You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo. Sneem. Shutterstock/meandering images

'It's brilliant for the town': All over 70s and vulnerable groups set to be fully vaccinated in Sneem

The local health centre in the Kerry town received an unexpectedly large shipment of the Moderna vaccine in February.

LOCALS IN THE town of Sneem in Kerry are hailing another “big day” this weekend that will see all its remaining over-70s and vulnerable adults given their second Covid-19 vaccine dose. 

And, while the current restrictions across the country apply as equally in Sneem as in, say, Swords – residents in the Kerry town are looking forward to brighter days ahead with a good chunk of its population fully vaccinated.

It means Sneem is far ahead of other parts of the country when it comes to its most vulnerable residents being protected against Covid-19. 

Early last month, it emerged that all residents aged 70 and over in Sneem received a first vaccine dose after receiving an unexpectedly large supply of the Moderna Covid-19 vaccine. 

The Sneem Health Centre has around 240 patients aged 70 and over. On 19 February, the centre received 30 vials of the Moderna vaccine from the HSE.

Each vial of this vaccine contains around ten doses, meaning approximately 300 people could receive their first jab. 

Dr Hernan Ganzo, who runs the health centre, and his staff were aided by qualified members of the community to administer the doses including retired GP Dr Paddy Malone. 

The first round of innoculations in late February were conducted over a “marathon” all-day session. A similar process has been followed ahead of the second round of vaccine doses with the remaining people to get their second doses this weekend. 

Noel O’Sullivan, an organiser with the Sneem Men’s Shed, was one of those who got his second vaccine dose last weekend. 

“Absolutely, it’s a relief,” O’Sullivan told TheJournal. ”Everyone here has been delighted with it. We didn’t expect to get so many.”

O’Sullivan said that it’s been a brilliant boost for the town.

“But it’s a pity it’s not been happening like this in all parts of the country,” he added. 

When the vaccinations were being administered, the Men’s Shed helped to control the flow of traffic from the health centre, while people who received their vaccine spent their 15-minute observation time in nearby Dan Murphy’s Bar.

Its owner Sean O’Sullivan told TheJournal it’s been the most people he’s had in the pub for quite some time. 

“It’s the biggest crowed we had since last March,” he said. “They’re socialising – and social distancing – only without the pints. It’s brilliant for the town.”

Nurses observed the patients in the pub after they’ve received their vaccine to ensure there’s no problems, having a bit of chat with the locals before seeing them off.

The area itself in and around Sneem has an extremely low incidence of Covid-19 in recent weeks.

As of 22 March, the local electoral area of Kenmare had recorded less than five new cases in the previous two weeks. 

With a rate per 100,000 population of less than five, it contrasts with the national figure of 158.3 cases per 100,000 population over the previous two weeks. 

The 300 or so residents in Sneem who will have received two doses will form part of around 240,000 people fully vaccinated against Covid-19 in Ireland. 

There is still a long way to go before the entire population can be fully protected, and the government expects vaccine supply to ramp up significantly in the next few months. 

While the government’s change to allocation strategy earlier this week has caused consternation among some groups, it caused no change to the over-70s and vulnerable groups becoming fully vaccinated in Sneem. 

The Taoiseach said on Tuesday that the country is on the “final stretch of this terrible journey”.

In Sneem, like everywhere else, they’re hoping that’s the case. 

And, from 12 April, two fully vaccinated people will be able to meet indoors, providing another boost for the town. 

“The weather is starting to pick up a bit here now, so everything’s that bit more positive,” Noel O’Sullivan from the local Men’s Shed added.

“All we’ve been doing is walks now for ages so hopefully things can ease up a bit now in the next few months.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

38 Comments
    Mute JillyBean
    Favourite JillyBean
    Apr 2nd 2021, 6:33 AM

Id love if we could just open the pub for the over 70′s. Just let them off and have the craic

Mute Stuart
    Favourite Stuart
    Apr 2nd 2021, 7:17 AM

@JillyBean: I don’t see why full vaccinated people can’t go the pub. Allow each age range into the pub as that range is considered fully vaccinated by the plan. I know it’s not as simple as that but we need to good news.

