You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Bolivian presidential plane that a number of countries believed was carrying Edward Snowden. (AP Photo/Andres Gutierrez)

Spain says it was told Edward Snowden was on Bolivian flight

The 30-year-old is believed to be holed up at a Moscow airport looking for a country that will give him safe haven.

SPAIN HAS SAID fugitive US intelligence leaker Edward Snowden was aboard Bolivian President Evo Morales’s plane as a diplomatic storm brewed over the diverted flight.

Foreign Minister Jose Manuel Garcia Margallo said Spain had nothing to apologise for, however, denying allegations that Madrid had refused overfly rights for the Bolivian leader’s plane.

Margallo did not identify who provided the apparently faulty intelligence that Snowden was aboard the presidential jet.

“I cannot verify if it is true or not true at the moment they tell me – you have to act immediately,” he said.

A banner supporting Edward Snowden in Central, Hong Kong. (AP Photo/Kin Cheung, File)

Bolivia reacted furiously after Morales, flying home from Moscow on Tuesday, had to land in Vienna, accusing several European nations of denying his jet overfly rights.

The plane resumed its journey on Wednesday and refuelled in Las Palmas on the Spanish archipelago of the Canary Islands.

Margallo denied Spain had closed its airspace to the Bolivian leader’s plane, saying that despite the intelligence he had trusted Bolivia’s written guarantee that Snowden was not aboard.

Bolivia accused France, Portugal, Italy and Spain of denying flyover rights because of Snowden, who is seeking to avoid US espionage charges after leaking embarrassing details of a vast US phone and Internet surveillance programme.

The 30-year-old is believed to be holed up at a Moscow airport looking for a country that will give him safe haven.

Bolivia is one of 21 countries alone with Ireland to which Snowden has asked for asylum. Morales said earlier this week that his country would be willing to study the request.

- AFP, 2013

Read: Snowden not on Bolivian jet in Vienna: Austria‎>

View 17 comments
17 Comments
    Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Favourite Vote Left Ireland
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:08 PM

You will also need to make sure trump doesn’t get elected and abolish j1 as promised

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:51 PM

I hope trump get elected much more interesting than the present one . Also how would you like Americans telling you who to vote for .Dream on the J1 will not be abolished . The Democrates want and need Hispanics voters so the rest of the world can get lost .

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:15 PM

I never told any American who they should vote for. Trump is not your typical politician, not sure if he is one for u turns but abolishing J1 is a promise of his. The democrats are actually grand with Hispanics nothing to do with votes just expressing their humanity and respect for American values. I support Bernie Sanders, not my place to tell any Americans who to vote for but one is allowed take interested in foreign elections

Mute Spammer
    Favourite Spammer
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:39 PM

You just have to wonder why we send our politicians on junkets to the U.S. each St Patrick’s day. They are only over there striking deals for DOB and the like.

Mute Shanners
    Favourite Shanners
    Nov 12th 2015, 2:11 PM

In the end its always a choice between a Turd Sandwich and a Giant Douche.

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Nov 12th 2015, 2:47 PM

meanwhile students from Asia, Africa, South America can flood into Ireland, have full access to all our jobs, healthcare and other resources, skive off, work in the black economy, increase competition for scarce jobs and work, become illegals, claim asylum, get waivers to stay here permanently, or through the legal route simply get their study visas renewed, then offered a job here after college then they get to stay.

Ireland – brilliant country if your not Irish, or as the open-borders extremists say….”Ireland for all” (except the Irish)

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    Nov 12th 2015, 5:45 PM

Vote Left Ireland Tell me “You will also need to make sure trump doesn’t get elected” what does that mean then or whom is it aimed at . ” The democrats are actually grand with Hispanics” for votes only . You support saunders so you will be voting for him then . He has no chance just like Corbyn .

Mute Blathnaid1986
    Favourite Blathnaid1986
    Nov 12th 2015, 6:10 PM

Ireland should sort out the

Mute Adriely Nadesca
    Favourite Adriely Nadesca
    Nov 13th 2015, 4:15 AM

If a foreigner arrives in Ireland with little to no English ,gets a job, pay rent ( without relying on rent allowance) ;learn the language,gets a better job, improve their qualifications ,again gets a job on that field,date an Irish person, and decide to build a life with that person (marriage/kids) .Why an Irish person cannot do the same? Oh wait, because I’m Irish and I’m too good to do X,Y job , I wont get a education, because I can rely on the system for house and my weekly money and of course is easier to blame the immigrants & society , than work my ass off to succeed in life. Yeah right , better to blame the environment than do something myself to change the sh*t life I leave in.

