make it into a meme so people will believe the truth.

Mute Cowboy Paddy
    Favourite Cowboy Paddy
    Dec 5th 2017, 2:40 PM

@Derek:
    Not questioning your information, I was just wondering where did you get it…
    Nice as a source for future reference… Thanks in advance..

I only got this http://ireland2050.ie/questions/where-does-ireland-get-its-electricity/

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Dec 5th 2017, 3:43 PM

@Cowboy Paddy: http://www.seai.ie/resources/publications/Energy-in-Ireland-1990-2015.pdf and Wikipedia has the data referencing SEAI and other gov sources in a more concise in a table format https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Energy_in_Ireland

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:07 PM

Smokeless coal is simply not as good.

Mute Terence Martin
    Favourite Terence Martin
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:33 PM

@Cindy Crawford: there’s some fantastic smokeless products on the market now. Take a little longer to light up but have great heat long burn amd low ash. There’s also cheap smokeless low grade products that simply do no compare. But you can give a blanket statement on the whole range. I’m in the business so I’d know all the pros and cons!

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:46 PM

@Terence Martin: Name a few fantastic smokeless products please, Terence.

Mute Neville Patterson
    Favourite Neville Patterson
    Dec 5th 2017, 1:21 PM

@Terence Martin: That’s all well and good if you have the fire on all day. Ifvyou come home to a cold house you want heat quick and smoky coal does that

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Dec 5th 2017, 1:33 PM

@Cindy Crawford: Plus, the process to make coal smokeless is very vague. CPL fuels have a new production facility in foynes- market being created for them.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Dec 5th 2017, 1:52 PM

@Father Hody Commody: you do realise that it actually kills people right?

Mute Terence Martin
    Favourite Terence Martin
    Dec 5th 2017, 4:15 PM

@Paul Culligan: Supertherm from cpl,
    Ecoal30 Cpl,
    cosy glo gems bord na mona,
    Cosy flame bord na mona,
    superflame cpl,
    country blend Stafford fuels
    Let me know if u need more.
    All of these are higher end products not usually found in the local shop contact your local fuel merchant amd I guarantee they will recommend some of these. If they’re selling u stuff from the north there’s a fiddle with regard to carbon tax amd VAT so be aware.

Mute Mohammed Mohammed
    Favourite Mohammed Mohammed
    Dec 5th 2017, 10:07 PM

@Paul Culligan:
    hi Paul, I use supertherm smokeless. Burns for ages and great heat. About 20 euro a bag.

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:52 PM

It’s grand to to ban all this coal .. and I’m all in favour of looking after the planet.. but in all fairness.. the cost of cleaner fuel is way to expensive… the price of non smokey coal Must come down..i for one cannot afford to light a fire to early in the day regardless of how cold it is..people are freezing in there homes as a result of the cost to heat it…

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Dec 5th 2017, 1:15 PM

@OCallaghan TP: perhaps look into getting a grant to subsidise insulating your house then. Waste of money and time heating a barn

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Dec 5th 2017, 1:19 PM

@OCallaghan TP: lack of insulation and the use of open fires is what causes people to waste money.

Open fires are an awful waste of money and even if you get a stove unless your insulate properly you might as well just burn your money.

People need to think smart in relation to how they heat their homes properly.

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Dec 5th 2017, 5:14 PM

@Derek: I don’t live in a barn..smart arse..!!

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Dec 5th 2017, 5:16 PM

@Barry Somers: that’s absolute bull..ive stove.. my house is completely insulated.. my house is old.. if I cannot afford smokeless coal..how can I afford a grant

Mute Brian MacCarthaigh
    Favourite Brian MacCarthaigh
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:00 PM

Don’t worry, you’ll be able to get it on the black market : (

Mute Michael McLoughlin
    Favourite Michael McLoughlin
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:21 PM

In the 1990’s there was non stop talk about the ozone layer. Our old fashioned fridges and spray cans were wrecking it and school kids make posters and were told about it. I’ve not heard much lately, is it all sorted? :)

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:50 PM

@Michael McLoughlin: pretty much

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Dec 5th 2017, 1:09 PM

@Michael McLoughlin: CFCs were the big issue in the 1980′s…not 90′s.
    The ban on CFC’s came into effect in 1989.

To answer your question, ozone levels did stabilized by the mid 1990′s but recovery of the damage is much more long term. The ozone hole is expected to reach pre-1980 levels by around 2075

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Dec 5th 2017, 2:16 PM

@Michael McLoughlin: yep. It’s renewing itself slowly.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Dec 5th 2017, 5:29 PM

@Barry Somers: so there is more ozone trapping the heat now that the hole is closing up. Is that why we have global warming?

Mute Ciarán FitzGerald
    Favourite Ciarán FitzGerald
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:44 PM

Another attack on rural Ireland…. Turf ban and diesel cars next… No good.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:54 PM

@Ciarán FitzGerald: a measure that was introduced in the bigger cities up to 30 years ago is an attack on rural Ireland? How do you figure that?