Mute Bert Carolan
    Favourite Bert Carolan
    Apr 2nd 2021, 7:39 AM

@JillyBean: Those over 70s are mental. Just a pint ya? Next you know it’s a riots, chaos. National emergency. Be afraid, be very afraid.

Mute Gert McNulty
    Favourite Gert McNulty
    Apr 2nd 2021, 9:53 AM

@Stuart: the staff wouldnt be vaccinated. Remember the government says going by occupation is not the right way to go

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Apr 2nd 2021, 11:57 AM

@JillyBean: agreed. Can you imagine the rush to pubs and restaurants when they open up to the general public? Makes sense to stagger this and allow those who are vaccinated go now. Also gives a lifeline to those businesses struggling

Mute John Ivory
    Favourite John Ivory
    Apr 2nd 2021, 1:12 PM

@Gert McNulty: Staff could wear masks. Remember the government says that’s one way to stay safe. :-)

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Apr 2nd 2021, 6:54 AM

Even when it is good news for those people it also points out our mismanaged distribution of the vaccines. “An unexpectedly large shipment”, I wish my town got an unexpectedly large shipment too.

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Apr 2nd 2021, 7:35 AM

@John Flood:

Ahh Jaysus….

Mute Setanta Stylfox
    Favourite Setanta Stylfox
    Apr 2nd 2021, 9:15 AM

@John Flood: But your town does exceptionally large dose.

Mute Motherofthree
    Favourite Motherofthree
    Apr 2nd 2021, 9:30 AM

@John Flood: its only a small sample to start with 240 patients over 70. Not like there are thousands.

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    Apr 2nd 2021, 10:30 AM

@John Flood: local doc didn’t hang around looking for junior cert results and original birth cert, was assisted by some “suitably qualified” locals… Dentist, pharmacist, vet, beautician??
    Just got it done!

Mute SPQH
    Favourite SPQH
    Apr 3rd 2021, 2:04 AM

@John Flood: you have a point, which I think some have taken as being callous or something. This was indeed mismanaged distribution. It happened in another place in Connaught too where 10 times what was needed was sent, sounds like a genuine error when it’s exactly 10 times. But thankfully in both cases they are at least not going to waste. I only hope it was a genuine mismanaged distribution and not something more sinister.

Mute Nomad
    Favourite Nomad
    Apr 2nd 2021, 7:57 AM

The Healy Raes pulling strings again

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Apr 2nd 2021, 11:14 AM

@Nomad: They’re BADLY NEEDED in Sligo.—–Fair play to them!

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Apr 2nd 2021, 12:10 PM

@Nomad: only strings?

Mute S
    Favourite S
    Apr 2nd 2021, 8:01 AM

While this is excellent news for them, I wish Letterkenny could receive an ‘unexpectedly high vaccine delivery’. Just received a call last Tuesday to CANCEL my mother’s vaccine appointment despite underlying health issues and living with us in a house with children in a county with really high Covid numbers. No word on a reappointment either

Mute Setanta Stylfox
    Favourite Setanta Stylfox
    Apr 2nd 2021, 9:16 AM

@S: can you please repeat that?

Mute Biscuits Patinkin
    Favourite Biscuits Patinkin
    Apr 2nd 2021, 4:22 PM

@Setanta Stylfox: you can just read it again, it’s still there…

Mute JG
    Favourite JG
    Apr 2nd 2021, 8:25 AM

Great for Sneem but really it’s a joke. As usual it’s total i.competence on the part of someone in the HSE that will go unpunished …. or was someone from Sneem in charge of national distribution…. when other places have given vaccines out of turn there has been senior figures appointed to investigate … what’s the story here ?