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:13 PM

Common sense really.
    Most of these students spend the summer in the States dossing anyway, phoning mummy and daddy back home to send them more cash when they’re running low.

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:18 PM

How do you know this?? I thought it was supposed to be a secret

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:20 PM

Shhuut uuuup!

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:25 PM

More to do with students on J1s getting illegal, cash under the table type jobs.
    Nothing wrong with spending mammy and daddys money over there if they can afford it.

Mute Tim Outrage
    Favourite Tim Outrage
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:26 PM

Lol at the red thumbs. Typical Irish. Don’t want to work, but love free money

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:28 PM

Likely the ones that got a job and worked are the ones red thumbing.

Mute Tim Outrage
    Favourite Tim Outrage
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:33 PM

Or more likely the ones who just want to wing it and hope they get a job. It makes no sense to fly half way around the world without employment secured. Genuine question… What happens to the people who can’t find a job, and their parents can’t send then money for whatever reason?

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:47 PM

Anyone who thinks the J1 programe is nothing but a glorified summer pi$$ up for rich kids is deluded.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:48 PM

I lived in NY, in a neighbourhood that had / has LOADS of J1ers. No, the majority weren’t depending on Mammy and Daddy. They were living 6 to an apartment and working AND having a great time. They were also contributing to the local economy. But they need to BE there to go job hunting. If anything they’ve just made it really hard for poorer students.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:52 PM

For the record… i didn’t mean to tell anyone to shut up… was just goin’ for a Simpsons gag

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:17 PM

My Bro worked and lived in Queens for 3 months. My mam & dad (not mammy & daddy) struggle like any other squeezed working family.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:27 PM

Going to America for the summer and finding out how hard it is to find a job in the real world was far more educational to me, as a student, than any job I did get.

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial
    Nov 12th 2015, 2:29 PM

Tommy – yup, just a scheme to benefit all the future Ross O’Carroll Kellys and Sorchas…

Mute Rosie Gluten
    Favourite Rosie Gluten
    Nov 12th 2015, 4:24 PM

These are probably the reasons that the changes are being made?
    Plus, the non native English speakers are at most risk of exploitation

http://cis.org/cheap-labor-as-cultural-exchange-1

http://labornotes.org/2011/08/hershey%E2%80%99s-walkout-exposes-j-1-guestworker-scam

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:11 PM

That’s me fkuded so. Was hoping to go next year as a mature student studying tity bars

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:13 PM

Why should irish students be exempt?

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:19 PM

Cos, sure, we only want to have the craic, and, sure, America loves us

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:20 PM

Bescause

Mute Tim Outrage
    Favourite Tim Outrage
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:27 PM

Because over the last few decades, Ireland has fostered a sense of entitlement which is completely engrained in our lives. Sad really

Mute Sertorius
    Favourite Sertorius
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:44 PM

Don’t you know that we’re special, and every year are grovelling leader whoever that may be, gets the priviledge of presenting a cereal bowl of shamrock to the leader of the free world. We’re so special that our politicians believe our citizens who are living illegally in the US and broke their immigration laws are entitiled to special treatment and shouldn’t be deported like the Mexicans or anyone else.
    We’re just a special people.

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:46 PM

I agree if students from other countries have to secure employment first why should Ireland be exempt ?

Mute Pat Snack
    Favourite Pat Snack
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:13 PM
    Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial
    Nov 12th 2015, 2:24 PM

Indeed Sertorius,

“We’re so special that our politicians believe our citizens who are living illegally in the US and broke their immigration laws are entitiled to special treatment and shouldn’t be deported like the Mexicans or anyone else.”

Yet people will here would criticise African politicians for doing the same thing at the summit in Malta currently underway.

Best thing that could happen would be for our human cattle export routes to America, Britain and Australia to severely restricted or closed down. Then out useless political system would finally be forced to reform and change the way this country is run, rather than running the currently failed state with it’s emmigrant pressure release valve.

Mute An Lámh Láidir
    Favourite An Lámh Láidir
    Nov 12th 2015, 6:30 PM

You’re damn right we’re special. We come from a white Christian country that speaks English and has close cultural and historical links with the USA.

Mute An Lámh Láidir
    Favourite An Lámh Láidir
    Nov 12th 2015, 6:33 PM

If there ever was a reason for a special relationship with a foreign country it would be based on that criteria.

Mute Nira Line
    Favourite Nira Line
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:42 PM

Maybe Ireland should use this as an opportunity to set up their own equivalent programme?

Designate Donegal a “J1 visa” area and all the students who would have gone to the States can spend a Summer in one of Ireland’s most beautiful areas. They could even be paid in dollars to simulate the American experience.