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek

@Dermot Lane: just more ignorant brainfarts from people who know no better, best ignored.

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Dec 5th 2017, 5:18 PM

@Derek: couldn’t agree more

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Dec 5th 2017, 5:30 PM

@Dermot Lane: I’d say he was being ironic somehow!

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33

Being forced to buy smokeless fuel but no forcing down of the price of it.

Mute Terence Martin
    Favourite Terence Martin
    Dec 5th 2017, 4:20 PM

@@mdmak33: I buy smokeless fuel wholesale and there’s practically no difference in the price of smoky vs smokeless. Average price for both is €19/40kg bag to the public.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Dec 5th 2017, 1:17 PM

Back to burning the plastic bottles so for a bit of heat.

Mute number24eu
    Favourite number24eu
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:11 PM

Is calling coal black racist can some PC SJW tell me now. Thanks in advance.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:40 PM

@number24eu: are you really that stupid?

Mute Jonathan Baum
    Favourite Jonathan Baum
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:20 PM

Solid fuels should be consigned to history.

Mute ForeverFeel1ng
    Favourite ForeverFeel1ng
    Dec 5th 2017, 4:06 PM

If the government would just incentivise Electric and Hybrid cars properly there would be no need for any of this beating around the bust regulation to get emissions down.
    Ireland is a tiny country, we have no need for big black hulking diesels in every driveway.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Dec 5th 2017, 5:31 PM

@ForeverFeel1ng: but isn’t it the cows and their methane gases now that are the problem.

Mute number24eu
    Favourite number24eu
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:39 PM

I remember back in 1990 when his came out what ever happen to Mary Harney she was the one that passed the motion.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:46 PM

@number24eu: I’m sure it was a big smelly painful motion, the hack of her.

Dec 5th 2017, 12:10 PM

Coal burning effects the ozone makes the sun rays stronger on the earth, yet coal natural is smoky which blocks out the rays. unfortunately tho when in confine area the smoke can cause harm.

If we could all stay in our little settlement’s we would be far better off including nature and the environment. Hopefully modern won’t cause other issues and problems.

Mute number24eu
    Favourite number24eu
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:13 PM

we could do with stronger sun down here in Kerry don’t be banning the smokeless coal now.

Mute Thomas McGuire
    Favourite Thomas McGuire
    Dec 5th 2017, 12:28 PM

@: “unfortunately tho when in confine area the smoke can cause harm.”
    Confined space, aka the atmosphere.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Dec 5th 2017, 1:15 PM

@number24eu: what ooooo need in kerryaaaa is a strong dose of vibrant Healy “rays” oooo ndiggle!!!!!

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Dec 5th 2017, 5:30 PM

@: affects not effects. How can I read the rest of your comment now?

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Dec 5th 2017, 1:20 PM

The Government are just blowing smoke. If it’s not enforced.

Mute Duggser
    Favourite Duggser
    Dec 6th 2017, 4:23 AM

Smoky vs smokeless…. smoky coal creates much much more heat. Anybody (including merchants who sell smokeless) will agree with that. There just isn’t a like for like replacement. If there was, we’d all happily use it. Country’s gone to pot.

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Dec 5th 2017, 7:27 PM

More taxes, more expense and we keep allowing idiots to dictate.There is a levy on everything.
    If we keep listening to idiots the likes of minister Denis there will people in this country so poor they will be burning their floorboards to keep warm.

Dec 5th 2017, 12:07 PM
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Dec 5th 2017, 4:03 PM

How do I create a blanket of fog across the field without it on cold mornings

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Dec 5th 2017, 5:20 PM

Ireland stopping all this burning of coals scrapping diesel cars.. when it should be trucks tractors vans and lorries.. Will fix the ozone layer…what a crock of shite..

Mute Jacqueline McCabe
    Favourite Jacqueline McCabe
    Dec 6th 2017, 12:01 AM

This is about preventing untimley deaths and improving the quality of life for both children and adults, why is this an issue?
    I’m one of the people this ban will help and there is a difference between the air quality in areas where non-smokeless fuels are used.

Mute Stewart O Neill
    Favourite Stewart O Neill
    Dec 5th 2017, 2:55 PM

Plus a ban on burning rubbish and materials which should not be burnt like laminate wood

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Dec 5th 2017, 3:16 PM

@Stewart O Neill: How do you propose enforcing it ? Do you propose to give the EPA the right to kick in doors ?

Mute Colin Savage
    Favourite Colin Savage
    Dec 5th 2017, 1:36 PM

Ill buy it over the border. 40kg Columbian coal 12.50. Kerosene.49c a litre happy days. Smokeless you may get as well he burning newspapers

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 6th 2017, 6:06 PM

Jet planes do more pollution than anything but they won’t do anything to effect them, will they?