Mute Asid
    Favourite Asid
    Apr 2nd 2021, 5:48 PM

@JG: it’s an experiment and being monitored closely by the makers of the vaccine

Mute Declan Sweeney
    Favourite Declan Sweeney
    Apr 2nd 2021, 7:12 PM

@JG:

Agree but a GP practice probably not to far away from them was probably left waiting for the vaccines for the over 80′s at the time, possibly even some people in the Sneem area

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Apr 2nd 2021, 8:16 AM

So older people in Kerry can go into a bar and have the chats and a laugh socially distanced without a pint or two and then drive home. Don’t anybody tell the Healy rays they wouldn’t believe it.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Apr 2nd 2021, 10:26 AM

Pardon my ignorance but how was this allowed to happen ?

Mute S
    Favourite S
    Apr 2nd 2021, 8:02 AM

While this is excellent news for them, I wish Letterkenny could receive an ‘unexpectedly high vaccine delivery’. Just received a call last Tuesday to CANCEL my mother’s vaccine appointment despite underlying health issues and living with us in a house with children in a county with really high Covid numbers. No word on a reappointment either.

Mute Adam J
    Favourite Adam J
    Apr 2nd 2021, 8:58 AM

Isn’t Moderna the expensive vaccine that’s been usually reserved for medical professionals?

Mute HuffnPuff
    Favourite HuffnPuff
    Apr 2nd 2021, 9:25 AM

@Adam J: where is your evidence to support that sweeping statement you just made?

Mute Pharmy
    Favourite Pharmy
    Apr 2nd 2021, 10:33 AM

@Adam J: No. The vast majority of healthcare professionals received the AstraZeneca vaccine because it was deemed not sufficiently tested in the over 65s. The older age groups received the Pfizer and Moderna, these also have the advantage that the shots are three weeks apart so these vulnerable groups are fully vaccinated quicker.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Apr 2nd 2021, 11:31 AM

@Pharmy: all docs I know got Pfeizer and they’re in their 30’s and 40’s. Why do people make up stuff?

Mute Maria McHale
    Favourite Maria McHale
    Apr 2nd 2021, 12:02 PM

@Fabio Dillon: that was probably before Astra Zeneca was approved

Mute Pharmy
    Favourite Pharmy
    Apr 2nd 2021, 1:57 PM

@Fabio Dillon: I said the vast majority, not all. The ‘doctors that you know’ hardly make up a significant data set. In January Pfizer was the first to arrive so it was given to healthcare staff working in ED, ICU and those that would be vaccinating others. By February when Astra arrived they switched to this for all healthcare staff. I’m not making this up, I’m involved in administering the vaccine in a regional hospital & CHO.

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Apr 2nd 2021, 4:40 PM

@Pharmy: where is your evidence of this? The HSE released figures of 73k first doses given to frontline staff (doesn’t include what was given to residential care staff) by 21 Jan. It was more than 2 weeks later b4 astra arrived in country. So, it is certainly not the “vast majority” and may not even be the majority. It no wonder mistakes are made in the administration when you are involved in it.

Mute S
    Favourite S

While this is excellent news for them, I wish Letterkenny could receive an ‘unexpectedly high vaccine delivery’. Just received a call last Tuesday to CANCEL my mother’s vaccine appointment despite underlying health issues and living with us in a house with children in a county with really high Covid numbers. No word on a reappointment either

Mute S
    Favourite S

Mute Sportmad
    Favourite Sportmad
    Apr 2nd 2021, 7:48 AM

Pointless article as the population in the whole in relation to other towns is nothing but in saying that delighted for those of age..

Mute Sean Oige
    Favourite Sean Oige
    Apr 2nd 2021, 10:23 AM

Sneem. Population 288! Result!

Mute Rory Layden
    Favourite Rory Layden
    Apr 2nd 2021, 10:36 AM

Two fully vaccinated people can already meet indoors since this Tuesday – they don’t have to wait until the 12th April :)

Mute Marlnor
    Favourite Marlnor
    Apr 2nd 2021, 6:13 PM

Excess vaccines should have gone to neighboring gps. If one group gets vaccinated early it is at the expense of another group.

Mute Ailín
    Favourite Ailín
    Apr 2nd 2021, 3:52 PM

An tSnaidhm abú! :)