Mute Rehabmeerkat
    Favourite Rehabmeerkat
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:47 PM

The only thing America and Donegal have in common is doughnuts. …

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Nov 12th 2015, 2:19 PM

We can have our own Las Vegas in the hills of Donegal?

Mute Dylan Drein
    Favourite Dylan Drein
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:03 PM

Shite.

Mute headline
    Favourite headline
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:16 PM

In that case should Ireland not revoke or place similar restrictions on Americans coming here on a WHV? They’re offered a one year visa here, unrestricted allowing them to work anywhere, they just about gave our students 3 months and now they’re clearly trying to make it as difficult as possible for them to obtain a J1, some kind of response is needed here…

Mute afc
    Favourite afc
    Nov 12th 2015, 2:08 PM

No sure let them come over here and spend their money. No point in cutting your VAT off to spite your Yanks

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial
    Nov 12th 2015, 2:27 PM

Anyway I doubt there are hordes of American youth wanted to come to some damp dreary dismal little rock in the middle of nowhere that’s poorer than even their worst states such as Mississippi or Alabama.

Mute Dylan Drein
    Favourite Dylan Drein
    Nov 12th 2015, 3:17 PM

I can’t recall ever meeting an American tourist here who’s had a bad word to say about Ireland. They come here in droves and their numbers show no sign of dropping, but if being a begrudging cynic gets you through your day then go on ahead.

Mute Orla Manning
    Favourite Orla Manning
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:01 PM

Students are just going to get a normal holiday visa. Not going to make a difference if they want to go!

Mute Miguel O'Reilly
    Favourite Miguel O'Reilly
    Nov 12th 2015, 2:20 PM

don’t have too much of a problem with it as many students seem to have a job before starting the j1 these days. I didn’t have one lined up when I went, but the internet was only but a pup back then

presumably Ireland will introduce the same rules for US students coming to work here of course. tis only fair after all

Mute Noel Falkhall
    Favourite Noel Falkhall
    Nov 12th 2015, 3:11 PM

Americans students can’t go to Ireland and work as theres no equivalent to the J1 in Ireland. They can get a non-paid internship but thats it.

Mute Orla Manning
    Favourite Orla Manning
    Nov 12th 2015, 3:19 PM

I didn’t have one when I went either but there was 15 of us living in the house. We all done the same amount of searching and those with no j1 visa where the only ones that got jobs that year. I didn’t beg for money to be sent to me more. Money lasted 8 weeks and I came home. So there is some people going out there trying to do it on their own. Yes you will have those putting their hands out every second week. But these where the ones that was handed everything growing up. Not having to work for your pocket money at the end of the week.

Mute Gary Keegan
    Favourite Gary Keegan
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:04 PM

Stupid decision.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:07 PM

It’s not my job to look for a job.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Nov 12th 2015, 2:03 PM

In theory it would be good to have employment before you head over and some do but in reality……what bar owner is gonna hire someone they have never met and most likely a few months before they actually start?

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost

My son was on a j1 this year and I discovered he had huge arms , because every week I caught him with his hands in my pocket and I was here ion Dublin. He pick pocketed 1.400 and when I asked him when he got back how much he thinks he got off me he said ” couple of hundred da ” I give up !

Mute shane carr
    Favourite shane carr
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:31 PM

You were worse to give it to him!

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:40 PM

Ya think.

Rather give it than have him struggle. Which he and others did because rent was high and wages were low.

Mute Lloyd Hetherington
    Favourite Lloyd Hetherington
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:14 PM

Don’t f*ck it up, kids!

Mute Paddy Kavanagh
    Favourite Paddy Kavanagh
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:22 PM

The J1 system is a joke what is the purpose of it only for people finished college to go on the piss for the summer in a different country. Pointless!

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:26 PM

People need money to go on the piss and pay rent so the majority also have the experience of working abroad.

I fail to see how that’s such a bad thing,

And I say that as someone that never did the J1 but I can see the value of it.

Living abroad is a really steep learning curve and being able to do it with the support of the J1 Visa program is better than just throwing people into the deep end.

Mute Paddy Kavanagh
    Favourite Paddy Kavanagh
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:43 PM

bank of mammy and daddy fund these trips tricia. I agree with what your saying about life experience though most of the students I lived with didnt know how to boil an egg or operate a washing machine. Important life lessons!

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:44 PM

Irish people want to go America and America likes tourism, in principles is a very mutually beneficial proposal

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:50 PM

No, the bank of Mammy and Daddy don’t fund the majority of these trips.

I lived in a neighbourhood in NY that was mecca for J1′s and most of them worked, slept on mattresses in overcrowded apartments and, at the same time, had mental craic.

The number of times I’d have been in the bar or coffee shop and they’d be in looking for jobs or already working there. Then I’d meet them out in the local bars spending their cash and supporting the local businesses.

It’s really disingenuous of you to say that most are covered by their parents because, in the six years I was there, that’s not the reality I experienced. And it’s hard to find a job in a city you’ve zero experience of BEFORE you ever even get there. Unless of course Mammy and Daddy have connections that can get them a job before leaving Ireland.

So basically they’re making it harder for lower class students to experience living abroad because they’re the ones that don’t have those connections.

Mute Paddy Kavanagh
    Favourite Paddy Kavanagh
    Nov 12th 2015, 2:02 PM

Read comments above tricia about parents paying for these trips, also the heading of this article is a bit of a give away.. How did students who didn’t have to work pay for it? I dont know many students that would have 15 k lying around after paying for college to go on the piss for the summer

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Nov 12th 2015, 2:06 PM

Paddy, I’ve told you my experience. I’ve made it clear that what you’re saying is not what I have actually witnessed. You can choose to believe what you choose to believe.

I didn’t say all, I saif majority.

I know there are students that have their travels covered for them. So of course there are examples out there.

And 15k!? Where did you pluck that figure from? Most of these students WORK!

Mute Paddy Kavanagh
    Favourite Paddy Kavanagh
    Nov 12th 2015, 2:31 PM

15k 3 months of drinking, eating rent ,bills..rent in america is fairly high. A better experience for students leaving college would be to get a job , move out of home and pay some bills.You dont have to leave the country to learn how to stand on your own two feet! This culture of students going on holidays after the leaving cert and heading off on j1s is a bit of a farce, taking a well deserved break after not doing any work!

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Nov 12th 2015, 3:37 PM

There’s more to life than work, Paddy.

Mute Adriely Nadesca
    Favourite Adriely Nadesca
    Nov 13th 2015, 4:30 AM

The same happen here Tricia, most of the students that comes to study English , they came with a sum of money and is allowed to work 20 hours per week , most of the time works in pub,as cleaners on hotel ,nanny ,in jobs that only help you get by but for the fact we are here to learn the language , going back home with English on the CV,in our point of view is worth it . Besides , the money we make , depending on the job ,pay tax, rent ,spend the money on the economy so I find just unfair when I hear Irish people saying foreign immigrants who comes to Ireland to study, they aren’t helping with anything ; the curse are quite expensive ,between 1500 to 2 grand for 6 months studying and holidays afterwards.

Sorry,I got carried away.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:17 PM

Economic migrants, with an entitlement complex, going over there taking jobs from the Americans. They terk er jerbs!!

Mute BlueSkyThinking
    Favourite BlueSkyThinking
    Nov 12th 2015, 6:53 PM

Do blow-JOBS count? I can arrange before you “head” over…

Thank you, thank you – I’m here all week!

Mute Galaxy Girl
    Favourite Galaxy Girl
    Nov 12th 2015, 2:54 PM

J1 Students can only stay in the US for 30 days without a job, otherwise they have to leave as the rules are now. They can’t just go there on the J1 and not work. They also work hard and long hours for very low wages.

Mute ƃ ɹ ǝ ɟ
    Favourite ƃ ɹ ǝ ɟ

Cash that goes into the American economy

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:09 PM

Charlie Flanagan says no….

Mute Vote Left Ireland

As voters will say no to Charlie Flanagan next spring

Mute Martin Bonner
    Favourite Martin Bonner
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:05 PM

Time to read the article before going straight to comment.

It’s the U.S. Authorities that are saying this, the Irish Gov are trying to get an exemption for the Irish students.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:19 PM

I know he tried, I wouldn’t vote for Flanagan regardless

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:44 PM
    Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan

Well minister, you know what you can do with your J1′s then

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:30 PM

I don’t think you got this Flanagan is trying to stop this requirement for having a job.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:33 PM

And failing by the looks of things

Mute Bob Mac
    Favourite Bob Mac
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:36 PM

I’d take no notice of it, its just these far left types see red any time they see any mention of any member of the current government at all, and feel the need to add some negative comment, even if it has nothing to do with the subject matter whatsoever, Niall’s post above here is a case in point.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 12th 2015, 12:39 PM

Far left? Only?

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Nov 12th 2015, 1:20 PM

Far? I mean left ok but far? How far?

Mute shelly
    Favourite shelly
    Nov 12th 2015, 10:59 PM

How about ireland stop US war planes landing and refilling in Shannon??

Mute shelly
    Favourite shelly
    Nov 12th 2015, 11:00 PM

“Refuelling” damn